The Barbados Economic Recovery Team is administering their bitter medicine in small doses.  They appear to have learnt from Guyana’s experience with the IMF, where the Guyanese politicians used a big spoon.  Since the result will be the same, it is less messy and less socially disruptive to slowly boil the frog.

But, why must the frog be boiled at all?  We do not.  But it is the only method that the Barbados Economic Recovery Team (BERT) understands or received their training, so they appear stubbornly unwilling to review any other solution.

There are no boundaries warning of danger that they will not cross, no promises so sacred that they will not break, and no cases deserving of compassion that they will not ignore.  Like the four horsemen of the apocalypse, they are pursuing a singular focus – severe austerity to all who are not at or near the trough.

We should not be surprised since this austerity was foreseen.  For the uninformed, first, they will reduce our salaries with high taxation.  Then they will reduce our savings by ensuring that our salaries cannot pay for our normal monthly expenses, so we will be forced to use our savings.

Then they will reduce our pensions through debt restructuring, which is a method of breaking sacred promises made to investors, including to our pensioners.  Then, they will facilitate the reduction in the asset value of our houses when homeowners are unable to pay their monthly mortgage payments and the banks foreclose, which will over-supply the housing market.

Finally, they will orchestrate the brain-drain of competent professionals from Barbados by exclusively rewarding their most incompetent and most partisan yardfowl supporters, and frustrating the most competent among us.  This makes the country’s local businesses internationally uncompetitive , which is the ultimate aim of international financiers who entice irresponsible short-sighted politicians to get their nations into unsustainable debts.

Our dollar does not need to devalue for us to arrive at the same place – which is the devaluation of our salaries, savings, pensions, assets, professionals, and local businesses.  We are just taking the scenic route down.

There have been several tour-guides employed along the way, to encourage us that our suffering is essential to Barbados’ economic recovery.  They have been dispatched to tell us that we must patriotically bear the pain, while they gorge on spillage as their masters feed.

Let me clarify that if severe austerity was the only path out of our economic problems, then I would join the partisan yardfowls, not at the trough, but in encouraging all Barbadians to bear the suffering for the sake of the next generation.  However, there are at least 4 non-austerity plans on the table.  Yet BERT is on a mission that will make us suffer, and they will neither be dissuaded by us, nor restrained by the BLP administration, from their singular purpose.

The last administration followed the same economic plan.  It was not called BERT, but multiple variations of a medium-term economic strategy that continually failed to meet its targets.  This time the plan is the same, but the actors are different.

Former Prime Minister Stuart gave the former Minister of Finance a long leash to inflict measured austerity.  The current Prime Minister has unleashed what seems like the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse to inflict severe austerity, and a rodeo clown to keep us distractedly entertained.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

241 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Four Horsemen”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Where are the “4 non-austerity plans on the table”…? Details please Grenville, with numerical analysis.

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

i only want you to come to BU once and give JUST ONE SMALL IDEA OF HOW YOU WOULD DO THINGS DIFFERENTLY instead of talking a beriffle of poop all the effing time.

You dissemble ALL THE TIME saying what bad things others have done but NEVER GIVING AN ALTERNATIVE.

You and the DLP are two entities that de ole man will make it me business to keep wunna out of the House of Assembly.

But you are not to worry about this promise cause you are doing quite well all by yourself effing up any chances to get there.

Continue on smartly.

3. What was done to the debt holders is called a lynching – for a crime they did not commit. I just cannot comprehend how the debt holders got to the bottom of the list and tax defaulters to the top. In simple terms, MAM just waived tax liabilities for a group of tax defaulters and forced the debt holders to pay off the liabilities – the innocent made to pay for the guilty. Am I going to wake up and realise that I was having a nightmare. Have we really reached the stage where debt holders must pay for the employment of retired aunties, school friends, best friends and the like?

