A few people only would have accurately predicted the outcome of last Thursday’s general election that resulted in the former Opposition Barbados Labour Party romping to victory by capturing all thirty of the parliamentary seats at stake.

Among those who we may number as not having foreseen such an eventuality would have been the framers of our 1966 Constitution. Indeed, if we were to judge from the text they produced, it might be argued that, to the contrary, they contemplated that there would always be an opposition in parliament and a possible leader thereof, although that individual might not always be willing to serve in that role.

This is my assessment from a reading of the various sections of the Constitution pertinent to the issue. First, there is section 74 (1) that appears to presume the continuous existence of an Opposition in Parliament –

There shall be a Leader of the Opposition, who shall be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.

Second, section 74 (2) provides for the mode of his or her appointment, once more apparently making an identical assumption-

Whenever the Governor-General has occasion to appoint a Leader of the Opposition he shall appoint the member of the House of Assembly who, in his judgment, is best able to command the support of a majority of those members who do not support the Government, or if there is no such person, the member of that House who, in his judgment, commands the support of the largest single group of such members who are prepared to support one leader: [Emphasis added]

At least two of my learned friends, Justice Christopher Blackman in last Sunday’s issue of the Sunday Sun, and Ms Lynette Eastmond in Tuesday’s Barbados Advocate, have expressed the view that the issue is satisfactorily resolved by the provision in section 75. According to this-

During any period in which there is a vacancy in the office of Leader of the Opposition by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office, the Governor-General shall-

(a) act in his discretion in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act in accordance with the advice of the Leader of the Opposition; and

(b) act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister in the exercise of any function in respect of which it is provided in this Constitution that the Governor-General shall act on the recommendation of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition…

It seems clear from a preliminary reading of this turgidly drafted section that while it is premised on the absence or non-existence of a Leader of the Opposition, that premise is not the broad one contended for by some in the present scenario, but rather is cribbed, cabined and confined by that absence or non-existence being for the express reason stated and that reason only, namely, by reason of the fact that no person is both qualified in accordance with this Constitution for, and willing to accept, appointment to that office… [Emphasis mine]

We should note that the section does not present the two elements as alternatives, in which case the draftsman would have used “or”, but rather as cumulative (“and”), thereby intending that both elements should be satisfied. Nor does it seem to import clearly that the second element (willingness to accept) is relevant only where the first element of qualification is satisfied.

It is readily conceded that the section is regrettably drafted and it is to be negatively contrasted with the much more lucid (though to different effect) provision to be found in section 83 (6) of the Trinidad & Tobago Republican Constitution of 1976-

Where the office of Leader of the Opposition is vacant, whether because there is no member of the House of Representatives so qualified for appointment or because no one qualified for appointment is willing to be appointed, or because the Leader of the Opposition has resigned his office or for any other reason, any provision in this Constitution requiring consultation with the Leader of the Opposition shall, in so far as it requires such consultation, be of no effect. [Emphasis mine]

It would appear that both of my learned friends and others have read the Barbadian provision as being identical to this one, when in fact it is not; since the T&T section requires only one of the stipulated prerequisites to be satisfied.

In the absence of a clear provision to cater to the current circumstances, the Honourable Prime Minister, Ms Mia Mottley, seemingly in agreement with the argument advanced here, has graciously indicated her preference for a constitutional amendment that would permit the party, other than that which comprises the governing administration, that captured the most votes in the election to nominate two members of the Senate, as the official Opposition would be able to in ordinary circumstances.

This amendment too will require careful drafting as it purports too alter, even if only slightly, the entitlement to Senate representation from one of the number of those first past the post to a semblance of proportional representation. I imagine, however, that she is contemplating a sunset clause to fit the current scenario. It is now up to the Democratic Labour Party to determine whether it will be aware of Greeks bearing gifts or whether it will look this gift horse intently in the mouth.

It is not an open and shut matter and will bring into sharp focus the regard of the political effectiveness of the Senate in our system of governance.

293 responses to “A Jeff Cumberbatch Column – An Unforeseen Event”

1. Good move Mia Mottley

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

What is also critical and of the utmost importance is the audit to find out how many billions were stolen from the treadury and pension fund and how much of it can be recovered and who will be arrested.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sergeant

“…they said that the last Gov’t tried to tie their hands by giving long term contracts to cronies and generous no bid contracts to business persons or companies friendly to the former Gov’t…”

De ole man off times remembers dem ole time pictures wid big bad ranchers a la Bonanza and Big Valley times

In many an episode when a rancher wanted to mek a homesteader move out and sell him dem land de bad boy dem up de water.

