drakes
Senator (elect) Crystal Drakes – Economist

The first sitting of the newly assembled Senate this week created significant interest among the pundits. One of its first task was to approve an amendment to the Barbados Constitution: the residency qualification to serve as a Senator. The change was necessary because of the Rawdon Adams and Kay McConney selections- two Barbadians living overseas-  who did not meet the minimum 12 months residency requirement.

The blogmaster took a little time out of a busy day to listen to some of the debate. The Senator that stood out was Senator Caswell Franklyn, he signalled that he will not be muzzled by the strangeness of the place, unfamiliarity with procedure and importantly- the overwhelming numbers on the other side. Already Senator Caswell’s bellicose style has ruffled feathers. Yes they were well rehearsed speeches coming from the others but to be expected, they all complied with the party line. The emphatic victory at the polls by the Barbados Labour Party means the opposition voice must be heard.

A favourite quote of the blogmaster is, ‘eternal vigilance is the price of liberty‘.  It dawned on the blogmaster after following the first sitting of the Upper Chamber Caswell will have his work cut out to be effective in the role as Opposition Senator. We have to hope the second Opposition Senator named in Crystal Drakes will be as strident to complement Caswell. He will require the support of all civic minded citizens to deliver in the role thus ensuring we keep guard of a fragile democracy.

It goes without saying the BU family will accompany Senator Caswell Franklyn on his historic journey in the Senate. We will offer constructive criticism and support. We want what is best for Barbados. It should not matter the colour of the party stripe one supports. What matters is the blue yellow.

164 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn, Cometh the Man, Cometh the Hour”

1. But because my ten year old self had no balls…

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sargeant

Whuloss …NCO

“…but this fine tooth scrutiny of their credentials smacks me of some sort of jealously coming to the fore…”

Let me see if I got this right…

The Constitution of Barbados speaks to the regulations under which a man or woman cannot be a MP or Senator in the HoA/Senate

For the last several years both you and Sargeant and other BLP songsters have berated the Due Diligence Practices of the former administration yet all of a sudden we mist abandon all such protocol cause an Adams returns to Barbados?

No de ole man sorry “cause Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley has recommended that Rawdon Adams AND Kay Mcconney and the third body who de ole man ent research yet have been chosen for service by the incarnation of Manitou?”

I though I saw an article this morning devoted to Rawdon Adams here on the Blog.

I am not sure if there was one

But let me test something with this matter.

@ Hal Austin

Would you be so kind to submit a post encapsulating your reasoned position per these three senators something sensational that has Rawdon’s Name front and centre

Say like “Rawdon Adams – Fintech Specialist & Senator Elect but Who Are You?”

They we shall see who all the parties are…

3. @Are-we-there-yet June 10, 2018 2:32 PM “From Pride News it appears that R. Adams has dual British and French Citizenship. Does he also have Barbadian citizenship or would he have had to renounce his Bajan Birth citizenship to qualify for his dual citizenship? Is there any journalist out there who could clarify this?”

Since he was born of a Barbadian father it is reasonable to expect that he has Barbadian citizenship.

And since he was born of a British mother it is reasonable to expect that he has British citizenship.

French? I don’t know. He may just have been working in France as a British citizen who was free to work anywhere in the EU.

4. Piece,

Piers Linney’s mother was from St Philip and he spent much of his school holidays with his extended family. Piers is a highly qualified lawyer and fintech businessman. He loves Barbados.
    Is it too much that the BLP government should consult him about digitisation? By the way, his office is about 200 yards away from the Barbados high commission.

5. “The UK allows dual citizenship as far as I know, so there should have been no need to renounce his Bajan citizenship. Didn’t they swear to the Queen and her heirs anyhow?”

lol..still do, they have no choice.

6. @Piece
    You got those BLP songsters into a state of shock when you associate the likes of yours truly with them but I am not married to any political Party or political leader I just believe in fairness for all and in my world you are either a Barbadian citizen or you are not. If you are a Barbadian citizen you should be accorded all the rights and privileges of a Barbadian citizen i.e. no second or third class citizenship; there can be no abrogation of those rights.

Why is there a restriction on appointment to the Senate in respect of a prior residency of 12 months? Why is there no similar restriction on members of the lower House? The so called “framers” of the Constitution are all gone and we don’t have any guidance in the form of papers, letters, journals or any evidence as to what their intentions were; however this is 2018 not 1918 and in some respects those clinging to the letter of the Constitution are alike those US gun rights advocates who argue for their second Amendment rights and the preservation of laws pertaining to gun ownership as what existed in the 18th century.
    I would hazard a guess that the newly Independent countries bereft of Constitutions turned to Whitehall for assistance in the wording of their constitutions and looked what I found in the Australian Constitution under

“Qualification of Members”
    “he must be of the full age of twenty-one years, and must be an elector entitled to vote at the election of members of the House of Representatives, or a person qualified to become such elector, and must have been for three years at the least a resident within the limits of the Commonwealth as existing at the time when he is chosen”
    Sounds familiar? (BTW note the gender of the elector)

Here is what the Jamaica Constitution says:
    “Any Jamaican citizen of 21 years or over or any Commonwealth citizen 21 years or over living in Jamaica for at least one year, can become a member of either House of Parliament. “
    So we mix and match and cobble and viola we arrive at a Barbadian Constitution.

