STAFF APPRAISAL

30. Over the last decade, Barbados economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. These challenges must be addressed by a combination of fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring. The authorities’ Economic Reform and Transformation program seeks to address these long- standing structural imbalances and implement an aggressive front-loaded and comprehensive reform agenda – extracted from p.18 of the IMF Report 2018

The 77 page IMF package detailing the REQUEST FOR AN EXTENDED ARRANGEMENT UNDER THE EXTENDED FUND FACILITY; STAFF REPORT; STAFF SUPPLEMENT; AND STATEMENT BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR BARBADOS was posted to the International Monetary Fund website on October 4, 2018. It is no surprise the traditional media has not seen the value in unpacking the details of the arrangement secreted in the voluminous and technically worded documents.

What has been widely communicated is that in record time the new Mottley government has been able to secure the approval of SDR 208 million or USD290 million. The government’s PR has been quick to point out that the draw down from the IMF represents 220% of Barbados’ IMF quota and is a ‘homegrown’ program.

Key elements of the program are:

1. Fiscal adjustment: increase primary surplus to achieve 6% by 2019/20
  2. Reform state owned enterprises (SOEs): reduce transfers to SOEs by 2%
  3. Structural reforms to support growth: improve business facilitation
  4. Debt restructuring: debt is deemed unsustainable and government has aggressively moved to administer ‘haircuts’ to bond holders

In the background section of the document (p.7) the IMF delivers a negative synopsis of the performance of the Barbados economy post the 2008 global financial crisis. One of the program objectives of interest to the blogmaster is item 8, p.9: “Increased investment demand can restore growth and increase its potential. Restored credibility in the macroeconomic framework is expected to increase investment. Higher net FDI inflows will contribute to improving the stock of capital and, through this channel, actual and potential growth could reach close to 2 percent by the end of the program“.

Other key deliverables of the IMF program:

• Fiscal discipline will help address external imbalances and rebuild international reserves.
  • Fiscal reforms over the program period aim to address structural weaknesses in Barbados’ fiscal framework.
  • Streamlining, restructuring, and privatizing SOEs will substantially reduce transfers to public institutions
  • Vulnerable groups will be protected by strengthening social safety nets
  • The authorities remain strongly committed to the exchange rate peg, which has been in place since 1975 and has provided a key anchor for macroeconomic policies.
  • The program will lay out a roadmap for normalization of monetary policy.
  • The CBB Act will be amended, with the help of IMF TA, to strengthen the autonomy of the CBB and the limitation on CBB financing of the government, among other enhancements
  • The authorities have made progress in identifying debt restructuring parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.
  • Significant progress has also been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors.
  • Debt management capacity will be strengthened.
  • To promote long term and potential growth, labor, product and service markets will be liberalized
  • The authorities intend to establish an Economic Program Oversight Committee (EPOC) to strengthen societal ownership and build public support for the measures in the program.
  • Data inadequacies continue to hamper understanding of key macroeconomic aggregates.

The part of an IMF agreement that raises the most concern are the condition or in the case of Barbados what are the targets we will have to meet to be able to draw down on the SDRs approved.

Quantitative performance criteria:

• Floor on the central government primary balance (excluding repayment of central government arrears)
  • Ceiling on the stock of Net Domestic Assets of the CBB
  • Floor on the Net International Reserves of the CBB
  • Non-accumulation of central government external arrears (excluding arrears resulting from nonpayment of debt service for which the government is pursuing a debt restructuring).
  • Ceiling on grants and transfers to public institutions
  • Ceiling on the stock of public debt

Indicative targets:

• Ceiling on the stock of central government domestic arrears
  • Floor on CG social spending Structural benchmarks

Structural benchmarks

• These will focus on SOE reforms, growth and business climate, CBB autonomy, tax policy and revenue administration, public sector reform, and public financial management (Table 2 MEFP). The structural benchmarks will be critical to underpin the adjustment effort.

The average citizen will not read the IMF report and others will ‘scan’ to satisfy a mild curiosity.  It is obvious to the blogmaster after reading the report that there are significant changes still to come that will drastically affect Barbadians from all walks of life. As a people are we ready to be that chanage?

