@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

“To whom much is given it is said much is expected…”

As I sat to write this for submission on Barbados Underground, I pondered long about a name for this article.

And even longer on what I was going to put in it since it was NOT WRITTEN to sow a feeling OR fear of a “Night of The Long Knives” but to genuinely engage with the leader of this administration and more particularly highlight the skills of those you have surrounded yourself with.

And Yes, it is indeed a presumption to assume that a lowly citizen might pen a letter to their Prime Minister, but mine is the constant hope that “gods in Mt. Olympus might entertain mere men in midguard.”

For there to be a “Mottleyan LEGACY”, I humbly suggest that your focus HAS TO BE ON THE BAJAN PEOPLE.  It CANNOT BE one that is superficial or designed to be a “sleight of hand” exercise and even things like seducing simple pensioners through a promise of a $75 per month increase in pensions, in their right hand, INSTANTLY NULLIFIED by a sewerage levy of $30/mth, taken from their left hand, speaks to a disturbing start out of the blocks especially when that increase is further depleted by commensurate levies on things like the kerosene may pensioners use in stoves and lamps.

It is ten years now that the people or Barbados have been suffering intensely under the DLP but that “suffering” has been going on for much longer than 10 years.

This suffering IS NOT the overt poverty of 5,000 pit toilets which you spoke of removing during your government’s  tenure. No Madamoiselle.

By the way, you do know that an “Adopt a Pit Toilet ” or appropriately named social partnership programme, underwritten by  businesses or corporations, where tax write-offs will be offered, IN LIEU OF PART OF THAT 5% TAX INCREASE, would eradicate said toilet pits in 1 year!

No, de ole man is speaking of an “entrenched suffering and disenfranchisement”, a creeping miasma THAT HAS ENVELOPED THE COLLECTIVE BAJAN PSYCHE, and, for at least 4 administrations, has contributed to, and has impaled our nation – INERT AND IMPOTENT.

Madamoiselle Prime Minister, I am sure that you can see that Bajans have become a nation of “merchandisers OR consumers” we are either one or the other. A fact that your IMF counterparts have gone to pains to state in their Reports.

And there is no place, nor initiative, nor enabling agency that fosters innovation or meaningful “otherness” to break that mould.

And please, do not proffer the inert Enterprise Growth Fund nor the Access Fund corpses or many other pretty named cadavers as innovation facilitators cause $5,000 non collateralized loans is not innovation or meaningful “otherness”.

YOUR AUDITS which you call ” Phase 3 ” of your administration’s proposed actions, those which you declare will see “a continuation of the review of these state owned entities (I should mention though that those two EGFL and Fun Access are “personally owned” and not SOEs heheheheh) they will only confirm that these personal serfdoms CONTINUE TO ACT as enemies to the state and should be immediately disbanded like the guerilla terrorists they are.

Now i would ask you this question only hoping you could answer it? (Not “would” cause I doubt that de ole man is of the ILK to attract your answer)

Do you know, OR HAVE PEOPLE WHO KNOW, how to foster THEN NURTURE that “otherness”, whether it is tangibles or intangibles, assets that are of the calibre and national value that Barbados is seeking?

I am speaking of “tangible intangibles” like Rihanna who, i hasten to add, is “the exception to the rule”, A CHANCE HAPPENING, one which was not fostered nor nurture through anything proactively designed OR planned by Barbados

It was evident to all that your recent mini budget lacked any real proposals from your thought leaders that offset the dire state of the economy

And, coupled with your choices in the Senate, one fears what your “third tier”  or what I call “shadow government” will deliver, your “thought leadership teams” AND THE IDEAS THAT ARE SURFACING

DE OLE MAN goes on record to say that one fears the “pretend arrangements, and sweetheart deals” that are appearing. Take for example that BPI and BMTI pre-arrangement. These structures WILL NOT EMPOWER THE CITIZENS OF BARBADOS, will not breed ANYTHING THAT WILL REDOUND TO YOUR LEGACY AND CERTAINLY PROMOTE THIS NATION

And in parting de ole man will leave these words with you. (again there goes that presumption heheheheh…)

BAJANS ARE NOT STUPID ANY MORE, WE ARE WAKING UP

If the lesson, of how we THE PEOPLE, have voted out the late Errol Walton Barrow, from St John on May 24th 2018, is lost on you AND THE REST OF THE BLP, then I encourage you, AND YOUR COLLEAGUES, including Hartley and Peter, to continue on in prosecution of this thread of SHIFTING CONSTANTLY INCREASING TAXES to the said people while dividing up what has become “THE FATTED COW”, what the DLP previously called The FATTED Calf.

