Submitted by Tee White

Recently, I was listening to an African Bajan, like me, sing the praises of my hometown and make the argument that it had made a significant contribution to the development of Barbados. In support of his argument, he declared that “we provided some of the first governors of the Carolinas”. I was taken aback by this comment. Did the speaker not realise that he was referring to the English slave masters, who saw both his and my fore-parents as sub-human chattel and against whom they committed every crime that could be committed against a human being? Why would a descendant of the enslaved Africans take pride in the fact that the tormentors of his fore-parents had grown so rich from their crimes in Barbados that they emigrated to the USA to continue these barbarities against other African there and rose to be political leaders of the slave masters in that country? It makes no sense but it reflects the official ideology of white supremacy that has been passed down to us from the days of slavery and colonialism and which we have continued to promote during the last 52 years of independence.

This racist doctrine is enshrined in the very preamble to our Constitution which declares:

Whereas the love of free institutions and of independence has always strongly characterised the inhabitants of Barbados:

And Whereas the Governor and the said inhabitants settled a Parliament in the year 1639:

And Whereas as early as 18th February, 1651 those inhabitants, in their determination to safeguard the freedom, safety and well-being of the Island, declared, through their Governor, Lords of the Council and members of the Assembly, their independence of the Commonwealth of England

In reality, Barbados was a laboratory for the destruction of human freedom, safety and well-being. Professor Beckles has pointed out that on the coast of Africa, Barbados was widely known as a place worse than hell and the life expectancy of an enslaved African once they arrived on the island was no more than 7 years. Yet our Constitution presents a fundamentally racist gloss of our country’s history which basically denies the humanity of our African fore-parents.

This psychological dislocation from reality which white supremacy has imprinted on the Bajan psyche is further reinforced with references to the parliament in Broad Street. For example, at Grantley Adams International Airport there is a mural which hails with pride the fact that ‘we’ have the second oldest parliament in the Commonwealth. But who is this ‘we’? The parliament in Broad Street was set up by the English slave masters and used as an instrument for the violent subjugation of our African fore-parents. In 1688, this parliament passed a law entitled “An Act for the Governing of Negroes”. This Act legislated the following:

WHEREAS the Plantations and Estates of this Island cannot be fully managed, and brought into Use, without the Labour and Service of great Numbers of Negroes and other Slaves : And forasmuch as the said Negroes and other Slaves brought unto the People of this Island for that purpose, are of Barbarous, Wild, and Savage Natures, and such as renders them wholly unqualified to be governed by the Laws, Customs, and Practices of our Nations: It therefore becoming absolutely necessary, that such other Constitutions, Laws, and Orders should be in this island framed and enacted for the good Regulating and Ordering of them, as may both restrain the Disorders, Rapines, and Inhumanities to which they are naturally prone and inclined

That no Master, Mistress, Commissioner, or Overseer of any Family in this Island, shall give their Negroes or other Slaves leave on Sabbath-days, Holy-days, or any

other time, to go out of their Plantations, except such Negro or other Slave as usually wait upon them at Home or Abroad, and wearing a Livery ; and no other Negro or Slave, except with a Ticket under the Master or Mistress’s Hand, or some other Person by his or her Appointment, specifying the time allowed for his or her Return ……. And if any Master, Mistress, Commissioner, or Overseer of a Plantation, shall find any Negro or other Slave in their Plantation at any time without a Ticket, or Business from his said Master, and doth not apprehend them, or endeavour so to do; and having apprehended them, shall not punish them with a moderate Whipping, shall forfeit Ten Shillings Sterling, to be disposed of as aforesaid

A N D be it further Enacted and Ordained, That if any Negro or Slave whatsoever shall offer any Violence to any Christian, by Striking, or the like, such Negro or other Slave shall, for his or her first Offence, by Information given upon Oath to the next Justice, be severely whipped by the Constable by Order of the said Justice; For his second Offence of that nature, by Order of the Justice of Peace, he shall be severely whipped, his Nose slit, and be burned in some part of his Face with a hot Iron; And for his third Offence he shall receive, by Order of the Governor and Council, such greater Punishment as they shall think meet to inflict.

Why would the descendants of the enslaved Africans take pride in an institution which committed such crimes against our fore-parents? Should we not instead take pride in the parliaments our fore-parents set up in the cane fields and gullies to fight for human rights on this island against the slave masters and their parliament in Broad Street?

