The two main political parties held national political meetings on the penultimate weekend BEFORE the May 24 General Election. After wading through much of the rhetoric and palaver three questions peaked the inquiring mind of the blogmaster. Hopefully they will be answered in the public interest BEFORE the general election.

• Why the haste to sell the Barbados Hilton hotel BEFORE the 24 May 2018?
  • What is the involvement of the candidate for the City Henderson Williams?

Go to 3:00hr point on the YouTube video to listen to Mia prosecute the Hilton matter.

• Will Mia Mottley respond to the Benedict Peters charge levelled by the DLP platform?

See pre-action protocol letter sent to Sinckler from lawyer Leslie Haynes on behalf of Benedict Peters.

189 responses to “Rush to Sell Hilton: Benedict Peters???”

1. After 10 years (and some over time) in office, if they had this information on Mottley and felt that she contravened any lawful Act or abused her power………

……….the inept former DLP administration should have ordered the Attorney General and the DPP to facilitate the process of have her brought before the court to face the appropriate charges, rather than talking shiite on political platforms for reasons of political expediency and aggrandizement.

But Stuart went on the platform talking about “writing off” taxes, when the “skeletons in the DLP’s closet” revealed David Thompson helped Leroy Parris by giving CLICO $10M; flew around the Caribbean in CLICO’s private jet and gave several contracts for infrastructural development to Rayside Construction (which, coincidentally, is a subsidiary of CLICO) and the current administration under Freundel Stuart “bought” CLICO……

……….all at the expense of the tax payers of Barbados.

And let us not forget Thompson “wrote off” $19.2M of outstanding and unpaid taxes owed by the Barbados Turf Club.

2. The DLP Disgusting Propaganda Machine (formerly CBC TV & Radio) Avatar
    The DLP Disgusting Propaganda Machine (formerly CBC TV & Radio)

@Pacha “betting on the leadership argument and has gone all in. And based on the letter above, they seem to be hitting home.
    While the BLP appears to be slightly on the defensive because of their unconvincing arguments about their proposals. We doubt that they will be able to show a way to pay for them, absent some game changing intervention. And there is no immediate and provable possibility for this.”

I don’t know which Barbados you live in but the DLP going all in on the leadership issue is EXACTLY why they will lose the election because:-

1) People in glass houses should not throw stones as Fumble is in no way, shape or form a leader of anything other than he holds the office of PM by CHOICE of David Thompson who has been dead for 8 years. The leadership issue will have no traction and may backfire insofar as Bajans have seen 8 years of “leadership” and judged Fumble to be a joker vs Ms Mottley whom has never been PM and in fact had to overcome challenges within the BLP and has surmounted them all…to the point than she is now 10 days away from being PM

2)….The DLP has nothing else in their arsenal to sustain this campaign. got their campaign off to a slow start and have no arsenal to sustain it….Meanwhile…the Bees had more than enough arsenal to sustain the campaign BEFORE the elections were called on April 26th and SINCE then more arsenal has be accumulated!!!…case in point, i watch the BLP Oistins meeting and i have to say day after day it shows the DEMS have no GODDAMN moral compass. You see, i don’t subscribe to the idle talk of locking up politicians….but yuh see when the BLP gains the govt, i hope they carry to court one of theses criminals and if they don’t serve time..they are made to pay back every cent.

The DEMS also trumpeted “wey de money coming from” The BEES have put some promises and ideas that at least got the electorate THINKING and are actively comparing them to 10 years of failed fiscal and economic policy of the DEMS.
    You see the DEMS must understand that the electorate had decide on them before April 26th. They are losing the campaign battle….and will LOSE the election…The question REALLY is how heavy they will lose..

3. “How come the HARD ROCK man cannot sue the MIA and win?”

You cannot sue anyone successfully if there is any truth to what they are saying and accusing you of, particularly with a long list of names of companies, projects, with millions of dollars per project itemized and the names of ministers and ministries involved, as evidence making the rounds and in existence..

If the dotish lawyers as many of the former government ministers are and only now now saying they knew of these malfeasance they are accusing Mia of and never brought charges against her in the last 10 years, they are all just as guilty as she is, they kept the information secret and away from the public and are only now using it as a political weapon now their backs are against the wall, many of these lawyers/former ministers should have at least a passing acquaintance with how the law is supposed to work.

