Cost-u-Less promoted Back Friday in Barbados.

Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbourExodus 20:16

And so, the seemingly daily revelations continue. Sometimes, against the most unlikely perpetrators, if one were to judge from their current image as it is portrayed on the screen, big or small, or in other public media. I am referring of course to the allegations of past sexual misconduct ranging from harassment to sexual assault that appear to provide continuous and ample fodder for the daily newsfeeds. Interestingly enough, the phenomenon appears not to have caught on as yet in the region or locally. This is mildly surprising, given our penchant for mimicry of cosmopolitan cultural mores. For instance, we have no compunction in celebrating last week a Black Friday of consumption, even though there is here no necessary prelude of Thanksgiving, and we glibly observe Halloween without the earnestness of the following All Saints Day. But I digress.

My inquiry today relates to the eventuality of any of these accusations being found to baseless. It bears reminder that in most of the cases so far, the accused has managed to express regret for his alleged misconduct and made apology therefor, although in a very few cases bizarrely expressing no recollection of the incident(s).

As has been seen, the allegation, whether admitted or not, appears inevitably to result in a consequence of loss of goodwill for the accused entailing the termination of contractual relations, loss of endorsements and general obloquy. Sexual misconduct is a very serious allegation and the dire consequences appear to bear no relation to the truth of the matter. The mere allegation appears to suffice in some cases.

Of course, if it should be discovered that the allegation is untrue, then the imposition of any of the consequences itemized above would be most unfair. To avoid this calamity, legislatures that seek to prohibit this form misconduct have generally been lobbied to provide an appropriate sanction for accusations that have been falsely made. Barbados is no exception. In its recently created statute, the Employment Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Act 2017, section 28, marginally noted as “Penalty for making false complaint”, provides as follows:

A person who makes a false complaint of sexual harassment against another person is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10 000 or to imprisonment for a term of 2 years or to both.

So too does Belize in its Protection against Sexual Harassment Act 1996, where, according to section 21:

Any person who makes any false, vexatious or frivolous complaint against another person for an alleged contravention of any provision of this Act shall be guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars, or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding six months, or to both such fine and imprisonment.

The clear dissuasiveness of the criminal sanction, especially in Barbados, should serve to ensure the making of all but the more provable complaints but, at the same time, it may also serve to maintain the culture of silence that existed hitherto and that might account for the current spate of accusations for misdeeds that would have occurred at a time when the culture connived to turn a blind eye to such misconduct.

One suggestion in this regard might be to approximate the criminal liability in this instance to the liability that would inure if the accuser were sued for defamation. That a false accusation of sexual harassment is grossly defamatory of the accused is impatient of argument but, provided the complaint is made to a competent authority in order to seek redress, such an accusation would have been made on an occasion of qualified privilege, thus rendering the accuser immune from liability for defamation. This is made clear in the dicta of Lord Diplock of the House of Lords, then Britain’s highest court, in Horrocks v Lowe (1974):

…as a general rule English law gives effect to the ninth commandment that a man shall not speak evil falsely of his neighbour. It supplies a temporal sanction: if he cannot prove that defamatory matter which he published was true, he is liable in damages to whomever he has defamed…The public interest that the law should provide an effective means whereby a man can vindicate his reputation against calumny has nevertheless to be accommodated to the competing public interest in permitting men to communicate frankly and freely with one another about matters in respect of which the law recognises that they have a duty to perform or an interest to protect in doing so. What is published in good faith on matters of these kinds is published on a privileged occasion. It is not actionable even though it be defamatory and turns out to be untrue. [Emphasis added]

However, it should be noted that the privilege of the occasion in this case would not be absolute and is liable to be defeated by proof, inter alia, that the occasion is being misused for a purpose other than that for which the privilege was intended or is otherwise affected by malice. According to the learned Law lord,

…It is lost if the occasion which gives rise to it is misused. For in all cases of qualified privilege there is some special reason of public policy why the law accords immunity from suit – the existence of some public or private duty, whether legal or moral, on the part of the maker of the defamatory statement which justifies his communicating it or of some interest of his own which he is entitled to protect by doing so. If he uses the occasion for some other reason he loses the protection of the privilege.

