One should reasonably expect the extent to which successive governments have been unable to address findings of malfeasance and or flouting of the financial rules of government detailed in Auditor General Reports will be addressed by Prime Minister Mia Mottley on Sunday. David Ellis please take note, we will be watching!

Auditor General Report 2017

130 responses to “2017 Auditor General Report Details Perennial Tale”

1. I am reading the report and wondering how Marshall could say there is no proof of corruption…with so much of the people’s money, billions of dollars clearly unaccounted for, money does not have legs and cannot walk away, human hands have to remove that money and there is ALWAYS a paper or electronic trail, with someone’s signature or pass code available as EVIDENCE of who stole and gave away what..

Marshall has to be watched, even I can see what went on and he must not be allowed to cover up these major thefts of the people’s money to protect co-conspirators in the minority business community who still owns him …in their thieving… or protect exgovernment ministers from the consequences of their corruption..

2. And all that missing land that was supposed to be auctioned off, 40 parcels, 28 parcels were advertised for sale, never sold, 12 properties not advertised, outstanding amounts never paid despite agreements.

land thieves had a field day.

3. Piece…..man the exgovernment with their minority Gang of Thieves robbed the taxpayers, the pensioners, the land bank blind and not to be outdone, it looks like those ministries and government department employees spend all their time tiefing every penny they could find, when they are not driving around the island all day instead of working..

.I do believe it is upper management/supervisors are mostly the culprits…the abuse to the elderly pensioners is a crime all by itself…hopefully and I believe that not all of them are like that, but too many are, there is too much money unaccounted for….but no one is addressing these crimes against the people effectively and Marshall seems to be talking out both sides of his mouth at the same time …instead of heading up an immediate investigation by independent outside law enforcement to find that money, the Auditor General outlines the thefts clearly and has called for INVESTIGATIONS……all we have gotten from Marshall so far is 6 weeks of talk only.

When are the GGs going to start protecting the people, as head of state, instead of just sitting on their asses collecting a salary FROM BARBADOS TAXPAYERS…until they get too fat to move or get dementia and have to be removed from government house, when are they going to become useful to the people..

….the male GGs and one female for the past 52 years were ALL useless.

Let’s see what Mason does.

4. 😥 👿 🙄

5. Wily…why are you surprised…we knew the slave leaders of parliament have for decades been stealing from their own people to enrich their minority masters in the business community who fund their campaigns and bribe them and they also stole as much as they can for themselves on a grand scale each election cycle, the only question was …how grand?????…now we know..it’s to the tune of billions of dollars of the people’s money.

The thieving employees of the Crown and the exgovernment ministers must be brought to justice for this level of criminality against the people..

.. the thefts from old age pensioners is particularly repulsive, Mia’s recently set up Elder Abuse office I hope is not just a mockery of what these elderly people were subjected to by the thieves of parliament and their fellow thieves in government ministries and other taxpayer funded departments and statutory corporations…

6. The main questioned to be asked is how much of those billions of dollars stolen from the black population over the decades ended up in Argentina via Cow the Ape, Bizzy, Maloney etc, the Gang of Thieves.

7. @WELLWELL

Wily is not surprised, he’s SAD, Crying, Yelling because this Auditor Generals Report is the same as the last several, nothing changes other than things are regressing and getting WORSE. What do you think the present IMF evaluation conclusion is going to be ?

New Prime Minister has done nothing to date to impress Wily that she has even a rudimentary understanding of Barbados critical financial situation. Time will tell and Wily hopes that he will have to eat his skepticism.

8. It has been a consistent and protracted theft of public funds, the EVIDENCE EXISTS and is very clear, contrary to what Dale Marshall says, the image the new government is projecting is that those thefts are no big deal and the inference is it’s now their turn, but am sure the IMF will beg to differ.

So they better lock up those thieving fckers that are now exgovernment ministers, the still employed thieves in the various departments of the government, ministries, statutory corporations etc and the minority thieves who bribed their way into stealing billions from the taxpayers and pensioners..

I don’t see this as they are seeing it that ….”is we turn to tief now”..it seems they are hoping to over look the years and billions of dollars in thefts from the people.

In addition…hopefully the IMF forces them to cut at least 10,000 civil servants, in reading the Auditor General’s report, it is clear they do not do their jobs anyway, have not been doing their jobs for the last 2 decades, so why keep so many of them, some of whom are now wealthy from tiefing anyway….I would bet it is the yardfowl element which is certainly a job performance killer.

9. Just to make the point, a funding by the AG does not mean wrongdoing. Oftentimes there is flouting of the financial rules of government to be addressed by ensuring the PAC as a working committee of parliament works.

