Submitted by Grenville Phillips II, founder of Solutions Barbados
Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

Jesus’ death and resurrection are part of the historical record.  After Jesus’ resurrection, He declared that He had all authority in heaven and on earth, and told His disciples to teach all peoples to benefit from all of the things that He had taught them.  Then He said that He would be with them until the end of the age.

All human beings are on a similar journey – that of following Jesus.  No one who follows Jesus does so perfectly.  We all stumble, but Jesus waits for us to get back up and follow Him.  Jesus did not promise an absence of persecution and injustice, actually, He promised that the narrow road on which He leads us will be difficult – but He promised to be with us right to the end.

The bravest among us are those who choose to follow Jesus on this difficult road in their teenage years.  It is perhaps one of the most challenging things that a young person can do, especially if the one determined to follow Jesus is in the minority population.

To those who have chosen to unashamedly follow Jesus, I say well done.  You are making quality investments in your future self.  You will know wonder and a quiet confidence when it finally sinks in that you are actually walking with the absolute Lord of heaven and earth.  Keep walking.

Some who have not yet started on the journey of following Jesus may find amusement at disparaging those who preceded them.  However, this always ends in regret.  Those who are determined to reject Jesus’ teachings and persecute those who follow Him should be aware that this never ends well.  God hears the cries of the oppressed and comforts them.  However, a fearful judgement awaits the oppressor.

Our history reveals God’s guidance of our ancestors.  Most of us were captured and sold by Islamic slave traders in Africa and then enslaved for generations by Europeans.  Others were kidnapped in Europe and forced into servitude.  However, God’s comfort sustained us all.  God’s guidance was so obvious that it was acknowledged in our National Anthem.

The historical record should encourage us all.  God guided us through and led us out of slavery and servitude, and there was jubilation among our newly freed fore-parents.  He guided us through and led us out of colonial rule, and we stood confidently facing an uncertain future at our independence.  God guided us through the BLP and DLP mismanagement of our national economy – and He will certainly lead us out.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

112 responses to “Following Jesus”

1. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Not my vote….we are secular society ,who should be moving forward as opposed to holding on to age old myths confusing the sheeple with rubbish.

2. Never mind Vincent…
    It is instructive that he knows nothing for sure…. has achieved nothing substantial, …and cannot even start a little shiite pressure group in brass bowl Barbados … but he KNOWS that ‘following Jesus’ is rubbish…
    #whataclown

@ Grenville
    God guided us through the BLP and DLP mismanagement of our national economy – and He will certainly lead us out.
    NO HE DID NOT….!!
    Neither did he guide us through the BDLP mismanagement …NOR will he ‘certainly’ lead us out…

God tried to knock some sense into our heads when the politicians were doing shiite – but we were only interested in wukking up, owning bling, material trinkets ..and PROMISES of more to come from lying politicians.
    When CLEAR challenges arose which should have KICKED us into righteous action that would reflect God’s ‘leadership’ (things like CLICO, CAHILL, VECO, The damn thieving Speaker, The Wilkinson car scam, Barrack…..and many more..) WE CHOSE to ignore, to accommodate, to entertain and to ACCEPT the wickedness…
    Then to cap it all off….Froon and his pack of clowns actually built a monument – with a $#@^%&* PITCHFORK sticking out – on the Garrison…. an OBVIOUS alter to Satan…..
    Steupsss…

What lead what out what??!!
    Our ass is grass….
    .. UNLESS there is serious ‘sackcloth and ashes’ in this place….
    (SERIOUS repentance, confession, retribution, and REFORM…..)

…and even then, things could still be ‘touchy’….
    Don’t make false promises on the behalf of Bushie’s step-dad ….skippa….

3. As I was saying about Ministers of Religion and (wannabe) Ministers of Government. If everything else looks like failing, return to Plan B – Bible Punching.It has worked wonders for the Plantocracy, via their mouth piece ,ex-patriot ,rum swilling clergymen. I am weary when I hear politicians quoting scripture. If Jesus Christ came tomorrow, and he is found not to be a member of one of the political parties, does not drive a Bimmer or Merc, have not been to Combermere , College or UWI, and is only qualified as a Carpenter , he better bring along his Hammer,Saw and Ripping iron, as most doors in Barbados, including those of the multi million dollar mega churches , will be closed to him.

4. @ Colonel Buggy
    If Jesus Christ came tomorrow………most doors in Barbados, including those of the multi million dollar mega churches , will be closed to him.
    Not BU though….
    Even with his whacker …and his fisherman’s language…

Shirt!!

5. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

@ Bushie @ 10 : 33 PM

The only reason you would get in is because the gatekeeper, St Peter. spoke fisherman”s language also.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

The first black governments in the Caribbean to break the back of this centuries old evil concocted by Europeans against Black people will impress the hell outta me….and I am not easily impressed.

If reality opens just one black person’s eyes, the effort was well worth it, not trying to convince anyone, everyone has to know how they are looked at and what they are preceived to be..

“Reverends, Fathers and Dear Compatriots:

The task that is given to fulfill is very delicate

and requires much tact. You will go certainly to evangelize, but your evangelization must inspire

above all Belgium interests. Your principal objective in our mission in the Congo is never to teach

the niggers to know God, this they know already. They speak and submit to a Mungu, one Nzambi,

one Nzakomba, and what else I don’t know. They know that to kill, to sleep with someone else’s

wife, to lie and to insult is bad. Have courage to admit it; you are not going to teach them what they

know already. Your essential role is to facilitate the task of administrators and industrials, which

means you will go to interpret the gospel in the way it will be the best to protect your interests in

that part of the world. For these things, you have to keep watch on disinteresting our savages from

the richness that is plenty [in their underground. To avoid that, they get interested in it, and make

you murderous] competition and dream one day to overthrow you.

Your knowledge of the gospel will allow you to find texts ordering, and encouraging your

followers to love poverty, like “Happier are the poor because they will inherit the heaven” and, “It’s

very difficult for the rich to enter the kingdom of God.” You have to detach from them and make

them disrespect everything which gives courage to affront us. I make reference to their Mystic

System and their war fetish – warfare protection – which they pretend not to want to abandon, and

you must do everything in your power to make it disappear.

Your action will be directed essentially to the younger ones, for they won’t revolt when the

recommendation of the priest is contradictory to their parent’s teachings. The children have to learn

to obey what the missionary recommends, who is the father of their soul. You must singularly insist

on their total submission and obedience, avoid developing the spirit in the schools, teach students to

read and not to reason. There, dear patriots, are some of the principles that you must apply. You will

find many other books, which will be given to you at the end of this conference. Evangelize the

niggers so that they stay forever in submission to the white colonialists, so they never revolt against

the restraints they are undergoing. Recite every day – “Happy are those who are weeping because

the kingdom of God is for them.”

http://allafrica.com/stories/200510060035.html – The letter which follows is Courtesy of Dr. Vera Nobles and Dr.

Chiedozie Okoro. Letter from King Leopold II of Belgium to Colonial Missionaries, 1883 2

Convert always the blacks by using the whip. Keep their women in nine months of

submission to work freely for us. Force them to pay you in sign of recognition-goats, chicken or

eggs-every time you visit their villages. And make sure that niggers never become rich. Sing every

day that it’s impossible for the rich to enter heaven. Make them pay tax each week at Sunday mass.

Use the money supposed for the poor, to build flourishing business centres. Institute a confessional

system, which allows you to be good detectives denouncing any black that has a different

consciousness contrary to that of the decision-maker. Teach the niggers to forget their heroes and to

adore only ours. Never present a chair to a black that comes to visit you. Don’t give him more than

one cigarette. Never invite him for dinner even if he gives you a chicken every time you arrive at

his house.

“The above speech which shows the real intention of the Christian missionary journey in

Africa was exposed to the world by Mr. Moukouani Muikwani Bukoko, born in the Congo in 1915,

and who in 1935 while working in the Congo, bought a second hand Bible from a Belgian priest

who forgot the speech in the Bible. – Dr. Chiedozie Okoro

We should note:

1] that all missionaries carried out, and still carry out, that mandate. We are only lucky to

have found King Leopold’s articulation of the aim of all Christian imperialist missionaries to Africa.

2] Even the African converts who today manage the older churches in Africa (the priests,

bishops, Archbishops, Cardinals etc of the Roman and Protestant sects), and especially also those

who evangelize Born-Again Christianity, still serve the same mandate. Which is why they

demonize African gods and Anglicize African names, and drop the names of African deities which

form part of African names; and still attack and demolish the African shrines that have managed to

survive, e.g. Okija.

3] Those Africans who voluntarily converted to Christianity before the colonial conquest

such as Affonso I of the BaKongo in the 15th century probably did not discern the purpose of the

brand of Christianity that was supplied to them. Which was probably why they fell easy prey to the

missionaries and the white traders and pirates who followed them.”………………”

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The first Black government to break this decades old practice by mediocre local and foreign minorities believing themselves superior to the black majority on the island….I will be duly impressed, I am not easily imoressed.