Although it might appear to be rather bad form to have to amend an Act of parliament so soon after its passage, I am of the considered view that the section should penalize accusations that are made maliciously only. Thus, so long as the claimant honestly believes that the event amounted to such as to justify an accusation of sexual harassment, he or she should not be held criminally liable except on proof of malicious intent.

159 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Bearing False Witness”

1. Can you or John explain to me how come nearly all of the black people in the Caribbean have some white DNA?

Never knew that nearly all the black people in the Caribbean are actually white!!

Where are you getting your data in support?

2. So you John don’t go washing your mouth on our black men.

I thought you said they were nearly all white!!

3. Colour is immaterial to corruption!!

4. Hard Science now

Dr. Simple Simon Phd. …. clearly you are grossly overstating your qualifications!!

5. She NEVER said that they were all white.
    She said that they suffered the consequences of centuries of rape by white men.

Colour may be immaterial to corruption, but certain species of animals are KNOWN to display characteristics peculiar to that set.
    Pit bulls therefore have gained a certain reputation among dogs…

Dr (mock) Simple Simon PhD (fake) is more qualified than you obviously are to pontificate on this topic since she seems to have common sense.

As Sargeant said, You make much more sense when you write about sewers, swamps and cemeteries.
    On everything else, you are a dummy.

6. Pachamama November 26, 2017 at 3:29 PM #
    “Walter Blackman

Don’t you have some foolish people like yourself to convince in some constituency somewhere that you have the answers to their woes. That is the real jackass.”

Pachamamum,
    Given the parlous state of the Barbadian society and economy at this time, it is the civic duty of every Barbadian who thinks that he/she can make a contribution to the development of Barbados to step forward and be counted. There is nothing dishonourable about that. After all, over the years, the taxpayers of Barbados invested billions of dollars in education in the hope that we would do precisely that.

How comes you DARE NOT step forward?

Yuh semi-literate cyberspace madman.

7. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ya might have to draw a map or picture for John, of white men raping black women and any anyone and anything they can put their hands on…he might understand that better.

These are the same of the Bizzy ilk that claim Barbados is NOT a majority Black country and get angry when Blacks say otherwise, it is what they say it is, blacks are invisible. …they cant see them.

Yall better get better control of these minority AS.HOLES before the next generation of angry Black youth finish them off and end up in prison for no good reason……ya hear.

The US is dealing with horrible instances of white men raping women and children, pedophilia is rampant in the congress and senate, so just imagine the percentages in the population…

…. white men are the majority in perpetrating these vile acts on others, the country has to face it and address it…they can no longer pretend it did not exist during slavery hence the reason it still exists today, not if they want to control it.

8. These are the same of the Bizzy ilk that claim Barbados is NOT a majority Black country +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The resident Doctor and PhD seems to agree wholeheartedly with this sentiment!!

According to him/her almost all of the black people in the Caribbean are actually white!!

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John…she never said that, Bushman told you so already…deal with the facts in your mind, cause I have no plans to repeat myself, it is what it is, it has to be confronted and addressed, those who have a problem with it too bad.

UK is trying to deal with their rapists and the havoc it is causing in their society. .

US is having so many problems with sexual predators that people are creating sex bots and robotic sex dolls….to stem the tide of sexual depravity seen in mostly white males,

The rapists and sex demons are real and are manifesting worse than seen before, since the days of slavery.

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The problem I have with the sex bots, they look like blown up 7 year old girls with adult female breasts, my daughter just told me those are illegal…..

…..a dude in UK got arrested for a baby one some months ago, one in Canada got arrested too…..those cater to sick pedophiles…

So ya see the problem now.

11. Dr SS PhD

Hmmm……some interesting points…. My research indicates that the majority of the tribes around the Niger delta.the origin of our african ancestors practiced polygamy…..as they were young when captured by their kith&kin,they would only have had about 3 wives….if they had remained like their captors possibly a 100 wives.

