Submitted by Dr. Shima L. Holder, Age: 27 years old

Academic Background:

• Bachelors of Science (BSc): UWI Cave Hill Campus, Barbados (2009-2013) –  Chemistry
  • Master of Science (MSc): University of Surrey, United Kingdom (2013-2014) – Civil and Environmental Engineering (specialization in Water and Environmental Engineering),
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD): Da-Yeh University, Taiwan, Republic of China (2014- 2017) – Water and Environmental Engineering (Fuel Cell Technolog01_UNLEASH 2018_certificate_globalscalabilitypotential UNLEASH 2018_certificate_water_goldy)
Occupation: Postdoctoral Researcher/Chemical Engineer, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden (July 2017-present)

UNLEASH 2018, Singapore : ​’SaniHive’ prototype designed by Savvy Sanitation Solutions​
UNLEASHED closing ceremony
I recently took part in UNLEASH that was held in Singapore from 30th May – 6th June 2018. UNLEASH is a global innovation lab ​ sponsored by UNDP, Deloitte, Dalberg, Carlsberg Foundation and DBS (to name a few)​ that convenes 1000 top young minds chosen from over 1​08 countries around the world to collaborate on ideas and solutions that can help achieve the United Nation Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) for food, water, health, education, energy, urban sustain-ability and responsible supply chains.

As the sole female and one of the youngest persons,​our multinational team of 5 also included innovators/engineers from Colombia, Singapore, South Africa and Uruguay. We tackled SDG 6: Clean Water & Sanitation​ and pitched our solution and business plan to potential funders at a marketplace and then to an audience of approximately 1200 people where we were evaluated by leading experts and company partners. Our team’s solution ​beat 995 other contestants and 169 other solutions ​to clinch​ both ​​the Gold Award and the Global Scalability Potential Award –​(see appended file)​.
SaniHive prototype

​Our solution is an Integrated Modular Sanitation system that combines the collection and treatment of wastes onsite by Our SaniHive prototype (see attachment), inspired by the honeycomb structure of bees that maximizes space in limited land availability, was conceptualized, critiqued by experts​ ​and refined during a gruelling four-day innovation process converting urine and faeces into fertiliser and compost respectively. 

​The uniqueness  in our solution is that​ ​the toilet hub is not connected to a conventional sewage network, needs no electricity and can be scaled up or customized according to the community’s needs and natural design. Furthermore, profits can be made from the waste recycling (as this system separates the urine and faeces within the toilet while using no water). We ​ also​ hope that this innovation would ​empower the communities by ​creat​ing ​employment, as local people c​an transport the waste to mini treatment plants where high-end products could be created; phosphorous recovery from urine for fertiliser is one example of this.
Final presentation at UNLEASHED

The Future for Savvy Sanitation Solutions Urban slum communities need sustainable sanitation that meets the needs of high population density, because the current temporary portable toilets are largely inaccessible due to space constraints; many people often share a few toilets, leading to poor sanitary conditions. With projections of there being close to one billion urban slum dwellers worldwide by 2030, sanitation innovations such as ours will play a big part in ensuring clean water and sanitation and in creating sustainable cities and healthy citizens. 

To start, we will focus on the urban slum Kylethisha in South Africa and we can use this slum as a case study for implement​ation​​ in other ​developing countries based on their specific needs and limitations; our solution is not limited to urban slums, but can also be valuable in water​-​scarce communities/areas, or  in richer suburbs, where you create an integrated, decentralised system with a mini treatment plant in the neighbourhood.​ ​
Team working at 12AM to completed businessplan and technology

As the co-founders of Savvy Sanitation Solutions, our team is excited ​about pursu​ing ​th​e​ SaniHive innovation, and are currently meeting with funders and investors to help commercialise this technology.

