Submitted by Observing

Every once in a while we are treated to a masterful display of “watch muh while I pull a rabbit out of my hat.” Our political culture and climate is no different. A peep at the mistress payslip after her much heralded 5% increase with only 5 months back pay that she hasn’t gotten yet reminded me of that phrase “the Lord giveth and the Lord taketh away”. Let’s examine it for a second.

Salary increase
Public workers got 5% or an average of $140 – $400. BUT account for $45 increase in water, $56 average increase for a health levy and an average increase of $60-$70 in gas and one can see how that 5% disappears. Oh, and God help those with assessable income over 75,000. Apparently they are now taking home on average $90-$300 LESS this month AFTER the increase due to the increase in income tax. Someone said belly full but hungry? Watch muh.

Road Tax removal
Sweet we said. No more $450 or $900 road tax. BUT, 40c on every litre has revealed itself as an average monthly increase of $76 for a basic commuter. Think about the taxi operators, PSV operators, freighters, truckers, dumpers, transporters, retailers, bread and food vendors etc. etc and you can see that much more is being paid. Sure $450 at one time is alot, but I guess we can afford $800-$900 or more spread out over 12 months. Can’t we? Watch muh.

SSA off books
So, expenses for the SSA are no longer under transfers in the annual budget. Poof! Disappearing expenditure. BUT, they now collect from every household ($45) regardless of water usage (or not usage). Presto, every householder now pays for their own garbage collection regardless of frequency. $45 for 7 collections a week or $45 for 1 collection a week or $45 for non collections a week. Watch muh.

Foreign exchange stabilisation
The quarterly report was great. Foreign exchange stabilised. But hold a minute. We stopped repaying debts didn’t we? Well there ya go. To every householder that owes FastCash, Axcel, the Credit Union, Courts, Standards, Massy or God forbid the Government of Barbados, just follow the leader. Stop paying and renegotiate! Watch muh.

South Coast Sewage Fix
Priceless. Move the sewage from the road….pump it in the swamp….release it in the sea….close the beach……then blame the wells for not working. Watch muh

Reduced prices
Of course the removal of NSRL resulted in reduced prices, didn’t it? BUT, any good business man MUST pass on his increased transportation cost (fuel levy), increased water costs (50% of standard bill), increase in corporation tax (up to 30%), the employer contribution to the health levy (1.5% of each employee’s salary) and the compensation for profit margins (i.e. keep muh profits the same or higher no matter what). Of course we all know who these corporate level increases are passed on to! yes! We!!! Watch muh.

Increased tourism income
Without detail Barbados is perhaps the 2nd most expensive destination in the Caribbean. But, we have increased costs on virtually every aspect of tourism endeavour. I guess if 5% fewer visitors come but pay 10% more to get and stay here we can claim tourism is doing better. I guess. Watch muh.

Public input for privatisation and divestment
It’s always good to ask what people think and then do what you planned to any how. It’s even better when you have a survey monkey and a few New Unified Puppets Working with ya. Watch muh.

Less than 4000
Words, semantics, numbers, statistics. Po-ta-to, pota-to, To-ma-to, Toma-to. No more than 4000 workers will go home. Too bad for the 3,999 that are shaking in their boots. I could be wrong but this sounds like deja-vu

Anyhow, I was told to watch muh, so I will keep watching….and genuinely hoping it all works out. After all, um is all uh we!

Namaste!

203 responses to “Smoke and Mirrors”

1. A copy of this article should be sent to Mia and her economic advisers
    BTW cant hear a peep out of Mascoll

2. Mariposa,

This is all Chinese hokum pokum. You got them on the run. Three months and counting since we have had a new government.

3. @Observing

Where your missive falls short is that Barbados is in deep dodo and there is little if any wiggle room to manoeuvrer. To extract the country from the deep economic and social abyss we find ourselves, it will require a herculean effort by ALL, not just the government AND it will take time – YEARS!

4. @ David

TRUE…
    …but should there not be a plan being articulated even as we speak…?
    A framework at least being COLLECTIVELY put together.

