@ Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

“To whom much is given it is said much is expected…”

As I sat to write this for submission on Barbados Underground, I pondered long about a name for this article.

And even longer on what I was going to put in it since it was NOT WRITTEN to sow a feeling OR fear of a “Night of The Long Knives” but to genuinely engage with the leader of this administration and more particularly highlight the skills of those you have surrounded yourself with.

And Yes, it is indeed a presumption to assume that a lowly citizen might pen a letter to their Prime Minister, but mine is the constant hope that “gods in Mt. Olympus might entertain mere men in midguard.”

For there to be a “Mottleyan LEGACY”, I humbly suggest that your focus HAS TO BE ON THE BAJAN PEOPLE.  It CANNOT BE one that is superficial or designed to be a “sleight of hand” exercise and even things like seducing simple pensioners through a promise of a $75 per month increase in pensions, in their right hand, INSTANTLY NULLIFIED by a sewerage levy of $30/mth, taken from their left hand, speaks to a disturbing start out of the blocks especially when that increase is further depleted by commensurate levies on things like the kerosene may pensioners use in stoves and lamps.

It is ten years now that the people or Barbados have been suffering intensely under the DLP but that “suffering” has been going on for much longer than 10 years.

This suffering IS NOT the overt poverty of 5,000 pit toilets which you spoke of removing during your government’s  tenure. No Madamoiselle.

By the way, you do know that an “Adopt a Pit Toilet ” or appropriately named social partnership programme, underwritten by  businesses or corporations, where tax write-offs will be offered, IN LIEU OF PART OF THAT 5% TAX INCREASE, would eradicate said toilet pits in 1 year!

No, de ole man is speaking of an “entrenched suffering and disenfranchisement”, a creeping miasma THAT HAS ENVELOPED THE COLLECTIVE BAJAN PSYCHE, and, for at least 4 administrations, has contributed to, and has impaled our nation – INERT AND IMPOTENT.

Madamoiselle Prime Minister, I am sure that you can see that Bajans have become a nation of “merchandisers OR consumers” we are either one or the other. A fact that your IMF counterparts have gone to pains to state in their Reports.

And there is no place, nor initiative, nor enabling agency that fosters innovation or meaningful “otherness” to break that mould.

And please, do not proffer the inert Enterprise Growth Fund nor the Access Fund corpses or many other pretty named cadavers as innovation facilitators cause $5,000 non collateralized loans is not innovation or meaningful “otherness”.

YOUR AUDITS which you call ” Phase 3 ” of your administration’s proposed actions, those which you declare will see “a continuation of the review of these state owned entities (I should mention though that those two EGFL and Fun Access are “personally owned” and not SOEs heheheheh) they will only confirm that these personal serfdoms CONTINUE TO ACT as enemies to the state and should be immediately disbanded like the guerilla terrorists they are.

Now i would ask you this question only hoping you could answer it? (Not “would” cause I doubt that de ole man is of the ILK to attract your answer)

Do you know, OR HAVE PEOPLE WHO KNOW, how to foster THEN NURTURE that “otherness”, whether it is tangibles or intangibles, assets that are of the calibre and national value that Barbados is seeking?

I am speaking of “tangible intangibles” like Rihanna who, i hasten to add, is “the exception to the rule”, A CHANCE HAPPENING, one which was not fostered nor nurture through anything proactively designed OR planned by Barbados

It was evident to all that your recent mini budget lacked any real proposals from your thought leaders that offset the dire state of the economy

And, coupled with your choices in the Senate, one fears what your “third tier”  or what I call “shadow government” will deliver, your “thought leadership teams” AND THE IDEAS THAT ARE SURFACING

DE OLE MAN goes on record to say that one fears the “pretend arrangements, and sweetheart deals” that are appearing. Take for example that BPI and BMTI pre-arrangement. These structures WILL NOT EMPOWER THE CITIZENS OF BARBADOS, will not breed ANYTHING THAT WILL REDOUND TO YOUR LEGACY AND CERTAINLY PROMOTE THIS NATION

And in parting de ole man will leave these words with you. (again there goes that presumption heheheheh…)

BAJANS ARE NOT STUPID ANY MORE, WE ARE WAKING UP

If the lesson, of how we THE PEOPLE, have voted out the late Errol Walton Barrow, from St John on May 24th 2018, is lost on you AND THE REST OF THE BLP, then I encourage you, AND YOUR COLLEAGUES, including Hartley and Peter, to continue on in prosecution of this thread of SHIFTING CONSTANTLY INCREASING TAXES to the said people while dividing up what has become “THE FATTED COW”, what the DLP previously called The FATTED Calf.

Continue in this thread and you will see how long you ride in MP1, and sojourn at Llaro Court …

Your humble servant

Piece of the Rock Yeah Right

500 responses to “A Mottley Legacy? Or a Mugabe Regime?”

