Submitted by Mark Jones
Mia Mottley, Opposition Leader

Just when we thought we might have heard it all from Miss Mottley (the eager beaver prime minister in waiting) once again she has put on full public display her very dangerous ambitions to seize power in Barbados and brandish prime ministerial power as if it was a personal machete used only to chop up and destroy rather than act as a force force for good use instead to build up and strengthen. The occasion – the Barbados Chamber of Commerce Luncheon – the audience – the usual group of business leaders anxious to hear how a politician will fix every problem in Barbados so they can maximize their profit margins – the outburst – that when (not if) elected her government will over turn any appointments made by the current administration to such positions as that of Governor General, Governor of the Central Bank and even more startling that of Director of Public Prosecutions.

Well well well. Now for those of us who were not present we can stick our necks out as to what the reactions in the packed and food filled Hall were. But the fact that since that most unfortunate occasion we have not heard even a peep of concern or consternation from especially the leadership of the Chamber to those dangerous words were uttered, must tell you a whole lot about the state of politics and society in Barbados.

Indeed that some average and not so average people in the land could spend so much precious time discussing the fact that the Office of Prime Minister saw it fit to replace an old broken down official car for the real PM to use for official business but can utter nary a word on these utterly dangerous intentions of the Leader of the Opposition must equally tell us something about who and what we are dealing with. To be sure, even as the gossiping groups and political pundits pimp around Rolling Hills peeping through the gate of a 12 year old “brand new 2.5 million dollars house” which it is erroneously alleged  the poor Minister of Finance just got built and moved into, not one of them has taken the time to speak up on this potential imminent and clear threat to democracy and a treasured way of life in Barbados.  Not a business leader, not a union leader  (oh they have clearly gone to sleep where their favoured politician is concerned) and not a third party group whether Integrity or Solution.

But why the silence we ask? Is it that they hate the current government so bad that they are prepared to throw out the baby with the bath water? Is the apparent “gain”of changing the current government worth losing the time bound legal, constitutional and good governance principals that have come to define this fair land of ours and set us aside from the rest. Is Miss Mottley’s  entitled ascendency to the prime ministership of Barbados so important that we risk casting the country into a political abyss to ensure it. Are we witnessing another Donald Trump scenario in the making ?

Now even before the Leader of the Opposition delivered of herself these dangerous intentions, Chamber members must have noticed a “funny smell” coming from the podium when the said Miss Mottley so ungraciously and arrogantly allowed them to know that she was not coming back to speak to them again – at least not in that capacity – a less than veil hint that she expected to be back but as prime minister. That in itself should have caused many to tune her out if not forced some to take a much deserved bathroom break to perhaps regurgitate the afternoon’s lunch.

Be that as it may, those who chose to demonstrate the good manners which our “prime minister in waiting” seems so decidedly incapable of displaying, could hardly have expected this amazing politician to express these wild and potentially dastardly  intentions in the public space for all to hear and ingest.

From what little we know about the Constitutional Laws of Barbados, and in some other jurisdictions, the office of Director of Public Prosecutions is one of the most highly treasured and protected public offices. Indeed in our context the office and it’s holder are virtually untouchable as well they ought to be. It is an office that by law is protected as its holder is appointed by the Governor General on advice of the Judicial and legal Services Commission. In this way it is shielded from any  mischief, misgivings and misuse of potential or actual  political megalomaniacs. That being the case, and certainly we assume a fact well known to the current leader of the opposition, ( who just happens to be one of her Majesty’s legal counsels), one is left to ask the question, what manner of thought and intent goes into the mind of a “prime minister in waiting” that would make her believe that she can rip up the Constitution of Barbados and undo any appointment to the Office of DPP independently and properly made by the Judicial and legal Services Commission of Barbados? Are these the thoughts and mouthings of a grossly ignorant and misguided politician or a potential despot in the making who believes that she is or will not be subject to the highest laws of the land. And what role is the “latter day father of integrity” playing in advising his “prime minister in waiting” on these matters? It would be interesting to her his view on this particular one.

Just as it would be interesting to hear the voice of the alleged “governor general” in waiting Sir Richard Cheltenham, (oh of course Harold Hoyte and a few others have been also promised this prize pick as well) on the equally outrageous intention by this clearly power hungry politician, to fire any Governor General legitimately appointed by the current administration.