Dis is why de ole man tell wunna dat I ent no braniac like wunna

I can only got simplistic thoughts

So for those forever contracts to incompetents like Sandra Force and others who are planted to thwart progress EVERY ON OF THEM GOING GET SHIFTED TO MY NEWLY ESTABLISHED MINISTRY OF PLANIFICATION FORTHWITH

Do not longer at your jobsite

As of Monday thst Planification unit is going to have a Centralization Unit and you will be required to report there with the task of providing a development plan that WILL cover the period of your contract.

I gine pay you as per your job title AS LONG AS I CAN’T GET OUT OF YOUR CONTRACT LEGALLY but you can be assured Sargeant that you will NEVER SEE the inside of the Transport Board or the Barbados Water Authority again

And all them long term preferential projects?

No problem all of them will be suspended under quality control clauses of such a documented nature that WHILE I PRICEED TO CANCEL THE CONTRACT, a more transparency carefully worded alternative will be offered for tender.

Of course you can bid but ….you can’t win

Oh and you see dem long term payments dat you expecting to get?

You can live till you is 1,000 you ent getting one RH penny

Many a so called superior officer, above your rank Sargeant, becomes a Killed in Action statistic when the bullets for his M16 get diverted by a lowly NCO who is the munitions supply clerk

Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley is the Minister of Finance and the veritable controller of the bullets…how yah like muh now?

Whu Sargeant when you go back to BLP base put in a word fuh de ole man nuh? whu aftah all….heheheheh

4. Agree David Sandra Forde was not performing effectively at the Transport Board and her contract should not have been renewed.In addition her pocket stand good since she will be collecting a pension I am sure from her former employer Scotia Bank.

Nevertheless all this that Mia is doing is to rile up the population.Every single administration come in and find the same thing from the former administration.This could have easily been Freundel Stuart or David Thompson calling a press conference to talk about how she gave her business partner a huge building contract to build the Crab hill police station even though the man barely know how to hold a hammer – and his claim to fame is removing jobby.He was removed but she later got the contract reinstated.

Freundel or Thompy could have easily called a press conference to talk about the hundreds of million of dollars given in a highly questionable way to Veco a corrupt entity which had their principals sent to jail.No satisfactory answer could be given for why the contract jumped from $120 million to over $600. million – except to say they made an arrear and it was bds $ they quoted instead of .U.S.

Chris Sinkler could have easily called a press conference to inform the public in January 2008 how major highway expansion was done and millions spent on the ABC without a contract in place and worse yet given to a firm which was sued in Jamaica,(I think also Brazil) and their reputation was really bad.

You could do the same for Edutech that Mia as then minister of Government spent over $400.million mainly going to the Williams boys and steel was in dey.

So much more could be said but usually governments don’t call press conferences within days of assuming office to talk this shite – they put down their head and get to walk.What is all this talk – but hot air – if you can’t prosecute since Ministers don’t usually sign off on MOST contracts – but its the Permanent secretary.

5. they get to work *

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please….

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

anyone know if Halliday is a Bajan?

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Sandra Forde was not performing effectively at the Transport Board and her contract should not have been renewed
    ANY OF YOU EVER MET SANDRA FORDE?
    TO PUT THIS WOMAN IN CHARGE OF ANY ORGANISATION IS HARD FOR ME TO COMPREHEND.

9. Nevertheless all this that Mia is doing is to rile up the population.Every single administration come in and find the same thing from the former administration.This could have easily been Freundel Stuart or David Thompson calling a press conference to talk about how she gave her business partner a huge building contract to build the Crab hill police station even though the man barely know how to hold a hammer – and his claim to fame is removing jobby.He was removed but she later got the contract reinstated.

100% right!!

That’s why I will not vote B or D in the foreseeable future.

I think she may soon have the fight of her life on her hands so best defense is attack.

I think the campaign may have begun.

We will see.

10. GP

Halliday is a kittitian by birth who came here as a young teenager and went to school here.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

No Dr. HALLIDAY IS NOT A BAJAN.

The’re are a few things to be noted about his segue.