1. The Greenback I appreciating at a rapid pace, what are the implications of this for the Barbados economy? What are the government’s economic advisers saying about this? What are our commentators saying about this?

2. On my last visit to Toronto about five years ago I asked my host why were we hearing helicopters overhead so late at night.He said they were checking roofs for marijuana factories.How do they know I enquired.Easy he said,they were looking for roof tops which do not have snow deposits.

3. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Oft has it transpired that you have reached out to public officials here on BU asking them to answer to a question about their dealings and their integrity and all of that FOI pretty talk.

In fact many have been the times when you have for example asked Downlowe to declare his hand with the Cahill situation

And you have done the same with Michael Carrington?

And With Freundel Stuart and all the rests of them.

Yet here it is that someone is asking you to make a declaration as it relates to 4 simple questions and you are hiding from every request for that information.

Don’t you think that having taken the his road of the Wrong that needs assistance that you are somehow bound to adhere to your rules?

Why is it that you can’t answer any of these questions about WHAT ARE YOUR GENERAL DATA PROTECTION REQUIREMENTS?

1.How prepared is Barbados Underground to share with us bloggers at BU if we bloggers have any similar Freedom of Information rights as are guaranteed under the GDPR?

2.Do you propose to adhere to any GDPR policies on behalf of your bloggers?

3.Can your “data subjects” exercise any rights as it relates to (a) a right to be informed and/OR (b) a right for our data to be forgotten?

4.Would you prepared to share any such BU GPDR Policies under a separate Blog here where you detail your policies?

5.Has the BU site been sold or is under different shareholdership and/or external allegiances that are inimical to the interests of us Bloggers?

https://i.imgur.com/5hnZkxQ.png

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

5. Piece,

Is your question related to if David (WordPress) is monetising BU? Does GPDR applicable in Barbados?

6. Piece…do you know something we don’t, I mean, I go on many blogs, those I know are monitored by everyone and their uncle and still be my charming self cause at the end of the day it does not matter if am nasty or nice, they can have me either way they want depending on my mood, so don’t bother yaself.

So I did the ancestry genetic testing sometime back and one relative was so concerned about the info out there and I had to remind them…do you remember when ya gave US immigration ya blood for this and that test…well they have had ya genetic results before you and for years…and mine too.

Don’t sweat the small things.

7. @well well

“Don’t sweat the small things.”

These are NOT SMALL THINGS, the ownership of the BLOG, its stated Rules and Regulations, GDPR compliance and any Political Affiliations are paramount in ensuring INTEGRITY discussions.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Hal Austin

No.

My query is related to a number of things

I am concerned because of a blatant anomaly which has manifest itself variously over the last few months in a format that is definitively Mugabean in its styling.

Here is its format in plain English.

For x years anyone who is anyone has come here and kicked the DLP in its behing for the things that it has not done.

Not one man ent say a word against the Contra DLP team whether they post by day or by night they were allowed to do so WITHOUT EXCEPTION without any type of metronome.

You know what a metronome is right? A metronome is a device that produces an audible click or other sound at a regular interval that can be set by the user, typically in beats per minute. Musicians use the device to practice playing to a regular pulse.

It was inconsequential how the battering against the DLP proceeded, whu de ole man knows that well I was among those who aided and abetted in dismissing the very worst government that this country has ever seen.

2.So up comes our New Prime Minister and like all uh wunna I congratulated her on her attainment of the Office of Prime Minister but hold on one second there Hal, where did I deviate from my Third Pary Movement that proposes a set of people who are dedicated to the well being of Barbados?

Where has my interval changed Hal?

Check out my postings on this Hal, see where mine was a hope that men and women with integrity and vision would arise to carry our country to where it needed to be.

And then I “saw” a specific thing and I, seeing this vision stopped my prosecution of the One for the Other.

The mission was accomplished, there was no dilution of the purpose, and we arrive at a supposedly new place.

Now I want you to remember that there is no metronome here, there is no interval Hal, you nor I ent got tomorrow put down and so de ole man, remembering the former infelicities, sought a truce and proposed a quickening of the pace cause more than anyone else if you check my submissions in the week of the GE it is noted that I did not even pick my teet agains the calibre of the “first 11 team” that the BLP has canvassed.

And let be be kind here, 66% of dem is bare posers and fall into the very same category as the previous DLP but you and others going see that soon.

My focus then was on Mia and what she was proposing and the mechanisms of delivery, in short how ready she was able to hit the road.

And in the space of a few days what was presented as a budget was of concern to me Hal.

It was and is utter folly, she was being fed by the same bottom feeders of the previous administration BUT THE SITUATION IS EVEN MORE PERILOUS.

