A few years ago Minister Michael Lashley was the starboy of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). He was complimented for expanding the housing stock, exponentially. He ensured Barbadians erased Liz Thompson’s ‘bumblebee’ prototype from memory. Years later many of the houses built by Lashley with tax dollars are unoccupied or rotted. If we include the Coverley PPP it gets worse. A few years later Minister of Transport and Works Michael Lashley will be recorded in a political footnote as having presided during a period where the state of Barbados roads deteriorated to a level slightly above a cart road.

Of concern to the blogmaster though are observations arising from the waning LEC debate.

Some are of the view now that the LEC debate is behind us, more important issues will be have the space to fuel discussion. What they fail to acknowledge is that the political principals who waylaid Barbadians with the manufactured issue of Mia’s LEC are also responsible for informing and leading the country on the pressing issues of the day.

In his Sunday Column – The Jeff Cumberbatch Column–Non – litigious Resolution of Defamation LawsuitsJeff Cumberbatch shared his view on the LEC matter:

To the best of my knowledge and belief, Ms Mottley has been duly admitted to the local Bars, both Utter and Inner. Unless and until she is removed therefrom or otherwise disbarred by appropriate procedure she remains duly admitted. Omnia praesumuntur rite esse acta [Apologies for the Latin] It means that there is a presumption that acts done through the court are rightly and properly done.

The outcome of the recent court case Mia Mottley vs Barbados Today confirmed that Mia Mottley is qualified to practice law in the Courts of Barbados.

What Barbadians must reflect on is why did the Prime Minster of Barbados- a seasoned lawyer and former Attorney General- not have the knowledge of the law and procedure related the LEC issue. One must assume he did not know because he said nothing.

Although the Attorney General is a legal neophyte and light weight he had the resources of the Solicitor General’s office and other state resources to have been equipped to clarify the LEC matter in  less than 24 hours. Some should recall he promised on the floor of the House of Assembly to investigate the matter. A promise he failed to keep. One must assume he dis not know.

Then there is Hal Gollop, better known to the BU household as a school teacher and musician, who prosecuted the LEC matter recently at a DLP political meeting. What has his failed LEC argument done to injure his reputation as a lawyer? Clearly he was party to a political plot to ‘decapitate’ the leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) a few months from a general election. One must assume he misinterpreted the relevant laws and procedures related to the LEC issue.

The challenge Barbadians face is that we have an obsturate political directorate whose members are willing to crash the economy on the altar of political expediency. Why should intelligent Barbadians expect that this government is able to appreciate what rising oil prices will do to the economy? We are a country with a DEBT to GDP ratio of close to 150% and foreign reserves  cover of 8 weeks. Despite the current state of the economy this inept lot prefers to try to hoodwink Bajans by floating a silly debate anchored to Mia’s qualification to practice law in Barbados.

Imagine if Stuart, Brathwaite and Gollop were able to put heads together to promote a component of transparency legislation promised from day one? Wasn’t Gollop contracted to draft a roadmap to assist with moving Barbados to a Republic? Didn’t Stuart and Brathwaithe promise to examine existing to electoral laws to address what they admitted to irregularities that occurred last general election?

238 responses to “The Prime Minister, Attorney General and Gollop the QC”

1. Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut N Paste At Your Service

Ha, Ha Hal…your lie about being a world class journalist…had a tiny element of truth to it, did it not….now who was being immoral with their pretense of being this great journalist and when called up, reversed course….in ya demented wannabe journalist state.

was it you are I.

have you learned nothing about glass houses and stones..

i throw boulders.

2. When the BLP operatives set out to do shite out of desperation, THe stinks it leaves on their image is note worthy because it is a “tell” which sends a message that the BLP camp and their foot soldiers are untruthful and deceitful and would stop at nothing to achieve their goals .
    Here is a Photo which a Blp foot soldier post an equivalent to FAKE unfounded by fact.
    How SAD and despicable . These are the type of people whose desire are to manage this country , a bowl full of liars and scumbags and scalawags . God how desperate can they get a god dam FAKE PHOTO
    What next ?

3. Are the parties vying for government going to investigate the sudden wealth of members of the present government or is such wealth the spoils of war?

