STAFF APPRAISAL

30. Over the last decade, Barbados economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. These challenges must be addressed by a combination of fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring. The authorities’ Economic Reform and Transformation program seeks to address these long- standing structural imbalances and implement an aggressive front-loaded and comprehensive reform agenda – extracted from p.18 of the IMF Report 2018

The 77 page IMF package detailing the REQUEST FOR AN EXTENDED ARRANGEMENT UNDER THE EXTENDED FUND FACILITY; STAFF REPORT; STAFF SUPPLEMENT; AND STATEMENT BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR BARBADOS was posted to the International Monetary Fund website on October 4, 2018. It is no surprise the traditional media has not seen the value in unpacking the details of the arrangement secreted in the voluminous and technically worded documents.

What has been widely communicated is that in record time the new Mottley government has been able to secure the approval of SDR 208 million or USD290 million. The government’s PR has been quick to point out that the draw down from the IMF represents 220% of Barbados’ IMF quota and is a ‘homegrown’ program.

Key elements of the program are:

1. Fiscal adjustment: increase primary surplus to achieve 6% by 2019/20
  2. Reform state owned enterprises (SOEs): reduce transfers to SOEs by 2%
  3. Structural reforms to support growth: improve business facilitation
  4. Debt restructuring: debt is deemed unsustainable and government has aggressively moved to administer ‘haircuts’ to bond holders

In the background section of the document (p.7) the IMF delivers a negative synopsis of the performance of the Barbados economy post the 2008 global financial crisis. One of the program objectives of interest to the blogmaster is item 8, p.9: “Increased investment demand can restore growth and increase its potential. Restored credibility in the macroeconomic framework is expected to increase investment. Higher net FDI inflows will contribute to improving the stock of capital and, through this channel, actual and potential growth could reach close to 2 percent by the end of the program“.

Other key deliverables of the IMF program:

• Fiscal discipline will help address external imbalances and rebuild international reserves.
  • Fiscal reforms over the program period aim to address structural weaknesses in Barbados’ fiscal framework.
  • Streamlining, restructuring, and privatizing SOEs will substantially reduce transfers to public institutions
  • Vulnerable groups will be protected by strengthening social safety nets
  • The authorities remain strongly committed to the exchange rate peg, which has been in place since 1975 and has provided a key anchor for macroeconomic policies.
  • The program will lay out a roadmap for normalization of monetary policy.
  • The CBB Act will be amended, with the help of IMF TA, to strengthen the autonomy of the CBB and the limitation on CBB financing of the government, among other enhancements
  • The authorities have made progress in identifying debt restructuring parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.
  • Significant progress has also been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors.
  • Debt management capacity will be strengthened.
  • To promote long term and potential growth, labor, product and service markets will be liberalized
  • The authorities intend to establish an Economic Program Oversight Committee (EPOC) to strengthen societal ownership and build public support for the measures in the program.
  • Data inadequacies continue to hamper understanding of key macroeconomic aggregates.

The part of an IMF agreement that raises the most concern are the condition or in the case of Barbados what are the targets we will have to meet to be able to draw down on the SDRs approved.

Quantitative performance criteria:

• Floor on the central government primary balance (excluding repayment of central government arrears)
  • Ceiling on the stock of Net Domestic Assets of the CBB
  • Floor on the Net International Reserves of the CBB
  • Non-accumulation of central government external arrears (excluding arrears resulting from nonpayment of debt service for which the government is pursuing a debt restructuring).
  • Ceiling on grants and transfers to public institutions
  • Ceiling on the stock of public debt

Indicative targets:

• Ceiling on the stock of central government domestic arrears
  • Floor on CG social spending Structural benchmarks

Structural benchmarks

• These will focus on SOE reforms, growth and business climate, CBB autonomy, tax policy and revenue administration, public sector reform, and public financial management (Table 2 MEFP). The structural benchmarks will be critical to underpin the adjustment effort.