Malcolm X described this psychological affliction that is plaguing Barbados thus:

If the master’s house caught on fire, the house Negro would fight harder to put the blaze out than the master would. If the master got sick, the house Negro would say, “What’s the matter, boss, we sick?” We sick! He identified himself with his master more than his master identified with himself. And if you came to the house Negro and said, “Let’s run away, let’s escape, let’s separate,” the house Negro would look at you and say, “Man, you crazy. What you mean, separate? Where is there a better house than this? Where can I wear better clothes than this? Where can I eat better food than this?” That was that house Negro. In those days he was called a “house nigger.” And that’s what we call him today, because we’ve still got some house niggers running around here.

In 2018, Barbados, it’s way past time we purged ourselves of this white supremacy.

1,010 responses to “When Will Bajans Purge Ourselves of White Supremacy?”

1. @Kiki

Good observation, we have shifted from institutionalized racism to more sophisticated covert structures. It is not rocket science why Trump- an obvious racist- cont8nues to enjoy a rock hard 40% of support across America.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…it seems that way PLT…but given the mentality, the decades of mental destruction that has taken place since that constitution was created for Barbados, the embedded, after 52 years lack of will and hate for change that is well known, from those in parliament to the man and woman in the street…..unless these well used, well worn structures are removed one by one from EVERY institution that taxpayers fund….just amending the constitution and waking up the next day expecting all what came before to vanish magically overnight just because the constitution was amended is really asking for the impossible…it is a way of life that has to be changed in ever institution that enables, accepts and colludes with racists and white supremacy to take a bribe…this goes much deeper than you think…and has become cultural….if you spend enough time on the island, you too will see, but, hopefully all I speak of will be removed long before that. .

Just amending the constitution is putting make up on the criminality without addressing the root cause and removing the root.

3. Looks like she did not do such a good job in raising the boy. Lolll!!! I wonder what else she was not so good at. People can’t even raise their own children properly and have the nerve to believe that they can tell other people what to do.

Stupssseee!!!

@simple simon.

We do like to shoot the messenger dont we? Steeuuppsse ?

The information given is just what it is. Jesus/God were on to something 2000 years ago.

If a drunkard told you that drinking too much alcohol will damage your internals organ will dismiss his/her warning because he/she was drunk when they give u this advise/warning.

I guess if the same warning/advise was delivered by a person on Tv show or in a tailored suit or a professional in a white over coat; u may believe its veracity?

Just asking.

4. It is not rocket science why Trump- an obvious racist- continues to enjoy a rock hard 40% of support across America.
    …and on BU.

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Greene…I don’t use soap powder AND we have beaten these topics to death already, what you can do is ask the Blogmaster to kindly send you a couple links from over the last 5 or six yearsvthat we have gone over and over these topic, it will give you some insight into what you are unable to see….and allow you to get a better handle on the topic.

6. So how do we accomplish this purge and design a better Bim?

SOLUTIONS?

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman…I was trying really hard not to bring this up..but did you see how MoneyB actually outdid himself talking shite about those who could call up trump just like that, just because some of us see a way to rid the island of minorities who traffick, import and distribute guns and drugs in Barbados, commit crimes and money laundering , steal from the treasury and pendion fund, continually rob the black populstion of progress and future and all manner of evil without consequences. …MoneyB thinks it should remain and his ilk who are criminals should be left alone in peace…do you believe the frigging nerve…

Am not an Omarosa fan, but she could not have gone after trump at a better time…these trumpturds and fans of white supremacy , ehite criminality and racists really need putting in their place.

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Too late MoneyB…ah already out you and spent the morning giving solutions…ya should have jumped out sooner..

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

MoneyB…one step at a time…purge THEN design…we dont want yall getting any ideas to circumvent the new designs and commit the same crimes just because yall know and are in tune with the weakest black links in parliament,

10. @ WW&C
    Bushman…I was trying really hard not to bring this up..but did you see how MoneyB actually outdid himself talking shite about those who could call up trump just like that…
    Mistress…. Why don’t you leave MoneyB, Lawson, 45G etc alone nuh?
    Do you not understand albino-cebtric?
    You are being naive.
    What do you expect them to do …or say?

A lion will attack and eat a lamb.
    A bird will fly, and a fish will swim.
    It is what they do.

How can you expect to threaten to take money AWAY from MoneyB …and not have a response of brimstone, thunder and lightning from his god and protector …. the pussy grabbing trumper?

Steupsss
    You keep pushing your hand in the lion’s mouth.. and then calling on Bushie to pat the lion….
    Bushie uses a whacker not a whip…. and besides, ..the damn whacker get tek way now ….in preparation for the coming bulldozer….

11. Kemar
    Child Star
    Oh What a manifestation

in peace
    in war
    you’ll be a light to the nation

Buddha was not a Buddhist
    Jesus was not a Christian
    Muhammed was not a Muslim
    They were teachers who taught love

12. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

MoneyBrain August 16, 2018 10:06 AM

So how do we accomplish this purge and design a better Bim?

