Submitted by Heather Cole

I have a sentimental attachment to Crane Bay so perhaps that makes me biased with regards to any chaos that revolves around it. I spent many days in my youth on that beach, being rolled up in the waves, and on those long summer evenings taking a walk up the long expanse of the beach all the way to the dark hole, mostly in search of sea grapes. When it was too hot my friends and I sat on those benches on the jetty in the shade enjoying the breeze of the sea and the magnificent view and the boys jumping off the jetty. I have memories from long ago of a man who we called Masters who was either the manager or the owner of the Hotel. He used to get the watchman to run us if we came onto the property but we did not loiter there. We used the hotel to facilitate our access to the beach since my grandmotherโ€™s house was a stoneโ€™s throw from where the walls of the hotel now stand.

In those days, there were no walls so we walked the quarter mile up to the hotel walked through, passing the pool and making our way down the steps to the beach instead of going the mile on the public road. Once we cleared the hotel and made it to the beach we were safe. I do not remember any occasion that we were asked to leave the beach. Truth be told what I remember now is what I can only term as an act of defiance against Masters and that was dipping and washing our sandy feet in the beautiful pool as we made our way back through the hotel. While Masters denied our access to the beach, our presence on the beach was not denied. It was like a safe haven.

However, thinking rationally we have a sore thumb. We have a problem today that is not going away. No matter how much we pacify it by putting that thumb is our mouth and sucking on it, when we take it out, it is still sore. The very idea of having a PUBLIC beach that has a restriction is ridiculous. How can there be a public space that is owned by an individual from the high tide mark to his property. My interpretation is that the Act therefore only gives John Public access to the sea and not full use of the beach. If the beach was truly public property no one private party could claim any part of it as their property.

Anything that is for public use or consumption but comes with restrictions is segregated. So taking it a step further, one can state that some beaches are actually not truly public but segregated if Barbadians are denied the acts of vending, relaxing and walking on them. What we have here is a clear case of segregation of the beaches in Barbados hidden in plain sight as the law has legalized this segregation.

In a public car park everyone can park their car. In public schools no one group of persons can claim part of the school as for their race. Public transportation is Barbados is not segregated with the front of the bus for one race and the back for another. In 1955 Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat on a segregated bus that was used for public transportation sparking the Civil Rights Movement. The inhumane system of apartheid which institutionalized racial segregation and discrimination ended in 1991 in South Africa. So why do we have a law on the statute books that institutionalizes where we can go on the beach and sets a portion of the beach aside for private ownership?

Coastal erosion has all but destroyed the beach at the Crane. It is a mere shadow of its former self. The beach that I remember was perhaps three times the size in width of what it now. It means that according to this high tide arrangement the hotel, vendors and nationals compete for an increasingly diminishing resource.

It would be interesting to see the title deed of the Crane Hotel and any other hotel or beach property to see what has been conveyed.

In my opinion, the best solution is to repeal and create a new piece of legislation or amend the legislation removing the reference to the high tide mark because that law is discriminatory against Barbadians and the law should not be in conflict with itself either in principal or practice and; public must mean available to all in entirety.

Clearly there is over reach in the legislation in allowing a high tide mark to restrict access on public property. It is indeed shameful that the Attorney General who is a resident of St Philip and more importantly the defender of the public interest has not uttered a single word on this matter. Since this government is doing nothing to resolve this problem, the next government must aim for steady, pragmatic leadership which resolves this chaos

240 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Public Beaches or Segregated Beaches?”

1. Hal Austin March 30, 2018 at 9:45 AM #

The nature of law is that unless you have a violent bloody revolution that sweeps away and delegitimises everything that came before, you have to pay respect to the precedents that have been set or your new law will not stand up when confronted in court in front of judges that rule according to precedent.

Note that Scotland has exacly the same problems with foreshore and beach definition that we do, but they have not been as clever as we have in untangling that gordian knot with our NCC legislation. We should invite them on a factfinding mission to learn from us:
    https://www.scotlawcom.gov.uk/files/7212/7989/6603/rep190.pdf

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John Liesalot shutup….what business is it of yours who falls, will they be falling on your property, you always show how much you dont care about the lives, wellfare or future of black bajans…why are you pretending to care if they fall down protesting or not…mind ya business.

