It remind I of the days in Jericho
When we trodding down Jericho walls
These are the days when we’ll trod through Babylon
Gonna trod until Babylon falls
Bob Marley
Walls are not new, from time immemorial they have been used by people to keep out invaders as a defense mechanism. The Bible records that there was a wall around the Jericho- the earliest known urban fortification- to keep out invaders. By the time the Israelites invaded Canaan the walls had been changed from mud to stone. We all know the biblical story of the Israelites marching around the walls of the City of Jericho, with the Ark of the Covenant before them once a day for 6 days and on the 7th day going around the city 7 times with the priests blowing the horns and the people shouting until the walls fell.
Throughout history nations have been building walls to keep out invaders. The Chinese built the Great Wall of China to prevent the Huns and Mongols from invading their country. The Romans built Hadrian’s Wall to keep the barbarians out. Therefore Donald Trump’s intent to build a wall to keep the people of South America out of North America is nothing new.
Walls however have not only been built to keep people from getting in. There has only been one exception to this rule until now. This exception was the Berlin Wall. Although they had become 2 different countries, there was no physical separation for work or shopping and East Germans were in West Germany daily. However, it was due to the virtual collapse of the East German economy in 1960 that started a mass exit of persons to West Germany. The separation was sudden, people awoke one morning in August 1961 to find themselves living behind barb wire. It happened all in one night and the barb wire was later changed to brick walls.
In Barbados there is a wall of bricks that extends from the West Coast to the South Coast. The situation that presently exists in Barbados with hotels, restaurants and private homes all on the shores of Barbados restricting access of the Barbadian public did not happen overnight, but the analogy is somewhat similar. The island is not a communist country by any measure, neither does it share a border with another country and there is no mass exodus of persons; but it is here that the differences end and the similarities begin. The country is in the midst of economic collapse and we have been suddenly confronted by the fact that access to the beach is being threatened with closure by walls built to keep the people in.
It is as though the hotels and the proliferation of gated communities on the South and West Coast have become a fortified border wall with their security gates, fences and hedges and security guards right down to the shoreline.
We have found ourselves in the same position as the people of East Berlin when they realized that the barb wire had been rolled out to fence them it and that a wall was going to have a profound effect on their lives. Chaos ensued forcing thousands to swarm train stations to get a train to flee East Germany. However, 30 years later the Berlin wall did fall, proving that walls built to keep people in will not last.
This is the juncture where we are at in Barbados, we have been shocked to find out that 2 of the last openings in our wall will be closed and are now in crisis mode. It is as though over the last 30 or so years we allowed the romanticism that we have with the sea disappear behind the horizon. We only have ourselves to blame as we stood by and let tourism destroy our lives and ruin our environment. By no stretch of the imagination can this be called development. It now looks like the deliberate marginalization of the people who call this island home. Alas we cannot go back but we cannot let tourism destroy what we have left on Barbados.
No one is opposed to the development of Barbados. However, we have failed to understand why hotels must be built on our coast, encroaching the last treasure we commonly own. We have lived long enough to witness the demise of the fisherfolk of Barbados and seen them replaced with maids and gardeners. We now have beaches where we are made to feel like intruders and not owners. The law says that they are not private beaches but that is no longer our reality. No matter how much the people have complained nothing has really changed for the better. We must take whatever action is required to prevent these remaining windows to the sea from being closed.
Won’t it be sad that our future generations will only know a few overcrowded beaches, will never be able to enjoy the serenity of the beach, only be able to pass by hotels and never know what lies behind them? If it continues like this there will come a time when the simple pleasures like roasting breadfruit and fish on the beach or enjoying a game of beach cricket are lost. Are we going to sit back and let the site of the sea that calms us all slip away from living memory and only to be remembered on postcards of the sea? We owe it to future generations to preserve this semblance of their culture so that they will not have to pay to see the Barbados that the tourist experience.