Hopefully the next incoming government understands that they are supposed to go after and prosecute the previous government ministers for theft, corruption and money laundering.

4. This is tantamount to Owen saying that Fruendel is lying on Mia…he said nothing about the alleged 87 million dollar tax break to the bank that cost the taxpayers though..so…

“However, he said he felt the need to respond to allegations made by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart last night that Barbados Labour Party leader Mia Mottley got tax exemptions for her father while the BLP was in power.
    Arthur gave the assurance that while he was Minister of Finance nothing of the sort occurred and he called on Mottley to clarify the issue”.

5. Chaucer

You are indeed correct

History shows that about 1000 votes in marginal constituencies could indeed win/lose an election in Barbados. Indeed, that is the difference between a landslide for one party and a near draw like last time.

Our 5000 figure was based on some possible variables, currently unknown.

That more Dems are likely to vote for the BLP.

That because we expect the regime to put up a stronger than anticipated defense, more people who don’t normally vote may swell their ranks

That this election may evolve some features which are departures from the norm. Supporter of OSA and other disaffected BLP leaders may not be as motivated to vote for the BLP of Mottley.

But we admit, about 1000 votes, in marginal constituencies, can win/lose any election.

6. @ Roverp
    You googled well about AITEO and Peters
    I ask you the following:
    Who is Ella Peters? Wife of Peters
    When ( before Sept 2016) did she meet with BLP operatives ?
    Where( not in Bdos) was that meeting?
    What Charities does she manage ?

7. Why Sinckler didn’t repeat the claims from Sunday night?🤣🤣

Pachamama
    Don’t underestimate social media, your meeting need not be in a marginal to reach those constituents.

8. Enuff

No underestimation here.

Last night the BLP had between 3 times and 10 times the number of people watching. However, we are unconvinced that the people who generally vote could be so described.

But yes, it has to be a variable which polling doesn’t pick up.

Caveat. The higher multiples were when there was a break/s in the transmission of the DLP meeting.

9. @Pacha

You are aware more watch via the BLP YouTube channel?

10. I have never seen bajans so vocally and rightfully angry, what would definitely concern me are the ones who see nothing wrong with massive theft from they own people, from their treasury and who don’t believe anyone should go to prison for those thefts that are clearing causing hardships to the majority on the island, that level of acceptance of victimization of their own people without dire consequences to the criminals who perpetrate these acts., although not new, is still very disturbing to say the least, in this day and age.

One more reason for international investors to shun the island and the now ex government…or any government going forward who refuses to address large thefts and corruption.

11. WW your shocked with a people who will line up to eat kfc with shit water running all around them please acceptance is barbados

12. Lawson…all of this is very disturbing, from coast to coast people are asking, what the hell could be wrong…..this is not normal or health.

Then you have this, how can anyone take any of the old or new political parties seriously when it’s obvious none of them are decisive, confident or know what the hell to do….

.sure as hell glad my life and future is not in any of their hands, just imagine if there was a population of half million or one million people on the island, the chaos that would ensue due to the actions of all these fools would cause many deaths.

“The four main political parties contesting next week’s general election all think the Barbados economy is facing serious challenges.

But there is no overall agreement among them on how the foreign reserves, economic growth, fiscal deficit and associated debt problems should be solved.

This emerged during an election economic debate involving the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), Barbados Labour Party (BLP), Solutions Barbados and United Progressive Party (UPP) this morning at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre”

13. CHAUCER it is your job to spread propaganda not mine.

14. Now if they were all putting people and country first, before their petty aspirations of wanting to be top dogs, they would have already arrived at a mutual consensus on a way forward, once again, their self absorbed selfishness shows.

15. This is “NEWS”, a billionaire black Nigerian crook dealing with some small time BLP/DLP crooks. Bottom line is the TAXPAYERS ARE GETTING THE BIG BAMBOO.

16. You know what is sad a group of us dropped about 60 gs a week ago and now every one is talking about going somewhere else .You only get one chance to make a first impression and the south coast failed

17. They must remember, none of them on the island are billionaires, will never become billionaires if they don’t retract the defamation, he will take them for all they got if they don’t..lol

Sinkler got until tomorrow.

