Cost-u-Less promoted Back Friday in Barbados.

Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbourExodus 20:16

And so, the seemingly daily revelations continue. Sometimes, against the most unlikely perpetrators, if one were to judge from their current image as it is portrayed on the screen, big or small, or in other public media. I am referring of course to the allegations of past sexual misconduct ranging from harassment to sexual assault that appear to provide continuous and ample fodder for the daily newsfeeds. Interestingly enough, the phenomenon appears not to have caught on as yet in the region or locally. This is mildly surprising, given our penchant for mimicry of cosmopolitan cultural mores. For instance, we have no compunction in celebrating last week a Black Friday of consumption, even though there is here no necessary prelude of Thanksgiving, and we glibly observe Halloween without the earnestness of the following All Saints Day. But I digress.

My inquiry today relates to the eventuality of any of these accusations being found to baseless. It bears reminder that in most of the cases so far, the accused has managed to express regret for his alleged misconduct and made apology therefor, although in a very few cases bizarrely expressing no recollection of the incident(s).

As has been seen, the allegation, whether admitted or not, appears inevitably to result in a consequence of loss of goodwill for the accused entailing the termination of contractual relations, loss of endorsements and general obloquy. Sexual misconduct is a very serious allegation and the dire consequences appear to bear no relation to the truth of the matter. The mere allegation appears to suffice in some cases.

Of course, if it should be discovered that the allegation is untrue, then the imposition of any of the consequences itemized above would be most unfair. To avoid this calamity, legislatures that seek to prohibit this form misconduct have generally been lobbied to provide an appropriate sanction for accusations that have been falsely made. Barbados is no exception. In its recently created statute, the Employment Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Act 2017, section 28, marginally noted as “Penalty for making false complaint”, provides as follows:

A person who makes a false complaint of sexual harassment against another person is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10 000 or to imprisonment for a term of 2 years or to both.

So too does Belize in its Protection against Sexual Harassment Act 1996, where, according to section 21:

Any person who makes any false, vexatious or frivolous complaint against another person for an alleged contravention of any provision of this Act shall be guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars, or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding six months, or to both such fine and imprisonment.

The clear dissuasiveness of the criminal sanction, especially in Barbados, should serve to ensure the making of all but the more provable complaints but, at the same time, it may also serve to maintain the culture of silence that existed hitherto and that might account for the current spate of accusations for misdeeds that would have occurred at a time when the culture connived to turn a blind eye to such misconduct.

One suggestion in this regard might be to approximate the criminal liability in this instance to the liability that would inure if the accuser were sued for defamation. That a false accusation of sexual harassment is grossly defamatory of the accused is impatient of argument but, provided the complaint is made to a competent authority in order to seek redress, such an accusation would have been made on an occasion of qualified privilege, thus rendering the accuser immune from liability for defamation. This is made clear in the dicta of Lord Diplock of the House of Lords, then Britain’s highest court, in Horrocks v Lowe (1974):

…as a general rule English law gives effect to the ninth commandment that a man shall not speak evil falsely of his neighbour. It supplies a temporal sanction: if he cannot prove that defamatory matter which he published was true, he is liable in damages to whomever he has defamed…The public interest that the law should provide an effective means whereby a man can vindicate his reputation against calumny has nevertheless to be accommodated to the competing public interest in permitting men to communicate frankly and freely with one another about matters in respect of which the law recognises that they have a duty to perform or an interest to protect in doing so. What is published in good faith on matters of these kinds is published on a privileged occasion. It is not actionable even though it be defamatory and turns out to be untrue. [Emphasis added]

However, it should be noted that the privilege of the occasion in this case would not be absolute and is liable to be defeated by proof, inter alia, that the occasion is being misused for a purpose other than that for which the privilege was intended or is otherwise affected by malice. According to the learned Law lord,

…It is lost if the occasion which gives rise to it is misused. For in all cases of qualified privilege there is some special reason of public policy why the law accords immunity from suit – the existence of some public or private duty, whether legal or moral, on the part of the maker of the defamatory statement which justifies his communicating it or of some interest of his own which he is entitled to protect by doing so. If he uses the occasion for some other reason he loses the protection of the privilege.

Although it might appear to be rather bad form to have to amend an Act of parliament so soon after its passage, I am of the considered view that the section should penalize accusations that are made maliciously only. Thus, so long as the claimant honestly believes that the event amounted to such as to justify an accusation of sexual harassment, he or she should not be held criminally liable except on proof of malicious intent.

