STAFF APPRAISAL

30. Over the last decade, Barbados economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. These challenges must be addressed by a combination of fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring. The authorities’ Economic Reform and Transformation program seeks to address these long- standing structural imbalances and implement an aggressive front-loaded and comprehensive reform agenda – extracted from p.18 of the IMF Report 2018

The 77 page IMF package detailing the REQUEST FOR AN EXTENDED ARRANGEMENT UNDER THE EXTENDED FUND FACILITY; STAFF REPORT; STAFF SUPPLEMENT; AND STATEMENT BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR BARBADOS was posted to the International Monetary Fund website on October 4, 2018. It is no surprise the traditional media has not seen the value in unpacking the details of the arrangement secreted in the voluminous and technically worded documents.

What has been widely communicated is that in record time the new Mottley government has been able to secure the approval of SDR 208 million or USD290 million. The government’s PR has been quick to point out that the draw down from the IMF represents 220% of Barbados’ IMF quota and is a ‘homegrown’ program.

Key elements of the program are:

1. Fiscal adjustment: increase primary surplus to achieve 6% by 2019/20
  2. Reform state owned enterprises (SOEs): reduce transfers to SOEs by 2%
  3. Structural reforms to support growth: improve business facilitation
  4. Debt restructuring: debt is deemed unsustainable and government has aggressively moved to administer ‘haircuts’ to bond holders

In the background section of the document (p.7) the IMF delivers a negative synopsis of the performance of the Barbados economy post the 2008 global financial crisis. One of the program objectives of interest to the blogmaster is item 8, p.9: “Increased investment demand can restore growth and increase its potential. Restored credibility in the macroeconomic framework is expected to increase investment. Higher net FDI inflows will contribute to improving the stock of capital and, through this channel, actual and potential growth could reach close to 2 percent by the end of the program“.

Other key deliverables of the IMF program:

• Fiscal discipline will help address external imbalances and rebuild international reserves.
  • Fiscal reforms over the program period aim to address structural weaknesses in Barbados’ fiscal framework.
  • Streamlining, restructuring, and privatizing SOEs will substantially reduce transfers to public institutions
  • Vulnerable groups will be protected by strengthening social safety nets
  • The authorities remain strongly committed to the exchange rate peg, which has been in place since 1975 and has provided a key anchor for macroeconomic policies.
  • The program will lay out a roadmap for normalization of monetary policy.
  • The CBB Act will be amended, with the help of IMF TA, to strengthen the autonomy of the CBB and the limitation on CBB financing of the government, among other enhancements
  • The authorities have made progress in identifying debt restructuring parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.
  • Significant progress has also been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors.
  • Debt management capacity will be strengthened.
  • To promote long term and potential growth, labor, product and service markets will be liberalized
  • The authorities intend to establish an Economic Program Oversight Committee (EPOC) to strengthen societal ownership and build public support for the measures in the program.
  • Data inadequacies continue to hamper understanding of key macroeconomic aggregates.

The part of an IMF agreement that raises the most concern are the condition or in the case of Barbados what are the targets we will have to meet to be able to draw down on the SDRs approved.

Quantitative performance criteria:

• Floor on the central government primary balance (excluding repayment of central government arrears)
  • Ceiling on the stock of Net Domestic Assets of the CBB
  • Floor on the Net International Reserves of the CBB
  • Non-accumulation of central government external arrears (excluding arrears resulting from nonpayment of debt service for which the government is pursuing a debt restructuring).
  • Ceiling on grants and transfers to public institutions
  • Ceiling on the stock of public debt

Indicative targets:

• Ceiling on the stock of central government domestic arrears
  • Floor on CG social spending Structural benchmarks

Structural benchmarks

• These will focus on SOE reforms, growth and business climate, CBB autonomy, tax policy and revenue administration, public sector reform, and public financial management (Table 2 MEFP). The structural benchmarks will be critical to underpin the adjustment effort.

The average citizen will not read the IMF report and others will ‘scan’ to satisfy a mild curiosity.  It is obvious to the blogmaster after reading the report that there are significant changes still to come that will drastically affect Barbadians from all walks of life. As a people are we ready to be that chanage?

