Approximately 30 years ago I experienced my first rejection.  I had provided one of the firm’s clients with Engineering advice that could have saved him significant maintenance costs.  I was still visibly disappointed when I returned home, and after listening to my reason, my father gave me some excellent guidance.

He said that my job as a professional was to simply give my best advice.  My clients were not obligated to accept my advice, but were free to accept or reject any advice they received.  Therefore, I should never get emotionally attached to any advice that I give.

This guidance has kept me emotionally stable during my Engineering career.  If my best advice is rejected by my client, then I have learned to simply offer my next best advice without feeling the least bit distressed or disappointed.

The formation of Solutions Barbados meant that our clients became the residents of Barbados.  We offered them our best advice, which was economic prosperity without austerity.  Others offered the most severe austerity as the price for removing the DLP from government.  The DLP administration had become so offensive to most of the public that the voters rejected them, and selected the BLP to replace them.

It is an understandable decision by the voting public.  With Barbados on the brink of economic ruin, it is natural that they would want to trust a political party that had experience in governing.  However, with most of our candidates planning to continue to the next general election, the people of Barbados remain our clients.

What do our clients want from us now that the general election is over?  From the consistent feedback we have received, they want us to keep giving our best advice, both to the public and to those whom they have selected to manage Barbados’ economy.  That is exactly what we plan to do.

Our best pre-election advice was that austerity was not required to improve Barbados’ economy.  We published our plan 3 years ago for the public to review, and it was independently verified as workable.

Our best advice at this time, especially when the government is negotiating the terms of our surrender to an IMF directed austerity, is that our plan remains relevant today.  This is because our plan assumed that the Treasury would be empty on election day.  This was a reasonable assumption to have made, because politicians have claimed in the past that they found the Treasury empty when they assumed office.

The IMF is now back in Barbados and we will soon learn how bitter the medicine will be.  Since the Government seems intent on forcing us onto an unnecessary austerity path, then our best advice is to prepare our clients to cope with the bitter pills we will have to take, and the sour bills we will have to pay.

The first order of business is for everyone to reduce their vulnerability to foreseen threats.  Since the BLP have chosen to continue with the DLP’s economic strategy of high taxation, but this time with a smile and the support of the unions and private sector, then then one foreseen threat is poverty.

Most have exhausted their savings over the past decade of high-taxation, and are now one pay-cheque away from poverty.  Therefore, everyone needs to try to earn foreign currency.  Few are likely to be successful on their first try, but humans learn by failure.  Therefore, if they keep trying, and follow good advice, then success is guaranteed.

Concurrently, everyone neds to reduce their vulnerability to natural hazards.  We have entered the hurricane season, and most houses remain vulnerable to hurricane-force winds.  All houses can be economically strengthened, and homeowners should do so with dispatch.  However, we are always in the earthquake season.

It is important that our vulnerable schools, offices and public buildings be strengthened against earthquakes.  All buildings in Barbados with reinforced concrete roofs, that were built before 2012, were almost certainly significantly under-designed for earthquakes to the extent that they will likely collapse in an earthquake.

Fortuitously, our students will soon be out of school, and many persons take vacation during the summer holiday.  Therefore, we strongly recommend that the government makes the economical strengthening of our schools a national priority this summer, for all of our sakes.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

115 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Our Best Advice”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Grenville, please publish the detailed analytical calculations upon which you have based your non austerity economic plans for Barbados. I’ve been asking to see them for the past year, but before the May 24 elections you declined to release them. Well the elections are behind us so there is no possible reason to withhold these calculations now.

2. Grenville’s good advice.

strengthen buildings against hurricanes and earthquakes.

3. I heard you speak of this plan of yours but nowhere in it did it mention where it was going to get a large inflow of hard currency from at an interest rate of between 1 to 2 percent annually. The truth is the people voted for a government with a track record its that simple.

4. The truth is the people voted for a government with a track record its that simple.

… and the track record is … GEMS, Greenland, Sewage disasters, etc etc!!

5. … but, people are free to choose!!

6. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

People are free to choose whatsoever they desire: Some choose to murder, some choose to steal, some choose to deceive and I could go on infinitum but I won’t.

It has been demonstrably shown time and time again in MANY economies throughout this world that increasing the burden of taxation on an already heavily burdened people will simply drive them into despair, crime and develop a THRIVING black market.

If that is what Bajans wanted — they will get it with bells on.

Those of us who trust in God know that He will take care of us.

Proverbs 14:34 King James Version (KJV)

34 Righteousness exalteth a nation: but sin is a reproach to any people.

I suggest that we need to develop a personal relationship with the Son of the Living God, Jesus.

