A few people only would have accurately predicted the outcome of last Thursday’s general election that resulted in the former Opposition Barbados Labour Party romping to victory by capturing all thirty of the parliamentary seats at stake.

Among those who we may number as not having foreseen such an eventuality would have been the framers of our 1966 Constitution. Indeed, if we were to judge from the text they produced, it might be argued that, to the contrary, they contemplated that there would always be an opposition in parliament and a possible leader thereof, although that individual might not always be willing to serve in that role.

This is my assessment from a reading of the various sections of the Constitution pertinent to the issue. First, there is section 74 (1) that appears to presume the continuous existence of an Opposition in Parliament –

There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

Second, section 74 (2) provides for the mode of his or her appointment, once more apparently making an identical assumption-

Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader: [Emphasis added]

At least two of my learned friends, Justice Christopher Blackman in last Sunday’s issue of the Sunday Sun, and Ms Lynette Eastmond in Tuesday’s Barbados Advocate, have expressed the view that the issue is satisfactorily resolved by the provision in section 75. According to this-

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

(a) act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and

(b) act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition…

It seems clear from a preliminary reading of this turgidly drafted section that while it is premised on the absence or non-existence of a Leader of the Opposition, that premise is not the broad one contended for by some in the present scenario, but rather is cribbed, cabined and confined by that absence or non-existence being for the express reason stated and that reason only, namely, by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office… [Emphasis mine]

We should note that the section does not present the two elements as alternatives, in which case the draftsman would have used “or”, but rather as cumulative (“and”), thereby intending that both elements should be satisfied. Nor does it seem to import clearly that the second element (willingness to accept) is relevant only where the first element of qualification is satisfied.

It is readily conceded that the section is regrettably drafted and it is to be negatively contrasted with the much more lucid (though to different effect) provision to be found in section 83 (6) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution of 1976-

Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant, whether because there is no member of the House of Representatives so qualified for appointment or because no one qualified for appointment is willing to be appointed, or because the Leader of the Opposition has resigned his office or for any other reason, any provision in this Constitution requiring consultation with the Leader of the Opposition shall, in so far as it requires such consultation, be of no effect. [Emphasis mine]

It would appear that both of my learned friends and others have read the Barbadian provision as being identical to this one, when in fact it is not; since the T&T section requires only one of the stipulated prerequisites to be satisfied.

In the absence of a clear provision to cater to the current circumstances, the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, seemingly in agreement with the argument advanced here, has graciously indicated her preference for a constitutional amendment that would permit the party, other than that which comprises the governing administration, that captured the most votes in the election to nominate two members of the Senate, as the official Opposition would be able to in ordinary circumstances.

This amendment too will require careful drafting as it purports too alter, even if only slightly, the entitlement to Senate representation from one of the number of those first past the post to a semblance of proportional representation. I imagine, however, that she is contemplating a sunset clause to fit the current scenario. It is now up to the Democratic Labour Party to determine whether it will be aware of Greeks bearing gifts or whether it will look this gift horse intently in the mouth.

It is not an open and shut matter and will bring into sharp focus the regard of the political effectiveness of the Senate in our system of governance.

293 responses to “A Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Unforeseen Event”

1. Finally, some semblance of balance.

2. Jeff,

Apologies, but I think that you are being over pedantic.

”by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall- ”

That is quite clear. It is indicates that in order for a person to be appointed as Leader of the Opposition, that person must be (1) qualified in accordance with the Constitution i.e. elected to Parliament and (2) Willing to act in that role.

If neither of those is satisfied, then there is no one whom the GG can appoint. Makes sense.

I do not see the issue with the drafting. In the circumstances, the wording clearly removes consideration of that position from relevant duties.

If a person is not properly elected, that person cannot be L of O. If that person is unwilling, there can be no L of O.

Both considerations must be satisfied in any case. In other circumstances, e.g. if the L of O resigns, then that person is ‘unwilling’.

3. That little anomaly will be interesting to watch, but there are those…a wide cross section…. literally chomping at the bit to ooze into parliament …there is certainly no lack of volunteers.

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

”by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

@ Crusoe, is it possible to satisfy both criteria in the current scenario? Remember it is not an alternative, as In Trinidad.

5. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Thanks , Jeff. I asked for a legal opinion and I received three/two.

My fundamental issue is. this : If it is not mandatory for opposing political parties to be represented in the Lower House , why is it mandatory for them to be represented in the Upper House?
    Especially when the Constitution advises that the opposition senators must be nominated by the Leader of the Opposition who does/can not exist?
    ‘In those countries in the CARICOM where parties did not contest elections or took their seats were those seats reallocated?
    I have no difficulty in the GG using her discretion if it is allowed as per Chris’s and Lynette’s interpretation ;but I prefer we do not meddle with the constitution when the electorate made their intentions pellucidly clear.

