By Peter Thompson

I am by nature an entrepreneur, not an economist. I make no apologies for that… an entrepreneur is to an economist as a novelist is to a literary critic. Entrepreneurs are the primary economic creative engines; economists are just secondary critics who follow along after the creative work has been done. That doesn’t mean I don’t pay attention to economists. Entrepreneurs can learn a lot from economic analysis. But we also see things some economists apparently miss.

Much of this government’s economic policy focuses on achieving growth, but consider this absurdity: the enormous waste of fuel in our horrendous traffic jams is recorded as increased economic growth. Our public transportation infrastructure is so illogical that there’s no transfer system between buses and ZRs. When a passenger needs to take two public service vehicles for one trip, it costs twice the fare. This harm to the passenger is then recorded as increased economic growth. Obviously, we need better measures of public benefit than bragging about increased GDP.

We need to pay attention to our productivity as a nation, not simply chase economic growth numbers that are distorted by dysfunction. Economists measure productivity by calculating the ratio of economic output, goods and services produced, to inputs like labour, capital, and materials used in the process. Our dysfunctional transportation system is crippling our national productivity. Labour productivity is sabotaged by the colossal wastes of time imposed by traffic jams and pathetically poor public transportation. Material productivity is compromised by huge fuel wastage. Capital productivity is reduced by insider dealing in the licensing process and lack of passenger data to support investment decisions. 

A Vision Worth Pursuing

Here’s the vision we should be working toward: a public transportation system so good that even wealthy people use it rather than driving their cars for many trips. This isn’t fantasy. In properly developed countries like Norway, even the King takes public transportation. When public transportation works well, it becomes the rational choice for everyone, not just those who can’t afford alternatives. This is the best way to reduce traffic jams.

We need a proper entrepreneurial approach to building a public transportation system that is fit for purpose. Let me outline what this means in practice.

Integration and Automation

The first requirement is that our system must be integrated, with quality of public service being the most important criterion for success. This necessitates complete automation of fare payment by card or BimPay QR code, so that the driver is the only non-passenger aboard each vehicle. The financial flow for cards or BimPay will go through the Transport Authority so there’s instant and effective disciplinary leverage. Furthermore, regular users of the system will be able to buy monthly passes at reasonable prices that cover the entire cost of their transportation needs, no matter how many trips they need to make.

Technology and Accountability

Every single public service vehicle, be it the largest electric bus or the smallest ZR, must be equipped with a standard GPS  tracking device that issues real-time position and speed data to the system management console at the Transport Authority. All infractions like speeding, dragging, or going off route must be logged automatically. PSVs that flout the law, licence conditions, or public safety must lose their PSV permits.

Here’s where entrepreneurship enters the picture: all PSV data must be available to entrepreneurs who will then create apps so passengers can see where their bus or ZR is at the moment, when it will reach their stop, whether it’s already packed or empty, and how much traffic is on the road between their bus stop and their destination. This is how you build a system people actually want to use.

The Transport Authority’s Proper Role

The proper role of the Transport Authority is to issue permits and discipline PSV permit holders without having to further clog up our court system. Note that PSV permit holders who are not themselves driving the vehicle still bear 100% responsibility for the safe and professional behaviours of drivers in their employ, who have to be paid a professional wage that conforms to Barbados labour law, not simply commissions that encourage rule breaking. Serious legal infractions by drivers must get reported to the police, who can then use data from the Transport Authority to prosecute in court and remove drivers’ licences where appropriate. The Transport Authority will also use their rich data from tracking to redesign and optimize the routes.

Reforming ZR Culture

In order to reform the corrupt ZR culture, the Transport Authority must mandate real-time audio-video recording devices in each vehicle to enforce public service conditions with respect to music volume, bashment soca, and other sexualized behaviours that are inappropriate for children. Anti-tampering conditions on all monitoring devices means that if the driver or permit holder interferes with any of the equipment, they don’t get paid for the passengers they carried.

The Productivity Dividend

A  better public transportation system will attract increased usage, and that will bring capital and capacity to the system. It will dramatically improve measures of labour productivity by reducing passenger wait times and commute times. It will enhance material productivity by providing population mobility at lower fuel consumption. And it will increase capital productivity by reducing the inefficiency of the system and providing the data and transparency that encourage investment.