International Media Coverage
​As an example, here are three articles we are featured in:​

3. Singapore: https://medium.com/@asiap3hub/innovations-unleashed-d999d2fa39b5 (specific mention of our team’s solution is made by Asia P3 Hub’s Senior WASH and Partnership Advisor, Phearak Svay, who served as a judge at 2018 UNLEASH)
Also, I have attached:
​1) ​a feature video done by The Development Bank of Singapore (DBS) which includes our team’s solution (SaniHive) ​ and 2) some group photos of us the co-founders ​, and 3) supporting photo files.​

111 responses to “Young Barbadian Scientist @UNLEASH 2018 in Singapore”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Outstanding!

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Innovative. .as long as your creatives are given free reign, they create.

3. Peggy A. Green Avatar

congrats to Ms Holder and team. Wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

Great idea. The self sustaining factors make its usability, far and wide. Good luck.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dr. Shima Holder

A Most noble outing.

I am going to ask you a few questions .

Was the initiative funded while you were in Barbados or in Sweden?

Did you ever promote the initiative while in Barbados? If so what was the outcome? If Not, why Not?

Is the prototype patented? If so what was its cost? Who funded it?

If Not? Would you be interested in partnering with the Government of Barbados in a Smart Partnership through which they (1) take a position in your product that will (2) fund the patent and to market strategy for (3) 25% of the product revenues in specific geographical regions (4) limited to a term sheet’s prescriptions with (5) first option to participate in (6) continuance in part for your Sandhive product?

The fact is Dr Holder is that

(1) the Government of Barbados ent got nobody to “see” what you have

(2) to create an enabling environment for the Intellectual Property bundling

(3) going probably now that de ole msn mention it run to BIDC and ghat posture Dr Hollingsworth cause dem love getting dem doggie stroke

(4) ent understand what is involved in the process NOR HOW TO FORM STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS with qualifying governments

In fact de ole man going tell you two things.

I have been trying to tell Mia Mottley that the only way out of the economic morass that Barbados finds itself is through non traditional FX generation such as your own project.

But the fact is that dem ent got dis sort of vision nor talent in de cuntry and dem love de change management masturbators like Dr Basil and dere ent no way to harness the talents of people like you.

Tell de ignoramuses how much money is potentially involved in waste management for sites that abound globally for displaced people’s?

Or what is the potentially for all commercial waste management.

It is a matter of divine confirmation when you said and I quote “…inspired by the honeycomb structure of bees that maximizes space in limited land availability…”

The issue of “the desert blossoming like a rose”, hurricane and cyclone dampers and fire suppression units all are bases on natural structures in nature that the aerage person CANNOT SEE but which GOD put there for us

“..go to the ant thou sluggard consider her ways and be wise…”

Do not stop at just the waste disposal there is an important iteration that enhances your waste disposal system …

This is where our nation needs to go…but unfortunately we are led by a Prime Minister who is surrounded by a visionless 1st and 2nd Eleven team that ent gots a clue…

Stay in Sweden Dr Holder and do not leave unless you see a comprehensive matrix to make this idea happen if you return.

De ole man begs you not to do it…You shall regret it if you do…stay with the Europeans and albinocentrists who will enable the ideas and not get entangled with your personality nor brilliance.

Euphemism for small dickey men who will consider you to be too bright for your own good.

Continued Success…

6. An enormous feeling of pride to see what is possible from a young Bajan. Sometimes it takes just one person to change the world.

Congratulations Dr. Holder!

7. Wily scanning the numbers, 27 years old, 9 years of university education, therefore started university at age 18, NO evidence of any work experience. Humm, this is a real problem, over educated with NO real world work experience other than minimal benefactor supported. This is a major world problem lots of educated individual’s without the ability to initiate profitable enterprises.

Proposed idea is good, however it does not come with a business plan, where does the money come from to implement, operate and sustain. All successful ideas, Microsoft, Apple etc. were developed by non university educated individual’s with an idea, developement plan that was supported by invester financing.

8. Did you not read the blurb? She clearly recorded the approach underway to prospect for funding.

9. Congrats for your outstanding effort. This level of thinking is what we must encourage Bajans to conduct. Time has long come for Bajans to pick themselves up from the bad fall of the previous ten years, become very focused on major accomplishments for the future.

