Lowe_Stuart
Fruendel Stuart (l) Denis Lowe (r) – the buck stops with Prime Minister Stuart.

And there shall arise after them seven years of famine; and all the plenty shall be forgotten in the land of Egypt; and the famine shall consume the land King James Bible

For 7 years plus the Barbados economy has been contracting. The country has been running a deficit on current account. We have had to significantly reduce capex. And this is despite raking in unprecedented levels of revenue if the reporting from the relevant government agencies are accepted. There is a resignation by Barbadians to the fact those charged with managing the economy seem are unable to do so. The discussions everywhere is whether this is due to incompetence or other reasons.

If we are to buyin to the government’s mantra that we should strive to build a society not an economy, ‘recent’ developments in the country have served to challenge this objective.  As if carrying the weight of an nonperforming economy on their backs like the proverbial albatross has not been the greatest burden- there is the evidence daily of the country’s infrastructure crumbling before our eyes. The sick South Coast Sewage Plant has occupied the newsfeeds on the domestic and international front in recent months. The prime minister FINALLY addressed the issue frontally by informing the country this week a request has been submitted to the IADB and experts to assist Barbados in addressing the problem. Bear in mind the leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley had informed the prime minister this was a problem waiting to happen two years ago. Like how most issues are dealt with in Barbados the politically expedient decision was taken, she was ignored.

Can you imagine this is the government that was this close to foisting a gasification plant on an island nation the size of which had never been built anywhere on planet earth?

After 7 years plus of economic famine, 2 plus years of a leaky sewage plant on the South Coast- today the local US Embassy slap Barbados with an advisory.

Event: Recent tests at several U.S. Embassy residences revealed bacteria at elevated levels in the tap water.  As a precautionary measure, the U.S. Embassy recommended to its staff to boil their drinking water or use bottled water.  The U.S. Embassy will continue to monitor the situation and will provide updates accordingly.

Actions to Take:

Assistance:

We are a few weeks from a general election being called, clearly decision making by the government will be steeped in political consideration and antithetical to what is in the national interest. Even if the government by some miracle is able to fix the problem in the weeks before the general election there is the memory of a fatigue public to factor and anticipating how they will respond on election day.

The BU household cannot wait for election day to arrive!

194 responses to “Barbadians Suffering from Fatigue with a Capital F”

1. How much lower is this government going to take us?

We have always boasted that we have one of the best quality of water and that anyone can drink it without fear. Now we are “black” listed.

It really is past time for these morons to go! We cannot take it anymore!

2. Barbados is just adjusting the standards to match Jamaica and Guyana, the two role models indicating how Barbados will be in ten years time.

There is no wealthy country which solely relies on tourisms like Barbados. Barbadians need to learn to suck the salt of being a non developing or even retarding country for the next decades.

3. “Can you imagine this is the government that was this close to foisting a gasification plant on an island nation the size of which had never been built anywhere on planet earth?”

The local lazy lads would have stopped maintaining it after 2 weeks and lots of dioxin would have poisened whole Barbados.

4. Prodigirl

Where is Flint Michigan,USA ?

Did the US issue a water quality advisory about that ?

I tell you already your BLP myopic vision is leading you astray !

Just like you were indicate that a bout of gastrointestinal outbreak was linked to South Coast Sewage project.

Investigations by medical personnel says that is not ….. TRUE

Keep up your Blasted Lies Persistently (BLP) !

5. Prodigirl

Read the story below and see where your Blasted Lies Persistently (BLP ) is going to cost you big time – keep it up.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/25/single-business-blamed-for-gastro-outbreak/

6. Prodigirl

Read the story below and defend your country against it’s accusers !

Most times these very accusers have the problems on their doorstep……ten times worst than ours !

But you being a member of the Blasted Lying Persistently (BLP)…….brigade.

It is ALWAYS difficult for you to be HONEST !!