Ah wonder how it feels, the same demons for ministers who brought laws to lock up commenters for silly little comments on social media, will have the same laws they created used against them for some very serious shit..

It is one thing to call lawyers, politicians, ministers etc thieves, corrupt and so on, quite normal and par for the course, it’s quite another to even hint publicly on a platform, on the internet for worldwide viewing and in newspapers about a billionaire interfering in a country’s election, linking him with absolutely no proof to boko haram and the kidnapping of little girls by the hundreds who are then raped and tortured AND accusing him of being a crook as I saw idiot ac yardfowl/sticks and stones/mariSopa did today on barbadostoday’s comments where she was once again chased off the blog ….like the clown she is.

….ah hope they all still got those millions they tief…they will need them to pay out in settlement..lol

When ya see yardfowls scarce and not on here gloating., ya know some real shit happened.

18. Well Well

What defamation, what? Don’t you see this is just a political shenanigan to frighten your adversaries.

There are two defenses to libel/defamation – fair comment or truth. Where is the violation?

There is no need to be afraid of this Nigerian.

19. And since there is no parliament..they can’t even reconvene to reverse those laws they legislated and intended to use to lock up bloggers, since they are still in place and will now see them sued….

what some bad timing though, they are making history, without a doubt…….lol, lol, hahaha

20. @ Roverp
    It is not about propaganda
    The Nigerian, Peters, is the winner; he has both Sinckler and
    MIA by the short and curlies. It don’t matter who win the
    elections BLP or DLP.

21. Pacha…Sinkler has no proof this guy is even remotely connected to boko haram, we will see if a suit is not filed on the 16th, dont see unless settled the man has a choice, it is his reputation on the line, would you not sue too?

It’s not a matter of being afraid, it’s reality and the bank roll the dude has to back him..and the fact that sinker was being malicious..

22. What we have here is a large dose of speculation not so? Unless you all were present at the meeting in 2016?

23. David

You have accusations made. The target of those accusations agreeing that a meeting took place. A lawyer was hired. A letter written.

We have previously made determinations here on BU with much less evidence.

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The issue is not the 2016 meeting, the dude admitted to that, the issues as it relates to defamation from Haynes’ as I remember ‘ letter are:

That he is interfering in the island’s election like russia did to US;

That he has links to boko haram;

That he is funding local election;

That is all I can remember. …but that is more serious than any of the crap we talk on here which does not damage anyone’s international reputation….and nothing that cannot be found on facebook on a daily badis regarding politicians around the world.

Those are obviously the points going to be used for which sinkler will have to bring EVIDENCE to deem them truthful…that is basic,

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This dude made it very clear even with his issues in Nigeria…he is a businessma who does not get involved in interfering in politics….all his information is there for those who care to access it.

26. @Pacha

What some of use who follow the political goings on want to know is the agenda of that meeting between the Nigerian and Mia.

27. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Mia is the one who has to be forthcoming about that meeting if she wants voters to take her seriously..and dont fall into the same patterns of secrecy as Fruendel and his ministers..

28. All the talk Sinckler putting down about: “Let me tell Mr Peters and Mr Leslie Haynes that there is nobody from Nigeria that can silence Chris Sinckler in Barbados. Can’t happen! I born here. My navel string buried here and nobody gine come from Nigeria and try to bully me into silence in Barbados. They would have to kill me first! Can’t happen!”………

……..was done to appease and entertain DLP yard-fowls.

Notice that during his “speech,” Sinckler did not repeat or mention anything to suggest Peters is a member of Boko Haram or he is financing the BLP’s campaign.

I will bet anyone that as long as the campaign continues, Sinckler is not man enough to utter another word about Peters.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I will bet anyone that as long as the campaign continues, Sinckler is not man enough to utter another word about Peters.

YA AINT LIE ARTAX

FUMBLE AND SINCKLER CAN REALLY TALK SHITE THOUGH

NEITHER OF THEM HAVE ADRESSED ANY REAL SERIOUS CURRENT OR CONTEMPORARY ISSUES.

30. Well Well

No direct claim was made that Peters was a member of book haram.

Sinckler simply seemed to have made a reference to boko haram as a Nigerian terrorist group and that they could be bout here too – in essence, not his direct words.

