Members of the BU household love sports. As we type this blog we are congregated in front of the TV watching the Grenada Invitational. Those who cannot access ESPN 2 here is the link to the online stream.

The image above shows an emotional coach of the St. Michael School athletic program being comforted by principal of the school Dr. Yvette Mayers after being regaled as the 2017 Barbados Secondary Schools Athletics Champion.  Check the beaming facial expressions of the athletes in the background. Does anyone doubt the positive effect participation and success in sport can have on the youth of a country?

While Grenada  just next door opened the Kirani Stadium today and is currently hosting 126 athletes from 26 countries. Our Minister of Sports Stephen Lashley is begging each Barbadians for $10.00 to refurbish the National Stadium. There is little need to prolix on this issue to state how we feel about the state of sports in Barbados.

The millions collected by the lottery every year -what do we have to show for it besides the bevy of officials who get to travel the world and stay at four and five star hotels including Minister Lashley? The ramshackle space that is the National Stadium is a sad reflection on where Barbados now finds itself.

The dilapidated National Stadium

Fedup!

194 responses to “Stephen Lashley, Gimme $10.00”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger April 10, 2017 at 10:27 AM #

…..ah guess his knows how 2 generations of blacks feel when opportunities were deliberately denied them…..
    ……………………………………………….

Hahahaha……2 generations ago his ancestors were like the above you are referring to and so were some at the trough…..so it seems that changing your skin tone does not matter…..interesting.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Vincent..,..Interesting in so much as we are aware that the more corrupt ya are, with an annoying and insulting slave master mentality….the more the slaves in parliament not only appreciates you, but manage to entangle and entwine themselves in the wholesale thefts of taxpayer’s money and NIS pension money….which makes me wonder how can such a convoluted and toxic relationship work to enrich both government ministers and the 6 or 7 slave master wannabes of the minority population with each successive government of both political parties and for over 40 years…..the dynamic involved in keeping such evil alive for decades seems other worldly.

3. @ WW&C

Perhaps Murray has not maid the correct type (or amount) of contribution to someone.

4. Are there any references to sports in Barbados’ constitution or laws specifically adopted for sports? How about establishing a ministry dedicated to sports or a rationalization of the National Sports Council to focus on regulation, financial assistance to sporting activities, constructing and maintaining facilities, as well as providing skilled training and administrative personnel?

For example, in 2004, the Government of Trinidad & Tobago established a limited liability, special interest company called “The Sports Company of Trinidad & Tobago (SporTT). This organization is responsible for:

a) the management, administration and programming of sport as well as the construction and operational maintenance of sporting facilities throughout Trinidad and Tobago;

b) the development of sport, athletes and sporting organisations in Trinidad and Tobago;

c) the key implementation agency for the Ministry of Sport and its varied and comprehensive policies for the promotion, sustainable growth and development of sport in Trinidad and Tobago.

SporTT’s core activities are divided into four main categories: Construction and facility maintenance, Sports for all, National oversight and support, Support for elite athletes.

SporTT also committed to supporting community-based sporting programmes throughout the twin island state that are specifically focused on youth development, “such as coaching of fundamental skills or intermediate training to improve functional skills and understanding of the sport.”

I presented enough information on T&T’s SporTT to give a basic comparative analysis between that entity and Barbados’ Ministry of Sport and the National Sports Council (NSC), which clearly suggests that the administrators of sports in Barbados have been abysmal failures.

SUCCESSIVE BLP & DLP ADMINISTRATIONS have never sought to implement legislative institutional changes that would assist sporting organizations in adapting to new market environments.

Our idea of developing the youth through community-based sports is politicians hosting night cricket and football tournaments a FEW MONTHS BEFORE a GENERAL ELECTION. Or the annual, politicized “David Thompson Memorial Constituency Councils Football Classic,” which, ironically, is organized by the Constituency Councils.

After 9 years as Minister, Stephen Lashley has demonstrated he, and by extension his administration, do not have a clear vision for sports in Barbados. His legacy should be unique, in that he will be remembered as the minister who begged citizens for $10 donations to an unofficial National Stadium “refurbishment fund.”