Keep it up !!!!!!

http://wlrn.org/post/fort-lauderdale-agrees-borrow-money-tackle-sewage-problems

7. The DLP …….the destructive lying party has brought this once proud country to its knees.

We had a country that was once described as punching above its weight and we have been reduced to being compared with Flint, Michigan.

Just like in Flint, a city where the policians are accused of being corrupt, there were people in office who made bad decisions which were detrimental to a whole lot of people……….the morons in the dlp have done the same to the people of Barbados.

The incompetence of the wildboys that make up this cabinet has set back this country by the same time that they are in office.

………the economy is in shambles
    ………the roads are bad, bad, bad
    ………the QEH is in a mess
    ………the schools are in crisis…….horrible minister and a clueless Chief Education Officer
    ………the SSA is in a stinky mess, no garbage trucks
    ………the Transport Board is inefficent with few buses to help the poor people
    ………the country is in a mess with bush all over…where is the pride?
    ………poor people children have been denied a UWI education as a result of the dlp’s mismanagement of the economy

But for those still feeding at the trough, all is well and it is fun to come on BU and make laughing sport.

Continue your laughing sport……you were taught well by the dead king!

8. Prodigirl

Five more years of lamentations in yuh tail.

When yuh lamenting remember the money 💰 your BLP dumped in :

GREENLAND $ 150 million

DOODS PRISON. $ 700 million

GEMS & EASTERY HOUSE. $ 350 million

HARDWOOD $ 100 million

ABC HIGHWAY $ 500 million

The tax payers of Barbados 🇧🇧 still pay the DEBT for your BLP…. EXTRAVAGANCE

That’s why the electorate put your BLP tails out to pasture.

This is it ……. if the BLP can get GREENLAND in use by tomorrow after spending $ 700 million on it…. …. they would get my VOTE !!!

Prodigirl

That is the example of TRUE wild 😜 boys spending… GREENLAND

9. It is individuals like Prodigal for sure gonna cause the blp another lost . These jacka sses put out some of the most unrealistic analogies as socalled experts under the sun.Barbados problems does not run against the grainof other countries large or small who have endure similarplightd.A developing country such as barbados and having only one nest basket to tackle unfortunate circumstsnces can count itself lucky to still be standing in light of the fact of the many negative circumstances it has endured in the past eight years.
    Naming all these negatives unforseen circumstances would make one shake head in wonderment and question how in Gods green earth has Barbados managed to survive
    Also including the bellious voices of the opposition and their supporters wanting to see Barbados completly fall off the fiscal cliff all in the name of politics

10. Prodigirl

Are you a proud BLPite to know that you spent $ 700 million on GREENLAND and it cannot be used after 20 years ?

Are you a proud BLPite to know that the taxpayers of Barbados 🇧🇧 still have to pay that DEBT ?

Are you a proud BLPite to know that some of this money could sent poor people children to UWI free ?

Are you a proud BLPite to know that some of this money could have been used to but trucks for the SSA and the Transport Board ?

Are you a proud BLPite to know that some of this money could have been used to maintain the South Coast Sewage project ?

BEFORE you answer :

When you get up tomorrow.. journey to GREENLAND and look 👀 at that $ 700 million of WASTELAND and then answer the questions above .

11. Great points , ac

We have to drill in their hard heads

12. Barbados has pure drinking water and was the first Caribbean island to have piped water.

https://barbados.org/keyfacts.htm

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Between Prodigal and Fractured, you have the perfect advertisement for SB. Each can recount the failings of both the D & B a.k.a DBLP.

14. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

What will we have to write about when King Stuart is dumped at the forthcoming election?

Here are some of his latest quotes concerning the sewage crisis and confirms to us all that he will always remain the the king of rhetorical bullshitters:

“We are committed in the short-term to mitigation measures where possible, but when all is said and done, the country needs to be assured the Inter-American Development Bank is involved in this.
    We have reports. The matter is being evaluated. There are experts in this area whose wisdom and insights we have to take seriously and therefore on whose wisdom and insights we rely . . . So the matter is receiving our daily attention,” the Prime Minister assured.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/01/25/single-business-blamed-for-gastro-outbreak/

I see that Donna and Piece have recently reappeared on BU.