So My Piece was solely to (presumptuously) suggest some caution to the new administration, SEEING THAT YOU AND I are supposedly Citizens of this New Covenant, and to say to the so-called followers that the Honourable Blogmaster so knowledgeably spoke who were “monitoring the site” “wunna going in the wrong direction and the MESSAGE YOU ARE DELIVERING, IS WRONG!”

My Stoopid Cartoons message is very simple Hal “they are hurting the very people that have helped them get here!”

And I have been chanting continuously to the neophytes, proselytes and fanatics who come a-visiting “Your programs HAVE TO INCLUDE the average man and woman” and simplistic things like privatizing the Tourism marketing initiative EVEN BEFORE YOU GET INTO THE HoA, smacks of the same UNDERHAND deals of Stinkliar and his demons.

5.You dun know that de ole man ent got no friends, in either administration. so de grandson does give me VPNs and other toolsto try to ensure that dese fellers dont compromise me machine AGAIN.

Now there is something that you do not know, and I will not tell you, but suffice it to say that a specific protocol was broken when this submission was made to BU and that set off an alarm.

And suddenly so… WHAPLAX, additional oddities. VMWARE instances reporting 9000 prt range attacks pun machines that are left on cause dem safe.

And of course the BLP Virtual Wet-team get sent out

So what does all that mean Mr. Hal Austin?

For de ole man it means that notwithstanding the fact that no commerce obtains on this site, which by the way is not a delimiter for GDPR, mine is a belief that with all that is going on in this world, a la Cambridge Analytica, it is incumbent of this champion of George Linnaeus banks to at least have some semblance of appearing to be moving into a regime (sorry wrong word) an era of Transparency and Accountability.

When you come here each time that you come here, The Honourable Blogmaster knows where you have come from and where you leave when you move from this site.

In fact certain available available analytics apis and other code can retrieve your history Hal

So if your were a man who went to purchase a Victoria Secrets panty (FOR THE WIFE OF COURSE) The Honourable Blogmaster, if he was so inclined, COULD TELL WHAT COLOUR AND SIZE THE PANTY was because of his illegal access to your history.

So my current deviation from this Mugabe Topic is not in fact a deviation but a matter of seeking full disclosure from the Honourable Blogmaster as to where his loyalties lie per BU User data.

In fact ONe can only watch now as Carl Moore or Peter Harris or mr. Bryan of the Nation News Barbados Today and the Advocate were wise reviewers what they could do with information such as this presumption of an ole man

Did I answer your question?

9. The basic lesson is that there is no hiding place on the internet – nor any deleting of information. Once on it is on for good. The first thing employers (and the police) in the UK do is to search the internet for your online history. I know, I did it with job applicants.

10. @Hal
    And this maelstrom, you still wish to strip us of our masks?

11. Yes. They know who you are. And if necessary, they can compel the internet companies to reveal the information.

12. @Piece

I’m glad to see that it was not only Wily, the dumb coyote, that noticed the suttle shift in how the wind was blowing at Barbados Underground leading up to and since the election. Your obviously aware of more background info than Wily who was giving the blog MASTER his 5 seconds to bathe in his new found BLP glory. Wily would not be happy to learn that some outside affliation was directing the blog discussions, if Wily finds this was/Is the case then he will have to reevaluate any future blog participation.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Wily Coyote.

That which i tek up 5000 characters to write you wrote in your singular stying by saying “…the ownership of the BLOG, its stated Rules and Regulations, GDPR compliance and any Political Affiliations are paramount in ensuring INTEGRITY discussions…”

The demise of the Barbados Free Press and its reputation as a disseminator? of blogger information is still fresh in these cyber-halls.

Hal seems to have oversimplified this matter by going into the domain of what people should be aware of when they post data BUT THAT IS NOT THE ISSUE AT POINT HERE.

And that is actually the crux of the matter.

People after a while, like 11 years at the helm of an institution, lose sight of why they do what they engaged to do years ago.

And no I will never use the 10 year tenure of the DLP to reinforce that point cause they were visionless before and they will forever be visionless.

A fellow starts a blog and it morphs into a place where people congregate like a rum shop to mek themselves look good.

But after a while what starts to happen is that it becomes a place where it attracts some of the better minds who wish to make a difference and who have the skills to “make it so”.

So let me use Dr. GP as an example.

Here is a seasoned doctor who IN HIS SLEEPING HOURS, would outshine some of the so called brightest doctors on the roll call @ today. A man who has no fear of we underlings of woman born and who can tell all the sirs and knights to apply their lips to the adipose matter in a classic cussing dat de ole man hath copied.

I does do that regular teif dese big word gems from him, and the Luminary and the Sage Anunnaki although i dont learn where to use them properly.