4. Will debt holders have to pay to refrigerate rooms for this group to have fur coat parties as well?

5. Grenville Phillips a word of advice.Stick to your profession and stop tormenting your soul with matters that are beyond your capability and understanding.You are just another JA wallowing in ignorance of the affairs of state.You are no better than the idyuts calling Brasstacks everyday and tormenting us listeners with gobbledegook.

6. GP,

“Our dollar does not need to devalue for us to arrive at the same place …”

We have already internal devaluation when it comes to purchases. This process will go on in the near future. The internal value of the BBD already dropped to 1:3 or 1:4 USD:BBD, in the case of car purchases to 1:6.

7. Doesnt matter how the poision is dispensed. Eventually it kills
    That is what going to happen to all barbadians taking the medicine
    My suggestion that all get out of dodge
    Mia and the crew of international bandits have every intention of tightening the screws to pay govt debt

8. At least she will pay the debt

Where all the money raised and borrowed by the Dems gone?

9. And printed

10. The Four Horsemen PM Owen, AG now Crime Minister Mia, Richard L Cheltenham, C O Williams , AG / CJ David Simmons

11. ” As the nation prepares to wait out a tropical storm, there remains no policy on a national shutdown or all-clear – but the Government says it’s getting closer to a new protocol.”

Kirk will slap Barbados if the centre passes 50 miles North of Barbados.

“tropical-storm-force winds extending outward up to 140 miles (220 km) to the east and north of the centre, and 120 miles (190 km) to the southeast of the centre. “

12. Things Will NEVER Change Avatar
    Things Will NEVER Change

@ Mariposa

My suggestion that all get out of dodge
    Mia and the crew of international bandits have every intention of tightening the screws to pay govt debt
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Very very good suggestion. Barbados is a failed island with bullshitters acting as they are Saviours whilst enriching themselves and their mates.

13. end result………both barbados and frog croak

14. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Grenville

I believe you mean well. You certainly have not been a part of the corruption and fleecing of the Barbados Taxpayers like both BLP and DLP.

So my advice is to keep pressing on.

I believe you should show your Plan with numbers so can be analysed publicly.

Be open and transparent unlike the ongoing crop of crooked and deceitful Politicians which dumbass Bajans keep supporting and being fleeced.

15. Wonder what plans govt have for the swamp as a result of the ongoing emptying of sewage in the ocean
    No doubt Kirk passing and its interaction with the ocean tides would increase the possibility that more raw sewage would be spread across larger areas of the ocean
    This ongoing emptying of raw sewage in the ocean by govt is unconscionable and with Kirk passing there is no doubt that govt would not be able to control the increase outflow of sewage coming from the swamp and entering a vast area of the ocean as the rapid movement of tidal waves become stronger

16. Meanwhile,Bajans dutifully queuing at 4 locations yesterday paying their land tax.All the negative azz talk wunna parasites and pymps spewing pun here is not what is out there in this revitalized law abiding society.#30luvinwunnaazz livewiddat

17. With the approach of Kirk The Acting crooked P M Dale. Marshall makes a decision not to have a national shut down
    Could it be that the movinig hands of the private Sector can been seen in this decision
    Weather systems can develop quickly.and it behooves to think that a country which is low level and whose drainage system is poor and inadequate to handle small to medium rainfall which often results in area flooding
    A weather system as wide as Kirk and which will most likely increase its water intake as it moves over water while interacting with land leading to flooding it is incomprehensible to understand that Dale Marshall would be quick in his decision making not to have a national shut down all in the interest of people safety but rather most likely to side in the name of Private Sector interest

18. Grenville,

What is Solutions Barbados’ policy on climate change?

19. The no shut down was made at 5am what is quick about that?

20. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Can people live in Bliss because one of the crooked Political Parties won all the seats in the last election based on deception and the majority suffering going forward?

What a pack of JAs.

No wonder Barbados is a turd world island.

21. It shows how some people here criticifor the sake of it. So far in for the dayt is just another overcast day.

22. It’s not so much that the crooked party won all the seats, it is that the then THEN CROOKED government LOST all their seats..