All Bushie sees is a whole bunch of clueless lawyers being placed in charge of every shiite….
    Grenville proposed to bring a bunch of SUCCESSFUL businessmen to lead change …and we kicked up shit.
    The BLP brings a bunch of lawyers (the worst set of people on Earth) and you are optimistic about recovery…?

Recovery…?
    …mean like the Judicial system?
    …mean like treatment of client accounts?
    ….mean like the kinda fees that they pay themselves for reading shiite documents that Caswell could do overnight for free?

Steupsss

5. @Bush Tea

We have been told in parliament last week the phase 2 plans will be rolled out next week. PM Mottley hinted at a Re Re plan to boost tourism while addressing the Sandals forum yesterday. What did Jimmy Cliff say? It is a hard road to travel, and a rough rough way to go …

6. ” It is to be called “Re Re”. Phase two of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation Plan – in which public sector job cuts are expected and will include retraining and retooling workers, the Prime Minister has declared.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/08/24/pm-re-re-in-economy-recovery-plan/

She mussee decide to decide de decision to REgurgitate PUDRYR idea to invite Ri Ri to help.

Ok I not too long wake up and I should RE rewrite wha I just write.

7. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Taxation in any form is taxation. Apparently many had a “Come to Jesus or more so a come to Taxation moment” after the general elections Where are all those that were crying we were over taxed before “24 de mayo de 2018”?
    How come over taxation is bad for the country; but after “24 de mayo de 2018” the same level of taxation is necessary or patriotic?

This is what makes many a bajan disconnect from the “political interface” and walk in cynicism and despair. We the citizenry “got this”, the you the political class/leader apparently got something else like “amnesia”

8. @ David re “plan to boost tourism”.

Goodt idea.

Increase “International business”.Goo idea.

However it is equally important that Barbados find other ways to improve the economy to support the RE gurgitation of the existing top two industries.

9. Re gurgitate…..Re juvenate.

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

10. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Hants August 25, 2018 8:17 AM

Re gurgitate…..Re juvenate.

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

Another RE prefixed words that we may catapult into the common usage maybe these?

Re-lapse

Re-mission

Re-cidivism

11. Well the people have no other choice in the next five years but to “suckup”any economic inconvience thrown at them by present govt
    After all there is no voice of opposition to refute or challenge what this govt say or do.
    The eyes of the people are closed for the next five years
    Taxation at any level would become the new norm by which bajans would have to get accustomed
    A govt without opposition has the upperhand to govern by any manner it chooses
    The people voted for change and change they got

12. @sirFuzzy

The reason the blogmaster continues to stress ALL i.e. government and others from civil society will be required to position shoulders to the plough to craft a national narrative/effort is because- do you recall early in the economic decline under former Governor Worrell’s watch he was telling Barbadians what again? Do you recall the wage increases the Unions were asking for? Do you recall what the heads of the BPSA and Bankers Associations were saying about the prospects of the economy? Do you recall the traditional media and commentators labelled the message from BU and other social media as doom and gloom? We could go on? Let Google be your friend.

13. Look the Gov’t still in the honeymoon phase but wunna complaining about the lack of honey, I am still inclined to give the Gov’t time so I won’t complain unless some Minister utters some egregious shite as some of them are won’t to do.

BTW there was a blogger wo logged in under the moniker “ Frustrated Businessman” whose mantra was “There will be no recovery under Fumble’s fools”, haven’t seen him lately, things must have improved for him or he musse keeping his powder dry.

14. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Less than 4000
    Words, semantics, numbers, statistics. Po-ta-to, pota-to, To-ma-to, Toma-to. No more than 4000 workers will go home. Too bad for the 3,999 that are shaking in their boots. I could be wrong but this sounds like deja-vu

Maybe for the 1 -3999 they may be adding a completely new set of favourite words to they common usage vocabulary? Such as:

Re-possess (come mr commercial bank do yah think)
    Re-jected (didnt he tee-shirt say “she cares”)
    Re-morse (I was tricked. please heavenly father i have sinned; i want a “re-vote” )
    Re-purpose (geeh man i gotta learn how to start tiefing like them big up now?)
    Re-Tool (so u say i can use a screw driver to open a man back car door; teach muh nuh?)
    Re-educate (now say after me “i was a sheep some years ago; not gong to be a sheep anymore”)
    Re-call (we need to ammend the constitution; to allow us to recall them RH MPs)
    RE-member (sweetheart you remember when we had jobs; we used to go chefette pun a Sunday after church fuh ice cream)
    Re-fuse (i dont care she is the best PM we ever ever ever ever had or got; and u cant mek me think any different)
    Re-fugee (i am leaving on a jet-plane; barbados i saying good-bye)
    Re-petition (shyte man she coming wid that same shyte talk over and over)

Just asking,.