Link to Barbados : Request for an Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility-Press Release; Staff Report; Staff Supplement; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados

468 responses to “IMF Program Unpacked – Our Way of Life Will Change, FOREVER”

1. $12,500 x 12 x 15 = $2.25 million for permanent secretaries to accompany half of cabinet

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/uploads/document/2ccc0057c95ca4d270bb5633d88d8d7e.pdf

2. A XMAS CARD FROM THE GOVT

MERRY XMAS GOVT WORKERS
    Noel Noel

SIGNED THE
    grinch (blp) 2018

3. Do ministers get government cars or use their own cars?

4. Mia should be banned from using the word “Never” in political linguistic terms
    Once again at a PR conference which should have only dealt with a strategic path towards meaningful solutions and a carved out position of bringing hope..Mia puts on her political hat by way of placing blame and chanted aloud the Word ” Never” to which some in the audience replied Never have barbados everr defaulted on its debt.

5. @??? October 14, 2018 6:21 PM “Do ministers get government cars or use their own cars?”

The Minister gets the use of a government car while he/she is a Minister.

When he/she is no longer a Minister, the car goes to the use of the new minister, the old minister does not get to keep the taxpayer’s car as though it is his own.

The car belongs to the taxpayers the whole time, NOT to the Minister.

6. $70,000 x 15 (used cars) = $1.05 million

7. Where is it stated that a minister gets to use a car paid for by taxpayers?

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster,

One would be inclined to think that, in the absence of a statement of the Mottleyian regime to the contrary, the vehicles that were either purchased or leased by the other set of thieves and robbers, were not returned on masse, to their leasors

So it is based on the noticeable and conveniently beneficial statements to the contrary that we the sheeple have arrived at that assumption that her 26 ministers may still be using these formerly leased vehicles

Of course we the sheeple would be advised otherwise by anyone who us on the GIS WhatsApp telephone list

9. “The Minister gets the use of a government car while he/she is a Minister. When he/she is no longer a Minister, the car goes to the use of the new minister, the old minister does not get to keep the taxpayer’s car as though it is his own.The car belongs to the taxpayers the whole time, NOT to the Minister.”

Simple Simon

And I thought it was only the Prime Minister that benefited from the use of a vehicle at the expense of taxpayers?

I’m forced to asked two questions:

1….. Is your above comment based on fact…. or on what you believe to be true?

2….. If your answer is #2…… would you care to provide the source of your information as evidence to substantiate your claim?

10. One does not have to be on the GIS WhatsApp distribution list to receive a communication from that source.

11. @ Mariposa

Is there any condensation of the gibber that Mugabe said yesterday?

I mean she did say that 2500 people are going to be fired, (oops 1500? and you know that how? even if 3,000 went home you could not say otherwise could you?) and that people can send in a wish list as to which piece of government land they can cultivate marijuana on and all these marvelous things but…

…have you or any of your “agents of doom and gloom for the Mugabe regime”, sat down, as a political party in the doldrums for the next 15 years….and put to pen, a summary of the empty 1 hour spiel that Mugabe and Teets made yesterday?

Dem only mek a feller mis a football whupping for the ***?

But here is the things that you should be doing, INSTEAD OF THE EMOTIVE STATEMENTS, you should be stating facts and quoting, or is that misquoting Mugabe in your tireless effort to highlight their frailities.

12. Tge 1500 hundred retrenched employees would not be enough to satisfied the IMF planned quota for BERT
    The long and short if this smke and mirror program would be the reality of govt having to deliver more pain if govt needs more financial assistance from the IMF
    No and’s !if’s or but’s
    1500 is not even a drop in the bucket in helping to bring down govt debt
    Yesterday PR stunt loaded with fluff and campagain strategy would only suffice the koolaid drinking blp yardfowls but does nothing to create a growth path towards economic sustainably especially in lieu of the fact that barbados would continue to loose more local revenue as people spending continue to slow

13. Mariposa

Your post at 8:24 a.m. is spot on.

The IMF must be shaking their heads in despair when they listened to the idiotic statements being made by motley last night.No wonder they only give her 220 % of the quota and not the full amount which according to Albert Brandford in his column 2 Sundays ago – would have amounted to 350 %.

Even a class 3 boy who could do a lil maths will tell you that sending home 1,500 workers would not make a dent in reducing govt expenditure in any sizeable way – especially when most of these workers would be at the lower level of the salary scale.

So all Mia is doing is borrowing money which does not help the debt situation at all – then she increases government expenses by adding a 5 % on the wage bill for she and her ministers and the public servants,she increase old age pension – more costs added – and she promises to pay tuition fee – which I understand has not yet been put in place.

Along with all of this she keeps a big cabinet of 2 parliamentary secretay,26 or 27 ministers and 8 consultants who it is being said are being paid $25,000. a month.