Now of course unlike the office of DPP , that of GG is an appointment that owes it’s origin to the political directorate as the it is the Prime Minister who advises the Palace (Queen) on who is preferred to assume this high ceremonial and state governance office.

But so serious is that office it is recognised by both major political parties and countless others down through constitutional history in Barbados as one that embodies the symbolism of political stability in the land and the graciousness and dignity of the Barbadian people, our customs and culture. To the extent that this has been the case , never before in the history of domestic politics has it ever been thought of far less expressed by any active or retired politician that a potential incoming government would be so bold and arrogantly fire a sitting GG because he/she was appointed by the opposing party.

Seriously!! Is this what Barbados is coming to?

The changing of a governor general other than for some serious offence is an affront to monarchy and a slap in the face of Queen as indeed it would be to the people of Barbados.

To even suggest such a thing is the mouthing of a seriously disturbed person who is clearly intoxicated by a sense of self importance, entitlement to power and ultimate disregard for the long enshrined basic tenets of liberal and constitutional democracy. It is a serious potential affront to political, social and ultimately economic stability in Barbados – a feature that has singled out the island as among one of the best and most dependable democracies in the world.

Surely It goes way beyond law or even politics. It strikes at the heart of our way of life as a country by creating the impression that once you don’t like something or someone, indeed worse yet,  if something is not ordered by you and your clan, it is unworthy to stand and must be brought down.

Barbados is not a banana republic. Barbados is the Gold Standard of constitutional liberal democracy . If we permit this hideousness to envelope us where will it end. Who is next , the chief justice, the Auditor General, who.

Will the alleged illegal wire tapping of people’s personal telephones resume ? When will it end. Or worse yet where will it start?

There are many in the United States that would so love to turn back the hands of time to the first Tuesday in November just over a year ago. Indeed as they watch with much embarrassment, concern and consternation over the machinations of the President they freely elected, many now wish they had cast their vote in a different way. Be that as it may at least they know that constitutionally their system has certain built in checks and balances against the abuse of Presidential Power. In Barbados however we have no such constraints on the wild and dangerous abuse of the substantial power of prime minister.

In the hands of the ill-tempered and entitled it can be a vicious weapon suited only to destruction.

The real question is, will the goodly people of Barbados find themselves in the same position as those in the USA wishing this time next year that they had not made the decision Miss Mottley and her handlers seem so arrogantly convinced they are duly about to make.

A word to the wise is enough.

221 responses to “A Word To The Wise About Mia Is Enough”

1. Sir THAT IS NOT THE ANSWER JAC A>SS >

GO FIND MIA 14 YEAR RECORD AS A MINISTER AND PRESENT IT TO THE PUBLIC AS EVIDENCE THAT SHE HAS PROVEN HERSELF WORTHY TO SERVE THIS COUNTRY AS PM

ENTITLEMENT AND PRIVILEGE WILL NOT CUT IN THIS ELECTION CYCLE
    SHE WILL BE FULLY EXPOSED AND ALL HER RECORDS WOULD BE OF UTTERMOST IMPORTANCE IN DOING SO

2. MR.SKINNER I FEEL YOUR PAIN BUT TRUTH BE KNOWN THE SO CALLED NEW BRIGADE ARE RETHREADS OF THE OLD BRIDGADE < IF YOU CANT SEE ANY THE RESEMBLANCE I IMPLORE YOU TO VISIT YOUR EYE DOCTOR ASAP.
    GOOD LUCK IN SEPARATING THE WHEAT FROM THE CHAFF

3. Theophilius Gazerts 147 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 147

LOL… Which of the current batch of BDLP politicians is worthy?
    Toss me a few names…

4. Theophilius Gazerts 147 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 147

Has ac gotten smarter?
    I need to know what caused this spurt in brain power..
    ac, wha ya eating? I want some

5. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Desperation is a terrible thing….next June will be a wonderful time to celebrate.