15. @observing
    Good presentation, but you did a little smoke and mirror yourself when you stated “. Apparently they are now taking home on average $90-$300 LESS this month AFTER the increase due to the increase in income tax.”

I doubt the tax can be more than the increase and that you can provide a credible explanation of that sentence. In future don’t go for overkill as that takes away from the presentation. Just settle for the kill.

16. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

David August 25, 2018 8:36 AM

I hear you. but i still stand behid what i believe.

This is what makes many a bajan disconnect from the “political interface” and walk in cynicism and despair. We the citizenry “got this”, the you the political class/leader apparently got something else like “amnesia”

17. Background

the only way the DLP could have won the last election was if Freundel had announced 2 years ago that either all or the majority of his ministers (including himself) will not be seeking reelection . then appoint senators who were earmarked to take over and have them run certain ministries. even that would not have saved them but may have mitigated the losses. the financial pressure on the DLP was too much to run govt the way they did.

since 71 the DLP has had to deal with 2 economic downturns whilst in power as oppose to the BLP 1 during 84-86. economic downturns appear to be cyclical seemingly every 10 years or thereabouts depending on market and other conditions. no party in Bim has done well under such circumstances because we do not have the capacity to withstand such. the 71 crisis saw the DLP lose to the BLP. the 84 crisis saw Bree and the Bees get scattered out. during the 94 downturn Sandiford got no confidenced and brought Arthur to power. During his time the world went thru a phenomenal growth period until 2008 when the DLP regained power and ruled during one of the worst economic periods the world has seen since the depression.

we dont know how Bim would have done with Thommo as PM but i doubt Thommo could have done worse than Stuart. Stuart is an effective campaigner but was an abysmal leader. hard choices had to be made and he simply was not up to it. Ministers acted outside of Cabinet’s collectivism and did their own thing. Stuart appeared to have little or no control and what a disaster it was- lack of political direction, haphazard economic policies and general ineffectiveness were the order of the day. and then came the election which no one in their right mind thought the DLP could have won- it was only a matter of who would retain theirs seat and how much seats the DLP could win. with nothing to campaign on, with no reason to put forward as to why they should be reelected for a 3rd term the DLP did the only thing it could have done: run against Mia. if anything could have worked that was it.

But it was doomed to fail. the public had already made up its collective mind 2 prior. smelling blood the BLP was a party once again despite Arthur doing his thing. the unions were upset and were openly agitating against the DLP. the private sector never a friend of the DLP was angry. the BLP had its propaganda machine (Jong and Cambridge Analytica or a subsidiary) armed and ready against the hapless DLP. it was a perfect storm. the DLP lost spectacularly by 30-0 – not a seat was close not even the DLP stronghold of St John.

the election and BLP promises

which brings me to the topic. 2 terms for any party in Bim is unusual since independence. Arthur did it but as pointed out the world went thru an economic boom during that period and Arthur rode on that plus the DLP was in disarray.

what i am trying to say here is that given the state of the economy and Stuart’s popularity or lack thereof and that Stuart barely won the 2013 election, the DLP was destined to lose. so why did MAM promised so much? i posit she only had to appear as a sober, steady leader who would do the right things to save the economy and return Bim to sound footing. she did not have to make the outlandish promises in the campaign

a blind man could see the problems. why should householders in Bim at large pay for the running of sewage plants that they are not hooked up to? why should the public who do not use the roads have to pay for increased fuel charges that was to replace road taxes? the gutting of the NSRL would not necessarily lead to a decrease in consumer goods- business people hardly ever lower prices in Bim. why makes cabinet so big given the economic problems?