Now imaging if there were a meaningful system to engage his ideas in a vibrant BU led environment INSTEAD OF the ideas4barbados email at the GIS agency?

you comprehend whu I mean?

THat is where a 11 year driver would seek to go to give true meaning to the BU institution but we have a petulant webmaster who does not think that de ole man should be saying anything to usurp his King of the Rock status becuse MIA GOT DIS and we are not to fly into her soup.

So 11 years going be wasted because he dont want to deign to discuss anything that would ensure Integrity Discussions because there might be no Integrity behind this facade.

BUT de ole man ent going be heah fuh long.

I going write an email to de editors o dem newspapers and see effing dem would give de ole man a pick…

Whuloss I may even write an email to Naked Departure and see effing she might be interested in upping de volume of her site…

Whu you tink?

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Wily…were you able to do anything about the Facebook brouhaha.

Ah bet ya still go on it though, without one word of complaint, no questions asked and ah bet ya never joined the class action lawsuit either.

I repeat, don’t sweat the small things.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Hal Austin June 19, 2018 4:12 PM

The Greenback I appreciating at a rapid pace, what are the implications of this for the Barbados economy?”

This was mentioned elsewhere, but not discussed. Seems the bloggers are interested in family separation of U.S border crashers, the claimed manipulation of posts, and the standard political swatting by party loyalists.

16. @ Hal,

I see form your statement “Yes. They know who you are. And if necessary, they can compel the internet companies to reveal the information….” that you are a difficult nut to crack

A woman comes to the internet and on a Blog about Rape by Bosses she announces that she was raped by a suitor and she ends up burnt to death AS HAS BEEN HAPPENING in more than 35 instances in india when a rape victim spoke out.

Someone comes here and talks about homosexual marriages and the upcoming one at bucking-HAM palace and I ronald we jonesing come here and announce my nuptials (ooops forgot to set that up by saying i am in the Botty bown killer jurisdiction of Jamaica and dem lik up my a.s.*

What is so different about me seeking to safeguard my safety by continuing to blog anonymously BECAUSE I fear that the simple minded people who are Bajans going persecute my ole man donkey?

Look here it is that i come here and talk bout Legacy or Regime and immediately all the stops get pull out and between people calling me and another zealous prosecutor of the topic jealous we get told that we too fast, and den when dat was not working we articles get ammmmmm “disappeared” or put in suspense.

You need to understand what the nature of persecution is in Barbados though and how relentless these small minded people are when they know that you have said something about them..

You are dead correct that they know who we are.

And though you are patently wrong about the ISP “knowing who we are”, you are correct that they WILL COMPEL THE Honourable Webmaster to deliver up their records

What you are incorrect about, or have presumed the outcome for, is the legal aspects of the case and its outcomes.

Look i have put down the name of Ronald WeJonesing to make a point.

Who can you say is the poster Hal?

Is it WeJonesing? or is it a Nom de plume?

And whose email it is on the record from an IP that is in Jalapy?

Ronaldwejonesing@bulleration.com

So let me see then Username Ronald WeJonesing with email Ronaldwejonesing@bulleration.com with an IP address located in Canada, today, Germany tomorrow and all the VPN sites around the world is going to find themselves locked way in prison, in Bulbados, cause you and carl moore and de res of wunna compile these circumstances?

But is leave the legal aspect of the case to the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch.

He may say that the preponderance of evidence may be of such quantum that even in the absence of a computer that Dale Marshall and Edmund Hinkson might so compel our Honourable Blogmaster to give up the records in his possession for just de ole man for example.

But then I would ask you kind sir the question

Is it that you are saying that these men specifically the Honourable Blogmaster ae of such poor character that they would destroy 11 years of work, and a community of Rum Shop Drinkers jes to get one poor ole man?

would it be then a further requirement of such prosecution that the ole man would be specially rendered so that he would be held incommunicado under the Special Laws that Fumbles passed?

SPEAKING OF SAID LAWS DO YOU KNOW IF THE HONOURABLE PRIME MINISTER Madamoiselle Mia Mottly has repealed or intends to repeal such Draconian Laws?

Or should we expect that since such are in keeping with a Mugabe that the laws will be allowed to remain? I going get de grandson compose someting bout dat one fuh yuh

“WATCH MUH NUH”

17. AFTER reading that Haitians required a Visa to enter Barbados and the new Government has scrapped the require, it begs the question.

What de ass Freundel Stuart was doing for the Salary he was being paid ????
    Walking bout talking Sewage ?

