@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

“To whom much is given it is said much is expected…”

As I sat to write this for submission on Barbados Underground, I pondered long about a name for this article.

And even longer on what I was going to put in it since it was NOT WRITTEN to sow a feeling OR fear of a “Night of The Long Knives” but to genuinely engage with the leader of this administration and more particularly highlight the skills of those you have surrounded yourself with.

And Yes, it is indeed a presumption to assume that a lowly citizen might pen a letter to their Prime Minister, but mine is the constant hope that “gods in Mt. Olympus might entertain mere men in midguard.”

For there to be a “Mottleyan LEGACY”, I humbly suggest that your focus HAS TO BE ON THE BAJAN PEOPLE.  It CANNOT BE one that is superficial or designed to be a “sleight of hand” exercise and even things like seducing simple pensioners through a promise of a $75 per month increase in pensions, in their right hand, INSTANTLY NULLIFIED by a sewerage levy of $30/mth, taken from their left hand, speaks to a disturbing start out of the blocks especially when that increase is further depleted by commensurate levies on things like the kerosene may pensioners use in stoves and lamps.

It is ten years now that the people or Barbados have been suffering intensely under the DLP but that “suffering” has been going on for much longer than 10 years.

This suffering IS NOT the overt poverty of 5,000 pit toilets which you spoke of removing during your government’s  tenure. No Madamoiselle.

By the way, you do know that an “Adopt a Pit Toilet ” or appropriately named social partnership programme, underwritten by  businesses or corporations, where tax write-offs will be offered, IN LIEU OF PART OF THAT 5% TAX INCREASE, would eradicate said toilet pits in 1 year!

No, de ole man is speaking of an “entrenched suffering and disenfranchisement”, a creeping miasma THAT HAS ENVELOPED THE COLLECTIVE BAJAN PSYCHE, and, for at least 4 administrations, has contributed to, and has impaled our nation – INERT AND IMPOTENT.

Madamoiselle Prime Minister, I am sure that you can see that Bajans have become a nation of “merchandisers OR consumers” we are either one or the other. A fact that your IMF counterparts have gone to pains to state in their Reports.

And there is no place, nor initiative, nor enabling agency that fosters innovation or meaningful “otherness” to break that mould.

And please, do not proffer the inert Enterprise Growth Fund nor the Access Fund corpses or many other pretty named cadavers as innovation facilitators cause $5,000 non collateralized loans is not innovation or meaningful “otherness”.

YOUR AUDITS which you call ” Phase 3 ” of your administration’s proposed actions, those which you declare will see “a continuation of the review of these state owned entities (I should mention though that those two EGFL and Fun Access are “personally owned” and not SOEs heheheheh) they will only confirm that these personal serfdoms CONTINUE TO ACT as enemies to the state and should be immediately disbanded like the guerilla terrorists they are.

Now i would ask you this question only hoping you could answer it? (Not “would” cause I doubt that de ole man is of the ILK to attract your answer)

Do you know, OR HAVE PEOPLE WHO KNOW, how to foster THEN NURTURE that “otherness”, whether it is tangibles or intangibles, assets that are of the calibre and national value that Barbados is seeking?

I am speaking of “tangible intangibles” like Rihanna who, i hasten to add, is “the exception to the rule”, A CHANCE HAPPENING, one which was not fostered nor nurture through anything proactively designed OR planned by Barbados

It was evident to all that your recent mini budget lacked any real proposals from your thought leaders that offset the dire state of the economy

And, coupled with your choices in the Senate, one fears what your “third tier”  or what I call “shadow government” will deliver, your “thought leadership teams” AND THE IDEAS THAT ARE SURFACING

DE OLE MAN goes on record to say that one fears the “pretend arrangements, and sweetheart deals” that are appearing. Take for example that BPI and BMTI pre-arrangement. These structures WILL NOT EMPOWER THE CITIZENS OF BARBADOS, will not breed ANYTHING THAT WILL REDOUND TO YOUR LEGACY AND CERTAINLY PROMOTE THIS NATION

And in parting de ole man will leave these words with you. (again there goes that presumption heheheheh…)

BAJANS ARE NOT STUPID ANY MORE, WE ARE WAKING UP

If the lesson, of how we THE PEOPLE, have voted out the late Errol Walton Barrow, from St John on May 24th 2018, is lost on you AND THE REST OF THE BLP, then I encourage you, AND YOUR COLLEAGUES, including Hartley and Peter, to continue on in prosecution of this thread of SHIFTING CONSTANTLY INCREASING TAXES to the said people while dividing up what has become “THE FATTED COW”, what the DLP previously called The FATTED Calf.