Continue in this thread and you will see how long you ride in MP1, and sojourn at Llaro Court …

Your humble servant

Piece of the Rock Yeah Right

500 responses to “A Mottley Legacy? Or a Mugabe Regime?”

1. @sirfuzzy

There is the compactor tractor being rented from COW for hundreds of thousands of dollars every year at a time the SSA has no resources, notwithstanding the new headquarters.

2. @Prodigal Son June 17, 20189:56 PM “Dont most of these non contributory pensioners get their water bills paid through the welfare department?”

Really? When did that ever hapen. My dad who was born in the first decade of the 20th century, and died well into the 21st century, never had his water bill paid by anybody, except himself, his wife, or his children.

3. A passing comment made by the PM is worthy of mention because of my past and continuing experience with the BWA.I have been penalized to often for leaks of which I was not aware until the bill came from BWA.In one of my examples the meter went haywire during the passage of Tomas and the BWA gave this customer hernia.”You should go to Bay St office and make arrangements to pay the bills” ….as though one can pay 2 successive months readings amounting to $15000.00 when there was no leak.6 plumbers or officials came to inspect and found no leaks.The BWA were behaving like terrorists plain and simple.They sent the meter to Bowmanston and of course the meter was in good working order.Then the next week Minister Kellman in a public statement said the BWA has faulty meters and they will have to be changed.Long story short,the 2 bills were withdrawn,but the experience was one of helplessness when the outcome might have been,a locked meter.
    So that when the PM in her wrap up of the budget mentioned that in future excess water usage would in future be calculated on the basis of the customers’ history of usage and an average applied is welcome news indeed.I know of a widow in her 80’s struggling to pay a $ 20,000.00 bill for a leak in the cellar of an unoccupied property.The BWA behave like terrorists.We will see how they perform going forward with the heavy increase in revenues just introduced in the mini budget.

4. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

It is amazing that when issues or red herrings are highlighted individuals are labeled as yardfowl etc.

It is with this ignorance that the ‘smart’ lawyer Politicians on both sides of the coin has exploited in the divide and rule to continue to fleece the taxpayers.

One cannot talk about being mature whenever things are highlighted and make it a partisan talk; if I was a Bajan politician elected I would continue to laugh all the way to the bank because of the backward thinking.

5. @PUDRYR
    There is a quote “One of God’s best gift is unanswered payer”
    It seems as if the prayer for 30-0 is already being regretted
    I still find it amazing that the other group was rejected in every corner of the island.

6. @ daivd.

SSA has a new HQ? i thought that was under construction?

7. @ GAbriel.

A 20,000 water bill is not a welcomed sight by no means. On a matter of principle ,the old lady leaks was a genuine occurrence or the meter that went haywire?

8. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Everyone in Barbados should read this about Lesotho an African country and see the parallels and stop buying into this party foolishness on either side:

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2088200994772216&id=100007470075918&refid=17&ft=top_level_post_id.2088200994772216%3Atl_objid.2088200994772216%3Athrowback_story_fbid.2088200994772216%3Athid.100007470075918%3A306061129499414%3A2%3A0%3A1530428399%3A9027069284543942754&tn=%2As%2As-R

9. Didn’t you listen to the PM last week indicating that a 3 million payment was due on the lease? It is close to 100% complete by on all reports.

10. Didn’t you listen to the PM last week indicating that a 3 million payment was due on the lease? It is close to 100% complete by on all reports.

No i didn’t, get an opportunity to hear everything she says live. Usually get the summary in a newspaper. Was the new SSA HQ a BOLT project?

11. New SSA Building To Bring Operations Together

admin January 20, 2014 News

More than 200 jobs will be created over the next 18 months as work on the new Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) building at Vaucluse, St. Thomas, begins.

The 45-year-old institution, presently located at Wildey, St. Michael, in the National Petroleum Corporation building, will be replaced by a modern, five-storey facility that will bring together all of the SSA???s departments.

Minister of the Environment and Drainage, Dr. Denis Lowe, broke ground today to signal the start of the estimated $28.7 million project, surrounded by members of Cabinet, other Ministry officials and staff of the SSA.

???The introduction of the five-storey administration office building will consolidate all of the decentralised depots and offices, with the exception of the Reed Street Depot and the Offices of the Cemeteries,??? he said.

Once completed in 2017, the new building will house the SSA???s administration, human resources, engineering, finance, information technology, security, landfill operations, the Northern Depot Collections, and Green technology departments. The latter will promote use of solar energy, harvesting of rainwater, and efficient cooling features and building site amenities.

Describing the building as a ???significant step for the Government of Barbados???, Dr. Lowe noted that through the construction and occupation of the building, the SSA would be able to advance the implementation of its vision to have a comprehensive, island-wide integrated solid waste management system.