JUST ASKING

18. Gravatar allows you to manage all of your online identities in one place on the web, even yuh jonesing in one piece. lol

19. My loyalty to BU knows almost no bounds…. as long as he allows me to continue posting in the Diaspora Corner. lol

20. All Stupid ass Laws passed will be Repealed.The DLP Government is the worst ever Government in the history of Governments anywhere in the history of the world and other places.
    The worst Prime Minister, Minister of Finance, Attorney General and the worst Cabinet Ever
    Dems Then: Dems Never Ever Again

Dems Then Dems Never Ever aphuckingen

21. Yes David Sold out.
    Every sh.it gone up in barbados in less than two weeks and Davidblp aint saying s.hit

22. The PSV drivers asked Mottley wuh bout us wuh happen to our slice of the pie The gas bill got we drowning.and Mottley tell them watch me nuh
    Every shit gone up in bubbadus in two weeks

23. @ Mariposa,

Unfortunately, the truth is that single example that you provided is a gut searcher.

And it is going to even get worse when the green economy replacement buses are sourced for the Transport Board buses.

But here is de ole man’s suggestion as it relates to what will be the imminent death of poor black ZR drivers IF PROVISION IS NOT MADE FOR THEM AT THIS TIME for that new technology.

1.Create Hubs so that the Transport Board new efficient buses run from B’town to these Hubs that would be located at Speightstown, Oistins Holetown, Six Roads and someplace in St George

Relocate the ZRs at the hubs so that they only have to effect short routes
    Have transfers cards for for the ZRs to use in concert with this new enhanced harmonized transport plant.
    the first leg on the TB buses can be cheaper because of the lesser consumption of the TB green energy buses

5.THe transactions/payments should be electronic to ensure that no teifing occurs and de ZR men and owners all get their real respective incomes.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

W8…wha happen to Blogmaster your assistance please?

25. Tuition Fees gone
    NSRL gone
    Road Tax gone
    Sewage gone
    DLP the worst Political Party in the Eastern Caribbean and the WORST Government since the Word began the world I( In the beginning was the Word )

Education is important . Everything got to be paid FOR SO share around the burden
    The people dont mind paying . it is how the money is managed
    IGNORANT DLP HUMBUGS want to suggest with a new BLP Government – all of a sudden everything should free. Never was ; Never will be

DEMS THEN : DEMS NEVER EVER AGAIN
    Billions of dollars and Nothing to show
    LOCK DEM UP !!
    Mariposa to DODDS

26. Ronald WeJonesing,

I am familiar with the dark nature of Barbadian culture and have stated it on numerous occasions on BU. In our culture, even a difference of opinion, as you say, can lead to a war of words and, in time, to aggression and physical violence.
    It is a cultural thing and applies even to close relatives and friends. I am not an evolutionary psychologist, but it looks to me as if it is rooted in our slaval past.
    Look at the reaction of elderly keyboard warriors on BU when they do not agree with a view expressed. These are not teenagers, but people who have lived a full life, many of them unfulfilled, and are preparing to go to their graves bitter and twisted.
    I will give a simple example, not that I am complaining: hate is a word rarely used in Britain, a society I am familiar with. People may say they dislike someone or something, but rarely hate. I have had an anonymous person writing on BU, and from his/her contributions s/he was grown up in the 1960s, talking about hating me and wanting to see the back of me – all because of my contrarian views on BU. This speaks to a deeper psychological state.
    Or just look at the magistrate courts and what passes as their sentencing policy. There you get the hate and contempt for ordinary people, many of them down on their luck, and not a single voice from the so-called respectable professional class.
    I have had the good fortune of a few young people of Barbadian heritage asking me if they should uproot and move to Barbados to contribute to the development of society, which is noble.
    I always tell them the same thing: only if they can support themselves independently of Barbadians; if they have to depend on a job and living with relatives, then don’t.

27. Gas bill up food prices up electric bills up water bill up and the creditors bawling all in just two weeks and the IMF tell wunna more to come.
    Mia tek bajans fuh fool all in two weeks
    What she Now

28. The funny of all that has happened in two weeks is the rolling out of the blp propaganda machine aided by the media who has been on a big foot move to brainwash barbadians that in two weeks mia has moved a mountain when in fact all Mia has done is moved the mountain closer to people backdoor putting more debt on the country and in peoples pocket book

29. Boat owners dem complaining too. Say they never paid road tax but the levy put on diesel going to force dem to raise prices or go out of business
    And the blp propaganda machine spewing garbage about betterwhen the people saying the pill real bitter

30. Yeah…seize their properties and all that they stole from taxpayers and pensioners using scams…they are thieves.

“A Government minister wants the island’s two main revenue collection agencies to go after self-employed professionals who willfully avoid paying their fair share of taxes.

Minister of Home Affairs Edmund Hinkson today suggested that a number of such professionals, particularly lawyers linked to the ousted Democratic Labour Party, were dodging taxes and contributions to the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) and the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), and he implored the two state agencies to examine their books to force them to comply.