10. Who is Southern Golf and Country Club…who got $2,000,000 of the people’s money in 2010..as of March 2017..no reimbursements made, who are these people and where is the money?

There is a long list that signifies many, many hundreds millions of dollars is unaccounted for….billions.

They don’t have to explain it to me, I don’t care, not a dime of my money ever went into government or pensioners coffers to be stolen…

They got to explain it to IMF though…if they want loans..

11. It finally dawned on me why david ellis – veteran journalist did not see it fit to question the sidelining of the GIS with the appointment of this chineese fella – one Charles Jong.

Steupes – watch for the lollipops and soft ball questions tomorrow night.

Every man got he price,We see what people like lisa cummins and commisung,the business sector and others payments were now lets wait to see who else will be next.

Sometimes these things don’t end up to nice for yuh.Just ask Akanni Mcdowell.

You can see the hand of JOONG all up in the CBC nightly news and in all those PR fluff that they sending out.I for one will not waste my time listening to another PR JOB.

I have battened down the hatches and I await the gale force winds that appear imminent on our shores.

12. Well, Well

What missing land?

13. There are enough questions raised on this site for example by Hal,Wily coyote,Piece,caswell and others that can form the basis of substantive areas to go into I am sure.

14. T.Inniss

Please do tell BU how GIS is being sidelined?

15. Enuff.. read the report…it’s at page 60 something the questions asked about the 40 parcels of land that were supposed to be auctioned, no sales happened, no info on what really happened, no monies that were owed ever collected, 12 of the parcels were not even advertised for sale……ask the auditor general..it’s his report.

Ah wonder if that is something like the hardwood houses no one could find after the 2008 election..lol

16. You may know about that one too Enuff, loyal soldier that ya are.

17. On page 32 of the AG report he laments the fact a number of agencies did not submit information as requested to allow that office to do its work, the QEH, BWA, Barbados Tourism Investment Inc and Nation Petroleum. What are we going to do about it? Will government after government allow for non compliance with financial rules? Where is the financial discipline required that should be non negotiable dealing with taxpayers money?

18. On page 35 highlights monies lent to state agencies where there is no evidence of capacity repay. 60 million to Clearwter (Four Seasons) – David Ellis may want to as PM Mottley if she was paid from said proceeds as well as Avinish Persuad who acted as executive chairman for a period..

19. @Bernard

Why on page 41 do we have to read that a schedule to reconcile sinking fund calculation was not available?

20. Groundhog day again.
    Until mechanism are in place to monitor the inflow and outflow of money, to investigate and punish those are in charge of the peoples’ money; seize properties and bank accounts of those who are guarantors for loans, the 2018 report will read like all the others.
    Owners of a piggy bank pretending to have an audit.
    Groundhog day again. Hot air escaping.

21. Theo..it’s quite a depressing read, those like myself who did not work and pay taxes on the island am sure like myself are relieved to not be the victims of such outright thefts, this is not only incompetence. it’s way beyond that, these are deliberate acts of sabotage and thefts of public funds.

Near the end of the report it is clear that even former employees still have access to the financial system set up in these ministries and government departments. no wonder places like QEH still pay former employers for years after, who no longer work there…

It is depressing the free for all allowed under both joke governments.

22. no wonder places like QEH still pay former EMPLOYEES for years after, who no longer work there…

23. T Inniss you are an amazing person,what press conference Mr Stuart held in 8 years to be question by anybody?I assumethat was fine with you,since I ain,t hear a peep out of you before May 24th.Now Ms Mottley is communicating with the people you talking about lollipop questions.Tell me J/A you got a crystal ball to predict the future,if so why did you not pre warn the Dems of their demise..Which is better answering lollipop questions or not answering any questions at all,T Inniss,Dem yardfowl.Perhaps you should wait to hear the Press Conference before pre judging it J/A.You sounding like Piece with a lot of speculation..Take a rest,before you end up at the Mental as I know the Redwash still got you dizzy and angry.

24. Whilst I wish Mia and Barbados the very best, it is possible that the problems Mia is facing are just too large for her.

She has inherited a home with a defective electrical wiring but unlike an ordinary electrician she cannot turn of the electricity, pull wires and rewire the house. She must work with the defective system that is now hers. A patch here and there may be good PR, but the fix may be impossible.

Groundhog Day 2019 is on on its way.

25. Well, Well

The Auditor General Report states they were never auctioned and promised payments never made, it does not say they are missing or stolen. It means somebody called somebody and the plots got taken off the block and payments suspended. The distillation of information is not one of your few strong points; hence you saw Roleric Hinds office sign and bring down Christ that he was the MP.

