Submitted by Wayne Cadogan

Once again, we are in another Olympic year and it is the same old story, Olympic after Olympic of promises and more promises regarding our sports. The Olympics will come to an end and Barbados results will be the same as in previous years and we will hear the same old story that is preached after each Olympics games.

There will be no beneficial results for the country other than possible personal best times for the individual athlete, but no hardware to boast of. The only benefactors from the Olympics will be the usual large and inflated officials that always accompanying the team to all games.

The large number of officials that accompanied the four athletes to the Olympics this year is nothing new or unusual. This is a precedent that has been going on from the 1960’s, when a national team of three athletes went to Puerto Rico to compete and thirteen officials accompanied the team. There was chaos among the athletes with the time scheduling due to the language barrier and the so-called officials were nowhere around to sort matters out. It was alleged that they went on a shopping spree. 

The inclusion of Tristan Evelyn is a classic case of padding the team in order to carry more officials, because she did not meet the qualifying times for the 100M. The Barbados Olympic Association cannot even justify her presence in the team for the experience or for competition exposure, as she has long past her best and there is no way that she will get past the first round of the 100 meters. 

Athletics is about times and distances. It is unfortunate that most Barbadians do not see times and distances as the measuring stick for an athlete’s success. I have always maintained and will continue to say that if an athlete cannot win an event at level four, that it is impossible to win at level one, being it’s the Olympics.

Unfortunately, our best athlete Sada Williams’ hope of winning a medal at the Olympics will be difficult because given her times and inconsistency, I cannot see her medaling ahead of any of the ten athletes whose times are far superior to hers. But it is on the day of performance that counts.

It breaks my heart as a former athlete to see that the islands that Barbadians refer to as small islands, have gone pass us by leaps and bounds in all sports, especially in athletics. Grenada is a classic case, they have three Olympic medals, one gold, one silver and one bronze and there’s the possibility of getting another medal at this year’s Olympics, plus five World medals yet we are here in Barbados still jumping up in the air over one Olympic medal.

There are two problems facing Barbados sports, one is that Barbadians do not have that passion for sports like Jamaica and Trinidad and some of the other territories, which are rich in history going back from the 1940’s and have a vibrant Sports Program, while Barbados does not have one, at least not a proper sports program. Our sports have been going backwards since the 1980’s, while all the other islands have been going forward. The main problem is that sports is seen as recreational and not taken as seriously as other nations look beyond the amateur level as a possible money earner and career.

A stadium is not the answer to Barbados going forward, we have a thousand and one so-called coaches and yet we do not have the results to show. As far as I am concerned, Barbados has only two competent coaches, who get results and have been doing so for years. What Barbados needs is a National Sports Complex and I had been advocating for years for it to be built across the street from the present stadium where the largest Botanical Gardens in the region is now located.

44 responses to “The reality of Barbados sports”

1. Gold for St. Lucia for Julien Alfred in the 100m. Congrats.

2. Thea Lefond wins gold for Dominica in the triple jump.

3. ” Thea LaFond, what a story:

– Born in Dominica
    – Moved to Maryland at 7
    – Started track in high school
    – 2015 B1G Field Athlete of the Year
    – Taught in Montgomery County Schools to support her dream”

4. Julien Alfred ” trains in Austin, Texas and went to the University Texas, but the watch party was in Saint Lucia as the sprinter delivered her island its first ever Olympic medal.”

5. William Skinner Avatar

We are seeing the same nonsense in tourism. Bragging about an industry that is now facing serious competition from others but we continue to put square pegs in round holes.
    The truth is that sports was better administered when the leaders were from within the communities.
    We are seriously advising the government not to invest $10 million in any indoor cricket facility. We are not going to establish no “ cricket factory”.
    Use the money to properly market road tennis globally and within the region. Make Bim the road tennis capital of the world. Don’t make the mistake Trinidad made with the pan. If you don’t use it , you would lose it ! Note what the Jamaicans have done with reggae.
    Cricket is now controlled by the India/ Asian countries. Furthermore why spend all that money on cricket when there is a movement away from the sport. Just look at how quickly road tennis has gained a presence in the schools with both boys and girls.
    Someone ought to tell the powers that be that cricketing talent in the region has been targeted by the Indians for over twenty years. That train left the station twenty years ago. That’s why there is cricket now being played and properly marketed throughout the USA.