This is what entrepreneurial thinking looks like in public policy: identify the real problem, design a system that works for users, leverage technology to create accountability, and open the data to let innovation flourish. Barbados deserves a transportation system worthy of a modern nation. Let’s build it.

87 responses to “Entrepreneurial Revolution in Public Transport”

1. @ PLT
    Why don’t you shut up and go away nuh??!!

Can’t you see yet that your kind of thinking is NOT of this place?
    … Or even of this world?

Your concepts of focusing on such outdate concepts as;
    Efficiency,
    Meritocracy,
    Community priorities,
    indeed,… on Common Sense…
    …ARE NOT APPRECIATED, RECOGNIZED, or even understood.

You need to accept the concept of ‘Brass Bowls’.
    It stems from a SPIRITUAL CURSE that immobilizes wisdom, and emphasizes self-gratification, perversion, addiction, and self destruction.

The ONLY cure is spiritual, and NEITHER you, BU David, Bushie, nor any other BB can administer it…

But we can dream….

2. All of these ideas are being held in wait for the new population of 80,000 which shall inherit this part of the earth.

PLT has had at least one good idea embraced previously. Now he must unfortunately get use to the conception that he was never expected to be a polymath, by those in charge. For if that were so he should have been in a room all day being paid handsomely, just to think.

And as he does this he should prepare himself for the greatest levels of decadence ever seen

For we’ve just had a national conversation. And the central idea from the regime was centered around how a one-party stateism could be kept in place.

And if one had any insight into the way one party, moving across party lines, was so able to prevail it would have been shocking. How the life’s blood of politics was so ruthlessly deployed.

Even after the election the regime reached across party lines again to say who was to be the recipients of the “gift”, the political largesse, of a parliamentary presence.

But during the election, not a boy even tried to inform the manifestos, the dialetics, about the wider state of the world, even as a nuclear Holocaust may soon become unavoidable.

Call upon Stalin from underground, to sing Bum Dem!

3. @Bush Tea

Why would you discourage the man? His idea was rebranded in the national interest. Maybe we can have the Travel Stamp version of the idea with similar result?

Let ideas contend.

4. @ David
    What travel stamp what??!!
    Lotta shiite!!

PLT OBVIOUSLY had in mind a concept – somewhat like airbnb – where we could copyright the concept, internationalize its operation, and using Barbados as a hub and model of the concept, ENFRANCHISE ordinary citizens through OWNERSHIP of a novel, imaginative, innovative INTERNATIONAL concept that had win-win outcomes.

What we got instead was a shiite arrangement – where wealthy foreigners came here on extended vacations that resulted in;
    – rents being elevated BEYOND the reach of ordinary citizens,

– many of these (rich) foreigners taking over many small business (especially retail outlets) that would otherwise be available to those locals who are able to get around the FOREIGN banks, STUPID Credit Unions, and our obstructive public servants.

– the benefits of the scheme mainly went to the ALREADY WEALTHY, who could afford to rent / lease accommodation etc to these travel stamp visitors.

Net ‘benefit’ to the average community – unaffordable rents, and increased government SCAMS – such as HOPE, STEAL housing, and plantation lands being monetized (on the excuse of ‘providing houses for the masses’.)

This is why one DOES NOT throw pearls to shiite swine…
    They quickly turn them into mud.

@ Pacha
    The ‘wider state of the world’, of which you speak, …will VERY shortly announce itself in no uncertain terms to – nullify all the music and dancing on the BB Titanic top deck (Parliament).

What a place!
    What blindness!

5. Skipper we can’t even control the Zrs after 40 years and you can see them cause they 30 feet long and bright yellow. They could not even get them to remove the stereos and wear a uniform, or stop at a red light and you want them to do more?

First the basics of law and order with this group must be imposed and enforced, after that is done on a continuous basis then we can go to step 2. This would entail bathing and using deodorant on a daily basis, while wearing pants with a belt. LOL

6. Bushtea is back, clueless as ever! All good points by PLT and all are in motion. Hold tight.

7. @Enuff

Is implementation of the suite of transparency laws in motion?

