Approximately 30 years ago I experienced my first rejection.  I had provided one of the firm’s clients with Engineering advice that could have saved him significant maintenance costs.  I was still visibly disappointed when I returned home, and after listening to my reason, my father gave me some excellent guidance.

He said that my job as a professional was to simply give my best advice.  My clients were not obligated to accept my advice, but were free to accept or reject any advice they received.  Therefore, I should never get emotionally attached to any advice that I give.

This guidance has kept me emotionally stable during my Engineering career.  If my best advice is rejected by my client, then I have learned to simply offer my next best advice without feeling the least bit distressed or disappointed.

The formation of Solutions Barbados meant that our clients became the residents of Barbados.  We offered them our best advice, which was economic prosperity without austerity.  Others offered the most severe austerity as the price for removing the DLP from government.  The DLP administration had become so offensive to most of the public that the voters rejected them, and selected the BLP to replace them.

It is an understandable decision by the voting public.  With Barbados on the brink of economic ruin, it is natural that they would want to trust a political party that had experience in governing.  However, with most of our candidates planning to continue to the next general election, the people of Barbados remain our clients.

What do our clients want from us now that the general election is over?  From the consistent feedback we have received, they want us to keep giving our best advice, both to the public and to those whom they have selected to manage Barbados’ economy.  That is exactly what we plan to do.

Our best pre-election advice was that austerity was not required to improve Barbados’ economy.  We published our plan 3 years ago for the public to review, and it was independently verified as workable.

Our best advice at this time, especially when the government is negotiating the terms of our surrender to an IMF directed austerity, is that our plan remains relevant today.  This is because our plan assumed that the Treasury would be empty on election day.  This was a reasonable assumption to have made, because politicians have claimed in the past that they found the Treasury empty when they assumed office.

The IMF is now back in Barbados and we will soon learn how bitter the medicine will be.  Since the Government seems intent on forcing us onto an unnecessary austerity path, then our best advice is to prepare our clients to cope with the bitter pills we will have to take, and the sour bills we will have to pay.

The first order of business is for everyone to reduce their vulnerability to foreseen threats.  Since the BLP have chosen to continue with the DLP’s economic strategy of high taxation, but this time with a smile and the support of the unions and private sector, then then one foreseen threat is poverty.

Most have exhausted their savings over the past decade of high-taxation, and are now one pay-cheque away from poverty.  Therefore, everyone needs to try to earn foreign currency.  Few are likely to be successful on their first try, but humans learn by failure.  Therefore, if they keep trying, and follow good advice, then success is guaranteed.

Concurrently, everyone neds to reduce their vulnerability to natural hazards.  We have entered the hurricane season, and most houses remain vulnerable to hurricane-force winds.  All houses can be economically strengthened, and homeowners should do so with dispatch.  However, we are always in the earthquake season.

It is important that our vulnerable schools, offices and public buildings be strengthened against earthquakes.  All buildings in Barbados with reinforced concrete roofs, that were built before 2012, were almost certainly significantly under-designed for earthquakes to the extent that they will likely collapse in an earthquake.

Fortuitously, our students will soon be out of school, and many persons take vacation during the summer holiday.  Therefore, we strongly recommend that the government makes the economical strengthening of our schools a national priority this summer, for all of our sakes.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

115 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Our Best Advice”

1. Also miller have you read that Canadian manufactures are no longer willing to give barbadian business credit based on an a agreement where they can buy and pay later for good and services citing the default as cause
    These barbadian business now have to pay up front before getting their goods and supplies shipped
    Now watch this koolaid drinking foolbert how much more consumer prices will rise
    You can read the entire story in Barbados Today

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa July 5, 2018 8:32 AM
    “Well said Hal
    A very good analogy”

Oh, how the mighty many pussies Mariposa has fallen!
    Look how low(e) that poor butterfly of many pseudonyms has sunk to suck up to a xenophobic donkey and now demeaning her broken ego by kissing the old butt of that curmudgeon Hal!

Some miracle is about to take place on BU when we can see Hal Austin sleeping in the same intellectual bed with “ac” aka angela Skeete aka the multi-moniker Mariposa; all of them cuddling and stroking one another under the sheet of Hypocrisy designed by the Devil and marked “Anonymous”.

Shallow Hal, in case you have conveniently forgotten, Ms Mariposa is a high ranking member in the BU club of anonymous bloggers whom you have sworn to never touch even with a barge pole fitted with a hook to unmask them all.

