In the first part of this essay last week, I commented on the positive and negative consequences of the Prime Minister advising the Governor General to issue the writ for a general election to take place on May 24; the likely record number of parties and individuals contesting the elections; the prominent role that the offence of bribery was playing in early popular discourse and the relatively minor part that more substantive issues were occupying in the public domain.

With the launch of the campaigns of the major parties last weekend and the excitement of Nomination Day last Monday, the battle has now been well and truly joined.

What has been noteworthy about the approach of the so-called duopoly is their identical treatment of the launch of the campaign and the introduction of their respective candidates being two distinct events; a strategy available to the better-funded campaigns only, I presume. None of the others has followed a similar course, contenting themselves with traditional spot meetings and social media campaigns.

Having attended none of these four main events thus far, my commentary is based mainly on hearsay and the other secondary sources of media reports. The similarity in strategy between the older parties appears to have ended in the staging of dual meetings however, since the opening gambits appear to be diametrically opposed. For the Democratic Labour Party [DLP], the engagement strategy appears to be the one pursued so successfully by the all-conquering West Indies cricket team of the 80’s and 90’s, -that is, if we can prick the bubble of mystique that surrounds the leader of our opponent, then the battle is already more than half-won. It is a strategy better known in the Barbadian vernacular as indicating the importance of the brain (head) to physical soundness –“When de head gone, the whole body gone…”

While it is, of course, far too early to gauge the effectiveness of this approach, it is one clearly fraught with some degree of risk since the leader of the Barbados Labour Party [BLP] is female and it is not irrational to assume that its supporters might readily conflate what is intended to be a purely partisan political barracking with an attack on the female gender in general… even though a reasoning electorate should be careful to distinguish between the two by virtue of the content. In other words, a broadside against the political acumen and leadership ability of an individual -whether male, female, blackish, whitish, affluent or “scrunting”-, ought not to be melded into an assault on all those identically situated merely by virtue of the identified characteristic.

Nonetheless, to found an election strategy on a plinth that requires the appreciation of such a comparatively fine distinction by an impassioned local electorate appears in hindsight to be unarguably risky. The call is not mine to make, however.

For its part, the BLP appears to have adopted an equally risky strategy for its platform. While it is understandable that the promise of a better economic future for the citizenry would be an attractive sop for a jurisdiction and an electorate in deep economic “doo-doo”, the more cynical voter might be mistrustful and wary of promises of a soonest return to a former prosperity that would entail a revival of formerly available civic entitlements, an increase in a named social security benefit and the concomitant reduction of a much despised imposition.

In light of the actuality that an electioneering promise is not otherwise enforceable except as a matter of propriety, a party should be diligent to persuade an discerning electorate of its bona fides by reasoned argument and not merely by platitudes that require them to trust the word of the promising or representing entity.

I readily accede to any argument that I am not a politician, and it may be too that I am unfamiliar with how a local electorate reasons, if it does so at all. If I had my druthers, though, I would not have advised either of the strategic approaches adopted by the major parties so far as being too electorally risky.

As for the other combatants, I remain hopeful that a creditable platform will emerge from among them, one that is based on practicable policy as well as one that respects the guaranteed fundamental rights of citizens.

Just recently, I received a flier from one “third” party’s candidate in my constituency and I am forced to wonder whether a competent individual was allowed to vet the material therein by before publication. One paragraph speaks to “Charged Persons” and boldly indicates that “only the charges and court cases of those convicted will be published”. And, as if this threat to press freedom were not sufficiently chilling, it is further stated that publishing any such details of innocent and not-convicted persons will attract “defamation fines”. The material proposes to quantify these penalties on the loss of reputation and loss of earnings (suffered by the innocent party, I presume) owed to the publication.

This is surreal. While our neighbours are striving to abolish the offence of criminal defamation, we are attempting to apply it to a wholly inapplicable circumstance -one where there is no defamation- and further to impose monetary penalties therefor where there can be no likelihood of loss of reputation caused by the publication. Lord, put a hand!

