A few people only would have accurately predicted the outcome of last Thursday’s general election that resulted in the former Opposition Barbados Labour Party romping to victory by capturing all thirty of the parliamentary seats at stake.

Among those who we may number as not having foreseen such an eventuality would have been the framers of our 1966 Constitution. Indeed, if we were to judge from the text they produced, it might be argued that, to the contrary, they contemplated that there would always be an opposition in parliament and a possible leader thereof, although that individual might not always be willing to serve in that role.

This is my assessment from a reading of the various sections of the Constitution pertinent to the issue. First, there is section 74 (1) that appears to presume the continuous existence of an Opposition in Parliament –

There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

Second, section 74 (2) provides for the mode of his or her appointment, once more apparently making an identical assumption-

Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader: [Emphasis added]

At least two of my learned friends, Justice Christopher Blackman in last Sunday’s issue of the Sunday Sun, and Ms Lynette Eastmond in Tuesday’s Barbados Advocate, have expressed the view that the issue is satisfactorily resolved by the provision in section 75. According to this-

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

(a) act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and

(b) act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition…

It seems clear from a preliminary reading of this turgidly drafted section that while it is premised on the absence or non-existence of a Leader of the Opposition, that premise is not the broad one contended for by some in the present scenario, but rather is cribbed, cabined and confined by that absence or non-existence being for the express reason stated and that reason only, namely, by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office… [Emphasis mine]

We should note that the section does not present the two elements as alternatives, in which case the draftsman would have used “or”, but rather as cumulative (“and”), thereby intending that both elements should be satisfied. Nor does it seem to import clearly that the second element (willingness to accept) is relevant only where the first element of qualification is satisfied.

It is readily conceded that the section is regrettably drafted and it is to be negatively contrasted with the much more lucid (though to different effect) provision to be found in section 83 (6) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution of 1976-

Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant, whether because there is no member of the House of Representatives so qualified for appointment or because no one qualified for appointment is willing to be appointed, or because the Leader of the Opposition has resigned his office or for any other reason, any provision in this Constitution requiring consultation with the Leader of the Opposition shall, in so far as it requires such consultation, be of no effect. [Emphasis mine]

It would appear that both of my learned friends and others have read the Barbadian provision as being identical to this one, when in fact it is not; since the T&T section requires only one of the stipulated prerequisites to be satisfied.

In the absence of a clear provision to cater to the current circumstances, the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, seemingly in agreement with the argument advanced here, has graciously indicated her preference for a constitutional amendment that would permit the party, other than that which comprises the governing administration, that captured the most votes in the election to nominate two members of the Senate, as the official Opposition would be able to in ordinary circumstances.

This amendment too will require careful drafting as it purports too alter, even if only slightly, the entitlement to Senate representation from one of the number of those first past the post to a semblance of proportional representation. I imagine, however, that she is contemplating a sunset clause to fit the current scenario. It is now up to the Democratic Labour Party to determine whether it will be aware of Greeks bearing gifts or whether it will look this gift horse intently in the mouth.

It is not an open and shut matter and will bring into sharp focus the regard of the political effectiveness of the Senate in our system of governance.

293 responses to “A Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Unforeseen Event”

1. I can hardly remember seeing any comments by you for five (dare I say ten) years until recently.

I been bout hey from 2007 when it started!!

2. Mia Mottley was the Leader of the Opposition. The people gave her an upgrade to Prime Minister.

Froon fired her from being leader of the opposition when he prorogued (love dat word) or is it dismissed Parliament

The Senate and the House of Assembly ceased to exist.

There is now a new House of Assembly and the people have given her the post of PM.

With the Leader of the opposition and the GG TOGETHER, they need to create a new Parliament.

All three need to be present in the birth if I understand these things right.

3. Some Senators were missing from the swearing in ceremony, I didn’t see McConney or Adams
    Hmmnnnnn residency requirements?

Questions of principle perhaps!!

If so both have risen in my estimation.

4. Something’s gotta give … soon too!!

If Mia continues on this path the Dees are going to eat her alive.

We need to get past this freak election result.

Call the elections!!

Get an opposition.

If you look at Grenada you will find people were also fed up with the incumbent government.

The new one misunderstood the message the people were sending.