MAM and the BLP have a lot of public support at the moment, some of which they are misreading. a significant amount of bajans voted against the DLP as they did for the BLP with a lot staying at home. MAM and the BLP had all the answers during the election, setting up themselves for failure and they are now seemingly complaining that things are worse that they thought after campaigning that things are worse that the DLP was telling the public.

but with no opposition – Artherley is still a BLP and notwithstanding the spirited opposition Senator Franklyn is mounting in the Senate, he is largely ignored by the govt., the problems plaguing the DLP- a former minister arrested in the US for bribery and M/L, and a new leader, no presence it parliament, and lingering distrust by the public, and elections 5 years away, the only fears the BLP has are time and the BLP itself.

18. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Let Google be your friend.

Unfortunately GooGLE is a virtual mercenary. He is both our Friend and FIEND(Enemy). I will suggest that you allow Google to be a source but u allow TRUTH to be your best Friend.

19. William Skinner Avatar

All the talk and cussing the incentives given to Sandals have now ceased ! Sandals is pumping money into the economy. All the naysayers and regurgitators of the nonsense about kicking out Sandals have now
    disappeared from BU.
    It is time we all wake up to the simple truth: The Barbados private sector, especially the traditional one , has never led no recovery and has never been concerned about whether Barbados sinks or floats. They always engaging in economic black mail. Even quite recently when William Duguid ask them to match the measely five percent increase, they said no way!!!!!
    Now the same BLP that went up and down the country cussing Sandals has to embrace Sandals.
    Cockroach has no right at fowl cock dance !! If not for Massey the retail sector would have closed down because BS and T sold we out .
    Get real the real culprits that holding up our growth has never been the public servants. It has always been a decadent two party system that has no clue of where they want to take this country.
    The BLP and DLP are corrupt and no Integrity Bill can stop them from persistently raping this country in cahoots with the same lazy unpatriotic private sector. Especially the traditional one.

20. @ Sargeant,

” I know what I am doing. I never fail.” So says Minister of Sports, John King,”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/188767/king-board-picks-justified

#theygotthis

21. The only difference in policy at present between Mottley and Stuart is that she has selectively to mount a PR campaign engaging and encouraging the populace to drink more bitter medicine
    We will see how much that PR strategy works in the long run

22. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

“The House of Wisdom is built on seven pillars.”

We need to make sure we check the foundation of the Barbados Economy before we rush in with ready made solutions. If not we will end up just rearranging the chairs on the deck of the Titanic…. in a manner of speaking.

23. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ William Skinner August 25, 2018 9:08 AM

U said

The BLP and DLP are corrupt and no Integrity Bill can stop them from persistently raping this country in cahoots with the same lazy unpatriotic private sector. Especially the traditional one

I am in agreement with you cause u cannot legislate or enforce “integrity or morality” unless you have a willing human on both sides.

The business community will tell you that the free market is the best vehicle etc for whatever. I have recently come to understand why they claim this. In the market for whatever they are sellers of (influence) and buyer(of influence). The rules and regulation are the impediments or guard rails that everyone believes will stop the market forces from acting out of hand.

But in the market i got what u want as the seller(govt contracts) and i got what u want(money or stuff). This market will seek balance no matter what is done. How do u stop this market? I am not sure cause there are always those with something for sale and a buyer willing to purchase.

24. @Theoby
    it’s confirmed that some in the S scale are actually taking home less money. For example, i have an occasional Extra Old with a buddy who is an S5. His salary increased by $454. His income tax increased by $599. And this is BEFORE the 1% levy. Actually it’s because of him I decided to write this. Good old Extra Old!!!

@William
    All the cussing about everything has stopped. Makes one wonder huh.

@James
    Excellent post
    “why did MAM promised so much? i”
    Ask Hartley. Better yet, review the entire campaign of MAM starting with the parliament walkout and the January 1 posters, with the 2007-2008 campaign of David Thompson. I’ll give ya a dollar for any differences you spot. I must admire him though for using the EXACT same strategy with a COMPLETELY different client and collecting EVEN MORE money.