“I would wish to reiterate . . . in terms of [BRA] officers and NIS officers being more diligent in terms of going to self-employed persons and professionals and looking at their books. They have that authority under the law. The impression I get is that they do not use that legal authority as much as they should,” Hinkson told his parliamentary colleagues during debate on the amendment to the Barbados Revenue Authority Act.

The amended removes the clause which required those seeking to obtain a tax clearance certificate to facilitate a conveyance of land, to pay all taxes, interest and penalties accrued under the Land Tax Act, Cap 78A.

Emphasizing the need for everyone who qualifies to pay taxes, Hinkson said those who dodged taxes were depriving the country of much needed revenue.

And without pointing fingers at anyone in particular, the minister suggested there were several lawyers partial to the last administration who were “beneficiaries of the fatted calf” who might not have paid their taxes.

“The Barbados Revenue Authority may very well have a very fertile territory in going and examining the books of some of these beneficiaries of the fatted calf under the last Government. These attorneys-at-law who got exorbitant legal fees, charging six, and eight and ten times what they should have charged. That is fertile territory. Go and examine their books . . . the VAT [Value Added Tax] too, whether they have paid the requisite amount of taxes.”

31. “The Barbados Revenue Authority may very well have a very fertile territory in going and examining the books of some of these beneficiaries of the fatted calf under the last Government.”

This is the most frightening word I have seen so far.

A nice turn of phrase, but it is possible that “BLP” lawyers also lunched on the fatted calf and did not pay the requisite amount of taxes. But here we have government painting a bulls-eye on a segment of the society, leafing to the creation of a Medes and Persian society.

What is the game plan?
    First they came from high profile lawyers who lunched on the fatted calf
    Then the educated who supported those who distributed the fatted calf
    Then the yardfowls who did not even get a smell of the fatted calf
    Then they shared the once fatted calf with each other

Go after everyone, We do not selective witch hunting. Be a government for all and not a cut-ass for your enemies.

32. *These are the most frightening words I have seen so far
    *leafing=leading
    *First they came for
    *We do not need
    Hoping you all have a better start to your day than I am having.

33. Mariposa,

You are on the right track. The prime minister’s Phase one Budget speech was promising, since then we have seen little of consequence. Lots of PR, but no action. The temptation is to wait for Phases two and three. That is a delaying tactic.
    We all know the DLP was incompetent – and may even be dishonest – so there is no need to continue to give new numbers about the level of this incompetence. We want to move forward with action. So far there is none, apart from an increase in state pensions, a so-called settlement with the NUPW (which they appear not to have been part of), open sesame for Haitians (necessary, but should have been part of a broader CARICOM policy) and a promise of closer ties with our neighbours. Still no meat on the bones.
    The hurried meeting with the IMF was simply a courtesy call; the new prime minister of a small state will be in Washington and would the director-general of the Brettons Wood organisation have a gap in her diary for a meet-and-greet. Courtesy says yes.
    Warren Bennis, in his book Leaders: The Strategies for Taking Charge, gives us four key components of good leadership – vision, communication, building trust and self-knowledge.
    He concluded that great leaders had an ability to leave their egos at the door.
    By the way, the deal with Haiti (which we appear to have concluded without even consulting the Haitians) should have included a deal to buy rice from the impoverished nation. In that way, we would be guaranteeing our rice supply while providing jobs in Haiti for locals.

34. Good question, some are just too smart for their own good. Keep telling you guys the blogmaster has been at this awhile, ‘throw a left but watch for the right’.

35. Ha. Ha. Here the blp Trying to pull the wool over the people eyes with talk about going after tax cheats . Wasnt it Mia without transparency gave away millions of taxpayers money to tax cheats..The blp have figured out how to stupified the populace after having the upperhand in serving koolaid which has turn bitter to the masses and they keep drinking. Dont be fooled the media has a strong helping hand in this Propaganda machine
    No one in the media has of yet question any of Mia unilateral decisions starting with her pushing the default button by asking Mia and with whose advice was such a hasty decision made
    Even the Haitian issue giving them open broders. No debate . Nada public is told by Hinkson about a “Law”
    No one in the media follows through to ask the minister. How and why was that law put in place
    I am afraid that barbados is slowly getting closer to a dictatorship and these PR propaganda press conferences are put in place as a mechanism to detract and convince the populace in an effective manner with a suttle underground tow to weaken the resolve of the people against speaking out against govt policies
    Using the media is an effective way of making sure that in the final analysis the dots towards a dictatorship would be connected and the populace would have no other choice but to accept
    Right now the few voices who see the aire of deceit that permeates the landscape would continue to speak and would not be silenced