23. Weather system are not dependant on technology in how it acts or reacts when it crosses land
    The force of nature is what develop and drive weather system and determines its actions
    There is no safe proof way of telling how a water system would react
    Therefore a commonsense approach to err on the side of caution is the correct way to proceed
    As previously stated Dale Marshall decision smacks of Private Sector intervention starting at the bottom line

24. @ David,

You can make an informed decision for yourself by getting information from the National Hurricane centre or Weather underground websites.

The school children are going to have a play day.

25. Tropical-storm-force winds extend outward up to 140 miles (220 km),
    mostly north and east of the center.

26. The minister is a clown
    Only a brainless maniacal person would endanger the lives of its people by putting them in harms way
    A weather system driven by rain and wind should be taken seriously and technolgy has shown that these sytems can increased in intensity at short notices
    Reason why most govt give the populace a long period of time for planning of essentials and safety

27. @ Mariposa: Where is the weather system? Can’t even get internet services with the weather prognosticators on the internet. I wonder why,

@ David. I know that I always see Freedom Crier posting on anything regarding Grenville Phillips. Have you perchance blocked Freedom’s submission?

I’ll see what you do with mine.

Grenville Phillips for all of your information has the only VIABLE solution to certain suicide approaching this island.

This is a frog in the pot situation. So we want to be in the condition that other countries are in the world are in now?

Like Venezuela where people are eating their beloved pets to live?

I wrote before the elections and I continue to say: IT”S NOT GOING TO WORK.. IN FACT IT’S NOT WORKING.

Garbage piled higher in my district than it EVER was before.

28. Truth will set you Free Avatar
    Truth will set you Free

Doesn’t this aptly describe Barbados?

Dem boys seh …Guyana get an exchange, not change

Trump go to de United Nations and seh in de two years his administration had already accomplished more than any in U.S. history. De whole assembly laugh at him and de man believe dem was laughing wid him.
    In Guyana Soulja Bai mek a statement just like Trump. De only difference is that he deh in power fuh three years.
    But in reality nutten ain’t change. As a matter of fact, dem boys believe and plenty people seeing an exchange.
    Rice use to go to Venezuela and was big racket. To this day de rice money can’t be found. Jagdeo did seh he invest de rice money at a high interest rate. Nobody don’t know wheh he invest de money.
    Today de rice market expand to Mexico, then to Panama. Just last week somebody try to con de Panama people wid coodie (broken rice) instead of rice.
    Panama promptly tun back de boat. Jagdeo and de PPP tek nuff money from de Chinese fuh different projects and de nation don’t know how much and when dem gun start pay back. Soulja Bai and de Coalition already snatching up loan from de Chinese and hiding de contract from de Guyanese people too.
    Jagdeo bypass everybody fuh give all de billions to ee best friend fuh de drug bond and de contracts.
    Soulja Bai cut out Jagdeo best friend and put in he best friends in de drug bond and in de contract. Jagdeo tek US$40 million from China to bring cable from Brazil and talk bout e-governance. De cable ain’t even lef Brazil and de money disappear.
    Soulja Bai mek Greenidge tek anodda US$40 million, this time fuh broadband. See de exchange dem boys talking about?
    Jagdeo had couple people who he use to give dem big contract. Soulja Bai tek over dem same people and giving dem even bigger contracts.
    Jagdeo never jail nobody, no matter how dem thief. Soulja Bai ain’t jail nobody. In fact, he release dem from jail to come out and thief more.
    See de exchange?
    Talk half and if you can’t see de exchange go to Ming’s or Da Silva.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2018/09/27/dem-boys-seh-guyana-get-an-exchange-not-change/

29. The people would be the clowns to go out in bad weather and put their lives at risk.
    They don’t have problems calling out on bright and sunny day for birthdays etc

30. The clown here is a minister who should enforce safety for citizens but prefer to side on Pfivate Sector interest a sector dependable on its workforce to keep its business up and running

31. What is the government’s climate change strategy? There must be one, the prime minister recently addressed a conference on the topic in San Francisco – unless she was bluffing her way through. It should be published in the name of transparency.