I agree with you that this concept of horning is a European thing with only half a dozen outside women……our delta tribesmen were accustomed to a lot more.

12. Dr SS PhD

Another valid….to the victor the spoils…..or…….droit du seigneur…… The owner master or mistress in the past had the right to bed any buck or maiden they desired…….in Bim with only slaves or the odd indentured available the obvious took place.

The above is as old as the ages even exists today hence the phrase wuk-fuh-wuk.

13. Bim is a society whose inhabitants have a varied amount of melanin providing them with a range of skintones due to the days of slavery resulting in the illicit conmingling of northern european tribes primarily out of England with western african tribes primarily from the Niger delta.

One of the interesting results of this circumstance is how the progeny self identify which is either as Africans(note lack tribe ID).Bimmers or Pelaus……never heard any self identify as english or european.

14. @Vincent
    One of the interesting results of this circumstance is how the progeny self identify which is either as Africans(note lack tribe ID).Bimmers or Pelaus

Who identifies themselves as Pelaus?

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol….as far as everyone knows including geniticists specializing in mapping genes….95 or more % of the majirity Black population on the island are of West African ancestry, same can be said about African descendants across the Caribbean, Central and South America….and US and Europe.

16. Hahahaha…….west Africa consists of many tribes……one needs to know which one topsy.

17. Harare, Zimbabwe – The military in Zimbabwe have announced the end of an operation that saw the army place former President Robert Mugabe under military confinement resulting in his resignation.

The announcement came after the inauguration of President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Friday.

As part of the mission named Operation Restore Legacy launched on November 15, the African country’s military also arrested allies of Mugabe, including former Minister of Finance and Economic Development.

Robert Mugabe resigned last week after nearly four decades as the country’s leader following his dismissal as the leader of the ruling ZANU-PF party.
    OPINION
    The West owes Zimbabwe a future
    Nick Dearden
    by Nick Dearden

Army spokesperson Colonel Overson Mugwisi said there were some government officials still being held in military custody, but details on those detentions would be given at a later stage.

Earlier, former Minister of Finance and Economic Development, Ignatius Chombo, arrived at the Harare Magistrates Court for his bail hearing under heavy military escort and in handcuffs.

Chombo, an ally of the former president, was arrested on Friday and charged with corruption and abuse of power. The charges stem from his time served as minister of local government, public works and urban development from 2000 to 2015.

Head of the ZANU-PF Youth League, Kudzanai Chipanga, a close associate of former First Lady Grace Mugabe, also appeared and is due to have his bail hearing later on Monday.

Chipanga faces charges of fraud and slander for his criticism of the head of the Zimbabwe Defence Forces, General Constantino Chiwenga.

Shortly before the military action, Chiwenga issued a caution to the then President Mugabe against the series of purges in the ruling ZANU-PF regime.
    ‘Dangerous precedent’

This precipitated a military takeover and an operation targeting “criminals” surrounding the former president on November 15.

Mugabe was then held under house arrest, and his eventual resignation led to Mnangagwa taking over as the country’s third president since independence in 1980.

It seems there is selective application of the law depending on whether one has fallen out politically with those who are running things

Beatrice Mtetwa, Human Rights lawyer

Amid reports that farms and houses owned by allies of Mugabe were attacked, army spokesperson Colonel Mugwisi said “looting and illegal occupation” of properties “will be met with the full wrath of the law”.

But human rights lawyer Beatrice Mtetwa believes the military superseded the constitution.

Mtetwa told Al Jazeera she was “extremely worried” by the High Court’s recent judgement legalising the military operation, adding that it set a “dangerous precedent” for the future.
    READ MORE
    Zimbabwe: What citizens want from President Mnangagwa

“What’s the point of having a constitution if you’re not going to respect what’s in the constitution?” she asked.

The human rights lawyer added that it seemed there was an attempt to “sanitise” the military operations, particularly the detention of certain top officials in the ruling party, including Chombo whose corruption charges date back to the 2000s.