I am not a second class Barbadian citizen, capiche?

7. @ Sergeant
    If you are a Barbadian citizen you should be accorded all the rights and privileges of a Barbadian citizen i.e. no second or third class citizenship; there can be no abrogation of those rights.
    As an NCO you need to appreciate that yours is not to reason why… yours is but to do and die.
    Some matters are above your pay grade and we won’t want you to hurt yourself trying to ‘reason’ them out…

Why don’t you come home an become a doctor then? …or a mechanic? or a teacher?
    Just because you are a citizen with all its rights and privileges DOES NOT in and of itself qualify you for ANYTHING that other citizens may qualify for….

You need to have certain MINIMUM qualifications to be a doctor in Bim.. to be a mechanic …. to be a teacher.
    Shiite man… Even to be candidate for elections you need a damn DEPOSIT.

Stop talking shiite about the basic qualifications that were established for someone wanting to sit in our UPPER CHAMBERS to review laws proposed by our traditionally dictatorial lower house.

What makes you so gung-ho on this particular issue anyhow…?
    Were you looking for a pick yourself?
    Were you thinking that you can add your Canadian accent to our ‘waste of time chamber’ when you retire and seek to escape the cold?

Get a life Sarge.
    Not one shiite was wrong with the requirement of one year’s residency.
    To do otherwise is a DIRECT affront to the collective PRIDE of the other 300,000 resident citizens.
    …. IF they had any pride that is…

8. @ Piece
    Can’t you tell when Enuff KNOWS that he is talking shiite … but has to anyway …because his yard-duck apprenticeship commenced on May 25th?
    Caswell just used the term ‘elitism’ to be sensational (as is Caswell’s wont) – but he was CLEARLY on about the misplaced PRIORITIES that are applied in Barbados when matters relate to family, friends and acquaintances….. RATHER THAN COLD PROFESSIONALISM.

Enuff seems not to be CAPABLE of understanding the plight of those who fall outside the ‘special’ bracket- so he has no problem with rules that are gerrymandered to suit those in his bracket….now that HIS yard is flowing with corn…

One hint is when he resorts to multiple-line posts ….. and forgets to add a hash-tag

9. I supported the 12 month residency because that is the time needed to adjust to the hypocrisy of politics in Barbados.

At least 8 times out of 10 when you get invited to a DLP house for lunch or dinner you will be surprised to find BLP members enjoying “the atmosphere”.

The commingling when wining and dining among politicians will surprise some “returnees”.

There is also the need to know who family to who or in my case who my ex girlfriends married to. lol

10. “The so called “framers” of the Constitution are all gone and we don’t have any guidance in the form of papers, letters, journals or any evidence as to what their intentions were;”

Yes there are mountains of evidence of the intent, the privy council and buckingham palace throw away nothing, but since the Sovereign in UK is still the owner of the island, they do not have to show you any of those documents, because you do not control sovereignty…but we can figure out the intent because of the flavor of the document and history of the sovereign..

I bet few have noticed that the 1651 inhabitants of the island’s leadership governors etc also declared their independence of England but remained british subjects and citizens of UK, and also pledged allegiances to the same crown, with the monarchy still holding sovereignty…….not dissimilar to what now obtains in the same constitution document….nothing has changed.

Independence does not translate to sovereignty …never did, never will.

11. @Hants June 10, 2018 6:17 PM

Frundel, Sinckler et al will soon get their jobs as ambassadors for BB or as professors at UWI.

Barbados is a big plantation and party affiliation does not matter as long as you belong to the right tribe.

No wonder no Barbadian is good enough for the Caribbean Court of Justice as a judge.

12. BT

You can’t handle me my friend. Time and time again you have tried. That kaymcconney website lists one competency that is enough for me “strategic leadership”. Y’all sit there and continue to talk about wuh wunna feel wunna know. Up to now wunna can’t prove whether McConney or Adams is incompetent. By the way aren’t we consistently talking about entrepreneurs and aren’t both persons in questions entrepreneurs? I note yuh ain’t touch my point about your constant gloating about attending Cawmere and how its students fall into the ‘elitism’ of Bdos society, including YOU. Hypocrite!!!