It is indeed ironic that on the 82nd Anniversary of the Riots of 1937 that we are at another watershed; still fighting but this time is seems like a fight to keep this land as ours. We have no more to give up as we would have nothing left. I am hoping that government will reverse these plans of building more hotels on our beaches but its lack of response on this entire issue of beach access is deafening. It is as though the people have not raised their voices. The voice and will of the people are more important than the greed of a few developers. The sum of our votes is more than theirs and all of us cannot be wrong. If no action is taken, the people may have no choice but to invoke the Israelite libation. Let wisdom prevail.
https://youtu.be/bV1KvbsHMBg
Now with all this truth being said, I agree with all words well placed, The Land Fraud by both the DLP and BLP now the BBLP has put Barbados in this mess, Before even being involved in this Case I warned the Government Back in 1993 and years after too many how Barbados looks like from the air, A Wall blocking in the People by Hotels and Large buildings , The people are trap in the middle and the Pressure is Building as more Walls are being built, Those wall new or Old will also Fall When when they cant prove Clear title with the Fraud help along with the Government, The rich white and the greedy black lawyers and government shall pay the price and cost of their crimes, As they even take Jackie Stewart Motherlands on the beach for that new wall to go up. As crooks ass Ralph Thorne and his company Ernest Investments with others with Crane Scott as a lawyer made deeds for Beatrice Land across from Bubba’s, now a parking lot waiting to build, This is Notice.
We are all watching and Bajans Drive by the beach and keep asking who own all this empty land on and off the beaches of Barbados this was the cheapest land to buy and the poor live near the beach because of the Hurricanes,Yes We have the deeds to Clear title and put the Land Registry and Archives Back in place and all the crooks in jail as other shall be deported after they serve time in our over price jail before going back to their Motherland,Those new Walls of Greed and disrespect of the Nationals also will come down, BFP, The Land Belong to We, not Wanna,!
Massive Land Fraud and PONZI, Land and Money Laundering leading to Drugs and Guns to offshore Accounts, More than 24 Billion dollars in banks in Barbados with no Bank of our own, Hiding from the laws . The Walls are built also in the schools of education Block by Blocking the History for all to see my words that are to be Public, Historical, Archive, Archclogicial Evidence, even word of mouth are being BLOCKED and all this BLOCK WORK being done even in the mental of Bajan disowning them from their History, family and friends strangers in our own land. Their Is NO TIME LIMIT ON FRAUD, ASK MADOFF AND STANDFORD NOW DOING ABOUT 135 YEARS IN US JAILS,Thy Kindom Come! Never a Queendump Crime Minister!
so heather cole
WUH YUH AH DO?
SHALL THE POPULACE RISE UP EN MASSE WITH SLEDGE HAMMERS AND PUSH DOWN THE WALLS?
NICE LONG SWEET EMOTIONAL TALK BUT WUH YUH AH DO?
RE
The Bible records that there was a wall around the Jericho- the earliest known urban fortification- to keep out invaders.
THIS IS UNTRUE
By the time the Israelites invaded Canaan the walls had been changed from mud to stone. We all know the biblical story of the Israelites marching around the walls of the City of Jericho, with the Ark of the Covenant before them once a day for 6 days and on the 7th day going around the city 7 times with the priests blowing the horns and the people shouting until the walls fell.
IS THIS THE LESSON YOU LEARNED FROM THIS STORY?
@Heather Cole “We have lived long enough to witness the demise of the fisherfolk of Barbados and seen them replaced with maids and gardeners. ”
Fishing is still a lucrative professing in Barbados. it pays significantly better than any job as a maid or gardener. If the fishers are wise, they will hold on tight, tight, tight.
Barbed wire.
I AM TRYING TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION BUT TWO OF MY REASONABLE POSTS HAVE BEEN PUT DOWN
THERE IS A WALL ON BU AGAINST REASON
@Heather Cole “It is indeed ironic that on the 82nd Anniversary of the Riots of 1937.”
Not a riot but a rebellion.
Riot=a violent disturbance of the peace by a crowd.
Rebellion=an act of violent or open resistance to an established government or ruler. the action or process of resisting authority, control, or convention.
In 1937 the Barbadians were tired of being oppressed, so they violently resisted.
The oppressors called it a riot. But oppressors will ALWAYS call any resistance by negative terms. We see clearly now that it was a fully justified rebellion against those who lived like lords while infants died of hunger.
If anybody tries to starve our your children it is your responsibility to resist, violently, if necessary.
RE We have lived long enough to witness the demise of the fisherfolk of Barbados and seen them replaced with maids and gardeners. ”
WERE THEY NO MAIDS AND GARDENERS IN BIM BEFORE THE HOTEL “WALLS”?
WHERE EXACTLY DID YOU LIVE IN BARBADOS?
WERE THERE NO MAIDS OR GARDENERS IN YOUR VILLAGEBEFORE THE HOTEL “WALLS”?