Link to Barbados : Request for an Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility-Press Release; Staff Report; Staff Supplement; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados

468 responses to “IMF Program Unpacked – Our Way of Life Will Change, FOREVER”

1. “You may have noticed that this Barbados government is currently being wooed by a right-wing country in south america which has a terrible human rights record: Argentina.”

And a horribly, vicious, hateful racist country too, no good can come of it for the majority Black population….but that is what the house negros of parliament like…once they are elected by the people.

2. Jesu christ dont know why you people complaining about Mia unilateral decisions
    OSA warned wunna
    Maria Agard warned wunna
    Even Freundel Stuart warned all and Sundry
    Yet wunna drank the koolaid willingly and now complaining
    I glad as sh.ite all wunna backsides is being gaslight ed

3. The debt restructuring is a critical component in helping us to restore our overall macroeconomic balances to engender confidence to potential investors, and that is how you regain your access to capital markets. … We want to bring the debt ratio down to approximately 60 percent by 2033,” he said.(Quote)

Why are technocrats delivering messages about government economic policy and not the elected representatives? Is this proof of the prime minister’s authoritarian style of leading?
    She needs to be reminded that under our system of government she is first among equals; decisions are made by Cabinet and it is the role of the prime minister to get the majority of her Cabinet colleagues to back her suggestions and proposals.
    They must abuse her of the myth that she is head and shoulders brighter than they are; more experienced, yes, cleverer, no. They must also remind themselves that if she is not prepared to listen to them that they can resign from the Cabinet – even if not from the party.
    Any how, here is the governor of the central bank telling us that by 2033 (15 years’ time) our debt to GDP ratio would be down to 60 per cent, if things go as planned.
    In simple terms, the essence of BERT is 15 more years of austerity. When are t hey going to level with the Barbadian public?

4. A very positive article about PM MAM:
    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/oct/09/alexander-nix-racist-slur-cambridge-analytica

Piece, I guess you should change your nickname for the PM …

5. Also the restructing stated as an offer and an agreement by local investors still stand a high chance being revoked and terms changed if the economic climate continues to deteriorate
    Just as govt was able to revoke and change terms unilaterally onearlier agreements
    The cards are all in govt hand to do what ever their dam please on govt instruments in lieu of the fact that govt signed agreements to pay back the 29million loan within a set time period and payments must be met
    Therefore bond holders should not take comfort in beliving that new agreements are written in stone and can not be changed again (if the economic climate does not improve)

6. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Tron,
    Check the name of the person who wrote this article. I would say it is a piece of political propaganda that Goebbels would have been proud of. I’m surprised that The Guardian published this article.

7. Talking Loud,

The Guardian as a newspaper is not what the Googling fraternity hopes it is. It has never been. Fleet Street journalists used to laugh at the Guardian and it amateurism.

8. “Yet wunna drank the koolaid willingly and now complaining”

Only Enuff of Wonderland 68 drank the BLP koolaid…the rest of us wanted the blighted DLP gone..

Now we can work on getting rid of Mia and her gang…..one more useless government to go instead of two.

9. “Therefore bond holders should not take comfort in believing that new agreements are written in stone and can not be changed again (if the economic climate does not improve)”

Thanks. The fact that the terms were changed once should have made this warning unnecessary. Will bondholders be exposed to a series of “haircuts or nothing” and in the end reap a small fraction of what they invested?

Others have convinced me that the dollar will be devalued. Those who are held captive may have a scalping and not just a haircut.

10. Thanks. The fact that the terms were changed once should have made this warning unnecessary. Will bondholders be exposed to a series of “haircuts or nothing” and in the end reap a small fraction of what they invested?

Yes. However most holding govt instruments were not given legal advice as to further ramifications which could impact their savings
    Hence govt could easily issue a misleading statement as to agrrement of satisfaction between local investors and govt
    One would have hoped that a person in the legal profession

11. One would have hoped that a person in the legal profession would have taken full advantage in pushing their expertise on this matter and exercising and bringing the weight of the Constitution to protect those holding govt instruments from broadlight govt theft
    One can easily see where these instruments are heading if legal intervention on the behalf of bond holders is not applied

12. David i finally figured who you are

You are a Duffus

Good morning Theo Gazerts

13. Good morning Mariposa.
    Hoping you have a great day.

The same to the rest of BU

14. TheOGazerts

Are you greeting a particular Mariposa…..or all of them.