Stephen Lashley now contributes to the “unbroken continuum” of “making sport at sports.”

5. Let us cut to the bone -whatever we are doing in Barbados to support sports development is not working. Certainly if we benchmark to little Grenada that just successfully hosted the Grenada Invitational we are lagging far behind.

6. It begs the question…..how true is the feeling …..no brown bag no approval for development…..have we reached the stage of one of our neighbours?….if so what are we going to about it?

7. In the Sunday Sun Stephen Lashley is quoted as follows:

‘We can do much better on our radio stations to push more local music. There is plenty of talents in this country, not only calyso but across the various genres and it isn’t getting its just due.’

Question for Minister Lashley -does the government own 98.1 and 100.7FM stations? If yes do they play enough local music.

8. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Vincent…expose and shame all the parties involved jn these crimes against the people and country, bribery is a crime, corruption is a crime, it’s now decades overdue that these criminals, from ministers, to politicians to minority business people are committing these crimes without consequences, disadvantaging and disenfranching people seeking opportunities without consequences for their wicked actions.

The blog is the forum that has been actually calling out all of them fpr their crimes since the authorities in Barbados, because of their incestous involvement in the same crimes have refused to do anything….for decades….and as long as they too keep receiving brown bags filled with cash…..will continue to do nothing as long as their silence and inaction are paid for.

9. Maybe ‘lil hitler’ might ask Al Gilkes for a few tips.

10. Question for Minister Lashley -does the government own 98.1 and 100.7FM stations? If yes do they play enough local music.
    Boss, wuh you worse than Bushie …and worser than Vincent!!

You know full well that those Lashleys only talk because they HAVE to say something … not because they actually have something to say ….and CERTAINLY not because they have actually done anything to talk about.

Those Government stations play a roll of shiite all day long, nothing related to development, knowledge, education, upliftment… featuring a set of DJ who sound like ‘nothinarians’ from the slums….. promoting the worse possible kind of values -mostly featuring clear criminal elements from Jamaica and the slums of the USA…..

If you listen to our school children, it is clear that 70% of our education system is IN ACTUALITY controlled by these media… and this minister, instead of establishing some kind of leadership, is again with a begging bowl – not for $10 this time, but begging these rabble-minded DJs to play a bajan song in between the Jamaican shiite that cannot even see the light of play in Jamaica…

What a short &%*$#! (vision)

….and did you hear the other one on the VOB 12:30 news promising ‘to look at the Warrens roundabout’ …because nearby residents reported that accidents were occurring there….?
    Every shiite he promises to ‘look at’ or “look into…” …and always ‘soon’… BUT never does anything.
    Oh Shirttt!!

Somebody BIG must have prayed for our donkeys. …. very likely someone who has been scammed by the shiite government that we have around our necks….
    Let’s see…
    it could be a CLICO victim, …a CAHILL victim, …a NCC victim, … A BIDC victim, … a BNB victim, …A Redjet victim, ….a Alexandra victim, ….a Police officers victim, … a Central Bank victim…., …a Water Authority ex-management victim…

shiite!!!
    …no wonder our donkey is grass…..

11. @Bushie

You aware according to new Brasstacks moderator that Stephen Lashley is one of the ministers making the right ‘noises’?

12. Stephen Lashley is one of the ministers making the right ‘noises’?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    But that is true!
    The man can speak sweet as shiite.

Boss, he is so good, that on more than one occasion he has produced boss speeches – impromptu, – with such smoothness and confidence that Bushie almost forgot that it was all shiite that he was talking.
    His trick is in the fact that he seems able to convince himself that people still take him seriously. This leads to an air of confidence and enthusiasm that makes his presentations qualify to being classed as ‘making the right noises’.

It is just that he can’t seem to do one shiite right…

13. Whatever happened to all the lotta long talk we got from the morons when Ryan Brathwaite won the gold medal?

They promised the young man the moon and the stars, everything he wanted to succeed was to be put at his disposal.

After all of the pomp and flair, as usual everything the DLP touches, it blights……………and poor Ryan went down hill from thereon.

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Note in Machiavelli’s booklette there is a passage on lying with a straight and sincere face.