13. Anyone want to discuss this discombobulate transmogrification ? 4.5 = 23+ ?

“A source close to the negotiations who requested anonymity told the Sunday Sun that the NUPW, the Barbados Workers’ Union and the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados had negotiated for

Government bonds for the years 2010 to 2016; a lump sum of money (back pay/coping subsidy) for the years 2016 to 2018 and the 4.5 per cent increase for 2018/2019.”

“http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/165634/akanni-talks

14. Lies and dam lies. NUPW is trying to save face over the ridiculous payout which amounted to a pay decrease from past govt offer
    Oh what a tangle web we weave when we practised to deceive
    How could the Mottley govt offer anything else than what the union took after defaulting on govt loans
    What a tangle web we weave when we practise to deceive

15. @BT
    You need to have certain MINIMUM qualifications to be a doctor in Bim.. to be a mechanic …. to be a teacher
    I don’t even know where to begin with that sophomoric type of reasoning, you do realize that those examples are professions that are regulated by (or should be) professional bodies? The only qualification for citizenship in Barbados is to be born there unless you know something that has escaped my attention.

Yuh know you have lost the argument when you retreat to the personal, no I am not looking for a “pick” too long in the tooth to be answering to the whims of some wet behind the ears politician. I like my life as it is, I have sung some sad songs over a few people I know, this is not a rehearsal, I don’t get a do-over.

Geez getting into a battle of wits with an unarmed person.

16. So there should be NO minimum qualifications to be a legislator? Steups….

17. It boggles the mind Ping Pong…..

@ Sargeant
    …as a start…
    Would you agree that a candidate for the Senate should be AT LEAST able to read…and perhaps to write..?
    If ‘Yes…’
    Then Bushie’s next question is this…
    Should they know the difference between Baxters Road and Belleplaine?
    …..or are you saying that once their father is Bajan and they are ‘Strategic Thinkers’ such details are meaningless…?

@ Enuff
    First thing is that Bushie is as ELITE as they come…. and rich as shiite…
    So don’t come with the Cawmere bullshit…. it has NOTHING to do with the moot.
    Nor is it about Adams or McConney.

Don’t you understand PRINCIPLE? ….following RULES? ..EVERYONE else is expected to do so…

Perhaps that is why you think that the LEC is optional – you just change the rules.
    How is that any different from Froon and the CJ? ..or Froon going BEYOND his 5-yr term?

There ARE some changes needed for the constitution…
    FOR EXAMPLE…. this nonsense with court cases taking FOREVER….
    Why is that less a priority than bringing someone from Canada of questionable worth? ..cause none of YOUR kin are up Dodds?

Do you follow what ‘ELITISM’ Caswell was talking about yet?
    …or are you still consumed with the scratch grain ….

#pinchyuhselfdo

18. LOL @ Enuff
    Boss, if you are impressed with Kay’s website listing her “Strategic Leadership’ …then you will fall to your knees when you see Bushie’s website’s self-promotion;

Former brass bowl and ‘albino-centric’ aspirant
    Adopted son of BBE
    Has a wealthy adopted Father who likes him bad as shiite – and would do ANYTHING for him..
    He don’t exactly know EVA shiite – but knows someone who does….
    Catches the occasional ZR – hoping to become one of Simple Simon’s Ex’es
    and he knows enuff to keep NCOs in check

Murda!!!

19. Bushie do you know someone who can tell us how you can ensure a supply of sargassum for the proposed processing plant ?

Minister hit the ground running so fast he forgot that the ocean is not a railroad.

20. @ Hants
    …that is one that Bushie will have to ask and get back to you. 🙂

The new ministers just getting their feet wet…
    All the fancy promises will fade …when they realise that all the money gone…

But they are yet to reach the level of the Shiitehound (formerly PitBull) ..who replaced all the sugar cane with river tamarind …and effective reforested Barbados – while talking about multi million dollar factories with electricity generating facilities….

Well – no qualifications were needed to be in the lower house
    now none are needed for the Upper house..

Surely we can expect wonders – as we raise the bar on national management…
    Brass bowl style…

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

this is what I have learned On Riches, and being rich as……….

Luke 12:15
    And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.”

1 Timothy 6:17-19
    As for the rich in this present age, charge them not to be haughty, nor to set their hopes on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly provides us with everything to enjoy. They are to do good, to be rich in good works, to be generous and ready to share, thus storing up treasure for themselves as a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is truly life.

Matthew 6:19-21
    “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

1 Timothy 6:10
    For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs.

Hebrews 13:5
    Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Proverbs 11:28
    Whoever trusts in his riches will fall, but the righteous will flourish like a green leaf.

Proverbs 11:4
    Riches do not profit in the day of wrath, but righteousness delivers from death.