5. We have a former Justice in the role as GG, comfort for the citizenry?

6. If Mia replaces the two prospective senators, you will know the reason they were not there.

Bobby Morris is too seasoned a campaigner for his words to be ignored.

7. Mason knows how to read the constitution…and apply it’s tenants, that is all she needs to know.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Mason knows how to read the constitution…and apply it’s tenants, that is all she needs to know.
    I WONDER WHO ARE THE TENANTS OF THE CONSTITUTION, WHERE THEY LIVE AND HOW MUCH RENT THEY PAY. murdah!

9. @Sargeant

An amendment will be made next week to allow Adams and McConney to be sworn as Senators.

10. Lol…glad to see you are in a better frame of mind today…

11. Bobby Morris was such a seasoned campaigner?

…………and yet he ran such a nasty despicable campaign that resulted in a REDWASH that has the DLP yardfowls going bat shit crazy…………

Oh my goodness, this man John has become so crazy it is hard to ignore his insane rantings every five minutes.

Who for a seasoned campaigner (other that Hillary Clinton who stupidly called all republicans racists, deplorables, misogynists, homophobics) would launch an opening night like the one at the Stadium…….not only did they pick a spot where it pointed to the government’s gross incompetence and then allow his candidates to CUSS a woman………and you dlp bat shit crazy supporter……..calls him a seasoned campaigner?

No wonder wunnah lost all 30 seats…………boo hoo! .

12. Can Barbados afford ten more years of political polarizing behaviour?

13. Jefferson Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jefferson Cumberbatch

@Sargeant

An amendment will be made next week to allow Adams and McConney to be sworn as Senators.

Was not Ms McConney also sworn in as a Minister last Sunday? Will there be a do-over?

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

May 31, 2018 12:43 PM

Lol…glad to see you are in a better frame of mind today…

ALWAYS IN A GREAT FRAME OF MIND WHEN I GET IN THIS RUM SHOP
    THERE IS ALWAYS DAILY DRIVEL DESIGNED IN THE “TENANTS” TO MAKE YUH LAFF

15. Seriously Jeff?

16. Jefferson Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jefferson Cumberbatch

Seriously Jeff?

Yes, David. To be a Minister, one has to be an MP, no? Is the nomination to the Senate enough? Just being inquisitive. No malice intended.

17. Was an amendment not made in order to accommodate a Chief Justice?

18. The good is that the blog is followed closely by the political directorate from both sides. Attorney General issued a statement to VoB regarding the need to amend the constitution for Adams and McConney. We can only hope they have all bases covered.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WAS NOT DARCY BOYCE A-NON MP MINISTER? Just being inquisitive. No malice intended.

20. @Fearplay

Yes, and it was severely criticized by them.

21. @Well, Well May 31, 2018 12:20 PM “Mason knows how to read the constitution…and apply it’s tenants.”

CORRECTION: …and apply it’s tenets

22. GP

I cracked up laughing too!!

Enjoyed no end!!

Thx for the humour

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

the blog is followed closely by the political directorate from both sides. Attorney General issued a statement to VoB regarding the need to amend the constitution for Adams and McConney.

ARE WE TO BELIEVE THAT THE POLITICAL DIRECTORATE IS DIRECTED BY THE DAILY DRIVEL ON BU? WELL LORD HELP US. NO WONDER THINGS SO BAD IN BARBADOS

24. Thanks Simple…now please convey that pearl to my autocorrect..

That thing has a mind of it’s own and I dont even bother to correct it anymore, no matter how much GP laughs.

25. @Sargeant
    Was not Ms McConney also sworn in as a Minister last Sunday? Will there be a do-over?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++

What exactly is going to be amended?

The constitution?

Isn’t a senate needed to ratify?

What about a referendum?

26. @John May 31, 2018 8:58 AM “Go back to the people.”

And if the people vote 30-0 again, but the DLP candidates get even fewer votes, what then?

Are you suggesting that we have an election every week until the DLP is satisfied.

Look the DLP and its leadership had distanced itself from the people, did not know or understand how angry the people had become with them.

Last Thursday’s election is the result.

Did I not mention a few weeks ago a certain now former MP who even when he worships at my church is surrounded by multiple tough looking guys, one at each side and one at the front and one at the back.

Did I not ask what is he afraid of? Did I not ask if was was afraid of being beaten to death by an old lady with her pocketbook?