Hmmm……the political class would have taken the time to study politics to the highest level.

15. Vincent
    These brown bags have been knocking around for years. Many potential government contracts have been rescheduled, as “there was nutting in dey for the Minister.” Wheel and come again.

16. The 10 Mickey Mouse – dollars for the stadium are only the beginning. Next, the ministers and their cronies ask for 100 dollars for sanitation, 500 dollars for a new hospital, 100 dollars for a new government HQ and 5 dollars for a new chair for CJ Gibson.

17. Look at those countries with more wealth and resources where citizen involvement has played significant role by use of charitable donations in regards to athletic programs and other areas where govt funding has been sparing or ceased.
    Only here in barbados would one here yardfowls cackling and expecting govt to do everything.
    Barbadians should look at how peoples participation by way of Telethons and events like the ice bucket challenges in other wealthy countries has been a sourcing of necessary funding for programs where govt cannot meet all of the financial responsibility

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

As’s…not a cent, 10 cents or 25 cents for Lashley’s or any of the arrogrant ministers who stole pensioner’s and taxpayer’s money to give minority criminals to enrich them and so they can collect bribes, not a dime for yall thieves…go get back the people’s stolen money from Maloney, Cow, Bizzy, Bjerkham, everyone else yall stole from the people for and build the stadium. ….not a dime, not a donation, not a telethon, not even a drink of water…ya got containers of pee waiting though.

Yall are useless and will steal the money and give the rest away to minorities…useless negroes.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Angela Skeete…you shame and disgrace, coming on here to beg for money, yall aint steal enough, ya begging for campaign financing under the guise of building a stadium……you will get not one blasted cent….be gone parasite.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/04/10/not-right-4/

Disgusting Dennis incompetent Lowelife already bribing desperate workers in exchange for votes, but these workers are aware that they will be fired as soon election is done.

“Not right!
    Workers claim NCC has hired 170 new employees

Added by Colville Mounsey on April 10, 2017.
    Saved under Local News, Work force
    Workers at the National Conservation Commission (NCC) are becoming increasingly agitated over reports that the statutory corporation had hired 170 new employees in recent weeks, three years after 200 workers were severed.

Last July the Employment Rights Tribunal headed by Hal Gollop, QC, ruled that the 200 workers were unfairly dismissed when they were sent home in April 2014 as part of Government’s cost-cutting measures, and ordered compensation equivalent to 52 weeks’ wages. In addition, Government had agreed that the retrenched workers would be given first preference for any future vacancies within the state agency.

However, multiple sources said not only were the retrenched workers ignored in this latest recruitment effort, but eyebrows were further raised upon discovering that many of the new employees hailed from the constituency of Minister of the Environment and Drainage Dr Denis Lowe.”

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Look As’s…Maloney WILL NOT take stolen NIS and taxpayer’s money and pay yall thieves election bribes if the Hyatt is delayed until it can be legally built…no wonder ya on BU begging for money…ya shameless hussy…lol

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/04/11/comissiong-to-file-new-motion-against-hyatt/

What yall want to bet Hyatt already got an attachment with this article….read and weep…lol, hahaha, lol.

Comissiong to file new motion against Hyatt
    Added by Neville Clarke on April 11, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Political activist David Comissiong is seeking to strike another blow at the heart of the controversial Hyatt Centric Resort scheduled to be built on Lower Bay, The City.

“The attorney-at-law, who has already secured an injunction putting the brakes on the US$100 project, will Tuesday file an interim order suspending permission to build until the court can hear the substantive matter in a hearing scheduled for May.”

22. listen idiot who do you think will suffer the most the dlp govt or the youth whose goals most likely would be diminished you ought to shut yuh foolish mout and stop talking shit ,

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

You thieves will suffer the most, no more stealing from pensioners and the treadury to collect bribes…plus yall will be thrown out of parliament on ya lying, thieving asses…

….black people have always known how to survive on very little or nothing, the people will survive until better comes along….but you thieves wont…be gone.