OR FOLK COMING INTO YOUR VILLAGE TO WORK AS MAIDS AND GARDENERS BEFORE THE HOTEL “WALLS”?
WHAT SHALL WE DO ABOUT THE WALLS THAT ARE BOTHERING YOU?
HOLD WEEKLY TOWN HALL MEETINGS STARRING MIGHTY GABBY AND COMMISSIONG…WITH LENGTHY CHATTER ON BU?
Last year the people of Barbados non-violently resisted the DLP. 30-0 was also a highly justified rebellion.
And of course the BLP knows what is waiting for them if they get out of line. The people elected them to govern in the interest of the people, if they do not do so…
Can’t sleep GP?
RE It is as though the hotels and the proliferation of gated communities on the South and West Coast have become a fortified border wall with their security gates, fences and hedges and security guards right down to the shoreline.
IS THIS NOT HYPERBOLE HEATHER OR ARE YOU JUST A LIAR SPEWING ALTERNATIVE FACTS
HAVE YOU DRIVEN DOWN BAY STREET RECENTLY?
THERE SEEMS TO BE A LOT OF OPEN SPACES THAT WERE NOT THERE IN THE 60’S
AND WHEN THEY PULLD DOWN THE CHRIST CHURCH INFIRMARY AND THE OLD POLICE STAION AND SALVATION ARMY PLACE A LOT OF SEASCAPE CAME INTO VIEW……….NOT SO?
I USED TO ENJOY LICKING DOWN WALLS WHEN I RENOVATED BUILDINGS
YOU TINK WE CAN LICK DOWN SOME WALLS HEATHER?
WE CAN HAVE A CALYPSO TO WORK BY
SING AND LICK DOWN
BAWL AS YOU ATTACK DE WALLS
WUH YOU TINK HEATHER?
WHEN WE DONE WID THE HOTEL WALLS WE CAN LICK DOWN THE CHURCH WALLS
WE CAN STRIVE TO BE A WALL-LESS NATION
WE COULD LICK DOWN THE WALL HOUSES TOO
WE COULD LICK DOWN THE PLANTATION HOUSE WALLS TOO WHICH ARE THE LAST WALLS THAT SYMBOLIZE OUR OPRRESION
WUH YOU TINK HEATHER?
SING AND LICK DOWN
BAWL AS YOU ATTACK DE WALLS
RE Can’t sleep GP?
SLEPT VERY WELL ACTUALLY
DONT YOU THINK I SHOULD BE UP AT 7:30?
IN MY HEYDAY YOU KNOW HOW MUCH WALL I WOULDA LICK DOWN BY 7:30 BEFORE GOING TO WORK?
DONT YOU GET UP BY SIX FOR THE LATEST WHEN THE LIGHT COMES STREAMING THROUGH THE WINDOWS IN THE WALS OF YOUR HOUSE?
It’s a bit early to be rocking, mocking and punishing bad bowling 🙂
Georgie Porgie July 27, 2019 7:49 AM “DONT YOU GET UP BY SIX FOR THE LATEST WHEN THE LIGHT COMES STREAMING THROUGH THE WINDOWS…”
Mostly.
I tend to awaken naturally withing about one hour of sunrise.
This week I got up 5:29 at the earliest, and 6:48 at the latest.
Sunrise 5:43
Heather Cole is very good writer and invokes an imagery that should stop the average awoke Barbadian in his/her track. Indeed it seems as if we are being encircled in walls in the same manner that sheep are herded into a pen.
I will not be pointing at the wicked developers or greedy businessmen, but sit here and wonder how 50+ years of free eduaction and black governments could bring us to point in our history?
With a docile population and politicians who become geniuses immediately after they win an election, the future is bleak.
The pick-a-noise crowds and salemites can keep as much noise as they like, but the island is doomed unless the leadership make a 180 degree course change.
=========================XXXX======================
🙂
I must remind Heather that our National anthem mentions “the hills and the fields beyond recall are now our very own”, it does not mention that we own the beaches.
It is is true that “pride binds our heart from coast to coast” but the binding is to keep us off the beaches. 🙂
=========================XXXX======================
This is related..
Is it Rwanda with Hutus and Tutsis? Let me swipe two quotes from a yardfowl on FB
(Names not mentioned so as to protect the yardfowl/foot soldier ).