The average citizen will not read the IMF report and others will ‘scan’ to satisfy a mild curiosity.  It is obvious to the blogmaster after reading the report that there are significant changes still to come that will drastically affect Barbadians from all walks of life. As a people are we ready to be that chanage?

Link to Barbados : Request for an Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility-Press Release; Staff Report; Staff Supplement; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados

468 responses to “IMF Program Unpacked – Our Way of Life Will Change, FOREVER”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

I sense, because I will not be there physically for a few weeks, Barbadians are shocked and angry; generally ‘I knew it was bad, but had no idea it was this bad’. The semantics of whatever terms are being used, or the methods, the idea of 50 cents on the dollar has long been my non-scientific guess. I am in turn very surprised that Barbadians are shocked. The anger is understandable.
    Yet the mismanagement was out in the open? Nor was it confined to a singular entity. Hence, I am unclear of local expectations. Short of a head tax, the GoB cannot selectively remove money from bank or other accounts, so they do so from what they control?

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

Should the offer on short term instruments been $0.50 on the dollar at maturity, OR what has been imposed?

3. @NO

What is the point of your probing? Are you aware there has been close to 100% acceptance of government’s offer?

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 1:17 PM

Are you joining in the bashing of pensioners too? Et tu Brute ?

Could dear! There are few investment vehicles for even financial analysts like me. I grew up in an era where loans to the government were low risk.
    I grew up in an environment where savings were encouraged.
    I witnessed official policy being made so that the redundant workers from closed large corporations were encouraged to invest their lump sum/ severance packages in GoB paper.

Savings rates are now negative( in real terms)
    Pensioners are being charged ledger fees of 5 to 8 dollars per month by banks for holding deposits.

What do you want pensioners to do? Put the money under the mattress where thieves break through and steal? And they are ably assisted by inflation , taxes and levies?

5. @Vincent

When all is said and done government paper can be accurately described as less risky debt read there is risk in the investment.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

I ‘believe’ based on the offer and terms of approval/acceptance, this was never in doubt? However, I was not aware that acceptance was ‘close to 100%’.
    I am attempting to understand the path forward. I was completely unaware of the section on Debt I posted earlier in the thread.
    My probes are to aid personal decisions, and where needed, to be ‘more forceful’ where I have the opportunity to influence.

7. If we are to believe Dr. Kevin Greenidge who was interviewed in the news yesterday acceptance is close to 100%.

8. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

What madness are you posting here?

Surely you jest when you use that noun “acceptance”?

This has been a unilateral pernicious devaluation of people’s bonds

@ Mr Vincent Codrington said it best when he said

“…I hope you realise that in effect the holders of Go B paper are being repaid less than they are due in real terms.

The last administration had a computational deficit in decimals (namely the .007 Chris Stinkliar “defecit: what is in brackets is de ole man’s) this one (The Mugabe Regime) has a deficit in understanding the time value of money

Here, in the most kind of terms, in what the GoB under the Mia Mugabe administration has enforced by its 100% acceptance.

https://i.imgur.com/vkqcWeb.png

Imagine that I am holding you over a barrel and am rogering you and you smiling up in my face telling me that “you tekking all of my mandingo”

You really have disappointed me though with this coolaid drinking and most assuredly I know that this is not the Original David of BU who is on duty today.

Mia has inflicted a robbery on the citizens of Barbados ONE THAT SHE IS GOING TO BE REPAID FOR IN 5 YEARS

Watch wuh going happen now…!!!

you see dem ole people?

Dem does doan say much BUT WHEN DEM GET TO THE POLLS, dem fingers does do “the walking and the talking”

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

What offer?
    That was an ultimatum. “Take the hair cut or you get nothing at all”. Is that an offer, a theft or confiscation? It certainly is a breach of contract and a betrayal of trust.