Continue in this thread and you will see how long you ride in MP1, and sojourn at Llaro Court …

Your humble servant

Piece of the Rock Yeah Right

500 responses to “A Mottley Legacy? Or a Mugabe Regime?”

1. Is this the same Mottley that wanted to clamped down on the bloggs?

2. As far as i am concerned she already pulled a Mugabee when she skin up her botsy at barbados creditors and unilaterally declared default without first engaging them

3. @Piece

Are not being overly harsh on the PM?

Cuddear, at least give the lady the 100 days honeymoon and then if you have to come down on her like a ton of bricks, so be it.

She has been dealt a very, very, bad hand…………all the cards were unplayable……….all she could do was to throw in the cards and start afresh.

Dont most of these non contributory pensioners get their water bills paid through the welfare department?

With the NSRL removed, prices should begin to come down in a few months. The PM has said that prices will be monitored by the price control officers and the FTC.

Man, we have had ten hard years, we can wait a few months to see how her policies begin to work. Charles Herbert and Bernie Weatherhead gave her high marks today for her leadership thus far.

4. Now, therefore, the people of Barbados

(a) proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon principles that acknowledge

the supremacy of God,

the dignity of the human person,

their unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms

and the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions;

Four tenets (tenants) of the constitution of Barbados.

How are we doing 52 years after verbalizing the principles on which we exist as a sovereign nation?

Not very good.

5. Besides camping out on Irene Sandiford’s Facebook wall do you even understand what selective default is and how the default process had to be taken with haste give Barbados debt servicing commitment due for this month and the rest of the year?

6. Sir i read what the international creditors stated which was of concern enough to hoist a red flag against the PM by her making a unilateral decision to place barbados in default first without consulting them
    This kind of action on her part is disturbing as along the way if her policies failed to materialise in a way to soften barbados debt creditors would look back at barbados first response of non involvement with them and most likely would be timid or shy away of giving their trust or confidence to barbados when or if further negotiations are necessary to extend any loan

7. @ Piece of the Rock Yeah Right,

After putting a mob a ton a licks in the DLP with your ” not one (ww) seat ” and getting your 30-0 you ent even wait lill bit

and you lambasing you bran new Prime Minister. You ent see how lively and energetic she is since she won de grand prize?

Buh doan mine me. I distracted these days playin guitar licks to Glennis music while dreaming wistfully. lol

8. Thus far the actions of the PM have found favour with the social partnership,the unions, except for Caswell’s caveats,the private sector,the hoteliers and it would appear the IMF.So far we have only heard James Paul the defeated candidate who speaks on behalf of the Agriculture lobby,requesting a meeting with Minister Weir to seek clarity on some issues the sector appear to have.I think Piece is out of the gates a tad early.Let the lady settle down.She has a lot of promise and the time would likely come when the torch light might come in handy.

9. The tourism sector has expressed concerns about the effect the mini budget will have and the government is reported to be reconsidering. We wait forever for phase two and three if the rationalization. Importantly we have to see how the decisions taken so far will have the desired impact as they start to take root from next month.

10. @ David,

cad $92 added to the cad 36 equals. cad $ 128. That is a lot to pay as a departure tax.

However, only Cow’s T Shirt tourist would go to the the Dominican or Cuba because of the extra $90,

Bajans in the Diaspora will smile and bear it. lol

11. I believe that we all should give the New Pm a chance. If we have ideas as to how She could run the government in a way that will be good for the country, then we should be imparting those ideas to her. She did say that she wants to engage the people of Barbados and that is what we should all do, especially those are critics. Ideas are what the new Pm needs now. Let’s all try to give her some and see where it goes. It cannot get any worse that what the DLP has done.