This should sound quite familiar to blacks in Barbados, it is still practiced on them by the halfassed minorities in Barbados daily and has been for decades, enabled by dumb black ministers/politicians/the churches in a black majority country.

” And make sure that niggers never become rich. Sing every

day that it’s impossible for the rich to enter heaven. Make them pay tax each week at Sunday mass.

Use the money supposed for the poor, to build flourishing business centres. Institute a confessional

system, which allows you to be good detectives denouncing any black that has a different

consciousness contrary to that of the decision-maker. Teach the niggers to forget their heroes and to

adore only ours. Never present a chair to a black that comes to visit you. Don’t give him more than

one cigarette. Never invite him for dinner even if he gives you a chicken every time you arrive at

his house.”

8. Stop the nonsense about Barbados being a secular society. Barbados is a Christian society although there are a number of what idiots call Christian secularists. We sometimes shear equal nonsense about secular Jews and Muslims.
    What does secular mean?

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin April 17, 2017 at 4:43 AM

If Barbados (Little England) is not a “secular” society but a “Christian” one, how would you describe the UK or even USA?

We are quite sure both Easter and Xmas are celebrated in ‘our’ mother country.
    So is the UK Christian or secular, including the residents of Stamford Hill and Southhall?

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Secular society. In studies of religion, modern democracies are generally recognized as secular. This is due to the near-complete freedom of religion (beliefs on religion generally are not subject to legal or social sanctions), and the lack of authority of religious leaders over political decisions.”

Barbados is a secular society. ..one in which the rights or freedom to religion is not dictated.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“What is Secularism?
    Secularism is a principle that involves two basic propositions. The first is the strict separation of the state from religious institutions. The second is that people of different religions and beliefs are equal before the law.

Separation of religion from state
    The separation of religion and state is the foundation of secularism. It ensures that religious groups don’t interfere in affairs of state, and makes sure the state doesn’t interfere in religious affairs.
    In the United Kingdom there are officially two state recognised Christian denominations – the Church of England and the Presbyterian Church of Scotland. The Queen is both head of state and Supreme Governor of the Church of England. There is no established church in Northern Ireland or Wales but the 26 unelected bishops of the Church of England who sit in the House of Lords influence laws that affect the whole of the UK.

Christianity is one major influence among many that shape our current ways of life; we are a nation of many denominations and religions and large sectors of the population do not hold, or practise, religious beliefs.

If Britain were truly a secular democracy, political structures would reflect the reality of changing times by separating religion from the state.

Secularism protects both believers and non-believers
    Secularism seeks to ensure and protect freedom of religious belief and practice for all citizens. Secularism is not about curtailing religious freedoms; it is about ensuring that the freedoms of thought and conscience apply equally to all believers and non-believers alike.”

The UK is just beginning it’s journey into secularism. …separation of church and state.

Hal….ya gotta keep up, the world is leaving you behind…for centuries the evil practiced by the non separation of church and state controlled people’s lives, that hold is now broken.

“Has Britain entered a secular age?
    Sponsored feature
    Christianity is now just one moral voice among many

by Mona Siddiqui / January 26, 2016 / Leave a comment
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Linkedin
    Email

In 1997, the historian Peter Clarke observed that in the 20th century Great Britain lost its historic identity as a Protestant nation. This view points starkly to the loss of religious identity that is now accepted by many as the modern face of the nation. Here, the emergence of secularism, the seeming divide between public and private and the contested issues of multiculturalism all contribute to the dilemma of where Christianity lies in public life, and more broadly what is the value or contribution of religious faith in the public sphere…….”

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Ya cant be a slave or slaveminded to religion or politics forever, the bonds have been broken, whether you want them broken or not, they are no longer as profitable to the architects of evil….the world has moved on, even if you haven’t and is reluctant to, feeling all safe in ya comfort zone of being a slave, of being dictated to, demoralized, demeaned and degraded………being a slave to anything is very ugly.