72 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Anatomy of an Election Campaign II”

1. These so-called third parties are no less authoritarian than the dominant duopoly political current

For they are part and parcel

There is a certain ruthlessness deep within the Bajan psyche which emerges once a bunch of keys is anywhere near, or seems that way.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

You said and de ole man quoteth a party should be diligent to persuade an discerning electorate of its bona fides by reasoned argument and not merely by platitudes that require them to trust the word of the promising or representing entity…”

You also said rather disclaimed to be unfamiliar with how the local electorate reasoned…

Well de ole man is going to attempt to give some insight by concatenating the two. (Heheheh dat is a big word dat I does overuse heah pun BY under a pretext to be intelligent and associate wid wunna big boys…)

You used the words “a discerning electorate” which is an oxymoron at best and wishful thinking at worst

As de ole man completeth this cycle of sentience I have become insightful by force of nature not practice nor don’t of effort.

That is to say I imagine dat I got some inkling of sense induced by reading what others have said elsewhere

The fact is that globally that utopian juxtaposition of which you speak, that “discerning electorate” is indeed a fallacy and in fact there is a very low percentile of the collective worldwide that can, and do, reason.

But i shall not wax and wane philosophical here this Sunday morn

I shall speak plain.

The tangent of emotive anticipation which you suggest that the BLP is employing IS THE PERFECT STRATEGY TO USE among the intellectually deficient and slothful of mind

Why would any party waste effort to discourse the mechanics of their promises with a target audience whose attention span is 10 seconds?

Let me ask you a question

Do you know anything about “heat maps and web pages?”

IN brief it speaks to how you move your mouse (if you have one) or click on links on an optimized pages

The Honourable Blogmaster would be able to confirm how many people read your page, IN ITS ENTIRETY, pause on a page, reread it, or revert to it to revisit its spelean nuances.

Even in this minutiae of the practicum of discernment de ole man would humbly suggest that as brilliant as some of your submissions here might be, the cadre of discerning minds you allude to, is severely lacking

“Master, the harvest is plentiful but the labourers are few…”

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with another submission in suspense

Some may well ask why all this John Le Carre intrigue with VPN submissions

Unlike you Honourable Blogmaster they would not be familiar with the fact that websites particularly yours are being monitored by third parties to “see” who its bloggers are and confirm the identities of the more radical of YOU heheheheh (Dr ole man ent in wunna grouping I jes is a paranoid feller)

But there will come a day AGAIN when the website is sold “for an offer that the BU CANNOT REFUSE” heheheh and where would de ole man be EFFING I DOAN USE VPNs?

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Piecesderock, I dare to disabuse you of your fallacy 😁.

Somewhere in the intellectual potpourri of that global utopia about which YOU speak,I suggest to you that momentous democratic political decisions by their very act of being a completed feat are thus competently made by a “discerning electorate” .

There must be some fancy latinic phraseology which facilitates that …something like ‘quod erat demonstrandum ‘ or ‘ipso facto’…or maybe in Bajan ‘if you lay down wid wild dogs or play wid wild cats yah dun know that you gine get fleas”. 😐

Of course, simply stated (or even with great insight), discern means to be able to ” perceive or recognize (something)” as in “I can discern no difference between the two policies”, or to be able to “distinguish (someone or something) with difficulty by sight or with the other senses.”

Can you really suggest that millions of Americans did NOT discern that voting for Barack Obama despite his total lack of legislative or any governance experience was a bold but meaningful act. Or the same of the following act to elect Trump.

Were not ALL their senses fully aroused in those acts or the Brexit action in UK. Were they not aware of the likely policy intentions!

Discern does not speak to logically breaking down the action..merely being fully aware that your action will bring consequences…whether you get the flea powder before or after the fleas attack is a personal decisionl!

And (poor segue apart) what of a vote for Natlee. Do not the hundreds that will vote for her fully discern and endorse that flea biting verbiage!

But yet they and us all will act as we see best….if it’s done then it is discernibly so done!

5. Piece…the world would have done another evolution by then and it will no longer matter, plus with all things considered, I don’t see the Blogmaster as being easily bought.

No one is taking any of the candidates in the duopoly seriously except for limited intellect yardfowls…one example.

In the St. Thomas area, there is supposed to be this representative Rolerick Hinds for the last 10 years or there abouts, not many people have heard about him, let alone seen him in the areas, it is said he kept his medical practice in Warrens and that was his focus, how this conflict is allowed at taxpayer’s expense I do not even want to imagine.

The roads are deplorable even in the terraces as I have seen for myself, because he simply never bothered..however, someone noted last week he jumped in the newspapers when he signed up again for the same scam, telling the people of St. Thomas, he is “ready to work with the community”….