I cannot for the life of me understand how he could be the head honcho at the Sewerage Plant Facility and not know the names of the four tanks by heart

He is just as incompetent as Sandra Forde

IT IS GOING TO be extremely revealing what the forensics of these departments reveal especially his own notwithstanding his pretend comments about speaking out loudly about the shortages there

Particular note will be placed on how the money flowed during his oversight so he would be wise to check with Expedia to see if any one way flights are available for a vacation…

Day runs till night catches it…

12. T.Inniss

Stop misleading the blog. Bajans knew about the ABC Highway, VECO, Edutech and Crab Hill. They were not signed in the dark just before elections. Geez.

13. @ Miller and WW&C
    Bushie must be pissing himself with misogynistic rage.
    Wrong….
    Bushie has NOTHING against women…. on the contrary….
    But Bushie has a BIG problem with shiite MEN… who are so piss poor, that it takes a strong woman to show us the way.

If we had some REAL men, then our women could get on with the REAL job of building SOCIETY….
    …instead of having to bail out ugly brass bowl men in the basic role of providing food, shelter and disposing of shiite….
    Steupssss.

BTW Miller…
    You looking good as shiite for your age yuh….

14. Pause and think about it (if you saw the press conference https://youtu.be/v8C9b8CG7-k) – 33,000 Barbadians still voted for the Dems in the election. 33,000!!! You now know why the MoE along with the MoF curtailed free university education. Waste of money. 33,000 Barbadians who would proclaim to the world that they love Barbados and would die for it, willingly voted to return the last government (if you can call it that) to power. What were they thinking? Is there so much self-hatred in this country?

15. You guys are beginning to scare the hell out of me.

Not satisfied with all the seats, you now want all of the votes..

Why don’t you get the names of the 33,000 and put them in front of a firing squad.
    Stupse

16. Welcome back Miller
    I was beginning to miss your deliveries.
    Mariposa was missing you as well..

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re T.Inniss May 31, 2018 8:26 PM

Halliday is a kittitian by birth who came here as a young teenager and went to school here.
    EXPLAINS A LOT. MET HIS FORE PARENTS WHEN I WAS TEACHING MED SCHOOL THERE IN 2002. IF WHAT THEY SAY ABOUT THE ACORN NOT FALLING FAR FROM THE TREE IS TRUE……WELL THEN.

18. 33,000 Barbadians who would proclaim to the world that they love Barbados and would die for it, willingly voted to return the last government (if you can call it that) to power. What were they thinking? Is there so much self-hatred in this country?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/bb/elections/bb_results_1986.asp

If you go back to the 1986 elections where the Bees lost 27-3 there was also corruption and nothing different from what went on then under Tom and Bree!!

Stealing is stealing and we had the Pele Parris murder

Still, even though the Bees screwed things up by 1986, 54,367 people voted Bee back then.

…. and then in 2008 after 14 years of that disaster O$A, still, 69,720 Bajans voted BLP!!

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/bb/elections/bb_results_2008.asp

Can you imagine dat.

Was there so much self hatred back then?

The point is that both Bees and Dees are at fault for the mess in Barbados.

Neither one can’t complain about the other and point a finger, both are crap!!

There are joint ventures in crime between members of the two parties too so don’t be surprised if Mia pushes too hard some Dee or the other exposes the complicity of some Bees with them over the last two terms.

Which of the two parties stole the most when they were in control?

Who was the bigger thief?

We could debate that for ever!!

Certainly the Bees under O$A took it to new levels and this last lot which followed continued the upward trend.

Neither one isn’t any good!!

19. Yep. It seems as if a period of retaliation, vindictiveness and spite is up ahead.
    The nastiness is starting to ooze out.

20. … but getting back to the 33,000, did these vote for the Dees … or against the Bees?

Those who support the government and those who do not support the Government need to be represented in Parliament, that’s why the constitution contains the statement “There SHALL be a Leader of the Opposition, who SHALL be appointed by the Governor-General by instrument under the Public Seal.”.

The 33,000 are due a voice in Parliament under the constitution.

30 – 0 can’t work,

I guess the legal eagles of the BLP were watching Keith Mitchell and thinking it must be able to work and that’s how they let this go so far.

That’s why I think there will be a fresh election soon, the Constitution requires a leader of the opposition in Parliament.

If that is the case then as absurd as it sounds, Keith Mitchell may have headed an unconstitutional Government three times in Grenada!!

