Submitted by Tee White

Recently, I was listening to an African Bajan, like me, sing the praises of my hometown and make the argument that it had made a significant contribution to the development of Barbados. In support of his argument, he declared that “we provided some of the first governors of the Carolinas”. I was taken aback by this comment. Did the speaker not realise that he was referring to the English slave masters, who saw both his and my fore-parents as sub-human chattel and against whom they committed every crime that could be committed against a human being? Why would a descendant of the enslaved Africans take pride in the fact that the tormentors of his fore-parents had grown so rich from their crimes in Barbados that they emigrated to the USA to continue these barbarities against other African there and rose to be political leaders of the slave masters in that country? It makes no sense but it reflects the official ideology of white supremacy that has been passed down to us from the days of slavery and colonialism and which we have continued to promote during the last 52 years of independence.

This racist doctrine is enshrined in the very preamble to our Constitution which declares:

Whereas the love of free institutions and of independence has always strongly characterised the inhabitants of Barbados:

And Whereas the Governor and the said inhabitants settled a Parliament in the year 1639:

And Whereas as early as 18th February, 1651 those inhabitants, in their determination to safeguard the freedom, safety and well-being of the Island, declared, through their Governor, Lords of the Council and members of the Assembly, their independence of the Commonwealth of England

In reality, Barbados was a laboratory for the destruction of human freedom, safety and well-being. Professor Beckles has pointed out that on the coast of Africa, Barbados was widely known as a place worse than hell and the life expectancy of an enslaved African once they arrived on the island was no more than 7 years. Yet our Constitution presents a fundamentally racist gloss of our country’s history which basically denies the humanity of our African fore-parents.

This psychological dislocation from reality which white supremacy has imprinted on the Bajan psyche is further reinforced with references to the parliament in Broad Street. For example, at Grantley Adams International Airport there is a mural which hails with pride the fact that ‘we’ have the second oldest parliament in the Commonwealth. But who is this ‘we’? The parliament in Broad Street was set up by the English slave masters and used as an instrument for the violent subjugation of our African fore-parents. In 1688, this parliament passed a law entitled “An Act for the Governing of Negroes”. This Act legislated the following:

WHEREAS the Plantations and Estates of this Island cannot be fully managed, and brought into Use, without the Labour and Service of great Numbers of Negroes and other Slaves : And forasmuch as the said Negroes and other Slaves brought unto the People of this Island for that purpose, are of Barbarous, Wild, and Savage Natures, and such as renders them wholly unqualified to be governed by the Laws, Customs, and Practices of our Nations: It therefore becoming absolutely necessary, that such other Constitutions, Laws, and Orders should be in this island framed and enacted for the good Regulating and Ordering of them, as may both restrain the Disorders, Rapines, and Inhumanities to which they are naturally prone and inclined

That no Master, Mistress, Commissioner, or Overseer of any Family in this Island, shall give their Negroes or other Slaves leave on Sabbath-days, Holy-days, or any

other time, to go out of their Plantations, except such Negro or other Slave as usually wait upon them at Home or Abroad, and wearing a Livery ; and no other Negro or Slave, except with a Ticket under the Master or Mistress’s Hand, or some other Person by his or her Appointment, specifying the time allowed for his or her Return ……. And if any Master, Mistress, Commissioner, or Overseer of a Plantation, shall find any Negro or other Slave in their Plantation at any time without a Ticket, or Business from his said Master, and doth not apprehend them, or endeavour so to do; and having apprehended them, shall not punish them with a moderate Whipping, shall forfeit Ten Shillings Sterling, to be disposed of as aforesaid

A N D be it further Enacted and Ordained, That if any Negro or Slave whatsoever shall offer any Violence to any Christian, by Striking, or the like, such Negro or other Slave shall, for his or her first Offence, by Information given upon Oath to the next Justice, be severely whipped by the Constable by Order of the said Justice; For his second Offence of that nature, by Order of the Justice of Peace, he shall be severely whipped, his Nose slit, and be burned in some part of his Face with a hot Iron; And for his third Offence he shall receive, by Order of the Governor and Council, such greater Punishment as they shall think meet to inflict.