All of this is happening while Water bills have sky rocketed, the tax on Gasoline has pushed up the Gas Bill,The NIS contribution has gone up,the tax on online purchases in place,Bus fare soon to go up – and worst of all the poor retirees who put their gratuity and savings in buying government paper – now getting shafted.

All this while Mia and her big cabinet and consultants living happy ever after – and she provides no realistic plan to getting the Barbados economy growing and investments turning over – to assist with the foreign exchange and unemployment levels.

What 1,500 jobs only will be lost what !

Tell that to the kool aid drinkers.

14. @T.Inniss

You are aware that it was reported 220% of the quota is one of the highest if not the highest allocated to an IMF member?

To your other point workers are being released in areas of the public service deemed to be redundant or to use the PM’s word anachronistic.

15. Have you noticed the sleight of hands by the prime minister? The number of people to be sacked will not be 5000, but ONLY 1500. The nation should be grateful.
    This Chinese man, Mr Jong, seems to be a trickster, and has taught this government the use of deceptive words. Remember, these are the same numbers used by Prof Persaud at the launch of BERT.
    So, those poor people with credit card and other debt, may be mortgages and children at school and university, should be grateful for a kind prime minister.
    To show her humanity, there will be a mitigating unit to help people come to terms with their new poverty. Those who could should get out of Barbados now. Barbados is a failed state.

16. Simply put Mia plans are another round of vodoo economics
    The IMF would relax their strignet quotas (for a time being) in what is called an adjustment period
    But would not allow govt to detour or divert the approved plans which govt presented to the IMF with strignet conditionalities..
    Govt pretensions PR stunt would only go so far as the challenge to bring down debt would lie squarely on the backs of the people
    Exhibit A low wage earners
    Exhibit B pensioners
    In the meanwhile all are expected to forget Mia promises of better .Even after Mia transfer some of peoples wealth to the rich in form of tax waivers
    Go figure

17. Agree Hal people need to move to higher ground
    Cant see how Mia bold faced states her humanity for the poor when she accepted govt approval to change laws to rob pensioners

18. But did DLP not cut 3,000 or more workers 2 or 3 years ago..I think it was Caswell who said the finally tally was even thousands more got laid off in secret…..

,…now we fully understand why the 30-0….

Catch ya breath yardfowls…ALL yall are to blame for the continuing train wreck, that is where uppityness and arrogance got all of you.

19. “Dem only mek a feller mis a football whupping for the ***?”

My daughter texted me to ask if I was watching women soccer…I told her I was watching Mia..

Piece I should have watched the damn game instead…and so should you…lol

20. Another bold faced lie when Mia stated that 90% of local investors approved govt decision on the restructing of govt instruments
    My question ask were they any other options presented to the investor
    And who in their right mind would give govt such permission after govt unilaterally change the terms and conditions of first agreement without first notifying investors

21. @ Pieceuhderockyeahright,

The PM is reported to have said ” And I am told that 99 per cent of those who tendered represents more than 90 per cent of those eligible to vote,”

That means she has the support of MOST if not all of the DLP “pensioners “.

22. @ Pieceuhderockyeahright,

How does this sound. God bless you and God bless the United parishes of Barbados. lol

23. What we are noticing is that Mia seems to have this backward, now if she would pursue the DLP thieves who ripped off the treasury and pension fund, as she promised she would….recover ALL the money and use it to pay down most, if not ALL THE ISLAND’S DEBT AND ARREARS…there would be no need for from 40 years olds to 90 year old pensioners to be making sacrificies or suffering in poverty while Mia feeds them the patriotic line of bull crap….which is also a lie..

But she and Marshall both still think they are talking to idiots on the island…..that stems from years of practicing arrogance….and believing that their own people will remain unaware, uninformed and perpetual victims indefinitely. ..while her ministers parade around doing the same things or worse to the people…just like DLP,..

…not even the 30-0 from the last election sèems to have sent a warning to them…or is acting as a deterrent..

24. David/BU

You are wrong.I will quote you what Albert Brandford said in his column titled: DEBT HAIRCUT OR DECAPITATION?

He states:

“But despite the rhetoric and sophistry,the IMF apparently DOES NOT HAVE THE FULLEST CONFIDENCE IN THE HOME-GROWN PROGRAMME SINCE A NORMAL EXTENDED FUND FACILITY (EFF) IS A THREE – YEAR PROGRAMME WITH UP TO 350 PER CENT OF QUOTA – BUT BDOS IS GETTING ONLY 220 PERCENT OVER 4 YEARS.

The IMF seems to be following its own rules,done its own calculations and tempered the lending in these tough circumstances because it wants to ensure that Barbados can repay the monies.