..most are wondering where the hell has he been for all these years and what was he doing, since he never worked with the communities, because it does not show he did anything in any of the St. Thomas communities except collect his salary from the taxpayers.

As to Grenville and his disturbing illegal fantasies, he will learn that people do not need degrees to be blessed with common sense .

6. Negative politics will always appeal to negative persons,where positive politics will always appeal to hopeful people.

7. Less we are naive about it there is a reason why Machiavellianism is studied and practice by politicians who want longevity in the business. The challenge will always be how civil society responds. Citizens have to find a way to organize through NGOs etc. It is not as easy as it seems in theory given the complexity of human behaviour.

8. David

Thanks for your real politique.

The politicians tell us things about hope and hopefulness. These are for the consumption of their minions.

Internally, there is the dynamic of which you speak.

9. Bajan wisdom
    “An expatriat and his money are soon parted”

10. *expatriate
    Keep hoping.

11. Apologies. Wrong post.
    Hope everyone is having a great day.

12. I don’t recall Rolerick Hinds ever being elected to represent any constituency in Barbados, St.Thomas included.

13. Goes to show how much you know…Enuff..

What you need to do today is take a drive past the Simpson Motors used car parking lot, look to your right at the first right turn after Simpson…and a big ass sign has been there for years with his photo as representative for the area.

…I am sure you pass the sign every day on your way in and out of the Warrens area..especially if you drive up to Cost u Less or the mall in that compound..

Some yardfowl you turned out to be.

Did I spell his first name wrong…is it Roderick?

14. Ok Well well, I guess Cynthia Forde is a fraud.

15. I am not following you though…I said Rolerick (drick) Hinds.

Was Forde the MP for St. Thomas for the last X amount of years?

Does she look like Rolerick (drick) Hinds the photo of the man in that 6 foot tall billboard on the road that you clearly never saw when driving by Simpson Motors?

I thought an elected MP was the representative for the area and is then assigned to that area, I must be mistaken, was election called last night and I missed it.

16. Wuh looka muh crosses…murdaaaa🤣🤣🤣

17. You wicked enuff…
    He is the DLP’s representative for St Thomas – and the DLP was the government.

18. Apparently Enuff thinks BLP already won the government, I warned him about counting those chickens, people fed up enough to cause him embarrassment, stop taking the electorate for granted.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff C.
    “I readily accede to any argument that I am not a politician, and it may be too that I am unfamiliar with how a local electorate reasons, if it does so at all. If I had my druthers, though, I would not have advised either of the strategic approaches adopted by the major parties so far as being too electorally risky.”

What we would like to hear from you is your expert and ‘objective’ analysis of the politically driven attempts by the Electoral & Boundaries Commission (EBC) to stymie the rights of Commonwealth citizens resident in Barbados to vote in the upcoming general elections.

Could it be due to the possibility that the management of the Constitutionally-established agency is allowing some ministerial involvement at the politically partisan level to fly in the face of the courts’ decisions on the matter?

Do you see any legalistic obfuscation to justify the stance taken by this Commission?

20. if this person is a yardfowl, she will be a yardfowl with sanctions, if she dont fix that list by tomorrow…lol

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/157117/ccj-rules-fix-list-sanctions

“THE CARIBBEAN COURT OF JUSTICE has ruled this afternoon that Chief Electoral Officer Angela Taylor has until midday on Monday to put CARICOM national Professor Eddy Ventose’s name on the Electoral List. If she fails to do so she will be held in contempt of court and faces sanctions.”

21. Here is the link to the media release on the CCJ’s website.

http://www.ccj.org/news/ccj-affirms-professor-ventoses-right-to-vote-in-barbados

22. The CCJ works so swiftly and efficiently that I am seriously considering hinting to people who have these personal injury cases languishing in the Supreme Court because of evil insurance companies and even more evil vile lawyers, along with judges and others who obviously are way too slow…… that when their cases reach a certain juncture, take it to the CCJ and sue the lawyers and insurance companies for abuse.

That should make things real interesting in Barbados.

23. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

…that when their cases reach a certain juncture, take it to the CCJ and sue the lawyers and insurance companies for abuse.

That should make things real interesting in Barbados.