The Minister further noted that the construction of the new building marked the continuation of the roll-out of a series of SSA projects, and will generate twice the operations revenue, which currently stands at over $52 million.

Those projects include the new cell four that was commissioned at Mangrove, St. Thomas, last July at a cost of $24.9 million; the Waste-to-Energy plant which will cost US$340 million; $31.9 million for a Leachate Treatment Plant; a Landfill-Gas-to-Energy project at $9.4 million; a Solar Project at US$60 million; a Wind-to-Energy facility at a cost of $24 million; the construction of an ultra-modern mechanical workshop at an estimated cost of $11 million and the Mangrove Beautification Programme at a projected cost of $11 million.

Work on the building is being executed under a public-private partnership. Moorjani Caribbean (Barbados) Limited is the contractor for the project, through a joint venture with Caribbean Consultants Limited. The consultant for the project is R.J. Burnside International Limited.

julia.rawlins-bentham@barbados.gov.bb

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Simple Simon June 18, 2018 6:03 PM
    “Really? When did that ever hapen. My dad who was born in the first decade of the 20th century, and died well into the 21st century, never had his water bill paid by anybody, except himself, his wife, or his children.”

Truly, Mock Doctor SS?

That makes your ‘dead’ dad the longest living human in history. Or, maybe, he is just a Bajan vampire.
    It seems there is a lot of genetic luck coming your way, Dr. SS. You might just outlive your old ‘grand’ papa.

No wonder you, SS the ‘lying feminist’ incubus, like living off the ‘white’ blood of ‘young black sleeping’ men.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David June 18, 2018 6:35 PM

David BU, have you heard anything recently about the sale of the Four Seasons?
    What’s really is going on there?

At least the minister responsible for tourism (if not the MoF) should be able to shed some light on it.

14. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Piece,

Here is an interesting story about a country which recently hit rock-bottom. The link is below.

Your stance is admirable. The nation has to remain vigilant with regard to Mia and her all-conquering BLP “panzer” unit. You know that we Bajans are not too smart. I keep hearing the mantra that the BLP can do no worse than the DLP. We are so desperate to forgot about the last ten years that we would blindly accept leadership from anyone but them – the DLP.

For those who say “Cuhdear”, give her the customary 100 days grace. I say with a loud voice “no”. Judge her in real-time; judge her now! Mia will succeed provided she is prepared to make momentous decisions. For example what are her plans to address the colonial legacy that has been bestowed to those descendants of slaves. A legacy that still has a negative impact on the majority population.

What are Mia’s plans to address government workers who in general have a terrible work ethic? I will not mention those work-shy government organisations. However, having visited the QEH over a number of years whilst assisting my parents, I would say that my experience with them has been largely positive.

Will MIa continue to insist that it’s the little people who will have to bear the brunt of the pain as opposed to those with larger pockets?

Piece, I’m in favour of utilising the sea as a platform of travel. It shows that Mia is prepared to utilise our very own natural resources that we have generally under appreciated or overlooked.

By the way what has happen to Mark Maloney? Has his dreams come crashing down with this new administration?

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jun/16/iceland-tourists-tech-resilient-bank-from-brink-financial-crisis

15. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

I was told that in the 1940s you could sail from Speightstown to Holetown and to Bridgetown.

I would return just to make one of those trips. I can still swim like a fish so I would not be worried. lol

Between you an me a ferry to other Caribbean islands would be a good investment but Babadus brek.

16. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

I told you all so but nobody would listen.

Three weeks later Barbados is in a worse position than it was three weeks ago.

Wunna don’t understand or don’t WANT to understand.

You can keep on talking until the entire country called Barbados implodes.

Unless you turn back to God this island is doomed. How long will it take for all of you to WAKE UP???

BLP/DLP same thing. Solutions had no solutions without God.

CRY OUT TO GOD WHILE WE ARE STILL AFLOAT BEFORE THIS ISLAND SINKS INTO IGNOMINY.

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

When they had taxpayer’s and pensioners billions of dollars to burn and give away., neither of the 2 numb skull governments were thinking of ferries to compliment the public transportation fleet , they were all too busy trying to scrub the black off their skins using paper money….giving away that which never belonged to them and hiding what they stole.

“For example what are her plans to address the colonial legacy that has been bestowed to those descendants of slaves. A legacy that still has a negative impact on the majority population.”

I have said on here repeatedly. ..they need to dismantle all the institutions of racism and the slave society that still exists on the island, particularly those hellbent on demanding reparations, ya cannot be trying to continue to preside over a slave society while telling those responsible for creating the slavery, racism, white suorecmacy and society that they gotta pay you for slavery….so what will they be paying you for…to preserve it….steuppps..

Until they start dismantling those institutions of colonial destruction, I will always find a way to show them up.

Ah hope they don’t expect the UK to do it for them, that will really be taking things too far.