They are legion, because there are many.

Hahahahahaha

I thought the bond investors would realize the original return on their investment, but over a longer period of time.

If that’s the case, perhaps you and your new found love are misleading the public (I know in their case, it’s mainly for yardfowl political reasons).

15. Good morning Artax
    The issue now at hand is a realization that govt can once again changed terms and conditions on the govt instruments all now subjected to the economic performance
    A read of govt reports from the IMF stating what changes must be adhere the possibility of govt instruments remaining stable is between slim and none

16. BUpp'in History Avatar
    BUpp’in History

Posted on January 12, 2014 by David
    Submitted by Mark
    “Mia’s chief adviser is Hartley Henry. While Hartley is a professional one can understand why and how this would cause problems for most in the BLP. Her relationship with the MoF is well known, so it does not surprise many when she eases the pressure on her friend, Chris. Anyone who knows Mia Mottley well would tell you her best asset is the loyalty she has for her friends. The likes of Lucille Moe, Debra Hughes, Carol Roberts and Avinash Persaud etc. The look on the MP’s faces was priceless when Avinash entered the room to advise them on Barbados’ economy a few days ago.”

17. It is unsettling to say the least that govt can use a performance of smoke and mirrors to hoodwinked the bond holders once again into (that) a new change and terms of agreement can resolve the stability and viability of the govt instruments
    Govt knowning full well all the negative economic conditionalites which are built into those new terms and agreements while govt hands are officially tied to the IMF
    The test and proof of the cake is in the eating
    So far the test of transparency coming from this govt on all economic matters has proven to be a failure
    Why hasnt govt been forthright in telling the bond holders the further risk in these instruments and the possibility of further changes which can impact their savings down the road

18. @Artax

The issue is about the time value of money consideration.

19. Mariposa

It’s interesting (as well as annoying) to see the hypocrisy political yard-fowls exhibit when the “shoe is on the other foot.”

The following is an excerpt from a contribution you wrote as “Angela Skeete,” which was posted to this forum on November 23, 2017 at 1:07 PM:

“The reserves would fluctuate from time to time driven by external as well as internal factors that drives the economy even large economies with sustainable volumes of high levels of productivity are unable to reach their benchmark. (An explanation is in order)

This CONSTANT DRUM BEATING by POLITICAL OPERATIVES and politician and PSEUDO ECONOMIST serves no purpose other than INSTIL FEAR and FRIGHT.

When an economy is constantly under severe stress and propelled by the fact that low levels of productivity are not in place to provide a buffer of sustainable economic growth yet the govt is expected to provide all necessary essential in effort to avoid chaos and mayhem it is inevitable that govt has to make decisions that might cut into the reserves reduction or on the other side go into financial markets and borrow at high interest rate as a make believe of saving face and keep the reserves in good standing at the pleasing of IMF.

HARDLY WOULD ANY ONE with an objective conscientious frame of mind expect small economies to have a QUICK FIX PROGRAM in place which can meet the needs of a civilized nation and pay down its debt in a timely fashion.”

If you were to pay close attention to the block lettered phrases with a “deep sense of introspection”……. you’ll realize now the “shoe is on the other foot,” you have now assumed to role of a “pseudo economist and political operative”…….. constantly drum beating to likewise “instill fear and fright.”

Additionally, you have thrown “an objective conscientious frame of mind” out of the window, and NOW “expect small economies to have a QUICK FIX PROGRAM in place which can meet the needs of a civilized nation and pay down its debt in a timely fashion.”

Ohhhhh, by the way, seems as though Theophilus Gazerts was always your “secret admirer,”……. he offered the following advice in response to that specific contribution:

“@Angela Skeete: Stick to one paragraph…. If you have to go two paragraphs, the second should read “I forgot what the hell, I was talking about.”…….”

Bare mock sport in the rum shop.