13. Miller,

The growth of organised religion is different in the South than it is in Europe. Church attendance at the Church of England is diminishing, while the Evangelical church is growing by leaps and bounds. The same in Latin America, where the Catholic church is diminishing, while the Evengelicals are growing; and in Africa and Asia.
    In the US the Evangelical church is also growing, but mainly non-white believers. In short, while globally Europeans are moving away from the church, non-Europeans are moving towards it.
    With non-Christian religions in the UK, Jews are returning to the synagogue and, of course, we are experiencing the medieval struggles of Islam, who are now going through a Reformation.
    All this emerges from the betrayal of the Enlightenment and its bogus promises of reason and rationality.
    Our values are rooted in Judeo-Christianity, our democratic legal system is rooted in Judeo-Christianity, our criminal justice system is rooted in Judeo-Christianity.
    The Frankfurt School best describes this in the concept of inseparability and barbarism. Modern Christianity compromises with science and otherworldliness, but science too is a dynamic belief system which changes every time there is a new discovery.

14. @ Bernard
    The only reason you would get in is because the gatekeeper, St Peter. spoke fisherman”s language also.
    You mean St. David …. 🙂 …and he only resorts to such language when he vex….

But Nah…. not true.
    Bushie gets in because the gatekeeper knows more than is good for him to know….
    …besides, do you know who Bushie’s father is….?

15. @Hal

Let us not get bogged down in definitions and the like. Barbados in the main is a society that aspires to Christian values -in theory. At this time however there is a tension as a new generation emerges who are not has rigid to practicing Christian values in a real world context.

16. David,
    It is not being bogged down, it is simple understanding. Because one does not go to church every Sunday, or is not ‘born again’, does not mean one’s values are not Christian.
    You could be a drunkard, a gambler, a fornicator, a liar, etc, but your values could till be Christian.

17. ALL democratic societies are ‘secular’….meaning that everyone can do as they like…

A moslim society is one where the state dictates the laws based on the Koran, and a Christian society would be one where the laws of the land are based on the Bible – as understood by its ‘so-called’ Christians’.
    Similarly for a ‘Jewish’ society etc.

Essentially, there is no such thing as a Christian country today, but some laws in ‘secular’ societies continue to be based on biblical precepts – mainly for lack of any better alternatives.

True christianity is a DEEPLY personal issue. It is quite simply about dropping everything else and basically ‘following Jesus’. This means placing the priorities of YOUR life in a spiritual perspective, such that the primary objective of living is the development and refinement of righteous character.
    Everything else becomes periphery issues. This would make practically ALL of the issues that we rant and rave about on BU as important as Paddy’s target… (what Paddy shot at…)

A ‘Christian society’ then, would be a collection of such INDIVIDUALS, however constituted.
    If, and when you have found such a society,
    …..you have found THE CHURCH.

18. Hal this is true BUT you must ask yourself what is Christianity.

Is regular attendance at Church a prerequisite to be a bona fide Christian?

At the level of society what are we seeing to suggest our moorings are anchored to traditional Christian beliefs. Like you trying to understand.

19. David,
    This is an argument for an argument’s sake. One does not have be a Bishop to be Christian nor to have Christian values. What little is left of Barbadian public morals are rooted in Christianity. Full stop.

20. They are rooted in Christianity because of the influence on laws and customs/traditions but what are we seeing today? A diminution of those values perhaps? A lower priority of Church in the lifes of the next generation? What will it mean.

21. Because society reverts to lesser moral values it does not void the crux of christain values that are indeed constructive to building a moral society
    In any society people would do whatever makes them happy and breaking away from traditions and values is always the easiest way to go.
    However in the long term most of the time people still have to take several steps back to moral values in order to achieve goals that are applicable to society norms

22. @Hal

IF we are a secular society guarantied under the Constitution why must Christian values be the arching influence?

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Baby steps, babysteps..a work in progress, or there would only be one or two controlling religions instead of a variety…..and nonconformists, agnostics and athiests would all be in prison.

24. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea April 16, 2017 at 9:48 PM #

Cuhdear…..ah did axe yuh tuh tek yuh meds……hard ears as usual and I accept how the early onset of dementia is affecting your ability to remember things.

I spent the last 2 years dealing with somebody very much like you with the disease…..alas no cure as yet…..hopefully BBE will be mercifull with you and assist you in the best way possible.

25. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Why do religious people believe that in order for life on earth to exist one must have a religion…….its the dumbest argument alive.

David,rightly stated that our constitution states unequivocably that we are a secular society.

Many people have grown up never having been exposed to religious teachings and a number of those who have,have rejected it.

Let all views contend but this idea that one is more correct than the other must cease as all of us can only speculate on the nature and purpose of our surroundings and existence.