We do not recall the direct claim you are making. Not even the letter attributes a direct claim of such. Seems to us, that this lawyer Haynes was stretching to make a connection as coming from Sinckler’s mouth

We talking shiiite though, our imaginations tell us what happened. And we have enough information to make a determination.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…I still see him trying to explain how he made that boko haram connection, when there is nothing in the dude’s history to suggest he was even remotely linked to the group at any time, Nigeria is a huge country …

“It has a compact area of 923,768 square kilometers (356,376 square miles).”

Not the size of Barbados where everyone knows everyone else or are related, it has a population size of ….”186 million (2016)”

So there is no way you can get away of accusing anyone even remotely of having links to boko haram…unless you have proof. ..being nigerian is not a reason to accuse anyone of being affiliated to a terrorist group.

We can talk all we want, the courts get to make the determination, however to reason not to let our imaginations run wild…the beauty of freedom..lol

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Seriouly…do you see nigerians being on the island and no one noticing.

Mia could not even hide that meeting

..as I said..let your imagination run wild.

33. Well Well

Have you ever heard of hyperbole?

Or any other poetic device, in politics?

34. We remember well Eric Fly suggesting that Lemmy Craig had a doggie 4 miles long because his wife lived 4 miles away.

35. Well Well.

Bajans too frighten for lawyers, not for the right reasons.

That is why they can thief so much from wunna.

Should this writer been given the letter Sinckler got. We would have written back and told the lawyer to kiss the meaty part of his back.

In our environment we eat lawyers for breakfast, daily.

36. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

thats what they say the clowns on political platforms do, but did sinkler not come out and reiterate that..no nigerian cant shut me up, my navel sting bury in Barbados, i want the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, they would have to kill me

then with drama queen effect, ripped up the letter, ah hope he gave a copy to his lawyer or he will have to go begging haynes for a copy.

hard to take that as hyperbole.

37. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

of course you can do that to some lawyers and get away with it, but in this occasion with a client who has walked that road before where reckless, careless talk nearly cost him, am not so sure, i dont think sinkler would mind giving up an apology or some money, he is flushed.

38. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar

more importantly, with all thats going on, bajans were able to share on their phones today, just how flushed with cash certain ex ministers really are, though the info cant be shared anywhere else because it appears to be the format that it was posted to fb in..

so, there are bigger problems ahead for sinkler and co.

39. We know not about the financial position of anybody

But that you, a man who hates lawyers, could hold this line is open to suggestion why.

40. reality Pacha, reality…there are still some days ahead to see how this pissing contest plays out…it’s not going to just go away, too much at stake for all, myself excluded, I ask nothing of the island or it’s people.

41. Sinckler powful foolish,to use a good ole bajanism.He did likeThompson and the St John plan.A blank sheet of paper.

42. It was worth seeing the bombshell yardfowls were boasting about yesterday, blow up on them.

43. Behind every great riches, is a great crime. Nigeria produce a few billioaires and almost all are tainted, especially those who have accumulated their weath in the oil sector. The world’s only black industialist, nigerian, Aliko Dangote is the exception in my opinion

44. @Pachamama May 14, 2018 8:33 PM “In our environment we eat lawyers for breakfast, daily.”

You shouldn’t do that you know. You may catch something very, very nasty. Something for which there is no cure.

45. OSA calls emergency media conference to clear the air on issues raised by the DLP administration (?). It was surprising to learn that the OFFSHORE BUSINESS SECTOR prior to 2008 capitalize on Canadian Investments to the tune of $80b (?)with taxation from the sector at 1%. (?).. not withstanding according to “arrangements” SANDALS too is raping the economy of needed revenue (?) yet International Banks boasts of profits at the behest of the economy.(?)

Why at the eleventh hour is he making his voice heard (?).. thanks to BT (?)
    Not impressed,
    Don’t want to influence the process (?)
    Giving his economic theories for solutions (?)
    Revealing gross losses in the 10s of millions
    missed the bus.

46. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service May 14, 2018 6:56 AM ““who born up in Sandy Lane could frighten anybody from Black Rock,”

Stupssseee!!!

Chances are both Chris and Mia were born at t he Queen Elizabeth Hospital.

