Lowe_Stuart
Fruendel Stuart (l) Denis Lowe (r) – the buck stops with Prime Minister Stuart.

And there shall arise after them seven years of famine; and all the plenty shall be forgotten in the land of Egypt; and the famine shall consume the land King James Bible

For 7 years plus the Barbados economy has been contracting. The country has been running a deficit on current account. We have had to significantly reduce capex. And this is despite raking in unprecedented levels of revenue if the reporting from the relevant government agencies are accepted. There is a resignation by Barbadians to the fact those charged with managing the economy seem are unable to do so. The discussions everywhere is whether this is due to incompetence or other reasons.

If we are to buyin to the government’s mantra that we should strive to build a society not an economy, ‘recent’ developments in the country have served to challenge this objective.  As if carrying the weight of an nonperforming economy on their backs like the proverbial albatross has not been the greatest burden- there is the evidence daily of the country’s infrastructure crumbling before our eyes. The sick South Coast Sewage Plant has occupied the newsfeeds on the domestic and international front in recent months. The prime minister FINALLY addressed the issue frontally by informing the country this week a request has been submitted to the IADB and experts to assist Barbados in addressing the problem. Bear in mind the leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley had informed the prime minister this was a problem waiting to happen two years ago. Like how most issues are dealt with in Barbados the politically expedient decision was taken, she was ignored.

Can you imagine this is the government that was this close to foisting a gasification plant on an island nation the size of which had never been built anywhere on planet earth?

After 7 years plus of economic famine, 2 plus years of a leaky sewage plant on the South Coast- today the local US Embassy slap Barbados with an advisory.

Event: Recent tests at several U.S. Embassy residences revealed bacteria at elevated levels in the tap water.  As a precautionary measure, the U.S. Embassy recommended to its staff to boil their drinking water or use bottled water.  The U.S. Embassy will continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates accordingly.

Actions to Take:

Assistance:

We are a few weeks from a general election being called, clearly decision making by the government will be steeped in political consideration and antithetical to what is in the national interest. Even if the government by some miracle is able to fix the problem in the weeks before the general election there is the memory of a fatigue public to factor and anticipating how they will respond on election day.

The BU household cannot wait for election day to arrive!

194 responses to “Barbadians Suffering from Fatigue with a Capital F”

1. Miller

I feel your pain !

You have a party on the eve of a General Election whose Chairman, George Payne has taken to the High Court of Barbados 🇧🇧 to sue his party colleague , Edmund Hinkson for calling him a ” Stinking Thief ”

George Payne cannot withdraw the case or else it .,….means Edmund Hinkson is. RIGHT !

A house …,,.Blasted Lawless Party ( BLP ) divided among itself ……bound to FALL !

2. @Pacha

Doesn’t the boiling of the water treat with the elevated level of bacteria being reported? We await a public statement from the minister of health in quick time based on the chatter being generated by the US Advisory. This is a matter of urgent public interest.

3. @Barnard

The third party conversation is being sparked because of a growing belief the duopoly is feeding an intransigent political class.

4. Hants

There are few filters which are effective, more than 99%

Most water that comes in bottles is drawn directly from the same municipal sources.

Even the plastic bottles themselves leach chemicals. We have found tens of thousands of chemical in bottle water – http://www.foxnews.com/health/2014/01/13/more-than-24500-chemicals-found-in-bottled-water.html

You are the one suggesting that boiling all these chemicals into a toxic soup makes the water better. That is for you and David to defend, not us.

5. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

Steamship Barbados hasn’t run aground yet but we are close.

We have been running without a captain for nine years.

The engineer is clueless.

The Purser and half the crew have been teefin everything that isn’t bolted down and selling to the circling jonboat pirates.

The helmsman jumped ship when he saw the reef and an apprentice now steering.

We are nearly out of fuel so reverse thrust is soon not going to be an option.

There isn’t a member of the crew who knows what the Hell he or she is doing.

6. David

Do you know with certainty that only bacterial agents are in the water?

Is it not possible that similarly or more dangerous chemicals agents could have gained entry as well?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 26, 2018 at 11:21 AM

We would suggest that both GP and EH follow the advice your PM gave to your Speaker:

‘Go and hire a ‘real, real’ lawyer like Hal G or Michael Y’.

BTW, Fractured you cannot” feel my pain”. It is “Payne” you need to feel along with ‘poxy-foot Currants’ Irene.

