drakes
Senator (elect) Crystal Drakes – Economist

The first sitting of the newly assembled Senate this week created significant interest among the pundits. One of its first task was to approve an amendment to the Barbados Constitution: the residency qualification to serve as a Senator. The change was necessary because of the Rawdon Adams and Kay McConney selections- two Barbadians living overseas-ย  who did not meet the minimum 12 months residency requirement.

The blogmaster took a little time out of a busy day to listen to some of the debate. The Senator that stood out was Senator Caswell Franklyn, he signalled that he will not be muzzled by the strangeness of the place, unfamiliarity with procedure and importantly- the overwhelming numbers on the other side. Already Senator Caswell’s bellicose style has ruffled feathers. Yes they were well rehearsed speeches coming from the others but to be expected, they all complied with the party line. The emphatic victory at the polls by the Barbados Labour Party means the opposition voice must be heard.

A favourite quote of the blogmaster is, ‘eternal vigilance is the price of liberty‘.ย  It dawned on the blogmaster after following the first sitting of the Upper Chamber Caswell will have his work cut out to be effective in the role as Opposition Senator. We have to hope the second Opposition Senator named in Crystal Drakes will be as strident to complement Caswell. He will require the support of all civic minded citizens to deliver in the role thus ensuring we keep guard of a fragile democracy.

It goes without saying the BU family will accompany Senator Caswell Franklyn on his historic journey in the Senate. We will offer constructive criticism and support. We want what is best for Barbados. It should not matter the colour of the party stripe one supports. What matters is the blue yellow.

164 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn, Cometh the Man, Cometh the Hour”

1. Marla is recognised as a top economist, who by? As I understand it, she is undertaking post-graduate research; so, even in her assessment of herself, she is in need of further training. So, are her tutors and lecturers all ‘top’ economists?

2. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Seems to me that Ms Kay McConney is a bit more than an Event Coordinator but a bit less than an ideal pick for a Minister responsible for avant garde new technologies. Perhaps R Adams, if he survives an in-depth look at his credentials and the trajectory of his associates, might be potentially a better fit for the projected KMcC portfolio.

3. I liking this PUDRYR @ 11:52 p.m. big time.This is the PUDRYR I know who used to swing their instrument and where ever it land – it land.

4. @Hal
    Before you get savaged, my opinion
    Excellent on both post.,

5. Wait my post just jump out and land in before I finish boasie lol.

6. I better be careful Mugabe aint start back she ole tricks.

Anyway congratulations to Caswell for being able to swim against the tide.

You see this period we dealing with we will need a lot more persons who will do their research and call out shite when they see and smell it.Persons who will be prepared not to come and sing a song while looking for a lil pick.

I am learning a lot about said rawdon and mcconney and daily I am asking myself -WHAT IS REALLY BEHIND THAT BIG FOOT MOVE?

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Pieces, I see you have your ‘political’ spin in full flow to wit: “My American friend de Ingrunt Word aka DPD made a statement recently about how our bajan policemens can, with a likkle training, become bittcoin sleuths.” Tut, tut.

What a canard ๐Ÿคฃ. To mimic the old sitcom star, “did I do that” fah trute!

To be much more current one can call it the Trumpian twist which avers that it’s never necessary to allow the real and accurate details to get in the way of your selected alternative factoids.

Carry on smartly, my friend.

8. The problem I fear for this new administration is that they will be relying on snake oil salesmen & women who will be producing nuff paper certification who will talk pretty,pretty and say nothing ( like the one lisa cummins) (well at least their leader will be able to relate to that), then a few will come with a foreign accent and claims of loads of experience as economists but with no success to back it up – better yet if the accent is british and sound posh – see Avinash persaud and one marla ducharan ;or they will produce nicely put together resumes – I am looking at you rawdon and mcconney;

Then this country will reward them with big-up positions with fat salaries and big rides.But sadly we may see ourselves going down with the advice they give – like that decision to default on our loans for the first time in history.

We are in too dicey a position to make those kind of dangerous moves.