People, including myself have had picnics on Crane beach for decades, including in the middle of the night, navigated every nook and cranny and never fell down.

3. At Welches, the sea used to come up to the road!!!

Not much to erode except rocks.

There was a small beach on the lower end which we used to bathe in the sea sometimes.

All you have to do to appreciate the growth of the beach at Welches is to look at Google Earth!!

There is historical imagery going back to 2005.

Click on VIEW and enable HISTORICAL IMAGERY … then use the slider up in the top left hand corner to select a year.

My guess is the work in the beach was done in the early in the 2002-2009 project financed by IDB because in the earliest satellite image available the beach is clearly bigger than what I remember from boyhood.

So, on one hand we have Doyle, who invested millions in the development of the Crane Hotel.

On the other, we apparently have the GOB and IDB who set about removing his private property!!!

What do you think is going to happen?

The vendors and the protest are jokes .. distractions!!

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Liesalot…now we see your wicked intent, you could not hide it forever, what will happen is the bad press will set some boundaries for Doyle and his sidekick Mylnck who are holding up expansion and development of the area, through maliciousness.

5. The press may have to negotiate some serious breakers to get a story and given Bajans’ fear of the sea may give it a pass!!

6. BLT

Another legal angle for you to research!!

If the NCC/GOB controls 33 metres and Doyle owns it, is the NCC/GOP responsible to Doyle for the sand that gets removed because of the GOB/IDB project on the south coast?

I believe the currents around Barbados are pretty well documented and the experience of Miami Beach from way back would make any reasonable person know what would happen if a groyne is put out into the sea!!

7. Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service March 30, 2018 at 10:09 AM #
    People, including myself have had picnics on Crane beach for decades, including in the middle of the night, navigated every nook and cranny and never fell down.

You need to go and look in the day light before you go frolicking at night up there!!

8. To get to Doyle’s property you have to cross Melnyck’s property!!

9. frolicked already and it was just fine, it’s not exactly Yellow Stone National Park or even Central Park,it’s just a small stretch of beach property.

and that is why they are both playing games with a weak judiciary to aid them.

10. Peter must be tired of saying that what is required here is for the government through the agency responsible to do its job!

11. Peter Lawrence Thompson March 30, 2018 at 10:04 AM #

Thanks for this. I must come and get a crash course in legal theory from you. Your knowledge is impressive.

12. There was a time in the recent past when Melnyck used to invite musicians to perform at Christmas.

A large crowd of Bajans would assemble on the beach on the night of the performance.

Suspect the sea stopped all of that.

13. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

I wonder if i’m the only one on BU who finds this story puzzling concerning the dispute between the vendors and The Crane.

There are many stretches along the west coast where it is impossible to view the sea. The void sections between the many detached properties are barricaded in such a manner that it is impossible to see beyond them and does not allow for access to the beach.

The west coast, according to The Daily Telegraph, measures eleven miles in length. In the near future we will witness a mass structure of real estate that will span the entire length of the west coast. At a stroke your rights as a citizen to view the sea windows and to have unfettered access to the beach will be severely curtailed.

From way back, I informed the readers on BU that the H1 highway was built specifically to create an artificial barrier that would ensure that the west coast would stand as an enclave for the wealthy at the exclusion of the majority population. Just go and check an aerial view on Google map.

We already know that that there are large stretches of the West Coast where it is impossible to access or exit the beach unless you are prepared to enter a hotel.

Over the years we seem to have forgotten that it should be our rights as Bajan citizens to have views to the sea and to have unimpeded access to the beach and our sea. We have taken it for granted that any Tom, Dick and Harry can build on our beaches without taking note what damage is being done to our natural environment. Our planning department has yet to create a blueprint that would ensure that all structures that are built on the west coast should not impact our environment. Beach front properties should be modest in their scale and should not impact the view of the sea for our tourists and the citizens of Barbados.

We allowed this situation to develop over many decades. I therefore find it bizarre that we are venting our anger against The Crane and their bullying of these vendors when we have remained inactive whilst witnessing the rape and dismemberment of the once beautiful west coast.

These legal arguments are a waste of time. The west coast has already been lost. For those who want to view the sea or to hustle their wares on the beach then i would advice you to go the the east coast before it’s too late.