“Barbadians, i do not have a problem with politics of inclusion, but it cannot come at tje expence of individuals who would have put in both time and effort to ensure that the party secured a victory. Hell no, i don’t care who would have made the decision, we cannot treat people in this manner, I’m almost certainty that the Barbados labor party could have found someone within it’s ranks to full fill this post, this is selfish thinking on the part of the person who made this decision at the Transport Board.”
” if one of the foot soldiers is also qualified they should get the job too, the Almighty God would not choose a person who refuse to serve Him for His kingdom over and above those who served Him. Please ponder on these things.”
I like the “Almighty God”… what’s next? Almighty Mia?
@Heather
There is the thinking when you are away from something you tend to appreciate it more. We operate in times where to support rampant conspicuous habits many of the things we held up as defining Barbadiana aew being sacrificed on the alter of economic expediency. It will take you and like minded Bajans to share your views at the risk at being shouted down by the ignorant.
RE It will take you and like minded Bajans to share your views at the risk at being shouted down by the ignorant.
THERE IS NO WAY THAT YOU OR ANY OF YOUR ILK CAN CALL ME IGNORANT
HAVING BENEFITED FROM THE”FREE” EDUCATION TO THE MAX, I CAN READ A PIECE OF PROSE, INTERPRET IT AND POINT OUT THE TRUTHS AND ERRORS THEREIN WITHOUT BIAS
NOTHING THAT I HAVE SAID ABOVE CAN BE REFUTED
AND WHEN YUH DONE COMPLAIN IN FLOWERY LANGUAGE…. WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO? WUH YAH AH DO?
WHERE ARE YOUR SOLUTIONS? QUO VADIS?
COMMONSENSE DICTATES THAT WE MUST BID GOODBYE TO many of the things we held up as defining Barbadiana CAUSE THEY NOT COMING BACK!
I IS AS MUCH BAJAN AS YOU AND HEATHER COLE AND ALL THE BU RUM SHOP BULL SHITTERS
BUT IT IS STUPID NOT TO FACE THE TRUTH.
HOLD NUFF TOWN HALL MEETINGS, THEN BULL SHIT ON BU FOR DAYS AND THEN WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO AFTERWARDS.
TELL ME SUH TELL ME
@ Heather
Beautiful prose as is your wont. In the process of time those physical and virtual walls, that seek to hem us in , will come tumbling down. We need to follow the ritual of marching around the walls seven times and increasing the decibels as we march. Metaphorically speaking, of course.
RE There is the thinking when you are away from something you tend to appreciate it more.
LIKE WHEN I SEE HOW THE BLP LICK DOWN THAT LOVELY OLD BUILDING IN OISTINS AND WE LOST A DISTRICT HOSPITAL
OR WHEN THE BLP LICK DOWN THAT LOVELY OLD BUILDING THAT WAS ST LEONARDS BOYS SCHOOL
I STILL WANNA KNOW WHERE THE CORAL STONE BLOCKS WENT TO
WHEN WE LICK DOWN WALLS FEW ARE WEEPING AND WAILING
BUT IF YUH WANT TO PUT UP SOME BY A BEACH YUH HAVE TO HAVE TOWN HALLS AND THEN CONCOMITANT BULL SHITTING ON BU FOR DAYS WITHOUT SAYING WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO AFTERWARDS.
TELL ME SUH TELL ME HOW I SHOULD RESOLVE THIS CONFLICT OR PARADOX
Beautiful prose as is your wont. THEN WHAT?
In the process of time those physical and virtual walls, that seek to hem us in , will come tumbling down. SO THEN WAIT
We need to follow the ritual of marching around the walls seven times and increasing the decibels as we march. Metaphorically speaking, of course.
WHEN ISRAEL LITERALLY MARCHED AROUND THE WALLS OF JERICHO THEY WERE ORDERED SO TO DO BY GOD ALMIGHTY.
UNDER WHOSE INSTRUCTIONS WILL WE MARCH AROUND THE HOTEL WALLS? WHY? WHEN? WHO WILL WALK?
WHEN ISRAEL LITERALLY MARCHED AROUND THE WALLS OF JERICHO IT WAS NOT increasing decibels as THEY MARCHED THAT BROUGHT THE WALLS DOWN
IT WAS FAITH AND OBEDIENCE
PERHAPS GOD IS ALLOWING WALLS TO BE PUT UP IN BIM BECAUSE THE PEOPLE DO NOT HAVE EITHER FAITH IN HIM
OR OBEDIENCE TO HIM
WE HAVE FAITH IN THE GUVMENT AND MIA uh lie
WE ARE GETTING OUR JUST DESSERTS SO LET US WRITE BEAUTIFUL PROSE HAVE TOWN HALLS AND BULL SHIT ON BU
LET US JOIN THE HERD
RUN ON THE BU TRACT ONLY OR BE DECLARED IGNORANT
Surely the God that instructed the Israelites is still alive and is speaking to his Bajan children as well. O ye of little faith !