9. It is difficult to imagine anyone chosen by Mottley will be as incompetent as the lot booted out on the 24th.

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster

You asked and I quote you question “…Let us be clear, you have defined Adams resume based on the performance of Overstock stock and McConney because she founded the Canadian Bajan Ball?”

And my response is a categoric NO.

Let me be pellucid with the process that brought me to this point and then the methodologies I have used.

As it relates to Rawdon Adams AND BY EXTENSION THE ECONOMIST this is what I am advancing for any reader’s consumption.

Many came here and sought to gainsay what Hal Austin AFTER FIRST BOPPING AND WEAVING WITH THE CLASSIC MANNERISM OF THE BRITISH DISSEMBLERS OF PROPER SPEECH ultimately advanced the key issue he had with Adams which is “The right of Privilege” that attends bajan oligarchs

After he finally let go of the niceties and got down to BRASS tacks de ole man apologized for my zealous prosecution of his opinion.

Then comes another tangent of prosecution which promoted Adams as the incarnation of Manitou and that bajans should be grateful for this Mia sanctioned whizz kid.

And just like that de anomaly training KICKED in.

Why all this sudden “pescatorio” obesience to the Ring of The Fisherman who is among three people being promoted as the senators for whom the Barbados Constitution has been changed?

And with that anomaly came a realization of the need for Due Diligence on Rawdon and Kim elicited by the remarks of the resident BU BLP proselyters

Because de ole man, rather me grandson, knows what he is looking for, the financial searches that any idiot would do was not hard.

In fact you would recall that I suggested that Mr Hal Austin not just focus on the unimpressive CV of Rawdon BUT RESEARCH ITS CONTENTS.

Hal is not a dealer in financial instruments of the type that Rawdon is purported to have mastered.

Hal neither knows the technology, not the instruments by which the technology is transacted NOR the mechanisms through which it can be compromised

De grandson does.

So here is what I would suggest you do to confirm or deny my perspective on Rawdon’s credentials

Do a series of Boolean searches on “Overstock financials Bloomberg” and the do “BittCoin and Overstock”

When I say series do about 15 to 20 searches AND READ THEM

You will see there rested in clear print the incestuous? nested relationships that Bloomberg clearly spells out for anyone to comprehend.

This is not rocket science and while the layman cannot be expected to comprehend the language THAT MUST ATTEND AN IPO OR AN ICO (Initial Currency Offering) the SEC prescribes that YOU CANNOT MAKE ANY PROMISES ON THE ROI nor make any false statements ergo the future conditional in the various offerings.

Additionally when I say that I will invest $20 million in a company that DOES NOT MEAN CASH ALL THE TIME.

IT can sometimes be other contributions in lieu of cash which have been valued generously as $20 million

I will not waste any tjme on Kay Mcconney ‘s website which Brother Hants supplied nor my event planner interpretation thereof because such truths are self evident given its content, notwithstanding the paint job the BLP damage control team attempted thereafter

Let me in leaving refering you to Google the outstanding qualifications of Bernie Maddoff who was sentences to 125 years for his dated Ponzi scheme.

@ the Honourable Blogmaster “trouble does not set up like rain…”

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with another item

Ladies and gentlemen please note that i am not being moderated

When I ask the Honourable Blogmaster for his assistance with a submission it is because i am behind a few firewalls and VPNs that set off Barbados Underground ‘s defences

BU is to be commended for its premiere safeguards because it is most proactive in safeguarding the many local and international factions seeking to breach its defended including the teams that have been hired by ***

Wunna should not forget de one Digital Sleuth Doggie Trottie de ole man fears Dougie Trottie man real bad (He was the veritable defender of the Chastity Belt of the Vaginoscopy Maiden at Babel Towers.

De ole man also fears the Night of the Long Knives should Dale Marshall have his way and now with the new Minister of Home Affairs Edmund seek to enact new Anti Blogging Laws, UNOPPOSED IN A ONE PARTY PARLIAMENT)

12. โ€œIt is difficult to imagine anyone chosen by Mottley will be as incompetent as the lot booted out on the 24th.โ€

David BU

Former Senator JEPTAR INCE could be easily described, (according to T. Inniss), as a snake oil salesman who be produced nuff paper certification who talked pretty, pretty and say nothingโ€ฆ..โ€

Criticize the former DLP administrationโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ..youโ€™re BIASED and a supporter of the BLPโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆcriticize the new BLP administrationโ€ฆโ€ฆ..youโ€™re FAIR and BALANCED.