Proverbs 27:24
    For riches do not last forever; and does a crown endure to all generations?

22. You are so simple-minded.

The love of money is exemplified by;
    — seeking to avoid paying taxes and vat….
    — going after US currency- and insisting that it be paid directly into a Miami account to avoid local taxes…
    — working with unethical organisations because they ‘pay well’…

Being rich (not the same thing as loving money) is not always associated with being albino-centric and greedy….
    it can also be the result of personal creativity; hard work, thrift, and / or fantastic talent….

….or a brass bowl could just be lucky to be adopted by a wealthy benefactor….. 🙂

What you need to ‘learn’ about – is the Trinity… and how it would have changed when Jesus was dead….
    More specifically, you should seek to rationalise how it is possible to have such a flawed doctrine at the ROOT of your religion.
    Surely this does NOT bode well for the other stuff that you think that you believe….

Being ‘rich as shiite’ is not having a ‘love of money’…
    Just as “God is no Trinity” – never was, never will be….
    But is actually a GROWING FAMILY with limitless potential….

23. When one of the knowitalls around here can explain the rationale behind a preceding 12 month residency to qualify for appointment to the Senate when there is no similar requirement for a representative in the H of A I’ll be happy to listen until then they are simply blowing smoke.

Now I hear talk about minimum qualifications which is more idiocy because the minimum qualifications are spelled out in the Constitution but in the case of the Senate one of these is deemed to be out of touch with the dynamics of a 21st century world.

I’m changing the local colloquialism from “wheel and Come again” to “wheel and think again”.

24. @Bush Tea June 10, 2018 9:30 PM “Catches the occasional ZR – hoping to become one of Simple Simon’s Ex’es.”

Dream on!!!

Lolll!!!

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dr ole man notices that our collective attention is being focused on the inconsequential 12 month requirement as opposed to the real issues

Certainly sleight of hand 101 for BRASS bowls

But I shall attempt the impossible.

To bring the horses back into the barn by reading from the Bloomberg files about one the nested entities that is being reviewed

“…This press release contains certain forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. Such forward-looking statements include all statements other than statements of historical fact.

Additional information regarding factors that could materially affect results and the accuracy of the forward-looking statements contained herein may be found in the Company’s Form 10-K…”

@ Mr Hal Austin

Do you have any active contacts with Dunn and Bradstreet accounts

IT IS a simple thing to have them do a background check on the Medici Ventures cluster of which BittCoin is a member

That way we won’t be speculating no mo’

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

NOT SIMPLE MINDED JUST A BELIEVER IN THE WORD OF GOD

THE CONCEPT OF THE TRINITY HAS BEEN BELIEVED AS LONG AGO AS AD 390 (the Apostles’ creed) and the Nicene creed ( 325 AD ) AND IS STILL BELIEVED TODAY UNIVERSALLY.

THESE CREEDS WERE ADOPTED WHEN ATHANASIUS DEFEATED THE FALSE TEACHING OF ARIUS— THE FATHER OF HERETICS NOW REVEALED AS MORMONS AND JEHOVAH WITNESSES

BECAUSE ONE IDIOT SOMEWHERE DOES NOT BELIEVE DOES NOT MEAN IT IS NOT SO

THE CHURCH UNIVERSAL CAN NOT BE ALL WRONG AND ONE FOOL CORRECT

ALL SERIOUS BELIEVERS IN GOD CALL JESUS LORD, BUT ARIANS LIKE THE CULTIST IN THE JEHOVAH WITNESSES AND MORMONS ARE UNABLE TO CALL JESUS LORD. THEY CALL HIM ALL KINDS OF STRANE NAMES

1 Corinthians 12:3 Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man speaking by the Spirit of God calleth Jesus accursed: and that no man can say that Jesus is the Lord, but by the Holy Ghost.

1 JOHN 2:22-23
    Who is a liar but he that denieth that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist, that denieth the Father and the Son. Whosoever denieth the Son, the same hath not the Father: (but) he that acknowledgeth the Son hath the Father also.

FINALLY 1 JOHN 4: 1-3
    Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.
    Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God:
    And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WHEN THE WORD OF GOD IS DELIVERED IN PURE FORM THE UNGODLY RESPONDS WITH HATE AND INUENDO

But evil men and seducers shall wax worse and worse, deceiving, and being deceived.