@Bushie
    We in ducks guts. simple. Even with a statistical and economic recovery, the social and educational fallout that will follow will be too much. The DLP has always preached “society” while failing to properly address the “economy”. The BLP has always preached “economy” while failing to uplift and uphold values which would build the “society”. Will a REAL leader please stand up?

Yes, we ALL have to sacrifice and contribute. But, didn’t we always know that??? The reaction (re. silence) from those who know and who railed against some of the measures of the last administration is DEAFENING.

I know there must be a honeymoon period and there must be a chance for things to work BUT, don’t give me all the multiple press conference “we got this” , “breakfast before a long journey” bullshit.

AS Bushie said, lay out the plan, talk to me straight, tell the truth (prices ain’t gine done fa shite, ya salary increase will really be a decrease etc etc etc) and let’s get on with it.

We have a politician (Mia) surrounded by statisticians (CM ,RS, MC), supported by lawyers (DM, GP,EH) and uplifted by CARICOM nationals and internationals (HH, CJ, LM, RA). Enough said.

I genuinely hope for the best for her, BUT, if her implementation (despite the wonderful rhetoric and vision) goes the road of an EDUTECH, God help us.

I’ll comment on the Owen years and the David transition in another post. As Sandi said, how did we get back here?

Just observing

25. William Skinner Avatar

I think Johnny ma boy failed to win the calypso crown a few times. Back then he wanted a plantation at any cost.
    But this guy John King never fails
    Oh well……….

26. Economic decline was under Sinckler, not Worrell. Mr Worrell was the governor of the central bank, not the minister. That is a lesson for all those able Barbadians who have a fantasy of ‘contributing’ to the place of their birth. Where Mr Worrell failed was that he should never in a 1000 years agree to work under Sinckler.

27. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ James Greene at 8 :56 AM

Fairly good summation of the roller coaster economic system in which Barbados have to navigate.
    Tom Adams went to the IMF in 1981. Owen Arthur had two external shocks to maneuver around; especially the stock market collapse in the late 1990s which reduced the value of our foreign assets.
    But these are data(givens). The difference is how well our leaders insulate the Barbados economy ; and engage in anti cyclical strategies. We should be experts at this by now. We were doing it for centuries.

28. After three months of the new administration, and a planned transition, are we on our way yet?

29. @Observing

One of many shortcomings of the last administration was the silence. The blogmaster is of the view that one can never over-communicate. The government has and will make mistakes but like the PM stated in her interview with Ellis, we will have to judge the government by its performance. How long a period should we give them to apply the grade?

A democracy encourages dissenting opinion, this is important and hopefully the government will embrace it.

Here is what we know – to repeat- we are in deepshit.

30. @ Mariposa
    The only difference in policy at present between Mottley and Stuart….. is that the latter is a complete, uncouth, retarded JA and the former is not….

However it is clear that while Ms Mottley says the right things, she does not seem to have the balls so far to avoid the inertia of ‘business as usual’.

What wunna do not grasp is that despite all the macro big talk, the point where the rubber hits the road is at the OPERATIONAL level… the Public Sector leaders in the form of PS, dept heads etc., and the various Chairmen and Boards that are appointed.

Politicians can talk all the shiite that they like, but they generally do not know one shiite beyond what they are told by these behind-the-scenes operatives….
    Essentially, there has been no change in this army of occupation …. so expecting different results is a clear sign of madness.

What Ms Mottley SHOULD make into a national issue … and undertake an URGENT review of, is the appointments of ALL senior level functionaries from PS all the way down to Admin officer.
    The issue of the DLP operatives who are currently in place to frustrate and obfuscate is a complete JOKE….
    Unless, upon interview and assessment, these folks could CONVINCE the Bushman of their 100% loyalty, Bushie would pay them out POST HASTE …and move on with the country’s business.

Next step would be to ensure that those appointed to specific positions are appropriately qualified to do the work, AND that they actually perform satisfactorily – AND ETHICALLY… or else…

This shiite “watch muh” philosophy that seems to be built on Mia’s alleged PERSONAL intelligence and competence to pull us out of this deep hole is a colossal JOKE …. in the same vein as Piece’s plan to get Ri Ri to save Ryan Brathwaite and our sports talents from the incompetent sports officials bout here…

Modern leadership is not about individual champions. It is about TEAM management.
    It is about large scale culture change and about driving large-scale process management.