13. Any information why the NUPW has called a meeting for this evening at 5PM?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your post of 10.18 a.m. is disturbing

This is not a dimple matter of comparing “incompetencies”

We acknowledge that the Demonic Labour Party was the worst government this country has ever had hands down but what we are discussing here is a horse of a different colour OR IS IT?

BU assisted most notably by Mr Cammie Holder and others here shut down the falsehood that was Cahill and Downlowe and that crew.

That matter was based in no small part on the bonafides of the principal parties and that was a national development project.

Here you are, not least among the Champions of a Better Barbados, seized with a matter that speaks to appointing people of sterling credentials to our Senate seemingly wanting to give this matter of more serious import a pass “cause this lot cannot be less incompetent than the rest”

That is like me saying to my torturer who is using the rack on my body “I like you more than the last fellow cause in addition to stretching my 4ft 9 inch body he used to push a flaming hot poker in my nether parts…”

If we are not vigilant with this Honourable Blogmaster me fears this will be your last swan song too

Again de ole man asks do we wish to bump up the volume?

15. Or you are like me, AND the MAJORITY of Bajans loyal neither to the “B’s” nor “D’s”.

If we Bajans were as loyal as both/all parties like to fool themselves that we are, then governments would never change. But notice something, governments change all the time.

The truth is most of us love/like neither B’s nor D’s. We hire them to do a job for us and if they don’t do the job we fire them, just as we would fire a gardener or a maid or a hairdresser, or a tyre repair man.

Yeah. We dat cruel.

Lolll!!!

16. Or a doctor or a lawyer or an engineer. Ye are all hirelings. Do the job or get the hell from ’round we place do.

17. @John June 9, 2018 12:11 PM “If you listen to Caswell he deals with the โ€œelitesโ€. In my view, he should have addressed the non existence of the senate in the absence of 21 seated members and not dealt with minutiae.”

Dear John: Aren’t you the one who for the past many weeks/months have been striving manfully to demonstrate how many angels can dance on the head of a pin?

Aren’t you the pastmaster of minutiae?

18. @nineofninenineofnine June 9, 2018 1:53 PM “THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLYโ€ฆโ€œYour Excellency, In the name and on behalf of the members of the House of Assembly, I lay claim to the ancient and undoubted rights and privileges and ESPECIALLY TO FREEDOM FROM ARREST and molestation of their persons, freedom of speech in debate and free access to Your Excellency whenever occasion may be required and that most favorable construction may be placed on all their proceedings.โ€ THE GOVERNOR GENERAL โ€œI give and grant as so far is consistent with the Royal Prerogative, laws and Constitution of this island every privilege and liberty that has been enjoyed by any former Assembly to be enjoyed by you as fully and freely as here to fore.โ€
    DID I HEAR CORRECTLY? When Politicians knowingly and aware to be exempted from arrest, does that in anyway curb corruption?”

Politicians are only exempt from arrest while they are actually literally sitting in the House. If the police need to arrest them, they can do so as soon as the politician steps outside of the Parliament building yard. In other words the police can arrest as necessary any politician by the treasury building, or by Chefette or by the Old City Bar.

Politicians DO NOT enjoy absolute exemption from arrest.

19. @ Artax

My brother I concentrating on the offerings of PUDRYR right now because the ole fella got my sensors perked up.

If I like a post I say so and I say why – simple.

You blpites got your tails up and the tails wagging hard.Lets see for how long.Read Caswell today in the Sunday Sun and then read Professor Michael Howard while you at it.

20. Just like they can curse one another, and one another’s mothers, and one another’s wuffless fathers inside of the House, but let them try that stunt outside and see if they don’t get themselves sued for libel or slander, just like Joe Blow down the gap.

21. @David June 9, 2018 2:30 PM “What about his other point that the qualification to be a Senator should have been know by those making the appointment of Adams and McConney and therefore spare the country the debate by being proactive making the news public?”