26. Enuff…did we not get the same explanations and excuses after the 40 Hardwood houses went missing under the Arthur administration…so you really expect the Auditor General to say what I say, do you really expect him to put the words theft, or missing or stolen in his reports…really.

Now tell me…were those 40 disappeared Hardwood houses ever found..????

I am not tied down to flowery language, just keep that in mind.

27. So Enuff…will Mia answer the question asked about being paid from the 60 million US Pension Fund loan as lawyer to the Clearwater 4 Seasons scam…that is what should occupy your thoughts…ya think anybody can ask me that…ya crazy..

Yall like to distract yaselves minding me..don’t mind me, my bread is well buttered and chicken well curried, not a boy can tief from me.

28. I can understand why the document was not published as a searchable text. It would also be good if the reader was able to search for some words. i would search for the word computer.

4.91 Page 96, Alexandra School
    “The school reported that with the introduction of the SmartStream computerized accounting system the auditors have reported some challenges in getting the necessary information to complete the audit of the accounts.”

I was made out to be the most ignorant person online when I indicated that other areas had to be fixed before computerizing the courts. Here is an example of technology being the excuse for not providing information. We need to take off our blinkers and see things as they truly are: a scam, three card monte, a hustle, ….

29. Given a choice between a mindless creature that pollutes the blog and a great wicked that believe he can explain away any wrong, I would choose the mindless creature,

30. You my dear head too hard!! Properties up for auction due to non-payment of land tax will have a valid land tax reference number. All the Auditor General needed to do was check the land tax roll. The AG never said or implied the land was missing, he said they were not auctioned or the payments made. What 40 Hardwood houses, this is another Roleric Hinds story? Y’all just don’t like me to call wunna out fuh talking shyte. The Auditor General Report is about correcting deficiencies in how government departments account for the people money. That’s why after every issue, recommendations are put forward. Every issue is not about tiefin. Tomorrow when David Ellis is doing his interview, log on to the live feed and ask Mia about Clearwater.

31. Groundhog Day limit exceeded. I dun.

32. They have a knack for pretending reality does not exist…that is why they have reached this place and will sink further and further into despair because of their inability and refusal to face reality..

The fantasy dwellers would prefer focus on what you or I say…someone like me who would say anything once I get the desired results and then go to sleep, forget all about what I did and repeat.

We can only wish them all well at this stage of their quagmire.

33. Enuff..did yall not run an election campaign based on missing money. hundred s of millions in the Auditor General’s report and corruption in the exgovernment…missing money from NHC that someone recently got fired for not accounting for when they were summoned to the PAC meeting and never turned up to account for??

now you are on BU trying to walk that back, yall yardfowls are some real jokers…ya think you walking back anything impacts me, I have no skin in the game..

I believe the auditor general has been doing his job and knows what he is talking about..are you an auditor general.?

Don’t yall get tired of looking foolish as yardfowls…look how easily you slipped into your ac role.

34. Me, ask Mia…why??…she never got a dime of my money, she is free to keep whatever she got from Clearwater cause it was not mine, as much as I post on BU…you will never catch me carrying my interest any further, that is as far as my interest goes…I always have more important places to be, more important things to do…there are only 24 hours in a day ya know..

35. Well, well
    Do you know the AG process, have you ever been involved? If you want to call me a yardfowl feel free, that’s your get out of jail card. I prefer to be a yardfowl rather than someone who was adamant that Roleric Hinds was MP for St.Thomas ie a RH idiot.

36. vous montrez vos vetements.

yardfowls have no shame.

37. TheoGazerts

But I thought I was a yardfowl for the BLP? This AG report falls under the DLP. So why would I need to explain away anything? Ok let me join in, the with BRA/DLP connections tief the 40 parcels of land. They got a lawyer to prepare title deeds showing the transfer and then registered um up in the land Registry and they were able to transfer the land without getting a land tax clearance certificate or they got a fake one because someone on BRA signed off on it. If we go and check the land tax roll now the land tax roll will however still show that the land belong to the previous owners even though the change of ownership went to Land Tax/BRA and to the Registrar of Titles. I join the dem is teif bandwagon. Yuh happy?

38. Get out of jail card, now ya going crazy and repeating yaself too, when I am done here I am going to sleep like a baby, you really think anything will keep me awake, particulary any nonsense you post…you are singing for your supper..I already ate mine and know where to find more.

Again…yall have to answer to the electorate about the campaign you ran re corruption in the exgoverment and the hundreds of millions unaccounted for in the auditor general’s report…the population will not ask me anything about that…I am not the one who deceived them and now trying to back out of the promises made..

I will watch the show and smile…nothing to answer for.

