Submitted as a comment by Artax on the Seeing Your True Reflection blog. There is interest in who will succeed Leigh Trotman as Auditor General but for many in the BU family, it is more academic interest. Successive governments have failed miserably to support the Auditor General Office by ensuring the Public Account Committee ‘acts’. A significant failure of our touted democracy. It is crop over season, who cares anyway – Blogmaster

There haven’t been any significant changes in Audit General reports from over 20 years ago to any produced recently, especially as it relates to non-compliance of some state-owned entities with government’s financial regulations.

And, you’ll realise not presenting financial statements to be audited by the Auditor General’s Office, engaging in questionable financial transactions or ignoring statutory obligations, such as PAYE and NIS remittances, has been a reoccurring process, in some cases, for the same departments, statutory and quasi government entities.

I’ll provide the forum with another example.

Leigh Trotman was appointed as Auditor General on July 20, 2006 and his FIRST Annual Report to Parliament was for financial year 2006 – 2007.

In his overview of that report, Trotman mentioned the Audit Office was currently facing a number of challenges, one of which involved “the recruitment and retention of quality staff to enhance its organisational capacity.”

He also wrote the matter was being addressed by a re-organizational proposal that was “currently before the Ministry of the Civil Service.”
“In my view, the Audit Office as presently constituted and staffed cannot adequately fulfill its mandate. It is therefore hoped that during 2007 the Office will be reorganized with a staff complement capable of meeting the challenges of its mandate as well as meeting the expectations of our stakeholders such as Parliament and the people of Barbados.”

Fast forward EIGHTEEN (18) YEARS to his FINAL Annual Report to Parliament for financial year ended March 31, 2024, as required by Section 77 (1) of the Public Finance Management Act, 2019-1.

The following excerpt was taken from the Introductory Comments of Trotman’s 2024 Annual Report.

“I LEAVE BEHIND an Office WHICH is SEVERELY DEPLETED in TERMS of MANPOWER and this SHOULD be URGENTLY ADDRESSED. For improvement to be made within the Office, there is a requirement for sufficient skilled workers dedicated to their tasks. I have been consistently making recommendations for greater autonomy in the recruitment of staff but SO FAR this REQUEST HAS NOT BEEN MET with a POSITIVE RESPONSE.”

“This was also ONE of the recommendations made by the 1998 Constitutional Review Commission. It should be noted that some TWENTY-SEVEN (27) YEARS LATER, another Constitutional Review Commission is MAKING a SIMILAR recommendation.”

For eighteen (18) years, the former Auditor General has been complaining about a shortage of staff complement in his office…… 

…… complaints that were either purposely ignored or disregarded by successive BLP and DLP administrations.

People generally become fed-up of reading the same thing, year, after year, after year, especially when there seems to be an obvious attempt to ensure the status quo remains the same.

29 responses to “Abolish the Auditor General and PAC”

1. The problem with financial reporting and accountability in Barbados has nothing to do with the Auditor General. It is TOTALLY a result of the MAFIA climate that has been created by our politicians – including Barrow.
    This attitude that, having been elected, I CANNOT BE QUESTIONED.

Even worse, brass bowl Bajans have grown to ADMIRE such dictatorial attitudes as a sign of ‘strength’.
    Opposition members don’t criticize the mafia attitude either, …they just complain about the political affiliation of the beneficiaries, and patiently await THEIR turn at the nipples.

This is a workable definition of a FAILED society.

Compare this with the much vaunted Singapore model, where leadership symbolizes HONESTY, INTEGRITY, PERFORMANCE …. AND ACCOUNTABILITY… and it becomes clear why the trajectories of the two countries were so diverse since the Barrow era.

Trotman did what he was paid to do, and did it FAITHFULLY, PUBLICLY and dutifully. His role was to REPORT on the status of public reporting. NOT to solve the Mafia crime ring.

Many of the other lackies in position of authority simply comply with the MAFIA requirements, and some may even grumble under their breath – in their bathrooms.

Just look at the HORDES of lackie ENFORCERS WITHIN the Prime Minister’s Office, whose roles are CLEARLY to maintain discipline and mafia-order by ensuring that edicts are enforced.