10. Wily you are raising and interesting point. I strongly believe in Co-Op or sandwich learning ie schooling interspersed with work experience. One of the very best Unis in Canada is Waterloo U which has many areas of study where working is part of learning especially in ENG, IT etc. Why does anyone think that Medicine has always insisted on this? My children did Business @ Sir Wilfrid Laurier U precisely because they could go into Co-Op. They spent 3 work terms of 4 months each. They both received offers of employment from blue chip organisations ie Ernst & Young and Deloitte’s, a full year before graduation on condition of maintaining high marks.
    Bim has to reform it’s tertiary system to include work experience wherever possible and also to encourage areas of study that Bim needs for the future.

11. @David

Yes I read the blurb, you totally missed the point. Business plan will only make sense if PROFIT is involved, in this case it’s a social benefit only case and no profits can be realised. This type of proposal will not be implemented by a business venture but by social taxpayer/benefactor support. Installing these units in poor underprivileged areas will not work as they’ll be destroyed in short order, just look at benches, picknik tables, playground equipment that the Barbados government has installed around the country which considers itself entitled, all or most have been destroyed.

Good social ideas only work in highly organised and generously funded countries, ie: note country author is presently operating from, Sweden. She has found a social welfare country in which to live while exercising her liberal philanthropic ideas.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Wily Coyote

While there may be a need for job experience in other domains the young doctor presents an example of the “indigenous thought leadership that our third or is that not turd world country needs.

What if she were to convert her idea to serve the recent shyt challenge on our south coast?

What does that represent for our country’s current dilemma of us shitting in the sea?

You see why we ole fogeys have to die out? and be replaced by properly equipped thinkers?

The next thing you are going to suggest that she possess is lawyering skills to patent her idea after she goes to business school to learn to write a business plan.

There are hundreds and I would say thousands of young people in Barbados And across CARICOM like this young lady.

There are millions of dollars in EU and IFI that remain untapped cause people like Pamela Coke Hamilton at the Caribbean Export and other intermediary institutions like Dr Boyce at the EU ent got the know how to package the correct programs to serve our needs.

Do you know of the EICF at the InterAmerican Development Bank?

Do you know what it does?

Do you know of the size of the R&D community in the United States of America?

Do you comprehend the problem that de ole man has always had with persons like Dr Cardinal Warde of The Massachussets Institute of Technology who after 40 years there has never been able to convert his currency into a national R&D programme that partners with the WII precisely in this same way? instead of coming every year and begging to underwrite a summer camp to run a summer school?

You comprehend where the mono economy country needs to go in these times of severe challenge?

But then again we have A BRIDGE TOO FAR

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Very good accomplishment.
    Good input from Piece & Money brain
    This young woman must stay far from Barbados!

14. Thank you PUDRYR.

Sometimes one has to go prolix to elucidate on some issues. What the young Dr. Holder is doing cannot be constrained by a business plan at this stage. Innovators must innovate, output from the effort should attract interest from investors whether private, public or PPP to progress the prototype to the next stage. First let us have the thought leadership as you correctly stated.

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Wily Coyote

It is you who have missed the point with your accustomed “insular response” that besmears the local landscape

You said and I quote “…Installing these units in poor underprivileged areas will not work as they’ll be destroyed in short order…”

What the *** don’t you first of all understand who is funding the initiative? It is UNDP the sister to the place where *** worked!!!

You remember what is their mandate?

Do you understand that the UNDP and it’s sister entities including the one that works with refugees need to process people’s shit every single day?

Man I am ashamed of you Wily.

Your comments and rationale are truly below standard and should be deleted from the young lady’s blog.

Defeatist propaganda by us old fogeys because our vision of the world is myopic and you are measuring this by Barbados park benches.