“It seems there is selective application of the law depending on whether one has fallen out politically with those who are running things,” she said.

Mnangagwa, Mugabe’s longtime heir, is expected to name his cabinet shortly.

Follow Tendai on Twitter and Instagram @i_amten

SOURCE: Al Jazeera News

Zimbabwe
    Robert Mugabe
    Africa

Have your say.Give us feedback.

Advertisement

TRENDING
    Why is Greece selling bombs and missiles to Saudis?
    Saudi use of intifada clip draws angry response
    Hondurans on edge as two candidates claim poll victory
    Migrants for sale: Slave trade in Libya

https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Faje.io%2Fzgmy5&h=ATMTLeNoMCrhmaT26grbDXEzkCJhXjWlH3Kqq83Yrd4mJKVEjjifs0WlpKoVK6cbtN3Ayf4tyQCKYDALmxHGSIaweAsXzTVcj-B0NCI19Xo_Nts7ygsr7kqeqdx26rNf-zhDCAwwZ0yXEL26HPJ3Im59-booneBs4F-hJnQjie_rgLMPeHEwc5H0axeK4ldfh9RqyJCdDO9BYkk6hYR-imVzis_n-3pjGwYhkAaH0XGKPZOwjMLDIS-a8tNyhXms___ctavXESqcVzCb5anTDKJrh1bomGy9sZV8ow

18. Libya’s UN-backed government says it is investigating allegations that hundreds of African refugees and migrants passing through Libya are being bought and sold in modern-day slave markets.

According to reports, the trade works by preying on the tens of thousands of vulnerable people who risk everything to get to Libya’s coast and then across the Mediterranean into Europe – a route that’s been described as the deadliest route on earth.

Libya is the main gateway for people attempting to reach Europe by sea, with more than 150,000 people making the crossing in each of the past three years.

“They [the refugees] are from several African countries and they say they have fled war, poverty and unemployment in their countries … They have taken a tough journey through the desert and they have paid people smugglers to get to Libya to try to cross the Mediterranean to Europe. With the security and financial collapse in Libya, human trafficking and smuggling have become a booming trade,” says Mahmoud Abdelwahed, reporting from a detention centre in the Libyan capital Tripoli.

Modern-day slavery is widespread around the world and Libya is by no means unique … But what’s particularly shocking is that this is happening effectively in the open, where people can go to a farmhouse, place a bid and end up ‘owning’ a human being.

Leonard Doyle, International Organization for Migration

There is no proper registration process for the tens of thousands of refugees arriving in Libya.

According to reports, the business of detention centres is unsupervised in some parts of Libya and stories of torture, rape and forced labour have emerged.

When the centres get too crowded, people are then allegedly sold off like goods in an open market. Survivors have told the UN’s migration agency that they use smartphones to connect with people smugglers to get them to Libya’s coast, and that they were then sold, being held for ransom, used as forced labour or for sexual exploitation.

The International Organization for Migration says trade in humans has become so normalised that people are being bought and sold in public for as little as $400.

“As shocking as it seems, it’s indeed true,” Leonard Doyle from the International Organization for Migration tells Counting the Cost. “The reason it [slave trade] can happen is because there is really no rule of law across much of Libya. Libya is a country as big as France, with a lot of space there. Migrants are coming there … they see the promise of a new life when they go to their Facebook feed and they think something wonderful is waiting for them in Europe, because a smuggler has abused the system and has sold them that lie.”

He explains that when they arrive in Libya, “they get off the bus and they are quickly put into a kind of murder machine, an extortion machine. They are robbed of their possessions, their families are called. They are forced, they are tortured, they give them money. And then they are sold. Unbelievable, but they are sold in open, public auctions: $400 for a labouring man, maybe a bit more for a woman who can be put in the sex trade. And this is what’s happening across the country.”

Doyle stresses that this issue shows that the international community should pay more attention to post-Gaddafi Libya.

“There is an international responsibility to help … What is particularly important now is that this issue is reaching global attention,” says Doyle.