6. Jeff, this nettlesome clause do you know which country owns the original draft? A little curious how T&T was able to insert OR and Barbados AND; the rationale.

“Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant, whether because there is no member of the House of Representatives so qualified for appointment or because no one qualified for appointment is willing to be appointed, or because the Leader of the Opposition has resigned his office or for any other reason, any provision in this Constitution requiring consultation with the Leader of the Opposition shall, in so far as it requires such consultation, be of no effect. “

7. Constitutions are written by mere mortals and they can’t account for every eventuality. In Canada the Senate is referred to as the “Chamber of sober second thought”. It is noteworthy that following a series of scandals originating from members of the Senate the PM Trudeau fils released all the Senators from his Party from any Party affiliation and they are free to vote their conscience without bending to the will of the Party, the Gov’t has still been able to pass its legislation with (some) minor amendments proposed by the Senate.

From reports it seems like the DLP is still in a state of denial which has led a senior member to recommend that the Party reject the offer to name two reps post amendment. It is leadership like this that contributed to its drumming at the Polls and now that the old axiom “pride cometh before a fall” has been turned on its head as after they fell they have discovered their pride.

A decision to reject or refuse the offer is short sighted, it will be one of the many ways that it can engage the public notwithstanding its limited visibility in the Senate. Within a year of the 30 BLP Parliamentarians singing from the same song book some people will appreciate alternative view- points, the DLP should ensure that two articulate young members with a future in politics be chosen as their reps but I won’t hold my breath that they will do this because bone headed decisions have been the hallmark of this recent incarnation.

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dean Jeff, it’s a bit ‘rich’ for lay-folk to be ‘disagreeing’ on interpretations of constitutional law with a law professor but..in for a penny, let’s go for the pound..or something like that, anyhow.

I agree with Crusoe. The distinction between the TT clause and or own is indeed stark as theirs is more clearly written with a defined condition (Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant,…) citing the non-existence of a LoO

That said, our clause tho less precise ALSO does establish similar circumstances for the non-existence of a LoO (During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition…).

In my view although there is a cumulative link between “…no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept,…” there is still the preceding status that a person HAS to be first qualified as LoO before ANY such acceptance.

There is no such person in our case.

My query/comment is that it is rational that those two clauses in the sentence must of necessity be separate before they can be yoked…thus if the preceding condition is not satisfied the second condition is null and void….and it’s in the hands of the GG.

9. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@DPD, so you agree that both may not be satisfied here…your solution is that once the first is satisfied, then the second must be also. In order for this to be so…the operative word should have been OR…ergo a poor draft.
    One need only be unwilling if one is qualified…

10. Jeff thanks for your clear and concise interpretation. My view still does not align with the interpretation of Lynette or Christopher Blackmail. The Constitution does not without amendment provide for Opposition members of the Senate to be chosen because no matter how one examines this issue there is no elected opposition. If no opposition can be in the House of Assembly it is impossible for them to be in the Senate.
    I do not remember who perhaps it was Hants earlier today who suggested that as time is of essence the governor select 2 from the any of the losing parties until this amendment is properly thought out to include the present scenario.
    On the matter of the amendment must also include the recall of politicians. Their selection process is now include but not their removal from office.
    In my most recent article, I made reference to greater participation of the electorate in our democracy. The amendment should also equip the electorate with certain rights to be exercised, such as the power of recall which is different from voting every 5 years.

11. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ David…Our version creates an absurdity as DPD shows…If there is none qualified WHY and especially HOW does one also demonstrate the also requiref unwillingness…T&T’s Constitution is from an Indian draft I believe… I do notknow the origin of ours…

12. Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader: [

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    The House of Assembly can only work if there are at least two groups the Government, and those who do not support the Government.

If the ones who do not support the Government are varied, then the GG assesses which is the largest single group that can coalesce under one leader.

Such Members = those members who do not support the Government.

30-0 cannot work.

Back to elections.

There has to be atleast two groups in the House of Assembly, those who support the Government and those who don’t!!

Simplicity itself!!

13. Brilliant Heather…we have been advocating for legislation to be amended to include the power to recall, even the PM..and any ministers who are not doing their jobs……this is the opportune moment giving the people full power to control who leads them…there will never be a better time.

presuming all the platform promises of allowing the people greater participation in their parliament were genuine, as I believe they were, unless proven otherwise later.