Why would the descendants of the enslaved Africans take pride in an institution which committed such crimes against our fore-parents? Should we not instead take pride in the parliaments our fore-parents set up in the cane fields and gullies to fight for human rights on this island against the slave masters and their parliament in Broad Street?

Malcolm X described this psychological affliction that is plaguing Barbados thus:

If the master’s house caught on fire, the house Negro would fight harder to put the blaze out than the master would. If the master got sick, the house Negro would say, “What’s the matter, boss, we sick?” We sick! He identified himself with his master more than his master identified with himself. And if you came to the house Negro and said, “Let’s run away, let’s escape, let’s separate,” the house Negro would look at you and say, “Man, you crazy. What you mean, separate? Where is there a better house than this? Where can I wear better clothes than this? Where can I eat better food than this?” That was that house Negro. In those days he was called a “house nigger.” And that’s what we call him today, because we’ve still got some house niggers running around here.

In 2018, Barbados, it’s way past time we purged ourselves of this white supremacy.

1,010 responses to “When Will Bajans Purge Ourselves of White Supremacy?”

1. lawson August 18, 2018 6:39 AM /”… you guys getting knocked up at 13 causing…”

The difference may be not having access to resources that the others have to get an abortion at 13.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Theo…dont mind Lawson..he was not saying any of that when his ancesors were raping 5 year old black babies, both boys and girls and if they could not find any children at hand , they raped grown men and women..

I never give that donkey in Canada or the lowIQ rodent in Barbados any reason to start fantasizing about things sexual…but there they are, it must be their rapist ancestors fixating on me.

3. that is one possible reason, for sure but to deny a difference on sexual attitudes would be saying you have not seen young children wukking up at grand kadooment egged on by the crowd. There is a definite difference even in the simplest things , what I mean by getting hitched and what WW means by getting hitched are totally different

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson…but ya projecting that ya sorry you were not hitched to me and bothered that my husband is, read all ya posts again,

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ya are going to have to get all of that out of ya system somehow, but I cant help ya…sorry.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“a difference on sexual attitudes would be saying you have not seen young children wukking up at grand kadooment egged on by the crowd. .”

BTW..ya should be ashamed of yaself, you leave Canada every year to go watch little underaged black girls wuk up at cropover egged on by a crowd of adults…why dont you instead of watching them mobilize a group of your fellow tourists to advocate to the governmeng to put an end to that ugly display put on for the benefit of slimy tourists like yaself..who go to Barbados just for that. ..

I saw the display of wukking up little girls once about 25 years ago.. found it disturbing and repulsive and never went back in the area by Wiesers on the beach wherevthat it happens , but that display of child abuse seems to be the highlight of your visit.

7. Lol when I think of hitched I see that poor pack animal you married with a bit in his mouth being driven to his maker. Beat him twice today he deserves it for giving you a talking point

8. You mean there is something coming after blue box cart

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Shameful Lawson…ya get ya jollies from watching underage black children wukkup for voyeur tourists, then feel guilty afterward, ya complain, but next year ya will be back tio watch these black babies wukkuping again….shameful

10. Lol WW you are really making me laugh you haven’t been to the island in 25 years but know all what’s going on from the advocate I am sure. I used to like black babies but everything is so political up here now we call them licorish babies. I went to buy a new car the other day and found myself saying that one over there but not in silver or white and the salesman looked making sure no one was around then said you mean a black one that’s how stupid this political correctness has become

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

But Lawson……who ya think has blighted the earth with that evil for 500 years…it was yall racist ancestors and instead of letting the curse die with them…yall brought it into this century for ya own greedy self serving enrichment…so if ya looking for anyone to blame…look no further than the beasts in buckingham palace…Downing St, the home office, the towers of power in Europe and North America and all the other cursed outlaying areas of dominance of the earth’s people.

So who else you want to blame for what you now find repulsive.

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And of couse being the dutiful wife I am I allowed my husband to read your posts to get his reaction and being the charmer that he is he says if you can manage to live another hundred years, henwill allow you to spend 40 of those years with me since ya projecting such desperation…lol

13. @ Lawson
    …that’s how stupid this political correctness has become
    Agreed….
    Bushie has the identical problem in explaining the reality of albinos and of their natural tendencies…..