36. Recently talk to a pensioner who said that the increase was more like giving a half of a loaf and govt taking back a whole loaf from them.
    The pensioner said how does govt expect poor people like themselve who work hard to live off retirement wage when the monies will go back to the govt and business
    They said the move to ask people to pull such a overladen basket would literally destroyed many households as they struggle with their own personnel economic problems
    The media has become stupified so much so they have all but forgotten a moral and ethical standard practice in journalism called objectivity
    A standard put in place that disallow disinformation from seeping into a
    democracy that attempts to brainwash the masses
    Right before barbadians eyes the media has become partners of new unchartered path of disinformation design to fool the masses by this one team govt

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well, Well June 20, 2018 6:00 AM
    “The Barbados Revenue Authority may very well have a very fertile territory in going and examining the books of some of these beneficiaries of the fatted calf under the last Government. These attorneys-at-law who got exorbitant legal fees, charging six, and eight and ten times what they should have charged. That is fertile territory. Go and examine their books . . . the VAT [Value Added Tax] too, whether they have paid the requisite amount of taxes.”

That simply confirms that at least one decent well-meaning member of the Mottley administration is reading BU and is not afraid to heed the advice given to this new administration.

Why should ordinary hard-working and mainly poor Bajans be expected to bear the heavy load of fiscal adjustment and recovery and those who contributed to the country’s economic sickness refuse to carry their fair share?

Why should poor people pay an additional $45.00 per month as a tax via their water bills when the likes of Greenverbs Parris and other qualified crooks disguised behind the cloak of QC’s while receiving millions from the Treasury by way of inflated legal fees are allowed to evade taxes?

Do we ‘sincerely’ expect a QC who blatantly refuses to pay his bar fees would be that even-handed and with a socially-pricked conscience be fervently prepared to pay his fair share of taxes on the many lucrative contracts for legal services rendered by his business partners to the government and its agencies over the past 7 years and 7 months?

We are almost certain that the amount of taxes evaded by these scoundrels of the Bajan society- if some of it is recovered- can pay for at least 10 new garbage trucks even if the forex has to be borrowed to finance their acquisition.

PM Mottley and her new crew ‘manning’ the financially damaged ship of state renamed “Bankrupt Barbados” must assure the ordinary taxpayers, especially those working under the PAYE system, that those who can afford to pay have indeed been paying before asking the man-in-the-street to put an additional hand to the fiscal plough called the Broken Trident.

Not only must the ordinary taxpayers demand ‘No taxation without proper representation’, so too must they demand ‘No additional taxes without ensuring fairness and compliance ‘by all who benefit from the social advantages Barbados has to offer.

The Mottley administration has no other option but to assure the public that Justice, although blindfolded, is being pursued on behalf of the poor taxpayers who have had to carry the cross of financial malfeasance and downright corruption fabricated by the previous deceitful lying pilfering administration.

For such a worthy national cause we would entreat in the most supplicant manner our ‘even-handed’ Blogmaster David to put a bit of pressure on the current administration (PDUYR should be pleased) where this matter is concerned by reproducing as an aide memoire to the BU family the invoice sent to the BWA for that $1.5million, or thereabout, along with that one covering the $3.3 million sent to CLICO as a request for payment for legal services rendered aka gratuity payments due to a rather senior executive.

At least Maurice K has publicly announced he was in receipt of No such amount(s) as stated in the ‘detailed’ invoice for legal services rendered to CLICO and not Greenverbs.

38. Good news to hear the work continues to fix the problem on the South Coast with excavation to start today. Good luck to the team.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David June 20, 2018 8:27 AM

This is going to cost a tidy sum to taxpayers.

Who should pay for this blatant case of willful neglect and totally piss-poor management by refusing to maintain the sewerage facility?

The recent ‘rectification/rehabilitation job at the Bridgetown plant is clearly a sight for sore eyes as to what should have been done at the South coast facility.

Why should the South coast residents- both private and business- be financially penalized for a situation not of their own making?

Would the government be applying a case of financial ‘collective punishment’ as an easy way out of the current funding mess while the people who purposely created the mess in the first place go scot-free while building, allegedly, a mansion in Sin Far-up obviously unaffordable by an unemployed rural doctor and on a disgruntled minister’s salary?

40. Those sewage tanks that were not maintained at the height of a national crisis gives horrific insight into the decision making minds of the former government. To be frank, most disappointing.

41. But the same Mottley told the masses that the law firm with which she is associated owes govt millions of dollars
    Question.Would she be first to call on the law firm by way of setting an example for other business to follow to pay BRA all of those monies which they owe saving govt much needed funds by having to chase those businesses through a collection process which adds to govt debt

42. Sad news about the death of Sir Fred Gollop. It may be a bit premature to ask, but was he really a qualified lawyer? I ask because the late Trevor ‘Job’ Clarke was involved in some litigation in which Sir Fred featured and I undertook some research on Job’s behalf. I was told that Sir Fred had studied in the UK, where he qualified, but questions to the Law Society could not confirm this. Questions to the Bar Council also drew a blank.
    I was reliably told he had passed part one of the solicitors’ exams but there was no record he had taken part two. Now maybe this can be confirmed.

43. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

With regard to your 6.53 a.m. comment It is increasingly obvious that there has been a change in your “management” team.

It is further noted that the change to what is the collective BU “BORG” has brought with it a puerile, and almost vindictive personality, which, when that person has “the driver’s seat “, they unleash a persona that tarnishes the Honourable Blogmaster title.

All your readers by now, are starting to see that you have refused to speak to the General Data Protection Regulation policies of BU.

Yet the child amongst you, which according to the rotation schedule today, is you, persists in dropping these ammmm kindergarten asides like “…Keep telling you guys the blogmaster has been at this awhile, ‘throw a left but watch for the right…” comments.

This is nothing but “Obscuration and Sleight of Hand” while you dodge the substantive question about your GPDR practices.

This is one of the many reasons that I can and will continue on this track until one of two things happens.

EITHER YOU WILL BAN ME FROM THIS SITE as your Borg continues to countenance or you will deign to condescend to a request to state what you are doing with regard to the GDPR.

@ Willy Coyote and to a lesser degree Hal Austin

“…The DNT header indicates settings that a user has made within their browser, either directly or mediated by script on a page, to indicate their preference of agreeing or declining to be tracked.

Once a “general preference” is configured, browsers add the DNT header to all HTTP requests, including requests to be sent to embedded sub-resources. The header value can either start with “1”, meaning “Do Not Track”, or “0” signifying “this user has agreed to tracking for the purposes explained”.

There is a defined JavaScript API letting a browsing context change the DNT setting for its own domain origin, or for the domain origin of its embedded sub-resources – so called “site-specific” consent.

All the gooblegook that is typed above means is that the widget that you have been seeing on your screen WHICH I QUERIED ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO, (because it was malfunctioning on my VMWARE), permits BU to automate the DO NOT TRACK settings on your web browsers

This is why de ole man is now using the boxing terms above in addition to other things heheheheheh

You have been “weighed and found wanting David” from the time wunna do that thingy…

There is much I know and will keep quiet about because I too have had these struggles with these chakras be they 7 or 114

On those of my better days, I see the Christ in you and others.

And on those days I rise above your faults because I realise they are my faults as well but Christ redeems us both.

You and I Honourable Blogmaster we are all just tools, veritable Balaks, like Mottley your demigod is, and all of us are but fodder in His Plan which he has told us that “from dust thou are and unto dust thou shalt return”

All, you need to do is “the Right thing” and all else will be added unto you

44. @ Mariposa

You asked and i quote “…Question.Would she be first to call on the law firm by way of setting an example for other business to follow to pay BRA all of those monies which they owe saving govt much needed funds..?”

The wisest thing that Mia could advise the party of whom you speak who was the focus of those pre General Election allegations would be that he pay the bill.

There MUST BE NO TRACK OF A FORGIVENESS being offered to him, or any other of her connections, because, as confidential as the encashed cheque with Owen Arthur’s signature was at the bank, IT WAS MADE PUBLIC when it fell off the truck during his not too distant election campaign.

45. “Would the government be applying a case of financial ‘collective punishment’ as an easy way out of the current funding mess while the people who purposely created the mess in the first place go scot-free while building, allegedly, a mansion in Sin Far-up obviously unaffordable by an unemployed rural doctor and on a disgruntled minister’s salary?”

I keep hearing about one of 3 mansions built by ministers who were broke in 2008, one person who saw one of the mansions in St. Philip shocked them, they really thought was a hotel…let’s hope the minister for home affairs and the attorney general can get these millionaire exministers who were broke in 2008 to explain how they got millions of dollars and million dollar mansions….what did they do with taxpayer’s and pensioners missing money…especially and including that…Sinkinliar…who is is said owns not one but 3 mansions, one also in St. Philip.

46. “The Mottley administration has no other option but to assure the public that Justice, although blindfolded, is being pursued on behalf of the poor taxpayers who have had to carry the cross of financial malfeasance and downright corruption fabricated by the previous deceitful lying pilfering administration.”

Exactly, and if Mia does not pursue each and every one of them to the fullest extent of the law for all they have done including tax evasion….she too has to be held accountable by the 111,000 people who elected her government.

47. Have no time for your nonsense. Barbados Underground is hosted by WordPress read it is not self hosted. One day coming soon many of you will get your wish.

You can have the last word.

48. Hal, I know that you are far away but just so you know – his body is still warm. Pleaseeee.