24. So sad that people like you who are of the naked departure club would be allowed daily to voice opinions without having to bring evidence.So fuc..king sad and even worse is that the administrator would give u free reign .No wonder that BU for the many lo years have been only able to attract a handful of contributors

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

So glad you thieves have been effectively exposed by the BU CLUB….stealing from vulnerable citizens to enrich 6 or 7 minorities fpr 40 years while you take bribes and election campaign financing in return…you stupid, stupid people and common class thieves.

26. @WW&C

Why should it surprise you that the NCC allegedly “hired 170 new employees in recent weeks, three years after 200 workers were severed” and “many of the new employees hailed from the constituency of Minister of the Environment and Drainage Dr Denis Lowe?”

I mentioned in a previous contribution to BU that, according to government’s retrenchment protocol, those individuals who were retrenched from the various state agencies would be given first preference should any future vacancies exist.

In recent months the Transport Board hired a number of new bus drivers, many of whom came from St. Philip North. Unfortunately, none among them were former drivers who were retrenched in 2013.

I will bet you the ministers or members and supporters of the DLP CONVENIENTLY NEGLECTED to MENTION these FACTS during DLP’s “DLP FACTS, Conference 2,” held at the George Lamming School on Sunday, April 9th, 2017.

Additionally, rather than coming to BU griping about contributors using pseudonyms, perhaps Carl Moore’s time could be better utilized encouraging his young journalist colleagues to “proactively investigate” these types of “political atrocities” committed by BLP & DLP administrations on Barbadians.

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

As’ s…do yall have any idea how many hundreds of thousads of people traverse the BU blog daily for information, of course ya won’t ya too stupid to know how widely the blog is shard and viewed.

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

https://imgur.com/CzhrEyZ

Look stupid As’s..check out the views…..and weep and weep.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Art….we will cramp them until they are fully paralyzed..for their lying, deceitful, thiefing, wicked ways.

As’s…..So glad you thieves have been effectively exposed by the BU CLUB….stealing from vulnerable citizens to enrich 6 or 7 minorities for 40 years while you take bribes and election campaign financing in return…you stupid, stupid people and common class thieves.

30. Bring the evidence jacka.ss..

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Keep saying that, dont stop, everything is in motion to end yall thievery and deceit, it is now irreversible.

Yall can always go up to Apes Hill and beg Cow for a job, he welcomes slaves.

32. Wha happen to Piece uh de Rock ?

Hope he is ok.

33. Who heard Sanka Price asking callers to give Lashley’s Gimme 10 dollars a chance? It was refreshing to listen to a caller ask about Lashley’s ministry paying Bizzy 30,000 dollars montly in rent. These people take Bajans for fools.

34. David, methinks ‘these people’ KNOW we are gullible fools.

There was a comment made by Commissiong in his piece which brought a smile to my face. It was one of those remarks which boldly shouts ‘I got mine’ if one is ‘listening’.

Frankly to his credit he said he walked away from it all, but my point is that ‘politricks’ is all an awesome game.

We the citizens believe we are players of some repute but basically we get played …and really we know it too!

What they say about casinos can be said for politicians: the ‘House’ always wins !

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Sanka Price is another jackass.

36. Perhaps Minister Tendollar Lashley, should ask the Nation Newspaper to pay him a royalty of $1 for every photograph of him , which they have published since he came to office, and donate this money towards the rebuilding of National Stadium.
    We talking some serious dollars here!

37. Who heard Sanka Price asking callers to give Lashley’s Gimme 10 dollars a chance?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Price is a bit like Hal.
    He is not a bad fella, but he does not understand as much as he THINKS that he does.

The best is when he kept interrupting the fella (talking about the increases in hiring by Government) who comes with figures, – asking for references …only to find that his interruptions were the only thing in the way of said references….

Then he got onto the wrong end of an argument with Mr Anti-American about the role of directors – in defence of his asinine idea of paying ministers MORE money …’since they get involved in the day-to-day business of government’ … DESPITE their lack of competence to perform the roles.

Did you hear his explanation for Lashley’s poor arithmetic?
    If 200000 Bajans gave $10 each, …and Lashley expects to collect $20M, Sanka presumes that the remainder ($18M) will come from businesses…. yea right!!