You, Shallow Hal, after stroking ac and her alter egos a bit ‘deeper’, might get a shock of your ecstatic life to find out that Mariposa and Carl Moore are related in more ways than one.

Wonders never cease.

Will there be an entente cordiale of terminological reconciliation between the self-acclaimed financial journalist Hal Austin and Artax the accountant whom Hal refers to as a book-keeper who ought to be an auditor?

Will Ms Many Pusssies the ac (accredited clown) join hands with “Well, Well at your Service” and the mock doc “Simple Simon” and, in true coven style, sing in perfect Kumbaya harmony: “We (woe-to-men) shall overcome (all men)”?

3. Freedom Crier Avatar

Hal is correct in his assessment. If you are travelling on a bus and it takes the wrong turn, you do not have to wait until it travels the full journey to complain to the driver. You ring the bell immediately it takes the turn….I am not in the business of predictions, but I can see pain down the road. The chairman should stop flying his party colours and open BU to serious debate.”

I for one feel that the wrong Turn that the Bus has taken is a Bumpy one and my teeth are Chattering from the Bumps, but I am hoping that it is a Short Cut cause if they don’t get back to Smooth road soon I will start making Noise. The last time round not a Stone Get Pelt but if they do not reach Smooth road soon they are going to be a lot of people on the Street. So Hal I feel the same way as you but I am hoping it is a short cut and will take ma chatteory teet for a Short Bit.

https://pics.me.me/the-truth-can-only-offend-those-who-live-a-lie-6043410.png

4. I am still looking in the Nation newspaper to see the ‘real news’ carried in Bdos Today of a ‘DEFAULT BACKLASH’ from Canada. According to the Export Development Canada website – B’dos is now seen as high risk because of Mottley’s decision to default. This is our brilliant Finance ministers with 5 0thers hanging in on to her skirt hem.

Now this is something that would normally (see under a DLP regime) have the Nation newspaper with their knickers all in a twist.

Jeremy stevens would be out front with his gloom and doom predictions

Where is marla dukkeran’s prophecy?

Where is George Belle?

Where is Peter wickham?

Patrick Hoyos what do you have to say/

Where is david ellis & Stetson babb?

Where is Lisa Cummins? Oops I forget she in the senate now.

Where is Charles Herbert and the Private sector

Where is Eddie abed and the Chamber of commerce?

Where is toni moore (or toni less) & the BWU

Where is Akanni and his sidekick Beckles?

Where is the Jamaican fella Smith from the CDB?

Lordie,tell muh whey dey gone nah?

5. Miller be careful you just might have a brain aneurysm attacking the mighty Mariposa

6. Remember even with all the downgrades that everybody was screaming about – Barbadian Companies were still able to buy goods on credit from Canada.Now look wuh Mia ‘Watch muh’ Mottley gone and do.Default up in yuh face.

How that change working for you Charles Herbert,,Bizzy williams and eddie abed?

Never defaulting on a loan which was often spoken of by Chris Sinckler was like a gold standard.All of a sudden in one swoop and with a 30 -0 win behind she back – Mia flying high and brugadung bam – she making all sorts of unilateral decisions.

Ammending the constitution,defaulting on loans for the first time in bim’s history,making all kind of grand promises at CARICOM heads meeting,Promising on the hand that ministers got to declare their assets on swearing -in but immediately taking the info (if indeed it was ever given) and locking it up until a date yet to be determined or disclosed,giving foreign political consultant top pick and on and on.

Yuh think Mia stupid? She understand this 100 day honeymoon nonsense that she send her minions to sell to the public via the media (social & traditional) ,so she is a woman in a hurry.By the time the kool aid start to wear off the deeds done,and since sanka price and the others seem to be waiting for some reward they will be claiming ‘toothache’ – so they can’t speak.

At least Barbados Today still have a conscience and trying to fulfill their role.

7. Lol T. Inniss good fuh you to call out them stinking bastards
    All them have been economic gurus when the DLp was in office
    Now that Mia policies are showing cracks and weakness they all gone into hiding

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa July 5, 2018 10:12 AM

If you or Fractured BLP (or the many politically dead jokers now reincarnated as T. Inniss) have not (yet) suffered such terminal event in your more than 5 years relentless attacks on MAM why should the miller’s son who has seen right through you and your blogging creepy colleagues from day No.1?

BTW, are you et al still much against OSA and his Privatization proposals?

