A few people only would have accurately predicted the outcome of last Thursday’s general election that resulted in the former Opposition Barbados Labour Party romping to victory by capturing all thirty of the parliamentary seats at stake.

Among those who we may number as not having foreseen such an eventuality would have been the framers of our 1966 Constitution. Indeed, if we were to judge from the text they produced, it might be argued that, to the contrary, they contemplated that there would always be an opposition in parliament and a possible leader thereof, although that individual might not always be willing to serve in that role.

This is my assessment from a reading of the various sections of the Constitution pertinent to the issue. First, there is section 74 (1) that appears to presume the continuous existence of an Opposition in Parliament –

There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

Second, section 74 (2) provides for the mode of his or her appointment, once more apparently making an identical assumption-

Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader: [Emphasis added]

At least two of my learned friends, Justice Christopher Blackman in last Sunday’s issue of the Sunday Sun, and Ms Lynette Eastmond in Tuesday’s Barbados Advocate, have expressed the view that the issue is satisfactorily resolved by the provision in section 75. According to this-

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

(a) act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and

(b) act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition…

It seems clear from a preliminary reading of this turgidly drafted section that while it is premised on the absence or non-existence of a Leader of the Opposition, that premise is not the broad one contended for by some in the present scenario, but rather is cribbed, cabined and confined by that absence or non-existence being for the express reason stated and that reason only, namely, by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office… [Emphasis mine]

We should note that the section does not present the two elements as alternatives, in which case the draftsman would have used “or”, but rather as cumulative (“and”), thereby intending that both elements should be satisfied. Nor does it seem to import clearly that the second element (willingness to accept) is relevant only where the first element of qualification is satisfied.

It is readily conceded that the section is regrettably drafted and it is to be negatively contrasted with the much more lucid (though to different effect) provision to be found in section 83 (6) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution of 1976-

Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant, whether because there is no member of the House of Representatives so qualified for appointment or because no one qualified for appointment is willing to be appointed, or because the Leader of the Opposition has resigned his office or for any other reason, any provision in this Constitution requiring consultation with the Leader of the Opposition shall, in so far as it requires such consultation, be of no effect. [Emphasis mine]

It would appear that both of my learned friends and others have read the Barbadian provision as being identical to this one, when in fact it is not; since the T&T section requires only one of the stipulated prerequisites to be satisfied.

In the absence of a clear provision to cater to the current circumstances, the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, seemingly in agreement with the argument advanced here, has graciously indicated her preference for a constitutional amendment that would permit the party, other than that which comprises the governing administration, that captured the most votes in the election to nominate two members of the Senate, as the official Opposition would be able to in ordinary circumstances.

This amendment too will require careful drafting as it purports too alter, even if only slightly, the entitlement to Senate representation from one of the number of those first past the post to a semblance of proportional representation. I imagine, however, that she is contemplating a sunset clause to fit the current scenario. It is now up to the Democratic Labour Party to determine whether it will be aware of Greeks bearing gifts or whether it will look this gift horse intently in the mouth.

It is not an open and shut matter and will bring into sharp focus the regard of the political effectiveness of the Senate in our system of governance.

293 responses to “A Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Unforeseen Event”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

So glad I eliminated pure rubbish out of my number of readings.

The ELECTORATE. ..gave themselves a fighting chance on May 24th to right a 52 year old grevious wrong against themselves and generations of future bajans…unknowly, but that is how Karma works.

…an opportunity for this new government to reform and transform the constitution to enable the majority population to make decisions on how their leaders should work on their behalf, what they expect from real leaders, along with the option to remove those who refuse for whatever reason to display the attributes and work ethic of real leaders…the option is now available,

Mia now has in her hands the power to move the island forward to real progress by making the required amendments to the constitution to reflect those changes due to the vacuum created in the constitution by the oversight of not preparing for the anomaly of a voters revolt…..which immediately created a one party state that was not foreseen when drafting the original constitutional document in ’66…

..that vacuum can now be filled with the population’s power to remove any government not performing sufficiently or adequately enough to satisfy the needs of the people and country, particularly should another government be stripped of opposition powers in any future elections by the electorate…….which would be another anomaly creating another vacuum in the constitution if it is not amended accordingly before the next election in 2023……the time has never been better to affect the necessary changes.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Piece….the simplest solution is always the best solution.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

….that vacuum can now be filled with the population’s power to RECALL AND REMOVE any government and their ministers JOINTLY AND SEVERALLY who are not performing their jobs sufficiently , competently or adequately enough to satisfy the needs of the people and country..