159 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Bearing False Witness”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

Thank you very much. Maybe now the Minister of Labour would see the value of publicly circulating this type of legislation before rushing to parliament. It is usual practice to circulate a bill in the Official Gazette before passage in parliament. If memory serves me correctly, when the bill was published in the Official Gazette, it had already been passed.

Could you please share this column with the senator, who was all beside himself because the Senate finally been made to look relevant. He was more concerned with form than substance.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Legislation should not be seen as a deterrent to sexually abused victims coming forward to seek justice..

…… in trump’s 19 cases of accusations of being a sexual predator…he keeps promising the victims he will sue them for defamation….thinking that will be enough to act as a deterrent and the accusers will all go away because he is president….the accusers refuse to back down or budge and he is too coward to file any defamation suits..because.someone might have a tape or video, but many have witnesses.

In UK accused predators/politicians have started commmitting suicide…1 so far….one is a definite suicide, the other a 30 year old, still under question.

3. I am of the considered view that the section should penalize accusations that are made maliciously only.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Shiite!!!
    Yuh mean that this is not OBVIOUS ..even to the damn clerk that had to type the draft…?
    What kinda lawyers do we have in this shiite place…?
    These DEVILS charge rates in the millions… and then pass laws like this…?

A pox on their retarded donkeys….

@ Jeff
    How do you HONESTLY feel about having graduated brass bowls of such low quality?
    It is clear that, for whatever reason, your scholarship is not being imparted in the process that you call ‘education’….

Why not….?

4. @Caswell

Done, maybe you can encourage the Senator to enter the Underground to engage with the gang.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In all fairness to the lawyers who work in the Parliamentary Counsel’s office, they only put into legalese what the policy makers have determined.

My understanding is that the stupid law was the product of a committee of stakeholders, including trade unions minus Unity Workers Union, Employers’ Confederation, Suckoo and others.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I doubt that he would come on here because, after reading Jeff’s column, he would or should be ashamed of his previous stance.

7. @Jeff

Curious as to why the FTC management has not seen it proper to post the official decision of your Board to the FTC website.The decision having been made since Thursday last week.

8. My curiosity lends me to ask , Is their a statue of limitations that must be considered by the victim before filing a complaint .
    Also another hurdle for the victim of sexual abuse which is constant and deliberate is that the victim becomes traumatized and usual stay silent out of fear of having to face a barrage of vocal and vicious abused meted out in the public domain.
    The legislation “as is” tries to remedy falsification but has not given sufficient concern on the psychological implication and effect it has on the victim fear of coming forward.

9. Dean Jeff, are you being tongue in cheek with the remark re “This is mildly surprising, given our penchant for mimicry of cosmopolitan cultural mores. For instance, we have no compunction in celebrating last week a Black Friday of consumption…”

I am sure that you do not equate the orgy of retail consumption with the damaging and painful personal wounds (accuser) that accompany sexual harassment revelations.

I stand to be corrected but I also do not recall any Bajans accusing Catholic priests of paedophilia or at least no significant public revelations. That too was beyond surprising based on world wide incidents.

And it is amazing that ALL the accusations made thus far despite no validation in a court of law, as you alluded to, have yet seen the accused act as if they were TRUE… Apologies, confirmations they did date teenagers in one specific case and so on. Even one figure who vowed to sue the media has since not filed a single brief.

It seems Lord Diplock appropriateness dictum applies well here.

Totally different matter @the Blogmaster, Caswell or Bushtea…clarification sought…

In casual conversation recently I was told that Cadets at the former three original companies is being curtailed…I was aware since maybe 10 years ago that issues abounded with the program but was still shocked to hear that your #3 Company was no more. Is that TRUE?

If so that is beyond remarkable….have other youth programs grown so wonderfully that the disciplinie, camaraderie and development associated with cadetting is no longer necessary or is this specific to that institution?

10. @Dee Word

Checked with a family member, appears to be an effort to rekindle interest but yes #3 company is struggling. Caswell should be able to shed light.

11. @ DPD
    Just a few years ago the main complaint from the Cadet leaders was about a lack of enough uniform for the numbers of young people joining… as seen from a quick browse of the news…

It would be a major shift in fortunes for things to be as slow as you suggest…
    But then, we never pay any real interests to such matters – since it only affects our youth….

12. Interestingly enough, the phenomenon appears not to have caught on as yet in the region or locally.

What could possibly be interesting about that … it is the most natural thing for our leaders to live double lives!!

Name one of past PMs who doesn’t have some sort of sexual allegation existing against him.