Why don’t you guys just hire a pied piper to lead you to the South coast and do what you have to do instead of waiting for the electorate to humiliate you and reducing you to 2 blind mice (again)?

8. @ Enuff
    Just the fact that Grenville is able to piss you off ‘enuff’ to get you to write more than one line on BU ….is ‘enuff’ to make Bushie support him.

His main points that BOTH the BLP and DLP have CONSISTENTLY demonstrated their incompetence, and that NEITHER has so far presented proposals to be scrutinised by the public is obviously on point.
    That we need to institute a national MERIT system in the public service.
    That ISO9001 be adopted to guide best practice, transparency and integrity as a national priority ….
    ….and that lowering taxes STIMULATES growth and results in improved receipts ….trumps ANY other suggestions being put forward anywhere.

Your Straughn and other economists (whatever the hell THOSE are) are all more of the same shiitehound, false-‘scientists’ – using acronyms and creative terms to bullshit brass bowls – in the same vein as Owen, and others have done to our detriment. They ALL turn out to be wrong – after having wrecked the damn country.

Only Brass bowls would continue to listen to such snake oil specialists….. so no doubt Bajans will do so.

9. @Pacha

The reaction this morning is to the US Advisory that there is an elevated level of bacteria in the waters at locations where US officers reside. You are moving the goal posts?

10. One can only speculate why the local US Embassy did not give local government a headsup before making public? The minister of health must be feeling like a loopy dog having to meet with US officials today to discuss this matter.

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The embassy sent health alerts to ITS US citizens that they found bacteria in the water at embassy residences, I see no reason why they should alert the Barbados government before hand, when they should be testing the water themselves and ALERTING BAJANS…..to boil the water….that is their job.

Emails were sent to US citizens yesterday…not everyone has emails.

If the government had done it’s job in the last 10 years, none of this would be playing out..

…. they had ample time between the lies of Kenneth George ministry of health, , BWA, Boyce and Sealy…to get it right.

12. David

How do you mean – moving the goal post

We know that shiiite is in the water

Could it not also be possible that other things in it too.

Things that could be more problematic

But shiite in the water is not so new

We’ve had the interplay between the water table and toilet pits for ever.

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Pacha…what is playing out in Madagascar and Cape Town South Africa, is equally frightening, children are dying in Madagascar from lack of water, no choice between water and food, there is none available of either…Cape Town is scheduled to run out of water in April….they all have a valid excuse…drought.

What excuse does this government have for not adequately treating water….not maintaining high water standards…..not maintaining their water system…neglected it, as they have done everything else.

I have been boiling water for decades, can’t drink anyone’s tap water, would not have dared to in NYC anyway, dont know how many murdered bodies floating around those reservoirs…lol

Boiling and then filtering has worked out fine, so far, so good.

14. Bushtea
    No!! Grenville disappoints me. I would think that after David Thompson’s unmasking, you should be too. After all you love espousing the virtues of Cawmere. You just like Grenville, talking piss!! Nobody puts their manifesto policies out for wide public consultation. A manifesto is a product. Parties engage with civil society and build the evidence to guide their policies. When the party publishes their manifesto, the electorate will decide what is appealing. Wide public consultation comes if the party is elected, as it is then government policy. Stop conflating a manifesto with government policy. Grenville needs to stop flying kites, nobody is falling for gimmickry. Your voting for Solutions is akin to your actions in 2008–look wey we are now. 🖐🏾

15. The man admitted in his latest column that he was unsure about the current bus fare in Barbados. lmao

16. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

Rumours all over the place today.
    (a) David Estwick to resigned from the Cabinet
    (b) PM to fire David Estwick
    (c) David Estwick and Owen Arthur to join forces

17. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

So who will believe this liar who went swimming in raw sewage with Sealy to cover up the south coast sewage leaks over a year ago and who like Fruendel only speaks to yardfowls and not the majority population whose votes they need…..to be reelected.

Tick, tock.

“Not safe
    US embassy tells staff don’t drink tap water

Added by Colville Mounsey on January 25, 2018.
    Saved under Health Care, Local News
    1Save
    Despite repeated assurances from the Ministry of Health that drinking water on the south coast has not been affected by the ongoing sewage spill, the United States has issued a health alert to its staff here, advising that the tap water is simply not safe for consumption.

