It is done!

It is up to Barbadians to continue to demand wage hikes, wallow in consumption behaviour and engage in the petty politics of the day. It seems the pragmatic approach is to embrace the government’s mantra read many hands make light work. Mia 100 day government has made some questionable decisions – the size of Cabinet as one example, although some  understand the political motive behind the decision.

It is crunch time people.

David, blogmaster

IMF Reaches Staff-Level Agreement with Barbados on an Economic Program under the Extended Fund Facility

September 7, 2018

End-of-Mission press releases include statements of IMF staff teams that convey preliminary findings after a visit to a country. The views expressed in this statement are those of the IMF staff and do not necessarily represent the views of the IMF’s Executive Board. Based on the preliminary findings of this mission, staff will prepare a report that, subject to management approval, will be presented to the IMF’s Executive Board for discussion and decision.
  • Staff envisages that the IMF’s Executive Board would consider the proposed arrangement under the EFF by early October.
  • The Barbados’s Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan aims to restore macroeconomic stability and put the economy on a path of strong, sustainable and inclusive growth, while safeguarding the resilience of the financial sector.
  • The cornerstone of the program is a strong front-loaded fiscal adjustment focused on curbing current expenditure, while maintaining space for bolstering social safety nets and infrastructure spending.

At the request of the Government of Barbados, an International Monetary Fund (IMF) team led by Bert van Selm visited Bridgetown from August 30 to September 7, for discussions on possible IMF financial support for the Government of Barbados’s Economic Recovery and Transformation plan. At the end of the visit, Mr. van Selm made the following statement:

“I am pleased to announce that, in support of the Barbadian authorities’ economic reform program, the IMF team and the government of Barbados have reached staff-level agreement on a 48-months Extended Fund Facility, with access of SDR 208 million (equivalent to 220 percent of quota, or about US$290 million). If approved by the IMF Executive Board, SDR 35 million (about US$49 million) would be immediately available. Staff envisages that the IMF’s Executive Board would consider the proposed arrangement under the EFF by early October.

“In the last decade, the Barbadian economy has been caught in a cycle of low growth, widening fiscal deficits and increasing debt. International reserves have dwindled to US$240 million, well below reserve adequacy levels, while central government debt has become unsustainable.

“The new government that took office in May 2018 is rapidly developing plans to address the current vulnerabilities, in close consultation with its social partners. The Barbados’s Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan aims to restore macroeconomic stability and put the economy on a path of strong, sustainable and inclusive growth, while safeguarding the resilience of the financial sector. The authorities’ fiscal consolidation program, in conjunction with the announced debt restructuring, would place debt on a clear downward trajectory. The strategy of accelerating growth focuses on attracting new investment in areas such as renewable energy, creative and artistic industries, education and health services, agro-industries, research, the international business sector, and tourism.

“The authorities’ reform program, and the important commitment of IMF resources that it entails, is a vote of confidence in Barbados’ Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan. The cornerstone of the program is a strong front-loaded fiscal adjustment focused on curbing current expenditure, while maintaining space for bolstering social safety nets and infrastructure spending. In this context, the measures to reduce government expenditures announced in late August are a critical and important first step. These measures aim to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of public services and reduce government transfers to state-owned enterprises by reviewing user fees; exploring options for mergers; and strengthening oversight. The measures should help reach a primary surplus target of 6 percent of GDP in 2019/20.

“The fiscal adjustment will be complemented by a comprehensive debt restructuring, aimed at securing meaningful debt reduction, reducing financing needs, and restoring debt sustainability. Barbados’ central government debt will be put on a clear downward path towards a target of 60 percent of GDP by 2033, from an estimated 157 percent of GDP at present. Progress being made by the authorities in furthering good-faith discussions with domestic and external creditors is welcome. Continuing open dialogue and sharing information will remain important in concluding an orderly debt restructuring process.