8. @ Enuf they coming the same way the greenhouses was coming shortly 3 years ago?

9. @PLT

WHAT YOU HAVE OUTLINE MAKES SENSE AND A NO BRAINER.

MANY PEOPLE IN US CITIES USE THEIR CARS TO PARK IN TRAIN STATIONS OR IN SAN DIEGO CALIFORNIA CASE CALLED TROLLEY STATIONS TO GO TO WORK OR APPOINTMENTS. WHERE THEY PARK ALL DAY ALSO FREE OF CHARGE.

THE TRAIN TICKET BOTH GOOD ON TRANSFER FOR THE BUS AND TRAIN/TROLLEY SAVING PAYING A DOUBLE FARE.

ALSO HELPING TO EASE TRAFFIC CONGESTION AND FUEL CONSUMPTION.

10. Enuff

We’ll bet you that five years from now absolutely nothing will have happened, for the better. For over the past eight things have gotten worse, by every metric.

Public transport should be a public good, as should be health care, education, road maintenence, etc. When yuh planning to sell the Transport Board. You can’t then believe that further privatization of the mini bus subsector could make sense. We’ll bet friends of Mia will be highly favoured.

The deeper truth is that your government has been, is, will be, as feckless as before.

All it can do is to follow IMF/World Bank edicts. Only more of the same should be expected, but worse.

11. PLT identifies himself as an entrepreneur and may I suggest “visionary”. His ideas can be considered “outside the box” or even “radical”, this can fall into either of those categories by some standards. PLT’s most recent suggestion “Welcome stamp” was adopted by the Gov’t without so much as a “Thank you” (as far as the public is aware) Is it too much to hope that they grab this innovative one too?

12. John A

Solar-powered, container-based systems have been brought in by the government since July 2025. Read!! But then again, you saw a sign and concluded condos were coming to the nature sanctuary.🤣🤣🤣

13. @Enuff

How has output in the agricultural sector moved the GDP needle? You all really making sport.

#talk

14. Further, the man that promised to transform the transportation sector when he was the minister responsible now commands a seat in your party’s cabinet. He promised also to revolutionise the Barbados Licensing Authority AND the Transport Authority then and what?

#talk

15. “In properly developed countries like Norway, even the King takes public transportation.”

Norway is a deeply corrupt country that lives exclusively off oil and gas. Large sections of the Norwegian elite are embroiled in the Epstein scandal, including the royal family. Not to mention the would-be prince, who is currently on trial for rape and drug trafficking.

Norway should therefore not be a role model for us.

Tron

16. Congrats @Enuff
    You and your associated band of thirty crooks are actually EXACTLY what we have shown ourselves to deserve in Brassbados.
    Just as Trump and his Cabinet of wealthy degenerate idiots are par for the USA’s course.
    A people ALWAYS end up with exactly what they deserve.

The USA is characterized by ENDEMIC racism, materialism, greed, lawlessness and by moral decadence, … and Trump – along with his selected band of demonic appointees, PERFECTLY match their warped needs.

Brassbados recently CHOSE to ignore lack of integrity and transparency, nepotism, large scale stealing in housing, infrastructure and vaccine scams, incompetence in all areas of implementation, arrogance in office, and multiple broken promises.
    They did this by staying at home and NOT voting… over 60% of us.

The ONLY thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
    So the likes of John A were happy to facilitate you, and to let your minority of mindless, mendicant yardfowls decide for us all…

BUT NOT STINKING BUSHIE DOH!!!
    If there was ONE VOTE against wunna lotta shiite – DAT WAS BUSHIE’S!

Unfortunately for your band, …and certainly for your albino-centric co-conspirator Trump, there is a God above it all, and Karma is his Law… and as Pacha keeps hinting, it looks like 2026 is destined to be a year where Karma will be doing dixie…

Hopefully you are prepared to take command from the top deck of BB Titanic as we get ready to go vertical…

Good luck…

What a time nuh…!

17. Dear Peter:

I read your article on page 13 A of today’s Sunday Sun and I though that it was so good that I shared it with several relatives including my 14 year old granddaughter, who like you is a Harrisonion. I thank you for it. We thank you for it. I have remarked to family that our public transportation system is worse today that it was in the early 1960’s when as a 9 year old I first went to school out of my village and had to take the bus instead of walking to school. The bus service then was only hourly but highly reliable.