@ Well,Well, Unfortunately, this is not legally practicable. First, the CCJ is a court of appellate jurisdiction only in these matters and, second, any suit for abuse as you suggest must begin in the Hugh Court of Barbados

24. Of course Jeff…gotta start somewhere…CCJ is court of last resort

Surprised it has not been done before…but it is doable.

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Could it be due to the possibility that the management of the Constitutionally-established agency is allowing some ministerial involvement at the politically partisan level to fly in the face of the courts’ decisions on the matter?

@ Miller, You seem quite certain as to how these people will vote. I am not identically informed.

26. In case you are not aware, Barbados is signatory to certain Charters regarding abuse, there have been too many violations of these charters and abuse of people, which makes it clear that the agencies the island signed up with should also be contacted to make them aware of these clear violations.

If they don’t want to be exposed, dont sign on to these charters and get exposed up front for not signing.

This is a whole new era.

27. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Well, Well, this is not the time nor place for a tutorial on the asymmetrical relation between international and municipal law, but know that the signing of a treaty confers no substantive rights own a citizen of the country in the absence of local legislation on the matter conferring those rights.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jeff Cumberbatch May 13, 2018 5:55 PM

Neither do I!

And that’s what makes the actions of the ECB so profoundly puzzling.

The law is crystal clear on the rights of the residents as long as the meet the criteria.

So what other conclusion can a reasonable’ person reach other than the person(s) ‘charged’ with the execution of the law is massively incompetent?

29. Understood, Jeff…Again, as you know, you must start somewhere or you will get nowhere and exposure helps to no end…the high court is but a beginning and a stepping stone.

who would have thought the EBC would have lost their case.

30. As per usual Miller….total incompetence and they make things up as they go along instead of following guidelines and precedents….

That is why they all need testing, particularly with those personal injury cases.

31. There will be some nasty exposures going forward Jeff…so ya better warn ya fellow frat brothers to prepare themselves….people have had enough.

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

So what other conclusion can a reasonable’ person reach other than the person(s) ‘charged’ with the execution of the law is massively incompetent?

@ Miller, a legitimate and most logical conclusion. I do not understand their reluctance.

33. “Apparently Enuff thinks BLP already won the government, I warned him about counting those chickens, people fed up enough to cause him embarrassment, stop taking the electorate for granted.”

I am trying to help but you persists with displaying ignorance, simply giving credence to the belief that you’re the cut and paste queen. Tek win!

34. Help how? I am telling the blog about the Hinds dude who was the MP for how long, who did nothing in areas of St. Thomas he represented, but collected taxpayers money for how many years anyway….

….you claimed you did not know he represented St. Thomas, making yourself look unknowledgeable, MAYBE TRYING TO MAKE ME LOOK LIKE A LIAR, WHO KNOWS WHAT GOES THROUGH YOU DUMMIES HEADS….which you should have then googled and cut and paste, showing us you at least knew something about Hinds…..

..instead you are telling me something about Forde must be a fraud then….which had nothing to do with what I said…..and I really don’t care who or what Forde is anyway…..

NEWSFLASH: I AM NOT LOOKING TO BE ANYONE’S YARDFOWL, I CAN THINK FOR MYSELF, YOU SHOULD HAVE NOTICED THAT BY NOW.

35. This intervention is to avoid this post being clogged unnecessarily, note that Cynthia Forde is the sitting representative for St.Thomas and has been since David Simmons demitted office to take up the seamless appointment as CJ.

36. I know who Cynthia Forde is I really do and I know she has a history of working for the St. Thomas area, but unless ya set some people straight and let them know that not everyone and their family living on the island need anything from the island or from politicians who infest the island, they always think ya looking to endorse politicians…

some of us actually bring funds in large amounts to Barbados and take nothing in return, people like myself dislike politicians, no matter how nice they appear and stay well away from them, we make sure we need none of them and don’t want any of them anywhere near us.

Some people may not understand that existence, but they should try it and live a much freer, healthier, fulfilled life..

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

“… but know that the signing of a treaty confers no substantive rights own a citizen of the country in the absence of local legislation on the matter conferring those rights…”

IN fact you can, and should, append that observation to read “… but know that the signing of a treaty confers no substantive rights on a citizen of the country IN THE PRESENCE of local legislation on the matter conferring those rights…” heheheheh

38. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@Piece, Heheheh!