15. Note the IMF is projecting close to 4% growth for 2018 and 2019 but in the case of Barbados only .5%.

16. Peter Holder January 26, 2018 at 6:33 AM #

T he problem in Barbados with the BWA and its sewage problems is not money, but competence. No matter how much money you have, unless you know what to do it will still be a waste.
    I say call in outside help. We are in danger of normalising incompetence throughout the public service.

17. The PM has done just that, he has called in the IDB. We should a resolution sometime by 2020/2021. CLOWNS.

18. It is s case of resources as well and this impacted the original design if we accept what Dr. Hugh Sealy posited in the public place recently.

19. “I say call in outside help. We are in danger of normalising incompetence throughout the public service.”

Incompetence at its highest level has been normalized throughout the public service. Knowledge does not equal wisdom. And those who have the aptitude need an attitude adjustment.

20. It a a reluctance by the cabinet to prioritize sanitation above tourism when it comes to borrowing and investing in critical infrastructure. How can the building Sam Lord’s take precedence/priority over sanitation which includes the upgrading of the South Coast and Bridgetown treatment plants and their sewer networks and a west coast sewage treatment project, HOW?

It is the same way the cabinet refused to accept the funding and technical expertise to rebuild the Belle pumping station and install a new reverse osmosis plant there. The BWA and the cabinet (and the Canadians) well know that the quality of the water coming out of the Belle is contaminated with high levels of nitrates, nitrites, bacteria and coliforms and that almost nowhere else in the world would that water be permitted to be put in the water distribution network for cionsumption and use.

21. The Mighty Rouser some years ago put it best. Another blot on the all important tourism plant has been brought to the fore the USA,a major source market. This administration is driven to exact every last penny it believes is owed to its members. Bajans……Mighty Rouser asked in his calypso ” Wha Ya Waiting For”….As evidenced by the mess that continues to plague the south coast,this is a shite government. Figure out which is more deleterious to the image of the country. The shite on the south coast or the shite government in office? Shut down de shite. WA YA WAITING FOR?

22. Hard ears ya won’t hear own way ya gine feel.

23. What will other stakeholders in civil society respond? It is difficult to imagine there are not better reasons to force a reaction.

24. @Hal “We are in danger of normalising incompetence throughout the public service.”

Danger has long passed, BARBADOS has already achieved it’s 11Plus levels in incompetence.

25. NorthernObserver January 26, 2018 at 2:37 AM #

“Between Prodigal and Fractured, you have the perfect advertisement for SB. Each can recount the failings of both the D & B a.k.a DBLP.”

Northern Observer

I had to laugh when I read your above comments……..not because they were funny, but because they are true.

The “atrocities” committed by the BLP as listed by Fcuktured BLP, were among several reasons why the BLP lost the 2008 elections.

Similarly, (ceteris paribus) if voters are consistent and take into consideration Prodigal’s list of the DLP’s “atrocities,” then the DLP would certainly LOSE the upcoming general elections.

However, if the electorate were to comparatively analyse the “atrocities” committed by the BLP during their 14 year tenure with DLP’s “atrocities” during the past 10 years……

……….and under circumstances where the DLP PROMISED under a DLP government such “behaviour” would be a “thing of the past”……..with the introduction of principles of good governance, transparency, accountability, a code of conduct for politicians, implementing integrity and freedom of information legislation (all of which do not require any significant amount of financing to implement…..but to this day have NOT been IMPLEMENTED)……..

………they would realize the DLP committed just as many (or more) “atrocities” during their 10 year tenure and reasonably conclude there aren’t any fundamental political and ideological differences between the BLP & DLP………..under both parties, the status quo remains the same.