But carry on smartly cause it is people like you that Mia going augment her leadership thought teams with…as she returns to the vomit…

16. The blogmaster will never align to the view that talented Barbadians should forsake their homeland because of challenges obstacles others have experienced. There is a reason why our islands are less developed in more ways than one. The journey to achieve the best that we can be is just that, a journey. Many football fans will watch the World Cup football final on Sunday and observe the f French team with their best players of African descent. Yet African teams struggle to get to the knockout stage. Connect the dots. The final decision for the young doctor will be about what satisfies her purpose on the planet, how in her heart of hearts she sees herself adding value.

17. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

This is the kind of effort which our young people are capable of. They make taxpayers like me happy. And reinforce our confidence in the Education System. Continued success to Dr. Holder.

18. As noted, super congratulations to Dr Holder on her work and that of her colleagues thus far.

@Pieces, all understood above but bro you flog a horse to death with remark such as: “…stay with the Europeans and albinocentrists who will enable the ideas and not get entangled with your personality nor brilliance.”

Yes there is too much ‘small dickey’ men who will limit or attempt to steal great idea from smart folks in BIM but they are only about 120K men here …they are millions in Europe…based on the civil suits on patent theft or ideas purloined; not to mention the barrage of news items of opportunities constrained or suppressed they are many more small dickey men outside Bdos….

So Dr. Holder should of course ply her talents outside our lil rock but she surely needs to proceed with even more care on the international scene! Just saying.

@David Mr Blogmaster, not being pedantic but your remark that “What the young Dr. Holder is doing cannot be constrained by a business plan at this stage” perpetuates the utter folly initiated by @Willy’s remark that a “Business plan will only make sense if PROFIT is involved, in this case it’s a social benefit only case and no profits can be realised”.

To accept that verbiage is to dismiss the EXTENSIVE business planning that agencies like UNDP, or Red Crescrent/Cross, Doctors Without Borders, The Gates Foundation or the myriad other non-profit orgs conduct repeatedly as they undertake or consider the various projects which they fund or consider funding.

A business plan is a guide (ideally comprehensive) of the objectives and plans to achieve a stated purpose emanating from some creation, concept or a repurposed old idea.

… Regardless of a profit intension it’s absolutely necessary to have a clear idea of cost inputs is order to get funding THUS the doc or any other innovator WILL BE constrained if they do NOT have a ‘business plan’.

19. In deference to my English teachers …bless their collective hard work… rather..”there are too many small dicey men”.

Had intended a different thrust… ‘too much small dicey thinking’!

And a good grammar day to all😁!

20. @Dee Word

We are not on the same page. There must be room to innovate, Piece refers to it as thought leadership. She has brought the innovation, based on her shopping around the prototype she will know to what extent she needs to modify. It is an iterative kind of process isn’t it?

The blogmaster is willing to be guided.

21. There are 5000 pit toilets in Barbados that PM Mottley promise to eliminate.

22. Developed by a Cape Town lecturer, this self-sustaining toilet turns waste into material of value

http://www.designindaba.com/articles/creative-work/developed-cape-town-lecturer-self-sustaining-toilet-turns-waste-material

23. If Barbados was not so broke.

The Government could pay to evaluate the SaniHive system to replace pit toilets in Barbados.

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David Mr Blogmaster, a hearty LOL re “The blogmaster is willing to be guided”….Having developed and brought to fruition this lil idea called the BU blog I am sure you need no ‘guidance’ in this area ! 🙂

But for what it’s worth…The innovation or thought leadership continues apace every single day across the globe with a ‘Shark Tank’ worth of projects and funding. The work of Dr Holder and team is an awesome example of that as they have copped top award in another highly competitive assessment process.

Yes, in order to move the innovation to a commercially viable product more funding is required and as that process develops there will be modifications.

However, she (and team) of NECESSITY must have a clear and detailed scientific process already mainly settled related to the waste conversion with the limited use of water…in short what my brief reading of above suggested was perhaps a core competitive advantage of their prototype.

And thus they MUST have a ‘plan of business’ in place as well.