14. I doubt you were afraid to call a black car as you saw it a “black” car. You wanted to use your choice word but couldn’t. Thank God for political correctness …

15. TheOGazerts August 18, 2018 9:44 AM…”Thank God for political correctness …”

Some People Prefer to Live the LIE!

https://i.redd.it/sdlq3anwwdmy.jpg

16. lo. Lawson is pure bred racist scum, but he lusts after black women and then want to complain.

17. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service August 18, 2018 8:28 AM

“And of couse being the dutiful wife I am I allowed my husband to read your posts to get his reaction”…

That said We assume that your post are Well Guarded Secrets from Your Husband? Very Telling Indeed!!

18. TheophiliusGazerts 440 (the last of the Gazerts) Avatar
    TheophiliusGazerts 440 (the last of the Gazerts)

@Freedom Crier
    I don’t think using a derogatory work for everyone and everything black is speaking the truth….
    Some would call that racism
    It appears that you call it ‘the truth’

19. @ TheOGazerts … Political Correctness Invites Tyranny because it Prohibits Speaking the Truth! E.g A Man is a Man and a Woman is a Woman… Go Figure!!

https://i.4pcdn.org/pol/1509383107034.jpg

20. “That said We assume that your post are Well Guarded Secrets from Your Husband? Very Telling Indeed!!”

So if I allowed my husband to see a post I wanted him to see, how are my posts closely guarded secrets….have you never heard of boundaries and respecting each others private space….when yall go and marry these syrians and others that believe women are still chattel, beasts of burden and lose all ya independence, then ya minds. ..you really think all women are like you.

Wait…you jealous like Lawson too..but look at my crosses though..lol

21. WW, mutts? U already confesssed to being a mutt!!!! hahaha

22. MoneyB…I embrace my ancestral muttness, the bloodlines are strong and top of the line…no weaknesses to be found and nothing to hide.

Ah gotta call yall mutts cause ya hiding ya 5% to 20% African bloodlines, afraid to let anyone know. .

Am no fan of the middle east, but even found 1% lurking around my ancestry…that too is being embraced.

23. if i allowed my husband, i allowed my husband what are you girls saying you wear the pants in the family lol what kind of men are you married to sounds like democratic librarians. .

24. WW, yuh old fraud why not explain yuhself? hahaha

25. Money Brain and Freedom Crier reappearing at same time posting bollox is item of evidence they are one and same
    like GP and Zoe they are actors on BU

Political correctness term was coined to say white supremacy in South Africa UK and USA was not correct.

The way it is is not the way it should be.

26. WW, told you before that my DNA is pure European but being brown would suit me fine, we all know that everyone loves brownies, I sure do! Chocolate is very sweeett!

27. Ah know ya have a think for the chocolate ladies MoneyB…ya been telling us for years, but ya have to help Lawson along, he too loves dark chocolate, unfortunately he is conflicted, at least you admit it all the time…lol

28. According to this article today marks the 500th anniversary of the first slave ship sailing from Africa to the New World

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/transatlantic-slave-trade-voyages-ships-log-details-africa-america-atlantic-ocean-deaths-disease-a8494546.html

29. Sargeant expect a backlash this does not fit the narrative

30. 555 you are dumber than a bag of nails, not a clue!

31. lawson August 17, 2018 8:52 PM @ WW “you are Omarosa’s sister”

WARU Has a New Identity “Omarosa’s sister” Wonder Why?

32. WW…Suggestion with all your Verbal Spews, Accusations, False Rantings and Ravings, finger Pointing and Disgusting Remarks you may rival your Sister Omarosa in writing a Book…

But then again WW would have to keep it a Secret from her husband, wouldn’t want him to possibly be aware of the Hatred she holds for his kind!

https://i1.wp.com/www.powerlineblog.com/ed-assets/2016/12/Sowqell-16.jpeg

33. Money Brane

Two trolls being same troll is no big deal on BU with its various features

Only thing to take away from it is there is no need to waste time or your life debating with either troll

Can’t reason with white trolls

You don’t seem to object to the fool freedom crier’s stupid whites memes which is strange, something’s not right,
    you visit same white troll sites, which could be circumstantial evidence as that’s what whites do

34. So you too decide to fixate on my husband good luck with that…he is nit as friendky and kind as I am.

Omarosa is a boss, strong enough to take down weakened racists…don’t blink or ya will miss the exit of the orange WH idiot.