He is the ONLY ANSWER..

7. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

Furthermore: Check this link out:

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/07/03/bteditorial-the-tale-of-mr-charles-jong-and-our-bloated-govt/

So much money and corruption have given us MAM for the next five years and “the best is yet to come”.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Press on Grenville…..keep pressing on !!!

9. Grenville has enough of an experience to tweak as necessary next time around. He needs to be more transparent with policy proposals. Some are of the view the agreement he insisted those around him sign is illegal, even if this is the case, it should not be raised as an issue by those who buy in to SBs alternative arrangement.

10. David but barbados has a leader who promised transparency as a matter of fact she stated that she would have released the financial records of her ministers but then renege on that promised with some kind of flimsy excuse

11. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

The man’s arrogance is palpable. But what is truly surprising is that he was able to persuade disciples to follow him without achieving a single miracle other than his own personal enlightenment. Keep climbing the mountain, Moses. The twelve tribes will wait from afar the forty days and forty nights to receive your properly conceived command.

12. Hi David:

Please note that our candidates voted unanimously to be held accountable by a contract. It is part of their constitution. The following is for your information. I thought that I sent it to you before.

On 26 June 2018, three former Solutions Barbados candidates signed a press statement with defamatory accusations, each of which are easily proven to be false. The media requested a response, which I provided, but it was not fairly published.

Given that publishers of defamatory material are exposed, I will only be discussing this matter here in order to provide the public who wish to comment, or ask questions, with sufficient cover.

You can be assured that I will not be harming any of our former candidates’ reputations, or repeating any of their defamatory comments, but will provide clarity on any related issue. Therefore, please be careful with your comments.

First, I want to again publicly thank all of our candidates for their brave decision to run with Solutions Barbados in the last general election.

Most of our candidates have committed to continuing to the next general election. Some have decided to dedicate more time to their businesses and may rejoin us later. Some have decided that they have had enough of politics, and we thank them for their service. However, there are some who wanted us to, once again, revaluate our mandatory contract requirement for membership.

Solutions Barbados is organised in accordance with a Constitution that underwent 7 major revisions before it was unanimously adopted. Although I founded the organisation, I did not request any special place for myself in our constitution. I founded the organisation and then gave it away to all candidates. I currently have the same power that the most recent member has – namely, a single vote.

I am only president because I was unanimously voted to this position at our annual general meeting. Like all other members of the executive committee, I serve for one year. If the members are unhappy with my leadership, then they are encouraged to vote for another to lead them. I will then remain faithful to the new leadership.

From the time that we had members, issues were discussed, and if we could not come to a consensus, then the majority vote ruled. On contentious issues, voting was by secret ballot. I have always respected the majority vote, especially when it went against my preferred position, which was frequently.

The requirement for a contract is written in our constitution. Regardless of my personal preference, only the members can change our constitution. The members recently met and voted to keep the contract as a mandatory condition for membership, as they have repeatedly done. The contract is designed to keep us accountable to the people of Barbados, with a severe financial penalty if we accept bribes. The entire penalty must be distributed to all responsible registered charities in Barbados.

I have served 3 terms as President of the Barbados Association of Professional Engineers, 2 terms as President of the Combermere School Old Scholars Association, 2 terms as the President of the Barbados Coalition of Service Industries, and now President of Solutions Barbados, each time by acclaim. I have never lobbied for a such leadership positions, and when elected, I have always tried to lead responsibly. I have never attracted such accusations before I entered the political arena.

Once we had candidates, I tried to not only lead but shepherd them, since we were all new to politics and were aware of the potential harm to our reputations. I have done my best to shield them all from any harm. I covered them with my unblemished reputation when they were accused, and purposely attracted criticism to myself when they were attacked. I asked them to never defend me since I had neither skeletons to hide nor closets to keep them in. I tried to ensure that all of them finished this campaign with their reputations enhanced, and with no debts.

I am aware that the general election results affected persons differently. Those of us who have chosen to continue saw the result in a positive light. We started with no votes and gained over 4,000. However, some took it personally, thinking that they were rejected by the public after canvassing so earnestly.

I do not know their pain, or why they have chosen to lash out in this manner. It is fortunate that they have directed their disappointment towards me, and as their former leader, I accept this new role also.

One should not publicly criticise a warrior who was wounded in battle, and lashes out during his recovery. In a similar manner, I will not publicly criticise any of our brave candidates who ran in the 2018 general election.

