Barbados Today Online newspaper was today [30.10.2017] ordered by the Barbados Court to pay Leader of the Opposition an undisclosed settlement resulting from an article it posted that questioned her qualification to practice law in Barbados.

307 responses to “Barbados Today Online Newspaper Ordered to PAY Mia Mottley”

1. @Hants

The political temperature is beginning to rise. It is shaping up to be a dosey!

2. This is wonderful news. You got to staunch the bleeding. Ms Mottley should not stop there, she should now pick one of the loud mouths and make an example of them – sue, go for punitive damages, given all this started as the general election approaches, and if they cannot pay, then deprive them of their homes and take a charge on their pensions..
    At least we now know the Barbados courts can work sometimes, depending on who you are.

3. LEC what? Who cares about LEC? Some paper from the bushes.

There was no LEC when Irnerius the Mystical founded Bologna Law School 900 years ago from the ashes of Constantinople and when Accursius the Great wrote his Glossa Ordinaria.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

And this is why the “lawsuit” and it’s timing is in such serious question and deemed a devious ploy from the beginning, but never mind that, we await the blowback…….the important thing….yardfowls have scattered..lol

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/101717/money-mia-lawsuit

“Money for Mia after lawsuit
    Barbados Today will have to pay up. Opposition Leader Mia Mottley will receive an undisclosed sum of money after winning a lawsuit against the online newspaper yesterday. The two parties agreed that the terms of compensation would remain confidential. Mottley had sued the company and its Editor-in-Chief Kaymar Jordan following two published articles which questioned Mottley’s credibility and eligibility to practise law in Barbados.”

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bushman……we are both on to something……..to make this even worse, I know without a doubt that Leslie Haynes is also Peter Harris’ lawyer for CGI Insurance and has been for years …..and Mottley Sr…..was Harris’ and CGI Insurance long before that, there was no need for Haynes, as Harris’ current lawyer to appear on Mia’s behalf, while still attorney for Harris owner of barbadostoday, that was quite the sham……

……..these are the types of incestous misuse of the supreme court that ranks the island as a banana republic…

“Mottley’s lawyers, Queen’s Counsel Elliott Mottley and Leslie Haynes, along with Stewart Mottley, successfully argued before Justice Sonia Richards in the High Court .”

6. Well maybe good news for Mottley financially but still does not remove the owness for Mottley when she stated in Parliament that she will show proff of having a LEC which up to present time she has not shown.

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Disgusting that the attorney general maliciously sat by and allowed yardfowls to use the blogs to spread lies across the country, when all of them, Dumbville, Lowe and Fruendel knew the truth, but Lowe and all of them used it as political ploy to deceive the electorate into reelecting a useless government…..if that is not misuse of the computer….by yardfowls…I dont know what is……

…..when the Misuse of Computer Act comes into being….yardfowls should be the first ones charged along with Adriel Nitwit, Lowe and Fruendel.

8. Do you even understand or try that Mia Mottley does not have a LEC? She was one of a few who was allowed to practice without. Your head cannot be so hard.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

And here is the dumbest of yardfowls….sounding dumber than usual….lol

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah change my mind, the whole cabinet want locking up….after the electorate kicks them all out, and kick them out they will, I was not planning to vote…but…..

All of this is too much and keeps the osland in the dark ages permanently.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/10/30/near-90-year-old-anti-corruption-law-will-do-stuart/

“Near 90-year-old anti-corruption law will do – Stuart
    Added by Colville Mounsey on October 30, 2017.

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is suggesting that a near 90-year-old piece of anti-corruption legislation that predates the 1937 riots is sufficient.

In response to calls by Opposition Leader Mia Mottley to beef up the laws in a bid to root out corruption, Stuart told a meeting last night of ruling Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) Christ Church branches there was no need for any other such laws despite the fact that people were alleging that “corruption was rife in Barbados because the Government had not proclaimed the Prevention of Corruption Act”.

“Long before the riots happened in 1937 when people looking like us in this room were not occupying the House of Assembly and when people like us in this room were not dominating the economy of Barbados, in 1929 a Bill was passed in Parliament which is still the law of the land entitled the Prevention Corruption Act. So it is not true to say that this is not on the statute books,” Stuart said.

In her reply to the 2017 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals presented by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler on May 30, Mottley disclosed what she called wanton acts of corruption by the DLP administration.”