14. The Bees could manufacture a schism in their 30 members but Bajans are too smart to fall for that!!

15. @ Jeff, David would it be possible to get hold of the original draft? Is it possible that some of it was removed and is now causing us so much confusion?

16. Well Well, Agreed. The time is perfect for this. We may not get another opportunity again. I will bring it to the attention of the Members of the Barbados Lobby.

17. Good going..strike now there are obviously very huge and very visible holes in whatever constitutional experiment was cobbled together in 66..the opportunity should not be wasted..

18. Mia simply got more than she bargained for!!

Nobody could have predicted 30-0 because it is unthinkable … it does not compute, it will not work

There is only one choice, back to elections.

A dead heat works because both a PM and a leader of the opposition exist!!

There MUST be atleast two disparate groups in the House of Assembly, each MUST have a leader.

Between these two leaders and the GG, parliament comes into existence.

And it comes into existence when the Senate is appointed.

Nobody with any sense would accept an appointment as an independent to something that cannot exist!!

Only politicians and other idiots will squabble over the constitution and its words.

People with any sense will realise there has to be two disparate groups in the House of Assembly!!

19. The elections are a dud ….. unless the Bees suddenly and inexplicable split in two.

The Majority faction will constitute the Government.

The minority will constitute the opposition.

This is so simple, so basic that I wonder what type of education system could have created such a bunch of fools!!

20. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

The question of mandatory membership answered wrt Senate. Therefore discretionary powers of GG comes into play. Thanks John and dPD.

21. It has been four days since the new PM made this offer and I am so sick and tired of all the long talk.

We have one person on BU who is angry with the electorate’s decision stirring up all kinds of theories and it looks as if people are buying into the nonsense instead of ignoring his minute by minute rants since the REDWASH. Even though men who have actually studied the law have explained the relevant section of the constitution…….on and on he goes…….OMG.

It is high time to move on……….MAM has and is getting on with the job she has been elected to do……judging from the tour she did today of the mess on Worthing. The DLP can either accept or refuse the offer…………otherwise the GG should name Randall Rouse who got 700 votes in St Joseph and one other person.

I heard George Connally on VOB news today saying that he disagrees with Bobby Morris advising the DLP not to take up the seats offered. George said that he himself is interested in taking up one of the positions. Why would the DLP members still be taking counsel from Bobby Morris…….his disastrous management of the campaign was another reason they lost so badly.

It is high time for the dems to realise that they lost…….MAM and the BLP won and they need to get over it!

22. We don’t have proportional representation but there is no one that can dispute that disparate groups within the population.

There will always be, it will never change.

These elections are a freak!!!

First past the post will in theory throw up freaks and this is a freak!!

The House of Assembly cannot produce a parliament.

If we want to get to proportional representation that is a separate issue.

We have a freak now and we need to try again and see what happens.

23. The only elections need to be called will be the one to appoint a new political leader to replace Mr. Stuart.

24. The Dees were sent a message but the Bees have a freak on their hands as a result.

How they have handled it makes it clear that they need to get a message too!!

Grow up, call new elections and lets get the show on the road!!

25. You really need to get a life………..

Elections ………you have a long wait…..2023……..Ha ha ha!

26. The only elections need to be called will be the one to appoint a new political leader to replace Mr. Stuart.

Replacing Mr. Stuart does nothing because there are none in Parliament who oppose the Government and who can coalesce around a single leader.

This is simplicity itself.

Our education system has failed us if we can’t understand something so simple and basic!!.

27. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

Unable to follow the constitution argument. Sees this as a result of a bad copy and paste job.
    “a poor draft”
    “T&T’s Constitution is from an Indian draft I believe… I do not know the origin of ours”.

This rubbishes all talk of ‘founding fathers’.

John may be in above his head (or off his head), but he raises a scenario that crossed my mind. An eager eleven breaks off and forms a separate party. It could be genuine split or a scam, but it would preserve ’11 seats for the next election’. The BLP or its splinter group would need just 5 more seats to win in 2023.

Forget the highfalutin ideas. When the go high, think low.

28. A single independent in Parliament could be the leader of the opposition!!

… but there is not one.

None, nada

Keith Mitchell in Grenada presides over a non existent government!!

29. But wait……..where is the Fractured Dem……oh my goodness, he is totally f….upped after the REDWASH.

After on BU bragging daily about the King…..Freundel Jerome was going to bury MAM………..Oh my goodness……..

Fractured…..man up……you got clobbered. The electorate did not forget your RH’s!