As all of BU knows me as the ZR woman who has not owned a car since early 1999 and so is almost entirely dependent on public transportation.

I remember when I lived in Toronto and worked at King and Bay every morning at Finch station the then Attorney General Roy McMurtry [subsequently Canada’s High Commissioner to the UK, and then Chief Justice of Ontario] took the southbound train downtown to his office. I’ve never seen a Bajan Cabinet Minister take public transportation and I wonder why? Is it that public transportation is so bad that all of Cabinet thinks that it is beneath them? And if it is beneath our policy makers shouldn’t they be duty bound to fix it?

And this wasteful business of importing so many cars, and so much gasoline troubles me. And the wasteful business of a journey from town to my village taking 75 minutes, when it used to take 50 minutes in the 1960’s also troubles me.

I love your suggestions, and it is my hope that government will find a way to implement them. The hard working people of Barbados deserve better.

Thanks again Peter.

18. Dear Tron:

If the son of a Bajan head of state or head of government, or from any elite
    family was accused of rape what are the chances that that man would be charged? Would be tried? Would be convicted? Would be imprisoned?

Or do you want us to believe that Bajan elites do no wrong?

19. David

You really think constantly changing the conversation to FOI legislation to save face from my body blows bothers me? I am well aware that the members of the BUI listens and agrees with who they like and berate who don’t echo the group think. Keep talking without reading just to keep the echo chamber alive.

20. Bushie
    Good public policy is not based on feelings driven by ego. As someone resident in a public policy lab where policies (including transport infrastructure) are formulated, implemented, applied, monitored, funded, managed and reviewed, you haven’t a clue. Therefore, I will continue to see your BB titanic drivel as what it is–comedy. Hard ears!!

21. @ Cuhdear Cuhdear Bajan February 22, 2026 at 9:51 pm

Our Supreme Leader enforces her will without regard to personal status. Violence and drug-related crimes are punished very severely in our great nation. Killings occur almost exclusively to decimate the drug mafia. The judges of the Supreme Court ensure this by working day and night to implement their Supreme Leader’s will.

Tron, year 8 SL

22. @enuff

Changing the conversation by reminding you of broken promises?

You should console yourself you were not reminded that the transportation chaos in Barbados was created by you lot.

If the blogmaster wanted you could have been reminded some of us are still waiting on revelations from the Red Bag.

What does it matter anyway, you win, matter closed.

23. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@PLT

These are the same old draconian, ill-informed solutions repeated by those who never catch public transportation.

Our public transportation problems are solely the result of poor route management by the Transport Authority and Transport Board as we have more than enough vehicles to properly service all routes.

Some routes are over-served while others are under-served. Over-served routes are where hustling is necessary to make a profit which results in the vast majority of the bad driving we see. Fixing the number of vehicles assigned to each route permanently and cheaply solves all the speeding, blocking traffic, etc. problems.

Your idea of card machines on all public transport is a good idea but I would only use it to facilitate free bus rides for the elderly by swiping their Trident ID card and persons/tourists wanting to use prepaid bus cards to avoid carrying cash.

I challenge you to write a part 2 submission after catching public transportation for one week using it only for your morning and evening work commute. You can leave your vehicle at the office or some secure parking location so you can get around for your work activities during the day.

24. @ Critical Analyzer

I agree that poor route management is a problem so I did insist that “The Transport Authority will also use their rich data from tracking to redesign and optimize the routes.” Proper route management requires objective data collection which is not currently happening.

But route management is only one of many problems: employee compensation, double billing for two stage journeys, ZR culture that glorifies sex and violence in ways that are destructive to children passengers, unsafe ZR vehicles, overcrowded ZR vehicles, lack of service on unprofitable routes, corruption and insider dealings with PSV permits, etc, etc.

25. Prime Minister Mottley and the former Minister just reassigned from Transportation Santia Bradshaw promised that Flyovers maybe coming.