12. Voters always get tricked Avatar
    Voters always get tricked

@ Prodigal

Because two white millionaire business men have found favor with Mia’s mini budget it makes it acceptable.

These two individuals will not be impacted by the taxes like the majority population, indeed these two stands to benefit significantly one way or the other.

No wonder Bajans are brainwashed, whites in Barbados only publicly support any intiative unless they stand to benefit from it or is impacting their revenue source significantly.

13. ” Private garbage haulers will continue to work alongside the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) as the SSA struggles to put trucks on the road to clear piles of household garbage across the island.
    And they will be working, said Minister of the Environment Trevor Prescod, until the SSA gets either new or second-hand trucks sometime later this year.”

14. John
    June 17, 2018 9:59 PM

Now, therefore, the people of Barbados
    (a) proclaim that they are a sovereign nation founded upon principles that acknowledge

the supremacy of God,

the dignity of the human person,

their unshakeable faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms

and the position of the family in a society of free men and free institutions;

From where did we get these absolutely weird values?

From our Quaker heritage!!

It is worth exploring!!

15. The doom and gloom economics of the Mottley administration are causing business to think twice about the new taxes which will imposed higher cost on their goods and services while sounding the alarm to the public of higher consumer cost
    Barbadians were deceive by this pide piper Mia Mottley who promised better but more and more every day it would be more likely that the koolaid which was served during election cycle would become bitter
    Next it would be the IMF agenda laden with bitter fruit asking govt to cut expenditure via govt workers
    Hurrah for more which would equal less to the poor and struggling bajan pocketbooks
    Yes there might be a Mugabe on our hands when all policies fails and demands are fast and coming from international creditors to pay up or else and the populace loud cries of enough is enough gets louder.
    Then what?

16. Good post Piece

Have any one notice the picture in last Sunday Sun Of Nigel ‘Bounty’ Pinder better known as the biggest drug lord in barbados walking in to the swearing in of Parliament with his official ‘invite’.

Now that is what I talking about.Mugabe!

There is another picture on election night with his hand around Mia’s waist.

What is the saying again:’ show me your friends ………….

or You are known by the Company you keep.lol

17. William Simon said it best a nation should have a tax system that looks like it was designed on purpose.

18. @T.Inniss

Agree with you, what is it saying. What was it saying when former minister of housing Michael Lashley gave Bounty a job at the ministry? Yes, what is it saying about our political class.

19. ” Prime Minister, I am sure that you can see that Bajans have become a nation of “merchandisers OR consumers” we are either one or the other. A fact that your IMF counterparts have gone to pains to state in their Reports.

And there is no place, nor initiative, nor enabling agency that fosters innovation or meaningful “otherness” to break that mould.”

Same shortcoming with previous Government policy. Hope new PM addresses it.

20. @Hants
    Yuh got that wrong you mean “grin and bear it”
    Don’t mind me I am on holiday closer to home

21. ” Prime Minister, I am sure that you can see that Bajans have become a nation of “merchandisers OR consumers” we are either one or the other. A fact that your IMF counterparts have gone to pains to state in their Reports.

And there is no place, nor initiative, nor enabling agency that fosters innovation or meaningful “otherness” to break that mould.”

Same shortcoming with previous Government policy. Hope new PM addresses it.

22. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Need many more entrepreneurs in the majority population to broaden the tax base, create thousands of jobs, many more varied businesses with the potential to go regional and international…..

……enough with the crappy and stagnating 6 man minority businesses monopolizing and sucking up everything while not paying their fair share of taxes, enough with the 5 decades old leeches and parasites..in the minority community.

….we have said that on here a thousand times…even IMF saw the problem and put it down in black and white…the Mia government has to shut down that 50 year old scam…or it will continue to drain the country, reduce productivuty stifle the tax bbase and keep the island’s people in debt and poverty.

23. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PUDRYR

I have mixed feelings about the tenor and timing of your remarks. I suspect you might have jumped the gun but the experience of the last 10 years suggest that there is a need to emphatically nip some behaviours in the bud before they fester and damage Barbados irrepairably. In my longstanding view the major cause of Barbados’ current position was the intransigence of the leadership of Freundal Stuart which was evidenced from very early on during the period he was acting for a terminally ill David Thompson.