“The success of Barbados’ program will require an extraordinary effort and resolve on the part of the authorities and other segments of society, as well as broad international support. While the initial implementation period will be challenging, Barbados will emerge stronger and more dynamic from the program, and it will be better poised to generate growth and job creation for the people of Barbados.

“The team would like to take this opportunity to thank Barbados’ authorities and the technical team for their openness and candid discussions.”

IMF Communications Department
MEDIA RELATIONS
PRESS OFFICER: Randa Elnagar
Phone: +1 202 623-7100Email: MEDIA@IMF.org

227 responses to “IMF and Barbados Reaches Staff-Level Agreement”

1. @David September 8, 2018 11:49 AM “Simple Simon you seem to be in an acid state this morning?”

David, I had a couple of slices of multigrain bread, a slice of avocado pear, some orange juice and a cup of coffee so I good now.

Lolll!!!

2. Well where is the ERNIE in this IMF program ?

We have BERT van anselm heading the IMF team !

Then we have the Barbados 🇧🇧 government BERT plan !

Still there is no ERNIE in all this ” B” soup 🍜!!

3. Shit Simon this is no laughing matter when bajans known to having a quality standard of life might soon have to resort to coal pot burning to safe money on electricity and stan pipe to save money on water
    Just might even have to rely on donkey and cart to save gas charges

4. @ David
    Are we committed to the attitudinal change?
    OBVIOUSLY NOT….!
    This is why there is no hope…

If we were committed to change then Maripoka, and her ilk would be either in Dodds, or wearing ankle bracelets and paying all their bribe monies to crooked lawyers as we speak…. instead of being on BU talking shiite.

If we were committed to change, certain characters in the new government would URGENTLY and transparently CLARIFY certain accusations against them – or resign quietly ….while matters are sorted out…

If we were serious, there would not be ‘business as usual” …with an ARMY of ministers appointing a host of friends and family to positions that WE ALL KNOW they are unqualified …and INCAPABLE of executing successfully. …
    …and that their failures will bring NO consequences….except more national downgrades …and personal fortunes.

What change what…??!!

Our ass is grass.

5. @Fractured Barrow´s DLP-seed

The Dems should have approached the IMF in 2013 to get a cheap loan to restructure the island. What they did was the opposite, namely begging for the private CS-FCIB loan with excessive interest rates. Only the least gifted man in the whole Caribbean history, only the Big Sinck could so so. How should we expect a man to control the budget who cannot even control his mouth and his shape?

What an act of insanity!

… Unless … The CS-FCIB loan makes sense when we assume that there was a large kick-back.

6. Let me tell u ole boar bush tea i owe no one in Barbados a pint a gill or a quarter not one fu..kkng cent.
    You need to know your f..ig manners and get your sh.iit right

7. Trump behavior.

8. isn’t it funny that the only comments some can make is when they go into other bloggers posts and pull out statements and comment on that?

No original thought then?Steupse

Miller

Surely you are not equating a lie from your BLP leader and Associates that the last Govt left a debt of 175% Debt to GDP which the IMF promptly contradicted -stating it was 157 % to GDP – And trying to say that the substantive point of Mia being an Obstructionist for the past 10 years which has helped pushed us in the position we are – and in the example given she refused to attend the celebration of 360 anniversary of parliament when it should be 375 anniversary.

As Hal pointed out that is the modus operandi of the BLP.You couldn’t get it clearer – pure smoke and mirrors.Distract,distract,distract – or fudge the truth,fudge the truth non stop.

9. The blp has cut a cloth designed on alternative and gross misinformation in time which would bite them in the a.rss
    Ouside being beggars on the IMF doorsteps not one original thought of truthfulness over the past hundred days of reign has been uttered from the mouth of the PM
    Now handed a measly 29million to pay debt the barbados taxpayer would have to pull the over laden debt wagon a little harder and longer
    Billion dollar debt to service on 290million
    Go figure

10. Where is that lying yardfowl Enuff…

this government is playing games with the people, but neither BLP nor DLP should be elected to parliament come next elections..