6. AND LIKEWISE, YARD-FOWL JA…….

GO FIND FREUNDEL STUART’S EIGHT 1/2 YEAR RECORD AS PRIME MINISTER AND PRESENT IT TO THE PUBLIC AS EVIDENCE THAT HE HAS PROVEN HIMSELF WORTHY TO BE RE-ELECTED AS THIS COUNTRY’S PM FOR A THIRD TERM?

IT’S A FAIR REQUEST………

Imagine that………….. rather than try to defend their abysmal 9 years as the ruling administration,

……….address pertinent issues affecting Barbadians,

……….present information relative to plans they have for the future social and economic development of this island,

………. and give Barbadians convincing reasons why they should re-elect the DLP………….

………the DLP and its jack-ass yard-fowl operatives prefer to attack Mia Mottley.

7. @ TG
    This seems to be a ‘born again’ ac….

@ Tell me Why
    Sorry Bush Tea, I ain’t wid you wid dis one.
    No problem Boss… you aint gotta whacker … so..
    Yuh can’t ALWAYS be right…
    LOL 🙂

@ Enuff
    Phillips II got your goat…
    …and Bushie plans to milk it for all it is worth

Grenville for Prime Minister.

Admit it enuff,…
    ‘Prime Minister Grenville Phillips II” sounds better that ‘PM Stuart’ OR ‘PM Mottley’
    Plus he is more handsome …
    he knows fractions ….
    and he don’t bite – at least not that we know of…

The Benz for Grenville….

Murder…

8. YUP ! YUP ! YUP KEEP SPOUTING DOG SH HER RECORD WOULD BE PLACED ON SOCIAL MEDIA FOR EVERYONE TO SEE< NOT MY VOTE
    I DARE YOU BUBBLE HEAD TO DEFEND MIA/s 14 RECORD
    PM STUART RECORD IS THERE < WHERE THE HELL IS MIA/S? CANT FIND THAT EITHER ?

9. THERE IS NOT ONE GOD DAM SOUL IN THIS FORUM CAN DEFEND OR MAKE NOTE OF MIA EXCELLENT ACHIEVEMENTS IN 14 YEARS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF BARBADOS
    BRING IT ON ARSE HOLES BRING IT ON

10. @ November 27, 2017 at 10:10 PM #
    “MR.SKINNER I FEEL YOUR PAIN BUT TRUTH BE KNOWN THE SO CALLED NEW BRIGADE ARE RETHREADS OF THE OLD BRIDGADE < IF YOU CANT SEE ANY THE RESEMBLANCE I IMPLORE YOU TO VISIT YOUR EYE DOCTOR ASAP.
    GOOD LUCK IN SEPARATING THE WHEAT FROM THE CHAFF”

What an amazing piece of advice from a totally blind person !!!! Wonder never cease. As they say ” a blink or a nod means the same thing to a blind mule”.

11. AND I LIKEWISE “I DARE YOU BUBBLE HEAD TO DEFEND FREUNDEL STUART’S 9 YEAR RECORD………”

SIMILARLY, THE REALITY IS………….. “THERE IS NOT ONE GOD DAM SOUL IN THIS FORUM CAN DEFEND OR MAKE NOTE OF FREUNDEL STUART’S EXCELLENT ACHIEVEMENTS IN 9 years (AS ATTORNEY GENERAL OR PRIME MINISTER) FOR THE BETTERMENT OF BARBADOS” …………… OR THAT WOULD MERIT HIS RE-ELECTION.

Rather than ALLOWING her to live RENT FREE……………perhaps it’s time you ask Mia Mottley to PAY RENT for the SPACE she is OCCUPYING in your head.

“BRING IT ON ARSE HOLES BRING IT ON……….”

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@AC

I know girl child you and I have had our differences, and I have said some things about you that you rightfully deserved to hear at that time, but I cannot agree with you more. Mia Mottley cannot get my vote because she is despicable two face snake. You know why she remains a snake because if she were serious about being open and honest, she would have by now address the auditor general reports. But, we know why Mia cannot touch that because to do so would result in her admitting the part her party played in doing the same unaccountable shite as the DLP. So as far as I am concerned, she is the other half of the bad in waiting.

So AC ma girl, let us call a spade a spade. Your DLP dufus dumbos do not worth the get any vote. Let us Unite Sister, and Vote Solutions Party. Let us vote for change and a party that has no proven track record of doing shite. Let us Vote Granville. You with me sister?