When DT died there was a thin window of opportunity for Barbados to right itself when the Eager 11 had a chance to effect a change at the top. However, the venality and lack of backbone of all the members of that erstwhile palace coup enabled FS to wreak Barbados and the DLP. The BU family should therefore do whatever is necessary to let the current leadership know that Barbados will not go silently into the darkness that continued economic and social failure will wreak on us all if the current leadership does not correct any incipient leanings to corruption, etc.

An important aspect of that implied conversation must be letting Mia and her cabinet understand that there are watchers out there that will let them know when they are trending wrong and will hold their feet to the fire. Of course a honeymoon period is necessary, but we should not discourage the efforts of fairly non partisan folk like you to point out the fragile shoots of possible heinous future acts.

We also need to point out the efforts of those – like Mariposa and T’innis – who, in a clearly very partisan manner, are seeking to continue to prosecute a futile cause – the resucitation of a dead DLP. I suspect there is a clear difference between the postings of the DLP partisans and people like you. The repetitiveness of certain themes tell the story.

Barbados must not be allowed to drift into an FS type situation where the leadership is not given adequate feedback on how the People feel about what it is doing.

Mia is wise. This is a word to the wise.

24. I will give our PM time to make an impact on the terrible mess left by the DLP over the 10 years but “Piece of the Rock Yeah Right” has stated legitimate concerns.

Please, MAM, do not fall into the usual path our previous governments (both B & D) followed! We need ‘change’ to the old way of operating ’bout here!

Eliminate the inefficient party ‘brow-nosers & hanger-ons’ who only in it to see what they can get out of it ……. operate above-board in all dealings and keep the people involved and informed….. no matter how bitter the medicine & damage it may do to your party….. in other words, PUT BARBADOS FIRST !!!!!

25. Let us not forget the PM needs to solidify her power base in the party. We can use Owen Arthur’s tenure as an example. He had to be handheld by Henry Forde, Cheltenham, Tull et al until he found his way. We are right to use constructive criticism to make her aware. AWTY is correct in his observation regarding the naked partisan bs by a few.

26. Suspecting Mariposa of anything other than reading the agenda of Mottley is silly
    The only one that should be held in suspect is Mia who had promised better but delivers bitter
    The IMF hands which would be driving barbados economy would tell the kind of metal Mia is made of
    The populace mandate on the 24th of May was a mixed bag of accountability and transparency and putting money into peoples pocket
    Time has a strange way of separating fact from fiction a reality which should not be left to chance

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

it is wriiten “THE HEART IS DECEITFUL ABOVE ALL THINGS……..AND DESPERATELY WICKED.”

FIRST EXAMPLE IS THE SO CALLED BISHOP ATHERLY

MORE TO COME BECAUSE PEOPLE REVEAL THEMSELVES

28. Gas !water! Health care food bread milk transportation fees and taxes of all kind gone up in less than two weeks and not a peep of belly hurt from the blp yardfowls
    Them to shame but when the NSRL was put in place
    The cries if belly hurt by Mia could have been heard around the world
    Now her new mantra is telling the masses who she has punished with unbearable taxes is to relax
    We got this
    Is this mudda f..cker for real
    And to think she past some of taxpayers monies to the wealthy is mindblowing

29. Solidfy what power with people like George Payne who is said to have allegedly stole the old woman house and land and sold it right under her house
    David you really teking bajans for a.ss holes just because they bought into Mottley lies and for what it is worth having to spend and sacrifice their few pennies living in a trap triggered by lies and deceit coming from the mouth of Mottley for five years
    Give me a f..king break
    Headlines in the newspaper today tells the true story of the beginning of things to come

30. @David

Glad to see you’ve tucked your red underwater in, took a more in depth look at the situation, evaluated what’s been put on the table, been observant and now appear to be back to JOB 1, BARBADOS UNDERGROUND.

Wily is always the sceptic and did not hold too much hope for the new government, even though he personally known the new leader for a number of years. Madamosselle has done some impressive things in years past she’s also been involved in a number of other questionable activities. The MINI BUDGET basically goes against all economic advice and the BOTTOM line rational is not obvious, there’s a lot of fluff and fluster but there’s no meat on the bone.