Am I crazy or what?

He clearly knows how to circumvent his country’s constitution if it is like ours and he knows how to win all seats..

Maybe there is a trick to it.

I wonder how he managed to get a clean sweep three times in Grenada?

I guess if we were to get another one here somebody would start asking questions!!

Grenada suggests it is ok … but Grenada is Grenada.

No question the Dees were unpopular this time and justly, lost bad.

30-0 is a freak.

21. Those who support the Government ….

…AND …. Those who do not support the Government.

Both are due a voice in Parliament.

Don’t think B and D, just think in terms of the Do’s and the Don’ts

Each group has an entitlement under the constitution.

It doesn’t need changing it explicitly says what it says in positive clear language.

Trying to circumvent it with esoteric language and interpretations is not the way forward.

22. http://rjrnewsonline.com/local/another-clean-sweep-for-incumbent-new-national-party-in-grenadas-general-election

“He said he is convinced that if his administration is able to bring together all Grenadians, including the estimated 20,000 people who voted against the NNP, the country will be better off.”

Keith Mitchell is actually assuming the role of both the Prime Minister AND the Leader of the opposition.

He has done it 3 times already.

Here, with a population approaching 300K, 33,000 voted against the Government, lets say 40,000 as there are the other parties.

So, what’s the population of Grenada?

107,317 people.

My intuition says, something is questionable with the clean sweeps in Grenada!!.

Keith Mitchell came up with a creative way to make a clean sweep work.

He allowed a leader of the opposition to exist outside of Parliament.

But, if the constitution there is the same as here Sum Tin Wong!!

We better be very watchful of where we are treading!!

We can help ourselves … and Grenada!!

Reject any creative esoteric interpretations, reject any urge to change and think long and hard about the principles we hold dear but take for granted.

23. @millertheanunnaki May 31, 2018 5:32 PM “Guess you are as happy as a lark and busy a ‘Bee’ now that a ‘real woman’ is finally on top of the ‘fumbling’ men. Bushie must be pissing himself with misogynistic rage. LOL!!”

All we need is for the Arch Bishop of the Province of the West Indies to select a nice woman bishop for us and we gone clear.

Hope though that a female bishop + a female PM won’t give Bushie a stroke.

24. @Jonny B Good. May 31, 2018 5:07 PM “the cussbird Ministers who ran away like little girls) & the relevant former ministers explain their actions.

Please do not insult the little girls of Barbados by comparing them unfavorably with our erstwhile DLP Cabinet.

25. @Jonny B Good. May 31, 2018 5:07 PM “After watching PM Mottley’s press coference this afternoon, it is blatantly obvious we need a Commision of Enquiry.”

I am so tired of Commissions of Enquiry. If some of our political class have committed criminal offenses, why can’t we charge them, try them, and if convicted, lock them up, AND order and COLLECT restitution.

What is wrong with this method, instead of another hot-air commission?

26. @ T.Inniss May 31, 2018 4:20 PM ” (being factious here) ”

Facetious

27. @Sargeant May 31, 2018 5:59 PM “BTW what is Persaud position in the Gov’t? Is he slated to become a Czar?”

Every guest at a wedding ain’t necessarily a friend of the bride or groom.

Some wedding guests have been know to “cadge” invitations

28. @David May 31, 2018 6:34 PM “What we need is to lock up some people.”

Dear David: I could kiss you for this. I really could.

29. After the revelations from the press conference today………….you really think any of dem should show their faces in public far less have a seat at any table?……….man be off and take your meds.

30. @pieceuhderockyeahright May 31, 2018 7:03 PM “As of Monday thst Planification unit is going to have a Centralization Unit and you will be required to report there with the task of providing a development plan that WILL cover the period of your contract.

My Dear Piece: Since you seem to be close to Mademoiselle Prime Minister can you beg her for a lil’ pick for me in the Ministry of Planification?

I would like one ‘o dem likkle jobs, since they seem to come with a fat pay check, a nice nice pension and no work.

31. @May 31, 2018 7:07 PM “Ministers don’t usually sign off on MOST contracts – but its the Permanent secretary.”

Well then, let we quick, quick hire some Permanent Secretaries WITHOUT balls, but with uterine strength. Some women who accustomed to telling their man “no” and who since they have had nuff practice in nay saying, can tell any Minister “no”

32. @pieceuhderockyeahright May 31, 2018 8:29 PM “Day runs till night catches it:

CORRECTION: Night does run ’till day [light] catch it.