26. HAS ANYONE IN *BRASSBADOS* CONSIDERED WHAT US$150 A BARREL OIL WOULD MEAN? WHAT ABOUT US$200, OR US$250 OR MAYBE EVEN US$300 WOULD DO TO THE WORLD ECONOMY (i,e,) “INDUSTRIES”, “JOBS”, “TRANSPORT”, “AIR TRAVEL”, “FOOD” & THE FLOATING RAFT OF SHIPPED GOOD AROUND THE WORLD FUELLLING GLOBAL TRADE WHERE PLACES LIKE NEW YORK CITY WOULD BE A DEAD-ZONE ON ITS FEET IF AFTER [3] WEEKS IT COULD NOT* GET A SINGLE TRUCK TO CROSS THE VERRAZZANO BRIDGE WITH SUPPLIES

My argument is a simple one without “ALL” the “FLUFF” & “FANFARE” – let the “JACKASSES” who run this “GOD-DAMNED WORLD” begin a “WAR” with “IRAN” & the “STRAIT OF HORMUZ” IS SHUT TIGHT”, because the “AYATOLLAH’s” men “SINKS A COUPLE OF SHIP” with their “HYPERSONIC MISSILES” – pray tell, what would be the “ECONOMIC IMPACT” on #GlobalTrade???

WHAT WOULD BE THE IMPACT ON THE MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* SO-CALLED PLANS???

Let’s add another equation 4 good measure

What happens when those “SAID MISSILES” hit bases in QATAR; “OIL WELLS IN SAUDI, OMAN & GOD KNOWS WHERE ELSE – #WhatsNext 4 the prices on “CRUDE”, “GAS” & the other forms of “LIFE-BLOOD” that #WesternCapitalism depends on???

Look, the “LIST” of arguments are a “DISSERTAION” in length & I do have the “TIME” this mornin’ to elucidate the “TRAVESTIES” that are about to “BEFALL” mankind, as “THE HANDWRITING IS ON THE WALL” & the “DENIALISTS” will soon be hooping & hollering knowing that they have been “WARNED” but made no necessary “PREP”!!!

#OnThatNote

#BonChance

#ImDUN*

27. This is the best analysis & solution oriented article I’ve ever read about the transport system in B’dos. You are one of few writers who tie communication via expansive technology to transport. The transfer system has been mentioned before as well as blame for the poor service plus the ZR culture. But the ability to use an app on your phone or even a board at the bus stop (which also lists the bus routes for that stop & the arrival time) to tell where your bus is & how soon it’ll get by your stop has not been mentioned or explored.
    If the transport system was much improved, I’ll park my car as will many other pensioners & catch a bus.

28. “I am well aware that the members of the BUI listens and agrees with who they like and berate who don’t echo the group think. Keep talking without reading just to keep the echo chamber alive.”

Half the fun of Bu nowadays is waiting an hour to see if one of the team of Davids will release your comment on the world wide web for others to see, with or without edits, with or without music vibes.

It is the Chinese New Year of the Fire Horse which represents personal growth and success and people should reflect on modest omnipotence as outlined in chapter 10 of Tao Te Ching which may seem a paradox. You observe the inner workings of the universe, but you understand that there is little to do about it. Nothing has changed as a result of your understanding. So you remain grounded in yourself, although you have grasped the secret of the universe.

Fire Horse Qigong—Celebrating Chinese New Year 2026: A Year of Action with Passion 🐎❤️🔥

29. @ Enuf

Where may I go to see the government built greenhouse project promised 3 years ago when the then minister said “this development will revolutionise the agricultural sector.” Or you want me to go and Imagine a project built somewhere? Then again you would not be the first to do that? LOL

30. ZR owners are entrepreneurs!!! They saw a need, they invested their money (paid Teets), took the risk and continue to take this risk operating in a poorly regulated market.
    The average ZR driver is a decent law abiding citizen.

Also, no amount of mass transit strategising will get Bajans out of their cars.
    A car is more than simply a mode of transport in Barbados
    For the Gen Z and Millenials it is freedom
    For the Gen X and older it is a social status symbol
    For the banks and credit unions it is now a major source of income from loans.

Traffic was fine when secondary schools were out on Thursday and Friday and on the first day of term.
    The solution lies with four schools in Barbados – HC, QC, St. M and Combermere (St. Winifreds too but that is private). I hypothesise those schools have the largest percentage of students who are transported in private motor vehicle.