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@T.Innis
    FYI…Barbadian transactions are still eligible for EDC coverage, only instead of being on a blanket basis, it is now a case by case basis.
    Also FYI, the cost, what the EDC calls “Exposure fees” (or used to) has steadily risen for Barbados as the Sovereign credit rating slipped. My sources tell me the cost (post default) is approx the same as pre-default, what has changed is the approval process, and the risk of not being granted approval.
    Further Bajan buyers should be aware the up front payment=surety=cheaper price. If the seller isn’t paying fees to EDC their costs go down. It will drain local resources, because the lack of credit, given shipping times et al, will mean buyers pay for goods several weeks before they receive them. Yet the same buyers, via sureties from Banks, can provide sellers with a similar level of security.

10. NorthernObserver

Have you read the Bdos Today story? I suggest you do since nothing in that article is suggesting what you are saying.

11. We have some on here who like the BLPites for the last ten years will point to every misstep the government makes in THEIR opinion. The blogmaster is free to take the position that for the first 100 days or whatever measure the government will be allowed to find its feet. There will be mistakes made read road tax issue, it doesn’t es not mean the sky is falling. Feel free to disagree. Let us agree the government has been given an unprecedented mandate.

12. Northern Observer.you having said all of the above although some of what you said might be benefical to the buyer
    You cannot lose sight of the fact that a mechanism which was put in place wherby a small business or establish business could have acess to credit or establish credit has been diminished because of barbados decision to default on its debt
    Also you should be aware that in order for a business to gain or establish creditworthiness those are the kind mechanisms financial institutions depends on for proper credit rating of any business

13. Like TInniss who mysteriously turned up on 25 May. As for Barbados Today, the lawsuits still got Kaymar reeling. Barbados Today that employs non-nationals, in their editorial yesterday was questioning the hiring of non-nationals before locals? Nothing wrong with asking for transparency in terms of salaries etc, but the non-national line shows again there is an agenda.

14. @enuff

Are you saying that Harris is anti Mia?

15. David

I don’t know a thing about Harris. I know Kaymar is the editor.

16. Yes and it is unlikely the editorial bent if the post will not sync with his view.

17. Ask Well Well, she’s an expert on Harris.

18. I know that in Barbados we do things differently, but editors edit newspapers, not publishers. Publishers hire and fire. This principle is not only embedded in company policy (at the Financial Times Group it is part of the written policy), but it is part of the law. If I were an editor and a publisher tried telling me what to put in my publication I would tell him/her where to go. Only weak and insecure editors allow publishers to bully them.

19. Hitting de ground like Usain Bolt

” Prime Minister Mia Mottley might love the colour red, but she does not love red tape.

So people who are seeking to have their qualifications verified, will soon find the wait reduced from two to four months to a few days.”

20. Don’t mind Enuff….who got on here and told ME how well he knew Harris, all the Blog Master gotta do is look up the comment…. he certainly knew his name is Vivek when no one else on the blog knew that, …..not many people do, unless like me they got hold of some corporate documents…but that is not how Enuff knows it.

…now that Mia is installed, Enuff is distancing himself from Vivek…

But it always comes out in the wash.

21. Distraction !Distraction attack the messenger instead of giving an unbaised response to the message
    Question isnt the story newsworthy of reporting Yes or No
    Did Kaymar or Harris make up the story
    Did BU follow up (if in doubt ) by researching other newspapers preferably a Canadian source to verify the story
    David i did a research on you and my sources verifies that you have been given a double portion of the koolaid.

22. The story is credible . however the messenger is under attack because the blp yardfowls David included does not want to have any negative news reported about Mia
    Her unilateral decision to default would cause major negative ramifications to all business within the carribbean basin that supplies goods and services to barbados
    It would have the same effect to a chain where one link is broken or missing

23. Mariposa,

Barbados is a failed state. Don’t just look at the May 24 results, look also at the campaign – from Solutions Barbados to UPP to the Barbados Integrity Movement. Look at the poverty of the debate in BU and other fora. No amount of Chinese propaganda could save us. It may make some individuals richer, but the vast majority much poorer.

24. “There will be mistakes made read road tax issue, it doesn’t es not mean the sky is falling.”

That one certainly needs a real tweaking, someone swore they got raped after facing that issue.