“Modern-day slavery is widespread around the world and Libya is by no means unique. It’s happening in the developed countries of the world as well as the undeveloped countries. But what’s particularly shocking is that this is happening effectively in the open, where people can go to a farmhouse, place a bid and end up ‘owning’ a human being.”

Source: Al Jazeera News

19. Bushie

Ummmm……Al Jazeera want something done about the slave trade in Libya……more shaving cream talk or yuh gine help yuh bruddahs???

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

The UN is handling the modern day slave problem in Libya, people are on the ground, no need for Caribbean people to get involved, who has access will monitor.

Vincent…if your empty soul was not so depraved, you would cease trying to deprive the descendants of West African TRIBES living in the Caribbean of their African identities, but you are so spiteful and possessed, I doubt you can stop…..

…….but you will not leave the earth committing mischief in the lives of new generations of Black Bajans by making them believe they have no identity, your empty soul will leave the earth empty handed. …as it deserves, your level of depravity could only be genetic.

Which individual tribe each African descended from is no business or concern of yours…

..do you know which tribe in Angola or East Africa you were decended from…..well no one cares…

21. Chuckle…….poor ignorant i.e. not knowing….topsy.

22. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Be that as it may, but your depraved mischief against Black Caribbean people, particularly Black Bajans…. will not work….no one is depending on you for information about their ancestry or tribe…everyone knows how to access that information, if they care to, it’s not impossible….a cheek swab of a few cells in your mouth is enough…or spitting into a small cup.

I know which tribe I came from, do you really think that information should be public, no, it’s my personal business to share or not….

…dont know why you try to inveigle and insert your way into the lives of the majority to create something that can no longer be achieved…..hiding ancestral identities.

23. OK topsy…..yuh begging fuh help….none of us here in the Caribbean belong to a single tribe……yuh ez a real real duffus fuh true…..but that helps teach the readers.

24. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Don’t need help…I know where my ancestors came from, take your pick of West African tribes.

I am posting mostly for those who know within themselves that they belong.

West Africa

Ethnic groups of Rivers State in Nigeria
    Yoruba in Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Ghana, Ivory Coast and Sierra Leone (c. 40 million)

Igbo in Nigeria (c.over 40 million)

Hausa in Nigeria, Niger, Benin, Ghana, Cameroon, Chad and Sudan (c. 35 million)

Mande peoples in The Gambia, Guinea, Mali, Sierra Leone, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Liberia, Guinea Bissau, Niger Congo, Mauritania and Chad (c. 30 million)

Akan in Ghana and Ivory Coast (c. 20 million)

Fulɓe in Mauritania, Gambia. Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Nigeria, Cameroon, Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Benin, Niger, Chad, Sudan, CAR, Ghana, Togo, and Sierra Leone (c. 20 million)

25. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple…your great great would have been of the Mande tribe of the Congo.

26. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@John November 27, 2017 at 7:07 AM “I thought you said they were nearly all white!!”
    @John November 27, 2017 at 1:11 PM “According to him/her almost all of the black people in the Caribbean are actually white!!”

You claim to be a Christian. Well don’t tell lies. If you bear false witness you will go to hell when you die.

So let me speak to you in a language that you can understand “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor” Exodus 20:16

I did NOT say that the African descended population of the Caribbean is nearly all white. I did NOT say that almost all of the black people in the Caribbean are actually white.

You are a scientist? I asked you to account for the fact that most African descended people in the Caribbean have some European/white DNA. And while you are at it how could this have happened when enslaved people could not consent to sexual relations with their white masters.

But you prefer to be dishonest, and refuse to acknowledge that rape was commonplace during the period of black people’s enslavement in Barbados and the rest of the Americas.

The truth is the enslavers were the 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th and 19th century equivalents of today’s ISIS. Religious fanatics greedy for power, money and sex.

27. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

In a word

TERRORISTS.

28. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Vincent Haynes November 27, 2017 at 3:33 PM “possibly a 100 wives.”

You are a scientist too?