“The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administration – currently under scrutiny for alleged corruption in office – joined the six other political parties who faced the electorate last May to appear Friday before the Joint Selection Committee of Parliament that is gathering recommendations for the proposed Integrity in Public Life Bill 2018.

During the six-hour public hearing in the Senate Chambers chaired by Attorney General Dale Marshall, newly-elected DLP General Secretary Guyson Mayers, flanked by President Verla DePeiza, said the proposed legislation would be ineffective on its own.

“Legislation of this nature cannot really be effectively discussed without accompanying regulations. There is a need for ‘how-to’ provisions to accompany the broad legislation or the bill that is proposed. It is important in any discussion therefore of this Integrity Commission proposed by the bill for us to have an idea as to how the commission will carry out its work and therefore be able to comment on the likelihood of its effectiveness,” said Mayers who lead off the party’s oral submission.

He also argued that if the bill is passed into law without the accompanying regulations, it would remain dormant for a long time.

He suggested that the 1929 Anti-Corruption Act which is the law of the land would be still useful today were it not for its penalty provisions. Mayers noted that even in the new bill, the penalties were not a deterrent. “

11. The Many-poka feeling the heat, She or he is fu ..kin ,and shit..in at the same time

12. Supermarket owners complaining that even on a Saturday which is their busiest – the aisles are sparse and you could do a bushy park race there.

The store owners are complaining that the parents not spending much on back to school items.

The traffic at Chefette and KFC light as well.

Kadooment Band owners said this is the worst Kadooment ever

People can’t pay their rent

People can’t pay their loans or mortgages

Car dealers say people not buying new cars

Wuhloss.Mia cares .

She increased the cabinet to the size of an elephant

She took and gave a 5 % increase to the whole new cabinet

She gave she family and friends nuff picks and positions

She hire all the old BLP rejects who half asleep and almost dribbling .Who would have thunk it ?Cappy,Billie,Johnny,David.

I glad for them though.They could add to the pension they’re getting.

And all this time Mia riding bout in she brand new Mercedes benz vehicle which she did not want freundel to sit down in

What to say nuh ? Mia Cares I suppose.

13. WARU aka Abigail

Have you no shame? Yesterday were you not insinuating that there was no Committee meeting on this matter? Now you are quick to copy and paste information from Guyson Mayers. Birds of a feather do flock together.

14. Inniss,

“The traffic at Chefette and KFC light as well.”

Very good, since most civil servants show signs of extreme obesity.

“Kadooment Band owners said this is the worst Kadooment ever”

At least we had no massacre like last year when the boil from Black Rock raped the festivity.

“People can’t pay their loans or mortgages”

The property market needs an adjustment anyway.

“Car dealers say people not buying new cars”

We have already too many cars on the streets.

“And all this time Mia riding bout in she brand new Mercedes benz vehicle which she did not want freundel to sit down in”

Who cares about a small used S 400?

15. @T.Inniss

The reason Mia driving about in a brand new Mercedes Benz is because the voters in Barbados send Freundel and his pack of DLP bandits to the 30-0 dump. The yardfowls, like you, are astray

16. @ T.Inniss,

I suggested that DLP supporters should stop criticising PM MIA and the BLP government.

Let them do their job. Be thankful for the increase in Bus fare which will go from $2 to LESS THAN $5.

If the DLP had been politically astute they could have raised the fare by a little 15 cents every year from 2008

instead of leaving it to the BLP to raise it to LESS THAN $5.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/09/08/no-five-dollar-bus-fare-says-mottley/

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

According to Bush Tea our “ass is grass,” and Hal repeats his mantra that “Barbados is a failed state.” I am not impressed by the BERT plan, mostly because I foresee a high likelihood of it failing. However I think that to adopt either of Bushie’s or Hal’s perspective is to shoot ourselves in the foot. Once we assume that we are doomed it becomes a self fulfilling prophesy… it seems more sane to me to work towards the best outcomes while simultaneously preparing ourselves to ameliorate the negative effects of the worst.