Taking these circumstances into consideration, although the “seasoned die hard party supporter” would vote for either the BLP or DLP, new voters and voters that are fed-up of B & D, may be inclined to support Lynette or Solutions Barbados.

26. Of all the political aspirants, Grenville makes the most sense.
    Unfortunately, it is too little ….and MUCH too late.

The reason the whacker has been taken away from Bushie is simple.
    A ‘bulldozer’ is coming to complete the job.

The problem is not that we have a shiite government.
    We knew this from the time we realised that David Thompson was a scamp and a thief.
    The problem is that, ….faced with OVERWHELMING evidence of this, Bajans stood around and did NOTHING. We allowed the shiite to fester… accepted it even….!
    Frustrated Businessman has been saying it all along…

What else can we expect to reap…..?
    …except shiite.?

27. Bushie
    Stop talking RH and go off the blog do!!. Grenville started out by saying that Barbadians needed to elect an ENGINEER to be PM because they can “fix things”, and Lynette said that John Boyce is an engineer and should therefore be able to fix the SCSP since he’s the Minister of Health. It is then Grenville responded saying John Boyce is a mechanical engineer, but an Environmental Engineer is required. This means that he himself is incapable of fixing it because he is a Civil Engineer, which rubbishes his own argument about why he should be elected. 😂😂 As an engineer and aspiring PM, Grenville was unprepared and poor. He had an opportunity to discuss the most burning issue on a popular call-in programme and to show his engineering skills, and he talked shite bout maintenance rather than offer any solutions, which shows that he has paid little to no interest in the matter. As far as I know, most engineering students do similar core courses and Grenville ought to have been able to offer more, even if he asked one of his env. engineering colleagues. Asked about alternative energy, he mumbled more shite about PV array–ae is more than photovoltaic panels!! And as I said on another blog, both he and Lynette got minced by Straughn on the economic discussion and they are their parties’ leaders.😂😂😂

28. The Bees are working themselves into a frenzy about any political aspirant that has thrown their hats in the ring. Listening to Ryan Straughn alabie for the blp made me puke. The dude had the nerve to say that the blp does not owe the public any first hand information on what solutions they have for the economy during this election
    He further stated that the party has been in contact with sources (only known to the blp) having discussions about solutions
    Talk about serving up a pig in a bag . Phew

29. I-R-A Idiot therefore I believe anything and everything that I am told by my intellectually superior morons. Take for instance when I was told to pay no attention to those fly-by-night rating agencies and their attempts to pull down my country. I supported my subprime minister and his intellectually challenged MoF when they said Moody was in a bad mood and Poor N’ Standards was not to be believed. Matter of fact, every time any of those international agencies rated my country poorly, I supported my subprime minister and his numerically challenged MoF (More-on that later) because I could just look in their faces and know that they were intelligent( not really but I was drinking from the cool-aid jug).

We have a minister of Health, a Ministry of Health and the acting Chief Medical Officer proclaiming to all and sundry that our drinking water is not contaminated, near shore sea water has not been compromised and the Graeme Hall Preserve and surrounding lands are not inundated with microorganisms harmful to humans. Apparently the US government thinks differently. Who is lying? Would it be the same group that denied any agreement had been reached to build a gasification plant? Or could it be the same group that denied that the go ahead had been given for the construction of a hotel on Bay Street? Oh, I know; it’s that group that keeps telling us how the economy is improving and that the country is being skillfully managed by the best brains in the land! Pack of blasted liars.

30. But ac…….

“Serving a pig in a bag” is also applicable to you and the DLP……because while you keep focusing on the BLP………. I have not heard the DLP articulate any solutions they for Barbados either.

Unless you can present the DLP’s solutions/policies for the next five years, then you are being hypocritical in criticizing any other political party.