-DooShiite is yet to accomplish a successful project in the PUBLIC INTEREST, yet he CLEARLY must be performing his ‘enforcer’ role perfectly… pick sense from that…

-The medical marijuana fiasco cost us millions – for NOTHING… yet those enforcers are high-fliers…

-Johnny muh boy, a pushed aside MP, is living up to his name pushing ‘We Gatherin’ ….how pathetic …

-What the Hell does Mascoll do? hiding around in the background with nothing to show to cover up his ‘Hard Wood’ legacy… seemingly concocting numbers out of the sky…

-Then there is the Attorney G, always trailing the Empress like a body guard – looking to ensure that our LAWS are not allowed to interfere with the various edicts that are issued… whether these relate to building a geriatric hospital in restricted locations, allowing a cement plant next to a flour mill, impeding the DPP and police from doing their jobs, …or messing up teachers’ by taking away benefits.

Does ANYONE seriously doubt that these ‘officials’ cannot see the shiite that they are allowing…? Of course not! …They just lack the BALLS to do what is RIGHT!

Should the Auditor General adopt the STANDARD brass bowl posture in future, it will only serve to make the lotta shiite lackies feel a bit better about THEMSELVES… as in thinking that their balls are not so absent after all….
    Trotman must have made them feel like jobby over the years.

The Creator ALWAYS provides an outlier to reflect the wickedness and brassbowlery.
    It is like he is throwing salt among the lotta slugs and snails…
    Matt 5:13…
    “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again?”

What a place!

2. I’ve lived the Auditor General’s experience from the perspective I’ve complained, & recommended numerous times about matters I believed needed to be addressed. Not surprisingly, like him, I’ve been ignored. Though I note that in my case, some recommendations have been adopted under different names and conditions. Amusingly, there’ve been minimal success because the model was not adopted in its entirety.

Mr. Trotman is a gentleman whose attributes, decency, honesty, analysis, knowledge etc are not respected in the political arena. People with these qualities can inform but always with the reality their best efforts are being undermined. Conversely, the ones who know how to play the games in the arena tend to report, talk and publish non critically & therefore benefit to the max.
    In reality, real change is not a requirement of this office; only reporting.

Wishing this gentleman a happy & healthy retirement. You did your best.

3. Obviously, reporting is not a priority of the powers that be. And it shall not be so until the people demand it.

Most people are busy looking for their next dollar and as long as the country does not totally collapse, this will not be a priority for them either.

4. LET ME LEAVE THIS RIGHT HERE

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

The over arching issue, is not the Audit Office, nor the PAC, they are both components of the overall system of checks and balances, to ensure the sound management of public finances.
    This is not solely to make those whom we elect be accountable for their decisions and management, but also the thousands who work for the taxpayer.
    And it is that system of checks and balances which has been under increasing attack.
    We all know the elected, like all of us, like good news and to share that news as evidence of their accomplishments.
    We are told “internal accounting reports” exist, and must assume they do, and yet they do not wish them audited by an independent third party to confirm their accuracy. Is this because they wish to refrain from all the good and positive news?
    The only people who can force accountability are you, the voters. The only fear the political class has, is losing power. Getting fed up and booting them out, does not make one iota of difference, if the replacements act the same way?
    And they protect each other. You saw the local charges against Donville? You saw the body who orchestrated the deal to sell sugar below cost, asked any questions or identified? Clearwater? The monies diverted away from the NIS?
    This why “party loyalty” is so important. Watch Trump doing the Epstein Waltz? When the normal terms which placate his base “fake news”, “hoax” and “witch hunt” don’t have the desired effect, try “the Democrats”.
    imagine one month the GoB is giving $60(?)M to the public, next month they have to borrow to upgrade health care. Sweet fuh daze.

6. @Bush Tea

Singapore practices a benevolent dictatorship model compared to what we have which encourages a pandering to the ‘bigworks’ type leader.

7. @NO

In theory what you say is correct BUT how do individuals mobilize to create a ‘spring’ or ‘movement’? Another example is the oft repeated observation that Barbadians need to invest by drawing on the billions sitting in the financial system. The same question is apt: how to mobilize same capital owned my thousands of depositors?

8. No opposition, no fifth estate, an Auditor General with no real teeth to act and a country putting estimates to the public with hardly any independently audited financials for years to based their estimates on! As for inhouse figures, these are no more than brought forward errors compounding in the absence of audited financials.

But dont worry Cropver soon here and we going drink and wukup nuff so all is well.

9. Focus.More fetes.

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

People always galvanize around a leader.
    We must hope they have higher moral and ethical standards, than recent options.
    Something will produce a tipping point (he has new book btw).

11. Even recommendations made by the Auditor General are also ignored by the ‘political class.’

The PAC legislation designates the Leader of the Opposition as the Chairman of the Committee. Obviously, the PAC did not hold any meetings during the periods when there wasn’t an Opposition Leader.