The public debt in Barbados is 175% of GDP. The IMF measurement of 157% of GDP is not a transposition error, it simply does not include the amounts that the public treasury owes citizens in income tax refunds, and VAT refunds, and not paying citizens for land that has been expropriated to build roads, etc. The IMF clearly does not care about such debt, but you might if you are still waiting for your 2015, 2016, and 2017 income tax refunds.

I do not think that the BERT plan will succeed in reducing this debt to 60% of GDP by 2033 which is the target. This is because we are going to be subject to the vagaries of the global market over this time frame and there will certainly be another global recession or depression within the next 15 years. That is just the nature of capitalism, and it has not been adequately acknowledged in the government’s prognosis.

Another weakness of the BERT plan is it’s anemic approach to reduction of the public sector wage bill. Mia should absolutely have taken this opportunity to freeze public sector hiring to reduce the public service head count by attrition. The public sector is bloated and inefficient ( the private sector is also, but that is mainly a problem for shareholders, not the taxpayer). The best way to catalyze cultural change in the public sector is the operational stress of being forced to do more with less.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The changes being contemplated for the public transportation sector are too little too late. The Transport Board should be disbanded; it is beyond help. The regulation of ZRs and private sector buses must be revolutionized.

All new public service vehicles must be electric. These are easy to source from China https://www.made-in-china.com/products-search/hot-china-products/Electric_Bus.html. It would also be easy to purchase the chassis, motors and batteries from China and construct the bodies in Barbados. This would reduce air pollution dramatically and by using solar energy to charge (the roof of each vehicle should be covered in solar panels) it would greatly reduce out expenditure of forex on fuel. In order to incentivize upgrading the existing fleet to electric allow only them to charge the new fare of $3 while old vehicles have to make do with the old $2 fare.

All buses, minibuses, and ZRs must be equipped with GPS tracking and that all that data must be open source, available for any clever programmer to use in building useful apps; this would help Barbados achieve huge public benefits with a very tiny capital investment. You would simply have to check your phone to see exactly where you bus is and when it will arrive at your stop. Insurance companies will be able to use the data to better manage their risks and bring down the cost of insurance for good bus drivers and bus companies. The Ministry of Transport and works will be able to use the data to monitor the driving behaviour of the public service vehicles they license to reduce bad driver behaviours like speeding and dragging through incentives and penalties. The Ministry will also be able to fine tune the number of licences they issue to fit passenger demand much more accurately. Bus companies will be able to mine the data to operate more efficiently and profitably.

19. “instead of leaving it to the BLP to raise it to LESS THAN $5.”

Did Mia not say it will not be $5..however the amount being bandied about is $4.50..lol

20. @ peterlawrencethompson,

Barbados has no choice but to continue be ” bloated and inefficient ” until new businesses are created.

Where are the “laid off” civil servants going to work ? Where are the 4000 graduates of schools BCC, SJPP and UWI going to work ?

21. “Yesterday were you not insinuating that there was no Committee meeting on this matter? ”

Enuff…really…

This was me yesterday…

WARU September 7, 2018 6:50 PM

“So Enuff..while yall here trying to distract us with Ms. Stewart and her mother’s business which they are quite capable of taking care of…now that they know what is possible and can ignore the skunks…like yaself……whatever happened to the Integrity Committee Meeting today starring DALE MARSHALLL…LOL…we have not heard a peep, I will check the newspapers but ya would think you and the other skunks would have posted something…to BU instead of posting all those forged documents that are now in the Beneficiary’s possession…as evidence..lol..murdahhhllll!!!!

wuh ya tink we forget ….