Even murder is included.

Erroll Barrow – alleged to have been gay, Mark Stokes disappeared

Tom Adams – allegedly beat his numerous outside women, died under suspicious circumstances.

Brie – He might get off, but was only PM for a day!!

Sandy – allegedly, Rosemary

O$A – Established outside chidren

David Thompson – allegedly gay

The point is none of our past leaders have a record which a sexual allegation could have besmirched any more than what existed!!

If anything, it was/is expected and condoned.

Allegations of sexual impropriety in Barbados are doomed to failure.

Name one politician who has had to resign because their sexual foibles have been exposed.

How many rape cases remain unheard to this day?

We even had the circus of an English victim paying for the defense of an alleged rapist … and getting him off!!!

13. Thanks David. Struggling you say. Apart from Caswell’s comments I would like to hear how matters are at the other originals and too all the other schools.

Of course this is not a hijack of Jeff’s article…in fact he may have been a cadet himself and would readily appreciate the nexus of youthful development in the right way and its benefit in steering us away from these harmful behaviours.

14. In America, the current events are not driven by sexual misconduct of itself.

They have been political pushed by the left who really does not care about their impropriety … just look at the numbers from Charlie Rose back down, who have fallen on their side.

It is of concern to the right who view them in a bad light.

So the left looks to antagonize the right.

No phenomenom about that!!

In a way it is a bit of a comedy because the press is being exposed as a bunch of hypocrites and their agenda disrobed.

One by one the big maguffies on the left and in their ranks fall.

They can’t be raising hell over a politician on the right and have such glaring examples of human frailties in their camp …. but I don’t expect it will stop them.

I think it is actually a good thing … a lot will fall!!

Women have now come to expect that something will be done to right past grievances but having crated this expectation, the press now becomes a perpetrator!!

… and the politicians in the Democratic party get exposed …. Conyers and Al Franken.

There is even the existence of a shush fund which has been used to hide the infelicities of past members.

… but for Barbados … too far gone for such things to make any impression!!

15. I have heard it said that it is Trump and his in your face style who is empowering the women in America to come forward!!

16. @JC
    The clear dissuasiveness of the criminal sanction, especially in Barbados, should serve to ensure the making of all but the more provable complaints but, at the sane time,
    “sane time”; Freudian slip or Printers devil?

17. Thanks Sargeant, corrected on Jeff’s behalf, he had a busy week!

18. @ Sargeant
    Bushie saw that ‘sane time’ comment, but after Jeff had introduced the Bushman to the concept of a ‘general obloquy’ in the same column, Bushie took the position that the master was referencing the sanity of the epoch…..

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Jeff
    How do you HONESTLY feel about having graduated brass bowls of such low quality?
    It is clear that, for whatever reason, your scholarship is not being imparted in the process that you call ‘education’….

Why not….?

@ Bushie, education is not about teaching everything that you know. It is a process of giving and receiving. One can only indicate by leading out from (ex ducere) what is darkness or ignorance and hope that the effective technique is imparted. You are of course familiar with the parable of the talents?

In any event, Caswell is right. The staff in the office of the CPC draft according to policy imperatives issued by the Ministry. They do not act on their own initiative.

20. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@Jeff

Curious as to why the FTC management has not seen it proper to post the official decision of your Board to the FTC website.The decision having been made since Thursday last week.

@David, Despite the magnitude of the public interest in this decision. it is still essentially a private arrangement between two corporate entities. They need to be notified first. We are not unmindful of our public obligation but, as with any decision of a quasi-judicial body, we want to ensure that we get the language just right. It should be in the public domain tomorrow.

21. Thanks Jeff!

22. @ Jeff
    we want to ensure that we get the language just right.
    Get that right…
    We would not want you to end up in general obloquy. 🙂

On language though….
    Brilliant diversion @ 1.27p.m.

Surely QUALIFIED lawyers are employed (or at least paid) to advise these committees that draft legislation’

Surely QUALIFIED lawyers in the SG’s office review the drafts and offer advice where needed. We always understood that THIS is what took YEARS…

You are indeed a masterful tactician, but remember that Bushie gotta big-donkeyed whacker.

23. @BT
    “Obloquy”: word of the day
    ++++
    You make much more sense when you write about sewers, swamps and cemeteries.

24. John

You are spot on….this macho chauvanistic society we live in revels in the many alleged infelicities of our leaders past and present.

Has been said over and over again…..we ain wan nuh soff man…..

25. Has been said over and over again…..we ain wan nuh soff man…..
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Said by whom Vincent????!!
    Not stinking Bushie….