30. This REDWASH is causing people to go CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!

31. […] via A Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Unforeseen Event — Barbados Underground […]

32. Suppose we were in a country that had proportional representation.

70 % of the seats in Parliament would go to the Bees

30% would go to the Dees and other parties.

The Dees would command the largest minority of “THOSE WHO OPPOSE THE GOVERNMENT”!!

The leader of the Dees would then be the leader of the opposition.

There would be no emergency, no constitutional crisis.

The change in Government would produce a Parliament naturally.

The Leader of the Opposition and the Prime Minister would recommend, and the GG would anoint!!

The First Past the Post system has thrown up a freak election.

All we have to do is have another election.

The probability of another freak is extremely small particularly if you realise the predicament the Bees have placed themselves in with their mishandling of the freak election result.

A horse and a Donkey produce a Mule.

But the Mule can’t do anything!!

We have a Mule on our hands.

We can argue over which of the two parties is the Horse and which is the Donkey but there is no mistaking the Mule!!

33. David really need to block you for the time being………….please take your meds…..you have gone bat shit crazy!

34. 70% = 21 seats

30% = 9 seats

No emergency, no constitutional crisis

Back to elections!!

Freak result

35. We could call a referendum on any proposed constitutional changes ….. but … there is no Parliament to call it!!

Under what circumstances can the GG call elections?

Only a bunch of complete fools could find themselves in this predicament.

That’s what has become of this island unfortunately, we are complete fools!!

36. Meds, my boy.
    Silly, not Quaker Oats

37. So, we have a Prime Minister and a Governor-General but no leader of the Opposition so no senate possible.

The PM goes to the GG and says, we need to go again!!

38. From the time Mia realized there would be no leader of the opposition, she should have gone to Government House and asked for another election.

Now she has a mess on her hands.

39. There are two problems with the senate that I see.

First, there is no leader of the opposition which appears to me to make the senate unconstitutional.

Second, how are Independent Senators going to feel being part of a senate that is unconstitutional?

Ten senators have a problem!!

It is not even a week since the election.

What is the saying, a week is a long time in politics or something like that.

40. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Calling a new election could theoretically produce the same results as the old one because the new election would have to be carried out under the old flawed rules. No constitutional changes whatever, including the institution of a PR system, could therefore be made before a new parliament is constituted and therefore it would be taking a big and very expensive chance to go the new election route.

Wouldn’t the most simple and sensible solution to this problem, given that it is totally due to a flawed Constitution that did not predict a 30:0 election result because electorate expressed its strong desire to get rid of a flawed government and not to any fault of the new Government, be to have the Senate established asap operating with a quorum of 20 of the 22 members possible? Indeed the DLP seeming rejection of the PM’s generous offer could actually partially justify that approach.

Changes could then be made to the Constitution asap after the first Ceremonial meeting of Parliament. Such changes would include modifying relevant sections to match the Trinidad / Indian Constitution and thereby allow the Governor General to act constitutionally in the case of any future red or other coloured wash.

Of course the constitutionality of such an approach would have to be weighed carefully. But I think it would be far superior to calling new elections which would certainly dampen the momentum of actions that have already started to address significant problems and indeed endanger debt payments that have to be made in June.

41. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Indeed, How could you constitutionally call an election now without Parliament being fully in place. Have the GG declare an emergency and call the elections under the Emergency Powers Act? Would this be helpful to the country in our current state?

This thing is too complicated. Perhaps we should just let Mia follow her instincts which seem to be going OK so far, despite John’s fevered reasonings to the contrary.

42. The Constitution does comprehend a clean sweep.

It clearly prohibits it.

It does so by recognizing both a Prime Minister and a Leader of the Opposition.

No problem with the Constitution whatsoever!!

Can you imagine how Mia would have grown in stature had she gone to the GG a week ago and asked for another election?

That would have cast her as magnanimous even although she really did not have a choice as I believe she doesn’t now.

People would have sat up and really taken notice of her!!

Now, she has a mess on her hands.

… and the DLP is licking its chops!!

The others are relishing a rematch too.

I can’t tell you how a rematch would turn out but I can guarantee you there will be an opposition … and an opposition leader … and a senate … and a Parliament.

The only problem would be if there were two or more equal groups in the House Assembly of those who opposed the Government, each of which coalesces around its leader.

The Constitution would solve that too like it solves the clean sweep.

The GG decides who is the Leader of the opposition and life goes on.

If in the future any of the groups coalesced, then the GG would make another decision.

The Constitution works fine, just that no one seems to understand it!!

I should really start charging you know!!

43. In War: Resolution.

In Defeat: Defiance.

In Victory: Magnanimity.

In Peace: Good Will.