…. particularly should another government be stripped of opposition powers, by the electorate…..in future elections….creating another vacuum in the constitution.

This is the preventative measure for any such future eventualities.

4. Has Jeff Cumberbatch been nominated as a senator? Don’t we all believe that given his record of public service he deserves a right to be heard at the nation’s leading forum?

5. Not interested in following a narrative of distraction
    There are bigger fish to fry. The sewage problem which Mottley said she will fix is still high on the agenda. The pot holes and financing of the reserves are still high on the agenda. Govt workers increase in salaries still high on the agenda.The govt lost and the Constitution provides room for voices of opposition and that is where i stand

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We and @Pieces,, there is a time in any debate when stupidity must be recognized for what it is and a ‘show cancelled’ because of the sheer absurdity of a protagonist.

The Blogmaster should simply edit out all continued absurd mouthings from John on the constitutional matter as he is simply being a noise maker with absolutely no reasoning or intent to be serious.

That he can continue his diatribes is ‘free speech’ I presume but surely it’s now also clear he has some problem we can’t decipher.

Many legal players have opined and tho the last one in the person of Dean Jeff has been less swayed than the others on the validity of the constitutional language re the LoO and thus summarises that “[i]t is not an open and shut matter …” he yet agrees that the country can proceed with carefully considered actions by the PM.

In sum, everyone has offered solid rationale so that even in disagreement facts and opinions are well detailed and accepted as persuasive and pertinent. Blogger John offers none of that; merely making wild opinions that are easily dismissed with facts and yet all he does is bring more wild non-sequiturs (a week in politics) and supports his opinions with nary a viable or persuasive thought… this is a game for him.

Mr Blogmaster stop allowing this man to denigrate and laugh at this blog subject!

7. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mariposa, all of those things were high on the agenda for several years. The sewerage one in particular was very high from day one and became a glaring problem in the last few years because your administration simply REFUSED to act with alacrity and purpose.

Get off the blog with your screeds now. Hypocrisy does not fit well on you.

Come back in six months and start to talk…or even in three but right now ALL the problems are of YOUR admin’s creation and incompetence and shameless tho you be we will all remind you that there is a big glob of nasty spit on your face and feces on your legs…go and cleanse yourself and make yourself presentable.. three months should work!

8. Yes and those issues will continue to be on the agenda until they are resolved. No hypocrisy here. The hypocrisy lies in where those voices which were calling day and night for quick resolution has gone silent

9. John I must tell you that I initially ignored what you were saying.However after re-reading one or two of your posts I started to see sense in SOME of what you were saying.Obviously it made enough sense to provoke an article from the BU’s household legal luminary.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Heather…this gives you a vague idea on how to draft your lobbying request….you may want to consult a real constitutional lawyer…Jeff comes to mind…for further guidance…Mia might want to do the same.

If Mia’s government does not move promptly to seal that vacuum in the constitution created by the constitution. …she will pay to learn. …that life ABHORS a vacuum.

The people have paid enough and do not need to pay anymore because of hardheaded governments…the people did their part effectively…the rest is left to a caring government.

that vacuum can now be filled with the population’s power to RECALL AND REMOVE any government and their ministers JOINTLY AND SEVERALLY who are not performing their jobs sufficiently , competently or adequately enough to satisfy the needs of the people and country..

…. particularly should another government be stripped of opposition powers, by the electorate…..in future elections….creating another vacuum in the constitution.

This is the preventative measure for any such future eventualities.

11. @Mariposa
    You gave me my first laugh for the morning. To expect Mia to fix the ongoing sewage problem in two or three days is unbelievable. I cannot wait to see how you tie her to Cahill.
    Bordering on idiocy.
    Take a break, renew and return.

@Hal A
    Brilliant suggestion. JC should be a part of the mix.
    You are the blind squirrel who finds a nut every now and then.

Good to see men/women like AWTY reentering the discussion.

12. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dpD;

David pointed out earlier that the GG is scheduled to swear-in the Senators appointed by Government at 10:30 am today. The GG should be in a position to also appoint the Independant Senators quite soon. That should allow the Senate to have 20 of its full slate of 22 senators within days. That would constitute a quorum and the two parliamentary bodies could be convened within the next few days to formally start its new term without doing an injustice to the will of the people as forcibly expressed in the elections one week ago. The DLP opposition would have no standing in Parliament and therefore no standing to protest such a solution.

Does this go against the spirit of the constitution? I doubt it, but if it is challenged a quick, urgent meeting of the Supreme Court should be able to sort that out. The Election results last week firmly established the will of the people and the Constitution should be read and interpreted in terms of what the Framers reasonably meant to establish in an unexpected situation. If the will of the people is paramount then the only reasonable interpretation must be that the GG was meant to have the power to unravel this unexpected situation in like manner to that which the Trinidad constitution would have provided its people.

The current situation, without the GG’s intervention, does not appear to allow for one or 2 BLP parliamentarians to hive off a new Party for the purpose of a tendentious solution since, without an intervention by the GG to allow the Parliament to sit, the Parliament would be ultra vires the Constitution and could not sit. A GG intervention would have already allowed the new Parliament to sit which could then change the constitution to allow for future situations of this sort and therefore that stratagem would be unnecessary in such circumstances.

13. De P Dribbler
    In the same way you can get on BU and spout yuh bull s.hit so can i
    Go find yuh manners ole dude

14. Arrogance of the leadership and gloating and vengeful supporters of this new BLP administration is going to be one of the factors that will destroy them if they are not careful.

I keep hearing that the people have spoken -meaning in favour of Ms Mottley leadership to get this historic 30 -0.But while that may be so for a section of those who voted, I suggest they re think that assumption, since a careful examination and analysis of the results and conversations with the man in the street (as opposed to the business class) suggest that the people were directly speaking to the Dems and not specifically wanting to hand Mia a victory.That this was going to be the result of that action was never in doubt.The fact that this was the lowest turnout in history should be a good place to start any reflection.

So I suggest ms motley be careful not to interpret this as any massive mandate given by the people and with that start to tinker with the Constitution and devise grandiose plans.

Time will tell if I am wrong or right.

15. @T.Iniss

How do you know Jeff was motivated to author this clarification piece because of John? You need to stay in the lane.

In adversarial politics there will be gloating, you are correct that it will be up to the BLP leadership to manage this situation. The blogmaster noted that through the campaign Mottley was quick to douse this kind of narrative when it showed its head.

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Are-We one small correction and then to the main point.

You repeatedly write to effect that : “That should allow the Senate to have 20 of its full slate of 22 senators …”. Please note the # is 21 (12+7+2) NOT 22 (12+8+2)!

I agree completely that “The DLP opposition would have no standing in Parliament and therefore no standing to protest such a solution.”.

Also agree that, “The Election results last week firmly established the will of the people and the Constitution should be read and interpreted in terms of what the Framers reasonably meant to establish in an unexpected situation. If the will of the people is paramount then the only reasonable interpretation must be that the GG was meant to have the power to unravel this unexpected situation in like manner to that which the Trinidad constitution would have provided its people.”

This part is obviously weird…why would two BLP MPs cross the floor to create an opposition? It’s viable but politically nonsensical :

Actually I don’t believe it would be “ultra vires” because they would have their right to cross the floor as Hammy Lal or Bowman did so the ONLY thing against the law if two or five actually crossed the floor to hive off that new party would be strict regulations against public suicide ! 🙂

@ Dean Jeff, please clarify one query if you have the time.

Can the Senate simply be established with a quorum of ANY eight senators or (1) do ALL members have to attend or (2) eight members constituted of govt and opposition/independent senators have to sit initially for that body to be duly established?

17. Freedom Crier Avatar

Is Anyone Aware Of This?

“Bajans Be Aware. Owen Arthur is up to his mischief once again. The poor guy cannot help himself. He is assuming the seemingly vacant post of leader of the Democratic Labour Party and is trying to persuade one of the BLP Backbenchers to go to the Governor General and declare himself Leader of the Opposition, so he, Arthur, can influence the selection of the two Opposition Senators. It is understood Arthur has promised one of those seats to Lynette Eastmond and another to Donville Inniss. Sources close to Arthur say St. Michael West MP, Bishop Joseph Atherley is the man Arthur is targeting. It is not certain whether the man of the cloth will now become the Judas of the Group and fall for Arthur’s bait. But the salary of the Leader of the Opposition is said to be very tempting to him.