4. I glad HAL get exposed by Well well !!

HAL – a journalist me ar$e !!!!!

5. Fractured Dunce I got a prposition for you,since I notice that since Mr Elliot Mottleys disclousure of the facts on Brasstacks I have not heard a response from Mr Audain or Mr Gollop why don,t you take up the mantle andeither go before Ms Mottley,s face and repeat what you are hiding on BU saying or take the matter to court along with SSs and Bush Tea,i dare you.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lorenzo

I might have a few thousand but I certainly ain’t got no millions, well not yet at least. Every cent I have, I worked hard for it. Never had to make no deals, never had to hide behind politics to get my tax free kick backs or cars from people in special arrangements. I never had to use power to hide my corrupt activities. Your Mia Mottley is a rascal. A pretensive, lying rascal. A two face power hungry rascal, and let me tell you now, I am going to make sure when I start back the posters that I have at least three or four on her, pertaining to all the money she has gotten from deals just like what her nemesis Dr. Low Lowe is doing. She is a wicked bitch, willing to take matters that far and no further.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

TELL HER BRING THE LAW SUIT: YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHO OR WHAT I AM AND WHAT I KNOW. I HAVE ENOUGH ON THE BLP TO BURY THE THIEVING BITCHES LIKE MOTTLEY, PAYNE; CLARKE AND A FEW OTHERS. YOU ARE STUPID BLIND ASS LAP DOG WHO IS HAPPY WITH A FEW CRUMBS. AGAIN WHAT HAS MOTTLEY PROMISE YOU?

8. Deja vu!

Didnt we hear/read this last election cycles read Hardwood, 3S, Golden Shower etc?

Stuepe.

9. Ha !Ha David bu all over the place posting fake news articles in an atempt to lower the temperature burning under Mia Mottley LEC issue.
    Her foot soldiers have no shame

10. David

Its getting to be a real turnoff for senior citizens as we have heard it all before from both sides……now we are going to hear more of the same from the newbies as well.

What we are lacking is a group of individuals with a workable and sustainable plan that meets the long term vision for Bim, to bring it to the people in order to galvanise them into productive action.

We live in hope that something will appear in the next 6 months.

11. Barbados short term and long term plans are WISHING for more Tourists and HOPING for

more FDI and that the sale of the BNTCL is approved.

Listen to Sparrow.

12. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Hal Austin November 11, 2017 at 7:57 AM “the spoils of war?”

What war you talkin’ ’bout?

Oh you mean the war on the pockets of the taxpayers.

I got hit by one of those war missiles bom this week when a lil’ Grantley which I sent for a birthday present for Little Johnnie’s baby cousin overseas got hit by the 2% foreign exchange tax.

Who would believe that a government would juck a little child right in its birthday present?

13. LOL @ Hants
    You is a true boss Hants.

We are like someone whose plan for the future…
    – while walking in the valley of the shadow of death..
    – is to win the Lotto….
    …and ride off into the sunset.

14. Dr. Simple Simon Phd Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd

@Hants November 11, 2017 at 11:02 AM “Listen to Sparrow.”

never heard this one before.

I wonder if it is one that was banned from radio play?

15. @ Dr Simple
    …never heard this one before.
    Yuh LIE!!

…you probably just refused to listen…..

16. SSS,you like like you getting hot ,I do not care how hot you get you cannot scare me Dem.All I ask you to do is bring the evidence,stop stalling ,I have heard all this prior to 2008 from your dead deceitful king.Up to now ten years later not a boy in at Dodds so spare me the drama,bring the proof or stfu.I do not care who you think you are,you need a reality check.By the way Ms Mottley is not a friend of mine so like you I do not depend on any politician and I know she is not afraid of you,Fractured Dem or Bush Tea so when you coming come good.People in glass houses should never throw stones since when you throw one ten coming back at you.

17. Thophilius Gazerts 120 Avatar
    Thophilius Gazerts 120

Hants throws in a few nuggets that stimulates old brain cells.
    It is possible, that in Simple’s case, those brain cells are dead…

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Dr. Simple….the skunks would never had banned that one, pimps that they are.