Simple test
    Check traffic flows at pain points to establish a baseline
    Shut those schools for one day and check traffic flows again
    If those schools are found to have a significant effect on traffic, then only then should we start letting entrepreneurs make suggestions.

Always start with the simplest solution. More tech requires more cyber security and we know the issues we have already

31. All I saying is this PLT, your break down of the system and its weak points none of us can fault. But we all know that we have seen enuf examples of where we failed miserably when it comes to implementation. Or I should say implement and “tek back” in our case.

Start small with enforcement and go from there. What I will say its time to hurt all where it hurts and that is the pocket. Time has come for us to implement an impound system. If the state don’t know how to do it then privatise it. All they would need is to send a police with the wrecker when the impound is actually done. The impound yard , wreckers and all the capital expenses can be farmed out to the private sector if wunna frighten to operate it.

Enuf platform talk and promises let’s actually do something now and not 3 years from now, like the greenhouse project which I still “imagining.”

32. @John A

What about the demerit system that was promised?

In fact: what is the status of tint enforcement?

We live a good talk.

33. Not in court jester mode this time, following Redguard 23 February 2026 at 1:31 pm:

I also suspect that some schools are the main problem. Traffic volume was very low on days when there was no school.

Another problem is the foolish behaviour of many drivers at the Clyde Walcott Roundabout when they drive from the city towards Jackmans and then cross Errol Barrow Highway at the roundabout. Traffic backs up to Kelsis Supermarket, leaving no room for vehicles on Errol Barrow Highway to pass. In other words, the country folk driving back to their farms and their beloved cows are blocking the main traffic route. As a result, traffic backs up from Clyde Walcott Roundabout all the way to Everton Weekes Roundabout.

Our transport authority should measure traffic flows using Google Maps and other road traffic tools and then draw conclusions for the relocation of schools, roundabouts and flyovers.

Tron

34. @ David

You hit it right on the head. We can talk up a storm especially at election time, but we know its all about playing to the masses! Even the same ZR tribe know that this is all talk and will blow over in a few weeks. Ever ZR nearly still got dark tint on it and I am still seeing plenty cars on the road that are so darkly tinted, you can’t even tell if it has a driver in it.

Talk talk talk we got the award for that, problem is now the perpetrators are also realising it.

35. David

Uh huh. But if the feed is about transport and there’s evidence of some progress why not simply admit that yes though too slow somethings have happened? Why attempt to switch? But how can anyone transform public transportation with 50 buses? As usual, neither you nor the BUI can refute my point that the points raised by PLT are not new and are in motion. Just sit back, fret, bitch and watch muh. 🤣

36. John A

“this development will revolutionise the agricultural sector.”

Enuff making a mess of u and u a fool of urself ( as usual)
    Enuff told u many times where u can find the “greenhouse” the minister talked about in the above quote.

37. The only thing Enuf and you ever make a mess of was wunna underwear so hush do!

I ask him bout the 10 acre green house pilot project and he going tell me bout 3 containers rusting out somewhere with pipe in them! Wait wunna storing these containers the same place wunna got the steal houses rusting out as well? And you like a good sheep saying he explained where they are! LOL

I aint like wunna that believe what ever you are told by the divine leader. I got to physically see things happening. Sweet talk and promises don’t mean nothing to me. They say a promise is a comfort to a fool and my mother did not born none of them. I remember the big talk when covid was ending “we will diversify the economy and ensure food security as a matter of urgency” wunna said. Well I know words like SOON in political talk could be anywhere between tomorrow and eternity, so I ain’t holding my breath to see nothing happen. Actually the only thing I see getting plant bout here is concrete and not even the poor termites could get concrete eat, far less me and my old dentures.

Wait word is the “perspective” hotelier wunna had to build on the state land at Holetown backout over all the controversy, that is true? So I want to see the Holetown National Park confirmed as soon as possible so the Bajans could park there and get a little swim, cause after all em is them that give wunna another 30 to 0! In light of this surely a little beach access in Holetown on the historic site ain’t too much to ask for is it? PLT had a nice idea for down there, touch base with him and he might let wunna use that idea for free like the last one.

