It is the time of the year Barbadians and the other islands in the region prepare for the hurricane season. Last weekend the country was placed on Hurricane Watch with the passing of Beryl across the region. We breathed a collective sigh of relief at Beryl’s uneventful passing,  however, there is anxiety brewing among others who are aware the IMF team visiting Barbados continue to conduct interviews with key actors in Barbados to inform talks about the type of IMF program we will have to enter to apply a tourniquet  to a hemorrhaging economy.

As the blogmaster moves around Barbados there is the query whether Barbadians are aware of the perilous state the economy is functioning. It seems there is a perception in some quarters that having rejected the failed policies of the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP)  of which the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was the beneficiary by default on 24 May 2018 – unfortunately the third parties were unable to gain traction for reasons ventilated in this forum – the BLP as if by magic will be able to top up the foreign reserves from the crisis level it hovers, eliminate the need to operate the current account in deficit and by extension pay down the high level of debt. The blogmaster suspects the skills of Director of Communications Charles Jong will be required soon to assuage the fears of Barbadians when IMF policy prescription is implemented.

There should be no doubt that given the state of the economy delicate decisions have to be taken to reduce the level of expenditure by the government and at the same time allocate spend to target areas of potential growth while protecting the vulnerable. It will call for tip toe precision in decision making. Clearly the time has come to put Barbados first as a country and park the frivolous political snarking. Whether we like it or not the Barbados brand was besmirched in recent years by achieving junk credit rating status with the final puncture Barbadians having to join a world audience to witness raw sewage gushing on a street located in our tourist resort area of the South Coast.

The blogmaster anticipates institutional investors holding government paper will be asked to make a sacrifice to the national cause to rescue and rebuild (BLP’s election tag line). The delayed rationalization of several state owned entities will be implemented. The last government allowed political considerations to stall this initiative when clearly transfers and subsidies as an expense item had to be urgently addressed.

One other item which should be addressed is the rising pension expense of government. The blogmaster recognizes this is an area that requires a high level of expertise to sensibly tackle and will defer to the IMF team et al to address with the local parties concern responsible. Where is Walter when we need him? Not Maloney!

The blogmaster will not forgive the former Governor of the Central Bank for allowing the commercial banks to twist his arm by deregulating the minimum savings rate as a quid pro quo arrangement for dumping government savings bonds on a financially illiterate public hungry for a reasonable rate of return on investment.  Daily we hear the ignorance being perpetuated for Barbadians to invest in Carilend, or deposit money with the credit unions. A simple question to clarify. If tomorrow 50% of deposits held with banks was transferred to the credit union balance sheet what will be the impact? Will their interest expense line item go up or down if they maintain current level of interest paid to members? Are credit unions able to lend for big ticket items like a mortgage to compare with other financial institutions? How does Carilend work? Who regulates Carilend? And no the blogmaster has no beef with Carilend or credit unions.

A fool and their money are soon parted.

Wild Coot has been a voice crying in the wilderness or so it seems.

207 responses to “IMF Watch”

1. Mariposa,

You are right. The underlying ideology supporting the Washington Consensus is the reservation of the global capitalist elite. That is austerity in brief. The problem with economic orthodoxy, to paraphrase John Maynard Keynes said, is the fear of new ideas. Barbados is not unique in this. They are still teaching the post-war Bretton Woods theories in UK universities ten years after the global financial crisis. Only a couple days ago I checked on the economics curriculum of one of our best known universities and the reading material in the main was the same as it was back in the 1970s.
    We have been forced to go to the IMF because of the poverty of ideas – from the central bank, the ministry of finance, the university and our highly qualified financial economics so-called consultants.

2. Read Mcdowall begging the IMF not to cut jobs what a pathetic losers.This guy sold out the Union for pennies now having to go at the doorsteps of the IMF begging for jobs
    A “road scholar”and a two bit noise maker 😄
    Yuh think he got the nerve to march
    Mcdowell the “kollaid ” drinking bandit i wonder what he is going to tell those members when the IMF cut there jobs