In effect,they are saying we cannot justify giving you what you want but this is what we can offer.

As I said in an earlier post – this is what can be said of Mia – MENE MENE TEKEL PARSIN

The Emperor ( Mia) is naked .

25. My fellow Bajans, you are invited to visit Canada after October 17th to enjoy the freedom to smoke weed legally.

26. Was Mia reading from a prepared speech? At times I got the impression that she was free-wheeling, I note that this is a continuation of the Mia and Dale show.

Only if they are prepared to but their tampee from a Gov’t site.

27. @ Sargeant ,

Mia appears to be ” bright ” and Dale appears ” challenged “.

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    all the native lands have multiple pot outlets, have had for some time. What used to be 5 ‘smoke shops’ in Tyendiaga selling native made cigarettes is now about 40 pot retailers. You can fill up too, for gasoline purchases are not subject the the tax regimen elsewhere. You want booze? Just ask.

29. Many hands make light work – but not for Mia’s oversized cabinet – because you know she needs these 28 people around her – never mind some of them don’t even have enough work for a half day job – and of course the large number of consultants – well because its all about jobs for the boys – BUT DON’T WORRY JUSTWATCH MUH.

With Mia its all about catch phrases like RE -RE and Bert and the kool aid drinkers all cry – cheez – on bread yuh hear Mia ? She real bright – she could talk without even reading from a piece of paper.

Imagine she is sending home workers but at the same time she is creating a new Unit called the Mitigation Household Unit – so she has to hire people to staff that Unit.

In all of this talk,and jargon and catch phrases – there is no cohesive plan to stimulate this economy and get growth in our main sectors or new areas.

The truth is the BLP always won the elections when the Country was enjoying prosperous times – and then they proceed to borrow and borrow and borrow and put us in debt.They do not know how to handle the economy in a recession.

This is what we are in line for – borrowing,borrowing,borrowing because Mia does not have a clue what to do.

30. Lol..yep, they relaxed the LCBO monopoly..

Even in Waterloo, for years now they have been little outlets to get ya herb, ya pass on the streets and see them.

Medical marijuana has been legal in Canada for 17 years.

Hurrah. .October 17, one of my daughter’s birthday, told her to just slip into Niagara and celebrate. .

Alvin Cummins must be having a FIT..lol

31. T. Inniss,

The prime minister’s speech was billed as an Address to the Nation. It was not. Implicit in such an address is an issue of national importance. What we got was an hour of unscripted waffle. Nonsense, with Marshall playing Mutt to Her Jeff.
    I was looking for further details on BERT, instead what we got was a promise of a further speech. This is all Mandarin to me. Mr Jong is worth his weight in gold – or Bajan dollars.
    Did you notice at the end of her speech was a little Americanism: God bless you, and God Bless Barbados. Yankee marketing verbal soap suds.
    Barbados is a failed state.

32. How can this be seen as a ” gift ” ?

Headline ” Income tax ‘gift’ coming soon”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/201876/income-tax-gift-coming-soon

33. Isn’t that the government way…giving you back what is yours and acting like they are doing you some favour and saving ya life..and fully expect you to bow and scrape and beg for it too…

What bothers me is the government’s inability and blindness to see how repulsive that 1950s practice is, yes, it is a dirty old practice straight out of the 1950s practiced by now dead, petty minded Caribbean politicians like Eric Gairy et al who loved to brainwash and lie to the populi pretending they are the saviours of black people while ripping them off, robbing them and their future generations blind and mind washing them into being blind loyal yardfowls with no future.

It is an old, ugly, cursed practice of Caribbean leaders…that the people of St. John paid dearly for 60 years to learn…until they woke up on May 24, 2018.

34. I have been hearing for the last 2 months that it is Mia holding up outside HELP from FBI etc. to investigate her DLP friends..

. I did not want to blame her unfairly or prematurely…but after the Mia and Dale show….it is clear that the accusation, coming from very reliable quarters, have some type of merit..

yes, we know some investigations can take months and years, but it was Mia said she had the evidence in her RED BAG.

35. It is reported that ” Attorney General Dale Marshall has assured the public that the Mia Mottley-led administration is “absolutely committed” to purging the country of a “stain of corruption” that it has uncovered since taking office in May this year.”

While BLP supporters are asking for former DLP MINISTERS to be arrested and charged with corruption,

the big ups who benefitted from million dollar contracts if they got said contracts by bribing DLP MINISTERS will also HAVE

TO BE ARRESTED AND CHARGED.

That is why the ” investigations ” will be long and painstaking to ensure that the big ups can support the BLP BERT.