11. Where is Fractured Blp maybe hiding somewhere.Ms motley should find out his identity ,along with CCc and Angela Skeete and throw a lawsuit in all three of them along with some on Barbados today like Mark my Word,ArhcyPerch and Saga Boy and challenge Dr Lowe to make his comments outside of Paliament.

12. Try all you want to dismiss However rooted in this issue is a stench of corruption that would allow special privileges to one sect and deny to others .
    The issue of corruption is what Mottley Stated would be high on her priority list but if she is genuine in her new pursuit instead of running and hiding behind the law courts to defend by action of defiance with a motivation to prove individuals wrong Mottley would have been ever more motivated to use herself as an sample that being privileged should not be a guarantee to by pass law in favor of any form of favoritism that can show doubt or suspicious motives of any kind
    Her absence of having or her quickness to haul by way justice to close the mouths of those who questions her legal barometer only sends a wave of further doubt to how privilege can supersede what is right in favour of an action to do or correct what is wrong

13. Your hignorance knoweth no bounds!

14. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Yardfowls are the most insipidly stupid clowns and should never be allowed to remain on the earth…

That is what 50 years of political blight has produced….across the Caribbean.

The present government should not get one seat in the coming election…in payment for their attempt to deceive the electorate to be reelected…..and bajans get to see that because of the lawsuit….despite all the other motives involved.

Because that was the intent….deceive and lie to the public….to be reelected.

Gollop should be sued, disgusting yardfowl he is.

15. Of course i will expect that true to form response from you David BU However as long as Mottley continues to not answer the real knowledge of her receiving a LEC when others are required to do so a stench of corruption which gave way to a wrong will linger even though most of Mottley yardfowl supporters will continue to stand bold faced and say that it is RIGHT
    Her going way of the court does not i any way closed that door .

16. angela Skeete October 31, 2017 at 5:24 AM #

“Well maybe good news for Mottley financially but still does not remove the owness for Mottley when she stated in Parliament that she will show proff of having a LEC which up to present time she has not shown.”

Angela Cox/Skeete/ac

is a jackasses and her ignorance and stupidity are inexpressible………… which I have proven several times in this forum and is further substantiated by the above comments.

The DLP has to be PAYING her to defend the party in this forum, because I cannot believe an individual could be so stupid as to blindly support a political party to this extent.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The end result….the LEC matter is closed.

Now to make sure no yardfowl from Fruendel’s gang ever sees the inside of parliament again, when the electorate votes them all out….soon, cause yall cannot stop time.

The government gambled by lying to the public to be reelected and it backfired.,, tremendously..out you go.

Whatsapp is on fire with the government lies…..out you go.

18. @ angela skeete .. ” privileged should not be a guarantee to by pass law ..”

Idiot. This has nothing to do with privilege, it ahs to do with transition arrangements of prodecure.

But I have noticed that others in your faction have used that word a few times recently ‘privilege’.

Seems that the chips are hard to remove, even if having power for nine years should have eroded any sense of inferiority.

Looks like the DLP line for this election is ‘privilege’ vs the common man.

Stupse. Mediocre minds make mediocre approach to policies.

That is the real issue. Those that some are claiming to be privileged were simply of a higher caliber than the accusers.

Mottley vs …..?? Lol

What a laugh. She is head and shoulders above any of the JA’s.

They just cannot get over it. Guess who seems to be the prime culprit?

Sad, but unfortunately it impacts us all, that jealousy, that venom.

Goes back to what I have said before, a donkey in a stable is not a racehorse.

Thought I was joking?

19. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

David, Artax, as I’ve typed here several times before, Hal Gollop is no idiot, he is a DLP lackie and Fumble ass-kisser.

Further, I know for a fact that he is aware of, and complicit in, the teefin’ that goes right up to his legal partner and PM Fumble.

Consider him no different to Goebbels in Hitler’s Bunker in May 1945. He is a committed disciple who will go down with his Fuehrer.

Most of the rest have more sense, they’ll be headed for Switzerland, Argentina etc. where their stolen loot has been stashed.

20. @FB

It is not just about Hal it is Michael Yearwood et al, a long coat tail!

21. I cannot believe someone could be so ignorant. The yard-fowl is purposely manipulating the FACTS for purposes of her political agenda.

Firstly, Mottley NEVER “stated in Parliament that she will show proff of having a LEC,” and Skeete knows that is a lie.

Secondly, by mentioning “this issue is a stench of corruption that would allow special privileges to one sect and deny to others,” the jackass yard-fowl has IMPLICATED Errol Barrow, who presented Mottley to the Bar in the UK; former DLP Attorney General Maurice King and the entire DLP administration that was at the helm of government in 1987, as ACCESSORIES to committing the crime.

