FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Email: caribbeaninstitute@gmail.com
New York Caribbean Institute Calls for Dallas Police officer who killed St. Lucian national in his own home to be charged with murder

Bothan Jean.png
Bothan Shem Jean

BROOKLYN: BROOKLYN: The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) on Friday harshly condemned the killing of 26 year-old St. Lucian national and Dallas, Texas resident, Botham Shem Jean. Jean was shot and killed around 10:00 p.m Thursday night, September 6, 2018 in his own home, by a female Dallas police officer. The officer told investigators that she returned home from her shift and entered the wrong apartment in her building.

In a statement issued Friday, CGID President, Rickford Burke, said the officer’s negligent, reckless conduct and depraved indifference to human life resulted in murder. He consequently called on Dallas District Attorney Faith Johnson to prosecute the officer accordingly and to the fullest extent of the law.

Burke said “the culture of policing that has emerged in black communities all across America is one where cops shoot to kill first, then ask questions after.” He asserted that “Police officers are killing black men while walking innocently on the streets, driving innocently in our cars and now while living innocently in our own home. This is too much for a people to bear. CGID therefore calls on the US Justice Department to review and revise the protocols for armed engagement by law enforcement in America.”

Burke said “CGID intends to write our US Senators and Members of Congress from New York, to push for a national review and reform of protocols on how and when law enforcement officers engage in the use of force. This is long overdue. How many more black men must be killed before we take action?” Burke posited that “politicians who sit by and do nothing about the epidemic of law enforcement murders of innocent black men are equally complicit in these killings and should be held to account.”

Dallas police department Friday issued a statement claiming that the officer called for help and told responding officers “she entered the victim’s apartment believing that it was her own.” The incident took place at South Side Flats, an upscale apartment complex located in downtown, Dallas, a few blocks from Police headquarters.

Dallas Police said the officer was in full uniform and “fired her weapon striking the victim who was transported to hospital where he was pronounced dead.  Burke blasted the Dallas Police for not releasing details about how the officer reached into Jean’s apartment and whether a breathalyzer was administered, as would have been the case with an ordinary citizen. He also questioned how Jean’s name was released to the public when Police simultaneously confirmed  that the next of kin notification was not made.

The CGID head said the officer’s story is inexplicable and implausible. Emphasizing that Caribbean community believes the officer’s account strains credulity, Burke questioned its veracity saying “if she went to the wrong apartment how did she make initial contact with Mr. Jean? How do you mistakenly shoot your neighbor who you see and presumably interact with regularly, without recognizing him?  “The Dallas Police chief expressly stated that her department is no longer pursuing a “police involved shooting investigation,” but is seeking a warrant pursuant to a manslaughter investigation. Clearly the police evidence suggests that this is not an accident and that the officer’s account contradicts the evidence. Hence, in the interest of transparency CGID calls on the Dallas Police Department to stop disseminating misinformation and disclosed the facts and circumstances of Mr. Jean’s death forthwith, lest it is viewed as concealment,” Burke contended.

the US to study accounting at Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas. He also studied at the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College, in Castries, St. Lucia before migrating to the US. At the time of his death, he worked in Dallas as a risk assurance associate for accounting firm Price Waterhouse Coopers.

CGID Has called on all Caribbean American organizations and nationals to condemn Jean’s killing and to support and express solidarity with his family.

–END—

687 responses to “Dallas Police Officer Murders St. Lucian”

1. @de pedantic Dribbler September 9, 2018 10:46 AM “Simple, let the matter reach its conclusion, nah!”

@de pedantic Dribbler September 9, 2018 11:13 AM “it’s a heinous error”

At 10:46 am You beseeched me to let the mater reach its conclusion. And yet at 11;13 you have reached a conclusion that it was an error.

As my 4 year old gran would ask HOW DO YOU KNOW (that it is an error?

How do you know that it is not carelessness, gross carelessness or malice?

How on earth did you arrive at error?

Since the authorities have charged her with manslaughter it seems to me that the authorities believe that it was something other than error

2. @whiteHill September 9, 2018 11:29 AM “disdain for men…When last you saw a cock fight?

I don’t disdain men at all. I disdain bad behaviour, especially the sort of bad behaviour which causes men to be jailed, or which causes men to be separated from their families. I love men. I had/have a most wonderful father, brothers, nephews etc. Would it suffice if I said that I last saw a cock fight within the last 24 hours?

Lolll!!!

3. Oh well, there goes your home made apple pie and vanilla ice cream. WARU, did you get the pics of my eyes?

4. PLT I didn’t think you were a purblind cretin too, but my apologies – I was wrong.

5. 45 Waru’s husband must be hard of hearing, I am almost positive on his first trip to barbados his family probably told him to come back with a sunned front.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Ah yes 45govt, ad hominem attacks, the clearest confession that you have lost the argument… and I wasn’t even arguing with you because you had not said anything worth arguing with.