When you speak of “an iterative kind of process” I accept that as the iterations of the business dynamics primarily.

I expect that the scientific process will continue to evolve (for example, possible hurdles in fitting the science process to the most cost effective commercially viable design) but it surely is otherwise well settled at this point. I do not expect major iterations of the scientific work behind the prototype.

So in continued brief..when commercial process meets innovation there must be mods surely but any modern innovator who comes to any investor or public agency WITHOUT an already well thought out business plan is simply an inventor looking to spend his entire life fighting to ‘get back’ his or her invention….no one can still be that much of a douffus now can they!

I gone for now.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Above, ‘lil idea’ is wryly/sarcastically noted…there is NOTHING little about this BU blog…just the opposite!

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ahhhahhh and that is precisely the key point here “thought leadership” Honourable Blogmaster.

I will put this to De Pedantic Dribbler that, Wily Coyote initially said that the idea did not come with a business plan

Then he went on to “dribble” Heheheheh using your name, not nature, we leave such to the Walters of this world, and say thst said plan did not have a profit element.

He then extrapolated to say that this was a philanthropic initiative.

And finally he driibled away .

Do you know the amount of money spent in constructing and maintaining temporary refuge cities?

Do yo comprehend the amount of jobby we excrete in these cities?

Does he? Does he understand the amount of waste that we release daily, globally?

Can he be serious to even come here and write that this is a philanthropic exercise or whatever dribble he wrote?

Once again, it is not for the Doctor to create any Business Plan, it is for the other supporting mechanism to see that there is money in shite disposal systems and once the idea is sound and viable in addition to being desirable, to make that leap.

Finally wunna gots to read why de ole man saying to Dr. HOLDER.

A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.

As noble an objective as national support might be UNLESS SHE RESEARCHES THE ENABLING ENVIRONMENT FULLY , an environment where small dickey men abound (I overwrote the predictive text for your benefit DpD) and UNLESSS SHE FINDS THAT HER INITIATIVE WILL SECURE THE REQUISITE FUNDING, if this is the area she wishes to realize after spending avqurter of her life in studies, DO NOT RETURN TO THE ROCK else she will find herself prostituted by these same visionless small dickeyed men who are the though leaders and decide what gets funding And what are investor grade national initiatives

27. @PUDRYR

You point is well made. The good thing is that the launch of the technology from any geography does not negate the need to efficiently deal with human waste. She does not have to return to Barbados although there is value in Barbadian stakeholders vesting in the process even at a nascent stage of this project. This blog has been circulated on Facebook and we are sure those who are in a position to follow through will see if it. It was emailed to the ideas government email as well.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The blogmaster will never align to the view that talented Barbadians should forsake their homeland because of challenges obstacles others have experienced.

JUST LET ME SAY THAT I KNOW OF AT LEAST THREE CONTEMPORARIES AT HC WHO WENT A BROAD (ONLY ONE EVER WORKED HERE) AND MADE DISTINGUISHED CONTRIBUTIONS IN PHARMACOLOGY

JUST LET ME SAY ALSO THAT MANY OF MY CLASSMATES AT MEDICAL SCHOOL FROM OTHER ISLANDS LEFT THERE COUNTRIES INTENDING TO RETURN TO CONTRIBUTE AND MAKE THINGS BETTER.

ON RETURN THEIR HOPES WERE DASHED TO THE GROUND, AS THEY WERE TOTALLY IGNORED. APPLICATIONS NOT RESPONDED TO ETC ETC ETC

MORE THAN ONE OF MY CLASSMATES AT THE LAST REUNION EXPRESSED THIS VIEW

WHY SHOULD YOUNG PEOPLE CAST THEIR PEARLS BEFORE THE SWINE, WHY?

WHY SHOULD YOUNG PEOPLE SUFFER FOOLS GLADLY? WHY? AS I MUST OFTEN DO HERE?

29. @Hants

Barbadian politicians do not lie, it much the same way that they are not corrupt!