THE WORD OF GOD TEACHES IN 2 Timothy 3:16-17
    16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

17 That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.
    BUT WHEN SCRIPTURE IS PRESENTED ON BU IT IS MODERATED AND REMOVED,

BUT CURSINGS IS ALLOWED ALL DAY EVERYDAY
    AND WE WONDER WHY BARBADOS HAS GONE TO THE DOGS

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ALL THEOLOGIANS WHOM I HAVE READ , AND ALL SOUND TEACHERS OF THE WORD SUPPORT THEIR BELIEFS BY SEVERAL SCRIPTURES EXCEPT THE BIBLE ILLITERATES ON BU WHO TEACH THAT YOU SHOULD NOT STUDY AS TAUGHT IN 2 TIM 2… BUT DENY THE TRUTH OF GOD’S WORD CONSISTENTLY

SERIOUS STUDENTS OF GOD’S WORD DONT give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith AS CLEARLY TAUGHT IN 1TIMOTHY 1:4

NOR DO THEY SWERVE OR TURN ASSIDE UNTO VAIN JANGLING Desiring to be teachers of the law; understanding neither what they say, nor whereof they affirm.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

INITIALLY OFFSHORE SCHOOLS HAD CONCESSIONS WHEREBY TEACHERS DID NOT PAY TAX SO THAT THE SCHOOLS COULD ATTRACXT TEACHERS TO THE CASH STRAPPED ISLANDS

SALARIES WERE REMITTED OVERSEAS ON REQUEST

NOTHING ILLEGAL WAS DONE BY ME
    THERE CAME A TIME WHEN SOME ISLANDS HAD SO MANY SCHOOLS THEY CHANGED THE RULES

JESUS TAUGHT for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.

ONLY SCUM THAT RAISE UP POOR BOASTS ABOUT THEIR RICHES

THOSE WHO HAVE HAD IT IN OUR FAMILIES AND WHOM GOD HAS BLESSED, THANK HIM QUIETLY KNOWING THAT Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning. – jAMES 1:27

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

STAFF MEMBERS AT THE CARRIBEAN DEVELOPMENT BANK HAVE DUTY FREE JOBS.
    THEY PAY NO INCOME TAXES
    THEY PAY NO DUTIES ON MANY THINGS……CARS , ELECTRICAL GADGETS ETC
    STAFF MEMBERS AT SOME/MOST BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS DONT PAY INCOME TAXES
    STAFF MEMBERS AT SOME/MOST BOGUS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS WHO WERE HIGHLY RATED HAD THEIR SALARIES SENT TO THEIR HOMES AS REQUESTED

31. Great…
    So what happened to the Trinity when Jesus was dead for three days and nights?

Do you know how many things practically EVERYONE was WRONG about for CENTURIES…?
    Ask Galileo for an example….

@ Sargeant
    Bushie will assume that you were sleepy last night… and not thinking clearly…
    Try again this morning – cause what you typed last night is South Coast material….

32. @Bush Tea

Do we know the intent behind the original residency requirement? If it was a copy and paste as suggested on another blog, it would have reflected a prevailing mindset given the relationship between a centralized way of governing the colonies? We need to know what was intended by the original thought and stop the speculative to and fros. In any event, we have to relate to what makes sense today. Any organization worth its salt will hire talent from outside to bring an outside perspective. Is it any different to how government should manage?

33. @ Simple Simon
    Dream on!!!
    You had better do some research yuh….
    Bushie may ALREADY have accomplished that feat…

34. @ David
    Do you know the original thought and intent behind EVERY law?
    Should we not conduct a THOROUGH study of pros and cons prior to making changes to longstanding things that we DO NOT UNDERSTAND?
    Should we just rush around changing ground rules to suit whims and fancies – after out CJ experience especially?

A Senator is a lay legislator.
    The role is to critically analyse drafts from the lower house and to bring a public perspective to proposed new laws.

PLEASE … tell Bushie what could POSSIBLY be wrong with a requirement that ask that such persons be minimally FAMILIAR with the local environment and BB temperament prior to taking on such a role?

With the CJ, we were enthused with this diaspora nonsense too ….and we changed the rules to do so….
    Had we been constrained by the rules, we may have had a different outcome…..perhaps even a competent CJ.

One of the HALLMARKS of good leadership is the ability to DO as you expect OTHERS to do…
    If government EXPECTS public servants and citizens to obey the laws and the rules (even when they do not like these rules) – then government MUST set the example…
    If it is OK for the leaders to just change rules willy nilly in order to achieve personal objectives, why will public officers not do the SAME shiite with lunch hour rules, anti-bribery rules, contracts rules etc?

35. @Bush Tea

Let us be dispassionate here.

We operate in a global world don’t we? Why have you limited the criteria of a Senator Why must the qualification of a Senator be limited to the parochial?

36. Why limit the choice of legislators to citizens? There are a number of Permanent Residents or CARICOM skilled Nationals who have been living here for many years who are actually advising the government or providing critical services to the country. In fact those that are commonwealth citizens and have been living here for over 3 years have the right to vote!

A poster who claims to actually visit Barbados and comments on evahting pun BU didn’t even know that Rolerick Hinds was not the MP for St. Thomas.