Enuff…..keep dancing and distancing, just bear in mind what happened to the D in DBLP

25. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

a) Simple Simon http://mbhumanistsatheists.ca/wp-content/uploads/romans-13v12.jpg

Also read this: Galatians 5:19-21 King James Version (KJV)
    19 Now the works of the flesh are manifest, which are these; Adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lasciviousness,

20 Idolatry, witchcraft, hatred, variance, emulations, wrath, strife, seditions, heresies,

21 Envyings, murders, drunkenness, revellings, and such like: of the which I tell you before, as I have also told you in time past, that they which do such things shall not inherit the kingdom of God.

Read the Word of God for yourself and note the behaviours that will not grant you entry into the Kingdom of God.

26. I read the posts of TIniss and ac on BU and just have a good laugh.

I wonder why was it necessary for our PM to take the decisions she had to from day one. Was the DLP faced with such a disaster in 2008?

They most certainly did not.

Had our PM paid the loan dued on June 5, the country would have been left with no foreign exchange and these blasted Dems know this yet are on BU every day talking shiiite.

Now we have a journalist all of a sudden being the bench mark for everything. Wuhloss.

27. Enuff

Don’t worry with Kaymar Jordan. She will soon know which God she’s serving when BT has to settle the latest lawsuit.

I read her editorials and just smile. I well remember the very next edition after the Stinkliar talked about the Nigerian whom he alleged had ties to Boka Haram…… she was out of the blocks straight way with Mia Mottley has to explain this….. this cannot be swept under the carpet, we do not want the likes of Boka Haram in Barbados.

She believed a habitual liar. It doesn’t seem as if she has recovered from the REDWASH.

She should seek solace from OSA.

28. Prodigal can serve that to the sheep, goats and yardfowls. Anyone with common sense know what she is selling is pure BLP propaganda and misinformation.

Repeat it enough times and it becomes facts in some people’s mind.

29. The facts are……. the DLP mismanaged the Barbados economy and brought it to the brink of of disaster.

In other words, the DLP f’up Barbados and now have the gall to come on BU and criticise the new government for trying to reverse the down ward slide.

Wunnah ain’t got no shame at all.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss July 5, 2018 1:40 PM
    “Prodigal can serve that to the sheep, goats and yardfowls. Anyone with common sense know what she is selling is pure BLP propaganda and misinformation.”

And ‘anyone with commonsense’ will also know that what prodigal said about the Barbados having no forex to payoff foreign loans and still pay for food and oil imports is true as John 3:16 or that ac and you TI, the template of an idiot, are two yard ‘fouls’ from the demolished pen on George Street whose beaks have been broken by that 30-0 redwashing.

The Central Bank report on the Bajan economy for the second qtr 2018 is due anytime soon.

The Guv has no reason to hide the truth anymore from the peering eyes of the IMF.
    The truth will out!

31. Well said, Miller.

32. TInniss

Over the first three months of 2018, the international reserves held by the Central Bank increased by $14 million to end the
    quarter at $423 million — Central Bank Report Jan-March 2018 published May 2 2018

However, Sinckler said ……on the 18 of June 2015 under the terms and condition of the … loan contract with Credit Suisse . . . Government . . . in fulfilment of its obligations made the payment as scheduled in the amount of $41.23 million, representing interest of $20.6 million and amortisation of $20.63 million to the various holders of the facility”. 21 July 2015

Barbados’ foreign reserves problem is so serious that Government is seeking a US$60 million to US$70 million bail-out from the private sector. Governor of the Central Bank Cleviston Haynes revealed yesterday that for the first time in 27 years, the bank was requesting the private sector to repatriate some of its overseas funds as Government faced a major foreign loan payment next month. May 2, 2018

Proof of the level of reserves after the strongest quarter, proof of the then DLP government desperately seeking help and proof that the Credit Suisse payment is due in June/July. Facts!! Wait and see the level of reserves April-June in the pending quarterly report, and we’ll know if Barbados could have afforded to pay its loans since the election.

33. Correct
    Hal Barbadians are now being indoctrinated to a new understanding that govt events should be demonstrated via PR interactions between the people and govt… Which when filter down to the population are no more than a govt narrative widly used in totalitarian countries to brain wash the people
    Can you belive that a small country like barbados can actually be opening their broaders to all and sundry when large countries with productivty and many a way of self sufficient and self reliance are saying enough is enough

34. Check the DLP Facebook page, the plan was to sell the Hilton and BNTCL to boost reserves. That was the unsustainable plan.