In a statement posted on the US embassy website, the Americans said they had conducted tests recently on the tap water and had found “elevated levels” of bacteria.

“Recent tests at several US Embassy residences revealed bacteria at elevated levels in the tap water. As a precautionary measure, the US Embassy recommended to its staff to boil their drinking water or use bottled water,” the alert, posted late this afternoon, said, without specifying the locations of the residences where the tests were conducted.

The embassy said it would continue to monitor the situation and provide updates accordingly.

However, it advised its staff to follow the Centers for Disease Control directions on how to stay healthy and safe, which include guidance on safe drinking and eating.

Today’s advisory directly contradicts Minster of Health John Boyce, who touched on the issue during a Democratic Labour Party (DLP) branch meeting at Lawrence T Gay School over the weekend.

Boyce told party faithful the ministry had conducted weekly tests on both the seawater and drinking water in the area, and had determined that the near-shore water quality was normal and potable water was safe to drink.

In addition, he stressed that samples collected from kitchen surfaces showed no abnormal bacteria.

“In due time, the Barbados Water Authority will be issuing appropriate information to the people of Barbados for you to be sure that your health is taken care of and that we are capable of controlling the incidents of any diseases because of the situation,” Boyce said, adding that the ministry was not into any cover-up schemes.”

18. If the morons had taken Adrian Donovan seriously and not dismissed his concerns as anti government rants, John Boyle who is the MP for the area and the Minister of Health, no less, he would not have to hang his head in shame and go meet with the US officials today.

RH idiots.

19. A Barbadian who truly understands what he is speaking about just make an excellent contribution on Brasstacks.

Stinkliar an idiot in public finance has destroyed this country aided and abetted by a man called Freundel Stuart.

History will not be kind to this lot.

20. @David
    The reaction this morning is to the US Advisory that there is an elevated level of bacteria in the waters at locations where US officers reside.
    There used to be a couple who resided close to where I stay in Bim but they have moved so it could be anywhere in the island as they are multiple residences.

We have examined the water issue on this forum ad infinitum (BTW what happened to Colonel Buggy?) and this is where we found ourselves at this junction. I remember some time ago that BWA wanted to remove some squatters in the Belle area as they were squatting in an area which was susceptible to water contamination and some politicians raising Cain as they saw those residents as potential voters- ah the chickens have come home to roost-
    I am assuming that US personnel reading the local tea leaves saw how inept the BWA is in dealing with the sewage issue and decided to have the drinking water tested at their various households and voila Murphy’s law is in the house.

I have been warned off from coconut water vendors as someone said “how do they go to the bathroom?” and I don’t want to drink “cockanut” water, guess I’ll have to travel with my own water.

21. Nothing could capture the imagination of Bajans like the interference in local politics by the American embassy.

What a colony!

That that embassy unilaterally interferes in such ways tells us about the times that are not a-changing

The actions of the American embassy represent interference in the internal affairs of a sovereign state.

When Bajans were being lead poisoned in Detroit we did not hear from the Barbadian embassy

When the cover of a NOC agent was reveled, as a spy by WikiLeaks, we did not hear a word from government about the territorial integrity of Barbados.

But the local political-economic environment could be made more unsettling based on the fiction that the American government cares whether its ‘citizens’ drink contamination water.

Successive government are to be properly blamed especially the current one. But American hegemonic economic policies, neoliberal capitalism, over the last 30 years especially are the root cause. And more of this disaster capitalism will follow for Barbados regardless of who forms the next mal-administration.

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    just wait until somebody begins testing bottled water.
    From time to time in N.America they have tested to be worse than public water. The “pure springs” were not as pure as promoted.

23. Northern

You are absolutely right!

Earlier, we deliberately withheld that for fear it might have been too unacceptable, counter intuitive, to the many.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

David January 26, 2018 at 12:00 PM #
    One can only speculate why the local US Embassy did not give local government a headsup before making public?

Or did they?
    One gets the feeling this doesn’t have a sh!!te to do with water?

25. Northern

You are a thinking man

That makes you dangerous.

26. Agree with you NO, two countries with cordial diplomatic relations one would expect a diplomatic note to be dispatched about such a weighted issue.

27. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

some are seeing it as retaliatory politics, but at the end of the day, either/or, the government left itself wide open to anything, when it spent the last 10 years neglecting every infrastructure that sustains life on the island, they cant blame US for that.