Wunna thought that i was joking right?

When you have become afraid of your own people the time has come to exit politics.

And if you are not man enough to jump.

The people will push you.

The people pushed the DLP last week.

And in future if the BLP behaves in the same way, they too will be pushed.

We are not in love with the BLP.

We do not hate the DLP.

We are a pragmatic people.

Represent us.

Or leave we RH place.

27. one or two of the 8 or 9 reasons for amendment for persons disqualified from senate…

“38. (1) No person shall be qualified to be appointed as a Senator who-
    Qualifica- tions for membership of Senate. 1974-34.
    Disqualifica- tions for membership of Senate.

is a member of the House of Assembly;
    s.38

is, by virtue of his own act, under any acknowledgment of allegiance, obedience or adherence to a foreign Power or State;

(c) holds or is acting in the office of a Judge, the Director of Public Prosecutions or the Auditor-General;

L.R.O. 1995 The Constitution of Barbados fa) is a member of the House of Assembly;
    s.38″

28. disqualification to the senate continued ..

“Is, by virtue of his own act, under acknowledgement of allegiance, obedience or adherence to a foreign power or State; …”

that is the one difficult to read.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

May 31, 2018 1:29 PM

I cracked up laughing too!!

Enjoyed no end!!

Thx for the humour

JOHN I LOVE A GOOD PUN—ITS LOTS OF FUN FOLLOWING ALL THE “TENANTS” ON BU!

30. Jeff & David

I ventured an opinion that tinkering with the Constitution was not necessarily going to be about a simple minor amendment to accommodate the absence of an Opposition. This additional amendment will also benefit the Governing Party, this is a case of having too many riches who knows where it might lead.

If Ms McConney was not legally able to assume her position as a Senator, the Gov’t will have to provide a “do-over” for her role as Minister.

I am not a lawyer that is just a layman’s view.

31. @John May 31, 2018 9:12 AM “There has to be a leader of the opposition IN THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY, to advise.”

The people have made it clear that they do not want an opposition, nor an opposition leader. A constitution cannot replace he will of the people. The people have made it clear, that notwithstanding the constitution, that at this time they want NOTHING to do with the DLP.

What part of NOTHING/Zero/0 do you not understand?

32. And just to sweeten things in case some are trying to slither through in the future..ah will leave yall to monitor them..lol

“has been adjudged or otherwise declared bankrupt under any law in force in Barbados and has not been discharged; or

is disqualified for membership of the House of Assembly by or under any law in force in Barbados by reason of his having been convicted or reported guilty of any corrupt or illegal practice at elections.
    1974-34.
    (4
    (21 Without prejudice to the provisions of subsection (1) (c), Parliament may provide that, subject to such exceptions and limitations as Parliament may prescribe, a person shall not be qualified to be appointed as a Senator if…”

33. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

I must admit I did not know that this is the BU stalker and legend – Jack Boreman.

In de ole man’s limited time here Boreman has only been “a nuisance” rather he has spent a long time employing another side of his DOS -denial of service attack styling

But, to be honest, the man is not half bad lololol

He indeed has an agile mind and extremely rapid fingers.

And he is a very skilled polemicist albeit with a Fixation on BU. (Euphemism for someone here got his goat and Jack ent forgetting that. Lolol)

From time to time reference is made to Boreman’s prior incarnation here and “his Luciferian fall” and then his rebirth as the blogging scourge at BU lolol

If I were to do a profile on Jack (using my Perry Mason TV guide) I would say he’s not Bajan, white, retired AND COMFORTABLE ENOUGH TO SPEND HIS TIME AS HE LIKES.

HE would have lived in Barbados for a while and still has a presence here in terms of a place of domicile.

One thing that is evident is that he is not an employee and likes being the boss of things.

Extremely well honed life skills (diction yet to project his academics) and an acute understanding about the psyche of BAJANS especially black BAJANS.

Not “seen” enough of his contiguous blogs to determine if he is racist (though it was said he loves Russ Limbaugh) but enough to see that he, like a few here, has serious difficulty with idiots in high positions, IRRESPECTIVE OF WHETHER THEY ARE BLACK OR WHITE.

And yes, while all uh we does say “don’t shoot the messenger but examine his message”, the fact is that “over the effusion of time” (Doan cuss me SS) you start to filter the person’s submissions based on your assessment of “where their heart is” or seems to be.