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE
    THIS YOUNG WOMAN SHOULD BREK FUH SHE SELF
    DONT EXPECT NUTTIN FROM BARBADOS MORE THAN WUH YUH GET ALREADY

31. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU

In addition to raw talent Barbadians do need the right environment and large expensive labs to develop their talents. Dr . GP knows from experience how promising young talent can be snuffed out.
    Scientists are not driven by filthy lucre but by the need to create something useful for mankind. A business plan is the last thing on their minds. I think some of us need to remove the profit blinkers from our eyes and minds.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De Pedantic Dribbler that thou art…

Heheheh

Try not to be as slow as your name

https://atlanta.cbslocal.com/2013/11/07/inventor-of-super-soaker-water-gun-awarded-73-million/

Most of you talk cause you gots a mouth but some of us have skin in the game

You just come to the game my brother in the spirit, I been doing this longer than you.

“…Hasbro had not fully paid Johnson his share of moneys from the sale of these toys from 2007 to 2012…”

2007 a coincidence? Heheheheh

“…The arbitrators ruling also resolves an investment dispute between Johnson’s company and Hasbro. In addition to the judgment for Hasbro Inc. to pay Johnson for the Nerf toy line, a separate breach of contract lawsuit that accused Hasbro of violating terms set in 1996 to pay Johnson royalties of 2 percent and 1 percent for three-dimensional products and two dimensional representations of Super Soakers,…”

But then again ammmmm DpD you are not talking about a “turd world country ” where people have respect for others property are we?

But I suppose thst that has blasted your well thought out response about “a well thought out business plan” to smithereens hasn’t it? Or is teifing a subtopic in your own business plans?

Heheheheh …

33. How many young Black bajan creatives with brilliant ideas to move the country forward had those ideas stolen by the bottom feeding black governments to sell or give away to their bottom feeding masters like Cow, Bizzy et al

There was a creative on here lamenting for years what both lowlife, sell out governments did to him with his inventions, how they robbed him, I believe his name is David…

Creatives would do well to stay the hell away from these black governments, stay right where they are more appreciated and less likely to be robbed…there are many ways to contribute to the island outside of having your inventions stolen.

34. Agree Bernard, unfortunately Cave Hill is not geared to be a research university by definition due to lack of funding. The fact government owes millions which compromises is delivery tells the tale. We have to look to private sector to step up?

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE In addition to raw talent Barbadians do need the right environment and large expensive labs to develop their talents.

THERE IS NO WAY THAT THE THREE CONTEMPORARIES AT HC WHO WENT A BROAD AND MADE DISTINGUISHED CONTRIBUTIONS IN PHARMACOLOGY COULD HAVE DONE THAT IF THEY HAD REMAINED IN BARBADOS………….THERE ARE NO FACILITIES AND THERE IS NO VISION………..AND THEIR IDEAS WOULD HAVE BEEN DISCARDED MY THEIR FOOLISH INFERIOR SUPERIORS ah lie

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item in response to the usually intelligent Dribbler. He drpping remarks heheheheh. But de ole man got he number. Heheheheh. thank you

37. A country is not defined by its government. Dr. Holder for example may feel an affinity with the land of her birth for all the natural reasons, he probably has family and friend living in Barbados. Many considerations are factored to guide their decisions. It is not always about milk and honey, more about trying to help despite the challenges.

38. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David BU

Cave Hill put too much in brick and mortar and too little in human resources and labs.

39. “Developed by a Cape Town lecturer, this self-sustaining toilet turns waste into material of value.”

Hope this is not the same system a young black South African developed, ended up dying mysteriously at the hotel where he was to make the presentation and equally as mysteriously this white South African comes forward with the same invention claiming it as his but could not provide any details of how he came to be in possession of it…these people are demons, hopefully this is genuine and not stolen from a dead black kid..

40. I also want to congratulate the young lady on her academic and “entrepreneurial” achievements.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I like what you said “…. It is not always about milk and honey, more about trying to help [your country and your people] despite the challenges…”

I added what is in the square brackets.