35. 555……the end is near, they know it, they are lost and out to sea, the darkness I told them about in the last couple years is thicker.they can no longer see anything just as I predicted…

No tears here.

36. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ PLT,

The link that you have posted has already been posted twice by Well Well and Sargeant.

It is harrowing that this so-called anniversary which had such a major impact on several continents can be dismissed by so many ill-informed bloggers. Are they not aware of the catastrophe that was unleashed by old europe and her old colonies. The destruction of civilisations and the force enslavement of millions and millions of Africans. We are talking about genocide. It is bizarre how old europe and America have suddenly become “enlightened” and are now instructing countries with majority black populations (their old colonies) to open up themselves to becoming more “Gay” friendly. Yet they do not give a dam with the destruction that they reaped upon these same old-world countries that they ruled.

The author of this post asked a fair and a rhetorical question: “WHEN WILL BAJANS PURGE OURSELVES OF WHITE SUPREMACY?” Let’s us hope that it will be soon. However if you check the link below which i have already sent, you will see that day may never arrive for us here in Barbados.

https://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2018/08/slavery-routes-gold-world-180813075335977.html

37. Did you know that the Democratic Party defended slavery, started the Civil War, founded the KKK, and fought against every major civil rights act in U.S. history? Watch as Carol Swain, professor of political science at Vanderbilt University, shares the inconvenient history of the Democratic Party.

38. When you think of the Republican Party, what comes to mind? If you’re like many Americans, you may associate the GOP with racism, sexism, and general inequality. It’s a commonly pushed narrative by left-leaning media and academia, but as former Vanderbilt Professor of Political Science Carol Swain explains, the Republican Party was actually responsible for nearly every advancement for minorities and women in U.S. history—and remains the champion of equality to this day.

The Inconvenient Truth About the Republican Party

39. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ David,

You have created a monster, a Frankenstein! And you have released it on your BU audience. Correct me if i’m wrong but did not Frankenstein’s creator eventually put him down?

40. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing August 18, 2018 5:57 PM…

Get a Life and while you are at it get an Education.

41. How Lincoln Changed the World in Two Minutes

Published on Feb 12, 2018

Why do Lincoln’s iconic words at Gettysburg still matter to each and every one of us? Professor Doug Douds of the Army War College explains.

42. Yes, eventually.

43. TheophiliusGazerts Avatar
    TheophiliusGazerts

@FreedomCrier
    “Did you know that the Democratic Party ….. fought against every major civil rights act in U.S. history? ”

You are just like Liesalot; a nugget of truth followed by the big bold lie. If you don’t know what you are talking about, you should keep your mouth shut.

A cut and paste artist is nothing more than a tool in the hands of others.

44. city of ny university gave free tuition for doctors thousands of dollars few black faces in crowd at white coat event, no push back on ny city

45. @TheophiliusGazerts August 18, 2018 6:22 PM

The Inconvenient Truth About the Republican Party & The Inconvenient Truth About the Democrat Party…

Both Videos are by a Black Professor Carol Swain, Professor of Political Science at Vanderbilt University. Do you think She would Know her History…BTW she was also once a Democrat.

TheophiliusGazerts …You also need an Education and while you are at it, Try being Informed before being Opinionated

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/55/39/aa/5539aa4a3d2a3bacc21006b17f1c6313.jpg

46. TheophiliusGazerts Avatar
    TheophiliusGazerts

@FreedomCrier
    You accept the words of blacks when it suits your narrative?. You still have a responsibility to know something about what you are talking. Cut and paste in a responsible manner.

Some blacks just sing for their supper,

47. are you asking spain for reparations, or is that video author someone singing for their supper

48. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ David,

LOL. You sound exasperated along with 95% of your BU audience. I guess there’s always a possibility that it will eventually tire and seek alternative pastures.