SOLUTIONS?

Solutions? They all start from the evolution of the personal ethos we all have. We must turn our back to what is and Talk the talk” and “walk the walk” towards in the direction of what must be. To each his one but once we all going in the correct/right direction we will all get there. Maybe not together but get there the same.

13. If you can’t beat them
    you better join them

You were on top
    now you got the drop

You’ve been busted
    now I’m just toasting

Old time people say
    when you dig a ditch
    dig two my friend
    it may be your end

See that big cake Sir
    there’s a slice for me
    there’s a slice for you
    there’s a slice for all

you can’t win them all
    you can’t always have a ball

14. It’s the same old story
    Everywhere I go
    I get slandered, libel
    I hear words I never heard in the Bible
    One step ahead of the shoeshine
    Trying to keep the customers satisfied
    Satisfied

15. @sirfuzzy August 16, 2018 9:56 AM “We do like to shoot the messenger dont we? The information given is just what it is. Jesus/God were on to something 2000 years ago. If a drunkard told you that drinking too much alcohol will damage your internals organ will dismiss his/her warning because he/she was drunk when they give u this advise/warning.I guess if the same warning/advise was delivered by a person on Tv show or in a tailored suit or a professional in a white over coat; u may believe its veracity?”

You have completely mis-understood me.

I am not into men in tailored suits, especially in this heat and humidity the European styled suits cause to the men and women who wear them to smell bad. Not much into white coats either. I am into six or seven hours a week of hard exercise in the open fields, growing my own pesticide free food, so I have little need for the white coats men and women. Not much into drunks either. Haven’t turned on my TV for more than 2 years. Not much into TV either.

i question everything and everybody.

16. WW time to get jack out of the box, take him for a walk at the park and let the men do the talking nuh…..BT just because trump didnt want to bang omaratsa doesnt mean he is a racist look at the girls that bill cosby stroked there wasnt many sisters there either…. is he a racist.

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman…all three, Lawson, liwIQ45 and MoneyB are lusting for me to use my whip on them so they can salivate and piss themselves, the day I do that…they will be done with the albinocentric shite, I know just how to tame them.

18. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ Simple Simon August 16, 2018 11:26 AM

It appears I did mis-understand you; I that case i apologise for the misunderstanding.

19. “America has a huge problem with race, Barbados doesn’t, so I suggest you sort out America’s problems and leave Barbados alone, we are doing fine, racism isn’t a problem here, we know our history, it’s nothing we can change…but our constitution makes sure that every Bajan is free from ever being a slave and everybody is treated equally fairly under the law and the constitution is the supreme law of Barbados set out by the parliament of Barbados.”

Nonsense!

Barbados is not doing fine. It has a massive problem with rac(e)ism. See the UN study on crypto-racism in Barbados.
    It’s been that way for centuries.

Just look at any blog on BU about race to see the Albino apologists. They come out in force to shout down, belittle and otherwise distract from serious discussion about race.

It’s a shame that the the 95% sheep still see themselves as perpetual servants. There is no way that at this point in history the 5% could still be running things economically unless there is consent from the 95%.

It’s like Satan. He can only cause problems at a personal level if we allow him to.

20. @Tee White “Recently, I was listening to an African Bajan, like me…”

Sorry, butyYour friend is an idiot. Ok?

21. ((►)) Today I Sing the Blues, Aretha Franklin

https://youtu.be/Uh5Dc5PUosc

22. @TWhite’s quotation from Barbados 17th century legislation “WHEREAS the Plantations and Estates of this Island cannot be fully managed, and brought into Use, without the Labour and Service of great Numbers of Negroes and other Slaves : And forasmuch as the said Negroes and other Slaves brought unto the People of this Island for that purpose, are of Barbarous, Wild, and Savage Natures…A N D be it further Enacted and Ordained, That if any Negro or Slave whatsoever shall offer any Violence to any Christian, by Striking, or the like, such Negro or other Slave shall, for his or her first Offence, by Information given upon Oath to the next Justice, be severely whipped by the Constable by Order of the said Justice; For his second Offence of that nature, by Order of the Justice of Peace, he shall be severely whipped, his Nose slit, and be burned in some part of his Face with a hot Iron; And for his third Offence he shall receive, by Order of the Governor and Council, such greater Punishment as they shall think meet to inflict.”