7. I was at the doctors office the other day took the elevator up to the 4th floor wasnt paying attention door opens and I walked down the hall a ways then i realize it was only the third floor someone had pressed the button on the third floor.and had taken stairs down rather than waiting. Things happen in strange ways, it may come out as a love triangle an accident or pure hate but she is and should be in trouble. but it has to be investigated for the truth to come out. I read today two bajans were found shot dead in bushes in jamaica , but until there is an investigation no one knows for sure it could be everything from cold blooded murder, to murder suicide let the police do their job.

8. PLT – you burnish your bigotry credentials with every post..

“This is an example of White privilege in toxic combination with police impunity.”

You were there?

9. Lawson,
    If I saw a Canadian-Scotsman exiting the lift (I think you call them elevators) on the wrong floor I would think he was drunk.

10. LowIQ45..she murdered him, she needs a 1st Degree murder charge…they got witnesses…

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Simple, at the moment it can ONLY be categorized as a heinous error…I have not made a judgement as that’s impossible with the available evidence…when the investigation is complete then we can determine the right phrasing!

BTW, I also clearly noted that she was either willfully indifferent or negigent and that I can see no basis on which her action (error or otherwise) will NOT result in some court delivered punishment.

You have adopted (automatically it seems) that this (as PLT phrased it) is a toxic case of white privilege whereas I am unwilling to get to that conclusion on this evidence.

I absolutely believe this woman is guilty of a criminal act which caused Mr Jean’s death I simply don’t know the whys and wherefors and refuse to jump to conclusions.

Oh and a further BTW… ‘errors’ result in criminal prosecution OFTEN….ask the father in NJ, USAwho left his gun unsecured and accessible and his 4 year old son playing cops and robbers or whatever killed his 6 year old neighbour playmate …that heinous error by the father …that NEGLIGENCE resulted in years in jail for him.

Still heinous error … let’s just wait and see if this one was a pure stupid error or a stupid act with malice fore-thought!

12. People could really be dumb..apartments in the US..all have numbers…no one forgets their apartment numbers…2 year olds remember their apartment numbers…

13. I was never a Police Officer, but work alongside Police officers,or to be more precise in place of Police Officers, as they were considered prime targets if they ventured on to the streets of what was then the most dangerous city in Europe . But before we were let loose in the streets and homes in the warring communities,in what could be considered as quasi-policemen we had to undergo both day and night training in replica urban settings/villages to positively identify targets so as to prevent such accidents from occurring. I would have thought that professional police officers in the such a developed country would have been exposed to a much more comprehensive programme of training of this type.

14. HAL IF YOU SAW A DRUNKEN SCOTSMAN THATS AKIN TO SEEING A UNICORN, BETTER GET OUT AND BUY A LOTTERY TICKET.

15. Lawson,
    Scotland is a land of teetotallers. Solid Episcopalians.

16. Waru as you should know all apts are not numbered some are lettered, 5th floor ABCD etc you make a mistake on floor and see your letter you can be mistaken. There is no mandated way of numbering or lettering apts, or rooms that is universal.

17. we luv a good bru especially if its iron

18. It seems that Guyger parked on the WRONG FLOOR of the parking complex after a 15 hour shift, Jean’s apt which mirrored hers was unlocked and dark, she thought he was a burglar, and that there was NO relationship between them. At least, that is the news from Dallas where the tragedy occurred, but perhaps Wot A Racist Udder knows better from her filthy bedsit.
    The incident where she shot and wounded a felon in 2017 resulted in a plea deal by the man admitting he seized an officer’s weapon, possessed drugs and violated his parole. He got two years, but doubtless our race-baiting contingent will argue that it was racism, as the muscreant’s name is Perez.

19. @45govt
    “PLT – you burnish your bigotry credentials with every post..”

How is PLT a bigot? You come on BU with that old white supremacist trick of labelling those who point out racism as racist. Utter folly.
    You think continually attacking WARU makes you any better?

Man,why don’t you go away? You expect to come on an Afro Bajan blog and not have people talk about racism/ white supremacy/ white privilege

If you find BU to be full of “racist cretins”, leff de man RH blog and go back to Brietbart and Stormfront.

20. LowIQ45 has to stay there, he cant move off racist websites and their lies….that is the blighted cross he has to bear…it’s the price he is paying for the crimes his evil ancestors committed against others…

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/crime/ny-news-amber-guyger-shooting-incident-20180909-story.html#nt=oft-Single%20Chain~Flex%20Feature~left-chain~dallas-1108p~~1~yes-art~curated~curatedpage

And those manslaughter charges should be upgraded to murder…but they are trying to cover up the relationship angle…

“The Dallas police officer who fatally shot a 26-year-old man after entering the wrong apartment in her building on Thursday night was arrested late Sunday.

Officer Amber Guyger, the four-year force veteran who killed Botham Jean after entering a home she believed was her own, was taken into custody and charged with manslaughter.”

21. The two of you sad racists can foxtrot oscar with your self disappointment. Dullard ya mammy call you dat? She en wrong. PLT is a bigot because he is stating ‘facts’ not in evidence. He has an in built victimhood mindset.