Something must be done about your sell out leaders who are always CHASING EASY MONEY…at YOUR expense…..most of it to line their OWN pockets..because they KNOW NOTHING ELSE….from the time of Barrow/Adams….they do not WANT to know anything else..
the empty minds of the WICKED..
Surely the God that instructed the Israelites is still alive and is speaking to his Bajan children as well. O ye of little faith !
REALLY?
WHAT IS FAITH?
SINCE since the God that instructed the Israelites is still alive and is speaking to his Bajan children as well. THEN LET US MARCH ROUND SOME WALLS FOR DAYS TOO WITH SHOUTS OF INCREASING DECIBELS THEN……………AND THEN LET US SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN.
Hebrews 1:1& 2 SAYS 1 God, who at sundry times and in divers manners spake in time past unto the fathers by the prophets, 2 Hath in these last days spoken unto us by his Son, whom he hath appointed heir of all things, by whom also he made the worlds;
Surely the God that instructed the Israelites is still alive and is speaking to his Bajan children as well.
TELL ME THE CONTEMPORARY INSTRUCTION THAT HE HAS GIVEN ABOUT WALLS SUH!
IT SEEMS TO ME THAT YOU OUGHT TO READ SCHOFIELD’S BASIC BOOKLET NOW AVAILABLE FREE ONLINE ON THE SUBJECT OF RIGHTLY DIVIDING THE WORD OF TRUTH
IT HAS A SHORT SUCCINT SECTION ON DISPENSATIONS AND COVENANTS
LASTLY Polumeros kai polutropos palai IS at sundry times and in divers manners TOO SWEET THOUGH1
It appears that some walls are also along the highway
https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/18/stale-tourism-offerings-in-need-of-facelift/
Here is a quote from a contributor to BT by the name of BELFAST
“Very soon we may have to utilise high rise double decker buses/coaches to ferry tourists around Barbados. With the bush,trees and grass now overwhelming the sides of our highways all across the island, it is becoming increasingly more difficult for visitors ,and locals ,to enjoy the view of our fields and hills. We may now have to start lobbying for Windows to the countryside as well.”
The apologies/reactions of Bajan continue to amaze me.. a plaster for every nasty sore
When a nasty story is reported.. every story has two sides, I waiting til I hear the other side
When a nasty story is reported … crime is not as bad as Jamaica
When a nasty story is reported … crime is not as bad as Trinidad
When a nasty story is reported …. Look at Greece restructuring
When a nasty story is reported … look at Grenada restructuring
Water woes in Barbados … Look at Flint Michigan, look at Miami
A blogger makes a solid point …. why don’t you comment on the UK
A blogger make a solid point…. what do you all know about X (restructuring, port scammers, hotel construction)
A blogger makes a solid point … treason sedition, unpatriotic
Do you honestly believe that a man that cannot look at himself in the mirror will ever know the true state of his face??
THEO
“Very soon we may have to utilise high rise double decker buses/coaches to ferry tourists around Barbados. With the bush,trees and grass now overwhelming the sides of our highways all across the island, it is becoming increasingly more difficult for visitors ,and locals ,to enjoy the view of our fields and hills. We may now have to start lobbying for Windows to the countryside as well.”
THIS IS A BRILLIANT IDEA! YOU SHOULD BE NOMINATED FOR INDEPENDENCE HONORS !
YOUR TWO POSTS ABOVE IS WHAT IS CALLED BEATING BAD BOWLING
BUT THEO IF YOU BRINGING SUCH BUSES YOU WILL CAUSE ANOTHER TOWN HALL MEETING WID CONCOMITANT BULL SHITTING ON BU FOR DAYS WIT COMPLAINTS THAT YOU PUTTING THE TAXI MEN AND PUBLIC SERVICE VEHICLES OUT OF BUSYNESS
PERHAPS WE SHOULD TAKE “FIELDS” OUT OF THE LINE IN THE NATIONAL ANTHEM
WUH YOU TINK?