Left to me, the whole senate would be abolished. Those that want to make laws for the people should be subjected to the scrutiny of the people i.e. face an election.

The amendment dun pass. I leave those who feel dem is second class citizens to worry about such tings.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

all the time
    the same shit………
    stuck record
    limited knowledge

“So what happened to the Trinity when Jesus was dead for three days and nights?”
    WHY NOT GOOGLE AND FIND THE ANSWER THAT YOU WANT SO MUCH?

IN THE INTERIM ..ALL OF CHRISTENDOM AND THE CHURCH UNIVERSAL BELIEVE THE DOCTRINE OF THE TRINITY

NO ONE IN CHRISTENDOM AND THE CHURCH UNIVERSAL CARES what happened to the Trinity when Jesus was dead for three days and nights?

ONLY ONE DEVILISH SON OF SATAN AND AN OBVIOUS ARIAN IN BARBADOS CARES

BECAUSE ONE IDIOT SOMEWHERE DOES NOT BELIEVE DOES NOT MEAN IT IS NOT SO

THE CHURCH UNIVERSAL CAN NOT BE ALL WRONG AND ONE FOOL CORRECT

ALL SERIOUS BELIEVERS IN GOD CALL JESUS LORD, BUT ARIANS LIKE THE CULTIST IN THE JEHOVAH WITNESSES AND MORMONS ARE UNABLE TO CALL JESUS LORD. THEY CALL HIM ALL KINDS OF STRANGE NAMES

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ON LEADERSHIP FROM NEHEMIAH

A leader faces seemingly insurmountable odds with faith. – Nehemiah 1:1-3
    A leader meets adversity with prayer. – Nehemiah 1:4-11.
    A leader boldly takes appropriate action because he trusts in God’s protection. – Nehemiah 2:1-8.
    A leader assesses the need before he begins a task.- Nehemiah 2: 9-16.
    A leader motivates others by encouraging them.- Nehemiah 2: 17-20.
    A delegates necessary tasks to responsible workers. – Nehemiah 3: 1-32.
    A leader handles opposition wisely.- Nehemiah 4:1-6:14.
    A leader directs glory to God for tasks successfully completed.- Nehemiah 6: 15-19.
    A leader makes wise decisions.- Nehemiah 7:1-73.
    A leader shares God’s Word with confidence.- Nehemiah 8:1-18.
    A leader sets the right example. Nehemiah 9:1-38.
    A leader stimulates others to trust and obey God. Nehemiah 10:1-11:36.
    A leader guides others into dedication and separation to God.- Nehemiah 12:1-13:31.

39. Alvin Cummins Avatar

GP, you still talking all this shite, and still have your misguided concepts? “…for the love of money is the root of all evil…” Someone wise said it a long time ago.

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

CUMMINS HAVE YOU NOW ARISEN FROM THE DEAD?
    BACK TO THE TRINITY

The following faith groups and religions are among those that reject the doctrine of the Trinity. The list is not exhaustive but encompasses several of the major groups and religious movements. Included is a brief explanation of each group’s beliefs about the nature of God, revealing a deviation from the doctrine of the Trinity.

For comparison purposes, the biblical Trinity doctrine is defined as follows: “There is only one God, made up of three distinct Persons who exist in co-equal, co-eternal communion as the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.”

Mormonism – Latter-day Saints

Founded By: Joseph Smith, Jr., 1830.
    Mormons believe that God has a physical, flesh and bones, eternal, perfect body. Men have the potential to become gods as well. Jesus is God’s literal son, a separate being from God the Father and the “elder brother” of men. The Holy Spirit is also a separate being from God the Father and God the Son. The Holy Spirit is regarded as an impersonal power or spirit being. These three separate beings are “one” only in their purpose, and they make up the Godhead. More »

Jehovah’s Witnesses

Founded By: Charles Taze Russell, 1879. Succeeded by Joseph F. Rutherford, 1917.
    Jehovah’s Witnesses believe that God is one person, Jehovah. Jesus was Jehovah’s first creation. Jesus is not God, nor part of the Godhead. He is higher than the angels but inferior to God. Jehovah used Jesus to create the rest of the universe. Before Jesus came to earth he was known as the archangel Michael. The Holy Spirit is an impersonal force from Jehovah, but not God.

Christian Science

Founded By: Mary Baker Eddy, 1879.
    Christian Scientists believe the trinity is life, truth, and love. As an impersonal principle, God is the only thing that truly exists. Everything else (matter) is an illusion. Jesus, though not God, is the Son of God. He was the promised Messiah but was not a deity. The Holy Spirit is divine science in the teachings of Christian Science.