3. Preservation

4. Another interesting point was made by Atherly in Parliament in reference to the Integrity bill his concerns about drug dealers inflitrating campagain and politicians taking the drug dealers money
    I wonder who he was referencing
    However the thought crossed my mind when stories in the media made mention of a well known drug dealer who was giving an invite to the swearing in of the members of Parliament
    Now if that is not corruption then what is corruption
    Then we have dale Marshall standing boldfaced after his name is being dragged through the mud with his dealings associated to alleged land fraud along with George Payne and both of them are ministers sworn to protect the institution bestowed upon them in the peoples interest
    Also today reading that Commissioning having more to say concerning the Hyatt court matter whereby he stood in the way of not being built
    Commissiong also reveals that as ambassador he cannot sue govt(now what message is he sending) he might be right but the message underscore his previous intentions in his fight with past govt what a two faced mongrel.
    This govt is only about six weeks old and where corruption abounds one will find it
    Everday another shoe is being dropped
    The tea leaves are correct
    Bitter not better

5. Perhaps he is concerned about about Bounty Killer being employed by the ministry of housing when he was minister of Housing.

6. Oh what Atherly mentioned was drug dealers however these imbicles are also known to have their hands tied to criminal activity
    Instead of you David trying your best to ran “cover” for this govt you ought to stay low because from your recent mouthings it is becoming clear that you have drank too much of the koolaid and is drunk with stupidy or else your paycheck is being signed by the govt
    Carry on smartly

7. Mcdowell and the IMF meets and he is now worried about job losses
    Karma is a b.itch this is one time he can’t save his face with strikes and shutdowns after the IMF state their directives
    There is no fool like a fool who would enter a dragon cage and not expect to be eaten
    Lol! Where is the voice of the private sector who cunningly invite the Unions to drink of the koolaid now the IMF is all but ready to dislocate the civil service
    As for McDowell he is so deserving of the embarrassment which is staring him in the face for all of barbados to see

The tea leaves got it right

8. Mariposa

What did Freundel tell them – the Lions do not lie down with the lambs.

9. Exactly and what PM said is bearing fruit
    The Unions heads have all but cut their own heads and those of the members heads off for nothing
    The sad part of this game plan is that their is no turning back (now) for the Unions.. and the civil servants might never see any monies generated in their pockets from the 10percent due in part to high taxation and a high probality of IMF intervention.
    Cant help but SMFH with amusement

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“Oh what Atherly mentioned was drug dealers however these imbicles are also known to have their hands tied to criminal activity.”

Yeah, yeah,…we got all that but was the same Bounty drug dealer not Thompson’s driver, and got the job at NHC for years through the Thompson family, Lashley connection with government…

.. is Mia as god mother to 1 or 2 of Thompson’s children not also part of that family connection….so what is your point, why are you trying to dislocate and separate family…is Lashley and Bounty not business partners in the containers of whatever business….ya cannot now separate DBLP just because the electorate surgically severed one of them from the parliament.

They are all still incestuous, inbred family…you as useless, even more useless now, exyardfowl is the outsider.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss July 11, 2018 8:58 AM

So what shall it be, T.I.?

A dose of bitter medicine made from castor oil and aloes that should have been taken since December 2013 as prescribed by Dr. IMF or the more potent financial mixture of Epsom and Glauber salts wrapped in a compound of economic paralysis and social arsenic all encased in senna pods marked Devaluation of the Bajan Dollar?

What else can the government do, given the state of its foreign reserves? Isn’t the Guv of the Central Bank singing from the same Hymn sheet?

Your discredited lying administration refused to heed sound advice even coming from OSA who had no wish to see the fall of the DLP administration only to facilitate the ascension of MAM.

At least the current government has listened to sound advice of going to the IMF before the patient has to be taken to the IMF’s surgery for a complete blood transfusion.

Remember forex is the lifeblood of the 80% import-based Bajan economy and any significant loss must put the Bajan Mickey mouse dollar under severe stress leading to a decision node or fork signposted as ‘Devaluation or Die of Starvation’.

12. The exchanges above ring all too familiar. Around and around the mulberry bush. We will never learn.

13. lol…exyardfowls ran off to barbadostoday to continue their nonsense rant.

I really don’t get it, the same drug dealers, same criminals were/are close family friends and relations of Thompson, Lashley, got government jobs through those relationships, controlled turfed for Sinckler and whomever, yet dummies are on here acting as though it’s not a well known arrangement with both the current and now exgovernent participating, with the population as ther victims.

wuh the same business minorities whom we know are nothing short of criminals own(s/ed) both current and exgovernments over the years, nothing has changed except now everyone knows about the arrangement that disenfranchises and victimizes the black population as has happened for the last 52 years …a beleaguered population who now have all rights to also put an end to those criminal acts against themselves, their present and future generations..