32. It is a sunny day in Barbados. Those living here can observe this to be true.

33. The minister is a clown what ever he do, as far as you are concerned.
    If he had shut the island down on a sunny day you would be singing the opposite tune.

34. Conditions can change rapidly. The minister made an unwise decision
    Past and proven records on these type of weather systems explains and exemplifies why the minister was wrong
    Now you David can try to erase proven facts but u would never be right

35. Todays decision by the minister is telling proof why barbados has been downgraded to a Turd World Banana Republic

36. Cuz only the private sector would lose out on productivity? Looka BU eh, just to pretend to be a concerned citizen one argues the island is not shut down because remaining open benefits the private sector, and the private sector only. But we have cement next to a flour factory, and it was ok. #icaaant

37. The same johnny that supported Hyatt without an EIA.😡

38. In fact, the entire debate and legislation are framed in a female-biased way. Or, to be more specific, in a white, female-specific way.

39. @Mariposa September 27, 2018 1:40 PM “Conditions can change rapidly. The minister made an unwise decision Past and proven records on these type of weather systems explains and exemplifies why the minister was wrong.”

Can’t please wunna Bajans at all, at all. If a Minister says “yes” he is an idiot. If he says “no” he is an idiot. If he says “maybe” he is an idiot.

I prefer to believe that the Minister took advice from the weather professionals.

I am glad that Barbados seems to have dodged the weather bullet again, although truthfully I was hoping for an inch or two of rain. Good for the crops.

40. This is exactly what he said, the technicians advised that the weather was not expected to be so severe as to order a national shut down. It is 3:20 in Barband the sun continues to shine.

41. @Hal Austin September 27, 2018 12:18 PM “What is the government’s climate change strategy? There must be one, the prime minister recently addressed a conference on the topic in San Francisco – unless she was bluffing her way through. It should be published in the name of transparency.”

Opening Message by BGI PM Mia Amor Mottley at Global Climate Action Summit

42. Clip: Changing the Climate Conversation: Enabling Women’s Participation to Advance Climate Justice

On Wednesday, September 12, 2018, Prime Minister Mottley attended and participated in a breakfast meeting at the Green Room at the War Memorial (located at 401 Van Ness Avenue). The breakfast meeting was labeled “Changing the Climate Conversation: Enabling Women’s

43. Prime Minister Mia Mottley interview Step Up World

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley, in an interview with Chief Communications Officer, UN Foundation, Rajesh Mirchandi, on Step Up, World, an interactive digital show live from the Global Action Summit in San Francisco, USA.

44. I hope that i don’t get accused of being a BLP yardfowl for posting these.

Lolll!!!

Simple Simon.

Neither “B” nor “D”

45. But I love Mia.

Love Owen too.

Both ‘o them (Mighty Sparrow)

46. Big New York Bajan fete.

” The Prime Minister, who was accompanied by Minister of Foreign affairs Senator Jerome Walcott and ambassador-at-large, Dame Billie Miller, was given a standing ovation when she entered the large hall and was frequently interrupted by loud cheers. She was later joined by Minister of Health Lt. Col. Jeffrey Bostic, and Liz Thompson, the country’s new Permanent Representative at the UN. ”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/199298/pm-mottley-barbados

47. @ Simple Simon,

48. Simple Simone,
    Is the speech the policy? Or are you being simple?

49. Dear Mariposa:

Here is homework for you. Spend at least two hours per day, for the next seven days studying it.

https://www.iflscience.com/environment/hurricane-forecast-accuracy-improving-don-t-overly-focus-skinny-black-line/
    Hurricane Forecast Accuracy Is Improving, But Don’t Overly Focus On The Skinny Black Line