35. A plan that was better a hundred times over than default
    A plan which would have served the taxpayers twofold 1. By relieving govt of having to subsidized an entity which was losing money and costing govt millions to keep up and running.in such cases both boondoggles aint worth shit on the stock market
    2.. What would continue to happen is that both entities in order to maintain and stay open would be at cost to both govt and taxpayers
    Mia advisers are either arrogant goatheaded or does not understand the basic numbers of nothing from nothing equals nothing as such is the case with the Hilton and the oil terminal
    These two ragmuh tag dollies need to be gone

36. @ Mariposa, for your information the EDC is not a financial institution in the banking sense. It is an organization which falls under Industry Canada and was established to help Canadian industry find/exploit export markets. It uses Canadian taxpayers money….my money, Northern Observer money, Hants money. It was NOT established to help Barbadian businesses. Let those businesses now dig into their foreign accounts.

37. My understanding of its purpose was that of giving businesses in barbados purchasing power to purchase goods and services from the Canadian manufactures without having to fully give 100% funding for the goods or services
    Now my understanding is that these firms have completely pulled the rug to which such an agreement was made making it necessary for barbadians businesses to come up front with all the monies necessary to buy the good and services
    What is most noteworthy is the application of barbados creditworthiness as reason
    Which also brings a thought to mind as to if govt was involved in the agreement as one of a guarantor for these businesses and in light of the default might have closed the door to easy purchases for these business

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mariposa July 5, 2018 7:11 PM
    “A plan that was better a hundred times over than default
    A plan which would have served the taxpayers twofold 1. By relieving govt of having to subsidized an entity which was losing money and costing govt millions to keep up and running.in such cases both boondoggles aint worth shit on the stock market
    2.. What would continue to happen is that both entities in order to maintain and stay open would be at cost to both govt and taxpayers”

Is that you ac, the anti-privatization mogul?

Now you just cannot denude yourself so openly on BU in your turncoat support of Privatization unless you want to be fo**ped openly in broad daylight.
    Now which entity, for the past 10 years, has been costing the government “millions to keep up and running”?
    Is it the Hilton Hotel or CBC?

It certainly cannot be the BNTCL which has been passing on to the Bajan consumers the world market prices of all imported finished petroleum products.

Now tell us Angela, the multi-pussy ac, should the government now sell or close down the CBC formerly DLPTV?

39. William Skinner Avatar

@ Grenville

I hope when you read the piffle emanating from the other sides, you realise the importance of keeping Solutions Barbados up and running. I also hope that Lynette Esatmond, keeps the UPP up and kicking. The road will be long but you owe it to Barbados to keep going on. Don’t give up.

40. But look how our PM is going make the decimated dems bawl and blow their gaskets……..it was announced tonight that David Commissiong is the new Caricom Ambassador……..my goodness, this will make their heads spin!

Whoo hoo!

41. Comissiong from advisor in one day to Caricom Ambassador in another
    Who de hell Mottley think she is fooling Mottley bag of tricks has run out
    His appointment to be Ambassador was sealed before the election as a pay off for his undivided support to the blp.
    So this PR stunt to reveal what was an already known falls in the same category of the promised giveaways one of lies and deceits

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

“Barbados is a failed state. Don’t just look at the May 24 results, look also at the campaign – from Solutions Barbados to UPP to the Barbados Integrity Movement.”

As I said before I do not agree that Barbados is a failed state However, like most Bajans, you underestimate the amount of money any third party needs to mount, a campaign to match the two major parties that have substantial cash to throw around. I dont know if you were home to see the campaigns that were put on but believe me, they run into millions of dollars. It would be difficult to compete with them.
    Political campaigns are now like crop over. People go out for entertainment and any goodies that are around. You will note that there was no televised debate. So why be so hard on Grenville and Lynette , when they actually brought policies and not entertainment to the table ?
    My conservative estimate, is that the combined cost ,of two campaigns of the major parties , had to be in excess of 25 million dollars. That’s a lot of cash my brother.
    As you would know without any real campaign finance regulations in place we will never know the real figure. I put that same figure to a finance professional and he told me that is closer to what one of the major parties spent.
    Go figure.

43. Now we wait and see with baited breath how many venezuleans would be allowed entry to barbados without security documentation
    Oh how the legal immigration shenanigans of fingerprinting will unfold before our very eyes which were simply an active deception to open a path forward to ease pressure off his freind Maduro who needs all the help he can get
    Barbados would soon become the breadbasket of whosoever will may come

44. Solutions Barbados and the UPP will not live to make it to 2023……….that is my belief.

Solutions is on the verge of breaking up……..one of its stars Paul Gibson walked away saying very harsh things against the way the party was run.