There is division in the ranks of the DLP as to whether the offer of the two Senators should be accepted. Thus Arthur’s mischief is intended to make up the Dems’ mind for them. Will the Bishop become The Judas and sell his soul for 30 pieces of silver? Only time will tell.

But what’s clear is that Owen Arthur’s skulduggery will not end anytime soon. The man is sick.”

http://thevincentian.com/clients/thevincentian/3-7-2013-11-57-35-AM-5905969.jpg

18. I am reading the tea leaves david.Maybe they are too murky lol

19. There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

Here is the prohibition of the freak result which happened a week ago.

THERE SHALL BE A LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION!!

The GG has to appoint a leader of the opposition which she cannot do with the current state of affairs!

This thing is simplicity itself.

The GG appoints a leader of the opposition and the leader of the opposition advises her regarding the two opposition senators.

But the GG cannot appoint a leader of the opposition because there are no members of the House of Assembly who oppose the Government.

This result cannot stand beside the established constitution, that’s how simple it is.

It is not as if there are none in the island who oppose the Government, 30% of the electorate oppose the Government.

The first past the post system has deprived them of their voice in the House of Assembly.

The constitution prevents that by having the requirement there SHALL BE a leader of the opposition.

SHALL denotes compulsion.

Don’t mess with the constitution and remove the office of the leader of the opposition.

Recognise the freakish nature of the result and thank the framers of our constitution, whoever they were, for giving us an instrument to prevent a one party state.

The constitution specifically prohibits a one party state by compelling there to be a leader of the opposition.

It gets simpler and simpler once you realise you cannot get past this compulsion!!

Keith Mitchell in Grenada has an unconstitutional government.

We don’t have to follow his example and castrate our constitution!!

This is extremely serious because right before us we are watching forces trying mightily to create a one party state.

“Give me the vote and watch muh” suddenly takes on an ominous message.

20. Simple Meenap Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party won all thirty seats in last week’s election. Tell old simple me where in the constitution allows for theDLP or any other party contesting last elections to occupy a seat in parliament. Consequently they should not occupy a seat in the upper house likewise. I cannot see if a party or individual did not win a seat in any constituency how they can qualify as leader of opposition or hold any claim to a seat in the Senate. So making a generous offer of two seats should not be considered.
    In my simple thinking the offer extended should be accepted, cause you DLP ites have failed to convince the electorate in all constituencies to vote for you. Do you not think that it was morally wrong to extend the life of parliament and do as you please with the people’s money and the power cause you were the lawfully elected government?.

21. During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

Even if you get past the compulsion of having a leader of the opposition and get to this to accept that “any period” means never does not make sense.

The compulsion of the first clause precludes this interpretation.

There has to be a leader of the opposition …. period!!

We have a freak result and it cannot stand alongside the constitution as it exists now.

Go back to the polls.

22. I keep hearing that the people have spoken -meaning in favour of Ms Mottley leadership to get this historic 30 -0.But while that may be so for a section of those who voted, I suggest they re think that assumption, since a careful examination and analysis of the results and conversations with the man in the street (as opposed to the business class) suggest that the people were directly speaking to the Dems and not specifically wanting to hand Mia a victory.That this was going to be the result of that action was never in doubt.The fact that this was the lowest turnout in history should be a good place to start any reflection.

That’s why the constitution demands, requires, compels that those people have a voice in Parliament!!

The 30-0 result cannot stand alongside the constitution

It isn’t possible.

23. Should a democracy be static? What kind of democracy do you want if voices representing dissenting opinion is not recognized in the HoA?

24. This ranting and raving from the sore losers namely the DLP is reminding me of Hillary Clinton and the Democrats. Up to now they have not gotten over the beating they got. To this day they want to change the Election results and the Electoral College.

The losers here want a redo of the election.

Wuhloss, wunnah lost, get over it.

25. I disagree with John on many things his stance on this issue included but to call for his banning because he is swimming against the tide exposes the thin skin that some of us inhabit.