Thing is, they are stuck with the UK parliament created constitution for the island, even I can see why.

18. @millertheanunnaki June 18, 2018 7:50 PM “Simple Simon June 18, 2018 6:03 PM ““Really? When did that ever hapen. My dad who was born in the first decade of the 20th century, and died well into the 21st century.”

Whatever.

One of my dad’s buddies who was born in 1910, that is who was born in the first decade of the 20th century, is still as of today, that is well into the 21st century, is still very much alive.

19. @Hants June 18, 2018 8:35 PM “I was told that in the 1940s you could sail from Speightstown to Holetown and to Bridgetown.”

True. My mother told me that her mother would walk from “up the hill” that is Springhead, Rock Hall, Mangrove, Black Bess, Bakers to Speightstown to catch a schooner to Bridgetown to buy her groceries. On the return trip my mother and her sister would watch out for the schooner from “up the hill” then walk down to Speightstown to help their mother bring the groceries home. It was a sailboat and if the winds became unfavourable it could be a long wait in Speightstown. That grandma died in 1957.

So a passenger boat plying the west coast is nothing new.

20. Have you passed the South Coast recently? Is there sewage water running on the street? Especially from the are adjacent Chicken Barn? Can you detect a stink smell in the air?

21. @Miller

So many issues we need to hear the newly installed speak!

22. Wow 😳

Here’s a thing though !

The Caribbean’s newest government – in least than a month in office – is being compared to Robert’s Mugabe regime in Zimbabwe 🇿🇼 !!!

Oh my , the old true saying comes to mind ,

” You know what / who you got ……you don’t know the DEVIL you will get ”

It’s

Mia’s

Fault

IMF – IMF – IMF – IMF – IMF

Wha’ after all it’s MAM who called the …….IMF !!

Looka muh CROSSES !!!

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The way to ensure that there is no opposition to The Mugabes of this world is very simple.

It is not a thing that is carried out by Mugabe themselves but by their henchmen

So the good cop bad cop routine is employed and one party smiles and cuddles you while the other party drives the knife into your back.

Fortunately some of us are stone cold killers and understand the placement of the foot for best use of the weapon of choice.

Here is how this will proceed BU

It is evident that you are in bed with Mottley so much so that it was you that said the her team had everything locked down some months ago when Vincent was here blogging.

Wunna does not realize the verbs that you use AND THEIR NUANCES.

WUNNA FEAR THE MUGABEAN NOISE

And rightfully so because the eyes of the world are on her real objectives and whether they are enabling a new equivalent of Robert Mugabe

The thing is that this desire to stiffle any different opinion and the directive that you have received and now employ so diligently speaks to much more than loyalty.

It shows where you stand in the Mottleyian dynasty.

And people need to be aware of this Honourable Blogmaster so let us dance.

Like I have often said dis is you ting so you can and will censor whom you will here in your space

But this is just a single space which feels inclined to carve up Barbados for the Mottley crew of dimwits.

But one thing that wunna cannot kill is May 24th

As you will soon see

24. So barbados cannot feed itself . just default on its obligations to international crediitors
    Now this morning the govt of barbados is willing to allow another small island nation(Haiti) of improverish people to enter barbados without proper vetting SMFH

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP June 18, 2018 11:01 PM

Shouldn’t you do like your ‘dismissed’ architects of the demolition of the Bajan economy and go underground for a while? Why don’t you follow Fumble, Stinkliar and thr sewage-smelling duo of Sealy and Boyce?

We are still awaiting the “explaining” of MAM to the Bajan electorate.

Just ‘lie’ low(e) for a while and allow MAM to build her own political petard.

Why not heed the exhortation of your own voodoo reverend Durant?

Do you think that if the same mock apostle could not get God to save the sorry donkey of the liar and thief Thompie from being thrown into the fire of Hades he can get the son of the same god to perform a Lazarus-type miracle in the cesspool of George Street and save your demolished lying party from implosion and self-annihilation as the political hyenas fighting for leadership are about to descend on the vestiges of rotten flesh left after Fumble & friends committed hari-kari?

26. Have govt even consider how our social services would be impacted our schools our hospitals
    Have govt even consider that in a possibility that a natural disaster ravages Haiti and Haitians seek refuge here in numbers if barbados financials would be fully stabilized to accommodate these refugees
    It seems that there is plenty outside political influence who have craved out their own piece of the bony calf as their share of getting the blp elected
    Hence the name Ralph Gonsalves mouthings come to mind as one who might be influential in getting govt to make this Haitian decision

27. ” Ex-MP received ‘secret’ cut of $12.4M deal in resort “

28. Doan get too excited my fellow Bajan BU politicos. I know wunna already specalatin who um is but….

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/collingwood-project-payment-mp-bonwick-1.4708054

29. Only in dictatorships decision of this complexity are handed to the people without any form of debate
    This govt have already made two crtical decisions one of default and now the Haitian immigration policies all done with out clarity and transparency and brought to the public for input

30. This is why the competence of the Chief Justice is always being questioned, he is right there collecting taxpayer’s money monthly…how could he not know…what does he do all day if not staying on top of new laws proclaimed and making sure the judiciary is not self destructing because of incompetence and corruption , like it now has.

did Adriel Nitwit ex AG know…

did the GG who proclaimed the Act know….

did the DPP both deceased and alive know..