This is why Dale’s speech was a discombobulated somnambulation of phytogeneric obfuscationary diatribe.

36. “I have been hearing for the last 2 months that it is Mia holding up outside HELP from FBI etc. to investigate her DLP friends… I did not want to blame her unfairly or prematurely…but after the Mia and Dale show….it is clear that the accusation, coming from very reliable quarters, have some type of merit..”

Hmmmmmm……

A pathological liar is someone who COMPULSIVELY tells lies or FABRICATES information out of habit.

The pathological liar knows government cannot invite the FBI to independently investigate a domestic issue.

A perfect example of “making up things just to make things interesting.”

37. Hal

I too like you thought I was going to hear something of substance and not the empty,useless verbiage that we got yesterday afternoon.

Even if we haven’t reached failed state status yet – AND I AM EVER THE OPTIMIST – Mia is quickly taking us in that direction.

38. “the big ups who benefitted from million dollar contracts if they got said contracts by bribing DLP MINISTERS will also HAVE

TO BE ARRESTED AND CHARGED.

That is why the ” investigations ” will be long and painstaking to ensure that the big ups can support the BLP BERT.”

uhh…huh!!!!!

39. No international financual institution would have trust or confidence in a govt that defaults on the govt debt
    Sooner rather than later tge pressure of Mia wanting to have her cake andceat it too would come tumbling down on the entire nation
    Mia is going to find out the hard way that going like a beggar with cup in hand to the IMF was the worst of all alternatives and had she and her band of goons allowed govt planned initiatives to move forward in timely order the country would be for the better removing some of the mounting day to day pressure the entire nations now has to endure
    Also the latest development of investors taking govt to court would have been avoided

40. And in the interim…ROB dying pensioners.

41. CORRECTION:

missed. out a word:

Even in Waterloo, for years now they have been little outlets to get ya herb PARAPHERNALIA, …as long as ya did not mention the word herb..lol…ya pass on the streets and see them.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

“had she and her band of goons allowed govt planned initiatives to move forward in timely order the country would be for the better”
    what precisely were the ‘govt planned initiatives’?

43. @ NorthernObserver

the planned initiatives could have been legalisation of marijuana, building gambling casinos and legalisation of same sex acts and marriage.

44. I can well understand the baying of the DLP hounds (or braying of jackasses) on an almost hourly basis to these pages. They have been silent for ten whole years even in the face of unmitigated disdain, malfeasance and total mayhem as far as governing this country was concerned and also keeping our good name out of the mud, so go ahead, get it out of your system. The bile that must have accumulated all these years has to be expelled.

While I can appreciate the need for thorough investigation into any criminal matters that took place in government in the past, my wish is that these investigations are not made to stretch right up until the eve of the next election when little tidbits of information will be leaked to the masses with promises of BIG legal actions to be taken in the next few months (after elections of course). Please be more original that that.

45. “A pathological liar is someone who COMPULSIVELY tells lies or FABRICATES information out of habit”

@Artax

This is compounded by narcissism which manifests as the incessant need to portray oneself as the authority on every topic from elective politics, to the people of St. Vincent, to the law.

I think we are dealing with a low-functioning sociopath

46. That is exactly what ya will get, little bits of lies and leaks, she already got Marshall regurgitating the same crap he repeated in the two previous conferences and think we are too dumb to have noticed..they will add a bit here and there…oh some people confessed and we forgave them..but never telling you who confessed or who they forgave….ya would know they never recovered ANY of the people’s money, cause they won’t ever tell you if they did..

then stretch it all out for 5 whole years and tell ya…oh…if ya reelect us we will lock them up….this time.

ya gotta remember that these are the same lawyers destroyed a whole Supreme Court and got it tied up in knots with cases backlogged in there for decades and with nothing moving, people have been waiting fo court dates since early last year…that is all these know….how to lie and destroy.

….it is up to the electorate to get them out of the parliament next election permanently….29-0…because they will NEVER stop lying to the people.

47. Ah got people following me from link to link…just to whine.. I should bottle that power, patent it and sell it…lol

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

could be….I din’t have a clue exactly what they were….so I asked.

the big joke IMO….is some Canadian to help with fiscal policy. We have ONE federal government, TEN provinces and THREE territories, plus numerous CITIES. Provincially In the past decade, so 10×10 annuals, only THREE times have they not operated in deficit. The current feds campaigned on a balanced budget in 3 years, that came and went, and now projections are well beyond 2022 for deficits. What the hell can anybody in Canada teach them about fiscal responsibility?