20. Was going to let all references to TheO pass.

I’m impressed with the Mariposa after May 24, 2018.
    Licks like peas. Taking no prisoners
    The opponents unable to match up..
    <3 Mariposa <3

21. Listen up Artax cherry picking excerpts of my comments from a ten year period to show inconsistency in what i write presently is foolhardy
    All economic cycles vary and cannot always be used as a measuring stick and as a guide which should be or can not be applied or factored(into) current events
    Meaning that my comments of the past ten years are absolutely irrevalant as to how present govt should move forward
    Also what comments i am presently making are indicative to current circumstances and financial reports and articles by govt and the IMF
    which all points to instability and unsustainable economic performance for the country.

22. That’s because the few opponents left in this forum are weak.

And “talking” about “licks like peas,”………

Picture this…. … Antigua, 2005 …..Chris Gayle scored 317 against South Africa…… and during the 2010/11 West Indies tour of Sri Lanka, Gayle scored 333 in the first test.

Although Gayle shared licks like peas and took no bowler as prisoner and I’m sure all WI cricket lovers were impressed.

However, (and unfortunately) Gayle ended the WI vs SA series with 329 runs and the WI vs SL series with 366 runs.

My point?????

After scoring in excess of 300 runs in two test matches, he was UNABLE to score over 400 in both series.

The WI lost both series 2-0 and 1-0 respectively.

Performance in one test match does not impress me.

Mariposa is a weak yardfowl.

23. Hmmmmm…

My friend…….I see COMPREHENSION still “eludes” this current “crop” of ACs…… and continues not to be one of their strong points.

I wrote SPECIFICALLY about your HYPOCRISY ……. and NOT about your ill-informed views on the economy.

And to make things simple, I asked you to pay close attention to the bold lettered phrases. Obviously, you did not…..if you had followed instructions, you would not have made that “irrelevant” and “fool hardy” response.

Read S L O W L Y:

I simply “said” during the past 10 years you were critical of persons that were opposing the former inept DLP administration, while describing them as “political operatives and pseudo economists,” whose only purpose was to “instill fear and fright.”……

……….and you have now ASSUMED the ROLE of those you PREVIOUSLY CRITICIZED.

Now….qwuh dat gots to do with the shiite you duz write ‘bout the economy?

24. Artax do not forget your front row seat at five oclock when the koolaid would be served
    A second round is appropriate since plenty of those whose bellies were punch drunk with promises are now being awaken by the grueling sounds of empty bellies

25. Nah…. no kool aid for me……

Wuh, shiite…. when it comes to “kool aid drinking,” I use you as an example.

You drank so much DLP kool aid…… that you went into the “depths of idiocy” to defend them in this forum.

I recall you asking where was the CLICO judicial manager during the BLP’s term in office….when that appointment was made by the Thompson led DLP administration.

26. According to the Nation, Senator Franklyn said “They are doing more harm than the Dems have done. I never thought I would miss Sinckler.”

27. Artax i like yuh recalled button
    Maybe Piece can used that button to highlight/recall Mia Promises
    Now as for the Cilco fiasco i also “recall” Mia adamant advocacy of bodly expressing to the entire country that govt should find a way of recouping the” poor” investors money
    Now the rest of this story lies dormant in the hands of a person call Mia who does not see a need for giving the “poor ” policy holdrs a refund on the Clico investment
    Oh the power of recalll hee hee hee

28. Guest,

Never have truer words been said. I have said on a number of occasions, it will end in tears. The difference is that the DLP was grossly incompetent, while the BLP leadership is convinced they are the cleverest people in Barbados, sorry, the Caribbean – or may be the world.
    This BLP government is so obnoxiously arrogant it beggars belief.

29. Now the Nation news paper is serving up their own mixture if Kool aid to tge people called

Tek -uh -Pole

Well we all know the answer as the blp koolaid drinkers would be first second and on line to tek that pole so Mia can ram it further up the arssess of their felliw citizens
    Please lord dont allow that to happen bitter is enough but a pole without grease really hurts

30. I thought Resolution Life was responsible “for giving the “poor ” policy holdrrs a refund on the Clico investment?”

Anyhow, nice pun using “recall.” You should be very familiar with the word, especially after many Barbadians recalled your lot from Parliament to George Street.

(“Oh the power of recall hee hee hee”)…….