19. Thophilius Gazerts 120 Avatar
    Thophilius Gazerts 120

Seems as if third parties are out.

Bajans are not going to put the reins in the hands of an inexperienced group. We need thieves with experience…

I think I will support the bunch of crooks most likely to steal less. Which one you think that is? The one with the LEC or without?

I gine wid you.

20. Lorenzo

Yuh BLP lackey !

You gine some Sunshine in yuh tail !!!

Tek dat !!!!

Yuh MAM cesspool cleaner !!!

Leh she (MAM) come and clean up she mess herself !!!

She was the ” LAW.” student 👨‍🎓

Did she complete the course ??

21. Fractured Dunce neither SSS ,Bushie or you can frighten me,as I said bring the evidence or STFU moron.What you got next the Pegesus or Canoan Tapes because the stumps has been pulled and the umpires have left the field on this LEC subject.Listening for Mr Gollop or Mr Audain where are they,in hiding?

22. It was interesting to listen to Elliott Mottley when he rebutted Audain’s challenge to his use of ‘stay’ of the matter. Elliott had to explain that although a Consent Order was agreed away from the ruling of the court per se if the agreement was not adhered to by the parties the Court had the option to enforce. Does anyone know if as stated by Mottley f the articles published by BT have been removed?

It was unusual that Mottley and Vere Brathwaite were bold to call the program but Audain was at ease sending an email.

23. @ Lorenzo
    Boss .. why don’t you let Gabriel do the talking nuh…?!!
    Nobody has time for your lotta shiite talk…..

Bushie has NO interest or intention of ‘frightening’ you….. just in stating FACTS, and asking reasonable questions.
    If THAT pisses you or Mia off…. so be it.
    Sue Vincent….

Steupsss..
    Wunna and wunna ‘sue’ shiite!!!
    Don’t you know that HONEST people with NOTHING to hide, just come to the public with the FACTS …to clarify such inevitable allegations?
    Only damn crooks and gangsters with skeletons in their closets seek to hide behind lawsuits….and to silence the allegations by force or legal trickery.

24. Lorenzo

Why you don’t go and serve MAM her cup of evening tea ☕️?

Yuh Mottley ” errand boy ” !

You believe the general election start yet ?? If you behaving so frantically already you in BIG trouble !!

Think of these 2 questions to understand the cesspool you in :

Why you think George Payne tell Owen leave MAM alone ???

2 . Why the same George Payne ain’t tell the Dems leave MAM alone about the LEC issue nor Dale Marshall either ??

You could recite wha’ Edmund Hinkson , Liz Thompson and Elliott Mottley tell BARBADIANS about MAM LEC saga !!!!!

Not a squeak ……..from George nor Dale !!!!

By the way I hope it is not the same George Payne who has Edmund Hinkson in court fuh DEFAMATION !!!!!

Nasty BLP style ………..UNITY !!!!

25. Bushie no one speaks for me but meand you do not frighten me so do not even try.What facts you have or you mean innuendo.Present the facts in court and stop hiding as Bush Tea on BU,simple or STFu jackass.

26. David

Why you don’t give it a rest ?

MAM ain’t want to go in Court with this LEC bomb !

Barbados Today and it’s lawyers knows this !

If Elliott and MAM have a problem with the article being still up ……go to Court !!

Let the case be decided on the ..,….FACTS !!!

David…….why are you always falling for the Mottley ‘ s ……SKULDUGGERY ???

Unless ……you like um too. 👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽 !!

27. Continue to bray like the proverbial jackass. If Mia goes back to court to enforce the consent order it wouldn’t be debated on the issue of whether he has a LEC which was never the issue by the way, it would be based on basis of not complying with the court order JA.

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lorenzo

We ain’t talking fear hear pooch licker. The last thing the SSS trying to do is frighten anyone, but let me tell you plain and clear, your BLP could not hide all their nasty secrets. You all should be careful who the hell you plan to unfair and go on thinking that you can muzzle people with fear tactics. In good time the proof will be provided, but not just yet. You are a real house rat, who do not give a shite about Barbados but precious stinking lying party. Like I said, you do not know me and the BLP will eventually pay for all their cover up crimes, just like the stinking DLP will be pay for theirs as well.