22. Dullard, since when was this an Afro Bajan blog? I thought it was a Bajan one – it is called Barbados Underground, not Black BU. You truly are a racist!

23. @ 45 Mayonnaise

I don’t generally engage white supremacists so consider this my last comment to you .

If you – a white supremacist – CHOOSE to come on a BLACK BLOG be prepared to have your fragile white supremacist feelings hurt. Simple.

Go back to Stormfront!!

A. Dullard

24. Dullard – I know Breitbart, but what is
    Stormfront ? Never even heard of it. So I am a White supremacist? I doubt you really know what that is, far less anything about me. You and WARU are just sad professional victims, utterly defined by your habit of ascribing all your failures to someone else. If it wasn’t Whitey, it would be something else.
    Get a life sad sack.

25. is this a black blog, I thought it was for people like adrian et al who were concerned about the island. I missed the part were David says …join in the discussion you never know how expressing your BLACK view may make a difference.
    In the spirit of being making nice to each other 45 govt what you posted on how it may have happened was informative,and A Dullard a pseudonym has never suited anyone better.

26. Lawson. I don’t really care what you think. Please push your snout elsewhere.

27. Mayonnaise men Lawson and 45 always amaze me. Of course the blog is free for anyone to post their views.

It is a black blog in the sense that the sentiment and views will largely reflect the opinions of the majority black population. It is not a black blog in the sense that is only for Blacks to comment.

But you two idiots already knew that and are only trying to deflect as usual.

Constructive comments from the likes of Adrian and John the Quaker when he is not in Jack Bowman or “slavery was good for black people” mode would always be welcome.

But nice try and thanks for playing. RH clowns…

28. Lawson…too early to play the dumb Canadian role…..that id totally expected of .lowI45…ya know…low IQ and all…but you just being the drunkard for a retired fire fighter…we expect a little bit more.

29. There seems to be more to the matter than is currently being made public. What we can say for certain is that the policewoman killed the man and she must be held accountable.

30. Now you get it David – unlike your header. She IS being held accountable, for what exactly we have yet to find out.

31. We stand by the headline, she shot, kill, murder, potato, potahto.

32. Don’t be silly, you know perfectly well that is nonsense. Not all killings are murders.

33. Waru time to walk you husband, yes all those years at firefighting did give me a bit of an insight into human nature just when you think you have seen the stupidest thing ever wait a day just when you thing you know exactly how or why something happened wait a day

34. Don’t worry Lawson…tomorrow is another day, wait a day..she got charged late yesterday…the charge can be upgraded to murder…wait a day…any day..

35. Seems to me a lover’s quarell gone wrong

36. Now Yardfowl, what leads you to the conclusion it’s a lovers QUARREL? You know them?

37. 45govt the same conclusion that made me decide you are a sh.it hound
    Case closed

38. Yuh know one thing about some WI men they love chasing white meat
    This time around this dawg chased the wrong master
    Master jump up and bite him

39. Yes Yardfowl, I can see where your conclusions emanate from, the same place as your posts, from your RH.

40. Mariposa extremely large huge assed white meat, that is why this tiny cop may not fit your narrative,

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@45govt
    The facts as we know them speak for themselves: Amber Guyger entered an apartment that was not her own and shot and killed a human being who was entitled to be there and who posed no threat to her. This is murder! The only question is whether it was first degree murder (premeditated) or second degree murder (not premeditated). It was murder not manslaughter because it was intentional: a trained police officer issues commands to hold your hands up or get down on the floor before discharging a weapon. Furthermore a trained police officer with five years of experience knows how to shoot to disable rather than fire at the victim’s centre of mass at close range when she has not even ascertained whether the victim poses a threat. So there is no doubt that she should be charged with murder: if a jury decides that it should only be manslaughter after hearing all the evidence they can make that determination. However if she is charged only with manslaughter but the jury thinks it is murder after hearing and considering all the evidence they can do nothing. This is why the charge is transparently racist, a product of White privilege multiplied by police impunity raised to the power of the massive incompetence of this particular officer.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@45govt
    If she had fired a working shot that had ricocheted and inadvertently killed her victim, that would be voluntary manslaughter, because she did not intend to kill, but voluntarily committed a dangerous act that ended up killing. The difference between murder and manslaughter is the intent to kill.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

^warning shot

44. Now how did she get entry to a house where she did not live.
    Did she have a key
    Or did he let her in
    Both sceanrios can happen giving reasonable thought that he might have known her

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@45govt
    It is clearly a murder case whether Amber Guyger knew her victim or not.
    Let’s see whether you can do better than ad hominem attacks this time…

46. There is nothing in my comments suggestive of him being killed because of a racist motive
    But a motive that have been played out many times between lovers no matter what color or age where rage driven by many factors ends up in death of one or the other partner
    How can a police officer trained in specific detailing and record keeping lost track of her home a home which she lived and visited on many occasions

47. Not arguing whether or not it is a muder case . murder is obvious
    Motive for the cause still unknown but however driiven by a racist theory which i very much doubt