I want Enuff to tell me what happened to today’s Integrity Committee Meeting chaired by and starring Marshall…he won’t answer me at all…only talking a lot of rubbish…I don’t see anything about the meeting anywhere, that is how I came across Kaymar’s exit…what happened to the meeting Enuff..”

This was Enuff…

“Enuff September 7, 2018 7:32 PM

WARU

Wasn’t today about the IMF? Remember them, the IMF that many here on BU were bumping their gums saying would not lend the B’dos government a cent, not after giving public servants a raise and removing UWI fees?”

Foolish me forgot yardfowls are never kept in the loop and are always on BU pretending to be in the know, the pattern is being extended by Enuff the yardfowl…from the previous government’s yardfowls…history repeating itself…straight to the next election…

22. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hants September 8, 2018 4:25 PM
    I did not say lay off civil servants, just stop hiring new ones for a while until the civil service is of a sustainable size. The “4000 graduates of schools BCC, SJPP and UWI” are going to be the ones to start new entrepreneurial enterprises. The current private sector is pretty much useless when it comes to innovation, we need to build a new entrepreneurial class. For heaven’s sake do not condemn young people to the army of occupation.

23. @peterlawrencethompson,

I agree with your ” need to build a new entrepreneurial class.”

Hopefully you can influence the people with the resources to ” invest. in young Barbadians.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hants September 8, 2018 4:44 PM
    I have met a significant number of people in the Barbadian diaspora who are looking for ways of investing to help the development of the place their navel string is buried.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ WARU September 8, 2018 2:26 PM
    “He also argued that if the bill is passed into law without the accompanying regulations, it would remain dormant for a long time.
    He suggested that the 1929 Anti-Corruption Act which is the law of the land would be still useful today were it not for its penalty provisions. Mayers noted that even in the new bill, the penalties were not a deterrent..”

Please Cut & Paste, please don’t swallow that portion of bullshit!

If the 1929 anti-Corruption Act would be still be useful for today’s public sector decisions involving the awarding of contracts to private sector players (given the absence of the white (British) surveillance of the Colonial Secretary and Governor why did his DLP administration go ahead and passed their own upgraded version of the same legislation against which they are now opposed?

What were those ‘deliberating concerns’ (as being expressed now) that caused them not to proclaim the same earth-moving piece of legislation promised in January 2008 but not debated and passed in Parliament until 2012; on the eve of another set of general elections?

Is it because they knew what they had in store for the poor taxpayers if they returned to office as it turned out to be even up to the very bitter end of the May 2018 general elections?

26. Hants asked: Where are the graduates from BCCI,SJP & UWI go to work.

We also need to ask where are the laid off public servants going to work?

And now that Mia Mottley – Miss CSME Incarnate – has decided to expand to 11 – the categories of persons who can come into Barbados automatically for 6 months and live and look for work – then those graduates and those laid off public servants will have to be contending with those nationals of other CARICOM countries looking for work.

Remember Haiti has also been allowed to Come in without a visa for 6 months.

First Owen Arthur and now Mia Mottley have so desired the applause of their peers at the CARICOM Heads of Govt meetings,that they have continually gone out and made commitment by this country without even holding a town hall meeting.

Why didn’t Mia address this CSME changes she is implementing now – in the many ‘Rubbing Shoulders ‘ Escapades she had when she was running up and down Bdos seeking to be prime minister.

Why is it that Jamaica,Greneda,Antigua,St Vincent,St Lucia,Trinidad,St Kitts and all these other CARICOM countries refuse to join up with the CCJ,unless their people say yes in a referendum?

Were barbadians even asked if we wanted to have the CCJ as our final Court of Appeal.The answer clearly is No.But to add insult to more injury – Mia with her 30 -0 mandate now wants to tighten the noose of the bajans electorate by making it more difficult to leave the CCJ.

Mia has also signaled her intention to open up the services required by the public sector to all those persons within the CSME ,so eventually even the Civil Service which in all Caribbean Countries has largely been the preserve or the only source of hope for a Nation’s citizens – will not even have that as a saving grace.