14. The great equalizers!

HURRICANE EARTHSHAKE TSUNAMI

” More people are seeking to find out about the earthquake and tsunami hazards and how they should get prepared. ”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/143153/people-engaged-tsunami-awareness

15. These legal arguments are a waste of time. The west coast has already been lost. For those who want to view the sea or to hustle their wares on the beach then i would advice you to go the the east coast before itโ€™s too late.

NCC sent home its workers and has no money to debush the East Coast Road … not even a window to the sea!!

16. @Kevin March 30, 2018 at 9:50 AM #

All of your complaints were done with GOB Approval, what’s your problem. If you agree that your GOB are jackass’s then were on the same page.

However you have to remember that those same jackass’s were elected by a majority populace, sounds to me that maybe you lost your vote.

17. Windows to the sea are “unimportant” when you drive an air conditioned luxury vehicle with tinted windows.

A former Prime Minister of Barbados said ” Land should be put to its best use “.

18. @Hants

Wha he said is that it should be put to its best รขย€ย˜economicรขย€ย™ value.

19. @Talking Loud Saying Nothing March 30, 2018 at 11:38 AM #

YOUR 100% CORRECT, the lack of planning and skillfully prepared legislation has resulted in the PRESENT BEACH condrum. Who’s fault is it, I can assume that GOB is not going to take any responsibility so must be the major island developer’s that keep the tourism industry opรฉrational gรฉnรฉrate FOREX, employ hundreds of locals etc.

This makes my point very clear, poor legislation and poor enforcement results in cahouis and loss of rights.

20. ” The west coast has already been lost. ”

There is nothing to stop Government from compulsorily acquiring land for access to the beach.

21. @David

“what is required here is for the government through the agency responsible to do its job!”

David I think you and Pacamamma drinking the same bad houch and having NIGHTMARES.

22. @Hants

What will motivate the political class to offend the money class?

23. eminent domain….any government can flex that muscle at anytime.

24. Thanks David. We all know that the massive development on the west coast was thought to be

for the good of the poor people who would get ” nuff nuff jobs.”

Turned to be short term gain for long term pain.

25. @Hants

Our system is so designed that he who pays the piper plays the tune.

26. The development on the West Coast is about allowing a few to benefit from tax shelters and a combination of being the playground for the rich and famous. It will never be sustainable.

27. @David,

Sooner or later politicians will have to deal with the disparity between the money class and the average Barbadian.

28. @Hants

You understand that the politics needs the money to run their campaigns given the current structure? Did you hear Buddy last week admit it is how the system is รขย€ย˜workedรขย€ย™ to ensure contracts fall from trucks?

29. @ David,

Barbados Government cannot borrow enough money to sustain development so there will be

few Government “contracts” to give to rich contractors/businessmen.

There is always the possibility of a natural disaster and the consequent recovery but we will have to consult Bushie on the timing of that.

30. Hants March 30, 2018 at 12:04 PM #
    โ€ The west coast has already been lost. โ€
    There is nothing to stop Government from compulsorily acquiring land for access to the beach.

“Barbados Government cannot borrow enough money to sustain development so there will be
    few Government โ€œcontractsโ€ to give to rich contractors/businessmen.”

That’s the reason there is everything to stop GOB from taking the route of compulsory acquisition!!!

You knew it all the time!!

The GOB could follow South Africa’s lead and just take the land without compensation but that would completely defeat the purpose because all the $$ would leave and the land would be valueless!!

SA may have a chance if the new owners can farm but if Zimbabwe experience is anything to go by we are looking at one more failed African country.

Cape Town is supposed to run out of water shortly but there is hope

https://www.pri.org/stories/2018-03-28/day-zero-has-been-postponed-cape-town-still-scrambling-deal-its-water-crisis-0

31. Hants March 30, 2018 at 12:17 PM #
    @David,
    Sooner or later politicians will have to deal with the disparity between the money class and the average Barbadian.

That is for people to address themselves by finding avenues to employ themselves and reduce the disparity.

GOB can’t do squat about the disparity!!

32. … and my guess is that when Doyle is through with the GOB and IDB Al Barak’s settlement will look like peanuts

33. @John re your 11am post today. Miami Beach was the size it is today, long before the 2002 to 2009 period that you mentioned.

34. Where is the Attorney General in this matter with respect to interpretation of the public beach aspect of the law for those vendors at Crane Beach and the confiscation of their beach chairs and livelihood?