10. @Vincent

We are all on the same side of the issue however we have to avoid conflating the issues. The offer is to accept a haircut in interest payments versus the government unilaterally defaulting on the debt of the holders of government paper who did not sign acceptance letters. There is the possibility those persons would have been paid based on original terms but who wants to take the risk? The pensioners get a ‘sweeter’ deal by seeing some of their principal repaid in strips from 2019.

The question posed to NO earlier the blogmaster now poses to you. Given the widening deficit; increasing debt, where is the money to come from to honour interest payments?

11. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 1 :50 PM

I hope, for your sake, that I will not have to refresh your memory with that statement.

12. @ Vincent Codrington,

Far from bashing Pensioners, I have empathy for them.

I am a pensioner too but unlike a lot of people I chose to waste my hard earned money for my personal enjoyment long before body parts started failing.

As long as I have air conditioning in summer and heat in winter I am content to live in relative poverty on a Canadian government pension.lol

However it is up to wunna maguffees and financial gurus to help save Barbados from the apparent descent into the abyss.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

David Bu at 2:07 PM

You obviously treating these issues as a joke.There is a school of thought that this action is totally unnecessary and uncaring.
    Your last paragraph could not have come from someone trained in economics nor finance.

But carry on smartly. The same person that advise one to buy a big guts horse does not help one to feed it.

14. @Vincent

Why do you say the matter is being treated as a joke?

What is the other school of thought that has been articulated where and by whom?

15. Was anyone, especially anyone connected to the government, the BLP, the DLP or their relatives or associates, allowed to redeem any of this government debt since the election or the 90 days before the election?

16. NorthernObserver Avatar

with all respect David, you asked me why I was probing, and my awareness of an acceptance level.

17. @ De Honourable Blogmaster

De ole man shall answer where you claim that Northern Observer and Mr. Vincent Codrington have not

You joked and I quote

“…The question posed to NO earlier the blogmaster now poses to you.

Given the widening deficit; increasing debt, where is the money to come from to honour interest payments?…”

It is going to come from the same place where the $$ that is paying an overweight House of Assembly with 26 ministers and which has imported 3 senators AND CHANGED THE CONSTITUTION is coming from…

You rally are joking when you use that fancy word “conflate” arent you?

We in serious shy$* as a country and your BLP government bout the place spending de IMF loan money as it pleases pun bare badword

But when two or more bloggers come to BU and constantly repeat this fact to the coolaid sippers wunna does try to make dem look stoopid by asking the same obvious questions and wear them down with saying the same thing over and over and over again…

If I owed this government or any creditor $$ it would be demanded of my po’ black donkey to repay those monies or suffer dispossession or incarceration at the hands of its agents.

Yet, with unilateral precision the GoB has told its bond holders TEK DIS HAIRCUT by one Mia Mugabe Mottley and people walking bout saying “This is mottley’s honeymoon so you are to STFU while she is doing her ting”

Then, in front of our very eyes she start changing laws bout Willy Nilly investigations and giving power to a Commission above that of the Impotent Police Commissioner and Indolent DPP.

Then the Very Leader of the Opposition is demanding that Social Media, OF WHICH YOU ARE THE FOREMOST CHAMPION IN BARBADOS, is to be muzzled!!

And all of these pieces of the puzzle are not causing the sheeple any concern??

All of Mia Mugabe ‘s people being paid and the cabinet is increased and triple contracts are being issued to her peoples while pensioners are to take what is THEFT, CONFISCATION, BREACH OF CONTRACT AND BREACH OF TRUST (thanking you Mr. Vincent Codrington, de granson got your back pun that one…)

18. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with a response for your query to NorthernObserver and Mr. Vincent Codrington

19. Party affiliation aside, does the plan justify four to six economists and consultants at $18,000 to $25,000 each monthly? Hire purchase customers seem to use it on a regular basis.