Ignore Skeete/Cox………..the FACTS are there for all to read……….. it is best to let her spew shiite in a futile attempt to “save face.”

22. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

I wonder what the next mind game would be!

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Yardfowls are too stupid to understand that some transitions creates vacuums because of long processing, vacuums must be filled, most times with exemptions…..

Just like Ha, Ha….not understanding simple math…

…. simple legal techniques escape stupid yardfowls…

Ya cant cure stupid…there is just no cure, not even the brightest medical minds can help..

Lol

24. According to Freundel Stuart, the DEMS are in a “dark room looking for a black cat.”

The next “mind game” will be:

“Investigation into allegations of wiretapping Resolution No. 7 passed at the (DLP) 62nd Annual Conference 2017.”

“BE IT RESOLVED that this conference calls on the Attorney General’s office to clear the air on this matter and reassure citizens that such practice is not used in Barbados without the consent of the court.”

25. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

They can’t risk that Artax, it is going on right now on the instructions of COP and AG.

That windowless building in Station Hill got more minders now than ever.

26. Excuse Bushie!!!
    ….but the REAL JAs in all this …are us Bajan brass bowls.

The sad truth is that Mottley is many time smarter than all of the DLP Sh…hounds put together.

The sadder truth is that she TOO is a piss poor leader, with all of the wrong characteristics to be a successful leader of a country of brass bowls.
    That she would have chosen to seek a waiver on doing the LEC – when she wanted a PUBLIC life as a politician …speaks volumes of her character.

It is also clear to Bushie that she orchestrated this sham with Barbados Today to outfox the dumb DLP, and that the ‘settlement’ is probably $20…. again a clear character signal.

In the midst of all this nonsense, we the BBs continue to be consumed with such trivia – while the country accelerates toward unprecedented chaos….

Do wunna people have ANY idea of how devastating and distressing a bankrupt, out-of-control, little shiite country can be ….when idiocy is allowed to rule…?

Steupsss…

27. So Bushman, re “It is also clear to Bushie that she orchestrated this sham with Barbados Today to outfox the dumb DLP, and that the ‘settlement’ is probably $20…. again a clear character signal.” are you saying that this was nothing more than a Harris campaign contribution – assuming much more than just $20.

You either never saw a conspiracy with which you did not fall deeply in love or you got an inside track to this whole thing.

Incidentally if rules get change when I am studying and I qualify under the old rules and would need to do another two years or so of study to certify under the new rules, are you really suggesting that I should be so altruistic and forego two years of actual real work in my profession to go and listen to colleagues of Jeff simply to ace a bunch of courses….about which I am already ‘read in’.

Dat make sense to you Bushie!

That course work certainly didn’t make her younger peers any more ethical or full of integrity in ther public life, so what the hell would it have really meant to her except time…

Yah got me kerfuffled on that one.

I may agree that she is a piss-poor character as a leader but as you said the lady is a smart whipper-snapper … to do as you suggest would have branded her as stupid, quite frankly.

She did what any of us would have done given the same circumstances and opportunity.

We have to be fair and rational on that.

28. Well I am very heartened by the glee of the BLP supporters on this blog for Mia Mottley in her ” victory over the Barbados Today ”

The best response on this thread so far is Jeff Cumberbatch comments on October 30, 2017 @ 8:30 PM

Well well comments at 8:32 PM on the said date & thread…….essentially shows that he smells a RAT with this issue.

The simple facts of this matter so far is that MAM in her guilt fell for the bait set by Barbados Today.

Here are the questions that must be answered still on this matter :

• Why does MAM – up today – remains unregistered to practice law in England and Wales after studying over there for her ” Law Degree ” ???

• It is well know now that she does not have a LEC to practise in the Caribbean either , isn’t this true ???

Therefore , did she complete her Law Degree in England ??

Does she possess a double major degree – that is Law with another subject matter ?

So this matter ain’t going away at ALL !!!

MAM was the student in all of this – she has to declare what she studied and what success she reaped ???

So again I repeat it is going to be a ……..Long Exceptionally Cold (LEC) …….winter season.

Stay tuned !!!!!

29. de pedantic Dribbler October 31, 2017 at 8:59 AM

On point and well stated.

Except to say that so far her leadership skills are proven…..the greater test will come shortly.