31. The hue and cry about burdensome taxation has stopped well noted are the voices who stood bold faced and decry govt efforts which were to create a path towards growth a stimulus for employment and the sale of govt entities that are burdensome to the tax payers with intent to lower govt debt
    Notable mention should be given to BU David !Commisiong!and the loud voices of union leaders who effortlessly found any reason to call out a strike
    Also note out of those mention the only one person rewarded for their efforts is Commisiong while the leadership has fallen asleep leaving the members to fend off the bitter medicine of the IMF after handrd a measly offing of 5percent

32. @Observing

Thanks.

Your friend needs to go to the tax office for more of an explanation. I am convinced that (1) taxes are being applied/withheld improperly or (2) the Extra Old is talking (not your friend).

But seriously, you should urge him to try to get a more detailed explanation from the tax office.

33. @Bush Tea

The meeting the PM had with the public Sector heads a waste of time?

34. @ David,

what are you talking about? of course one can over communicate. people dont like gossipers and talk ass birds. another thing most people who talk a lot do little. a the moment this govt is blowing a lot of hot air. the public wants to see them put into practice what they campaigned on. everyday you hear or see them complaining about how bad it is. why? because they have little or no idea how to make it work or their much publicised plans cant or arent working. in short nothing is getting done, at least not the way they said it would.

i am already turned off. the effect of too much talking and no doing and no talking and no doing is the same – a fed-up disengaged public

35. Bush.Tea. U have an answer for every RH why don’t U become a part of the solution
    As it is at present your comments only is a self serving mode perpetuated by disgust and disillusion serving absolutely no purpose

36. Mariposa,

You got them on the run, don’t use their language. By the way, did the BLP administration come in with a plan, or are they playing it by sight and sound?

37. @DAvid
    “we will have to judge the government by its performance. How long a period should we give them to apply the grade?”

We will have to wait and see. Nothing more can be done.

“one can never over communicate”
    I disagree with you here. we can debate later. lol.

@Bushie
    “where the rubber hits the road is at the OPERATIONAL level”
    Yup. We wait with bated breath.

@theo
    I’ll let him know. btw, conversations when the extra old is talking are quite productive!

@james re over communicating
    I need say no more 🙂

Just observing

38. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Bush Tea August 25, 2018 9:52 AM

Next step would be to ensure that those appointed to specific positions are appropriately qualified to do the work, AND that they actually perform satisfactorily – AND ETHICALLY… or else…

I have come to see the civil Service (permanent opposition) as one of the invisible hands that help or hinder a govt. Their undeclared role is self preservation. Usually senior Govt. official work their way thru the ranks being careful not to burn bridges or cut limbs/branches or mash too many toes behind them.

It maybe part of the DNA for the senior civil servants to pledge loyalty to the civil service/ servant over that of the PM or minister who maybe gone in a few years; whislt the civil service is here to stay forever?

I guess that is why we may have had generations of bad legal professionals? With no cure in sight?

Just asking

39. @james greene

Over communication is a 101 concept. Let Google be your friend. Has nothing to do with gossiping.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/kenmakovsky/2012/08/02/over-communicating/#44db924e3186

40. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ James Greene August 25, 2018 10:00 AM

I feel ur pain.

Imagine hiring a new(2nd) masoin becuase the previous mason was crap; and you keeping hearig from the new mason how good he is and such ,and that you gine smile when he finish etc. After a week of him being the jobs and u shelling out the blendzas to pay him and u noticing that he spending more time telling you about how good he is than actually working u may want to make inquires about a third(new) mason?

Just asking.

41. @David,

wait you think i now come town. that is over communication from a message/policy reinforcement managerial business concept not an informing the public of govt progress one. two different thing and you should know that. you are barking up the wrong tree

42. In the context of what the blogmaster presented earlier it is the same. We have a government trying to be transparent which is a 180 from what we had before. It is obviously a work in progress. A visit to BGIS Facebook and website is refreshing supported by the BLP Facebook page. Let us offer feedback to encourage relevant pertinent content. Penetrating the culture of the political class will have to be accomplished peck by peck.