Gone for now, going here and eat little grain, not scratch grain though so don’t get excited. LOL

38. For the first time reading comments I realized how naive I am expecting real change in B’dos. Sigh

39. “I ask him bout the 10 acre green house pilot project “

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Yuh lying

Produce evidence that the minister ever said anything about a 10 acre green house pilot project 3 yrs ago and that he use the comment that u quoted ( “this development will revolutionise the agricultural sector.”) about said 10 acres green house pilot project

40. Vehicle surge concerns PM

St Patrick’s roundabout named in honour of Sir Richard

PRIME MINISTER MIA AMOR MOTTLEY is warning that the surge in vehicles is creating an “unsustainable” reality for daily life in Barbados, with a growing strain on the roads, public transport and infrastructure.

She was speaking during a ceremony yesterday evening in which a roundabout in St Patrick’s, Christ Church, was officially named in honour of Sir Richard Cheltenham, recognising his decades of service to community and country. Government officials, family members, residents and supporters were in attendance.

Even as the ceremony celebrated his legacy and contribution, the steady, uninterrupted flow of traffic around the junction provided a striking backdrop to the Prime Minister’s message.

Mottley told those gathered that when the roundabout was built in 2001, few would have imagined the level of congestion it now experiences.

“I don’t think a single minute has passed with no traffic on the roundabout,” she said, pointing to the constant stream of vehicles as a visible sign of how much the country has changed.

She said the increase in the number of vehicles over the past half-century has been dramatic, rising from about 40 000 to roughly 180 000. The result, she added, was mounting pressure not just on the roads, but on how Barbadians live, travel and plan their daily routines.

“It is an unsustainable atmosphere,” she said, adding that the country must rethink how it manages growth and movement if it is to function efficiently in the years ahead.

A major part of that adjustment, Mottley pointed out, must involve strengthening public transportation.

Not a luxury

“Public transport cannot be a luxury, but must be a basic right if this country is to function efficiently,” she said, adding that an accessible and reliable system is essential to easing congestion and supporting national productivity.

The Prime Minister noted that consultations on traffic and development were already taking place, allowing citizens to share their views on how infrastructure and mobility could be improved. Those discussions, she said, were part of a broader effort to prepare the country for continued growth.

She also used the occasion to outline progress on governance reform.

She said recommendations arising from the Parliamentary Reform Commission, which Sir Richard chaired, are expected to move forward within the next 12 to 18 months. The proposals are currently under review by a standing committee of both Houses of Parliament, chaired by the Attorney General, with the aim of translating them into legislation and administrative changes where necessary.

Mottley said the renaming of the roundabout followed a new approach designed to give communities a greater voice. Instead of political leaders alone determining which locations should be renamed, proposals now begin with public consultation, she stated.

“I am happy that your renaming here was the subject of wide public consultation,” she said, noting that the strong community turnout reflected clear public support for the decision.

In congratulating Sir Richard, a King’s Counsel, and former Member of Parliament and Cabinet minister, the Prime Minister praised him for a lifetime of commitment that extended far beyond official positions.

“You have gone beyond the call of duty with respect to your work in this community,” she said, pointing to his long-standing connection to St Patrick’s.

She noted that despite a distinguished career in law and public service, he remained firmly rooted in the district, worshipping there, supporting its activities and maintaining close ties with residents over many years.

Sir Richard reflected on his ties to the district and the role the community played in shaping his values, outlook and sense of service. He expressed gratitude for the honour and spoke of the deep personal meaning of being recognised in the very place that helped guide his early development.

“To have my name placed here, in a community that shaped my earliest understanding of duty and belonging, is something I receive with profound humility,” he said. “This is not simply an acknowledgement of professional achievements, but a recognition of a life-long journey that began among neighbours, teachers and friends who helped form my sense of purpose.”

He was knighted in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the legal profession, public life and community service. He built an international legal reputation through appearances before some of the region’s and world’s highest courts. These included the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London and the Caribbean Court of Justice, where he was involved in some of the court’s earliest matters following its establishment.

“Whatever I may have accomplished in the courts, in Parliament or in public life, I have always carried with me the lessons of this community – lessons about discipline, fairness and respect for others. Those principles have been my compass and if my work has had any value, it is because it was grounded in what I learned here first.”