Armstrongism

(Philadelphia Church of God, Global Church of God, United Church of God)
    Founded By: Herbert W. Armstrong, 1934.
    Traditional Armstrongism denies a Trinity, defining God as “a family of individuals.” Original teachings say Jesus did not have a physical resurrection and the Holy Spirit is an impersonal force.
    Christadelphians
    Founded By: Dr. John Thomas, 1864.
    Christadelphians believe God is one indivisible unity, not three distinct persons existing in one God. They deny the divinity of Jesus, believing he is fully human and separate from God. They do not believe the Holy Spirit is the third person of the trinity, but simply a force—the “unseen power” from God.

Oneness Pentecostals

Founded By: Frank Ewart, 1913.
    Oneness Pentecostals believe that there is one God and God is one. Throughout time God manifested himself in three ways or “forms” (not persons), as Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Oneness Pentecostals take issue with the Trinity doctrine chiefly for its use of the term “person.” They believe God cannot be three distinct persons, but only one being who has revealed himself in three different modes. It is important to note that Oneness Pentecostals do affirm the deity of Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit.

Unification Church

Founded By: Sun Myung Moon, 1954.
    Unification adherents believe that God is positive and negative, male and female. The universe is God’s body, made by him. Jesus was not God, but a man. He did not experience a physical resurrection. In fact, his mission on earth failed and will be fulfilled through Sun Myung Moon, who is greater than Jesus. The Holy Spirit is feminine in nature. She collaborates with Jesus in the spirit realm to draw people to Sun Myung Moon.

Unity School of Christianity

Founded By: Charles and Myrtle Fillmore, 1889.
    Similar to Christian Science, Unity adherents believe God is an unseen, impersonal principle, not a person. God is a force within everyone and everything. Jesus was only a man, not the Christ. He simply realized his spiritual identity as the Christ by practicing his potential for perfection. This is something all men can achieve. Jesus did not resurrect from the dead, but rather, he reincarnated. The Holy Spirit is the active expression of God’s law. Only the spirit part of us is real, matter is not real.

Scientology – Dianetics
    Founded By: L. Ron Hubbard, 1954.
    Scientology defines God as Dynamic Infinity. Jesus is not God, Savior, or Creator, nor does he have control of supernatural powers. He is usually overlooked in Dianetics. The Holy Spirit is absent from this belief system as well. Men are “thetan” – immortal, spiritual beings with limitless capabilities and powers, though often they are unaware of this potential. Scientology teaches men how to achieve “higher states of awareness and ability” through practicing Dianetics.

41. @NCO
    1Why is there a restriction on appointment to the Senate in respect of a prior residency of 12 months? Why is there no similar restriction on members of the lower House?”

You missed the point. For me, it is not about an adherence to a 12-months time frame? It is how sacred rules can be easily changed to accommodate those not meeting specified criteria.

Some here will bawl and scream ‘the sky is falling’ when A changes the rules, and “it is by divine inspiration” when B does the same. I know that A or B will not bend any law/constitution to accommodate my son or me. Perhaps you belong to the group for which stated rules do not apply or can be easily changed, but I want those same benefits for myself and my son or to have them denied for the select few.

I am convinced that the island will NOT derive any real benefit from these changes.

This could be a tough conversation….
    “The so called “FRAMERS” of the Constitution are all gone and we don’t have any guidance in the form of papers, letters, journals or any evidence as to what their intentions were”

In our discussion of the constitution, I see words like “framers”, “founding fathers”, “intent”…..
    Cut it out. Get real for once. What is next?
    The Bridgetown tea party?
    Will one of the uprisings become our revolutionary war?
    ……..
    It pains me when we try to parallel the American experience, when no such experience exist in our history. As pointed out repeatedly, our constitution is just a cut a paste job. A response to a request from a British official to “write something, find something and get those guys out of our hair”. Sorry dude “no framers”, “no founding fathers”, “no intent”, just an old edited document from a filing cabinet.

Forgive my sarcasm, but it pains me when I see some attempt to wrap themselves in psuedo-history,

Have to leave and go to work

Everyone, enjoy the day.

42. I do not see myself as being pessimistic, but as holding to a standard that is real. I recall a conversation her about the sale of over 200 acres. Someone wanted to know why this was a big deal when sales of larger plots of land were done in the US.

When you see that type of reasoning, you can see how they would sell their birthright and not know it. Somebody has to put pepper in the vaseline.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Theophilus Gazerts

Some years ago I was part of a team responsible for determining the qualifications for youth who were to be matched and mentored by some retired rich denizens.

And as part of my revolutionary suggestions I proposed that every youth candidate served in the programme for a year BEFORE ONE CENT WAS INVESTED IN THEM.

Now many would say a year was too much but, because of my experience with youth I felt that in order that there was EQUITY for the sizeable investments contemplated and in order that true assessments of the commitment of these youth partners could be GUAGE THE PROGRAMME REQUIRED SOME REAL SKIN IN THE GAME.