13. MR SKINNER I KNOW WHAT I AM LOOKING AT ! DO YOU?

14. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

ac Yardfowl….has Fruendel and Donville heard anything from the Bahamas yet about Karen-Ann Gardier, they should be contacting them shortly through the attorney general, remember, they have been looking for her for quite some time and have permission to pursue her outside of Bahamas….you know, the Clico Theft and Fraud.

Ah know ya aint too bright, but even you should know what that means.

15. I want to hear from Solutions and all othet parties how there are going to fix all the problems the economis as well as the problems like the deteriorating conditions if our infrastructurr that are hinderence to the well being of the people
    We hear all the oposing operatives talk about pot holes water problems sewer problems high gas prices .
    Yet i have not hear any of the third parties including the blp speak of corrective meadures and how these problems would be funded
    All of them can easily crticize but not one have said openly or spoke about the urgent need to fix these problems.
    Have no time for buying a pig in a bag and end up with the same result.

16. “I ALSO want to hear from (the Democratic Labour Party) how they are going to fix all the problems the economists as well as the problems like the deteriorating conditions if our infrastructure that are hindrance to the well being of the people,” as well.

Because, to date the only thing coming from the DLP’s camp is Mottley and LEC, while the opportunists are concentrating their efforts on being nominated to represent St. John, which they believe is a “sure seat.”

17. Also hear about cutting taxes , but not hearing eee about how funds would be acquired and necessary to preserve barbados economic and social environment.
    All long talk from these third parties until these third parties open mouth and speak truthfully about alternative measures of funding to tackle debt and barbados infrastructure they will not get my vote
    Not buying a pig in a bag, Baulking at govt measures also require these third parties including the blp giving realistic corrective measures to the problems barbados faces internally and externally

18. ARtax Really you cannot say with a straight face that govt have not put corrective measures in place don’t you and the operatives daily criticize govt efforts and brand such efforts as failures
    So where you now come from talking dog sh,it about govt not implementing corrective measures . You are one bold face LIAR
    Now go tell MIA to present her certification as she had promise two years ago

19. @ac

Yes ac, let them know you are a 2013 DLP yard-fowl looking for 5 more years in DLP yard

20. To save one’s deposit in an Election,one needs to garner at a minimum 10% of the eligible votes cast.Staying away from the poll is a vote but it doesn’t count so that William Skinner who got 149 votes in his foray in Election ’91 got 4.4% of the eligible votes cast.The honourable gentlemen could not convince the constituents of St Michael Central.He couldn’t raise even half of the allotted 10%.Rejected and defiled at outing number one.Consigned to the rubbish heap of ‘also rans’,now trying to convince an enlightened BU,(ac’s etc associates excepted)that he is an expert forecaster.Then join Selma the fat lady who sings or Kerry Oneale who promises the sun ‘is EXPECTED to rise’ or Wayne,who thrashes to bits the word HOWEVER or David who is Mr Energiser,join them on the lists of forecasters.At least they tend to get it right most of the time.

21. Some analysts feel the conclusions of any investigation will put significant blame squarely on the shoulders of the management of CLICO Guyana.

WHERE IS THE BAHAMIAN PEOPLE MONEY? — Ian Garcia (seen here), Chief Marketing Officer at Clico Trinidad. He was one of the former operators at Clico Bahamas. Garcia is one of the faces of Clico (Bahamas) who ordered the packing up of thousands of CLICO’s CLIENT files to be shipped out of the Nassau office in 2007. Bahamas Press can confirm that the entire filing room was cleaned out at the head office. Then Garcia left the Bahamas. Garcia is seen here at a CLICO’s Christmas staff party in Trinidad in December 2008 giving an address. Boy the world is full of trickey men!

In this photo: Ian Garcia
    http://bahamaspress.com/2009/04/09/people-headed-to-jail-for-what-happen-in-clico-guyana-but-not-bahamas/

22. (Trinidad Express) Top CLICO executives, Karen-Ann Gardier and Ian Garcia, siphoned millions of dollars from the insurance company and transferred the funds to their private companies, Neal Bisnath, the legal representative for CLICO, said yesterday.
    The funds were then used to open US million-dollar Executive Flexible Premium Annuities (EFPAs) at CLICO, Bisnath said.
    Gardier was CLICO’s former financial controller and Garcia held the position of chief marketing officer at the insurance company.
    Sylvia Baldini-Duprey, deputy chairman of CL Financial and wife of Lawrence Duprey, was the director of a company that was paid over TT$2 million monthly from the conglomerate.