Best regards,
    Grenville

13. Do you admit that after the DLP it was Solutions Barbados of the many third parties which garnered the most votes?

14. I intend to read more and post less, but the blatant lies I have to respond to some.

“David but barbados has a leader who promised transparency as a matter of fact she stated that she would have released the financial records of her ministers but then renege on that promised with some kind of flimsy excuse”

Please tell us how has she renege and what was the excuse.

15. exyardfowl….stop lying, yall left the supreme court so destroyed they still can’t get it up and running…do you know that, do you even care about all the people negatively impacted..

..there are people cannot even get documents certified and have to depend on the kindness of consulates for help, a simple certification, because yall left a supreme court in such bad shape that it no longer functions.

16. Mia said she had put the ministers financial statements under lock and key until time set by her to release them
    Amm was thinking she might have had a press conference to at least present she had received all of them
    But under lock and key.
    Why should anyone belive her after all she just hired a foreigner and no one does not even have a clue what is his full name or his place of birth
    Mia has set herself up as the unilateral despot of Barbados after promising accountability and transparency to the people

17. @Enuff
    I intend to read more and post less
    ++++++++++
    We understand that you have some new duties which will limit your time on the blog

Godspeed in your new role

18. Mariposa,

Don’t give up.

19. Fractured BLP Avatar

Breaking News

Barbados PM Mia Mottley has reportedly told the IMF team currently in Barbados from July 2, 2018 to July 12, 2018 – I ain’t meeting wid wunnah fuh RH .

My mini Budget of June 11, 2018 gine turn around the Barbadian economy !

We have to give it to MAM – she is right !!

TURN around the country her mini Budget did and is DOING !

• Abolish Road Tax – or should Barbadians still continue to pay 💰 it ??

That’s a TURN around !!

• 17 Cabinet Ministers by the Dems still too LARGE as MAM was saying while in opposition ?? PM MAM now appoint 30 Cabinet Ministers now that she is the PM of Barbados 🇧🇧 ??

That’s a TURN around !!

• Should MAM trust George Payne with a LONG stint as acting PM ?? Or should give Santia the longer acting stints as PM ??

That’s a TURN around !!

Oh how we weep for Barbados 🇧🇧 !!

It’s Mia’s Fault

IMF IMF IMF IMF

20. Same tired narrative.

21. Mariposa

You clearly do not know the meaning of renege. But like Hal has said to you, don’t give up.

Sargeant

Yes I am busy with work. I do work and it is neither opposite Lionel C. Hill or up Bay Street. You do not have a clue what you’re speaking about. Not a clue. I gine and watch the live broadcast of the CARICOM meeting.

22. Truth is a narrative that is worth repeating
    How many times have those opposing govt policies have to listen to the same ole repetitive propaganda that the past govt put barbados in a debt problem and cause for current economic problem
    Which is a lie from the pit of hell
    Truth must be supported by facts and govts are continuum and sometimes the good comes along with the bad and it is disingenuous for the blp yardfowls to be repeating an untruth about barbados high debt solely pointing to last govt
    Barbados economy outside of tourism revenue was built on debt mostly maintained and at times sustained by high borrowing and a series of revovling credit lines from external and internal financial institutions
    One thing that can be said of past govt that they fought tooth and nail to maintain civil servants jobs which in turn also added to the high debt
    Debt which was intended to keep these civil servants household in good financial standing
    unfortunately the civil servants were blinded by empty promises and a 5% wage increase which will not be sustainable as noted by the IMF who had adviced past govt and now current govt that wages are a high contributor to barbados high debt and should be tackled with similar measures by way of an austerity program which can lead to job losses
    Barbados economy has reached a debt problem because of both govts
    Sad that the blp yardfowls have drunk some much of Mia koolaid that they became drunken with stupidy

23. @enuff

You would have been pleased at the loudest applause in the room reserved for PM Mottley?

Jong streaming good!

24. Enuff i know the meaning of the work renege that is when a person back tracks on a promise given as Mia has done with her empty bag of goodies
    Mia knows how much koolaid your kind would drink so your offensive comment does not bother me i simply brush it off as a bitter effect from the potent substance
    Bro continue to drink at your heart content

25. Watch our PM Mottley now! Yeah!!!!!!

26. Grenville…………..if you had listened to Artax, Enuff and I…….you would have done better. I told you not to attack Mia Mottley and that you had to have a policy other than to attack the BLP.

Now I hope that you have learnt your lesson.