It is ironic that it was left for the NCC head to provide guidance when the Attorney General was the former parliamentary representative for the constituency in which Crane Beach falls for over ten years when parliament was dissolved on March 6, 2018.

One is left to wonder if he seriously intends to ask for the St. Philip South constituents’ vote to represent them for another term and not come out to their defense publicly in this Crane Beach matter. While the vendors’ chairs being confiscated and their livelihoods being taken away by the Crane Hotel is an issue, the meat of the matter is access to that public beach at the Crane moreso for the residents of St. Philip South in particular and Barbadians in general

35. @ John we can dispute your inferring that the loss in sand at the Crane was due to this because 1. The expansion of the beach at Welches occurred during that period but both Welches beach and Miami Beach would have to have grown by the same exponential rate.

36. in another article from Nation news, Neblett states that NCC GIVES PERMISSION to hotels to rent beach chairs to guests on the beach, he is making it clear that NCC and not the hotels control the beaches, by law….so legally, no hotel owner can tell NCC how to control the beaches no matter what the title deed says as PLT said.

“With regard to the rental of beach chairs, Neblett stated that the NCC has always allowed businesses and hotels with beach front properties the opportunity to have chairs to complement the services offered to their clients.”

37. @ bf, we the residents of SPS got rid of Anthony Wood for his inaction with regards to that hotel. These bullying tactics by that hotel started way back then. It’s of no surprise to me that these issues are now being highlighted by the media, and wasn’t highlighted back then.

38. ‘would have to had grown’ at the same exponential rate. Miami Beach would be much bigger in size now.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin March 30, 2018 at 4:01 PM
    โ€œ@ bf, we the residents of SPS got rid of Anthony Wood for his inaction with regards to that hotel.โ€

Didn’t that dismissal take place over 10 years ago?
    Has the reason for that dismissal been justified given the performance by his replacement?

Why did you swap one idle donkey for another piece of lazy-ass shit?
    Where is the Pure Beach resort promised many years ago by the same useless shit(e)hound as the solution to the employment problem among the people of SPS?

When is that same incompetent lazy bugger going to produce (as he has promised over 2 years now) the urgently demanded damning evidence that MAM is not legally permitted to practise Law without an LEC?

Whatโ€™s the difference between the jackasses of SPS and the โ€˜blackโ€™ johnnies from St. John?

40. @John March 30, 2018 at 3:23 PM #
    โ€ฆ and my guess is that when Doyle is through with the GOB and IDB Al Barakโ€™s settlement will look like peanuts

Your guess would be dead wrong as it so very often is John. Paul Doyle will get zero in settlement because he didn’t take the care to read the law himself before wasting money on lawyers.

I have some sympathy for Paul Doyle because he had built the best accommodation brand in Barbados in a remarkably short time… in just a decade and a half he built a brand which was better than the Hilton, Sandals or even Sandy Lane. The self inflicted damage that he has inflicted on his brand in only a few days is tragic; and the brand will probably never fully recover from it.

41. Heather March 30, 2018 at 3:51 PM #
    @John re your 11am post today. Miami Beach was the size it is today, long before the 2002 to 2009 period that you mentioned.

… but not Welches!!!

Look at the satellite imagery for proof if you like!!!

Miami Beach grew out of a project to build a coast guard station which had to be abandoned!!!

What became generally accepted was that people could not just put a groyne out in the sea willy nilly because it would attract sand and surprise surprise, the sand had to come from somewhere else.

So the GOB/IDB project was undertaken with the certain knowledge that what happened at Miami Beach would happen!!!

42. Yes he was dismissed over 10 years ago, so why bring him back in 2013? And now his replacement is a SPN reject, who is just not a likeable person and whose campaign team left him and went and volunteered for John King. In order for SPS to turn red again, please bring proper candidates. And the jackasses of SPS is just like the jackasses & jhonnies, of St Joseph, St Thomas & Ch ch west.

43. The building at the Coast Guard Station happened I believe under Tom Adams/BLP because I recall it was mooted the reason it was done was to increase the value of the lands Bree St. John’s owned in Oistins!!

That experience more or less prevented any other groynes being built out into the sea for decades … well atleast until 2002 – 2009!!

44. The self inflicted damage that he has inflicted on his brand in only a few days is tragic; and the brand will probably never fully recover from it.