I’m sure you can “recall” writing that you manage a large company and cannot find time to be on BU regularly. Prior to May 24, 2018 and thereafter, you have been surpassing Waru’s number of contributions. Wuh happen…. yuh get fired, de company get shut down, or you get seconded to troll BU fuh de DLP?

Look, I had enuff fun….uh dun wid you and….uh gine and watch cricket.

31. The biggest problem the DLP faced was a gross inabilty to implement their initiatives
    This problem was mostly felt by a hindrance of govt not wanting to compete on a nasty level with the gadflies like David Commisiong who spared no effort at every corner to drag govt into court
    And the now infamous accused drug hauler Charles Herbert who felt his economic interest of him being incharge of the govt coffers was being held hostage by govt
    These two gadflies put together in my mind were the worst of all devils that stood in govt way
    Also to be added were the Unions who used brainiac stupidy to fight their cause instead of good old fashion commonsense
    This brand took umbrage to govt 23 % wage hike in the hot broiling sun hand in hand with Charles Herbert a person who used them for his own self interest and who meant them no go

32. Artax. Today is Sunday business closed so i got plenty time to waste with you

33. Yuh mean like how you are similarly convinced you’re the cleverest person (from)/in Barbados, the Caribbean – or may be the world?

If so, then it will definitely be tears before bed time or end in tears.

34. The Nation reports, of Senator Franklyn, he said that instead of going after those who had invested in debentures and bonds, Government should be pursuing those who owed millions in value added tax.

35. @BUpp’in History:

Interesting handle. Makes one think……

36. ” Minister of Tourism and International Transport Kerrie Symmonds has identified grave concerns he has with the management of the Grantley Adams International Airport and the Civil Aviation Department and is warning them he is prepared to take serious action.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/204499/symmonds-gaia-management-notice

37. BUpp'in History Avatar
    BUpp’in History

“The issue is about the time value of money consideration”

The essence which is being ignored is from the day a public body cuts what it owes, those lining up for more licks shrinks to none. The ONLY thread investors were hanging on was, “the GoB has never defaulted before”. All other signals indicated otherwise.

So whatever reduction was implemented, the demand for future instruments dries up immediately, unless one is legislated to hold them. The decision was to hold on the money for as long as they could, a forced home-grown loan. Very valuable, considering you are not getting loans from elsewhere.

38. @Hal Austin October 14, 2018 2:24 PM “This BLP government is so obnoxiously arrogant it beggars belief.”

Whether this is so or not, I am out of the door to work in my ground. I will get in an hour or so before sunset. I know that most people will be listening to Mia’s speech, perhaps with trepidation. But today God sent the rain, and the sunshine, and my good health, so I am out the door, to serve the greatest power.

Some or you may say that I should listen to Mia.

Some of you may say that on the Sabbath Day i should do no manner of work.

But I am one of the own way ones. I do what i feel like doing.

Wunna can fill me in later.

Ah gone.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

one might hope there are greater issues than a security guard not having a porta-potty at the gate?

40. Bupp i. HIstory you comments speaks to a home grown design by past implemented to keep all afloat one which Mia and her goons help to destroy now the ramifications of her plans has sent entire country crashing into deep doo doo

41. $10 million of debt holders’ money to borrow and lick out.

42. Someone should tell Symmonds that he is part of the Gov’t and if he sees something that is amiss then he ought to provide a solution instead of making statements with this kind of rhetoric “I am discontented with that and if my board of directors cannot get this situation corrected and if my team of management cannot see the urgency of getting this situation corrected”
    What the hell does that mean? Who is supposed to provide a fix? Either shit or get off the pot.

43. BS in the morning, BS in the day, BS in the afternoon, BS in the evening and BS in the night. BS all day and night.

44. The BLP Gov’t changed the constitution to give Kay McConney a job as a minister. Can’t the same government change the constitution to save the jobs of 3000+ persons by instituting a 10% wage cut of ALL public servants. So that ALL of us (including politicians) will share in the burden of rescuing the country.

45. And the point is…

46. And if the last in is more productive than the first in

47. Typists???

48. $2,500 x 1,500 = $3.75 million
    $2,500 x 12 x 1,500 = $45 million

49. $18,000 x 12 x 15 = $3.24 million for half of cabinet