All prima facia indicators are pointing to Mugabe Regime rather than a genuine Country Recovery effort.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss June 18, 2018 5:53 AM
    “Good post Piece
    Have any one notice the picture in last Sunday Sun Of Nigel ‘Bounty’ Pinder better known as the biggest drug lord in barbados walking in to the swearing in of Parliament with his official ‘invite’.
    Now that is what I talking about.Mugabe!
    There is another picture on election night with his hand around Mia’s waist.
    What is the saying again:’ show me your friends ………….
    or You are known by the Company you keep.lol”

Good point there, you the total Ingrate aka T I! Didn’t Mia just save your sorry donkey dollar from Devaluation, at least for the time being?

Can you imagine “English Potatoes” costing 4 times in September than what they cost in May, NSRL and all?

Even Jesus himself had to keep company with the devil at some time. So I will sing only once from the same hymn sheet as you.

‘Hand around Mia’s waist,’ well let that go by as being inclined not to associate or dismiss the scruff of the earth. Just as your friend the eponymous Jesus walked among the social rejects of his Biblical time.

But to extend an official invitation to attend the opening of Parliament- the hallowed house of law-making and not law-breaking- can only be deemed as pure sacrilege displayed on the altar of political cover-up for the sins of the political class.

Was this a way of signaling that Michel Lashles would not be a target of investigation for the many ministerial malfeasances which took place during his stint in both ministries where the award of building contracts for so-called low-income housing projects and the dishing out of ZR permits for a behind-the-scene palm-greasing song were the order(s) of the day?

Bad optics, Mia, just bad optics! Honest good-natured Bajans did not put you there for this kind of regurgitated jobby.

Honest hardworking taxpaying people are not going to take easily- even with sweet-talking lubricants- these big drug dicks up their fiscal bottom by just lying pr(o)strate while watching these obvious cases of political bull(y)ing get out of jail by switching allegiance to a different player in the whorehouse of political financing.

32. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David;

Yes! It is fairly easy to tell the real partisans or, as some might say, the yardfowls.

There are at least 3 groups of posters to BU, as segregated by the degree of partisanship to the DLP or BLP or less noticeably the SB or UPP. These groups are only applicable re. posts that may be deemed political. Posters on apolitical topics cannot be categorized in the manner I suggest.

A) The staunch partisans who NEVER veer from one particular party line (either BLP or DLP) irrespective of the degree of damage that line could cause Barbados and often despite the nonsensical nature of the particular case.

B) The temporary partisans who consider that a particular party at a particular period of time (which might be an extended period) is generally doing the right or wrong things for Barbados and its people and whose views change from time to time dependent on the way the country is being governed over the whole or substantial part of an administration.

C) The total non-partisans whose views are informed primarily by the implicit rights or wrongs of a particular incident or posting. They have no clearly discernable political allegiances as seen in their writings.

Based on the content of numerous posts over the last 9 years:-

I would place Mariposa, T’inniss, AC, Observing, Prodigal Son, John and Enuff in group A.
    I would put Hants, Walter Blackman, Artax and Sargeant in Group B
    I would put David, Well Well, Hants, dpD, PUDRYR, Caswell Franklyn, and Jeff Cumberbatch in group C

There are many other posters that do not come to mind as I write.

33. Where has been Piece of the Rock Yeah Right for the ten years plus of’ the DLP’s destruction of our country? I guess that is not as important as writing this what ever it is.

34. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Miller re. your 8:37 am post

I am with your message to Mia in that post. The optics are bad.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ all my fuh dear warriors

In blogging this article I sought to highlight a few things.

Most all I wanted to set the MAM legacy and her potential AS A VOTER EMPOWERED LEADER, to do things while ensuring she stays true to the cause.

I then posited two scenarios which juxtaposed the salient fact thst she IS THE LEADER against what is either a proactive or a passive action on her part in what is (1) the application of an “Indian gift” a pension increase of $75 to emote voters who are pensioners and the taking thst back in 5 days AND (2) a big foot carving up of the TOURISM SECTOR, EVEN BEFORE ENTERING THE HoA.