You know of course that because YOU may keep repeating this mantra ..does not make it a proverb….

Least not with Bushie

26. Bushie

Hahaha……so you wan soff man…..let de tings cum out bozie…..confession good fuh de soul…..wuhlaw……..hahahaha.

27. Our view has been that Jeff Cumberbatch is a Bajan who generally means well

However, last week he promised, acting in another capacity, that a certain report would have been known during that week.

This should not be seen as any personal failure of his

But should properly be interpreted in a wider context

Such a context would lead to the unavoidable conclusion that everything we were taught to be true about Barbados is now false.

That the system is collapsing or has already collapsed

And when a system so collapses it must always be the elites who bear primary responsibility.

In any event, and based on the established policies of all recent administrations the decision of the FTC could only be one thing – the further consolidation of the oil sector into a monopoly.

We will suspend judgement as to whether Jeff Cumberbatch thinks himself as an elite.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Such a context would lead to the unavoidable conclusion that everything we were taught to be true about Barbados is now false.

That the system is collapsing or has already collapsed

And when a system so collapses it must always be the elites who bear primary responsibility.

In any event, and based on the established policies of all recent administrations the decision of the FTC could only be one thing – the further consolidation of the oil sector into a monopoly.

We will suspend judgement as to whether Jeff Cumberbatch thinks himself as an elite.

@Pachamama, And you are able to perceive all this from the delay of a promised decision by a couple of days? No I am not an “elite” and I do not consider myself to be one! Sorry to have disappointed you…

29. It is generally accepted on BU that Barbados, post independence, has been a dismal failure.

In fact, one contributor who shall remain nameless, likens the broken trident to the devil’s pitch fork!!

Do you realise it only took 10 years for things to fall apart?

The Duffus Commission impugned the integrity of EWB and the DLP just 10 years out.

A pity the BLP didn’t take the high ground and excise the cancer back then.

Guess they wanted their turn too!!

30. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Surely QUALIFIED lawyers are employed (or at least paid) to advise these committees that draft legislation’

Surely QUALIFIED lawyers in the SG’s office review the drafts and offer advice where needed. We always understood that THIS is what took YEARS…

You are indeed a masterful tactician, but remember that Bushie gotta big-monkeyed whacker.

You should put aside your whacker, Bushie. Mine is just one opinion as to how the legislation might have been drafted. But then no one in Barbados elected me to make these policy decisions. Those that were given that privilege have decided otherwise. I must therefore “humble”.

31. https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/conyers-steps-aside-from-top-spot-on-house-judiciary-committee/ar-BBFHYqU?li=BBmkt5R&ocid=spartandhp

Here is even more comedy from America.

Conyers is stepping aside.

It sounds as though he would have had to investigate Al Franken for the same issues of which he himself stands accused!!!

Here in Barbados, can you imagine a politician resigning on something like this?

Guess the writing is on the wall in America!!!

32. It is all political

33. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

**I am sure that you do not equate the orgy of retail consumption with the damaging and painful personal wounds (accuser) that accompany sexual harassment revelations.*

@ DPD, I did make it clear subsequently that the former was a mere digression.

34. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

…..the further consolidation of the oil sector into a monopoly….

Pacha…you must not have been on BU for that article which points out 2 areas which FTC designated must meet agreement before any sale to SOL….one being the dampening of the lust to monopolize, a spoke was driven right through that wheel…

i posted the article to BU

monopolises are destructive, they stagnate all future growth and progress and should be driven off the island.

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@JC
    The clear dissuasiveness of the criminal sanction, especially in Barbados, should serve to ensure the making of all but the more provable complaints but, at the sane time,
    “sane time”; Freudian slip or Printers devil?

@ Sarge, Ha!!!!

36. Our system of Primus inter pares allows that individual to wield limitless power when surrounded by sycophants…..I well remember the daily stories about Tom….from hose pipe to bullet holes……this is the Caribbean way.

37. Pachamama November 26, 2017 at 2:34 PM #

“We will suspend judgement as to whether Jeff Cumberbatch thinks himself as an elite”

Pachamamum,
    You are a first class jackass. All you need now is a cart and “cow skin”.

38. Walter Blackman

Yuh firegalush.

Don’t you have some foolish people like yourself to convince in some constituency somewhere that you have the answers to their woes. That is the real jackass.

What a stupid slave boy you are and have always been!

39. Well Well

Thanks

The regulation or FTC rules may say so but in practice we see the reverse everywhere.