20. Especially around crop over time, when they have to buy a costume, VIP tickets, the latest rip and tear…

21. Any dishonest, or perhaps envious, person could decide to take another person’s property to their own benefit.

22. If we are to believe Dr. Kevin Greenidge who was interviewed in the news yesterday acceptance is close to 100%.(Quote)

Why are technocrats delivering public statements that are rightly the preserve of elected politicians? What is wrong with our democracy? What is really sad is tat lots of people do not see anything wrong with this developing trend.

23. @ Mr Vincent Codrington,

A tad adjusted but…

https://i.imgur.com/Y0aH7ok.png

24. Perhaps the incoming crew looked at the finances and realized there was no fat to share around. How could we get some milk back into those nipples they must have thought. Oh, look at the milk and honey of those people that are preparing for retirement Well, if they passed on the finer things in life to invest their money, they could continue doing so – some may even die. Let us burp them.

25. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

What next Barbados?
    Do we hope that our army breaks rank and encourages this shambles of a party to step aside?
    or….
    Do we pray for an intervention from a benign country to introduce “regime” change?
    or….
    Do we run to the old “mother country” and ask them to recolonise us?
    or….
    Do we break up Barbados into autonomous regions where the parishes are allowed to govern themselves?
    or……
    Do we migrate like a flock of birds in search for a better climate?
    or…..
    Do we sharpen our minds and tongues to such a degree that this government of gangsters would feel obliged to step down ( I can’t use the exact word as my post will not see the light of day)?
    or……
    Do we give this wretched BLP party and our first female Prime Minister more time to screw up the country?
    or……
    Do we as Barbadians continue the long talk – something that we Bajans excel in!

26. TLSN
    1, 2, 3 and 4 … very irresponsible.
    The kind of talk that a dictator-in-waiting likes.
    Are you one of those men who gets in a crowd of protesters and tries to incite it to do more?

27. PM Mottley to address the nation at 5pm tomorrow.

28. An address to the Nation. Why? Is there an emergency? An anniversary? Or just another photo opportunity organised by Mr Jong? We badly need a government that keeps its head down and introduce radical and effective new policies. Cut out the PR stunts. It is going to end in tears.
    Barbados is a failed state.

29. I listen to some of her speech….She has to change the lines to her lyrics. She talks loud and says nothing…

Wait a minute… Could it be … Nah!

30. I have heard the cries of my people and effective immediately GP is no longer responsible for Land and Housing and DM is no longer AG. I have removed both of hem from their offices and have now appointed GP as AG and DM as responsible for Land and Housing. I got this…

31. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Theo,

The proliferation of guns on the island and the growth of the domestic drug’s industry is a foreboding that should sicken all Barbadians. You do realise that this government has no control over such events; nor does it have the courage or the heart to act in a responsible matter to ensure that this spike in violence can be managed or reduced.

I am not one who shouts “fire”. I am merely a humble messenger. If the people lose faith in MIa, then I feel certain that the country will implode. The IMF loan is a further nail in our coffin and has distracted MIa. I would advice her to start touring the country and to observe the titanic everyday struggles encountered by the masses.

Expect more long talk from Mia’s address at 5pm.

May God bless Barbados.

32. i think we all seek higher ground as the rumbling noise of the IMF tsunami gets closer

33. @ David who wrote ” PM Mottley to address the nation at 5pm tomorrow.”

Where is this information coming from ?

34. @Hants

GIS

35. @ David,

I searched the GIS website but couldn’t find it but it is on facebook

“Tune in to a live broadcast of an Address to the Nation by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley tomorrow, Sunday, October 14, at 5:00 p.m. on our facebook page gisbarbados.

Prime Minister Mottley will provide a wide ranging update on measures to resuscitate the ailing Barbados economy. ‬”

Expect it will be on CBC and VOB.

36. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/204266/bwu-clears-air-layoffs
    “…when the Chairman of the Meeting, Prime Minister, The Honourable Mia Amor Mottley indicated that the first phase of the layoff of public servants had to be implemented by mid-October…”

37. @Vincent Codrington October 13, 2018 1:09 PM “This administration has the responsibility to do what ever is necessary to fix the South Coast Sewerage problem. They have levied a charge on all households in Barbados to fix it. Stop the bitching and get on with it.”