For those who want to foolishly say – maybe that’s a good thing to bring in these people to fix the public service – I want to remind you that historically Barbadian civil servants were always seen as the crème de la crème of the Caribbean,and were avidly sought after as policemen ,magistrates,Judges,educators etc.

When we look around the Caribbean there is no country that can boast of a satisfactory public service not riddled with Corruption,inefficiency,lack of educational skills etc.

We might have fallen in our standards from the 50s,60s and 70s but the Bdos Civil Service is still at the top in the Caribbean grouping.

Was it Gabby who sang about ‘Riots in the Land’ – I hope that circumstances never force our people to go that route again.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss September 8, 2018 6:00 PM
    Please read what I actually wrote about laying off civil servants.

28. If a Hurricane does not affect Barbados next week it will be surprising.

Issac should be near Barbados Wednesday or Thursday.

You can go to the National hurricane centre or weather underground.

29. @ Hants at 6:17 PM

Do we not have a Social and Economic hurricane already? Why do you wish a physical hurricane as well? Hurricanes usually divert north of Barbados several hundred miles out from coast.

30. @PLT I completely agree with you on getting electric buses from China. China is the one country which has significantly reduced the cost of electric buses by the scale of production. The Transport board recently sent out a tender to for the conversion of existing buses to electric. I don’t know if this makes any sense.

31. Miller…as things stand I would like to see them ALL locked up for corruption…..dring back decades…..preferably in the US…they are both playing games with the people again and feeding them. a long line of bullshit AGAIN …they all should be in handcuffs and ankle bracelets just like their compadre Donville…

ya done know I take no prisoners…

32. 2 of the agencies that need getting rid of is the Enterprise Growth Fund and I think its Fund Express.

The buzz word right now is developing an entreupreunerial spirit among the young people but where are they going to get funding to get their businesses off the ground.

Sometime back there was a story on another blog site about the corrupt practices of the CEO of that agency timothy simmons and his lawyer friend Frank.

After that info came out I felt the last government should have immediately done an audit into that agency because its track record of assisting small businesses is dismal.

33. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Backooful Jack September 8, 2018 7:12 PM

I follow EV and RE as i find pleasure in seeing new technology being rolled out. For the most part the real economic value of using batteries or hydrogen fuel cells for transportation is not with passenger cars but in moving goods and people via buses and trucks etc.

EV buses from china may be cheaper but not as reliable as we think. Lets us not rush to buy buses from China. There are a few North American(both canadian and US); European(Volvo MBenz Belgian and Dutch) and Indian(Tata) bus makers out there that make pretty good buses. BYD a major suppliers and leader in EV vehicle manufacture plus a Chinese bus maker recently encountered non-performance issues with some of its EV buses. The buses were unable to perform as expected.

These issues were encountered with pilot use buses in certain North American cities were the Transport authorities have the luxury of putting these EV buses thru real time conditions before committing to longer term procurement deals etc.

https://www.greentechmedia.com/articles/read/byds-electric-bus-woes-threaten-to-tarnish-the-broader-industry#gs.MAz4EV8

We must also consider hydrid buses and if you want to produce more RE energy the entire roof of the bus terminals can be a PV energy source. I am not so sure about putting the modules on the roof of the physical buses as the condition on the road may not allow the bus to generate that much solar energy as the modules on the roof will probably get very soiled unless a strict cleaning regime for the buses is adhered to.

RE and ES(energy storage) can do a lot for barbados. However; we need to understand that the new tech is available to all and sundry. Barbados will not have an advantage for too long and must proceed or plan our RE and ES future with eyes wide open and not try to sell the citizens pie in the sky expectations about what RE and ES can do for the nation. Eg Barbados more competitive etc. It takes more then just RE and ES to accomplish that goal.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss September 8, 2018 7:46 PM
    “should have immediately done an audit into that agency because its track record of assisting small businesses is dismal”
    The agency you’re trying to recall is Fund Access. You are right about the need for audits: Fund Access, Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme, BIDC, Enterprise Growth Fund, Small Hotels Investment Fund, Tourism Loan Fund, Agricultural Development Fund, Industrial Investment and Employment Fund, Innovation Fund, etc.