Unlike me who was really born at home.

And who knows the exact, exact spot at which my literal navel string is really buried.

Some Chinese asked about buying the spot some years ago, but I didn’t have the heart to sell the place where my navel string is buried.

So I had to overlook a lotta, lotta Chinese money.

47. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Nineofnine;

I used to think extremely highly of Owen Arthur. Not any more!

The timing of his revelations and advice must have been chosen for maximum effect to cause mischief. If Barbados’ economy reaches rock bottom within the next year look no further than Owen’s hubris for a large part of the reason. Of course it will be primarily because of Freundel Stuart’s lack of leadership skills and penchant for looking the other way when bandits showed their stripes. But Owen Arthur, with his great knowledge and eminent position could have done more to shame Freundel Stuart and Chris Sinckler from taking a wrecking ball to the economy and not wait till now to pompasett and try to show that he is blameless.

I have to hope that the young and not-so-young BLP economists can find new ways to raise Barbados up again as the DLP has shown that they cannot save us and the 3rd parties have good intentions but don’t have a clue.

48. So what happens if it rains, HEAVILY on May 23 and 24? How will that affect the turn out. How will it affect the election result.

Cease talking about little matters such as billionaire businessmen.

And talk about trully serious matters–THE WEATHER–

49. “………..and the 3rd parties have good intentions but don’t have a clue.

Are-we-there-yet

………as was demonstrated by Grenville Phillips II giving an explanation of SB’s economic policies, at the economic consultation, which was held at the Lloyd Sandiford Conference Center this morning.

As usual his first comment was that the IMF said debt should not exceed 40% of GDP, while the BLP took it to 90% of GDP and it was subsequently increased to 150% to GDP by the “current” DLP administration.

Mr. Phillips II needs to stop that silly argument……..there isn’t any country in the world that could contain debt to 40% of GDP. Then there is a difference between productive and unproductive debt.

Phillips II explained SB will implement a 10% tax on revenue and salary and wages; eliminate VAT and NRSL; reverse $1B in debt and achieve a surplus within one year, without restructuring the debt or implementing austerity measures.

He went on to say SB’s policies were sent to the Barbados Economic Society (BES) and Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados (ICAB) for “rigorous scrutiny” and they were told to “show no mercy.” SB received a report from ONE member of ICAB (an accountant) that said the policies are workable and could realize success within one year.

So far, SB or Grenville Phillips II has been unable to share the analysis with the public for “vigorous scrutiny.”

It was interesting to note that President of the BES said SB’s policies were dependent on accelerated economic activity, which would have implications on imports resulting in an increase in the cost of living and the objectives were not easily achievable. In other words, the BES dismissed SB’s policies……with an explanation.

Essentially, Phillips II should allow the “fellow of ICAB” or a consultant economist to articulate these policies, rather than try to do the job himself. He is clearly out of his depth because he never explains the policies. Saying he cannot tell lies because he is a structural engineer is not enough.

The UPP’s representative articulated his party’s economic policies mush better……..why not consider Lynette and the UPP?

Perhaps David BU could post UPP’s and SB’s economic policies for further discussion.

50. The influences that has orchestrated the collapse of our Governmental construct will learn that the strengths of the oppressed they thought would have been weakened and destroy the very fabric of society will be held accountable.

Totalitarianism, Tyranny, Dictatorships, et al in this timeline will collapse, any Government that pursues such structures shall not take root. They are all falling away, most recently North Korea, next Syria, followed by Saudi Arabia and Israel.
    Great Change is upon us. Governments with a genuine care for its people will endure.

Barbados had been compromised,
    Infiltrated by “procedural documents” and minions of accomplices …..a cleansing is required.
    Many repeals of subjugating laws, regulations and codes is necessary.
    Some pertinent Statutes needs revisiting to become all inclusive and 21st century relevant.
    Stagnancy of the economy need circulation, areas are identifiable especially a control of “interest rates”.
    A NATIONAL BANK IS A MUST and an audit is required of accounts of substantially very large amounts deposited at the former BARBADOS NATIONAL BANK BEFORE SALE TO THE REPUBLIC BANK OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO.

The current election due will render a result in the better interest of all Barbadians and the economy.