31. Look bro ac has not thrown hat in the ring
    The mouth piece for the blp Ryan Straughan took to the air waves and exposed the sneaky process of the the blp and the election engineering of showing nothing to the public

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP January 26, 2018 at 12:49 AM #
    “Prodigirl
    Five more years of lamentations in yuh tail.
    When yuh lamenting remember the money your BLP dumped in :
    GREENLAND $ 150 million”

“This is it ……. if the BLP can get GREENLAND in use by tomorrow after spending $ 700 million on it…. …. they would get my VOTE !!!
    Prodigirl
    That is the example of TRUE wild boys spending… GREENLAND”

Fractured, if there is one thing a ‘successful’ liar ought to possess is a good memory in order to be consistent with his lies.

Tell us now, you Broken Lying Pimp (BLP), what is the ‘true amount of money thrown into that BLP dump at Greenland?

Is it $150 million or $700 million as confirmed and made clear by you in the above epistle of “terminological inexactitudes”?

First it was some $90 million; then with fabricated overruns caused by the lack of toffee wrappers it moved surreptitiously to $100 million.

Can you please explain how in less than 10 years it has moved to $150 million and now $700 million (sounds like the same cost of the Cahill scam)?

Is it the accumulated (unpaid) interest like the Barrack building debt left by the BLP and now functioning as a millstone around the DLP neck?

Why are we taken aback by your numbers? Aren’t you a summa cum laude graduate (like the minister of fudging and falsification Mr. Stinkliar) from the cesspool of ‘Politrickery’ on George Street?

Here is how the DLP brand of “calculus” is taught at the cesspool on George Street aka the academy for the training of dangerous liars and pimps.

The millstone of debt left by the BLP plus (+) the humongous amounts the DLP had to borrow to payoff the debts inherited from the BLP (including interest payments) is now equal to (=) the national debt which the DLP is now saddled with and about to pass on the ‘servicing’ baton to some incoming political donkey to be burdened with.

Using simple arithmetic (right up the MoF’s alley) let us decipher the above:

Found $6 billion, borrowed $7 billion to payoff the $6 billion plus interest = $13 billion.

Q.E.D:

6+7-6=13

JHC, even Stinkliar should be capable of solving that simple arithmetic puzzle of algebraic proportion!

33. @Artax

ac stays relevant on the blog by toeing a party line. The BU household prefers the value you bring when in research mode. Just saying.

34. Enuff

As I mentioned in a previous contribution, Solutions Barbados’ candidate Cherie Pounder is listed as a WATER RESOURCES SCIENTIST.

Yesterday’s VOB’s Brass Tacks provided was an excellent opportunity for Grenville Phillips II to “showcase” Cherie’s skills and her recommendations/solutions for the sewage plant, either by having her accompany him in the studio.

If VOB was specific that only one individual could represent each political party, then he could have said, for example, SB has a water resources scientist that analyzed the problems at the sewage plant…this is why (a), (b), (c) is occurring and here is a list of recommendations.

And Cherie could call the program to explain her opinions on the issue…….simple strategy.

35. *******Yesterday’s VOB’s Brass Tacks provided an excellent opportunity for Grenville Phillips II to “showcase” Cherie’s skills and her recommendations/solutions for the sewage plant, either by having her accompany him in the studio.

36. Any reasonable individual that listened to the program would know that you are misrepresenting Straughn’s comments for your political purposes.

37. David

By anchoring this in some book of lies, fairy tales, you will be sentenced to another consecutive 7 year period of famine, and another, and another. Seven sever-year periods of famine.

The number 7 cannot be properly located within the usurper’s traditions

Should one of the conclusions thus not be the lie this White man’s god has been, will be!

Quote from Pachamama instead!

38. Many Barbadians so want to vote third party. They need to continue to search for avenues to get an appealing message out there that resonates.