I don’t know who exyardfowls think they are fooling.

14. Mariposa tell me you secret of surviving without sleep.

15. Miller.. the govt did not even give the people a chance to say yea ir nay
    The govt took the biggest glass of Castro oil and aloes and push it down the peoples throat
    Look at the Unions they seem to have had a double dose so much so it as if they had fallen asleep
    But wait Mcdowell woke up today finding himself begging the IMF for jobs

#######…bitter not better

16. lol…..exyardfowls cannot sleep, they are too wicked, the viciousness they enabled against their own people for 10 years, just to be called yardfowls haffa haunt them for decades to come..

they have to run from blog to blog complaining, they are cursed…evildoers.

17. Living in Blissful Ignorance
    Another one trying to mislead the blog. Why are there Haitians in Mexico and how they got there? Stupse.

18. There is no groundswell of comment coming from Barbadians about the decision to waive visa requirements for Haitians. It is an issue in the minds of only a few.

19. Barbadians are slow to react until it is too late. If and when haitians requre refugee status and is granted permission the ground swell of negative comments will permeate the airwaves
    Until then all mouths are closed to the Haitian plight
    Barbadians only concerned at present b is the high taxation levelled against them from this deceitful govt who promised better but delivered bitter

20. You will have a lot of posting in the next five years maybe ten!

Yes they are slow because the DLP should have been kicked out in 2013.

21. Maybe fifteen.

22. Living in Blissful Ignorance Avatar
    Living in Blissful Ignorance

@ Enuff

You are a BLP jackass of the highest order.

How did I make an attempt to mislead anyone?

Did you think the Haitians were exiled to Mexico jackass?

They left Haiti for a better living and opportunities.

I speak to many on a frequent basis so I can speak from first hand knowledge.

I have been to both Haiti and Mexico on many occasions.

Not everyone has blinkers on for a Political party.

I am convinced that from reading many comments of those living on the island is that high school and higher education have failed and produced a set of regurgitators who live in ignorant bliss.

Unlike most I don’t give a shit about either Political party as I know from 1st experience both have corrupt individuals operating at their highest organisational structure.

23. William Skinner Avatar

Why all of this pressure on Mariposa ?
    For ten years we took the same thing from the other side and we survived. What did we really expect; that there were not “Enuff” to go around ? Lef’ Mariposa alone !!
    Can’t sow okra and reap corn Suh.

24. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Hal you said and I quote

“…We have been forced to go to the IMF because of the poverty of ideas – from the central bank, the ministry of finance, the university and our highly qualified financial economics so-called consultants…”

There is a blog here with a Dr. Sigma Holder who was at UNLEASH in Singapore recently.

The fact Hal is that that poverty of ideas M, IS NOT FOR LACK OF THERE BEING IDEAS, but because of the same people you listed above, being permanent denizens in that Moho zone, being patently unable to make A damn thing happen.

But remember Hal that “MIA PIGOT THIS”

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry ever since the leech is on the screen the little iPad slows down and types what it likes

I mean to say “…MIA GOT THIS NOT MIA PIGOT THIS*

26. Who is it that said one must always always separate the rhetoric of the political campaign from the pragmatism that is required when elevated to government?

27. Ms Marsha Lynch got the shock of her life this week.She turned up at Cave Hill only to discover,that she still has to pay for Tuition fees at Cave Hill because after all the palaver by this govt they haven’t given the ‘Go Ahead’ to the UWI as was confirmed by the Min. of Education.

It is one thing to make rash political promises at elections but another thing to have these promises realised.

Although there are attempts in some quarter to downplay this, people are becoming very unsettled.For example:

the move from road tax to Gasoline tax with the burdensome implications for many especially the commercial vehicles,have been made worse by remarks by Dugid – the minister – which he now seek to retract.People are now discovering even though they DID put down their vehicles until the 1st July – they still got to pay the tax
    the issue of the summer camps and the decision to stop the camps which were taken 2 weeks before the camp were to start and with no alternative put in place – except comments from the ministry ‘that they are looking at it’.Poor working parents are up in an arms about this because they cannot afford the private camps and have no where to put their children
    the abolition of tuition fees at UWI – which created such flurry of excitement – now sees the parents and their children facing a demand for payment
    The promise by Mia to get new transport board buses and sanitation trucks within 3 months has been ‘SHUT DOWN’ by her own chairman of the Transport Board – Gregory Nicholls. He said ” nobody make buses for the bdos market and have them sitting on a shelf ……buses have to be designed with specifications,so we are not going to be able to get customized buses for the Barbados market in a hurry.
    We have the Contributory pensioners up in an uproar over the increase given to those non contributory pensioners -with most saying they have received no increase,and one or two persons saying they got a small increase.