Political parties from the beginning of time have used religion as a cloak to control the sheeple aided and abetted by the various leaders and mouthpieces of these organisations…..its a win win situation with the only loosers being the masses.

26. Bushie

What a limited definition of democracy

It’s the same as how western christians think that only them and their god are true

A country like Iran, which your buddy David would see as a ‘questionable state, is vastly more ‘democratic’ than western states and yet not ‘secular’.

Democracy is centrally about economy, equitable ownership of national resources by the people, the demos. Not elections!

It has little to do with useless voting. Voting for the sake thereof

These pilgrimages to the polls are no different to how reducing numbers go to church in the west.

We are uncertain how christian is britian, for example. That is what they say but the british are neither christian nor secularists.

Judge by one metrix, we would say that there is more service to a fictitious christ at soccer stadia than all the rest of that country combined.

The masses of the people know these formations are bullshiite.

If you really want to see Christians, look to the bearded ones from the Orthodox formations

Russia, for example, has always been a deeply Christian state, but we have not been encouraged to see it as such.

27. @Pacha

Don’t you think yours is an esoteric view? The elements you mentioned maybe present in the theocracy that is Iran but any gains are wiped out because it is a theocracy. What it exposes is that no system is ideal.

28. @ Pacha
    What a limited definition of democracy
    It’s the same as how western christians think that only them and their god are true
    Bushie has no idea what you are on about….

It is the nature of ALL religions that they EACH think that their gods are the true gods….almost by definition…
    As to ‘democracy’ (and not Democracy), from the perspective of the moot, the issue here is not about voting, but about the LEGAL freedom to choose a religious profile of one’s personal choice….. ergo – “to do as they like…”

Bushie would readily accept the now due apology….. 🙂

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“to do as they like…”

Making the society secular.

30. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Does Barbados face the prospect of a theocracy if Solutions is elected to office?

God guided us through the BLP and DLP mismanagement of our national economy – and He will certainly lead us out.

31. @Jeff

The possibility exist only if SB gains two thirds majority.

32. Bushie

There is no apology warranted and none given.

What ‘choice’! Do you really believe that most people have any choice?

Most people blindly follow what their forebears believed, social morays, etc

Concepts of ‘choice’ do not reside at a deeper cerebral level than other more potent behavioral forces.

There is no personal choice in an age of marketing.

33. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I always pause when an extremist christian, or any other religion wants to lead a country…it always turns crazy later, centuries of brainwash christianity is just as destructive as the muslim religion, the extremist Hasidim religion etc…..extremisim in any religion is very destructive.

Just leave people alone to live, no one needs the centuries european financially designed indoctrination and mindwash…young people hate it, I have hated it since i was 12 years old…decades ago….and saw something fundamentally wrong with the christian hypocrisy.

34. David

Your assumptions are wrong.

Sounds like a christian projecting cultural norms on others.

Islam, for example, prevents Iran from coveting other peoples resources. Connecting democracy to equitable distribution of resources.

Or even Libya, certainly a more democratic country, under Qaddafi, than any western country.

Then, how are such ‘gains’ wiped out because of theocracy?

Remember, up until the late 1960’s (circa). Before the anglican church was ‘dis-established’, Barbados was a theocratic society as well.

35. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@David, Are you saying that the separation of Church and State in Barbados is constitutionally entrenched? You may be right though; freedom of religion technically means, in US jurisprudence, that there cannot legally be any state religion!

36. “God help us!” Solutions Barbados are wolves dressed in sheep clothing!

37. @Pacha

And you are sure minority views/religions are not challenged in system accepted as a theocracy?

38. @Jeff

You are the professor!

A shortcoming of a theocracy is that there seem to be an expectation by those in charge that the one religion must be universally accepted notwithstanding that other religions are tolerated.

Our Constitution protects the freedom to practice any religion and with the disestablishment of the Anglican church this was a clear signal of the state ‘turning it’s back’ on a key entity, the Anglican church.

39. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

A shortcoming of a theocracy is that there seem to be an expectation by those in charge that the one religion must be universally accepted notwithstanding that other religions are tolerated.

More than an expectation, David, it is a constitutional fiat!

40. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

From the preamble to the Iranian Constitution-

In the organization and equipping of the countries defense forces, there must be regard for faith and religion as their basis and rules. And so the Islamic Republic’s army, and the corps of Revolutionary Guards must be organized in accordance with this aim. They have responsibility not only for the safeguarding of the frontiers, but also for a religious mission, which is Holy War (JIHAD) along the way of God, and the struggle to extend the supremacy of God’s Law in the world.
    (“Against them make ready your strength to the utmost of your power, including steeds of war, to strike terror into the hearts of the enemies of God and your enemies, and others beside”)

41. WW&C

I always pause when an extremist christian, or any other religion wants to lead a country…it always turns crazy later, centuries of brainwash christianity is just as destructive as the muslim religion, the extremist Hasidim religion etc…..extremisim in any religion is very destructive.
    ………………………………………….

Quite correct…..they simply cannot leave it at

…… love thy neighbour as thyself

…….stop coveting your neighbours ass/woman

……and do onto other as you would have them do onto you

All religions have concepts along these lines which are needed for the harmonious survival of the community but instead of sticking to these and enjoy life…….

Oh no…..they must tell you about a authoritarian figure that must be worshiped on penalty of various afflictions over centuries,etc,etc,etc

42. David

Depends on what you think is a religion.

If you are a Baha’i, the Iranians don’t see that as a religion.

If you wanted to start your own religion they would make it illegal as well.

They see Islam, Judaism, Zoroastrianism and Christianity as legitimate within their theocratic system.

Rightly, they see the Baha’is as a formation developed to invade their cultural systems, by the british of course, an intelligence project.

As a Westerner you talk about ‘minorities’. Yet you claim to have democracy. What happens when minorities like Kiffin Simpson economically dominate a vast majority with the help of your democratically elected governments?

43. Jeff Cumberbatch April 17, 2017 at 10:39 AM #

Thanks for refreshing our minds to the stark realities of a theocracy above.

44. Jeff

Have you ever gone to the Islamic Republic?

Do you know that hundreds of thousands of Jews have been living there for millennia?

Do you know that each official religion is entitled to be represented in the Majles, Parliament?

You are misleading the blog based on your limited Euro-centrisms.

45. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Do you know that each official religion is entitled to be represented in the Majles, Parliament?

You are misleading the blog based on your limited Euro-centrisms.

@ Pacha,

Who is misleading whom?

From the Iranian Constitution=

Article 12
    The official religion of Iran is Islam and the Twelver Ja’fari school [in usual al-Din and fiqh], and this principle will remain eternally immutable. Other Islamic schools, including the Hanafi, Shafi’i, Maliki, Hanbali, and Zaydi, are to be accorded full respect, and their followers are free to act in accordance with their own jurisprudence in performing their religious rites. These schools enjoy official status in matters pertaining to religious education, affairs of personal status (marriage, divorce, inheritance, and wills) and related litigation in courts of law. In regions of the country where Muslims following any one of these schools of fiqh constitute the majority, local regulations, within the bounds of the jurisdiction of local councils, are to be in accordance with the respective school of fiqh, without infringing upon the rights of the followers of other schools.

46. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Article 12
    The official religion of Iran is Islam and the Twelver Ja’fari school [in usual al-Din and fiqh], and this principle will remain eternally immutable. Other Islamic schools, including the Hanafi, Shafi’i, Maliki, Hanbali, and Zaydi, are to be accorded full respect, and their followers are free to act in accordance with their own jurisprudence in performing their religious rites. These schools enjoy official status in matters pertaining to religious education, affairs of personal status (marriage, divorce, inheritance, and wills) and related litigation in courts of law. In regions of the country where Muslims following any one of these schools of fiqh constitute the majority, local regulations, within the bounds of the jurisdiction of local councils, are to be in accordance with the respective school of fiqh, without infringing upon the rights of the followers of other schools.

47. Jeff

Yes, the official religion is Islam. Because 90% of the people are Muslims.

But 3 other minority religions are also equally represented have similar constitutional protections.

48. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ David, Apologies for the double posting.

As for Pacha’s entitlement for each religion to be represented, consider the following-

There are to be two hundred seventy members of the Islamic Consultative Assembly which, keeping in view the human, political, geographic and other similar factors, may increase by not more than twenty for each ten-year period from the date of the national referendum of the year 1368 of the solar Islamic calendar. The Zoroastrians and Jews will each elect one representative; Assyrian and Chaldean Christians will jointly elect one representative; and Armenian Christians in the north and those in the south of the country will each elect one representative.* The limits of the election constituencies and the number of representatives will be deter-mined by law.

49. @Pacha

But 3 other minority religions are also equally represented have similar constitutional protections.

Why only 3?

50. @Jeff

Our 11;03 and 11:04 comments crossed. Of curse your more expansive comment trumps our 3 work response to Pacha.