Bisnath yesterday spoke of several instances of financial impropriety at CL Financial and its subsidiaries during his cross-examination of Gita Sakal, former corporate secretary of CL Financial.
    “I am just trying to show the structure so your name alone is not out there,” Bisnath said.
    “And I thank you for that,” Sakal said.
    “Of course we have heard of your companies Corporate Consultants and Discreet Logic, and maybe let’s have some company to that,” Bisnath said.
    Bisnath yesterday outlined an exorbitant scheme undertaken by Gardier and Garcia to siphon millions of dollars from policyholder funds at CLICO.
    Bisnath said Gardier had a private company called GiGi enterprises and Garcia had a private company called Events Unlimited.

23. The 21 consecutive credit rating downgrades and Barbados declining ratings on all the major international index indicators;

…… lack of investor confidence in the economy as a result of consistent failure of government’s economic policies;

….. high cost of living and increased inflation brought about by new and increased taxes;

….. deteriorating transportation system;

……………are just but a few reasons why I can “say with a straight face that govt have not put corrective measures in place.”

For you to suggest this inept DLP administration has done so over the past 9 years, especially taking the above examples into consideration, PROVES that…….

……….“You are ONE BOLD face (yard-fowl) LIAR.”

“Now go tell ADRIEL BRATHWAITE to present the results of his investigation into Mottley’s certification as he had promise two years ago.”

24. The govt measures are considered failures by opposing camps
    All that is necessary for any consideration on my part would be those third parties and the blp state openly and truthfully their alternatives going into this election cycle
    Nothing more nothing less
    Not My Vote.

25. “The govt measures are considered failures by opposing camps….”

Hmmmmm..

It seems you’re suggesting the IMF, Standard & Poors, Moody’s Investor Service and CariCRIS; former Central bank Governors, Sir Courtney Blackman and Dr. Delisle Worrell; regional economists…………..

…………… and even your own Dr. David Estwick who has been OPENLY CRITICAL of government policies, which he blames for Barbados’ adverse economic circumstances.

………………are the “opposing camps.”

26. Still you refuse to address the issue of what solutions the third parties including the blp would give as corrective measures for all of barbados internal and external problem. All the long talk not going to cut it

27. Gabriel November 27, 2017 at 8:57 PM #

Plse explain in what way did the Owen Arthur government moved Barbados forward?.

28. JA

29. “Still you refuse to address the issue of what solutions the third parties including the blp would give as corrective measures for all of barbados internal and external problem.”

DLP yard-fowl JA…….

Unlike you being the spokesperson and representative of the inept DLP in this forum…….

………….I’m not a spokesman or representative of the “third parties” or the BLP, nor am I involved in their policy development process and agenda.

Therefore, how on earth could you expect me to “address the issue of what solutions the third parties including the BLP would give as corrective measures for all of Barbados internal and external problems?”

My only purpose here is to highlight the folly and irrational thinking of political yard-fowls such as you that live in glass houses and consistently throw stones. In other words, the criticisms you hurl at the BLP could be LIKEWISE and EQUALLY ATTRIBUTED to the DLP.

It’s about time you ACCEPT there aren’t any fundamental/significant philosophical and political differences between the BLP & DLP.

30. Hants Miss Mottley spoke at least three years ago in Ottawa, so if she did pay a courtesy call to the P.M. it was not the present school boy!

31. @ Gabriel November 28, 2017 at 7:37 AM #
    To save one’s deposit in an Election,one needs to garner at a minimum 10% of the eligible votes cast.Staying away from the poll is a vote but it doesn’t count so that William Skinner who got 149 votes in his foray in Election ’91 got 4.4% of the eligible votes cast.The honourable gentlemen could not convince the constituents of St Michael Central.He couldn’t raise even half of the allotted 10%.Rejected and defiled at outing number one.Consigned to the rubbish heap of ‘also rans’,now trying to convince an enlightened BU,(ac’s etc associates excepted)that he is an expert forecaster.Then join Selma the fat lady who sings or Kerry Oneale who promises the sun ‘is EXPECTED to rise’ or Wayne,who thrashes to bits the word HOWEVER or David who is Mr Energiser,join them on the lists of forecasters.At least they tend to get it right most of the time.”