You are right. I support your statement.

38. Debt Holder (Approval of Debt Restructuring) Bill, 2018
    https://www.barbadosparliament.com/bills/details/315/ZGVidA==

39. @Talking Loud Saying Nothing October 13, 2018 5:18 PM “Do we hope that our army breaks rank and encourages this shambles of a party to step aside?”

A Simple Response: NO. Because nobody elected the army. And NO because armies are notoriously bad at governing civilians. ‘becausin’ we civilians are notoriously unruly.

Do we pray for an intervention from a benign country to introduce “regime” change?
    A Simple Response: There are NO benign countries. Our history tells us that.

Do we run to the old “mother country” and ask them to recolonise us?
    A Simple Response: NO. The “mother country” did a terrible job the last time around. The had 350 YEARS to get it RIGHT, and they NEVER did manage to get it right. I have no faith that they could get it right at this time, or at any time in the future.

Do we break up Barbados into autonomous regions where the parishes are allowed to govern themselves?
    A Simple Response: NO. Barbados is way too small to be sustainable as autonomous regions.

Do we migrate like a flock of birds in search for a better climate?
    A Simple Response: I can’t think of a better climate.

40. @Talking Loud Saying Nothing October 13, 2018 6:07 PM “The proliferation of guns on the island and the growth of the domestic drug’s industry is a foreboding that should sicken all Barbadians.”

The guns violence is because the drugs industry is NOT growing. The men who have never worked a day in their lives, or who have worked little, have not succeeded in addicting the whole population as they mistakenly believed that they could. Take note that many of us still do not drink Coco-Cola in spite of relentless advertising, and ready availability.

Most people are NOT interested in their products of the drug dealers.

Most people will not buy cocaine, marijuana and the various other nasty chemicals.

So the drug dealers are fighting and killing each other in order to secure a diminishing sliver of the illegal drugs market.

If illegal drugs sales were going well would drug dealers be fighting each other?

No.

they would be too busy sitting in their counting houses counting out their money.

41. @Talking Loud Saying Nothing October 13, 2018 6:07 PM “I am not one who shouts “fire”. I am merely a humble messenger. If the people lose faith in MIa.”

You are one who shouts “fire” in a crowded theatre.

You are NOT a humble messenger.

Please not that we have faith firstly in God, secondly in ourselves, and thirdly in Mia.

And none at all in the late unlamented DLP.

30-0.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Talking Loud Saying Nothing

De Ole man is not a policeman in the conventional sense.

Policing for me is ammmmm incidental to my ammmm substantive disciplines.

I understand people.

Rather I understand what people do when “encouraged” to do things against their natural dispositions.

I understand the psyche of war and what will disrupt the drug scape.

Note that I have not said drug usage I have been very careful to say “drug scape”

I shall explain to our incompetent and successive Commissioners of Police.

so here is de ole man’s take on this war.

We have a few goals the main one being the reduction and the utopian-esque hope, to eradicate, neighborhood violent crime.

So mine is the proposal to first identify the areas and actors in these crimes.

AND TO BROADCAST my identification of these areas to these criminals.

I suggested that the Royal Baygon Police Force launch a secure app which would be variously incentivized to permit a move fluid and effective intelligence gathering mechanism that the pretend plea by the same police to call them and let their corrupt officers give out citizens’ names.

My goal is that, over time, the newspaper media and the TV will feature the arrests and incarceration of these gangs as I enforce a national disruption of these killers.

De ole man’s expertise lies in the psychological dismantling of the mind space of any group or party

while de ole man acknowledges that drug gangs do not possess such reasoning, what I will tell you is that incarceration and perpetual disruption, is one of the few things this element understands.

The program will target any gang operating anywhere in the Barbados.