Trotman suggested the situation could’ve been “remedied by an amendment to the PAC Act, which would allow for an independent Senator to chair meetings in the absence of an Opposition Leader.”

In his 2021 Report, the Auditor General mentioned there were other factors outside the control of his Office that impacted the progress of audits, which included the “lack of timely response by Ministries and Departments to requests for information by auditors, and the inadequacy of their responding to audit queries.”

“It would appear that some Ministries and Departments’ heads are not fully aware of their responsibilities, and are delinquent in supplying requisite information. This matter needs to be addressed going forward if my reports are to be timely and be of benefit to stakeholders.”

In an effort to improve that situation, Trotman also suggested a legislative amendment, similar to that of Section 13 (5) of the Public Finance Management Act, 2019-1, “if a person refuses to produce any records or information as requested by the Comptroller General, that person is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10,000 or to imprisonment for a term of 12 months or both,”……

…… should also apply to the Auditor General.

Additionally, recall a former Chairman of Barbados Water Authority’s Board filed a lawsuit against the Audit Office, in relation to the 2019 Report that referenced the special audit that was conducted on the BWA.

According to the Auditor General, “in some jurisdictions there is a provision in the legislation which stipulates that any document produced in good faith by or on behalf of the Auditor General, in the course of the performance of his/her duties or functions under any Act of Parliament, is privileged. This type of amendment would minimize court actions against the Office of the Audit General.”

12. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Your comments are factually accurate.
    Yet I have issue with any AudGen suggesting his Office’s reports should be unassailable.
    While the immediate past holder of the AudGen title, seemed unbiased, we should not assume the next, or any following, will be cut from the same cloth.
    There has to an avenue for recourse, should persons or other offices receive comments they deem inaccurate.

13. Would have been enlightening to see someone like former senator Tricia Watson charging the PAC. Unfortunately the politics of the day didn’t accommodate.

14. @ NorthernObserver

I don’t believe any future Auditor General would be biased, for the following reasons.

The Audit Office was established by Chapter VIII, Section 102 of the Barbados Constitution, while Section 113 (1-4) outlines the Auditor General’s duties, which are further described in Part VI (75-83) of the Public Finance Management Act, 2019.

According to CHAPTER I, THE CONSTITUTION 1. “This Constitution is the SUPREME LAW of Barbados and, subject to the provisions of this Constitution, if any other law is inconsistent with this Constitution, this Constitution shall prevail and the other law shall, to the extent of the inconsistency, be void.”

Additionally, 113 (4) of the Constitution states, “In the exercise of his functions under the provisions of subsections (2), (2A) and (3), the Auditor-General SHALL NOT be SUBJECT to the DIRECTION or CONTROL of ANY OTHER PERSON or AUTHORITY.”

The Aud Gen is therefore MANDATED, by law, to fulfill those duties independently.

15. @ Artax

Is the constitution you speak of our NEW constitution under our Republic status or are you referring to our OLD constitution under our previus model?

Has a NEW constitution under our republic status been finalised as yet, if so where can I go to get a copy of it for review?

16. @ David

Read Tricia Watson’s profile, which indicated she’s a lawyer.

Similarly to any other PAC Chairman, she would’ve probably argued about the politics of Auditor General reports, rather than addressing the substantive accounting issues and breaches of financial regulations highlighted therein.

Lawyers seem to believe they have the right to ‘dabble in’ every profession, but people who are not lawyers, are unable to understand law.

17. @Artax

All we can go by is her body of work as a public advocate especially on utility matters.

18. @ John A

I’m aware Barbados, through the Constitutional Reform Commission (CRC), is currently in the process of creating a new republican Constitution.

However, I’m referring to the current Constitution, which can only become OLD or ‘null and void,’ when a NEW ONE for Republic status, is written.

Also, Barbados becoming a Republic does not change the historical fact that the Auditor General’s Office or any associated duties that are constitutionally mandated, were established by the Barbados Constitution.

Read the introductory comments of any Auditor General report since Barbados became a Republic, and you’ll realise Trotman quotes therein, the duties as required by the Constitution, and the Public Finance Management Act, 2019, as well.

19. My point is how strongly do you think the new constitution will empower the Auditor Generalsl’s Office, based on how they now respond to his concerns every year?

We can qoute chapter and verse of the constitution, the point is when it comes to our historic adherance to that document we have a poor record. Its no different to the lack of enforcement concerning the requirement for audited annual financials.

We are a country with a “wash pan” of laws and rules, unfortunately we adhere to few of them, both at state and private level.

20. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    May your faith in the Supreme Law, and other laws, be rewarded.
    Once I would have shared your faith, but not today.

21. Unlike you, I cannot assume a new republican Constitution would reduce or eliminate the constitutional obligations of the Audit Office, especially when one reasonably considers the fact that the Auditor General’s reports are examined and critically evaluated by the public, and both traditional and social media.

Barbadians also seem to be satisfied with the independence and impartiality of the Auditor General, especially Leigh Trotman, who brought a high level of trust and credibility to that Office.

As such, I do not believe the public would ‘sit idly by’ and allow the Mottley administration to make constitutional changes to the Audit Office that undermine its integrity and independence, or its role to be compromised by politicians.

However, I’ve read the Constitutional Reform Commission’s Report of September 16, 2024, and Report of the Parliamentary Reform Commission, 2024.

For example, the CRC, based on consultations with Barbadian citizens and organisations, recommended that ‘constitutional provisions relating to the appointment, removal and terms of service of the Auditor General SHOULD be RETAINED.’
    Government should consider legislation to prevent the Auditor General and his staff from being sued ‘in relation to acts done in good faith in connection with the Office’s constitutional and legislative functions.’
    The Audit Office be ‘INSULATED from MINISTERIAL CONTROL’ and providing it with adequate facilities and resources for the efficient discharge of its responsibilities, should be a constitutional requirement.

Perhaps you may want to inform the forum as to what provisions in the current Constitution we have a historically poor record of adherence.

We’re discussing the Auditor General. During his eighteen (18) year tenure, Mr. Trotman fulfilled his constitutional requirements….. exceptionally.

In other words, his ‘historic adherence was not poor.’

22. @ NorthernObserver

This thread is a discussion on the PAC and Auditor General.

Perhaps you may want to explain how, by referencing the appropriate provisions in the Constitution to indicate the Auditor General fulfilled his constitutional obligations, as REQUIRED by LAW……

…… is indicative of me “having faith in the Supreme Law?”

23. @Artax

The bottom line is that there is a general lack of faith in the government to implement material changes especially as it relates to governance. The blogmaster is known to be an optimist but to be honest, it is a tiring endeavour.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    I have no issue with how Mr.Trotman performed the duties of his office. He was solid. Or how he managed the Audit Office.
    Rather what could/is likely to occur, and how that maybe handled to ensure the proper functioning of the Audit Office.
    In 2010, if somebody suggested we had seen the last official Report from the NIS, I would have suggested they were nuts.
    Apparently from a financial accounting end, according to Mr Trotman, his office has in fact, reviewed accounts to 2015. And has “draft statements” to 2023.
    The Audit Office has been doing their job, the final result has been frustrated by delays elsewhere.
    And I will also suggest the Audit Office’s independence HAS been challenged. Since it’s incorporation in 2011, an Audit Office which has been diligent in comprehensively listing all those entities it audits, and their status, what happened to Clearwater Bay Limited? Or was that under the mandate of the Accountant General. The Audit Office certainly knew it existed.

25. We simply have created a national Mafia, …aided by many ‘armchair facilitators’ – many of whom are accepting bribes in the form of political appointments, board positions, consultancies, and as ‘special advisors’.

They can be relied on to spread messages like
    – things would be worse under the DLP,
    …or that we need to give time for things like the new constitution to work out,
    …or that more new garbage trucks are on order
    etc

What is CLEARLY missing, is any kind of large scale commitment to honesty, integrity, transparency and productivity.
    – OR outrage at the OBVIOUS racketeering going on…

Translated, …EXACTLY like Emperor Trump in the doomed USA, we are on a deadly slide to damnation.

What a place…

26. Look whenever all is said and done my summary of the situatuon is this.

Both parties have not adhered to the old laws under the current constitution in areas like ensuring audited financial reports are up to date, along with other such matters of state. What mek wunna think that a new Republic constitution going mek any difference to these 2 parties?

We got a wash of road traffic laws that are laughed at every day by PSV drivers, Swift drivers and motorcycle “entertainers” as they called themself in a recent press article. You think adding more laws will matter to them? Our problem is and has always been enforcement and that is at ALL LEVELS!

27. This is an interesting website.

https://bb.vlex.com/

28. Both parties have not adhered to the old laws under the current constitution in areas like ensuring audited financial reports are up to date, along with other such matters of state. What mek wunna think that a new Republic constitution going mek any difference to these 2 parties?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My friend, where exactly are you going with this old versus new Constitution argument?

I’ve read all the contributions posted to this thread, and cannot remember reading any in which its author DISAGREED with the comments you’ve made.