Remember how the first few posts of the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch went when he first arrived here?

He will tell you of his baptism and how he at one point was going to leave.

But people wanted to understand the sincerity of the blogger as well as his blogs.

The Luminary put skin in the game and was accepted here in the RumShop

I ent know Boreman from jump street but, effing his is a genuine effort to safeguard a country where we have our “nable string buried”, ( and one where he seems to have a vested interest) it is all for the advancement of BARBADOS

As the Honourable Blogmaster you WILL MAKE THAT FINAL CALL

@ John aka Jack Boreman

Repeat a lie for long enough and FOR THE FICKLE OF MIND, it becomes the truth.

Commingle that lie with some truth and, over time, it becomes the truth.

I am of the belief that “you have skin in The DLP game”

The results of this Election have put a serious dent in your “interests” on the ground in Barbados And it is therefore in you interest to prosecute this hypnotic chant regarding a New Election

What you are hoping for WILL NOT HAPPEN

34. Dear John, I must say that were the last government (if you could call it that) as active as you currently are, they would not now be in the political wilderness. As far as taking advice from Dr Morris is concerned, the DLP should have reviewed the immense contribution he made as Ambassador and it would have given them an indication of his vast capabilities and achievements (in running the campaign)….somewhat similar to the previous Ambassador who had all the answers to solving the fishing standoff with Trinidad and Tobago until he got the job.

Dear John, you are running the risk of screaming “Rape” so ofter before the new government makes a mistake, that when they do, and they will, your screaming will be ignored. Go rest yourself son. The time will come when you will be able to gird your loins and take up your armor to join the battle, that time is not yet.

35. @John May 31, 2018 9:17 AM “All that matters is the Leader of the Opposition must be in the House of Assembly.”

And if the people whose House it is say “No” we don’t want you in our House, what does the DLP intend to do?

A break and enter?

A home invasion?

36. If I am right, there may be fresh elections called within a week.

Something has gotta give soon.

I think Mia may have sacrificed a lot of the Bee first and second tier in going through with the swearing in and declaring her intent to change the constitution.

Her intent is now clear to the electorate and if it is not, the Dees will make sure it becomes clear.

The Dees are sitting down laughing … and waiting and keeping quiet.

They are organizing for battle.

I think the Dees will replace most of the old jokers in their first tier with their second tier and hope to explain what has gone on that prompted the need for reelections.

They will be relentless.

They may or may not be successful …. but not with me if I get to vote again … anything other than the Bee or Dee!!

The Bees could bleed badly because the Dees will be swinging their cutlasses wild in desperation and the Bees will be an easy target … if I am right in my reading of the situation.

The Bees will need to do some replacing too … Adams will run.

I think he was held back from the swearing in …. but they will be hamstrung by the gamble Mia took … assuming I am right and she loses that gamble.

The non Dees and non Bees may very well come into their own.

Bobby Morris and the Dems may well earn their seats after all … with Mia’s help.

She should have gone to the GG from the beginning and people would be singing her praises for years to come.

Now, she may have a mess on her hands to deal with ….. but she may also resign in shame,

That’s my 2 cents.

Tomorrow I may look like a fool … or a soothsayer!!

But I am only interpreting what I see in front of me.

37. Jeff…are lawyers whom we all know as officers of the court, public officers?

I will tell you why so you do not feel ambushed, EBC Chairpersons are disqualified from holding that position if they are:

4) A person shall not be qualified to hold office as a member of the Commission if he is a Minister, a Parliamentary Secretary, a member of, or a candidate for election to the House of Assembly, a Senator or a public officer.

38. if the people whose House it is say “No” we don’t want you in our House, what does the DLP intend to do?

Just stay out, keep quiet and look for a pick when the time comes.

The time may be coming soon!!

39. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

It appears that the Constitutional Crisis is now in its death throes.

If the constitution can be legally amended next week to allow Adams and McConney to be sworn in as senators it implies that Parliament can now legally meet and conduct any required business with the small senatorial quorum and 30-0 House.

This also suggests that the first meeting of Parliament could start the process to develop the necessary amendments to the Constitution that would clarify how the absence of an opposition voice in the House must be treated to ensure the seating of 2 or more persons with Opposition credentials in the senate.