28. “Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Anton Best explained that the bacteria which were found in elevated levels during testing at US Embassy residences were not bacteria that are of public health concern – namely salmonella, E.coli or coliform.
    As a result, Government is going to be working with the US Embassy to conduct testing to determine the exact bacteria which were found. (AD)”

Q: If you are going to working the US embassy to determine what type of bacteria it is that was found in elevated levels how can you say it’s not the kind of bacteria which would cause a public health concern??

29. Why would the US Embassy post a bulletin on the website if as the local officials have intimidated the bacteria detected is not relevant as far as determining the water is unsafe for drinking?

30. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

do they maintain their testing equipment..

are their readings accurate…

i will love to hear the name of the bacteria found, i am not going by any say so by people who maintain nothing.

at least the embassy gave them the courtesy of not announcing what they found publicly, before speaking to government officials…

and they better not lie about the name of the bacteria either, because am sure citizens will get the name at some point.

31. Fractured Dunce why you don,t go and help clean thesewerage on the South Coast instead of speaking it.You are a nuisance,imagine in 2018 you on here talking about Greenland with some made up figure of 700 million where you get that from?you sound desperate as your feeding at the trough coming to an end but next time you respond speak of your party,s record over the last 5 years which is downgrades ,poor bus sevice poor roads ,poor garbage collections and recently the South Coast mess dispute any thing I have stated J/A.As for bush Tea youjudgement of leaders is not sound based on your praisinig up of the late David Thompson as this great leader only to be embarrassed by later revelations there fore your praising of mr Phillips is no different,as he is yet to impress many persons outside of you and it will be The BLP or the DLP.

32. What the BWA and Health officials need to assure the public on is whether there is elevated level of chlorine in the waters and possibly effect on the population.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 26, 2018 at 5:12 PM

What’s the status on the reverse osmosis plant promised to the residents in the Belle water catchment zone?

Isn’t this plant long overdue (as was promised many blue moons ago) to prevent exactly what is happening today to the water used for drinking and domestic purposes?

How do Bajans expect to shit, piss and pollute with toxic chemicals the same water source they depend on to keep them healthy?

It is because of the country’s formerly good water supply and distribution that the citizens were able to access proper sanitation facilities and as a result practise good personal and communal hygiene thereby enjoying relatively good health and longer life spans.

The phenomenon of Barbadians having a good number of centenarians compared to other Third World countries is a direct result of this easy access to potable water and not of any regular attendance to any church praying to a god who has little compunction about watching over an outbreak of cholera in Haiti who are more committed Christians than Bajans.

34. @Miller

The answer is that our coral formation acts as the perfect natural purifier 😁

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David January 26, 2018 at 7:54 PM

That may be so under natural filtration conditions.

But the widespread use of suck wells results in the bypassing of the long filtering and dehydration process (pit toilet) with the toxic chemicals thrown down the wells killing off the environmentally-friendly bacteria and seeping direct into the underground water cisterns resting on a bed of clay.

36. Lorenzo

You are in big trouble !

GREENLAND is your nightmare

So you could jump high or jump low …. that debt of $ 700 million has to be repaid by the taxpayers of this country.

Think of all the things Barbadians could have bought or maintained with that money 💰..

Think of that . I know that waste of millions.. really hurt you !

37. Wuh gwine on? Dem two politicians at the top of this submission wearing red, wasn’t Estwick criticized for wearing red to a party function? Dat is tantamount to heresy since some in Barbados are attempting to mimic Jamaica by having members/supporters wearing colours representing their parties. Nex ting yuh know somebody from de udda side wearing blue and we can’t tell de Crips from de Bloods.

The BU household cannot wait for election day to arrive! (Quote)

Let me direct you to the missing beatitude “Blessed is he who expects nothing for he shall never be disappointed”

38. Why has NO ONE asked the question — Why did the US Embassy initiate drinking water testing at some of their embassy residences ?

I suspect that they were having reported health issues by a number of their employees, or they were UN-trusting of Barbados authorities evaluation of the situation, or any combination of unreported or diagnosed issues, ie: major gastro outbreak mainly attributed to one south coast popular Spanish appetizer cuisine establishment.

39. The fallacy of the SCSP is repaying the debt incurred from the water woes games of “drought” that was unleased on those in the rural districts just last year, lest we forget and it ain’t over yet.