I, while I recognise that talent can be sourced variously and that we months seem long, the fact is that unless you and I have vision beyond vision We HAVE TO HAVE SAFEGUARDS

Having said that I would direct you to this Bloomberg excerpt as it relates to the subject matter

Specifically the nested company structure that Rawdon and Dukharan renders their impeccable service to. Sorry he is impeccable and she has another superlative that I don’t remember right now

“…Medici Ventures has a growing portfolio of groundbreaking blockchain-focused investments, including t0.com, Peernova, Bitt, SettleMint, Factom, and IdentityMind, Spera and Symbiont…”

As you continue reading you will see that MOUs by and between the parties form the bulk of many of the Public announcements that populate the internet replete with the vapourware financial investments that criss cross the same nested structure.

The thing is that very few of our BRASS bowls work where you work not or worked where you were before Theophilus so the discipline and attention to these details are lost to them

@ Mr Hal Austin

I noted that you had not gotten a chance to submit that Rawdon Adams article.

I can take it that you don’t wait to rock the boat as it relates to privilege or other issues.

But it is like the ole man says.

You tend to see who is who when things are put in writing or need to be put in writing and people fear recriminations

44. @David June 11, 2018 6:20 AM “Do we know the intent behind the original residency requirement? ”

In a democracy the intent is that government should be by the people, for the people. If there is no residency requirement i it possible that a person or multiple people who left Barbados as small children can be parachuted into government in Barbados when those people have lost all contact with Barbados and Barbadians, when that person has become “the other” has become alienated from their country of birth.

And here I am NOT talking about the two new proposed Senators. I am talking abut far in the future. I am talking about a time when Barbados could be governed/ruled by people who have only a very tenuous connection to Barbados, a birth certificate and one day’s residence for example. People with very tenuous connection to the majority population ruled this place in colonial times and we know how that worked out for us. So I think that the one year residence is DESIGNED TO PROTECT THE INTEGRITY of the system, designed to ensure that people who rule/govern Barbados have some serious connection to this place. So my problem with the recent amendment to our constitution is not about me, since I already have one foot in the grave. It is not about the two. It is not about Auntie Mia who has already lived 52 years, and reasonably is unlikely to have 52 years left. My concern is about my grandchildren, and my “godchildren” who were born last month.

A governing/ruling party does not always get a 2/3 majority, and if the time comes when the Constitution needs to be changed back, how do we do it?

Human beings are not always nice. This present lot may be nice, but what happens if a time comes when there are some not nice people with only a tenous connection to Barbados who wish to govern/rule us?

45. “A poster who claims to actually visit Barbados and comments on evahting pun BU didn’t even know that Rolerick Hinds was not the MP for St. Thomas.”

Since MY exposure of Rolerick Hinds, now everyone in that particular area knows that he was NEVER the representativee for that area…as many who lived in that area thought..

check ya facts and stop spreading false rumors Ping Pong..

46. “Had we been constrained by the rules, we may have had a different outcome…..perhaps even a competent CJ.”

And exactly who may that have been, when ALL CJs have all been chosen through yardfowl affiliation to the government of the day for the past 52 years… including the current one….remember Simmons and that destructive force he wrought on the judiciary.

How will you get one to actually do his job and not be ignored because he came through a yardfowl process, look how insulting and disrespectful Fruendel was to the Chief Justice’s decision in the EBT case, he refused to acknowledge the decision, so when they are selected due to party affiliation, their decisions do not count or matter..or taken seriously..

Maybe it’s time for the Judges, magistrate’s CJs etc to be elected by the people in a process were they can also be voted out by the people when they do not do their jobs..

The political party affiliation process is outdated, overused and clearly ineffective….just take a look at the judiciary for evidence of that.

47. The residency requirement was for qualification to sit in the Senate no so? How is the Senate able to hijack the government?

48. “Since MY exposure of Rolerick Hinds, now everyone in that particular area knows that he was NEVER the representative for that area…as many who lived in that area thought….”
    +++++++++

Please…….don’t insult the intelligence of the good people of St. Thomas and BU.

I’m sure everyone in St. Thomas knows Cynthia Forde has been the duly elected representative for that constituency since 2003. It is highly unlikely anyone would have thought Hinds was the representative for St. Thomas.

49. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I stand amazed………..but not here at Jesus the Nazarene as the great hymn says, but that at 9:22 AM I made an imformative post, no cursing, no malice —just plain simple truth…..but four hours later it is still “under moderation”

50. Artax…speak for thyself…you have no clue what ya talking about…the point is Hinds did not get to continue to perpetrate further misleading rubbish on certain people…although the big sign is still up.

You would be shocked at what goes on in Barbados and most people are not aware….