Men love the dark because their deeds are evil.

33. Well it looks as if John does not have to worry anymore………Barbados Today is reporting that Joseph Atherley will cross the floor and become the Opposition leader.

What an ungrateful SOB!

34. @FearPlay May 31, 2018 8:48 PM “33,000 Barbadians still voted for the Dems in the election. You now know why the MoE along with the MoF curtailed free university education. Waste of money. 33,000 Barbadians who would proclaim to the world that they love Barbados and would die for it, willingly voted to return the last government (if you can call it that) to power. What were they thinking? Is there so much self-hatred in this country?”

Dont be too hard on these DLP voters FearPlay. Barbados has about 26,000 people who are older than 70. The poor dears did not ghave the opportunity to get much of an education. In addition a good many of them are still voting for the late great Errol Barrow. Some of these DLP voters are the grandparents and great grand parents of your children.

Poor sweet dears.

Give them a break.

35. What is the salary of the Leader of the opposition ?

36. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Joseph Atherley will cross the floor and become the Opposition leader.

Story will not open for viewing. True…or fake news?

37. What an ungrateful man!…….after expressing thanks to the constituents for their overwhelming outpouring of support and thanking them for electing him and his BLP colleagues………..this is the stunt he pulls.

Did he not listen to Bishop Seale? What a Judas!

Well……..the dems are out………if he is under the influence of Arthur he will bring the humbug Lynette.

What a Judas! No wonder people lose faith in the church…….if I was his branch, I would organise a campaign against him…..as we did not vote for you to leave the BLP.

What a goat!

38. In a brief statement issued tonight, Prime Minister Mia Mottley said she was informed by letter from Atherley of his intention to serve in Opposition to the Barbados Labour Party Government.

This was further confirmed by letter from her Excellency the Governor General Dame Sandra Mason.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/05/31/joe-atherley-leaves-barbados-labour-party/

39. Mr.Atherley should go full scorched earth and appoint Owen to the Senate.

40. @ Jeff,

What happens if the DLP accepts the offer of 2 opposition seats ?

41. Well the Whatsapp message was true then?………..Why would Donville go along with this?

OSA will never quit ……..what a demon……….he is still after MAM…….the law suit the Mottleys drop in his tail must be still biting.

42. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Hants, now that there is an Opposition leader, the controversy is over. Atherley will appoint the two Senators

43. Traitor!

44. He was one of the unhappy ones who didn’t get a “pick”, I don’t think Mia is worried but his salary goes up by a few notches, waiting for the other shoe(s) to drop…..i.e. Donville & Lynette.

45. So much for solidarity. Hee hee.

46. Thanks.Jeff,

Seems Atherly has chosen the easiest job in government.

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Looka….

De ole man going hafta open a School of Political Comprehension fuh wunna doah

There is a constitutional crisis
    There is a need for a Leader of the Opposition
    30 People are potentially LoO candidates but 29 have future desires to be leader of the BLP and want a second term to qualify for their pensions
    Atherley has qualified for his pension and will not run again
    Behold the Hero…I will go into the breach for wunna…

Dis is getting really hard to maintain though

De ole man going gits to give wunna de script doah

In a next blog I going explain dis corruption musical chairs ting cause wunna head is a bit hard

This has nothing to do with being “a Traitor” since the constitution does not recognise parties

Is wunna reading what The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch is writing?

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dr Ole Man wants wunna to see who Atherley chooses as his two Senators.

This will confirm if what the ole man believes will happen going forward under Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley

IF Atherley s choices are NOT THE DLP SHYTE HOUNDS THEN IT MEANS ONE THING

THIS ADMINISTRATION UNDER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY IS GOING TO BE COMMITTED TO ROUTING THE USUAL CORRUPTION.

Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley is going to disrupt all wunna fellers

If the senators are the same old same old THEN THAT WOULD ONLY CONFIRM THE BROTHERHOOD OF THE ROSE

And most assuredly if one of them is Pornville then de ole man unfortunately will predict that IT IS BUSINESS AS USUAL

AND DE OLE CABAL IS BACK…

49. “I have been offered a position and I have accepted for the party’s sake; and you are never happy with what you are given; you have to make the best out of what you are given”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/162896/clarke-crossing-floor