Mia was warned about this election promise by Owen Arthur and Chris Sickler but she went ahead even before the IMF came on board – now its pure kadooment

remember too the promise during the election that prices will come down because of the removal of the NISRL – well the Merchants saying – not so fast Missy – there are other taxes you put on there that will actually send up the prices

Don’t forget the Integrity Bill which she promised during the campaign to set a fine of half million dollars to anyone caught in breach of the law- then quietly through the back door she changed the fee to ten thousand dollars.

Where are the any naysayers,the commentators,the media persons,the business persons,the students at cave hill etc etc

It is only those who like honesty and fairplay and those who are being hit hard by these ‘comforts to fools’ are starting to grumble and soon rumble.

28. T. Inniss,
    Good post. In fact, the government has already run out of steam. There will be tears before bedtime.

29. T Inniss,i cannot remember Ms Mottley promising to import buses in three months maybe you can point me to that statement,since you have the propensity to be a stranger to the truth as Artax tells you.In any event tell me how many did the Dems order in ten years?You went on to state that the Board Chairman Mr Nicholls stated something different to Ms Mottley .You believe a Chairman can over rule the PM in any matter foolbert,as he is serving at the pleasure of the Minister who is serving at the pleasure of the PM,so what kind of primary school logic you coming with,you need to go back to school.You Dem yardfowls jusy nit picking as the 30 to 0 redwash still got you all dizzy.However you Dems will soon have little time with Ms Mottley as I expect fireworks next month in George Street,tell me who are you backing T Inniss your namesake Mr Inniss ,Mr Stuart ,Mr Sinckler or someone else?

30. Hal Austin

Sadly I think you are right.

As I said in another post,those who are guilty of hiding the truth from the masses and feeding them the kool aid should remember there is no atoneing in Hell.

31. @Lorenzo

Let us do what Duguid didn’t do and admit things will go wrong and clearly state how it will be fixed. You own the issue and move forward.

The other point is that some of us will not respect the argument that because the DLP did not buy new buses in all of its tenure that it is a good rebut to proffer. If we want to raise the bar and leave the poor performance record of the former DLP government behind, we have too updting.

32. Lorenzo

To be fair to the PM, she promised that new and current UWI students will not have to pay tuition fees from September 2018. And the application process has not begun as yet.

I prefer to exercise wisdom and wait until September to see what happens before “prematurely” criticizing the policy.

33. Living in Blissful Ignorance Avatar
    Living in Blissful Ignorance

@ Enuff

I guess Kaiteur Newspaper Online is also trying to mislead the Global Public regards to Haitians in their today’s publication, you partisan BLP jackass.

Barbados have too many fools and bullshitters who are blessed with major ignorance on the little Rock.

Felix dodges another Parliamentary meeting to explain unaccounted Haitians, Cubans
    Jul 12, 2018 News

Two attempts to have Minister of Citizenship, Winston Felix face questions at the Parliamentary Sectoral Committee on Foreign Affairs have been unsuccessful.

The bi-partisan Committee is eager to question Felix following a rash of concerns pertaining to the large numbers of Haitians and Cubans who have been documented as entering Guyana, but for whom there are no records of departure.

Felix was invited to attend yesterday’s meeting of the Committee at the Parliament Building, but informed that he is unavailable to attend the session.

The Committee’s Chair, Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira told Kaieteur News that the Committee has subsequently received a list of available dates from the Minister and selected one.

The Ministry of Citizenship has revealed to the Committee that some 22,520 persons were documented as entering between January and April this year, but apparently 6,170 of those have not departed.

Based on documentation, 17,615 persons entered Guyana between 2013 and April 2018, but there is no record of their departure. Worrying is that there are no departure records for 7,255 of the 44,747 Cubans who arrived in Guyana during 2017.

For the Haitians, the records show, 3515 were recorded as entering Guyana in 2017, but 291 has been documented as departing the country.

The Opposition has questioned the whereabouts of the visitors. It is contending that the Government officials were involved in a widespread backtrack racket for which Guyana identification cards are being issued.