29. David

You remain out to sea on yuh moses !!!

This case beyond your comprehension , right now .

Stay tuned to see how it develops.

30. Out to see like Hal Gollop.

31. Doubting David

32. Bushie

Wah rung wid yuh.wuh yuh callin mu nem fuh…..ah juss cum en frun de cuntry pun dem bahd nasty pot hole roads…..wuhloss

Has anybody been to Belleplaine recently……once the the third town of Bim…….trees and bush growing all over the place…..childrens hostel,magistrate court,post office,community center,side of the road and dont talk about the Farley hill road.

33. SsS,the drama queenwho you believe you are your DLp buddies got skeletons in their closet as well so make sure all the secrets exposed not just the BLp,jackass.I told you beforeyouare aDem ass licker trying to appear neutral but you ain,t dealing with no ten year old I see right through you as you are no different to Fractured and Bushie and indeed we shall see what we shall see.

34. Vincent

Blame George Payne for the poor state of St. Andrew roads and once proud institutions.

He is busy preparing himself to face Edmund Hinkson in the Supreme Court !

St. Andrew once the Glory City .,…..now presided over by a Pain in de A$$ !’

35. Poor you….yuh really fractured en trufe…..after 10 years of nothing,you want me to blame the idiot Payne….

Come June we will take back the party you idiots destroyed and remake it…….yuh likle boy stfup.

36. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…Fractured…what about St. John and the useless Mara Thompson.

37. @ Vincent
    …trees and bush growing all over the place..
    Boss, it is like a wild jungle. Hard to believe that human beings actually live here….
    Damn place used to be clean and ordered back when we had nothing except for a little human pride…

Now we got all these crooks driving around in imported Government luxury rides (and stolen imported land rovers) and the whole island looks like a dump.

If cleanliness is next to Godliness, then it does not take much thought to work out WHERE we are now…. even without reference to the shiite monument that the JAs built at de Garrison…

Seriously though Vincent, yuh gotta take your hats off to the Pitbull-turned-shiite-hound who, with a straight face, dug up the sugar cane that we grew for centuries… and planted river tamarind all over the Right Honourable place…

Have you EVER heard of any shiite sooo idiotic…? …..in your WHOLE life…?
    Boss, if the evidence was not there to see all along the highway …
    Bushie would REFUSE To BELIEVE than a man could be so foolish….

..WAIT!!!
    This is the same fella that dismantle a whole sugar factory and gave away the parts .. BEFORE he had worked out how to finance a replacement…???/
    ha ha ha ha
    Oh shiirttt!!
    ‘Brass bowls’ is too good a term to describe the people ’bout here….
    The minister of agriculture is a Right Honourable JA…
    …and ‘Mr Agriculture’ of VOB ‘Brass Tacks’ fame …is a damn crop thief….

38. Bushie

What is so sad is that houses and surroundings of the peoples property is pristine with home improvements for Xmas being done…..but……bush and trees growing out of all the govt properties.

One must ask the question where did we get this lot lacking in brought upsy from no interest in keeping country looking good.

When you recall that they would have have had poor grandparents like all of us who used to make sure that the little board and shingle outside and inside looked good……what went wrong?

39. @ Vincent
    When you recall that they would have have had poor grandparents like all of us who used to make sure that the little board and shingle outside and inside looked good……what went wrong?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You playing that you don’t know..??!!

Those ‘poor grandparents’ were loaded with spiritual values, community mindedness, and personal pride.
    Like you, the current ‘leaders’ we are saddled with, DISCARDED those values and concentrated instead on stupid materialistic measures of their worth.

Bushie agrees that there were many gaps and weaknesses in our grand parent’s spiritual dogma, but the CORRECT answer was for us to research, understand, refine, and IMPROVE those values as we developed our education…. not to follow the albino-centric monsters of this world and dump baby and bathwater for jobby…

Now we are reaping the fruit…..

40. Bushie

Ah gine leh dah one pass outside off stump.

I had a good day with the peeps in the Scotland District who have majority owner occupied properties and are surviving against the odds…..ah feeling mellow.