Wunna seem to believe that since “Mia Amor Mottley has ascended to the throne” that she is to be given some “get out of jail free card” which by self appointed EDICT came into effect on May 25th

So incredulously we are to fall asleep now because Mia at de wheel or in her words “we got dis”

I wish all of You to realise that it was that same somnambulistic attitude with David Thompson that has resulted in us being where we are today AT ONE MONTH AWAY FROM DEVALUATION

Wunna can continue to sleep soundly on the Nyquil of wunna choice but de ole man who has in no small part contributed to this state of being, IS NOT GOING TO SLEEP.

And as long as GOD gives me breath I going give credit to the things she does that are good AND CALL HER OUT ON THE SHYTE THAT IT IS PATENTLY OBVIOUS THAT SHE HAS STARTED HER TERM BY DOING

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your

again my apologies.

I had submitted such elsewhere but I an now reading the blog so have yet to catch up on Everything

I posted an item here earlier and see your assistance please with such. Thank you

37. If the brother-in-law to the Spanish King is not above the law http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-5855941/Spanish-kings-brother-law-begins-serving-six-years-jail-fraud.html
    And the CEO of Volkswagen can be arrested http://money.cnn.com/2018/06/18/investing/audi-ceo-arrested-volkswagen-rupert-stadler/index.html
    Even an ex-Prime Minister is made to pay for his sins Ehud Olmert – Prime minister of Israel from 2006 to 2009, cabinet minister 1988–1992, 2003–2006, mayor of Jerusalem 1993–2003. Convicted of breach of trust in July 2012, and of bribery in March 2015. In May 2015, Olmert was sentenced to six years in prison, but his sentence was reduced to 18 months in December 2015.

PM MAM, we watching yuh, nuh!

38. “Solidfy what power with people like George Payne who is said to have allegedly stole the old woman house and land and sold it right under her house (?????)”

I’m shocked!!!!!!

David BU, I know you said not to make the blog about “ac,” which I intended to do. But after reading her above comment…….I was “harrowed with fear and wonder.”

I cannot believe the above comment actually written by the SAME “ac” that posted SEVERAL contributions to this forum in SUPPORT of the DISHONEST Michael Carrington …………

………………..who STOLE his former wheelchair bound SENIOR CITIZEN client, John Griffith’s money…..refused to respond to the gentleman’s request for payment……forcing him to seek the court’s assistance to recover the said funds?

Or the same “ac” that also DEFENDED Thompson’s and Parris’ scam to “fleece” CLICO policy holders out of $3.333M?

A political yard-fowl is a special breed.

39. We have to wait and see the numbers on 1 January 2019.

So far we got higher taxes, meaning recession, but also lower FX outflow. Barbados must work with the 100 mio. USD left (?) so far, since the island became a rogue state in financial terms after declaring default.

What I do not see – if I look at the numbers (not irrational feelings of national pride or the usual light-mindedness) – is any prospect for economic growth or a substantial surplus in earning FX.

As long as the Barbados civil service stays as it is, Barbados remains a socialist plantation and will never get back on the path to prosperity. Finally, all other islands including Haiti will overtake Barbados in economic terms. The civil service is key for doom and gloom or for redemption.

40. Are-we-there-yet June 18, 2018 8:44 AM

I am disappointed at not seeing classifications for Bushtea and Millertheanunnaki – lol

41. Bro keep knocking yuhself out about my comments.do not give a rats a.ss
    When Carrington problem made the media .the blp yardfowls did not spare a nickle not letting upon Carrington even after he had satisfied the court order
    Now u meant to tell what is Good for the goose does not apply to George Payne who sits not only as a minister but serves in the role of deputy. PM
    His old a.ss should be drag under the coals if only for practising as a solicitor when under English law he is not certified

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with a few items

@ Tron

I am not an economist but only a simpleton wont see that we have a recession.

I am not an economist but only a simpleton will not see that WITHOUT FX earnings or some imput to said FX, we WILL SEE an increase in the cost of consumer goods because the country WILL NOT BE ABLE TO SECURE FX to continue importing new stock

De Ole man has been hollering like John de Baptist (not John the Quaker) that there is NOTHING in the Mini Budget that shows any “otherness” in the “thought leadership”.