I agree David.

This makes the political class and by extension the rest ‘o we who may have voted for them look foolish. With so many lawyers in the parties and in the House we should not have had to witness the political class running ’bout the place like fowls without heads.

22. @Enuff June 9, 2018 3:04 PM “Now Hal Austin can be appointed next week and replace anyone of the current Cabinet members.๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ”

Are you sure that would be a good thing?

23. lol..doubt any one of them, just like myself, ever even read any part of the constitution before the last election when the question about senators designate with dual citizenship came up…

I only read it because of Windrush to see how much ammunition was available in the language and since I was reading anyway, I looked at the whole document…..

None of the lawyers on the island, except for Comissiong and maybe one or 2 others when the need arises eg, illegal fingerprinting of bajan citizens returning to the island, by the last fraud government, etc…… would have read or even bothered themselves with the contents..

24. @FearPlay June 9, 2018 11:03 PM “Jesus Christ was โ€œprivilegedโ€. He was โ€œelitistโ€, his father was God.”

There is a HUGE difference between elitism by MERIT and elitism by inherited money or status.

For your homework this weekend compare and contrast these American examples, Barack Obama and Donald Trump.

Nobody objects to elitism by merit, but ALL SENSIBLE people object to elitism by who daddy or mummy were or are.

And by the way God is also the daddy of this Simple Simon.

And my God doesn’t have any outside children.

25. @PUDRYR

Do not be disturbed, questions and statements posed all seek to draw out debate. The more things change the more they remain the same. How does one change the end result to challenge the cycle?

26. โ€œYou blpites got your tails up and the tails wagging hard.โ€

T. Inniss

Could you please indicate to me where in any of my contributions suggests Iโ€™m a member of the โ€œblpites?โ€

If you mention my criticism of the DLP is proof (which is always substantiated by proof) โ€ฆโ€ฆ.then I can likewise refer to you as โ€œyou dlpites,โ€ based on your constant criticism of the current BLP administration, while praising the DLPโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. and you labeling the views of contributors that may criticize Mottley as being โ€œfair and balanced.โ€

27. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 9, 2018 11:52 PM “Kay is an event planner.”

According to pieceuhderockyeahrigh “Kay is an event planner.”

But according to pridenews.ca she is a former diplomat, training specialist, executive coach and development consultant

http://pridenews.ca/2018/06/07/barbados-government-amends-constitution-effect-appointment-canadian-resident-kay-mcconney-senator-cabinet-minister/

Maybe they are one and the same?

28. Pride is Canada’s daily African Canadian and Caribbean news magazine

29. But according to pridenews.ca she is a former diplomat, training specialist, executive coach and development consultant (Quote)

What does all that mean? Was she a career diplomat, or a political appointee? What is a training specialist? Some people have an executive coaching qualification and never coached a nut seller; and what is a development consultant?
    Stop letting people pull wool over your eyes.

30. @SS
    “Rawdon Adams, who holds French and British citizenship and is the son of Barbados former prime minister”

He was in the US at one time. Does he have a green-card?
    Wuhloss
    Murdah
    Baje, ya gine kill ma

31. @TheoGazerts June 10, 2018 8:50 AM “When I want my resume fluffed, I will come to you.”

You iz bare trouble.

Lolll!!!

32. @Guest June 10, 2018 9:03 AM

https://www.bitt.com/about/company
    โ€œMarla is recognized as a top economist and thought-leader in the Caribbean, and a leading voice in the call to reduce gender and income inequality and promote sustainable models for growth. Marla joined bitt in 2017 seeking to increase financial and economic inclusion directly.โ€

So what does this mean in plain English or plain Bajan?

Bre’k it down do, so that this Simple Simon can understand.

33. @Hal Austin June 10, 2018 12:29 PM “But according to pridenews.ca she is a former diplomat, training specialist, executive coach and development consultant (Quote)’ “What does all that mean? Was she a career diplomat, or a political appointee? What is a training specialist? Some people have an executive coaching qualification and never coached a nut seller; and what is a development consultant? Stop letting people pull wool over your eyes.”