AND PUT “THESE HOTELS AND HILLS”
MURDAH
Unproductive malcontents like Heather will complain about Barbados as long as they are not in charge of the Gravy Train.
When Barbados became independent, there were three main avenues for economic development: agriculture, manufacturing, or services like tourism and finance. Agriculture involved a lot of back-breaking work and was stigmatized by the overhang of slavery. Manufacturing was almost as physically demanding and local factories faced stiff competition from Asia. So policymakers chose the easiest route, seeking the good life in the air-conditioned comfort of modern hotels and financial services firms.
For some lazy people, however, even tourism (and banking) is “oppression”. Miss Heather thinks the world owes her a living? Good luck with that.
@ THeoGazerts
As a young radical : go and live in Cuba
So you like Black Culture: go back to Africa
So you live overseas : keep yuh mout shut just send the barrels and wuh little forex you can but you ain’t no Bajan. You ain’t know wuh going along ‘bout hey.
You got it more than right !!
Jamaica in the grips of the IMF for almost forty years but we could get out in six months !!
The Duopoly exploits that thinking.
The Duopoly Rules
@Ewart Archer July 27, 2019 2:34 PM “Unproductive malcontents like Heather will complain about Barbados as long as they are not in charge of the Gravy Train.”
REMINDER: There is no such thing a a gravy train. Only overburdened taxpayers like me.
Everybody needs to remember that.
SKINNER
YOU BATTING LIKE A BOY THAT SPEND TIME IN DE BAY LAND AS A BOY
MURDER
The analogy with the Berlin Wall is quite good. We just have to modify it. Barbados resembles East Germany and the socialist states in general behind the Iron Curtain in many respects: economic decline, no prospects for the future, high debts, demotivated population, lack of foreign currency.
I agree with Archer that people in Barbados no longer know how to spell the word work ethic. Let’s be realistic: foreign lenders will no longer finance air-conditioned jobs for the many phlegmatic locals who actually believe in their half-education that prosperity without effort is a kind of natural right.
Barbados has mutated into a banana republic where there is only one industry left that brings in foreign currency: tourism. All other projects (offshore finance, manufacturing, IT) have failed terribly because local labour is too expensive, taxes are far too high and the bureaucracy behaves like an octopus.
Personally, I don’t think Barbadians are naturally as demotivated as they currently are. Barrow’s welfare state, the high taxes and import duties and the apologists of the welfare state have poisoned their minds. We also have such apologists for high taxes and state bureaucracy here in the forum.
We now need a strong leadership that crushes Barrow’s monument and blows the trombone of Jericho to destroy the oppressive welfare state. Such a strong leader must free the people from the self-imposed slavery of the welfare state and lead them into a new golden age of freedom. People must stop believing the lies in the church, in the press and in the institutions that the welfare state is the solution. The welfare state is the source of all problems in Barbados.
Welfare state means poverty, crime, decline and national disgrace.
Free market economy means freedom, prosperity and happiness.
Thanks GP, but
I copied the “double-decker” bus comment from a blogger on Barbados Today
@Tron July 27, 20192:56 PM “Barbados no longer know how to spell the word work ethic. Let’s be realistic: foreign lenders will no longer finance air-conditioned jobs for the many phlegmatic locals who actually believe in their half-education…”
Dear half-educated Tron:
Work ethic = two words, not one.
lol…what a thing..
Isn’t it curious that those corporate and political welfare bums who benefit most from the welfare state are so quick to decry it when a tiny piece of the welfarism goes to people who genuinely need it?
While people like me who has NEVER seen a government cheque/a welfare cheque are regularly cussed?
I wonder what would happen if the political class and the corporate class had to really EARN their own living in a free market capitalist place?
RE TheOGazerts July 27, 2019 3:03 PM
Thanks GP, but I copied the “double-decker” bus comment from a blogger on Barbados Today
THAT IS GOOD
I HAVE A LOT OF COLLEGE STUDENTS WHO DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO COPY AND CITE IN THEIR ANSWERS
YOU HAVE MADE A GOOD COPYING SIR! SIX RUNS!
Agreed, I have a bird’s eye view of what is happening on the island to compare to what I envision. It seems like night and day.
@ Vincent, we need that libation near open water. The beach is perfect.
@ Ewart Archer why the persistance? A little more and I would think that you are a Russian troll.
This independence thing does not seem to be working so well. We tried;we failed. The acidic GP is speaking much sense.