There were suggestions that this was being done to secure votes, a claim that Felix rubbished.

Between January and April this year, but apparently 6,170 of those have not departed.

Based on documentation, 17,615 persons entered Guyana between 2013 and April 2018, but there is no record of their departure. Worrying is that there are no departure records for 7,255 of the 44,747 Cubans who arrived in Guyana during 2017.

For the Haitians, the records show, 3515 were recorded as entering Guyana in 2017, but 291 has been documented as departing the country.

The Opposition has questioned the whereabouts of the visitors. It is contending that the Government officials were involved in a widespread backtrack racket for which Guyana identification cards are being issued.

There were suggestions that this was being done to secure votes, a claim that Felix rubbished.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2018/07/12/felix-dodges-another-parliamentary-meeting-to-explain-unaccounted-haitians-cubans/

34. “Poor working parents are up in an arms about this because they cannot afford the private camps and have no where to put their children….”
    +++++?+?++

Comments such as the above remind me why I’m not at all fond of politicians and their yard fowl supporters.

Both the BLP and DLP and their operatives like to “hypocritically sympathize” with “poor people” when it suit their political purposes.

Those who are now condemning the cancellation of summer camps for this year, while expressing sympathy for the poor…..

……..were not concerned for the same “poor people” and the resulting effects, when the former inept DLP administration changed the UWI’s tuition fees policy, which caused them to discontinue their studies.

At that time they were more concerned with the public relations involved in promoting the party’s image.

The camps were cancelled, not abolished, and now they have suddenly become the voice of the poor.

HYPOCRITES!!!

35. I believe sucessive governments have been too hasty in agreeing with and
    signing these Caricom/CSME agreements, which is usually to our disadvantage.

You can find products from almost all the other Caribbean islands on our supermarket shelves, but we have difficulties penetrating their markets.

When I mentioned that too many Jamaicans and Guyanese are living in Barbados doing as they please, because they believe they have a right to come here, I am called xenophobic.

But now we have a fear of Haitians.

36. Should the UWI be held responsible as well for sitting back and waiting on government knowing that notification was not received? In the interest of relieving anxiety with registrants there was the opening for our primary tertiary institute to lead?

37. True Hal .the govt has already ran out of steam . Now the govt has been regulated to flimsy excuses
    Notice how all the daily PR stunts has all but become non existing and replaced with lies backtracking and excuses

38. Sum-ting happened on the way to heaven, and we find ourselves here. It is what it is, but we can sure do better than what it is?

39. Stupseee!!!!!!!

And I ain’t even get a brown mint, when if you divide $7 million by the population of 285,000 my share should have been $24.56.

I wanted to have some fun. I checked out the price of brown mints from the local maker up in St Thomas. Actually your share should have been a 1.5Kg bag of the fabled brown mints.

As i didn’t get any mints , i too can shout the same refrain. “Not even a brown mint”.

Makes me wonder how many brown mints are that 1.5kg bag.

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster

Welcome Back DAVID OF BU!

“…Let us do what Duguid didn’t do and admit things will go wrong and clearly state how it will be fixed. You own the issue and move forward…”

“You own the issue…”

You are starting to understand what “Your government” has to do.

Your Freudian slip was in the words “let us do what Duguid didn’t. ..”

Notwithstanding that slip up as the Digital PR arm of the Mottleyian public outreach, you going have to up the volume here.

The ministers, plural, crafting statements where they own their mistakes (Truly showing “WE GOT THIS” in action) and then implementing the correcting steps, will go a long way to build a relationship with bajans, a majority of whom truly hate wunna politicians.

Sorry not wunna. I meant to say “the politicians” but had already started a new paragraph.

Mia has to sit with these idiots and nurture a psyche of “Mia Cares” in their dysfunctional backsides.

She going have to devote a time twitch a month to begin with where they gots to come and listen to the Mottleyian vision for one year.

And if they miss those sessions remove them from their ministry SANS REBUTTAL!!

And then after that year let them do the similar thing with their respective ministries.

In 3 months she needs to host a seminar for every effing Permanent Secretary and their Deputies at Lloyd Erskine Sandiford building and give them her vision as well once every 3 months for a year.

After which she then will start her Planification policies in earnest.