Any group of people who would deliberately plan to do these things

“be severely whipped by the Constable by Order of the said Justice; For his second Offence of that nature, by Order of the Justice of Peace, he shall be severely whipped, his Nose slit, and be burned in some part of his Face with a hot Iron; And for his third Offence he shall receive, by Order of the Governor and Council, such greater Punishment.”

to another human being is not fully human and in fact those 17th century English Barbadians were a barbarous, savage and wild people. Stupid too if they expected enslaved people not to rebel against their enslavement and the brutalities inflicted on them.

Black Barbadians are not sheeple. Black Barbadians have always RESISTED.

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yep..A true and original Queen has passed, RIP Queen Aretha.

24. White Barbadians are still afraid of black Barbadians. if they were not, then not why are so many of them armed?

Fear.

Can’t sleep through the night.

Have to have the guns, the dogs, the bars, the lights.

Fear the very people who cook their meals.

Fear the very people who raise, educate and medicate and eventually bury them and their children.

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“to another human being is not fully human and in fact those 17th century English Barbadians were a barbarous, savage and wild people. Stupid too if they expected enslaved people not to rebel against their enslavement and the brutalities inflicted on them.”

That is why it boggles the mind that the black clowns of parliament, would for the last 52 years keep the names of two high schools named after two vicious, savage and extremely evil white dead slave masters harrison and combermere and got the nerve as shallow minded slaves to feel proud keeping these dead demons evil and legacies alive while still twisting and warping the minds of successive generations of descendants of African slaves…African Bajans…in 2018.

26. “And forasmuch as the said Negroes and other Slaves brought unto the People of this Island for that purpose, are of Barbarous, Wild, and Savage Natures”

The fake Christians called the British were of barbarous wild and savage natures

(I see Well Well thought same thing at same time which means we must be in synch)

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

555..it has reached the point that those of us so inclined will arrive at the same destination, same truths and same solutions..together.

“White Barbadians are still afraid of black Barbadians. if they were not, then not why are so many of them armed?

Fear.

Can’t sleep through the night.

Have to have the guns, the dogs, the bars, the lights.

Fear the very people who cook their meals.

Fear the very people who raise, educate and medicate and eventually bury them and their children.”

They should be afraid…they are criminals committing crimes against the same population they pretend to fear, whom they need, whom they could never survive without given their barely 7,500 population, they would starve….same population without whom they would have to do like lowIQ45 and spend 38 years working in the UK, under real white people to get a pension..

.. fast forward to 25 years into the future and should 100,000 black people with my mentality be born on the island…then they will really know what fear is…don’t tell me in cant happen, I was born wasn’t I..

..Karma has a way of churning up things for those who think they got everything covered.

I sleep damn fine, why? I dont see a fella in my journey who should be exploited, robbed, mistreated or who I am deluded enough to feel superior to while robbing them, poisoning their communities with drugs, distributing guns so they can kill each other, stealing land from the elderly, thiefing the population’s tax dollars and old people’s pension and laundering it outside the island or bribing politicians……I sleep like a baby and dont fear a fella.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The preamble to the Barbados Constitution is clearly contaminated with what Bush Tea so eloquently calls “albino centric” thinking. In addition to the clauses pointed out by Tee White, it goes on:
    “And Whereas with the broadening down of freedom the people of Barbados have ever since then not only successfully resisted any attempt to impugn or diminish those rights and privileges so confirmed, but have consistently enlarged and extended them:”
    Do you understand “broadening down”? The people who wrote this really thought that the masses of Barbadians were “down” from their White ex-masters. It makes my stomach turn.

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

PLT..shortly after the Windrush scandal, the Blogmaster posted the constitution, I read and reread and cant believe that black governments would have read this same document for 52 years, hopefully they did read it, kept it secret from the same population who pay their salaries and obviously saw absolutely nothing wrong with it…that is why there should be no need to rush to make amendments cause even if they do….nothing will change as I posited in a post to you..earlier….at this time, the document in all its repulsiveness..is not the main problem.

It churns the stomach it does…but…those structures and institutions once broken down, dismantled and permantently destroyed, particularly the removal of the damage to the black psyche…will render that shit rag useless..once the transition is started and continued to the finish.

30. water does find its own level……. at least the others have the decency to use a pseudonym so I wont feel bad when I tip them

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

You can guarantee the document was conceived between 1948 and 1965…by the lowest form of life at Whitehall with hatred oozing out of their hearts for black people.

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson…what are you rambling on. about now,

33. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

August 16, 2018 12:48 PM

White Barbadians are still afraid of black Barbadians. if they were not, then not why are so many of them armed?

They say don’t bring a knife to a gun fight. Cuzz … you wont get up close and personal to use it. etc

The white may be afraid of the black barbadians because we brought the gun to the knife fight. Unfortunately we don’t know its a gun and surely don’t know how to use it. We seems rather able to self inflict pain etc but not on the enemy.