MR TLSN SIR
I AM NOT BEING ACIDIC SIR
I HEY SMILING AND ROTFLMAO AND ROCKING AND ————-IN THE BU RUM SHOP
I LOVE TO BEAT BAD BOWLING AND TELL THE TRUTH BOUT WHAT I KNOW
“marginalization of the people” by the people? It certainly looks that way.
“I wonder what would happen if the political class and the corporate class had to really EARN their own living in a free market capitalist place?”
they would never survive, they were accepted as the leeches they have always been post slavery and given freeness by the likes of Adams/Barrow/Adams..as well by every dumb house negro who has entered that parliament ever since….
…..all they had to do was pay bribes…..and feed indefinitely off the people and their children’s futures..
wicked and ugly walking hand in hand…
“charge of the Gravy Train.” SHOULD READ “CHARGE OF THE CORRUPT GRAVY TRAIN”
WILLY
IS THAT IN YOUR PURVIEW SIR?
RE WARU
Q “I wonder what would happen if the political class and the corporate class had to really EARN their own living in a free market capitalist place?”
A I CAN NOT SPEAK TO DAT CITE THE PAGE NUMBER PLEASE
President Simple said that in an above comment, i was only quoting, ask her.
What cretinism!
DID NOT KNOW THERE WERE SO MANY FOLK ON BU WITH THYROID DISEASE
cre·tin·ism IS a condition characterized by physical deformity and learning disabilities that is caused by congenital thyroid deficiency.
UH LIE?
I’ve been searching the academic literature on Barbados for a survey that would reliably document the declining significance of the beach in the leisure activities of ordinary people. Haven’t found it yet, but I’m still looking.
When I was growing up, beach activities were a big deal, even though they had to compete with school cricket and soccer, entertaining visitors, writing personal letters, reading, listening to music, listening to local and shortwave radio broadcasts, going to the cinema, playing with model cars, Meccano sets or other simple toys, and collecting stamps.
Today, most of those competing activities are still around, and there are many new and extremely time-consuming options as well — cable TV, video games, Internet browsing, cellphone conversations, etc.
So it must be hard for the beach to still find much of a place in our lives, especially now that we know about near-shore contamination from the disposal of untreated sewage and hospital wastes.
This cannot be good news for Heather, as she looks for ways to make a Revolution.
The general and widespread use is to call someone a cretin, someone who fits the following description.
https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=cretin
SID BOYCE
ARE YOU SAYING THAT CRETINISM IS ASSOCIATED WITH THYROID DISEASE?
ARE YOU SUGGESTING THAT I DONT KNOW WHAT I SAID AND I RESERVE THE RIGHT TO SAY WHAT I WISH?
ARE YOU A CRETIN BY YOUR DEFINITION?
DO YOU THINK I AM THE STANDARD BU MORON
SID BOYCE
ARE YOU SAYING THAT CRETINISM IS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THYROID DISEASE? AND THAT THIS IS NOT THE PRIMARY USE OF THE WORD.?
WOULD YOU LIKE TO TEACH ME MORE ABOUT CRETINISM?
@Ewart Archer July 28, 2019 10:18 AM “I’ve been searching the academic literature on Barbados for a survey that would reliably document the declining significance of the beach in the leisure activities of ordinary people.”
Maybe the academic paper has not been written yet.
Maybe you are looking in all of the wrong places.
As for me and my family, we go to the beach regularly.
If the beach is good for foreigners it is good for us too, and since most of us don’t sunburn so easily, the beach is surely better for us.
Sincerely
Ordinary People
@ Simple Simon
There will always be persons who know the price of everything and the value of nothing.
@SSS
I totally agree with you.
I remember coming down Holders Hill to go to the beach at Tamrind Cove with my family. We would walk north unimpeded along the beautiful sandy beaches of the west coast.. past Sandy Lane and all the way up.
Now, I can’t see Tamrind Cove beach or any of the beaches along the so-called Platinum Coast they have been taken over by hotels. The Hoteliers are making good profit. While we have lost access to our heritage.
I fear that Carlise Bay will go the same way.. We CANNOT allow it to happen. What hotel corridor… NO
MS Cole I would wish you would continue to be the lone wolf of the people crying in the wilderness so to speak. We are becoming too passive and allowing anything what may to happen. I was castigated for not stepping to the fore to “put a spanner in the works” where these beach monstrosities WILL be built. The behind the scenes big money has to be stopped.. God help us all.