Please don’t shoot simple, lowly messenger. I am not one to be blinded by glitz and glamour, or by the perceptions of the same. I was simply quoting pridenews.ca.

34. @TheoGazerts June 10, 2018 9:09 AM “I will not dispute her qualifications, but please look at the source of the comment…
    Think! Think!”

Long, long ago during the little time that I spent at school, teacher told me that if you want an unbiased assessment of the Catholic Church, don’t ask the pope. Lolll!!!

Bajans also have a saying, “a fisherman will never tell you that his fish…”

It looks to me that a company is being complimentary to their employee, who has just joined their “church”

Or what the boys n the block would call “bigging-up”

35. No one can say Barrow did not war Bajans..”you will wake up one day and realize the island don’t belong to you”. so said, so done.

36. @pieceuhderockyeahright June 10, 2018 10:35 AM “bajan oligarchs”

What Oligarchs? There int no oil. Lolll!!!

Grantley Adams’ father was a school teacher, whose salary was paid out of the sweat and labour of those who did the real-real work.

Grantley Adams was a civil servant, whose salary was paid out of the sweat and labour of those who did the real-real work.

Tom Adams was a civil servant, whose salary was paid out of the sweat and labour of those who did the real-real work.

Rawdon?

37. Can anybody tell me the meaning of the word “sinecure?”

38. lol

siยทneยทcure
    หˆsฤซnษ™kyoอor,หˆsinษ™หŒkyoอor/Submit
    noun
    a position requiring little or no work but giving the holder status or financial benefit.
    synonyms: easy job, cushy job, soft option; More

39. Simple…there is more..lol

informal picnic, cinch, easy money, free ride, gravy train
    “mowing the Ortons’ lawn is a sinecure”

40. PM MAM, my only request is that any restructuring of the debt be done fairly.

The Government offered and domestic debt holders invested in Government debt on the basis that the Government would collect revenue properly due to Government to service the debt. All efforts should therefore be made to collect outstanding amounts owed to Government before asking the debt holders to accept a reduction in interest and or principal repayments. If ABC Limited for example owes the Government $3 million in value added tax that was collected on behalf of the Government over the last ten years and not paid, your first action should be to auction off the business of ABC Limited to settle the vat outstanding.

Likewise, for foreign debt holders, the expectation would be for all efforts to be made to collect foreign currency inflows properly due to the Government. If there is any truth to rumours that businesses such as hotels and banks are illegitimately retaining foreign exchange in accounts held outside of Barbados, your first action should be to force the transfer of the foreign exchange to Barbados and penalise the offenders with fines to add to the Government’s revenue.

Any course of action that excludes actions to collect money or foreign currency properly due to the Government and focuses only on shortchanging investors would be akin to rewarding criminals and punishing law abiding individuals that provided help in the form of financing when it was required.

41. All this discussion is proving is that we like the diaspora money and that is it. The elitist argument is a red herring, as well as the attempt to label McConney an event planner and Adams a failure. The joke is that we just had 28 who apparently met the 12-month residency requirement and look where we are now. Someone please rell me why if 12 months is necessary to makeca meaningful contribution, why Hal Austin knows how to fix everything? Continue with the insularity, even against born and bred Bajans who simply happen to live abroad.

42. Added to the above is that a blog replete with members who often remind you that they went to school on Crumpton Street, in Waterford, up Massiah Street or over Oistins Hill is now witnessing said members crying elitism. Same members, who, more than likely, also enjoy the sweet treatment meted out in Buhbaduss to locals with Park, Gardens, Heights and Terrace forming part of their address. Elitism or jealousy?PIMRHP

43. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

From Pride News it appears that R. Adams has dual British and French Citizenship. Does he also have Barbadian citizenship or would he have had to renounce his Bajan Birth citizenship to qualify for his dual citizenship? Is there any journalist out there who could clarify this?

44. @Enuff

I canโ€™t for the life of me figure out the opposition to these two people, if people want to dissociate themselves from their politics thatโ€™s fine but this fine tooth scrutiny of their credentials smacks me of some sort of jealously coming to the fore.