We especially don’t know how to aim and train our fire on the real enemy.

If we will only just learn to use the tools that we are provided we may certainly start to win this war.

34. WW, MB outdid himself by explaining why violence is not the answer! Even clowns appreciate that destroying the Tourist industry would be a mistake, especially since the new BLP Govt is currently working diligently to fix the manifold problems. Do what wunna want doh cause I dont live dey so.

35. Simple S, many white people have guns and dogs for very good reasons and the truth is that black people with some money behave exactly the same way. Friend of mine a dark Bajan told us last year that the only 6 homes that have not been robbed in his area all have big dogs and guns. Recently a darker chap in Prior Pk reported that his dog was shot!!! Thieves, criminals and politicians (I repeat myself sometimes) dont give a RH about white nor black just GREEN, Gold an other colours with Dead PMS, dead Presidents and the Queen’s likeness.

Any minority that sees a threat and does not protect themselves are not particularly clever.

36. So how do we accomplish this purge and design a better Bim?—

SOLUTIONS?

37. Fuzzy its not guns or knives that scare white bajans…its hearing a knock on the door and when they answer it someone like you is asking if their daughter is ready. But forget guns they are hard to get and can cause trouble,why do you think there has been an uptick in archery classes on the gap cross bows are the new weapon of choice silent and deadly

38. Can the little people of little Barbados make a stand against the white supremacy of America

the black brothers and sisters (literally) in BlackLivesMatter made a stand against the white supremacists in police and courts
    they also made a stand against the white supremacists of Israel when they said they were treated like the Palestinians

Play on play on your harp

((►)) Little David

Can the little people of little Barbados make a stand against the white supremacy of UK and make a call for reparations for crimes of slavery

((►)) London Bridge Is Fallin’ Down

39. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ lawson August 16, 2018 2:41 PM

I was speaking figurative when mentioning the gun etc.. We black ppl are in possession of capabilities that scare the minorities. We we just don’t know we have it or are persuaded not to use it.

They need us to survive and prosper in Bim or maybe we are to self absorbed with the latest gadget to notice that.

40. Look at the substance, not at the colour of skin.

Just compare Senator Franklyn and Jada-Jerkham: The senator is “black” and represents Scandinavian values like integrity and transparency whereas the “white” Jerkham represents anti-Scandinavian values and the outdated sins of the Deep South like relying on the taxpayer´s wallet.

Or look at Obama and Trump. Obama the “black” president with “white” virtues like self-control and Trump the “white” president with alleged behaviour of African presidents like anger, rage and being megalomaniac.

We know who is right and wrong, but we cannot say that the behaviour is linked to any colour.

41. @sirFuzzy

Agree with your comment.

The minority lives with the fear that a disgruntled dominant Black population can be very disruptive on an island that is known for its docility.

42. David cut the crap what are you suggesting economic suicide, why do you think haiti is always at deaths door, why is Venezuela with all its wealth in such trouble, you play with the bull you get the horns. Sure you can mugabe around the island but you and I know who the real losers will be, stop the racist shit and get the island back up to standards and really open for business as the gem of the Caribbean

43. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ David August 16, 2018 3:09 PM

sirFuzzy

Agree with your comment.

The minority lives with the fear that a disgruntled dominant Black population can be very disruptive on an island that is known for its docility.

I hope this is not to skin piercing for any one here; but read if you can what was the main and real reason why the “apartheid scheme” was devised in RSA in the earlier part of the 20th century. They legalised it through their legislature in 1948 , i guess they wanted to be seen as a nation of laws upholding an immoral act”

Apartheid was an experiment executed because of the fear of the whites had of the non-whites. 7 non whites to 1 white are terrible odds in a fist fight. So change the rules make sure the enemny(non whites) only has fists and you(whites) can buy guns etc.

44. It is racist to highlight how whites operate in Barbados by cattlewash committee?

45. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

I am sure the whites in RSA prior to 1948 operated in a racist manner; but why the push to a legalised framework? The fear must have grown really large.

46. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

in this world ‘ everything that is legal is not moral likewise every thing that is moral is not legal. The mere fact a law exist may give the wicked the comfortable that it was legal?

47. now that trinidadians seem to be the new owners of the island do you still need a white boogeyman just asking

48. Bush Tea hits close to the bullseye maybe?

We live in a world that values material things. An advantage of the past is that a minority people has created structures to create and sustain wealth. It must be an innate characteristic to to want to maintain social behaviors that support ‘tolerating’ other groups.