41. Fractured BLP

I want to know how come the Democratic Labour Party owes CBC $109,609 for broadcasting political messages on credit…………….. but refused money from other political parties to broadcast their messages?

42. Artax

Have you brought your land tax bills up to date ?

Your NIS up to date ?

Your corporation tax up to date ?

Your income tax up to date ?

So if you ain’t pay up ?

Why chide someone or an entity if they are following your example ???

Yuh do do …..🤖🤖🤖🤖🤖!!!!!

43. The next red man to go is ……MAM !!

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/102041/change-heart

The red rascals had a lot to say & march ’bout – but their tail get expose on TV 📺 during the Social Partnership meeting.

44. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Lorenzo

Where the heck you bought your dose of idiot from? I would advise you to change dealers because you are foolish and blind is shite. I hope you ain’t pay the ACs for a double portion of fool because only fools do not see how foolish they are. I have stated on here numerous times that I supported the DLP, that I voted DLP, and that I have no regard for the BLP. Now, at this very moment, I despise the DLP as much as I despise the BLP. Thieving is the hallmark of both parties and cover ups are the practice of these crooks. You want the proof! Go to the reports of the Auditor General. Behind every financial impropriety is or was an operative of both parties distributing to the money accordingly. My position on bajan politics is that it is of no benefit to the general population and that both stinking parties are interested mainly in enriching themselves and all lap dogs who pledge allegiance to their secrecy and crimes. I cannot support that. Barbados is at the crossroads of increasing poverty and suffering. Are you interested in that? What type of shite could you be because you are no ordinary piece of shit. Tell me, someone supporting the DLP would be speaking this ill about what they have done to the country or dying to see people like stinking Low Lowe, Lying Sincklar, Deceitful Stuart, In the money Lashley, Two face ignorant Kellman placed before a Corruptions Committee to answer to several controveries involving the stupid spending of public money, or unaswered accounting anomalies? You are an idiot, Lórenzo. Your type of blind loyalty is the reason why Barbados appears in the eyes of others as a backward stupid people. Johnny come again, do not sell your soul for a few pieces of Sir Grantleys. Sell for several millions. YOu got to be worth something more than just a defender of the other half of the corrupt political class.

45. The type of comments people like you post is a product of a filthy and unhealthy mins. Karma is a bitch.

46. David

You sound very grumpy this morning !

You had your usual breakfast filling of horse 🐴 oats and mash ???

47. SSS this is my last response to you,i am not a member of any party ,I think for myself but I know how deceitful some of you are.The Dems because of being did gruntled with the lack of performance of their party want to talk about DLp/BLP same thing.Well guess what that ain,t cutting it with me.All of a sudden you bringing back this old talk of corruption in the BLp and all I told you was to produce the evidence.You sound like the dead king who talked about the same corruption along with an expose of some secret IMF deal and St John Devellopement Plan and we knoe the result of these so if you know so much I am waiting for you to produce it,no lotta long talk,comprende.Let me end by saying I see and help people struggling almost everyday that is why a change is needed but to experienced people not no bunch of newbies like Solutions Barbados as running a country is not running a business,i gone.

48. Fcuktured BLP

I PAID my land tax despite the drastic increase in the valuation and taxes due……

My NIS is ALWAYS up-to-date…….

I FILED my corporation tax return on June 15, 2017 and paid the taxes due……..

Despite NOT BEING PAID my income tax refunds for 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015……. I am still obligated to fulfill the statutory requirement of FILING an income tax return for 2016……….

And unlike the Democratic Labour Party, I DON’T OWE any establishment that provided me with goods and services on credit……….

Now that your questions have been answered………….

Why is it that the Democratic Labour Party (the ruling administration) is INDEBTED to the state-owned agency, CBC, in the amount of $109,609?

49. Hal Austin November 11, 2017 at 7:57 AM #
    Are the parties vying for government going to investigate the sudden wealth of members of the present government or is such wealth the spoils of war?

Hal, if any member of the current government is suddenly wealthy, I am sure that they had a wealthy grandmother or godparent who passed away and left them a fortune.

How else could it be?

Surely you would not suspect any of the current lot as being involved in anything unscrupulous?

Surely not!