… and you think the disappearance of the beach doesn’t inflict any damage on the brand?

It is peanuts when the disappearance of the beach is considered.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John March 30, 2018 at 5:35 PM

Good observation of the workings of the laws of Mother Nature.

So to every action there must be an equal and opposite reaction.

Since it takes Mother Nature thousands of years to make even a tonne of fine sand, tell us why there is such a large sandy Brown(e)’s Beach in such a twinkling of the eye in your lifetime, if not to the loss of many on the West Coast?

It all boils down to the application of โ€˜pureโ€™ commonsense just like its absence from the South coast sewage situation.

46. If you actually go and look at the beach you will see when you get to as far down the hill as you can that you are met by huge boulders.

Look at what they are protecting … Melnyck’s sea wall.

When you hop over the stepping stones cast on the boulders protecting Melnyck’s sea wall to get down to Doyle’s property have in your mind the images from the satellites and you will realise that there has been a recent loss of sand.

Then ask yourself, what has been done lately on the South Cost that could explain this occurrence?

… old Butch perhaps …. or maybe someone else!!

… and the gem … how come Melnyck has an injunction preventing boulders being placed because the trucks will damage his foundations and all those boulders are there?

Were the boulders placed before the injunction, presumably by Melnyck, or after the injunction when it was apparent that the sea would take the wall?

If you use your two eyes and whatever brain is in your head you will realise there is something much more in this mortar than the pestle?

Would Melnyck have a case against government for damage to his property?

The two vendors are a distraction!!

The property above Melnyck is … Sir Kyff.

Where busses used to park for excursions is gone now.

That was his property!!!

Would he have a case against GOB?

47. so legally, no hotel owner can tell NCC how to control the beaches no matter what the title deed says as PLT said.

So logic dictates that when the beach under the control of the NCC disappears and another grows up, the NCC is also responsible!!

48. Heather March 30, 2018 at 3:57 PM #
    @ John we can dispute your inferring that the loss in sand at the Crane was due to this because 1. The expansion of the beach at Welches occurred during that period but both Welches beach and Miami Beach would have to have grown by the same exponential rate.

Your logic is flawed or you did not watch the changes.

Miami Beach appeared long before Welches Beach.

By 2005, you can see Welches in formation on Google.

Fast forward to 2017/8 and you see an exponential growth …. after the commencement of the GOB/IDB project.

49. “have some sympathy for Paul Doyle because he had built the best accommodation brand in Barbados in a remarkably short timeโ€ฆ”

they need to stop listening to the foolish lawyers on the island who do not take time to read or properly interpret the island’s laws themselves, none of them DO…they just grab at money without care or thought.

the brand will recover, just talking to a buddy of mine who stayed at Crane in 2006 when they were still building, he is glad to hear that phase of construction is over and how nice the upgrade is, since I was able to tell him about my short stay, he plans to return, I myself plan to do a repeat, so whether Doyle is there or not, Crane will always be there.

the issue at hand is all these hoteliers not knowing their place and have no boundaries with regard to what they can and cannot do to the people on the island..

… modern countries imprison those who insist on forcing their bullshit unlawful acts on populations against their will, that stops the perpetrators in their tracks….and all the others immediately fall in line, as my last daughter just said….the younger generation do not have the time or patience for the repetitive nonsense…and not one of the hoteliers want to get their asses ripped open in prison, that is too much reality.

this should be the last time we are hearing about any hotelier on the island trying to destroy the livelihoods of SELF-EMPLOYED beach vendors or trying to privatize the beaches to make them WHITES ONLY…the next ass should be imprisoned and really put an end to these decades old attempts at disenfranchisement of the people.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Kevin March 30, 2018 at 5:38 PM #
    โ€œYes he was dismissed over 10 years ago, so why bring him back in 2013?โ€

The same way the politically-abused glutton-for-punishment Todd or the pure-bred jackass called Physical Deficit Ince has been recycled?
    What about the Suck yu Byer?

BTW, Ch Ch West is now a UPP controlled riding. Ask Maria if she doesnโ€™t have that โ€˜stuffedโ€™ box already down pat?

So why not send the next aspiring AG for the DLP to a โ€˜john-klatโ€™ riding of St. John instead of a he/she boy like Pilly?