That this is triply disturbing should be clearly seen given that all that is arising from the newly assembled

(i) first tier of 30 Ministers, imagine that 30

(b) from the second tier of Her Senators BARRING THE RECENT ADDITION OF Senator Caswell Franklyn

(c) and finally, as it relates to the contributions of her “Third Tier of Shadow Ministers” or what we can dub The “Czars team”

there is a glaring absence of any “thought leadership” of the type that can generate substantial surplus earnings in FX

And your last comment is seriously wrong i.e. “…The civil service is key for doom and gloom or for redemption…”

They ARE NOT KEY to anything

They have to be read a riot act which is supported by her administration.

IF WUNNA IS NOT DOING NUFFIN IN WUNNA SUBSTANTIAL POST causing our administration does not want to give wunna any cause for Akani or Moore to strike “YOU WILL BE REASSIGNED TO THE MINISTRY OF PLANNIFICATION FORTHWITH”

43. @PUDYR

Did she not label it a mini budget and the promise is to bring a phase two and three down the road? Her government has been in office less that a month? Understand the need to keep the pressure on her and if she is to be believed she is receptive to the feedback but we have to be reasonable?

44. @ Piece.

The situaton in Zimbabwe under the R Mugabe was a slow motion decline, but one following the same trajectory, downwards.. . Once Mugabe was a freedom fighter in the Rhodeshia and his followers saw him as a man of the people that will bring them prosperity and independence. He did the second thing first; but never quite got the prosperity thing working for the average citizen of the newly independent country, it trully worked out well for his close assocites and family.

Pm MAM needs time to show us her true colors. It is far too early to place a stamp of approval OR rejection on her or her govt’s policies. They say power corrupts and abolsolte power corrupts abosolety. This is what happened in Zimbabwe.

Our nathioanal anthem says in part “that we are the crasftmen/women of our fate. It also says that “GOd has been the people’s guide”. These are trully stunning statements to make. To me, it means that we are empowered to maunevre “this boat/ship” called Barbados through our govt and elected leaders, however, the course/destination we are following has been set ultimately by God.

Whenever we dont consult with the one who has the entire world on his shoulders we are pretty likely to vere off course and even run around. The action of any govt must line up with God and his principles. The DLP’s licking and clean sweep out, at the poll is more than just a “super intelligent and silky smooth campaingn run by the BLP”. I am sure any poloitical strageist would take all the credit and hank up his fees. God was in the midst and mix. God is not mocked. Fear him and follow his commands, and any PMs rulership will be smooth; prosperous and envied.

JMT

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Further, and i will repeat this again for those among us who are slow, like me, WE HAVE 3 MONTHS, TOPS 6 MONTHS, to show that there are meaningful alternatives that can get us Bajans out of the hole that we are in AND MORE IMPORTANTLY EARNING A SURPLUS !!!

Wunna (AND MAM) understands that?

This is not about de ole man “prosecuting Mia a tad too soon cause SHE JES OUT OF THE GATES!”

Looka we is not the sheeple pun de street that vote for Mia because of a TShirt that says “Mia effing Cares”

Wunna men and women who come here and post and review the posts ARE NOT THE SHEEPLE.

Wunna understands this problem and further understand that the solution IS NOT THE ADROIT SHIFTING OF TAXES FROM ONE SECTION OF THE SOCIETY TO THE OTHER SECTION.

So stop dis intellectual masturbation and get serious here.

What % of our population are pensioners that ARE BELOW THAT LEVEL OF INCOME WHERE THAT CHECK THEY GET EVERY WEEK IS THEIR LIFELINE?

As a pensioner who has toiled faithfully for cuntry you are now being put in a position where one has no alternative income source and you are balancing between buying a pack of eclipse for $2.99 and the other suspect Chinese Brand for $2.67.

Wunna comprehends that?

No sireee that type of financial constraint is foreign to wunna thoughts AS IT HAD TO HAVE BEEN TO THOSE PEOPLE WHO TOLD MIA bribe dem with $75/month, causing wunna getting big bucks when de month come so that is not a concern of yours AT ALL.

And so she gives them $75/month and taxes them $120 – $125/month more

Whu in all my years of watch Robert Flynn playing Robin Hood to the most recent recent Men in Tight or the superlative “when Things were Rotten” i have never seen a Robin Earl of Lockworth? do one of these shuffles!