27. With all the applause Mia is receiving from within the Carribbean community it would be sad if she waste such support by playing to a homegrown gallery of blp yardflows with their useless fanfare of political porridge
    So far mia promises on which she was elected has failed the litmus test
    Her failure to deliver any promises made at Caricom gathering would quickley lower her level of trustworthiness towards any commitments she might have made towards the community
    Hopefully the drink of choice served to the Caricom gathering was not koolaid

28. It is a long time Barbadians have listened to our prime minister on the regional stage with pride.

Well done Mia, you looking the part.

Recommendations galore.

29. Prodigal and do not forget the blantant lies told by Mia during the election cycle that factored in Mias winning
    Also in addition the karate kid Jong whose job was to make sure that the deception was well filtered and disperse among the populace as truth using each and every blp yardfowl as serum to spread the deception
    As the old folks say yuh can hide and buy land but yuh cant hide it when time to work on it

30. @David

I am here brimming with pride! Whoo Hooo!!!!

31. Breaking News

Barbados PM Mia Mottley has reportedly told the IMF team currently in Barbados from July 2, 2018 to July 12, 2018 – I ain’t meeting wid wunnah fuh RH .

My mini Budget of June 11, 2018 gine turn around the Barbadian economy !

We have to give it to MAM – she is right !!

TURN around the country her mini Budget did and is DOING !

• Abolish Road Tax – or should Barbadians still continue to pay 💰 it ??

That’s a TURN around !!

• 17 Cabinet Ministers by the Dems still too LARGE as MAM was saying while in opposition ?? PM MAM now appoint 30 Cabinet Ministers now that she is the PM of Barbados 🇧🇧 ??

That’s a TURN around !!

• Should MAM trust George Payne with a LONG stint as acting PM ?? Or should give Santia the longer acting stints as PM ??

That’s a TURN around !!

Oh how we weep for Barbados 🇧🇧 !!

@ fractuired BLP.

You mek my laugh. Thank you. lol

32. Can someone remind me who said that ‘one cannot tax one’s way out of a crisis”?

33. @BEAUTIFUL BEIGE July 4, 2018 9:55 AM “Those of us who trust in God know that He will take care of us.”

He maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. Matthew 5:45.

34. @Ping Pong July 4, 2018 8:13 PM “Can someone remind me who said that ‘one cannot tax one’s way out of a crisis”?”

Steve Sweeney, President of the New Jersey Senate?

35. David i am awaiting to hear you say that all the Mia excitement at Caricom sent a tingle up your leg

36. Mariposa,

You are on the ball. It is all Chinese PR – sweet and sour and sugar-less dumplings.

37. I have made a careful note of the comments of this OBJECTIVE site at 4th July 2018 @6:24 pm from BU and;

BU comments @ 4th July 2018 @ 7:33 p.m.

lol @ Hal Austin on 5th July @ 2:57 a.m.

Very interesting.

All the so-called applause for Mia is a lot of diplomatic hypocrisy.The new kid on the block – give her a year or two.Mia has been making the rounds of the Caribbean even before she was Opposition leader.All hat but no cattle.

There is NO-ONE right now as head of any CARICOM country who has the stature of Statesman.We haven’t seen that for a long,long time.

Elections across the Caribbean has been throwing up some half-made men – all with the manipulations and machinations of a political consultant who has been able to convince these leaders that he is a king maker and can manipulate the narrative along with a complicit media.

These elections over the past 20 years or so is not about a vision for country or a deep philosophical under pinning but merely success at scheming,lying on social media and traditional media and deep pockets being available to bribe the kool aid drinkers.

38. It is Mias turn, let us see how she performs. If she does not she will suffer the same fa e as the incompetent DLP just did.

39. What do you mean by Mias turn

The election is not a game of entitlement one in which it should be driven by the manipulation and the massaging of the electorate mind by way of deceit

40. Btw David heard you salivating at the mouth with asinine comments to the effectthat barbados have a PM which people can be proud of
    What a dumb stupid comment
    Certainly Mia has not done anything of worthwhile as PM to be granted such a status
    Names like Barrow Adams and others before her has given much to a building and a branding positive image of Barbados
    No doubt you have been drinking too much of the koolaid that it has trigger the deadly Alzheimer disease

41. Simple Simon

Aaah… Steve Sweeney? I don’t think so but you could be right. But if he did say it then he’s probably the politician that voted for a massive tax increase as soon he got elected into office.

By the way, if civil servants are to get a 5% increase in pay, does that apply to MPs and ministers as well?