He thanked his family for their love and support, adding that “they never complained”.(TRY)

41. Hind sight is often 20/20.

So why was it not OBVIOUS that if you reduce taxes on electric vehicles, and OFFICIALLY encourage their importation into a SMALL country – that ALREADY had a ridiculously high vehicle density…

1 – there would be a new SURGE in vehicle population as importers, banks and Credit Unions moved to make a quick buck.
    2 – that unless the electric grid was powered by RE, there would be very little reduction in fossil fuel consumption, and indeed, an INCREASE.
    3 – that the OLD fossil vehicles previously owned by residents would be passed on to family and friends at rock bottom prices – adding to congestion and consumption.
    4 – there would be a SURGE in rental vehicles (with these cheap units now on the market), so instead of catching a ZR for a week, Cuhdear can rent a car.
    5 – that highways would become clogged by persons who now own vehicles, …but who owns no property on which to park them – and so park them on the PUBLIC ROADS.
    6 – that business will suffer because available parking for CUSTOMERS would now be used by their own STAFF all day long.
    7 – that if MPs got brand new electric vehicles and passed off their perfectly good fossil cars to friends and families, then Tom Dick and Harry will want to do likewise…
    8 – that ultimately we will reach the point where bicycles will become the only reliable means of transport – provided that riders are prepared to die for the opportunity.

In short,
    Proper preparation and planning prevents piss poor performance.

This was a STUPID idea from the very CONCEPT.
    And now the same thinking has been moved to the QEH…???!!

So having the architect come along AFTER the house is completed to complain about the OBVIOUS faults, …is the surest sign that our donkeys are in for serious injury.

What a place!

42. @Enuff

The issues affecting transport in Barbados is much bigger than 50 buses. It is a cultural, sub or counter, take your pick that has eroded this service. Good luck tryingu to fix it. The blogmaster is not confident that your government and others to follow possess the vision, leadership, competence to solve. The blogmaster is happy to be proven wrong.

43. @ Bush Tea

You realise when you go into any government entity that all the parking for customers is far from the building and that all the parking close to the building is for employees? So what does that tell you about the value they place on customers?

As for the electric cars that was another poorly though out idea. Why should a heavy ass electric vehicle come in here mash up the roads and not only pay a lower duty, but pay no fuel tax? If anything they should be paying twice the duty of a regular vehicle to make up for the fact that after coming through customs they contribute nothing else to the tax base of our island. You ever checked the weight of an electric vehicle compared to a gasoline vehicle of the same size?

Next thing who paying for the disposal of the battery cells when the time comes? I hope Mia has a plan in place to charge them proper for the disposal cost and don’t come to the taxpayers to foot that bill as well.

44. @John 2

Greenhouses, what! All this tinkering at the margins, and we are nowhere close to seeing green shoots to assuage concerns about whether we are moving towards food security.

45. @Bush Tea

You forgot to mention the large number of vehicles – PM mentioned a mind boggling 180k at the naming of the Cheltenham roundabout yesterday – is a drain on foreign exchange, stress on emergency services; healthcare etc.

Where there is no leadership…

46. @John A

We talk about national productivity. Given the traffic congestion do you observe the time spent waiting for road side assistance? It can take 2-3 hours!

47. By the way, what is the status of the matter between Richard Cheltenham and Everton Cumberbatch mired in the legal for too many years?

This is Barbados.

48. David

Tell that to John A. I am not the one asking about greenhouses

49. @ David

I will share this with you whenever I am going from south to west coast now I go through the city. It actually takes less time than using the highway and dealing with the traffic into Warrrens and Hagatt Hall. We need a by pass from the by CBC to Redmans or Bagatelle area for sure. I mean they collecting enough in gas tax to do it.

Also they are a few areas that more roundabouts will help as well like the bottom of Shop Hill by the school, or just put in another lane for those turning left going to Sturges and higher into St Thomas. Plus fixing the dam potholes so lines of traffic don’t have to slow down to go through them would help.

50. @John A

Like anything there is a capacity issue to manage. The highway cannot manage the flow. A majority of people work in St. Michael and children school in St.. Michael and bordering areas which means zoning is a not practical in the short term.