It is however, a mistake to focus only on mismanagement or malfeasance… The entire development model is flawed. It makes as much sense for bureaucrats to be in charge of entrepreneurial development as it would to put truck drivers in charge of developing ballet dancers.

Entrepreneurial development needs to be done by entrepreneurial non-profit organizations who compete with each other for the privilege of serving Barbadian entrepreneurs.

35. Peter Thompson.

Good point there.

36. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

The Transport board recently sent out a tender to for the conversion of existing buses to electric. I don’t know if this makes any sense

I may make sense as you already have the bus bodies here on island and the conversion to a hybrid or BEV(battery electic vehicle)
    may allow the TB to get x more years out of the existing bus bodies.

From what i understand a bus commercial life is about 12 years with out a major tear-down and rebuild. If you are rebuilding and gong back to diesel the economic looks different than if u going to hybrid-ev or battery-ev.

Also one of the major selling points on BEV buses is lower maintenance cost. vehicles propelled by electric motors have around 30%(tech dependent) less drive train parts than ICE propelled vehicles. That is 30% less parts to replace or service or stock in a parts warehouse. From the look of things the EV buses drive trains will be very modular. In theory modular things are easier to diagnose and thus replace/repair. That could lead to an increase in unit availability. We know the TB has a fleet of idle buses at Weymouth; each in need of parts etc.

Also if TB decided to go hybrid with natural gas as the fuel; the NatGas is a local fuel less subject to world market price fluctuations etc; actually the TB may experience a stable fuel price that will make the economics of the transport sector a different animal.

There is much to be learned if done correctly. A proper analysis of the BEV or Hybrid buses for the TB needs to be done; and a honest cold non partisan decision taken on whether the TB goes BEV or Hybrid or not at all.

37. @ Vincent Codrington,

Yes they usually miss Barbados but not always. Be prepared……or not.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) September 8, 2018 8:14 PM
    I do not think that the Transport Board owns any vehicles that are newer than 12 years old, so equipping them with electric drive trains is the sort of thing that Matthew 9:17 warned us against. “Neither do men put new wine into old bottles: else the bottles break, and the wine runneth out, and the bottles perish…”

39. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@PLT

All new public service vehicles must be electric. These are easy to source from China https://www.made-in-china.com/products-search/hot-china-products/Electric_Bus.html. It would also be easy to purchase the chassis, motors and batteries from China and construct the bodies in Barbados.

Dont be so quick with running to China to purchase your buses.

https://www.greentechmedia.com/articles/read/byds-electric-bus-woes-threaten-to-tarnish-the-broader-industry#gs.MAz4EV8

BEV buses are still more costly then ICE counterparts. We don’t have theluxury of being too wrong in our purchasing decisions; we need to look at all the available reliable EV-Bus makers and see what is the best buses for us given our unique environment..

40. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ peterlawrencethompson September 8, 2018 8:21 PM

I think u missed my point or i was not an a good communicator.
    The 12 years is a diesel bus. The body or chassis is not useless. After 12 years many of the buses in North America are often sold to a School district for the transport of the schools children.

However the 12 old older bus may be rebuilt; but the engine need a complete overhaul etc. So u may overhaul the bus but replace the drive train. Making the bus a BEV or Hybrid.

I think u may need to escape your box/foxhole on this occasion to see what i am talking about. There are a few companies that are into the conversion of vehicles from ICE to hybrid or BEV; or that provide electric drive/power trains for these conversions..

its doable and the economics is there otherwise(someone crunched the numbers) the conversions would not be done in the first place.