It begs the question…what do any of them know for the taxpayer’s money..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/18/video-evidence/

“The country’s Evidence Act makes provisions for video recordings of confessions, and while Sir Marston seemed somewhat uncertain whether it had been proclaimed, prominent attorney Andrew Pilgrim, QC, said it had taken effect last December.”

“I knew it was being discussed in Parliament, I didn’t realize it had actually been proclaimed. So I now have to go and look at it to make sure it’s [been] proclaimed and it’s part of our law. It would be very, very welcomed,” he said.

However, Pilgrim told reporters during a break at the seminar that the law went into force last December and police were already video recording statements from accused persons, a practice he suggested many people here seemed unaware of.”

31. pieceuhderockyeahright June 19, 2018 12:45 AM “Fortunately some of us are stone cold killers and understand the placement of the foot for best use of the weapon of choice.”

Yeah!!! The heel into the instep, and at the same time the knee into the testicles.

That means stop.

Lolll!!!

32. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 19, 2018 12:45 AM “But one thing that wunna cannot kill is May 24th”

True.

Kinda hard to kill 100,000 people (votes) without getting a lotta blood on your hands

33. @millertheanunnaki June 19, 2018 8:36 AM “after Fumble & friends committed hari-kari?”

If only they had done us the favour of committing hari-kari. If only.

But no. They had to leave it up to the electorate to crack heads and shoot some people. (metaphorically of course as we are a decent, loving, God fearing people)

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I expect that you will hold this item in suspense as well as is your wont in support of the New Regime.

And it is a new regime AND not only you are in cahoots with upper management of said REGIME charges with disseminating “the Message of Mugabe” but then to see the temperature of the more literate sheeple among the unsuspecting masses and the captive BU audience.

As it relates to my submissions you have been making pretense as it relates to “this IP challenge that i spoke of” and that you now rely on in your narrative

Before you bring up my message to Mariposa as a disclaimer let me advise you of this

You do not know about VPN scripts and hardcoded nodes” so I have allowed you to persist in your selective choices to show those of your readers who have been intimating of your filtering practices of Late to confirm that this is what you have been doing

Now assuredly the BU audience/family/house or whatever you choose to call it, will see which of my Mugabe messages will be aired for the consumption of your readers and how many of those will mysteriously disappear because of your fictitious sorry selective spam filter.

So what if Mia needs support? So did Fumbles and the others before him.

And as with those administrations people commented quite passionately with opinions other than theirs.

Let me show Mia how stupid you guys are with the network of disinformation that you are providing her.

Here is a site sucker screen from your sister organisation Caribbean Sighal which is designed to disseminate information per the Mottleyian Economic Oversight of the monies to be managed and borrowed under this New Regime

https://i.imgur.com/lN8d3Jg.png

Read Question 11. and the answer Honourable Blogmaster.

Oh how silly of me THIS IS NOT AT YOUR PAYGRADE so you cant understand it can you?

But I will help you with what it imports

“”…c. Enhanced concessional financing role that is expected to be paid by the IADB, CDB, CAF, and EIB; disbursements will be conditional on progress with structural reform, especially within the public corporations and statutory bodies…”

It is in response to question 11 which read “…11. What is the mechanism for oversight for the creditor group?…”

Is there a “the” missing at the beginning of the sentence to link with the noun “role” or is this a typo?

Notwithstanding either correction the question is about the mechanism for oversight and has nothing to do with the answer provided…”

Look at the mistake in that document David.

Here is something that is supposed to be an independent website that is to be disseminating THE SINGLE MUGABE MESSAGE and it is replete with such a significant mistake?

And wunna tink dat wunna bright?

It is just that what you, the last bastion of Public Commentary now have chosen to become PART AND PARCEL OF THAT SUPPORT and to ram the Mottleyian direction down our collective throats AS YOU DEEM FIT.

And that is sad at so many levels.

The Collective that is BU is completely compromised because of one person among what is a manifestation of the Borg.

You can publish this or not Honourable Blogmaster that is your choice CUASE IT IS GOING TO BE PUBLISHED WITH OR WITHOUT YOU.