Well said and researched. Now as soon as I can find a candidate named “Gabriel” , who actually contested an election, I would be happy to do a comparison with his/her effort and mine.

32. You yard-fowls never cease to amaze me. You come to this forum trying to defend politicians, despite the fact they all exhibit the same characteristics.

Angela Cox/Skeete/ac always come to this forum to question the morality and integrity of all other politicians, except the members of the DLP, while promoting Freundel Stuart as the epitome of integrity.

How is Freundel Stuart any different from Mia Mottley, when he swore he did not have anything to do with CAHILL nor did he sign off on the agreement, until documents presented by BU (which ac et al insisted were fake), proved he actually knew about and signed off on the project?

Or Stuart implying any wrong doing in the CLICO fiasco was committed by the policy holders, whom he accused of wanting to make “quick money,” while absolving Leroy Parris and David Thompson of any blame?

Or quick to defend Michael Carrington’s dishonest act of with-holding his former client’s funds?

The DLP promised to implement integrity and freedom of information legislation immediately upon being elected in 2008, as well as ministers declaring their assets and signing on to a code of good conduct.

Nine years after…………… the status quo remains the same. And to make matters worse, when anyone one refers to this issue……the only response the DLP yard-fowls could come up with is that government is “cash strapped,” when enacting or implementing these policies does not require any significant amount of financing. But they had the funds to finance a year-long independence celebration and buy tour buses for the Transport Board.

If the DEMS had IMPLEMENTED INTEGRITY AND FREEDOM OF INFORMATION LEGISLATION at the time THEY PROMISED TO DO SO………..

……….do any rational thinking Barbadian believe the BLP and DLP would be “politically manipulating” the Mottley/LEC issue?

33. Artax

I am glad to note that MAM LEC predicament is stuck across your throat like a fish 🐟 bone 🍖 !!

34. So too is Michael Carrington stealing his former client’s money.

35. Ok Artax. I get your point one of which explains that the third parties including the blp has no solutions.
    Therfore in reality you or none of the blp operatives are in no postion to defend or espoused a solution on behalf of the blp or any party representing themselve as formidable candidates in this election since none was given
    Sir i get it

36. BY GAYNELLE MARSHALL ON 2ND MARCH 2017 TOP STORIES
    Former Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leader Owen Arthur has suggested that he was not the one who cost the Opposition the last election, instead pointing an accusing finger at the BLP’s current leadership.

Arthur said it was really his successor Mia Mottley who was responsible for making the vexed issue of privatization a campaign issue in 2013, an admission that this was the pivotal matter that led to an unexpected defeat.

“I have taken a bum rap. Many people felt that I cost the Barbados Labour Party the last election by putting privatization on the table,” he told Barbados TODAY in an interview this week in which he sought to set the record straight on the breakdown of his relationship with the parliamentary Opposition.

Arthur, an avid supporter of privatization, said while his focus during his time as this country’s Minister of Finance was on divesting those elements of the financial sector which he felt did not need to be in the hands of Government, the BLP was “stampeded” by Mottley in 2013, who he claimed went before Parliament without reference to her colleagues with an election position on the issue.

“We heard for the first time on the floor of the House that the Labour Party was going to sell the airport and the seaport and then we also heard that the Labour Party would have taken the Transport Board and the sanitation authority and either sold or given the trucks to the men to run.”

However, Arthur said, based on his previous discussions with former union boss Sir Roy Trotman, “this was never the position of the Barbados Labour Party”.

On the contrary, he said the BLP’s position was that “you have a Transport Board with a modest subsidy, but it had to transform its operations and finds a way to link with private transport”.

“As for [divestment of]the Sanitation Service Authority, that came out of left field as far as we were concerned and we were trapped with that . . . Mia made it a people’s issue rather than a financial issue,” Arthur said, while suggesting that he had willingly taken the blame for her.