39. “They got a lawyer to prepare title deeds showing the transfer and then registered um up in the land Registry and they were able to transfer the land without getting a land tax clearance certificate or they got a fake one because someone on BRA signed off on it.”

It has been done before..it is a well known, well worn scam..they are even famous for stealing land from old ladies and their beneficiaries, whether they are dead, dying or alive, disabled or have no limbs.

How did you miss those videos, they were all over social media.

40. If ya read the Auditor General’s report..I hope that is what ya mean so you do not embarrass yaself as a yardfowl any longer….

…he outlined his role, the function of his office and all the processes involved…along with all the malfeasence he discovered and opportunities for fraud available because many protocols were ignored, there is nothing in his report that could absolve the exgovernment of wrongdoing….that yall are now obviously trying ya best to pretend never happened..

41. Enuff…stay in ya corner, I just spent the last hour studying two languages and answering you at the same time…ac is more in your league, I smash bugs.

42. Some of you that contribute to BU does really freak me out.

From the some of wunnuh hear about the Auditor General reports, the first thing wunnuh does think is that politicians steal money.

I want any uh wunnuh, more so the conspiracy theorists, to tell me where in the AG report he specifically mentioned that a politician stole money.

All those report does mention is how accounting officers do not adhere to government financial rules. I have never seen his reports bring proof that politicians steal money. So like it or not the AG is right.

If a politician tell an accounting officer to bend the rules, if that officer is ethical, he will no do it. Government accounting system is weak and those weaknesses are exploited.

Suppose minister tell the board of a statutory organization the accept $65,000 rental fee, when the rent is actually $60,000 and the politico gets the extra $5,000. The AG can only report on if the rent in his opinion, based on certain guidelines, is unreasonable. He cannot state that the politico stole because the AG has not.provide the proof.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

This was one of the reasons ole man was suggesting that if The new Prime Minister was serious about her integrity Legislation regime the Office of the Auditor General would be part of that mechanism

But as many of you have come go realize, given their inability to even get the amount of the fine right this I really another farce to tick off and for Enuff of Lorenzo duo to come here and say what Mia do in her first 100 days while blowing air up our pooches

44. Would not be listening to the PR Stunt this evening
    I have heard enough of Mia lies and empty promises
    In any case going forward and having made that colassal mistake to default on govt debt
    And now having to go like beggar with cap on hand to the IMF
    Which means that she has to take the directives/demands to acquire the IMF loan
    What hope or choices at this eleventh hour can she give to the country
    The bottom line means Mia promises to the country during the election cycle have all been lies
    This PR stunt today would be another extention to hide or make bold faced excuses as to why she did not keep promises made to the people
    Also one can expect that the selling of the bitter pill would be high on the list since the demands in the IMF report targets govt spending and Mia role this afternoon would be to make the bajan taste buds more palatable for more of the bitter pill to swallow

Enjoy fools you all deserve every bite

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Piece…they are ready to not only insult the intelligence and hard work of the Auditor General….but also imsult the intelligence of those reading the report AND insult the intelligence of the same electorate who has to consider REELECTING the present government in 5 years..

Yardfowls eill now want to come here and tell us that not only are we not reading what we read….but that the election campaign did not run on the auditor general’s report of missing money, STEALING OF MONEY BY THE LAST GOVERNMENT….and malfeasance in office by exministers…..corruption was MIA and her now ministers buzzword on the campaign trail….both parties were throwing the word around at each other in the newspapers on social media until the british newspapers picked it up, now these fly by night yardfowls think they can look grown ass people in their faces and tell us, ya not really seeing what ya seeing and reading what ya reading….it is not sbout ministers stealing in the report….that is despite none of the money being accounted fir and much of itnot even being recirded as proticils demand it shoukd be at all times to prevent THEFTS AND FRAUD…

If not for the innocent people on the island who will suffer because of all of this corruption and stealing of taxpayers and pensioners money and the now resultant austerity measures that will follow …all of these sons of bitches slave yardfowls deserve to suffer and starve for their wicked ways.

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

that is despite none of the money being accounted FOR and much of it not even being RECORDED in ledgers as PROTOCOLS demand it should be at all times to prevent THEFTS AND FRAUD…

Even checks are missing and no one knows anything.

47. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I don’t know what some people see what they read, but as a matter of fact, the Auditor general was very clear when he stated the unaccounted for money…heavily impacted and prevented the ability of the economy to survive…my words, but the meaning is the same…

Personally, I would check the bank accounts of present yardfowls to see if they did not get their cuts of the stolen money….they are protesting way too much.

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster would you happen to have the link for the government interview?

I will be on the road but I’d love to hear the questions that Ellis poses and her responses

That would set a time of what they are trying to do and the extents they will go to or entertain