40. In that same House a then DLP member threatened to have us shot, threatened to have our heads cracked.

We did not like the idea of being shot. We did not like the idea of having our heads cracked.

So we kicked wunna RH’s out.

If you behave yourselves, maybe we will permit some of you to re-enter our House in 2023.

41. The people have made it clear that they do not want an opposition, nor an opposition leader

About 30% of the electorate, tens of thousands, have opposed the Government!!

Go check.

The constitution comprehends what you clearly do not!!

42. @Sargeant

What is view about this little bungle?

43. So John is still going on and on..ah hope he did not put any money into SBs party, he is acting like he lost money…

..there is nothing that can be done about the 30-0 except to reform the constitution so another 30-0 does not happen in 5 years at election time where there will likely be no elected government and no opposition, if the constitution is not amended…just imagine the chaos…lol

“58. (1) A Bill shall not become law until the Governor- General has assented thereto in Her Majesty’s name and on Her Majesty’s behalf and has signed it in token of such assent.”

44. If the constitution can be legally amended next week to allow Adams and McConney to be sworn in as senators it implies that Parliament can now legally meet and conduct any required business with the small senatorial quorum and 30-0 House.

How?

Something not making sense here.

If it was so easy to ament the constitution why it wasn’t done yesterday for today?

How many times has it been amended in the past 52 years?

45. I must admit I did not know that this is the BU stalker and legend – Jack Boreman.

Me either and been around here since it begun in 2007!!

46. The amendment will probably change the existing prohibition on length of residency for those affected as well as those who have dual citizenship from serving in the H of A and the Senate. This has not been enforced (or given a second thought) in Barbados but in Jamaica a member was forced to renounce his US citizenship in order to continue serving in the Jamaica House of representatives and more recently 5 Australian parliamentarians were ousted because they held dual citizenship.

47. @John May 31, 2018 12:04 PM “With the Leader of the opposition and the GG TOGETHER, they need to create a new Parliament. All three need to be present in the birth.”

Obstetricians may be used to thinking of themselves as big shots, necessary for the process of birth. But you are mistaken if you think that they are necessary. For in truth only two people are necessary for birth to take place. The mother and the baby.

48. @David
    “Bungle”. I would hazard a guess that because the DLP didn’t win a seat, everyone started to pay attention to the Constitution in order to obtain a quick “fixit” on the matter of Opposition Senators. This caused some reverberations as it became evident that two potential Senate nominees weren’t qualified under the residency requirements and possibly the citizenship requirements.

This will cause a minor hiccup in the Gov’ts plans but it has the numbers and will prevail, funny how Gov’ts have to amend the Constitution to get their preferred candidates in position a la Gibson.

49. ITS LOTS OF FUN FOLLOWING ALL THE “TENANTS” ON BU!

Agree

Sometimes when I should be sleeping I do a little following too!!

Four years ago I was diagnosed with Sleep Apnea and got a CPAP machine.

New lease on life …. not exactly a young buck … but never felt better.

Four hours now is equivalent to I would guess 8 hours in days gone by and when I lie down the next thing I know is when I wake up … very little tossing and turning!!

Sometimes I get 8 hours and then can go non stop for a couple of days/nights with only a few hours sleep.

Found a $36USD pulse oximeter on Amazon which can record so I do it sometimes to see what is going on with my body when I sleep. I upload the data in the morning via USB to my computer. Amazon seems to have dropped the price even further.

SPO2 levels most nights in the 90’s right through, low (<5) AHI.

If I sleep without the CPAP machine attached to me it can drop into the 80’s occasionally.

Pulse drops to the 60’s sometimes 50’s.

But I need to lose 20-30 pounds!!

Fascinating the technology available off the shelf these days.

I told a friend who is a marathon runner about it and he told me some runners use O2 and the CPAP machine preparing for competition and it is considered cheating!!

Plain air works magic for me!!

50. Obstetricians may be used to thinking of themselves as big shots, necessary for the process of birth. But you are mistaken if you think that they are necessary. For in truth only two people are necessary for birth to take place. The mother and the baby.

++++++++++++++++++

I know.

… but in the case of Parliament it seems to need three persons, the PM, the Leader of the opposition and the GG.

Now they only got two and to compound matters, the House of Assembly is sterile with zero sperm count.