“If you want to blame me, blame me! My back is broad. But that is part of the history that men in the party and I continue to talk about. We were blindsided by that. But I don’t think I should have thrown Mia under the bus then, as I have not tried to throw Mia under the bus now,” he added.

As for the current approach needed to be taken with respect to divestment, the former Prime Minister said Barbados had to be “sensible” about privatization, as he reiterated his well-known position that “all [it]means is that you are getting things done in the public sector that can be done in the private sector.

“But what we have to do is to condition ourselves to the fact that the assets that are going to be sold are going to be here,” he added, while appealing for “all of the scare tactics” to stop, otherwise “the country is going to collapse around our ears”.

The former Prime Minister made it clear he did not believe in privatization of the Margaret Thatcher variety “which sets out just to destroy workers”, even while warning Government that there could be no running away from the issue, which goes against all that they had said during the last elections.

“The Government is committed to doing it, but the only reason they are not doing it is because they embarrassed themselves in the election campaign, having themselves said they are not going to privatize, sent an old lady called Ms Mapp, who is my friend, to curse me and say, ‘Owen Arthur is trying to take money out of my pocket,’” Arthur told Barbados TODAY.

However, he said based on his experience, privatization has worked in this country’s favour.

He pointed out that “the Democratic Labour Party privatized Heywoods before, the [Barbados] Labour Party privatized the two banks [Barbados National Bank and the Insurance Corporation of Barbados], the Democratic Labour Party is now privatizing the [Barbados National Terminal Company Limited], it has privatized part of the Gems of Barbados, so it can’t be if we are opposed to it; it is how best we can do it and that should be the discussion in Barbados”.

In the case of BNB, the former Minister of Finance repeated his oft stated position that it went from a loss-making bank to a profitable entity in which Government’s 20 per cent stake was worth more than its 100 per cent stake before its sale, “and rather than lose jobs, it now employs twice as much people”.

He also took a swipe at local trade unions for their stance on the matter, saying he was surprised to hear the Barbados Workers Union saying it was opposed to all forms of privatization.

“They were not when Mr Trotman and I sat down and we agreed that the Transport Board had to be concerned with its core business [and that]it had no business trying to run a mechanical workshop; that we would create a new entity called UCAL where the workers would own it. I decided to put money in it on the part of the Government and Mr Trotman was then very comfortable with privatizing part of the Transport Board,” Arthur recalled.

He also asked: “Didn’t the NUPW [National Union of Public Workers] also take over part of the Insurance Corporation of Barbados?

“So that when people are telling you that we are opposed to X but they are doing it, I regard that as a contaminated moral and intellectual environment,” he said.

As always and with time BLPDLP cannibals will eat themselves. A word to those with seeing eyes.

37. Artax

If you believe your own propaganda that Michael Carrington stole his client’s money ….,call the police and get him lock up !

No one is above the law !

Just like the joker you are ……peddling news that Chris Sinckler owns a house in Rolling Hills

When PM Stuart tell you – the Johnnie – to bring the media & camera 🎥 to Rolling Hills – you disappeared

A joker , you are

38. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/74856/owen-attack

Artax

This the issue you and other BLP scallywags have to deal with !

That man OSA will lead to her undoing

39. On November 28, the Government will offer a formal apology to LGBTQ Canadians in the

House – for the persecution & injustices they have suffered, and to advance together on the

path to equality & inclusion.

40. The hierarchy of the third parties and the BLP is responsible for articulating the policies of their respective parties……. NOT ME, nor have I appointed myself to undertake such a task.

However, being the DECEITFUL LYING HYPOCRITICAL DLP yard-fowl you are, you will CONVENIENTLY and PURPOSELY ignore the fact Solutions Barbados policies were on their web-site for over two years……… and last Sunday, publically introduced their “formidable candidates in this election.”

The UPP just released their “mini-manifesto.” The BLP published a “Covenant of Hope” and has been for the past few weeks explaining their policies relative to integrity legislation, transportation and a few other issues.

But, if you want to spin the issue, then it goes both ways…….. since “you and the other DLP operatives are not in any position to DEFEND or ESPOUSE a SOLUTION on BEHALF of the DLP” either, because evidently, “none was given,” which clearly explains that the DLP has no solutions.”