Capitalism likes to have these pretentions but it always goes toward monopoly

Sandals was another attempt to enable monopoly/oligopoly

These are the same sets of forces driving the NIS failure. The workers there are no different than before.

40. If at 89 Conyers got the fire to pursue and pleasure, there is the possibility that the elixir of eternal youth is near.All Conyers has to do is patent his secret.

Today the orange man in the White House took on CNN.CNN cuffed him back so hard he has gone into hiding.The twittered exchange:

@realDonaldTrump
    @FoxNews is MUCH more important in the United States than CNN,but outside of the US;CNN International is still a major source of (fake)news,and they represent our Nation to the WORLD very poorly.The outside world does not see the truth from them!

CNN Communications @…22m
    Replying to realDonaldTrump

It’s not CNN’s job to represent the US to the world.That’s yours.Our job is to report the news.
    #FactsFirst

41. Jeff

You are the Chairman

You made the promised

Could you imagine the Chairman of the SEC making such a promise, date certain

And giving such an excuse

So, it must be us who were wrong for accepting your promise.

Then again it may be nothing more than a cultural difference.

Separately

On the collapse of world systems

We are making these points all the time

And a growing number of people as well

42. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@ Pachamama, The Chairman of the FTC does not act as a judge of the Supreme Court.Do you perchance have a dog in this fight?

43. Jeff

Neither is Yellen

No, we don’t like dogs

44. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…everyone knocks trump on his orange ass.

45. It’s not CNN’s job to represent the US to the world.That’s yours.Our job is to report the news.

But that’s the problem …. CNN is not reporting the news … it isn’t doing its job.

The easiest way to appreciate how completely empty these words are is to look at the BBC and the UK and compare them with CNN and the USA.

The BBC represents the UK to the world.

Sometimes I don’t even know who the PM of the UK is, … but I always know the BBC.

I know in the past at least when I used to listen on shortwave alot it was unbiased and told as far as I could determine, the truth.

I had friends from Turkey when I was studying in Europe who only listened to the BBC.

I also know from my interest in the second world war the BBC transmitted coded messages to agents of the resistance in the occupied countries routinely … ie, it represented the UK to the world.

CNN is clutching at straws.

Unless its owners are blind, things are falling apart for the old way of doing business and they better wake up and change!!

46. @ John
    As sergeant said…
    You make much more sense when you write about sewers, swamps and cemeteries.
    If you want to include Trump under the ‘swamp’ category, just say so…

Trump makes CNN look like a bunch of saints.
    ANYONE who can publicly support Trump must be classed as a world class jack ass…. probably of the cat-grabbing variety like the Donald.

The BBC is a racist propaganda machine that would naturally appeal to you and Vincent – singing your favourite tunes as it does so well…

No doubt you abhor Aljazeera …… and RT

Steupsss
    What is the level of the sewerage in the swamp today?

47. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Vincent Haynes November 26, 2017 at 2:03 PM “You are spot on…this macho chauvanistic society we live in revels in the many alleged infelicities of our leaders past and present.”

And where did these leaders learn their alleged sexual infelicities.

Was talking to a white Bajan woman, she was telling me about her sexually infelicitious white Bajan husband, in other words she had to lef ‘e because she couldn’t take the horns no more.

I said “what?” I din know tha,t I thought that only black Bajan men were horner men.

And with a straight face she asked me “so who you think the black men learn their bad behaviour from?”

But that is only an anecdote.

Hard science now.

Can you or John explain to me how come nearly all of the black people in the Caribbean have some white DNA?

Was it that white plantation women were sexing with their black enslaved men?

Or were the white slave masters sexing with everybody, black or white, slave or free, married or single, child or adult, Christian or not.

So you John don’t go washing your mouth on our black men.

They learned their bad behaviour from you.

48. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@John November 26, 2017 at 11:33 AM “I have heard it said that it is Trump and his in your face style who is empowering the women in America to come forward!!”

What???

The pussy grabber in chief?

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

White rapists rampaging on the lives of black women on and off the plantations throughout the Caribbean for centuries…who don’t like that I said that, too bad, time to stop pretending, face the truth so that the young people will understand why things are the way they have become and move on, it was centuries in the making.

The Metropolitan countries are facing and understanding the truth about the culture of rape perpetrated back then, so they can move forward, why can’t the people in the Caribbean do the same, instead of trying to romanticize rape……..rape is not romantic and to be covered up, even after all this time.

…..not all were romance, romance was the exception, rape was the rule..

50. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yall still reading John’s nonsense.