Bushie’s presumption is much more likely…
    Clearly Lashley sought advice from Stinkliar – and suffered from the decimal point issue…
    OR…
    He plans to collect the $10 BEFORE devaluation, convert it to US$ and then cash it after the BDS $ rate change…

38. How about making a collection from that upscaled housing community, at Mango Bay, I think it was called, the residents of which were receiving a “free” supply of water from BWA for 10 years.
    And this clown is asking people to donate $10? The same people, who the BWA have no qualms of cutting off their supplies after only a few days or weeks of arrears.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

These thieving ministers got a nerve stealing from taxpayers and pensioner’s to prop up a few minorities for decades….paying the likes pf Bizzy huge rents unnecessarily when refurbishing the many buildings they all neglected and deliberately allow to turn derelict would save the treasury 30,000 monthly rents to Bizzy and Barrack and whomever else…all that wasted money they are giving away could have built several stadiums…..

……but here is stupid Lashley and the even dumber yardfowls begging the already victimized and robbed by both government and minorities population, for decades, to put 10 dollars of hard to come by money to build a stadium…..after the same ministers having given away and wasted hundreds of millions of dollars which dont belong to them, still trying to buy status and minority friends because they have no original ideas, no intelligence.

The DLP should be disbanded, the ministers are all a blight and pox on the island and it’s people.

40. Bunch uh loser alwaycomplaining about ideas and wunna aint got one sh.it to contribute to the economy

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

“Ten Dollar” Lashley’s scam is not a new idea, it is begging victimized people he and his fellow ministers already robbed, whose money they already stole to elevate minorities, money which could have built several stadiums, you pigs now have the audacity to be begging the same people you stole from, for money to build a stadium…..that is what will beat you…..not a penny, not a dime for you thieves.

42. You sittng up deh in Canada with all their problems and jucking yuh noise here in little Bim issue . keep talking yuh dog shit cause when election time comes yuh just might have all that shit to eat up. A hole

43. You do seem to be getting a tad edgy ehh angela….???!!

…are the woes of government wearing you down?
    …did the change of name from AC not ease the stress of karma in wunna donkeys?
    … are the unions beginning to bite?

Perhaps it is time to dig up the pitchfork wunna erected at the Garrison…
    That seems to be what is pricking you in the donkey…

44. Who talking to u duffus the pitchfork would do well to widen that hole in yuh butt so u can spew more crap . imagine telling bajans not to help the country some patriot u are

45. Angela Skeete is definitely on of the ACs.

46. Hey u the udda guy talking wait you got nothing else to do than decipher ac from angela skeete .ole man go find someting better to do wid you time. What difference does it mek to u who is who. BTW why dont you come from under the cover of darkness and reveal who you are . who yuh frighten for.

As a patriotic bajan i would donate a reasonable amount to the fund in order to help the youth excel abd follow their dreams

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol…touchy, touchy….lol

As’s…not a cent for you and “Ten Dollar”Lashley…..yall are thieves and care nothing about the athletes and potential olympians, in Barbados, the same young people yall stole from in the last 9 years, robbed their parents tax dollars and their grandparents pension fund while ya thiefing insurance friends robbed them their policy money, disenfranchised them , starved them of water, gave away their futures and their money, left them jobless, wasted their money on shit….ya had 9 years to build a stadium, now ya on here begging for more money to steal…not a dime…we are making sure to share this information worldwide….another government will build that stadium. ……not you STINKING THIEVES currently squatting in the people’s parliament waiting for free money.

48. So the name Price I heard on Brasstacks is Sanka Price.Isn’t he suppose to be a journalist at the Nation?If he is I am not impressed so far with his level of intelligence displayed as a moderator.Where does David Ellis bring these jokers from.Lets get some informed and well read and spoken moderators pulleeze.The DLP sympathisers are coming out of the woodwork to attempt to put spin on the abject failures of these quacks for Ministers.Thieves and criminals all.Bastids.

49. WW&C

Angela Skeete is just as real as Carson C. Cadogan.

50. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Art…2 dumb asses they are, ya know the government has scraped the bottom of the barrel bare, having the ACs and Carson as yardfowls….lol