39. Thing is…Barbados has a history for not observing treaties, charters or or human rights, that is why they are now being put to the test…that right to vote once the criteria is met extends across 54 Commonwealth countries, even to Africa and the criteria varies from country to country, so if Barbados is offended, then raise the criteria from 3 or 5 years to 7 years, but ya already signed the treaty, so honor the damn thing.

That is why no one is taking the governments and the courts on the island seriously anymore, they are ridiculous..and imagine most of them are lawyers…suppose this person or persons want costs, the taxpayers will have to pay for the EBCs clear incompetence, negligence and stupidity.

How many more embarrassing lawsuits must there be before the clowns are reined in and established existing guidelines and precedents are observed and honored.

As I said earlier, there is another Charter Barbados is signatory to…that must be tested and I know just the regional lawyer to test it.

40. @Professor Jeff “Just recently, I received a flier from one “third” party’s candidate in my constituency and I am forced to wonder whether a competent individual was allowed to vet the material therein by before publication. One paragraph speaks to “Charged Persons” and boldly indicates that “only the charges and court cases of those convicted will be published”. And, as if this threat to press freedom were not sufficiently chilling, it is further stated that publishing any such details of innocent and not-convicted persons will attract “defamation fines”. The material proposes to quantify these penalties on the loss of reputation and loss of earnings (suffered by the innocent party, I presume) owed to the publication. This is surreal.”

You don’t have to tell me ’cause i know that it has to be those idiots of solutions barbados, who have no sense of history, who do not understand why people appear in open court etc.

Spent too much time in the engineering boos and the accounting books methinks.

Now if the media cannot mention that I have been charged what is there to stop the state from charging me secretly, detaining me secretly, convicting me secretly, and imprisoning me secretly, and even executing me secretly?

We need more openness in this society. We need more, much more press freedom, not less?

Not one vote for Solutions Barbados.

41. I am here wondering if it is a mental disease, cause I have never heard of this before, if you sign on to a treaty, a charter or a human rights document, when the opportunity presents itself…you honor it, because that is what you signed up for…

it was not just to get a free trip and perks at some far away destination like the scamps in government are known to do, at taxpayer’s expense…….that signing represented a purpose to protect your people.

If you cannot honor a treaty or charter..then you have no honor, that is all the world wants to know to isolate ya in some form…

I just scanned a treaty the island signed on to and can see clearly a lawsuit in the future for violating the rights of those vulnerable people the signatory was designed to protect..but that is yall business, keep up the brutality and see how far ya reach.

42. @pieceuhderockyeahright May 13, 20187:48 AM “You used the words “a discerning electorate” which is an oxymoron at best and wishful thinking at worst”

So wha’ you saying Piece, that we the electorate is a bunch of foolish, lazy wrasse wholes?

What if we ain’t?

43. @Enuff May 13, 2018 10:51 AM “I don’t recall Rolerick Hinds ever being elected to represent any constituency in Barbados, St.Thomas included.”

Enuff is correct. Neither Rolerick nor Roderick Hinds has ever been elected to anything in Barbados.

The last Hinds I can recall is Burton Hinds, and he has been dead, dead, dead these past 40 years or more.

44. Simple…so how did Hinds make it to represent the St. Thomas area…mind you, I don’t care if he was elected or not, the semantics don’t concern me…. but misrepresent St. Thomas area he did and trying to do nothing again for another 5 years too, all at taxpayer’s expense…

45. System is Broken Avatar
    System is Broken

@ Well Well

You have become a real jackass on BU and I have been reading many of your nonsense posts for a long time and you continue to persist with your ignorance even when corrected.

Mr Hinds is not an elected Parliamentarian even though he is the DLP representative for a part of St. George and is not paid by Government in this role.

The St George Politicians who were paid by Government are Dwight Sutherland and Cynthia Forde as they were the two elected officials in 2013 and formerly sat in Parliament before it was dissolved a couple months ago, both are BLP.

The exception to this was Ester Byer Suckoo DLP who lost to Dwight Sutherland BLP in a part of St. George however she was named a Minister in the DLP Cabinet and paid in that role.

For example George Connolly is a DLP representative for a part of St. James he is also not paid by Government.

However both DLP representatives would have received from the Party funds a stipend to assist with running a constituency office, also to assist in the election campaign along with their personal funds and any other money raised through campaign donations.

They do not receive salaries similar to the BLP and DLP elected MPs who sat in Parliament.