THe problem with you guys is that you dont play chess and do not understand when to leave something alone.

They send a boy to do a man’s job and then WHAPLAX cant undo the shit that they have done.

And as one final notification to BU readers I would ask you to go on record here again to state what is your policy as it relates to articles published by bloggers in light of General Data Protection Regulations

LIKE I SAID Honourable Blogmaster, we going do this differently, and I expect you to ban me because of this and other actions that you and your BAND will become aware of Soon!

35. “@millertheanunnaki June 19, 2018 8:36 AM “after Fumble & friends committed hari-kari?”

lol..what a pity they were to coward to complete it fully.

36. Things are now happening so fast…the Caribbean better get moving…Barbados better finally abolish the slave society..

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2018/jun/19/slave-traders-portrait-removed-from-bristol-lord-mayors-office

“Slave trader’s portrait removed from Bristol lord mayor’s office
    Cleo Lake’s decision is latest move in city to challenge celebration of Edward Colston’s life
    Steven Morris
    @stevenmorris20
    Tue 19 Jun 2018 14.44 BST First published on Tue 19 Jun 2018 11.08 BST

Edward Colston’s portrait being removed from the office of Bristol’s lord mayor, Cleo Lake, who is also a member of the Countering Colston campaign group.

Edward Colston’s portrait being removed from the office of Bristol’s lord mayor, Cleo Lake, who is also a member of the Countering Colston campaign group. Photograph: Bristol Post/SWNS.com

The lord mayor of Bristol has had a portrait of the slave trader Edward Colston removed from her office after deciding she could not share her working space with the image.

Dating back to 1702, the painting has belonged to the city council for decades and has hung in the office of the lord mayor since at least 1953.

But Cllr Cleo Lake ordered that it be removed and wants it to be placed in a museum that tells the story of Bristol’s role in the slave trade.

Lake, who is coming to the end of her first month in office, said her parlour was a “lovely space”. She said: “I spend a lot of time here, I’m here nearly every day. It made me feel uncomfortable sharing the parlour with the portrait.”

37. As I said…things are moving briskly…Mia better stay on top of it all if she wants to get the island out of the economic mess created by the previous retards of parliament..

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2018/jun/19/william-hague-theresa-may-legalise-cannabis

“William Hague calls for Theresa May to legalise cannabis
    Ex-Conservative leader says policy is ‘inappropriate, ineffective and out of date’
    Mattha Busby
    @matthabusby
    Tue 19 Jun 2018 12.41 BST First published on Tue 19 Jun 2018 08.37 BST

William Hague and Theresa May
    William Hague (left) says the war on cannabis has been lost and urges Theresa May (right) to lead a policy change. Photograph: Stefan Rousseau/PA

William Hague, the former leader of the Conservative party, has urged Theresa May to legalise cannabis, saying the UK’s drug policy is “inappropriate, ineffective and utterly out of date” and that the “battle is effectively over”.

Lord Hague said issuing orders to the police to stop people smoking cannabis were “about as up to date and relevant as asking the army to recover the empire”.

In an article in the Telegraph on Tuesday, Hague says the prime minister should be bold and lead a major policy change because it is deluded to think cannabis can be “driven off the streets”.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Again…time to move very quickly.

“Sajid Javid announces review of law on cannabis use for medicinal purposes – Politics live”

38. We have been promised a press conference by the minister responsible for the sewage plant today.

39. The government revoked the requirement for a tax clearance certificate for businesses.

40. It is amazing to me to see that apparently all 33,000 that voted for the last destructive government to continue the decimation of this country have finally discovered BU as a place to hold a sitting government’s feet to the fire. This same group that remained silent for ten long and painful years without uttering a word of condemnation to the waste of atoms misrepresenting the people in Parliament now are breathing fire and brimstone because MAM has failed to right the ten years of wrongs in three weeks.

I am aware that she is a woman and women are sometimes capable of the impossible but I plead with you to stop frothing at the mouth and let her and her team bring us back to the promised land. Could you not hear the sigh of relief coming from the meeting in St Lucia when the leaders of the Caribbean Islands realized that they no longer had to deal with a dummy and that Barbados was back? For ten long years the refrain has been “Give them a chance and they will get it right” and now it is “Three long weeks and they can’t fix it yet?”

The problem with you Damn Lazy People is that you were willing to follow a fool who would sit on a fart for so long that it turned to s**t and now you are dizzy with the speed at which the new leader is moving. If you can’t stand the speed, get off the race track.

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The government revoked the requirement for a tax clearance certificate for businesses.”
    I find this concerning, and contrary to the general direction being taken. Why?