44. I think this election will go down as the fish that got away!!

45. The Governor General is scheduled to swearin the Senators appointed by Government today at 10:30am, Government House.

46. There are two problems with the senate that I see.
    First, there is no leader of the opposition which appears to me to make the senate unconstitutional.
    Second, how are Independent Senators going to feel being part of a senate that is unconstitutional?
    Ten senators have a problem!!

The 12 Government senators I reckon have the biggest problem of all!!!

There they are, they have allowed themselves to be suckered into a potentially untenable situation.

So, everybody is in position … but no Parliament.

Everybody is in waiting.

We got the Government senators, the cabinet, the Prime Minister all waiting and expecting a Parliament to be formed and not seeming to care if it may be unconstitutional.

This is crazy, surely I got to be wrong!!!

Please somebody, prove me wrong.

Show me how the Senate is going to come into existence constitutionally.

Either I am wrong or a lot of people are going to end up with egg on their faces.

Someone make the call!!

Be an adult and deal with the problem.

47. Jeff

It is not an open and shut matter

When lawyers use words like matter it means court and ours is moldering in the grave!!!

Years and years of litigation, zillions of dollars!!

Any citizen can challenge the Government if it ever gets a parliament.

For sure the Dees are waiting licking their chops.

Even the folks who the CCJ permitted to vote have a shot!!

Call fresh elections and get the matter resolved once and for all.

Forget wasting money trying to change the constitution and come up with esoteric language to bypass what exists..

Elections cannot cost as much as having to defend an action in court.

They will be short and swift.

Concentrate on the economy and fix it.

Get to work … whoever wins the next elections.

The BLP will be hurt by its handling of this mess.

The DLP will be persona non grata

None of the others can run a full slate of candidates.

There will be an opposition, and a leader that commands those who oppose the Government, that seems pretty sure!!

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man ent like these other bright fellows so forgive my following simple queries

After reading your submission I gather that either one can reate the upper house or one can’t

If one cannot make this entity based on the intractibility of this crisis that faces us, though it would seem from what you said, that a choice can be made, then I wondered thusly.

Is it allowable that a BLP candidate can quit, and in addition to the BLP not contesting the seat, use their good offices to support a specific person in that constituency?

De ole man has suggested the constituency where Dr Leroy McClean is because he is a man of integrity and principles who will not baulk for any man woman or beast

And he would make a good leader, albeit of the Opposition.

Alternatively, what if one person were to cease being a BLP member and become an independent or form their own party?

Don’t they then become “the opposition?”

And can’t they not then do what needs to be done?

Then leave said party and rejoin the BLP?

I am a little slow so bear with me

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ whoever Made this Call about John

This person John is a DLP avowed supporter

They have serious skin in the game

The thing about this agent provocateur is that they understand the nature of the Blog and how it works.

Let the ole man explain.

Blogging has its rules and it’s intervals.

Both spoken and unspoken e.g. if there is a topic about a horse race and someone says that a mule was entered in the race then such is permitted subject matter for discussion.

However, one thing that the Honourable Blogmaster has hinted at and what is decidedly evident is the replication of that specific blog item IN EVERY POSSIBLE VARIANT KNOWN TO A THESAURUS!!!

IT IS LIKE IF DE MAN GET SENT TO FRUSTRATE THE BLOG USING THIS INCESSANT CHANT

IT IS LIKE a BOT or an experiment that has be sent to target BY because of their perception of BU’s gravitas and its reach

I don’t think this entity John is utilizing this INCESSANT interval anywhere else.

Do this is purposed like a Denial of Service Attack to so dilute the collective lumen of thought

This is not a single man but a team effort.

De ole man would prescribe a moderation for John cause if he is left unchecked he liable to do de same damage de Stoopid Cartoons do wid de Demonic Lying Party and vote all uh dem RH out

50. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ahhhhhhhhh

Eureka!!!

“John” IS THE DLP

Note the “Mariposa” has been shut down and now you seen a much more seasoned professional campaigner in John.

They are not familiar with intervals nor do they comprehend psyche warfare.

The mere oddity of absence creates an aberration in the pattern

This John is not an idiot though but they WERE NOT AWARE OF BU’S POWER

NO let me rephrase that they were aware of the BU presence but not aware of its power and it’s pervasiveness

So , having been warned, they are now here to sow the RERUN THE ELECTIONS SEED.

So now that we know WHAT JOHN IS AND HIS OBJECTIVE then it would be interesting to know who he is.

We know who he is not definitively but who he is is of passing interest

Going and sleep now but one expects the lapdog to return doo IF THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER permits his interference to continue