It will take a year, but at the end of the year it would have seen an integrated program that would (1) use de old man’s community based investigative tool for secret data gathering (2) other police surveillance and legal wiretapping, (which would rule out Mia Mugabe and Dottin, (3) the use of incentives and snitch agreements with the final outcome of incarcerating the foot soldiers and a few key members of the gang leadership

I tent to believe that most if the big name organisations like Rotary and Lions are waste foop organisations and contribute nothing to the eradication of drugs and crime and violence. And the church or those leeches that are led by the eye servants like Joseph Atherley and David Durant, should have a millstone put around their necks and drowned.

But others like Pinelands should be empowered to act in the “favellas” that Mugabe and Fumbles have created and perpetuate so that they can draw down on development funding for Crime and Violence

I wonder if The Honourable Blogmaster might want to create a blog specifically on “How to Address the Issue of Killings and Drug Violence in Barbados”

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Talking Loud Saying Nothing thank you

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

I notice that you are sitting the substantive issue which is…

You really want to know how is it that you are keeping abreast of all things bajan and are scouring all the major websites YET YOU CAN NEVER FIND A BLP PRESENTATION OR PUBLIC RELATIONS FIASCO BEFORE THE BU BORG TELLS YOU ABOUT IT.

heheheheh which would seem to lend some credence to the accusations from Mariposa and Sir Fuzzy heheheheh

De ole man ent logging into any BLP Facebook site heheheheh unless I using TorProject.org version of Facebook’s mobile web site

45. The notification was distributed via WhatsApp by GIS.

46. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Simple Simon the summariser,

Good response and a clear rebuttal of my post at 5.18pm.

I would like to add that we have had in Barbados an economic revolution by stealth whereby foreign political and economic players have infiltrated our country. Canada and the USA have been around for sometime; whilst we have recently witnessed an aggressive Trinidad and an ever opaque China worming their way into our economy. Other countries have taken note and are in the process of extending their hegemony to our shores. You may have noticed that this Barbados government is currently being wooed by a right-wing country in south america which has a terrible human rights record: Argentina.

Maybe I’m a naive soul but I always have grown up with the belief that a government’s role is to firstly protect her citizens and to ensure that the sovereignty of their country remains intact. When a government looses focus and is perceived to be failing in its principal duties than it opens itself up reactionary forces. The IMF would have instructed this government to have a fire sale of the country’s public assets. Add to this, our private sector appears to be in the hands of foreigners. Than ask yourself this question: “Is their a role left for our government in Barbados?”; “Does this government have any real influence on how this country is run?”; and “Are we witnessing a lame duck government – that has been in power for only one hundred days!?”

MIa and her BLP government have been roaming the streets butt-naked with barely a fig leaf to cover their modesty. Yet she shrieks that she has the country’s back. Yeah right!

47. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Simple Simon the summariser,

If you are saying that the drug pushers are failing to entice the local population to consume their nasty contreband then this is good news. Please note that this is the will of ordinary people and has nothing to do with those in government who have allowed drugs to be smuggled into the country.

48. MEMO TO CIVIL SERVANTS

Those who were expecting a raise from Mia raise your hands
    My free advise to all of you is not to raise your hands around 5 pm as they will be chopped off
    HOPE for today a promised gift by Mia was a calculation forgotten and totally dismissed by BERT as being irrevelant for the future
    Good luck guys and gals Mia got yuh backs or better yet Mia cutting yuh back side

49. Phase one
    Taxes on gasoline
    Taxes on the tourism industry
    Taxes on Sanitation( still waiting on those promised trucks)
    Stealing of retirees pension
    Phase 2 more pain
    Jobs on the line
    Also one can bet private sector jobs would follow as people decrease their spending
    There will be no economy recovery under BERT
    BERT is the nightmare barbadians never planned for.
    Finally the Unions have found their voice
    But too little too late
    The dagger has already been placed strategically in their backs because Mia cares