42. Hurrah i feel a sense of vindication
    Especially after David had dare me a couple months ago to put a You Tube Video with the mouthings of Commissiong which related to his liking for Chavez and Castro during a political campagin for Ralph Gonsalves wherby he likened Gonsalves to a hero within the same way of thinking to his heroes Chavez and Castro
    After several attempts of putting the video up David took them down and ushered his attempt to ban me if i tried putting them up again
    Yes there is a dangerous foot underground to brainwash barbadians into beliving that this govt has barbados best interest and should not opposed govt policies even if these measures cause pain and suffering to the poor while the rich gets richer
    Sooner rather than later barbados would be in for a perilous ride of their lives and in the immortal words of Sandiford ask how did we get here.

43. @Northern Observer

What are your concerns?

44. Sorry but no going to support a GOVT having no opposition and where there are voices inbtge public domain to opposed .Govt have put operatives in place to intimidate or to be spied on.
    So far this govt has proven that.a mandate having to do with transparency means nothing to them and have proceeded down a pathway of stealth using a pretentious motive called engaging

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well, Well June 19, 2018 11:35 AM

Now that Britain will soon be no longer prosecuting people for using marijuana the copycat Bajan government might just follow suit.

Go ahead Big England, broke Little England has no choice but to be right behind you.

What is Barbados waiting for? For the gin-and-tonic loving Queen Lizzy like her mum on her dying bed to confess to being a convert to the Peter Tosh school of commonsense and shout out: ‘I say Legalize it’ or Prince Henry like his great Auntie Mags to become fully roguish and admit he likes more than a bit of black pearl pussycat but also enjoys not so much a ‘blackie’ but a more of a naturally ‘sweet-feeling’ high in the form of a joint or two of the Blue Mountains variety?

Britain has a large and profitable alcohol business which it has to secure in order to protect a vital source of taxation needed to underwrite its expensive state welfare system like the NHS.

The disadvantage Britain faces with the legalization of marijuana is that, given its climate, it would find it rather difficult to produce in large low-cost quantities enough to make its production commercially viable.

How it seeks to benefit taxation wise from the mainly imports of the right stuff is left to be seen. The customs and boarder control officials at the Port of Hull should now be able to collect taxes from those returning from the ferries and cruises to Amsterdam.

Maybe it would be treated like rum and seek to impose heavy taxes when large quantities are smuggled in especially from places like Jamaica.

A priority for the new Bajan Minister of Agriculture in conjunction with those responsible for industry, trade and even the blue economy is that of paying an urgent business visit to Amsterdam to see how the production of marijuana and its by-products can be dovetailed with tourism to make a visit to Barbados more than just ‘a cool relaxing’ experience.

There is a load of money to be made from the marketing of the mary-jane business; from souvenirs to exotic tropical punches mixed with locally produced fruits:
    from a Bush Hill blow-head special to a Pico Tenerife high.

46. @millertheanunnaki who wrote ” The disadvantage Britain faces with the legalization of marijuana is that, given its climate, it would find it rather difficult to produce in large low-cost quantities enough to make its production commercially viable.”

Canadians growing it in greenhouses and converted warehouses when outside temperature is -30 celcius.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

So how does this strategy work?

De ole man shall attempt to acclimatize those of you who even give a rat’s donkey

This is called “The Art of the Back Story”

I will borrow from the internet as is my custom in these things of which I know nothing.

“On a cool August evening in 1941, a Serbian playboy created a stir at Casino Estoril in Portugal by throwing down an outrageously large baccarat bet to humiliate his opponent. The Serbian was a British double agent, and the money―which he had just stolen from the Germans―belonged to the British. From the sideline, watching with intent interest was none other than Ian Fleming… The Serbian was Dusko Popov.”

An excerpt from Into the Lion’s Mouth : the True Story of Dusko Popov : World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-life Inspiration for James Bond by Larry Loftis

What de france dat means?

For me to create a valid supporting story about the credentials of a “plant” one can do a few things to “big up” de target.

There is the usual word of mouth, especially if that reputation is spread by persons who are considered to be of a certain class and social/political currency. See Bernie Madoff’s and Allen Stanford’s lists of the celebrities they ripped off.

But now we fast forward to these internet days and the $14/yr domain names and you can now can create a Backstory overnight and to the simpletons amongst us, that is all we need.

But when it comes to running game among the sovereign debt reduction consultants with Industry Accepted standards that shyte does not stand up long under scrutiny.

So here is the rationale ensuing from this convoluted story.

One establishes one’s own “independent” websites which auto-creates its own SEO structure that obviously refers back to itself and VOILA.

We have created a legend! Much like the Rawdon exercise and certainly the pronouncements about the Oversight Mechanisms of this imaginary Creditor Group and you start seeing the direction that this REPUTATIONAL VAPOURWARE IS GOING..