As is SUBSTANTIATED by the fact the ONLY THING you, the Fcuktured JA, Maureen Holder, Mary Sargeant and the other DLP yard-fowls have “espoused” is Mia Mottley and LEC…………

………….while not being “in no position to DEFEND” this inept DLP’s 9 year tenure in office or articulate a policy framework for the future social and economic development of Barbados.

I’m sure you “get it.”

41. Propaganda???????

Through a civil suit, information of which was all over the media, John Griffiths was able to satisfy the Court that Michael Carrington illegally with-held his funds, and the court ordered the dishonest lawyer to pay. I’m sorry Griffiths did not file a criminal suit……..

The shiite nonsense you present to this forum is evident of an inept DLP administration being out of touch with the real issues affecting Barbadians.

But how is it that a woman who was involved in the CLICO fiasco, was able to hide out in Barbados…………

………. and has now CONVENIENTLY SURFACED to claim she owns that house in Rolling Hills and spew questionable information about the same house?

Perhaps you want me to believe YOUR propaganda…………..

42. What RH did Mia Mottley do in 14 years? Easy–WORK! A concept that the lazy DLP Cabinet from PM Stuart down should adopt. We have a current Cabinet that: can’t implement new legislation; can’t get the SC sewerage to work; cant get built houses sold; can’t get built houses tenanted; can’t get garbage collected consistently; can’t fix the roads; can’t provide a reliable water supply; can’t grow the economy above 1%; can’t fill important posts in the public service; can’t attract FDI (only with a wash pan of tax incentives); can’t get projects started; can’t resolve labour issues timely or smoothly. In essence, can’t accomplish one RH but downgrades!
    In view of the above, Mottley’s handling of ‘Glendairy Gate’ alone shows that she has and can accomplish more than the current entire Cabinet. Again, I repeat the true value of Edutech will be realised when some bright university student/researcher/ decides to track the first set of children exposed to Edutech and see how it impacted on their exposure/competence in IT etc. Who remembers when Mottley was Minister of Culture how Crop Over exploded and started to attract younger people and from non-traditional social classes? What about Mottley getting cuss for Edwin Yearwood? What has Edwin achieved since, if not global recognition with his band? Do you know that the best architecturally appealing and structurally sound house built by the UDC or RDC was under Mottley as Minister of Economic Affairs?

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

I think the reparation folks should hire JT, cause between Khadir, the various indigenous people and the LGBTQ he is sharing out nuff money. Maybe he could give them some too?

44. Enuff still awaiting a response as to how Mia would acquire funding to repair or pursue corrective measure in those areas that need to be fix
    Not buying a pig in a bag . Not me

45. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

It is not possible to buy a pig in a bag (regarding Mia Mottley) when what you have right now (DLP Cabinet) is a pack of incompetent thieves, whores and bandits.

They are No _ucking Use……………….none whatsoever.

46. Let's Not Remember the FAILED DLP Avatar
    Let’s Not Remember the FAILED DLP

With the exception of maybe one or two, at the most, everyone else in the DLP Cabinet is a SIMPLETON and a FOOL.

Stuart is a lazy clown
    Sinckler is a clown
    Jones is a fool
    Mlashley is a simpleton
    SLashley is a clown
    JBoyce is a fool
    DBoyce is aclown
    Suckoo is a fool
    Blackette is a fool and a clown
    Donville is a simpleton
    Estwick is a clown
    Sealy is an IDIOT
    Brathwaite is simpleton
    Lowe is a WASTE of space
    Kellman is a CAPITAL FOOL
    Todd is a simpleton
    McClean is a fool and an idiot

47. Ok given all of the above.Are you really insulting the people of barbados for voting for present govt.
    Yet the blp operatives and leadership have not been able to present any viable alternatives that the Fool have implemented
    What does that say for you Fool when you can criticize but cannot replenish

48. This sophisticated political debate is so exciting. Is it the best Barbados has to offer, after decades of free university education?

49. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Looks like everyone has gone crazy.

50. Enuff
    In countering the stupid question as to what MAM did,you forgot that first time event:
    planning and executing Cricket World Cup ’07.The new legislation alone would have made Nitwit baulk and throw his hands in the air.