As for Hal A thatโ€™s a principled position remember he was against the current Bank of England Gov. he thought that position should have been reserved for a Brit ๐Ÿ˜Š

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Noted and accepted

@ Hal Austin rather Mr. Hal Austin

Your post earlier today was rather titillating to say the least.

Sometimes when you set your azimuth you can really do some real serious belly searchers

EVEN that one Mariposa or whatever name she should be called by, made a few valid points about this “evident senatorial enthusiasm” notwithstanding her bias.

We all want THE BEST for Barbados.

But ask each of us what that BEST is and for as many gluteus maximii/2 they are, we will have a different opinion (some of which actually duplicate the matter thst exits out of the hole near this part of our bodies)

What is the best answer none of us knows but it is my hope that we will in time arrive at a point of collective maturity complimented by an economy which permits every bajan a piece of the pie (I starting to use this piece uh phrase too much though so I gone)

46. Are we there
    Is it French citizenship or a right to live in France under EU rules as a British citizen. The UK allows dual citizenship as far as I know, so there should have been no need to renounce his Bajan citizenship. Didn’t they swear to the Queen and her heirs anyhow?๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

47. Sargeant,

I am used to the inability of some Bajans, even those who live in Canada, to decipher arguments. I said nothing about the governorship of the Bank of England being reserved for a Brit. If you give it some thought you will see how silly such an argument would be.
    I said that Mark Carney was not the best person available for the job at the time that it should have gone to Lord (Adair) Turner, a man of incredible thinking ability and one of the intellectual giants of his generation. I admire him greatly. Turner’s problem is that he thinks for himself, he cannot be put in anybody’s pocket, far less the chancellor at the time, George Osborne’s.
    Carney got the job on the basis of what he did at the Bank of Canada. My argument was that it was like picking a Championship manager to manage a Premiership team. Canada is not in the top league of nations. and only is in the G7 because it is a white majority nation.
    Where was South Korea at the G7? Time has proved me right. Again, please get the nuances of the argument right..

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Enuff

I do not know either Rawdon Adams or Kay Mcconney or the third person at all.

I ent got no skin in the game

And this is precisely the reason that when the issue of Rawdon came up as previously prosecuted by Hal Austin that I initially felt that he prosecuted the matter too emotively (said by he who loves emotive tangents heheheh)

Hal is a journalist of several years of experience and he was arguing a point which in its simplest terms spoke to importing the talents of an highly qualified whizz kid and BittCoin specialist

The point he makes is thst there was nothing spectacular about Rawdon’s credentials

The more substantive point is the old entrenched? mindset of being seduced by who he mudder is etc and the deification of such people by BAJANS.

Where he, a seasoned journalist, went wrong was NOT TO SEEK TO EMOTE AN AUDIENCE by a line by line analysis of Rawdon’s credentials

That seemed petty to me since, in the grand scheme of things, unless readers have HR skills and exposure to examining Cab, the impact of such a comparison is lost.

So he bumps it up a notch and emphasizes the point that someone is seeking mileage on the Adams name and that such reflects “privilege of Lineage

And there is where wunna fellows went wrong AND STILL GOING WRONG BECAUSE WUNNA SEEKING TO MEK IT BOUT CV.

This is not about CV.

IT IS about a circuitous fabrication of internecine financial relationships that a diligent search by anyone can see.

Wunna relying on the testament of the fox that is counting the chickens to force the readers to accept Rawdon and Kay

Looka dis site (which is now a permanent archive of SiteSucker)

http://kaymcconney.com/

Juxtapose that against the party’s CV that is provided elsewhere and answer me the following

1.why is the substantive site that I am posting on myself SO INFANTILE AND DEVOID OF ANY COMPREHENSIVE MATERIAL ABOUT ME WHILE A NEX BODY GOT ME BIG UP?

You understand how this thing works?

You understand how self promotion works?

Unless you are purposely keeping a low profile YOU DOES BIG UP YOUSELF in these things and an assinine excuse bout “you don’t want to run way clients” is bear pup

49. @June 10, 2018 2:28 PM “that a blog replete with members who often remind you that they went to school on Crumpton Street, in Waterford, up Massiah Street or over Oistins Hill…”

Please note that i din went to nun ‘o dem places

Not because i int bright as sh!t@