30. Thank you depedantic! I guess she shouldn’t pay her land tax within the 10% discount window either.😂😂
    The actual cut off was 1980 prior to the 1985 amendment, agreed to by ALL. Remember Caswell’s post? Horse Gallop has no shame eh…integrity? #bwalegalfees

31. Jeff Cumberbatch at 8:19 PM of October 30, 2017

32. The BLPites are jumping with glee on this matter

Yet the same Barbados Today – through their publication on Pg 3 of their October 30 . 2017 is still asking for MAM ‘s qualifications through the charges of Hal Gollop ?

Barbadians are waiting patiently on MAM

She better tell the TRUTH

Before someone has to EXPOSE her !!!

Stay tuned ……for those who have the intestinal fortitude !!!!!

33. There is a real risk that in trying to be clever, the online bullies who operate behind their masks, will repeat the libel against Mia Mottley. I am sure she has her advisers, but she should go after every one of them. But power without responsibility is the prerogative of the harlot.

34. @ Dribbler
    Incidentally if rules get change when I am studying and I qualify under the old rules and would need to do another two years or so of study to certify under the new rules, are you really suggesting that I should be so altruistic and forego two years of actual real work in my profession to go and listen to colleagues of Jeff simply to ace a bunch of courses….about which I am already ‘read in’.
    Bushie is suggesting that if this is how you genuinely feel about it, you would have used your considerable clout over thirty years in government, to PREVENT all the other unlucky morons following you from having to waste THEIR two years listening to colleagues of Jeff …instead of doing real work….

Any failure by her to redress the LEC shiite sends a clear signal to Bushie that it IS indeed a worthwhile pursuit …and therefore that Mottley is the poorer for having missed it….

Meanwhile, another silly analogy from enuff…
    Boss… EVERYONE can benefit from tax discount by paying early.
    If Mottley told that benefit while no one else could, then Bushie would take the same position.

Why don’t you leave the analogies to people who actually get it…? 🙂

35. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Bush Tea at 10 :27 AM

” If Mottley hold that benefit while no one else could, then Bushie will take the same position.”

BT, I ” actually did not get it’ either. Am I to infer that persons in Mottley’s circumstances did not benefit from the accommodation which you implied she did? Is that on all fours with the published facts? I am just asking ?

36. BT
    And anyone meeting the criteria was entitled to the exemption. #🚫talkingshyte

37. Have any of you ever been to a party in Sandy Lane or Fort George Heights or any of the

upper class gated enclaves where the Black elite live ?

38. @ Bernard
    Sincere apologies…. typed in a heated rush.

A person planning to live a public life of service would be well advised to cross all their tees and dot all their ‘eyes’.

Mottley COULD have followed the then law …and go and do the damn LEC. It would have been a sacrifice -JUST AS IT WAS FOR EVERYONE AFTERWARDS. Instead, she took advantage of her entitled status and of the loophole that was created (as is normal in Barbados) for a man who was ‘above’ such things as studying in Trickidad.

If Dribbler now says that the LEC is a waste of damn time …and of two years of productive work, then all Bushie is saying that if that is Mottley’s opinion , she should subsequently have used her position of power in parliament over the last thirty years, to REMOVE the need to waste time doing the damn LEC …..on behalf of the hundreds who followed her.

That she did NOT do so, tells the bushman that she thinks it to be a worthwhile sacrifice for lawyers to make…..
    It then follows that she herself, has been shortchanged by NOT doing it….

Look, Bushie feels that there is something inherently evil about all lawyers. It can be no coincidence that so many are crooks, so perhaps Mia is the better for not having undergone the year of study that is ….Loaded with Evil Content (LEC)….

Point is – there are no winners for Barbados in all this shiite talk.
    This whole LEC basa basa is much like Hal Austin…..
    Just when you THINK that you have been rid of the pest for 40 damn years
    it shows up in your face on BU infesting the damn place with lotta shiite…
    …thanks to technology….

39. @ enuff
    What is the criteria?

The following persons are eligible for 10% tax rebate:
    1- enuff who writes a lotta CSME shiite on BU and ends with a #hashtag
    2- all those JAs living in London for 40 years+, who have been banned from Barbados Today
    3- Pelous of the Vincent variety.
    4- any others born between Feb 30th and 31st, and before 1950.

Boss. There are criteria and criterium.

So when Mia put you as Fine Ants minister, will you be taking advantage of a special 80% tax rebate – based on some obscure ‘criterium’ set by your ministry too…?

#whotalkingshiiteboss

40. @Bush Tea

Not following you here. Isnt the LEC a regional position taken by Caricom countries?