John is being John and his contrarian views are in line with his stance on racism and his support for e.g. Limbaugh. The ink is barely dry on the ballots and the BLP won all 30 seats and despite that John can call for new Elections and proclaim that the proposed makeup of the Senate is invalid and BU can still get its proverbial shorts in a twist.

Looka hay I watched CBC Evening news last evening and noticed that the new PM had a mob a ton of people over in St. Lawrence trying to come up with ideas to fix the sewage issue. I hope there is some bright HC boy who has a workable solution.

Hope springs eternal…..

26. Hey David

What gives? I’m in moderation………

27. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

dpD

I am really confused as to which number is the correct one. Is it 21 which would presume that there would be 7 independent senators or is it 22 which would presume that 8 such members is the correct formulation. Perhaps the true number of senators and / or how they are split up is not actually specified in the Constitution itself but might be in easily changeable regulations or Orders. In any case, a clarification by Jeff or some other Authority would be most helpful.

I am getting tired of this debate as the problem seems to be so easily soluble if one projects the already overwhelmingly expressed will of the people given last week onto what must be the only reasonable action of the GG to put that will into effect as advised by the PM.

Looking forward to see how the GG and the PM will act or has already acted in response to a largely contrived crisis which would not have seen the light of day without the response of Bobby Morris, an illegitimate spokesman for a non-existent opposition party, to a generous offer. This is the acid test for both of them! It will define their individual legacy forever.

Uh gone!

28. The House of Assembly exists but it is sterile.

It can’t produce a senate.

The two need to exist for Parliament to work.

The Bees giving seats away can’t work, manufacturing a schism can’t work.

The only possible way is to go back to the people.

The people spoke clearly a week ago I agree.

The Bees won all the seats.

But, a Parliament cannot be born.

Go back to the people.

29. John
    Back to what elections? What folly! The Constitution can’t make a people elect who they don’t want in their Lower House. A constitutional change giving the party with the 2nd most seats then second most votes seems logical.

30. My two persons for the Senate if the bitter Dems refuse the offer is Randall Rouse and Grenville Phillips.

Screw the DLP, sore losers who need to move on and get a life.

Let this REDWASH teach you all a lesson. Disrespect and ignore the electorate at your own peril.

31. Or we gine “cross” the floor and mek a mockery of Parliament, as we’ll now have an extra 2 senators.🤣🤣

32. My two persons for the Senate if the bitter Dems refuse the offer is Randall Rouse and Grenville Phillips.

This is not possible.

There has to be a leader of the opposition IN THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY, to advise.

33. There is division in the ranks of the DLP as to whether the offer of the two Senators should be accepted. Thus Arthur’s mischief is intended to make up the Dems’ mind for them. Will the Bishop become The Judas and sell his soul for 30 pieces of silver? Only time will tell.

It should not matter if there is a division in the ranks of the DLP.

All that matters is the Leader of the Opposition must be in the House of Assembly.

Barbados will get through … pray!!

34. They were bound to run out of steam the whole lot of them…Mia knows what she has to do, I am all about giving people time to do their jobs….let the useless element in the society sweat.

35. I am all about giving people time to do their jobs

… but there is no work place in which she can do that job.

It doesn’t exist.

36. The House of Assembly is like a boxing ring.

Two boxers need to enter for there to be a match.

Otherwise it can’t work as intended.

… unless the rules are changed to permit shadow boxing!!

37. Let him post, when he gets tired he switches to Jack Boreman. He obviously has time on his hands. In the final the blogmaster will exercise judgement whether to delete or moderate.

38. What most cannot see is that whatever happens, if the constitution is not reformed, the same very thing can happen again in 2023 because of the flawed original draft constitution, the same existing vacuum will result in the Mia government facing another 30-0 revolt by the electorate….should she not move to fix this wide open chasm that is now just as toxic to the population as the national disaster she declared for the south court yesterday.

A new era demands a sound and leak proof constitution.

39. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

AWTY at 8 : 56 AM

There shall be 21 members of Senate selected by:

PM = 12
    GG = 7
    LOO= 2

40. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Dean Jeff, please clarify one query if you have the time.

Can the Senate simply be established with a quorum of ANY eight senators or (1) do ALL members have to attend or (2) eight members constituted of govt and opposition/independent senators have to sit initially for that body to be duly established?