You bring gifts to the people in the highways and hedges and then hide in same highways and hedges AND TEIF from de same SHEEPLE?

Whuloss de granson would have a field day with that one.

So here is what de ole man suggests.

Evaluate the very best of local initiatives, or cross regional collaborations or South/South Collaborations that are of the calibre that can generate surplus FX in 3 to 6 months.

2.For My Lord’s sake DO NOT USE the anachronism Cardinal Warde. No don’t let me write that, but rather DO NOT USE THE LITANY OF NON PERFORMERS WHO HAVE PRODUCED NOTING DURING THEIR TENURE.

I begging you Mia, please avoid these people OR MEK DEM SHOW YOU WHAT THEY HAVE DONE! not what they think they can do, this is not a time for experimentation.

Seek to engage the experts at the InterAmerican Development Bank specifically reach out to Sylvia Dohnert (Chair) Lead Private Sector Development Senior Specialist she is the Executive Director of Compete Caribbean facility.

Lef out the talkees like Lisa Cummins and dem rest uh people Mia go to the real real people dat does do this successfully for dem living

THis IS NOT TIME FOR SOCIAL EXPERIMENTS Mia.

Not if you love this country and are serious about a LEGACY

De ole man sorry to get on dis way and I know that the title going cause you neophytes a conniption but dat is not de ole man’s objective Mia.

I fear the direction dat we going in I FEARED THE ONE THAT WE WERE GOING IN TOO and thankfully that one is done forever (and I promise you any one of dem dat show he face DE GRANSON GOT SOMETING FOR DEM but he got someting for you too heheheheh if you doan fly right)

46. @AWTY

I am not offended that you label me as a partisan…………I was middle of the road until I had to endure the last decade. Actually, I thought OSA was getting tired in 2007 with his constant outbursts at his cabinet members and the public.

However, yes I wanted to see the back of the DLP and I boldly support the BLP under Mia. I am willing to back her as we all know that she has inherited a MESS and needs all the support of the people who love this country.

In the future, if she does wrong or advocates policies that I feel are not right, I will speak out on BU. In the meanwhile, yes for now I am in total support………partisan, so be it! No offense taken……just explaining my position.

47. Tron
    June 18, 2018 10:44 AM
    “As long as the Barbados civil service stays as it is, Barbados remains a socialist plantation and will never get back on the path to prosperity.”

Socialist always want to own the Plough and say all hands on the Plough and what we get will be shared but since the Plough belongs to me I will get the Lion Share. However a Free Market Enterprise person wants Everyone to Own a Plough and to Work for Themselves and to keep what is theirs.

The Moral of the Story is that you either work for the man with the Plough or you Own your own and Reap the Benefits from it.

https://quotes.thefamouspeople.com/images/quotes/ludwig-von-mises-33368.jpg

48. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Prodigal

re reply @12:17 pm

No offense meant to any of the people I listed as examples in my groupings.

49. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

SirFuzzy

Top class post at 11:42 am!

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David June 18, 2018 11:34 AM

What Madam PM Mottley and her minister responsible for tourism have to do as a matter of ‘utter’ urgency is to clear the air on the Hyatt Hotel project.

What really is the current status with this ‘investment’ project which has been touted ad nauseam as an economic game-changer despite the cloud of legal controversy hanging over its erection?

Even the sitting member for the City of Bridgetown had indicated in the past his support, in principle, for the erection of such a towering generator of ‘promised’ economic activity in his riding.

So Madam PM, please let the people know what really this proposed Hyatt erection is all about.
    Is it really the economic saviour of your dying World Heritage site called depressed Bridgetown which was widely promoted to be a fillip to the country’s dwindling FDI portfolio, a key component of your country’s foreign reserves?

Or was it just a wet dream of Maloney & Co to stimulate the imagination of greed and corruption of certain political crooks in the previous administration of premature detumescence including the former MoT who promised time after time the ‘coming’ of Hyatt from a few days to a couple of weeks?

Should we now rename the Hyatt hotel project the Onan Quickie Joint for scammers and conmen where you can prematurely discharge while granting tax-free concessions but can never check in to be served by a ‘working girl’ from Nelson Street?