41. Sir Fuzzy, PLT,

Electrical drives also need maintenaince. And we all know that Barbadian public servants or workers at SOEs are unable and unwilling to maintain anything. Look at the supreme court, look at the other public buildings, look at the buses, look at everything in the hands of the public service. They do not care and do not know it better.

The shrinking of the public service is not a political question anymore. It is out of the hands of the Barbadian population, a population still too arrogant, like the Taliban unwilling for any change, too demotivated for work and focused on the lavish and expensive American lifestyle.

We will face an adjustment next year dictated by the necessity of the international capital market.

The Barbadian opera with all its excuses, badgets, titles and entitlements will be over very soon. The donkey will replace the SUV, healthy local food the unhealthy American fast food.

42. The whole discussion about the bus fares simply demonstrates that the Barbadian population is completely out of touch with reality. 90% of the Barbadian masses still think that some creditor or foreign nation like China owes them some money because they feel they are very, very special and have a natural right to a living standard far above their productivity and their means.

43. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Not all chinese EV buses will make the grade. Chinese EV bus makers are not doing the best job. They maybe cheaper but do we only look at cheap when it comes to purchasing EV buses

44. “Foolish me forgot yardfowls are never kept in the loop and are always on BU pretending to be in the know, the pattern is being extended by Enuff the yardfowl…from the previous government’s yardfowls…history repeating itself…straight to the next election…”

Your default response–yardfowl,. Hahahaaaaaaaaa!

45. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ Tron September 8, 2018 8:51 PM

I agree with mainly becuase i am a bajan and knows what is allowed to happen with “maintenance”. No or litle maintenance is par for the course bout hay.

Have you ever tried getting persons in your household to reduce electricity consumption? The easiest way would be to expect that they share your desire to reduce the consumption and will all fall in line. Reality is that the usually dont and rebel at every suggestion why they must change. So to reduce the bill you change the old light bulbs to LEDs. You know they will practise the bad habits but it will be less costly bad habit. LED use about 40% of the othe light bulbs. You have to work around the ailment, in a way that you see progress even without their cooperation.

Everyone appears to see the benefits of privatising the TB but what are he pitfalls of a privately owned and run “public transport system”

If you are honest you will see that they maybe pitfalls; to national development in putting all the psv in private hands, given the propensity for bajun to tale bribes etc. The perfect picture that we paint of public transport in private hands maybe a dose of “hornswoggle”.

46. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
  47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tron & sirfuzzy,
    I understand that the Transport Board will not maintain electric buses any better than their diesel ones, which is why I said that the entire company must be dissolved. They are saddled with $170 million in debt and cannot be anything but a millstone around taxpayers necks.

A main reason that I am an advocate of electric vehicles is that they do not require transmissions and so the drive-train is radically simplified. I hope you are right Tron that some bus bodies can be re-powered, but the ones I see in my neck of the woods look very dilapidated. In any case we have local companies that can build bus bodies.

48. Sir Fuzzy,

You plaster the roof with solar panels and install LED-lamps with motion sensors.

Problem solved.

49. @ peterlawrencethompson September 8, 2018 9:34 PM

I agree 100% that everything in Barbados must run on electricity combined with solar energy. Bim has the sun, so use it!

Barbados needs such new ideas. Business as usual is not working anymore.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Among the pitfalls of a public transportation system which is in the private sector are:
    * the spread of the dysfunctional ZR culture. This can be addressed with technology by every vehicle being equipped with GPS tracking in real time then disciplining drivers for speeding or dragging. The vehicles should also have tamper proof dashcams as well as interior cameras and any misbehavior punished with real sanctions that include job loss.
    * poor service on unprofitable routes. This must be dealt with by tracking usage on a per passenger basis and structuring the licences so that access to busy routes is contingent on agreeing to maintain service levels on those with low ridership. This means that a driver would have to know several routes and would not know from week to week which route he would be driving.