42. @Ping Ping

Listening to the BLP campaign message, reading the literature and so in, the approach by them is to spread that tax burden i.e. remove flat tax like the NSR, tertiary fees, shift some of the burden to the tourism sector etc. At no time did they say the recovery will be painless. You must reconcile that Barbados is in an economic hole and it will take many hands to make like work. This is the prism you must view things to filter the rhetoric. Let us agree some of the decisions so far regarding number of ministers and support staff do not make for good optics. The road tax bungle did not hear, civil servants must carry some blame as well as the minister.

The blogmaster will take a philosophical perspective and say the former government recruited less and did less. If this government can produce 49% more it will be worth it?

Let us continue to give constructive feedback as we join hands to climb out of a hole.

43. Mariposa/PingPong,

I have said before the chairman finds it difficult being objective. It is a cultural thing. Barbadians must express a view. His idea of giving the new government a chance to prove themselves seems reasonable, but is really nonsense.
    If you are travelling on a bus and it takes the wrong turn, you do not have to wait until it travels the full journey to complain to the driver. You ring the bell immediately it takes the turn.
    Same thing with this government. It came to power with implied promises – since it did not spell out anything – and its performance since May 25 is at best dubious, and at worst indicative of worse to come.
    So far we have had a mini-Budget (ie a Budget in three parts), but not an Emergency Budget, and there is a difference; we have had a lot of Chinese PR bullshit, but no real action.
    The economic powerhouses in the Cabinet, as consultants and senators, have so far failed to even articulate a problem, farless come up with solutions. Now we are hearing irresponsible talk about opening our borders to the other six million Caricom/CSME citizens, without any accompanying conversation about changes to Caricom.
    Apart from all that, the travel bill must be escalating. I am not in the business of predictions, but I can see pain down the road. The chairman should stop flying his party colours and open BU to serious debate.

44. Well said Hal
    A very good analogy

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa July 5, 2018 7:49 AM
    “Btw David heard you salivating at the mouth with asinine comments to the effectthat barbados have a PM which people can be proud of
    What a dumb stupid comment
    Certainly Mia has not done anything of worthwhile as PM to be granted such a status”

But didn’t she recently ‘arrange’ the Suspension of the devaluation dollar; for at least a few more months?

At least, grudgingly, you could put her on par with Sir Lloyd Sandiford.

After Fumble Stuart anybody must, by any measure, look good.

How further down into the quagmire of incompetence and unparalleled mismanagement could Barbados descend after his destructive lying preposterous administration’s reign of economic, social, public sanitation and environmental degradation and terror witnessed by concerned Bajans over the last 9 years.

46. Miller as witnessed by the long gas lines and people all ready complaining about the PR disaster by lying coming from Doo doo mouthb of duguid
    It can easily be said that Mia has already unilaterally took barbados way beyond the bottom of the barrel

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Mr Phillips
    Go back to comment #1.
    You keep on with this line of ‘prosperity without austerity’, and yet you bluntly refuse to share those calculations which endured rigorous discussion.
    Until disclosure, just another snake oil salesman.

48. Freedom Crier Avatar

BEAUTIFUL BEIGE July 4, 2018 9:55 AM

“People are free to choose whatsoever they desire: Some choose to murder, some choose to steal, some choose to deceive and I could go on infinitum but I won’t.

Proverbs 14:34 King James Version (KJV) 34 Righteousness exalteth a nation: but sin is a reproach to any people.”

Beautiful Beige as you would understand…The Lord cannot look upon sin with the least degree of Allowance… He has said that no Unclean thing can Inherit the kingdom of heaven; therefore, ye cannot be saved in your Sins. He did not come to Save us In our Sins but From our Sins on Condition of Repentance.

Simple Simon July 4, 2018 8:36 PM

“He maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust. Matthew 5:45.”

SS You do not understand the Scripture… God is Giving those that are Evil and Unjust a Chance to Repent, he is Long Suffering…As in Venezuela they choosing of Socialism has brought them to the Depth of Despair, Socialism is the Counterfeit of God’s Commandments and God’s way of life. When Venezuela finally abandons their Socialist Choice as when they first elected Chavez and they Choose Righteousness they will Prosper. They had to Taste the Evil to know the Good.

Freedom is the Only Choice for Prosperity.

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/b6/46/7f/b6467fc6d81830a5f5073f9817065890.jpg

49. Warm greetings to the denizens of BU. Getting up to speed.

Nice analogy by Hal Austin. Indeed, the passengers should point out the error in navigation.

A next beautiful day and the Trojan war continues. We have seen a few descended from the belly of the Trojan horse and declare their allegiance with one of the side. Then they are those who appear to straddle the fence but have one of their feet i firmly grounded on one side of the fence.