39. “When contacted last night, Minister of Health John Boyce said the ministry was looking at the US Embassy’s statement and would be preparing a response, but up to press time, it had not been received.
    Several unsuccessful efforts were also made to contact officials from the Barbados Water Authority and the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association, both said to be in meetings up to press time.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/123608/embassy-boil-water

@ David,

BAJANS SHOULD FOLLOW THE AMERICANS AND BOIL THEIR DRINKING WATER.

THE MINISTRY WILL MAY EVENTUALLY ISSUE AN ADVISORY.

MY YOUNGEST, WHO IS BRIGHTER THAN ME, SUGGEST USING BOTTLED WATER TO BRUSH YOUR TEETH AND WASH YOUR FACE.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac January 26, 2018 at 9:20 AM #
    “Look bro ac has not thrown hat in the ring
    The mouth piece for the blp Ryan Straughan took to the air waves and exposed the sneaky process of the the blp and the election engineering of showing nothing to the public”

For the amount of runny shitty mouth you have on BU we dare you to call the people at the American Embassy a dirty pack of liars who- in cahoots with the BLP- want to overthrow your dear loving party administration.

You have cussed Trump and called him a racist and scumbag. So why not go ahead and accused his Embassy officials as being agents provocateurs and fifth columnists.

The bare truth is that your administration has been playing a game of Russian roulette for the past 3 years with public sanitation and health of the residents.

All that the U S officials and others from concerned countries are doing is reporting the sound of the bullet that has gone off from the final pull of the trigger of the dirty gun.

You guys could as well give up the ghost and let the BLP or some other party be the undertaker for the Bajan economy.

41. Agree with you Hants, politics aside.

42. @Pacha

We have to fashion our communication for the best effect based on the target.

43. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ David at 9:48 AM

All Barbadians want a competent ,responsive and responsible government. We do not need a third party. We want efficiency and effectiveness. A third party in our way of thinking does not translate to good government. It is illogical to think so.

44. Received this a short while ag and am posting as “Unverified:”

Constituency update
    Correction

Yesterday I circulated the advisory issued by the US Embassy about elevated levels of bacteria found in drinking water in Embassy homes for US Personnel. Some persons responded to ask why was this important?
    During my canvassing of the constituency, I have encountered some of the US personnel at their homes in Durants and other areas.
    Therefore, the reason it is important is because the source of the drinking water in Durants is the same source for Kingsland, Newton, Lodge Road, Wotton and the other surrounding areas.

Having issued the travel advisory last week regarding the sewage problem on the south coast it would appear that drinking water is now being affected.

Barbados is known around the world for its water quality. However, now is not the time for nostalgia, if there is a credible threat to the drinking water it affects all of us and therefore it is important that we now take the necessary precautions until the south coast sewage problem has been resolved.

Ryan Straughn
    BLP Candidate
    Christ Church East Central

45. David

How could you agree with Hants

Boiling drinking water is no cure all.

There are so many substances in municipal water, merely boiling is not enough

We have traces from many pharmaceuticals to heavy metals – maybe the whole of the periodic table

Boiling may rid water of some biological contaminants but cannot be the primary way of making water potable in 2018

You cannot follow the American advice for Detroit etc.

Even bathing with contaminated water is dangerous.

46. Ryan Straughan almost freaked out when one caller asked him what was his purpose for being on the program and what solutions the blp had for the country.that is when he opened his mouth and the truth came flying out

47. Miller
    I was saying the same thing! They set out to lie so much that they contradict themselves in the same paragraph. They are also busy cussing Greenland, which if my memory serves me correctly was opposed by foreign experts, but yet telling Bajans don’t trust foreign comments on the quality of our water.
    You really believe a lot of Bajans want to vote 3rd party? Nobody ain’t vote for the DLP either, but they won twice.😂😂

48. The difference between Flint Michigan and Barbados is simple. Dr Lowe,John Boyce nor David Estwick unlike the officials in Flint,have not been brought before the law courts….

49. @ Pachamama,

What do you suggest for those who cannot afford filters and bottled water ?