Since in all human societies babies are born male or female in approximately equal numbers, please explain to me how at puberty or shortly thereafter men would find 100 wives ? And how many men in any given community would “achieve” the 100 wives thing?

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…

Let the false witnesses, the depraved and possessed see the tribes of West Africa and cant do anything to change it.

West Africa

Ethnic groups of Rivers State in Nigeria
    Yoruba in Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Ghana, Ivory Coast and Sierra Leone (c. 40 million)

Igbo in Nigeria (c.over 40 million)

Hausa in Nigeria, Niger, Benin, Ghana, Cameroon, Chad and Sudan (c. 35 million)

Mande peoples in The Gambia, Guinea, Mali, Sierra Leone, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Liberia, Guinea Bissau, Niger Congo, Mauritania and Chad (c. 30 million)

Akan in Ghana and Ivory Coast (c. 20 million)

Fulɓe in Mauritania, Gambia. Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Nigeria, Cameroon, Senegal, Mali, Burkina Faso, Benin, Niger, Chad, Sudan, CAR, Ghana, Togo, and Sierra Leone (c. 20 million)

30. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

Dear Professor Cumberbatch: You should not worry too much about the false witnesses, but the mainly male sexual transgressors should worry about the truth speakers who are beginning to step out of the shadows.

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Both of these old dying demons are dishonest and the quicker they are removed from the lives of current and future generations of young Black people who will take control of the island in the not too distant future, the better..

…..they have nothing worthwhile or progressive to offer these young people…neither intellectually nor spiritually.

32. Can you or John explain to me how come nearly all of the black people in the Caribbean have some white DNA?

Read what you wrote!!!!!

Nearly all of the black people are white!!

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Some whites who take genetic testing find that they have 1/16% or more or less of African DNA = some African DNA

William of UK was found to have 1/32% of East Indian DNA = some East Indian DNA

Some Blacks who take ancestry genetic testing are found to have 1% Caucasoid or more or less DNA = some Caucasian DNA

There are genetic testing companies who accept and test genetics swabs from all over the world.

Caribbean people would do well to start their own ancestry investigations…particularly in Barbados which is infested with depraved idiots thinking they know the majority population’s ancestry and what is best for them.

34. Read what you wrote!!!!!
    Nearly all of the black people are white!!
    Again Bushie is proven right… 🙂
    John is a DUMMY.

35. Dr SS PhD

I would suggest you follow your cut&paste partner as I have done with these two articles that show that west Africa was/is the most polygamous area of Africa…….your comprehension skills are I hope better than its as they do not understand what they google and regurgitate.

If you want to quible over the quantum as opposed to the policy feel free……
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Polygamy in Africa – Polygamy Articles – Polygamy.com
    https://www.polygamy.com/articles/89746509/polygamy-in-africa
    Sep 30, 2015 – At first the polygamy was very popular in the west part of Africa, but as the Islam has started to diffuse in this region, the prevalence of polygamy …

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=12&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjsg6qAmeHXAhUHNiYKHU5PDLkQFgheMAs&url=http%3A%2F%2Farticles.latimes.com%2F2004%2Fjun%2F06%2Fnews%2Fadfg-wives6&usg=AOvVaw3Sto5JTMYei_Jgj40c4eW2

36. Dr SS PhD

I note that other to quibble over quantum you have not disagreed with any of my above statements…..interesting…..a pity you cannot encourage your cut&paste partner to comprehend facts or even your on&off squeeze BT.

37. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

Bushman….2 depraved DUMMIES…not one.lol

38. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

Does John not understand the meaning of the word “SOME?”

Even a three year old understands when told “you can have SOME of the cookies.

39. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

John does not want to admit that white men in Barbados, and the Americas, including the Caribbean and every place from Canada to Argentina, sexually exploited black women for centuries and that for the most part white women, especially upper class white women were not subjected to that sexual oppression/rape.

But not believing a truth, does not change the facts of the truth.

40. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

But God int dead yet and one of these days John will have to meet him face-to-face.

Vincent too, whether or not he is a believer.

41. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

Thou shalt not bear false witness.

42. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Vincent Haynes November 28, 2017 at 7:52 AM “I would suggest you follow your cut&paste partner as I have done with these two articles that show that west Africa was/is the most polygamous area of Africa.”

I don’t care what you cut and paste, but the mathematics does not support your “100 wives” hypothesis. Even in the most Islamic of countries today where polygamy is permitted, Saudi Arabia MOST men have just one wife, because demographically/mathematically they can only get one wife.

FIRSTLY: Since males and females are born in approximately even numbers where would these extra 99 women come from? Mathematics does not support your 100 wives hypothesis and even though unlike John you are not a Barbados scholar, John can tell you that mathematically the 100 wives thing cannot work.

SECONDLY: Some successful men may be able to get an additional wife, but always they will have to compete with younger also successful men to get even one extra wife, so they have essentially zero chance of getting 100.

THIRDLY: When the Koran permitted [NOT commanded] men to have multiple wives in was in a situation of warfare where many men had died in war, and the prophet Mohammed, PBUH permitted [NOT commanded] men to marry some of these widows.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

And these are the clueless imbeciles believe they know what is best for the majority population…sheesh….

When they are baffled by simple math equations.

44. Dr SSPhD

Chuckle……you keeping bad company….the cut&paste artist really rubbing off on you……I have already conceded the dispute on quantum as a moot point……but the fact of polygamy stands with our west african ancestors being the most plygamous in Africa,as stated and when they arrived without the shackles of islam,what do you think would have happened?

Stop doing the same thing you accuse John of doing…..yuh ole hypocrite.

45. Let me see if I can help with some actual figures!!!

Slave returns from 1817 show about 6 % of the slave population was colored, so the last time the population of Barbados was close to 95% pure black was in 1817.

If you add the 15% white population you will see in 1817 in reality the highest “pure black” figure you could get then was about 80% or less.

Clearly the mixing to get to as you say “most black people in the Caribbean being white” took place in Barbados after emancipation, not during slavery!!

I agree with you that many Bajans today are of mixed ancestry but where I differ with you is that I believe most of the mixing took place after emancipation.

… and I believe it happened for a simple very pragmatic reason which I will explain in due course.

You have had to go through all sorts of contortions to try to attribute the failure after Independence to “white people” … those devils.

You don’t even seem to realise you have admitted that Barbados is a failure which I think is of far more import and worth discussing!!

Lose the hatred and envy and do some honest to God research.

46. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple…but looka we crosses though…..

……what dont happen in a million years can happen in a nano second…

http://ow.ly/p5GB30gSmBk

Oh lordee and the UN is joining the fight for reparations for Canadian Africans….just one more leap and the crime against Africans and their descendants WORLDWIDE, including the Caribbean will have to be addressed and reparations in whatever fprm….PAID.

Oh lordee…Moneybrain must be too vex to blog
    Lawson is having a fit.

The 2 donkeys in Bim, John and Vincent have not heard yet, so they can stroke out……but they will, on both counts…

The UN is NOT amused, not one little bit..lol

http://ow.ly/EpbV30gSn6y

Oh hell…look at this. .

Lol, hahaha. .lol

Buzzword around the world, ……REPARATIONS. …

47. David

You should publish Michael Ray’s letter in todays Nation dealing with the myth promulgated by Beckles that our failures today in the Caribbean are based on the Colonials(Free for 55 year…the earliest colony) and the IMF(first programme 37 years ago) as opposed to the blatant mismanagement by our leaders.

48. Theo of 100 wives Avatar
    Theo of 100 wives

The two demons are back….

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John…ya even dumber than Bushman and I think…

If 6% Africans were in the population in 17 whatever and they added….inported….another 20 million pure bred Africans from AFRICA, give ir take….over another 200 years….to breed with the 6% and others…for sale and labor purposes……..how the hell could there NOT be majority pure blood majority African on the island, despite all the white rape…

And you are whom someone claimed is some scholar….scholar of what.

50. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I swear, demons is putting it mildly….lol