The ad hoc collection of candidates Lynette pieced together and presented to the electorate have been so rejected that they will not show their faces again.

Lynette must have now realised how stupid she was to leave the BLP………look, she would have beaten the pitbull and would have been accomplished a long held dream of being an elected member of Parliament but she allowed her hatred for Mia Mottley to consume her to the point where she thought she could form a party to stop the BLP from winning a majority. The people of Barbados said…………no way, go away………….hahaha!!!!!!

45. Why dont you losers go and hide……….right now, you all sound so stupid. After practically destroying Barbados with your bad policies and bad management………….you all really have the gall to criticise anything this new government does to bring this country back on track?

Have some shame, show some remorse for the wrongs the DLP has done to this country and go and hide wunnah selves!

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ William Skinner

You said and I quote “…My conservative estimate, is that the combined cost ,of two campaigns of the major parties , had to be in excess of 25 million dollars…”

Both you, the DLP and the BLP believe erroneously that campaign money will win a general election.

That is the politics of the past.

What WINS general elections will be decided by WHAT YOU HAVE DONE!

THAT will trump election campaigns and $25 million

I will explain what I mean.

Why did Mia Mottley with a bunch of unproven candidates win?

Let us be critical of this

It is true that people were disgruntled by the incompetent DLP but IT WAS A LEVEL PLAYING FIELD FOR ALL THE INCOMING PARTIES!

LEVEL BUT FOR ONE THING.

All of the contenders were unproven even Mia Mottley!

In fact Mia had and has her garbage about her previous tenure.

So what am I saying?

If they were all equal then what could the others have done to made a difference AND WHAT CAN THEY DO NOW?

IT IS ONLY BY THEIR DEEDS that any of the third parties WILL WIN.

They have to deliver during the “time of drought” WHEN THEY ARE AT 0-30

BUT therein comes the rub.

Nary one of them understands how to do that because all uh dem into the $25million pony dance that lasts for a campaign session

So the SHEEPLE understandably, cannot and will not buy into what they are selling especially when the BLP sharing out millions.

Let de ole man suggest that, if any third party wants to carry the swing in 2023, they have to bring something that shows that they they are capable EVDN IN THE DROUGHT, to feed the people.

Now I dun know dat many here can’t understand what I have said but then again wunna could not understand the 30-0 pronouncement either.

Any ammmmm serious party that wants to know how to do this can contact de ole man for advice on how to win in 2023

I will show wunna how dese tings is done…

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your help please with an item

48. Wait, ac’s……….tell BU what has happened that Freundel Stuart cancelled the lunchtime lecture which Donville was scheduled to deliver on Friday.

You all really still allowing Freundel to lead wunnah? Wunnah got to be goats!

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TI
    “Have you read the Bdos Today story? I suggest you do since nothing in that article is suggesting what you are saying.”
    the article said…”According to the company’s website [EDC], it was “open on a restricted basis” in relation to Barbados,” which is exactly what I said.
    OPEN = not closed, RESTRICTED = requires approval.

Overall, the amount of trade between Canada exporters and Barbadian importers is minuscule. Hence the story is basically irrelevant. Further, if a Canadian supplier has established relations with a Barbadian importer, they are unlikely to be using the EDC, making it more irrelevant.

It has simply provided political fodder for those so inclined. The underlying tone is…no default occurred under we, and now the B’s up and default, dat would never have happened under we. Again political conjecture, for the noose around the Barbadian public finance was firmly in place regardless of who won. And that is where this blog began, with the ‘prosperity without austerity’ claim by SB.

50. Three travel advisories were issued when sewage was flowing into the sea through the Graeme Hall Sluice Gate.

Canada, UK and the USA.

The sluice gate was closed and sewage ended up back on the streets.

It now goes into the injection wells so has disappeared from the streets.

http://www.cbc.bb/index.php/cbc-radio/obituary/obituaries-u-z/item/5136-bwa-clears-air-on-injection-wells

Through the injection wells and porous coral it ends up back in the sea!!

The whole raison d’etre of the south coast sewage system is/was to prevent sewage from the built up area polluting the nearshore environment.

If tourists follow the travel advisories, one can imagine their numbers will decrease.

What effect will increased taxes on this sector?