@ DPD, The Constitution does not appear to recognize the origin of one’s senatorship as relevant. Any eight will suffice…

S.52 (2) For the purposes of this section a quorum of the Senate shall consist of eight Senators besides the person presiding.

41. BC

Shall denotes compulsion!!

Senate can only exist with 21 members ….. Jeff, you were to look at that in relation to what Lynette Eastmond opined

No mention in your article so I presume you agree.

42. Jeff

Is it fair to say that for Quorum to come into play, the senate must exist and have 21 seats filled?

Once there are 21 seats, then it can meet with 8 members and transact business.

If 21 seats are not filled, then it can’t exist and quorum is moot.

I reckon it is 21 and not 22, the full complement because there may be only 1 independent in Parliament with no party from which to choose.

That begs the question can a member of the house of assembly be also a member of the senate?

If that can happen then the constitution is permitting one member alone to stand in opposition to the entire government.

ie there must be an opposition member in the House.

I believe that is the fundamental principle at stake here.

29-1 can work,

28 – 2 can work.

27-3 can and has worked

But … 30 – 0 can’t … it is a freak result!!

Do not change the constitution, go back to the people!!

43. The majority population has spoken

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/30/new-senators-to-be-sworn-in-tomorrow/

“Governor General Dame Sandra Mason will swear in the Senators appointed by the Government of Barbados tomorrow, Thursday, May 31, at Government House at 10:30 a.m.

This follows last Thursday’s general election in which the Mia Mottley-led Barbados Labour Party claimed all 30 seats at stake.”

44. There can’t be a vacancy in the position of the leader of the opposition if there was never one selected who vacated the post!!

“Governor General Dame Sandra Mason will swear in the Senators appointed by the Government of Barbados tomorrow, Thursday, May 31, at Government House at 10:30 a.m.

The Grenada Government is unconstitutional seems to then suggest itself as the logical outcome.

Swearing in the Government Senators is ratcheting up the pressure!!

Any word as to when she will select the leader of the opposition as she seems to be compelled to do?

45. @John “The House of Assembly exists but it is sterile. It can’t produce a senate. The two need to exist for Parliament to work.”

John, you have obviously chosen to mirror Donald Trump and his belief that repetition of an imaginary event makes it real. I can hardly remember seeing any comments by you for five (dare I say ten) years until recently. Now you have suddenly become Mr BU. Take it easy son, settle down. Your lack of engagement in the past did not contribute to current events and neither will you multiple rants in one thread do so.

Barbados was running on autopilot for ten years without a functioning government and it did not bother you. In all probability you voted for a continuation of that state of affairs. We had a Senate that was a rubber stamp to anything that went on in the Lower Chamber and it did not bother you. The only people to offer any meaningful alternative views in the Lower House were the Independent Senators. What is your problem now? Unless the Senate is reconstituted for a more meaningful purpose, you are engaging in mere semantics.

The House of Assembly existed but was sterile for ten years as the so called government refused to respond to questions and challenges from the Opposition. It produced a Senate that was a joke as far as functionality was concerned. Parliament will work as long as the government of the day is willing to work for the good of the people and the country and not just for a last minute paycheck and a lifetime pension.

Your constant calls for another election so as to reverse the result is so puerile that it is not worth mentioning. Down boy, down.

46. @Professor Cumberbatch “turgidly drafted”

Bajan lawyers specialize in turgid language:

For example “the effluxion of time”

When “the passing of time” would have done very well.

Lawyers must learn that when they are speaking to lay people they must speak in laypeople’s language.

Using “effluxion” when “passing” will do, does not cause people to respect you, rather it makes them wonder whether you are a bloody disrespectful idiot.

47. @FearPlay May 31, 2018 11:05 AM “John…you are engaging in mere semantics.”

Wunna Bajan fellas too love semantics.

Stupseee!!!

48. @John May 31, 2018 10:59 AM “There can’t be a vacancy in the position of the leader of the opposition if there was never one selected who vacated the post!!”

Mia Mottley was the Leader of the Opposition. The people gave her an upgrade to Prime Minister.

If you don’t like it, lump it.

What is the matter with you?

49. Some Senators were missing from the swearing in ceremony, I didn’t see McConney or Adams

Hmmnnnnn residency requirements?