But the thing is that if your webmasters ARE BOTH FINANCIAL ILLITERATES AND lack Linguistic skills so what happens is that their proofreading skills, DO NOT CORRESPOND WITH THE TASKS THAT THEY ARE ASSIGNED!

And as a result the EF UPs happen.

And when “jealous ole men” (I REFER TO THE WORDS OF ONE BLP BLOGGER HERE) when we take the time to examine these “BACK STORIES”, what happens is that you see these messy fabrications.

So the “IUnderstandIdiot” crews who ssh into drives as a result of one’s former belief in the credibility of their gateway start to get annoyed when de ole man opens he mouf.

Any incredulously gives them ongoing access to said information “cause he ent know what dem doing.

Wunna is de stupidest group of Mugabean proselytes I have even encountered…keep on trucking

48. proselyte

a person who has converted from one opinion, religion, or party to another, especially recently.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Not sure whether this was posted or not so I will submit what i now have taken to copying BEFORE I POST since a few of the previous items mysteriously disappear and NEVER GET POSTED heheheheh

@ Artaxerxes

Recently I have to admit that I have been one of those that is “guilty” of what inadvertently seems to be an anti BLP campaign

But i will pause a while and share with you what is my desired goal and where I SHALL BE COMMITTED UNTIL I LEAVE THIS DEPARTURE LOUNGE.

“I understand sheeple”

I hope that that word has not been banned as well (i understand that yardfowl has been banned though)

But here is the real thing Artaxerxes.

Most people here believe that the BLP won the General Elections but that is not true

THE DLP LOST!!!

There is a major difference but to explain that will take some time and reveal a formula and THE SECRET for fighting campaigns to all and sundry AND I ENT GOING DO THAT.

But what i will tell you is this.

Voters in general and Bajans in particular won this engagement.

I know that you are going to say that what i said was wrong and that it should be “Bajans in general and voters in particular won that engagement.

vBut that is totally wrong.

Right now there is a fallacy that Madamoiselle Mia Mottley is the winner of this election but that is really a fallacy.

Observe the following Stoopid Cartoon.

https://i.imgur.com/hPbOIvM.gifv

You are a keen observer, tell me what it is saying?

The May 24th Battle of Trafalgar Square IS NOT a victory won by any MAM or Hartley Henry crew. 

It is Barbados’ victory and it will be key to observe what happens now going forward AS WE COLLECTIVELY ENSURE THAT THE PEOPLE UNDERSTAND THE POWER THAT WE HAVE.

”Watch Muh Now”

50. Miller…the brits figured that out since 2016….they already did their math…..say what we want. about them, they never allow moss to grow under their feet, they are not stupid and are always proactive..they know their days for demonizing the plant has reached it’s end, now they will exploit it for every last dollar and seed.

“Cannabis legalisation in UK ‘would raise £1bn a year in taxes’
    Study calls for UK to follow lead of some US states and allow the sale of cannabis to over-18s in licensed retail stores

Oliver Wright Political Editor
    @oliver_wright
    Tuesday 8 March 2016 01:02
    275 comments

Legalising the sale of cannabis in specialist shops would generate £1bn a year in tax revenue and reduce the harm done to users and society, according to the most detailed plans ever drawn up for the liberalisation of UK drug laws.

The study, which was carried out by a panel of experts including scientists, academics and police chiefs, calls for the UK to follow the lead of some US states and allow the sale of cannabis to over-18s in licensed retail stores.

The report’s conclusions will form the basis of a new drugs policy being drawn up by the Liberal Democrat Party, which is expected to debate the issue at its spring conference later this week.

Nick Clegg backs campaign to legalise the medical use of cannabis
    Under the plans proposed by the expert panel:

Adults would be able to buy cannabis from licensed single-purpose stores modelled on pharmacies, like the marijuana dispensaries operating in Oregon and Colorado.

Home-cultivation of cannabis would also be legal for personal use and small-scale licensed cannabis social clubs could be established. However, branding, promoting or advertising cannabis products would be banned.
    The price, potency and packaging of all sold cannabis would be controlled by the Government with a new regulator established to oversee the market. The price would disproportionately rise for higher-strength cannabis to discourage sales of the most harmful forms of the drug.

Both drug production and sales would be taxed, raising, the panel claims, between £500m and £1bn a year. However, unlike some countries that have legalised cannabis, the panel does not come out in favour of ring-fencing the revenue for drug treatment, prevention and harm reduction.

A new regulator would be established to oversee the market, possibly modelled on Ofgem and Ofwat.
    The experts behind the study say legalisation would reduce drug-related crime and mitigate the harmful effects of the drug on users.

The panel was set up last year by the former Liberal Democrat health minister Norman Lamb and has been chaired by Steve Rolles, from the Transform Drug Policy Foundation.”