43. David,

that is fine but dont come trying to lecture me about something you didnt quite flesh out and point me to the internet with some flimsy article that doesnt address your contention?

44. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Theogerts at 8 : 45 AM

Observer is quite right on his assessment of the impact of recent tax measures . Some salaried workers are losing 600 dollars per month. Is there a technical difference between that cut in disposable income and a devaluation? Please do the arithmetic. For some of us we have to do the Geometry. It is multiplicative or immiserising.

45. @DAvid
    over communicating is needed in specific circumstances

when the message is not being received by the receiver
    when there is a perceived lack of understanding by the receiver
    when the sender wants to reinforce the message to concretize it was heard as intended

What we are seeing from this administration does not fit any of the above. It is based on a philosophy that the last guys didn’t communicate, so we will, erego we are inherently better.

But, break down that “over communication” into

a) substance
    b) intended message
    c) purpose (read propoganda)
    d) repitition (read “the other guys muck it up”)
    e) omission of key facts
    f) obfuscation of real facts

and you get what we are being exposed to now.

now, if you say that in political terms “over-propagandising” is never a bad thing, I can agree with you there!!!!
    The more lies and false promises the better!

Real communication is supposed to bring people together. It’s our nature. Politics however operates in its own sphere and with its own morality. How else can you explain a political party cussing a hotelier for five (5) years straight, then turning around and praising him upon attaining office?

“A hypocrite is the kind of politician who would cut down a redwood tree, then mount the stump and make a speech for conservation.” – Adlai E. Stevenson

Just observing

P.S. Uh beg ya pardon but uh gine for some souse now. Hear ya lata.

46. Remember the long mantra by Mottley govt need to create growth
    So tell all and sundry what plans has this govt tabled in Parliament to create a path towards growth
    The same Butch Stewart Mottley and crew lambasted had sit like silent lambs while eating crow and hear Butch Stewart say that he is 100percent creating growth for the barbados economy
    Even Maloney having to be called every name in the book by Mottley . Mottley now without hesitation acquire much of his help

47. @Observing

Agree with most of it. The larger point is that we need to encourage the flow of communication from government. It is a positive first step. We the citizenry must engage fully to send the message back if when we are not happy with some of the messaging

#wip

@James Greene

Relax yuhself

48. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

Tell me how do u prepare any young virile eager male for castration with a dull rusty knife? is your answer With hiring a PR consultant and prayer?

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

I see the so called private sector is investing everywhere apart from at home.
    Go figure that out, and you will answer yourself as to what ails the rock.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington August 25, 2018 9:19 AM
    “We need to make sure we check the foundation of the Barbados Economy before we rush in with ready made solutions. If not we will end up just rearranging the chairs on the deck of the Titanic…. in a manner of speaking.”

The economic recovery and restructuring plan being proposed by the current administration would be nothing more than another iteration of the previous 5 or 6 proposed by the last MoF but whose undergirding game-changing decisions were never implemented like the much spinning-tot-in-mud restructuring of the SOEs, the fiscal Achilles heel of the government.

It would nothing more than another wasted exercise in futility but presented by a different actor using plagiary as a façade to sell bullshit.

Only the poor and the ‘aspiring’ working middleclass would be carrying the can in the coming administering of ‘more’ bitter medicine.

What is required is a new broom to clean across the board and right through the economic Augean stables of inefficiency and low productivity.

The new broom called ‘Devaluation’- required to reflect the light of economic realities- would ensure those who are forex earners (or savers) are rewarded while those who make up the lazy bureaucratic class of laggards and want to continue in their former sweet-life bed well into the productivity afternoon would find themselves living full-time on the doorstep of poverty and with limited life chances and opportunities to survive.

Barbados is no longer a Bermuda or Cayman Islands punching above its geographic weight.
    Barbados could as well kiss the offshore (international) business opportunities goodbye as it will soon be sailing off into the sunset.

If Barbados wants to keep its dollar parity to the US$ then it must trim its conspicuous consumption cloth to fit the light winds pushing its last remaining forex sail.