40. @Sargeant

That picture was captured a couple years ago when the two stopped in New Zealand to observe their waste management program. It was around the time a gasification plant was being considered for Barbados.

Your sage counsel is noted.

41. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And they both look like 2 jackasses wrapped up in red.

Well I guess that takes care of that…20 million dollar loan needed to fix sewage plant…unless that money is lying around in the treasury, which wiuld be a miracle in and of itself the way that bunch spends taxpayer’s money..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/123911/usd20-million-sewage-fix

“$20 million bill for sewage fix
    BARBADOS NATION,

Added 27 January 2018

keithroy-halliday-011418
    BWA general manager Keithroy Halliday (FILE)

It is going to cost at least $20 million to deal with the sewage overflows on the south coast.
    So says Barbados Water Authority (BWA) general manager Keithroy Halliday, who yesterday revealed the authority was in a race against time to once and for all solve the problem.

“With respect to Barbados, a lot of the costing has been done. There are a lot of intangible costs we have not even put into the costing. But we see that this will easily be between at least $10 and $20 million at the start to at least return this operation to some semblance of normalcy,” Halliday said during a press conference at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs…”

42. Sargeant didn’t maistre say every nation gets the govt it deserves… what the hell have you guys been doing,

43. WW you are short sighted they just have to put a tax on bottled water just like Chicago, brilliant create the problem then tax the cure. LOL

44. Maybe you can ask the US for the twenty million to fix the sewage problem, oh wait … didn’t you disagree with Trump on his moving of the embassy. Shame I guess you may have to get help from donald sump.

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

They already went to IADB…Lawson.

US is hemorraging so many jobs, they might have to borrow Barbados’ loan….in another 6 months, if they dont get rid of the orange retard who has them so embarrassed they are begging people to take him out, that is desperation, now why would they want to kill all that fun and deprive me of my entertainment. .lol

46. A bunch of govt Neanderthals back in the day having no vision in sight and thought it best to build a pit toilet on swamp land , lawd have mercy

47. The truth behind the initial process of this shitty toilet mess lies in govt poor judgement and loose political interference and a high risk of make do till can do,
    No wondering the BLP is casting the maintenance fingers across the board when in fact everyone can observed that poor planning and a plant havinga low capacity level is bursting from inside out

48. If memory serves correct i heard David Ellis clearly stated yesterday that the BLP built the shit Toilet
    which in my mind tells why the BLP is running for cover and now like all other failures done under the BLP the DLP has to pick up the pieces Yet these Blp clowns and operatives want to run the country again only God Knows how much Failed projects they would once again{if giving the opportunity } leave behind to fix or repair at taxpayers expense for years to come
    which makes my mind focus on Barrack and Alexander which has cost taxpayers billions in dollars dollars which could have been placed in reducing fiscal debt
    Cant help but reiterate What a bunch of lost souls Yes OSA you said it absolutely right

49. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service January 27, 2018 at 6:15 AM,

You posted the quote, below, made by Keithroy Halliday the Barbados Water Authority General Manager:

“With respect to Barbados, a lot of the costing has been done. There are a lot of intangible costs we have not even put into the costing. But we see that this will easily be between at least $10 and $20 million at the start to at least return this operation to some semblance of normalcy,” Halliday said during a press conference at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs…”

Why do the majority of our politicians and “professionals” struggle to communicate verbally using standard English? Their words are – mostly – incomprehensible and would explain why Barbados is in such a mess.

I presume that the majority from these two groups are armed with undergraduate and post graduate degrees and a fistful of professional qualifications? Their inability to articulate, clearly, suggests to me they are muddled in their thoughts and will always lack the cognitive skills required to understand theories and best practices. Whether it be maintaining a sewage infrastructure; or having the vision to run a government department; and most importantly – the ability to learn from their mistakes.

So we are where we are: trapped in the dark ages and walking backwards. I believed it is called devolution.

50. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“I presume that the majority from these two groups are armed with undergraduate and post graduate degrees and a fistful of professional qualifications? ”

Yep…and they are all a bunch of complete idiots, not even comprehending their own words, he does not even comprehend what he is projecting, or he wouldn’t, he should have stuck to selling cellphones…..how do you get to jump from sellinh cellphone, to managing a water system, without the requisite qualifications and more importantly. …experience.

Brainwash education, it will take another 75 years, 3 generations…to purge that idiocy..

In the meantime, quality of life will suffer on the island.