There is no rush

Right now at today focus on the FX generation initiatives and reward the people who help her find these initiatives with TV coverage time on CBC Reporting Lies and the BGIS pun a Saturday when nobody ent watching TV

And using Charles “Me Love You Long Time” to stream their videos and successes pun de BLP government paid site

41. To my mind this is more than ministers making mistakes and owning up and moving on.

Most of what people are unsettled about is the mis match between what was promised at election time and the reality of what is really happening.

42. Did you see an earlier comment posted by the blogmaster to the effect that the political rhetoric spewed by political parties on the campaign trail always conflict with a more pragmatic approach on attaining the office of government?

43. GREAT NEWS! NUFF CONSTRUCTION JOBS and wuk fuh vendors selling lunch.

The Barbados-headquartered Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) has announced plans to construct a new US$36 million office complex here,

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/11/cdb-to-construct-us36-million-office-complex-in-barbados/

44. @ David who wrote “political rhetoric spewed by political parties on the campaign trail ”

In other words they tell lies to win elections.

45. Living in blissful….
    All you are doing is running from country to country trying to give credence to your and Mariposa’s argument that Haitians will flood Barbados because of visa free entry. In every instance so far, you have failed to provide a comparative scenario. A quick read of the Guyana situation shows that the migration appears to be an organised exercise to boost votes. Furthermore, there are about 80,000 illegal Haitians in The Bahamas. Again it proves that scoops are the key mode of transport for Haitian refugees whether Miami, Jamaica or The Bahamas. But back up a minute, what airline flies between Port-au-Prince and BGI, the Mariposa Airways? To go even further, look at the number of Cubans in the same article that have not left. Cubans do not need visas to enter Barbados…how many you see living illegally in Barbados? Anyhooo I have little time to waste with multi-pseudonymed personalities, who have to adopt new monikers post the 30-0 Redwash, with baseless distraction after distraction. If you want to appear new, change your language “jackass”.

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This will certainly not give the electorate any confidence to repeat a more than 5 year term for this government….no government should be in power for more than 5 years anyway.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/11/tuition-mix-up/

“A month to the day after Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced an end to tuition fees for Barbadian students attending the University of the West Indies (UWI), there is confusion over who will pay for the upcoming semester.

Students showing up to enrol at the university for the semester, which begins on August 20, are being told they must pay tuition fees themselves by August 26, 2018.

This came as a shock to everyone, including Marsha Lynch, whose daughter has been accepted at the Cave Hill campus.

Lynch told Barbados TODAY she was advised by the campus’ admissions department that in the absence of official notification from Government, her daughter would be required to pay $6,000 in tuition fees.

The concerned mum said she was also told that the monies would be reimbursed as soon as the financial arrangements were finalized.

Unhappy with the university’s position, Lynch sought clarification from the tertiary division of the Ministry of Education, only to be told the university was right.

“They [UWI] is telling me that I could apply to be reimbursed or keep the money on the account to pay the amenities fee over the next three years. This not $600, this a lot of money,” Lynch complained.

“I was under the impression that all my child had to do was apply because Government was paying the fees,” she added.

Several attempts to reach Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw and her Permanent Secretary Sandra Phillips proved unsuccessful.

However, Barbados TODAY contacted the ministry’s tertiary division, which said it had not been told officially to proceed.

“There is no official word on this as yet. Students would have to wait on official word or follow the directive from the University of West Indies, which is to pay the fees,” the ministry official said.”

47. @ Hants

In other words they tell lies to win elections.

True dat. Across the board – except for this lot that whiter than the driven snow.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Lorenzo
    “You believe a Chairman can over rule the PM in any matter foolbert,as he is serving at the pleasure of the Minister who is serving at the pleasure of the PM,”

Be careful. They are serving at the pleasure of the PEOPLE.
    It was that all powerful and arrogant attitude which emboldened some in the former administration.

49. @Hants July 12, 2018 10:46 AM “In other words they tell lies to win elections.”

Just reminding all concerned parties that the electorate also knows how to tell lies. Knows how to be deceitful and dishonest too.

Wunna think that we spent all of our youth in Sunday school?

P.S. That mis-belief is why politicians are always surprised when they lose.

They are foolish enough to believe that the electorate is more honest than they are.

We are not.

50. @sirfuzzy July 12, 2018 8:29 AM “Makes me wonder how many brown mints are that 1.5kg bag.”

Probably enough to keep me happy for at least half a year.

But since I didn’t get any I was unhappy when I went to the polls on May 24.