You have taken away all my words and that is a big task for anyone…

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Cave Hill put too much in brick and mortar and too little in human resources and labs.
    ARE LABS NOT BRICK AND MORTAR

WAY BACK IN 1974 DR JEFFREY DELLIMORE–A VERY BRILLIANT VINCENTIAN- HAD US IN THE UNDERGRADUATE CHEMISTRY CLASS DOING RESEARCH IN OUR FINAL YEAR

MY PROJECT INVOLVED RED BLOOD CELLS
    DR DELIMORE THEN WENT ON TO SERVE THE REGION AT THE CDB

DR DELIMORE WAS INDEED A VISIONARY

DR EUNA MOORE WAS A SIMILAR GIANT IN THOSE DAYS WHO RAN A BIOLOGY CLASS FROM WHENCE A MYRIAD OF DOCTORS AND AGRICULTURISTS WORKING THROUGHOUT THE REGION STILL WORK.

YET WHEN A FULL DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGY WAS BEGUN SHE WAS CAST A SIDE WHEN BINKS BROUGHT IN A BULLING MAN FROM BRISTOL.

WHY SHOULD THIS YOUNG WOMEN WHO IS OBVIOUSLY AN ACADEMIC RETURN TO BE TREATED LESS THAN SHE DESERVES

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Okay DAVID OF BU.

The real Honourable Blogmaster

Here is what I will offer to assist with, because of you and that specific comment.

Consider it the catalyst like the comment from AC that launched the Stoopid Cartoons of the grandson

Concurrent with all the fluuf about how the ministries have to “do a resizing” i will recommend the following in this public forum.

There is an imperative for the Governmdnt of Barbados to employ other than traditional means to meet its resuscitation needs.

One of these that I would suggest is to deploy a centrally located Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurial Initiatives

I suggest that it be located in Bridgetown which is central to any bus route from anywhere in Barbados

This central locale will act as a pool where ideas can be “assembled”, prioritized and harvested.

Such an initiative will secure the technical assistance and financial support of not a few International Funding Institutions.

Such will need a Business plan and de ole man would provide a comprehensive plan if ***

In addition de ole man will bring one PPP (public Private sector Partnership) with its IP, that will be the seeder for that Centre.

This IP will be the feeder for the dire Tourism marketing situation.

Talk is cheap

Let us see if wunna will up de volume…

44. Congrats Dr.Holder. It should be noted that there is another young Bajan UWI graduate in Taiwan with a PhD.Yet we have a setta mouttas who frequently deride the quality of education provided at UWI.

45. We need to enable our space to encourage differentiating activities. Our model is too traditional. The world is undergoing digital transformation, we are already too late to ride the crest, at worse we need to look for the riptide.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Congrats Dr.Holder. It should be noted that there is another young Bajan UWI graduate in Taiwan with a PhD.Yet we have a setta mouttas who frequently deride the quality of education provided at UWI.

AND IN BARBADOS AS A WHOLE

47. David

I shall repeat it over and over again, there is a spatial dimension to research/innovation.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    no boundaries? you are really a spiteful person.
    You know ffw (full fucking well) that the Black south african inventor who died, invented a possible solution to Cape Town’s water woes. Further, there is nothing to suggest he crossed paths with any of the 5 members of the SaniHive team.
    https://www.pulse.ng/gist/pop-culture/what-happened-to-nkosinathi-nkomo-and-his-invention-id7988124.html

The article cited plays right into your daily mantra. White potentially steals from black. Not Sanihive’s white member another person.

“Hope this is not the same system” Hope my RH. You KNOW it isn’t, What you really hope is the white man on the the SaniHive team did something which you can spin into your daily drivel. For once can’t you appreciate a black Barbadian lady, and her team from a very diverse background, have done something excellent, without infesting the thread.

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

y’all know…. FRAC

50. @enuff

You are making that point to mean?