41. I know that criterium is a bicycle race of nuff laps round a track too, which is exactly what you are doing now–gine round in circles both voluntarily and involuntarily. Like CSME, BT out tuh sea, like the Dems, pon this one.

42. The Council of Legal Education (Caribbean) offers to common law professionally trained persons a six-month course of training leading to the award of the Legal Education Certificate which is recognized in the participating territories as the professional qualification for admission to practice. The course begins in September and ends in March in each year.

http://nmls.edu.jm/programmes/6-month-programme/

43. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar

Hants October 31, 2017 at 2:17 PM #
    The Council of Legal Education (Caribbean) offers to common law professionally trained persons a six-month course of training leading to the award of the Legal Education Certificate which is recognized in the participating territories as the professional qualification for admission to practice.

Hants, should that not read: “The LEC is the qualification required to be invited to the Bar and consequent admission to practice’?

My point being, LEC or not, no lawyer can practice without admission to the Bar and it is up the the Bar to ensure that their own qualifications have been met.

44. David G. Brooks Avatar

So this DLP Govt changing the Law to allow the existing Chief Justice to get the job, is all fine and dandy. Oh, how we love double standards.

45. Fcuktured BLP

is also showing her ignorance.

As at 3:26pm, October 31, 2017, Barbados Today has not updated their news items from yesterday morning, as such, the Hal Gollop story remains on their web-site.

Therefore, it is erroneous for her to suggest that “Barbados Today – through their publication on Pg 3 of their October 30, 2017 is still asking for MAM‘s qualifications through the charges of Hal Gollop.”

After all the “pompasetting” she displayed prior to Sunday’s branch meeting, I thought Fcuktured BLP and the DEMS were in possession of definitive evidence to prove Mottley was an “unqualified lawyer.”

Instead, they brought Hal Gollop to impress gullible yard-fowls by talking shiite.

As it relates to Jeff Cumberbatch’s contribution, the yard-fowl missed an important point. Cumberbatch mentioned: “Ms Mottley DID NOT HAVE TO PROVE ANYTHING. There is a presumption of falsity applying to all defamatory statements.”

Fcuktured yard-fowl, Mottley does not have to answer your questions or prove anything to you, the DEMS or Hal Gollop.

You accused her of being an unqualified lawyer. Therefore, (and based on Cumberbatch’s response), the onus is on you to “to establish the truth of what was published (and the questions you asked).”

46. And since we are on the topic of “unqualified lawyers,” her is a question for Fucktured BLP, Angela Cox/Skeete/ac, the DEMS and Hal Gollop:

If Marston Gibson was QUALIFIED to be Chief Justice of Barbados, why did this inept DLP administration have to CHANGE the LAW to facilitate his appointment?

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“It is also clear to Bushie that she orchestrated this sham with Barbados Today to outfox the dumb DLP, and that the ‘settlement’ is probably $20…. again a clear character signal.”

Try election campaign finance,a scam “lawsuit” an incoming government got bought, but wont it be super nice if the opposition in waiting, dont get any majority seats either.

48. Mr Bush Tea , shoot up your emergency flare, please…because you got everything and everyone lost out to sea as the gentlemen suggested. Stop drifting like those two seafarers off Tahiti. LOL.

Pray advise where in my dry cynicism about lack of integrity and ethics which I attributed rather cavalierly as a part of the LEC course work, did I suggest that lawyers in general would ” waste THEIR two years listening to colleagues of Jeff …instead of doing real work….”.

I realize you were in a rush and conflated me with @Bernard but it appears you also did not read the post really.

I simply intimated that technically she had already covered the requirements that the LEC was initiated to standardize and in that regard she certainly would have considered it a waste of HER time to do the process….As any other lawyer caught in that time-warp of the rules change.

So your point about her redressing “the LEC shiite” is incomprehensible to me.

I actually was not aware that the LEC as a regional mandate was considered onerous, unnecessary or as you so eloquently said “shiite”.

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“Have any of you ever been to a party in Sandy Lane or Fort George Heights or any of the

upper class gated enclaves where the Black elite live ?”

Yeah…complete with stretch limo…..lotta shite.

50. DLP (Formerly CBC) TV and Radio Avatar
    DLP (Formerly CBC) TV and Radio

@FracturedDLP i still waiting for the Red October that wunna DEMs talk about since last year….October almost over a year later……my advice to wunna is to prepare for a hurting in the next elections….and stop talk shite