You want to win every argument even when you show your ignorance and have little credibility as a poster on the blog.

One doesn’t get to win or shown high intelligence by who makes the most post on any Topic, in fact it shows the individual who in their shallowness want to impress readers regardless of whether knowledgeable on a topic or not which leads to a lack of credibility and an empty vessel.

46. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, I have learned several things on this blog… some directly and some indirectly.

Your comment at 7:17 re intervention and Cynthia Forde’s representation was a bit of both.

You directly made me aware that bloggers spread false information repeatedly and when corrected make some of the most jaw dropping contradictions of their original remarks.

And indirectly made me aware that sometimes unfortunate mental events take place right before our eyes…I hope any of us can appreciate the indirect sign posts on display and get the necessary professional help … in cases like this.

47. System is Broken…save it, your first paragraph was enough nonsense to read…again…I am not interested in semantics…and who was elected and who was not…yall are a bunch of parasites on the lives of taxpayers, I know am not blind and the people in the area of St. Thomas that Hinds represent(ed) are not blind, or stupid ….they have been putting up with his misrepresentation long enough…..he has his constituency office right in the white apartment building on the corner, he will have to take down the sign tomorrow cause it was there today…no politician works for free, even when they are paid massive amounts, most still find a way not to do the work.

…. same goes for you Pedant, won’t even bother to read the first line in your nonsense.

48. Well, Well May 13, 2018 6:08 PM “who would have thought the EBC would have lost their case.”

it was clear to me that the Electoral and Boundaries Commission wold have lost their case.

Unfortunately some, too many, way, way too many of our civil servants are ninnies.

Do we not remember the case some 20 or so years ago when in clear breach of her religious rights under the constitution some civil servants told a Muslim girl that she could not wear her hijab to school.

You remember that just last year some ninnies at the hospital wrote a notice telling patients that they would not be attended to if they wore “arm holes” that is sleeveless dresses or shirts? I mean who ever heard of a hospital refusing service to sick people because of their manner of dress? i mean don’t doctors and nurses have to see naked patients everyday?

You know that at present some civil servants have put up signs in government buildings telling patrons not to wear arm holes?

Do you know that an official at the National Insurance Office attempted to expel me from my tax funded NIS building because I was wearing knee length shorts?

Don’t you know that an official of the Barbados Revenue Authority refused me entry to the Treasury Building whence I had journeyed to pay my taxes because I dared to wear the same offensive “arm holes” in the 32 degree heat and 90 percent humidity. I went in anyhow, but I nearly had to beat somebody to get into the building to pay my taxes. Apparently the naked, nicely toned arms of old ladies deeply offends the BRA cashiers. Lolll!!!

Do you know that my friend a former member of the Barbados Defence Force, a lady of middle years was refused service at the NIS building, and made to catch two buses home and back because some member of the NIS staff was displeased with her dress and refused to serve her. She was there to see about her father’s pension. He who had Alzheimers and who required a caregiver every time she had to go into town.

I say again some of our civil servants are ninnies, and some of our political class are no better.

Everyone of these people should be made to read the Barbados Constitution before they are hired, and once a year thereafter. But that too would be unconstitutional. Lol

Some civil servants really believe that they can make up the law as they go along, they really believe that they have the right to impose their narrow religious beliefs on others etc.

I say again many, too many, way, way too many of our civil servants are ninnies, and that a good number of our political class are no better.

49. @Well, Well May 13, 2018 7:13 PM “Help how? I am telling the blog about the Hinds dude who was the MP for how long, who did nothing in areas of St. Thomas he represented, but collected taxpayers money for how many years anyway.”

Hinds has NEVER been an elected MP, and has therefore NEVER collected the taxpayers money.

He is “tryin’ a t’ing this time, but Cynti is going to whip his @ss.

Lol.

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

that Cynthia Forde is the sitting representative for St.Thomas and has been since David Simmons demitted office to take up the seamless appointment as CJ CAN NOT BE REFUTED.
    THIS IS AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16!

RE . Neither Rolerick nor Roderick Hinds has ever been elected to anything in Barbados.
    The last Hinds I can recall is Burton Hinds, and he has been dead, dead, dead these past 40 years or more.

THIS CAN NOT BE CAN NOT BE REFUTED EITHER .
    THIS IS ALSO AS TRUE AS JOHN 3:16!