6. It’s all about priorities can’t be superior when always settling for mediocrity
    Take a look at where and how govt spends money as the saying goes can’t plant tomatoes and reap corn
    While St Lucia and Dominica are celebrating in a fashion which would stamp their names in the history and Archives of Athletics
    Barbadians were revelling in an yearly events of crop over and waiting to see who win pic o de crop calypso style
    Cheers to those govt who understand and knows the value of priorities

7. As Hants posted those athletes are groomed in the US.

8. William Skinner Avatar

We are firmly convinced that Sada will medal. She has the ability to successfully compete at this level.

9. A sports complex

A national stadium.

What’s the difference?

You seem to be saying that one is not needed but the other is.

Tend to generally agree. Maybe it’s arrested development across the board. However, there may not be a singular activity, across the whole gamut, where the Bajan culture, including sporting, cannot be shown to be residing, we’re afraid.

Within the Bajan Olympics culture it maybe it’s development, from jump street, of a predatory social class system of graft which has sucked it’s life’s blood as if vampire.

10. David Avatar
    August 3, 2024 at 6:20 pm

As Hants posted those athletes are groomed in the US.
    ‘Xxc
    So what is your point
    And Rhianna was groomed in the USA

11. William Skinner

How is that possible when 10 people running far better times consistently?

Hope? Bring facts!

12. Carry on ac.

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

Our view is that she has the ability to medal. Taking into consideration what she has accomplished during the year , leading up to the Olympics. If she doesn’t medal, it would only mean that we are wrong.
    Times leading up to a race does not automatically mean those times will be achieved during the race.
    We can bring no other facts. In this case we believe she will medal.

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ angela Cox
    Rihana is a product of Barbados but she is not a Barbados product.
    That being said, we consider her a business genius , to have navigated , that level of the entertainment and corporate entities so masterfully.
    We ought to be very proud of her accomplishments to date.

15. David
    August 3, 2024 at 6:44 pm

Carry on ac.
    No you carry on with your nonsensical defense
    If it was Barbados win wouldn’t hear any kind of utterance
    Who really cares where she was coached
    It is a ST.Lucia win deal with it
    Oops carry on smartly

16. Until such time as we are ready to refrain from celebrating less than the best and promoting also-rans to the top of the class, we shall continue to wallow in our sty of mediocrity. America’s Got Talent, Britain’s Got Talent, The Voice and any other talent show should be an indication to us that we are happy to “big up” what little we have. Contestants on those shows who get eliminated in the first round can run circles around our celebrities and yet they are celebrated from year to year as it they are gods. Is there any incentive to get better?

Same thing happens with our cricketers. Maybe the time has come for the women to be paid more than the “batters and ballers” as calling them by any other name could be misleading. A Bronze was won many years ago and what was the result? A plot of expensive land was gifted. Should we ever win a gold maybe that athlete will be gifted a parish?

There was a time when we felt that we were better than the rest and we tried to live up to that standards with great success. Now, we are proud to be known as the party capital of the Caribbean.

17. No medals, don't cry Avatar
    No medals, don’t cry

Two minor points
    1) You can build 3,000 stadiums, if the talent is not present there will be no medals
    2) wishful thinking. I would love to see Sadia win, but she is not in the top 4 athletes who do the 400. A medal of any kind is unlikely

18. Anyone for bodybuilding? We appear to excel in this activity. Perhaps one day our governments may decide that it would be wiser to invest and subsidise blacks in sports rather then pass on all sporting subsidises towards whites and their numerous sporting and leisure activities such as horse racing, golf, motor racing, etc.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/26/plans-afoot-to-boost-bodybuilding/

19. Congratulations also to Julian Alfred coach Edrick Floreal a Haitian

20. August 3, 2024 at 6:56 pm

@ angela Cox
    Rihana is a product of Barbados but she is not a Barbados product.
    X’xxx
    You missed the reason why I clapped back at David
    It is as if the notation mention of Julian coached in the USA should be used as a defense against Barbados lackluster approach at the Olympics
    Meanwhile govt offers of long talk of not providing adequate and sufficient revenue to track
    and field over the years remains problematic

21. https://youtu.be/QsdAL-DD6tE?si=nUpuYZ3m8SpfKbMF

Hail Hitler!

Racism in sports.

22. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

SHORT TERMS ADRENALINE HITS; INCREASED SEROTONIN & ENDORPHIN LEVELS; DOPAMINE SHOTS & OXYTOCIN BOMBING – THE MAGIC CARPET ESCAPIST ARTISTRY SMEARED UPON A WORLD HOOKED ON THE FAINTING, SHALLOW THRESHOLD OF PLEASURE-SEEKING & ARTIFICAL AMUSEMENT THAT LAST AS LONG AS A SNOW-CONE IN 30-DEGREE WEATHER

In ancient Rome, the phrase “PANEM” et “CIRCENSES” aka #BreadAndCircus originated from “SATIRE X” penned by the Roman poet “JUVENAL” (100 AD) & it is from his name we get the word, “JUVENILE”, meaning (“adolescent,” “youthful,” “young,” “immature,” & “prepubescent.”) These terms all convey a sense of youthfulness, lack of maturity, or development – a “PIPE DREAM” that those seasoned in age still hope to somehow be able to live out their passing years “DISGRACEFULLY”!!!

Juvenal criticized the Roman Empire’s reliance on providing “FREE FOOD” & “ENTERTAINMENT” to the “MASSES”, rather than focusing on “PUBLIC SERVICES” & “GOOD GOVERNACE” – 2000 year old “JOKE” that is still being played out in broad daylight!!!

Today, the “HANDS” that move the “DIAL” fills the airwaves with “SENSATIONALIZED NEWS STORIES AS ATTENTION GRABBERS”, “REALITY TV TRASH”, & other forms of “ESCAPISM” to keep the befuddled public distracted from the more pertinent & substantial issues facing them – while they provide “CRICKET”, “FOOTBALL”, “OLYMPICS” & a rolling scroll of “BARNUM & BAILEY CIRCUS OF DISTRACTIONS” to amuse the “INERT SENSIBILITIES” of “HUMANS” yearning for the “NEXT HORMONAL FIX”!!!

This “BREAD & CIRCUS” approach diverts attention from the real important issues in life, by focusing on “SHORT-TERM GRATIFICATION”, which leads to “NEGLECT” of long-term “STRUCTURAL PROBLEMS” & the “CIVIC RESPONSIBILITIES” of dismissive leaders who could care less about their own citizens but more about their own aggrandizement & fading stature in the world’s eyes!!!

Thus, by undermining “CIVIC ENGAGEMENT” & kicking the real issues into the long grass – they provide “EASY DISTRACTIONS”, that “ALWAYS” erode citizens’ interest in participating in the poLIEtical process & holding “BAD LEADERS” accountable & while the “HEAVING MASSES” are embroiled in their “FEVERISH BEDLAM” of noise & claptrap – #PoLIEticians are able to “FORCE THROUGH” in abstentia “NEFARIOUS LEGISLATION” & “DRACONIAN LAWS” in the plain light of day, under the noses of the “MASSES” !!!

This applied form of “PSYCHO-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR” not only creates a form of “TYRANNICAL GOVERNANCE” – known as “TYRANNY BY THE BACKDOOR” but also induces a “CULTURE OF MINDLESS INTERDEPENDENCY” – as it fosters a “RELIANCE” on “HANDOUTS” & “ENTITLEMENTS”, by GOVs whose sole purpose is to keep the “PIGS FEEDING AT THE TROUGH OF ENTITLEMENT LARGESSE”, rather than “PROMOTING SELF-SUFFICIENCY & “PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY” for the development of one’s society!!!

So while the “PARTY IS IN FULL SWING”, and the patrons are “WUKKING UP ON THE DECK CHAIRS OF A SINKING TITANIC MONOLITIC INSTITUTION” – where the “MAJORITY” will be plunged headlong into the cold, murky water of Poseidon’s Oblivion – “ONLY” happens due to men refusing to “STAND WATCH” upon the hallowed walls to see when impending danger was forthcoming – sadly, most will be caught unaware!!!

#WhatAWorld
    #WhatAFinale
    #WhatDevastation

23. The problem with Barbados sport is IDENTICAL to the overall problem with Brassbados.
    There is no focus on Quality.
    Everything revolves around short-term self aggrandizement and nepotism.

So after DECADES of piss poor results in all areas of sport in Barbados, the SAME players continue, year after year, to misdirect this important area of national life.

After millions and millions of dollars from the Lottery (yet another pandoras box to be opened), from taxpayers, from businesses, and from international sponsors, ..we have no facilities, no structure, no high level program, no medals, and no prospects.

HOWEVER, we all know that there will be NO CHANGES to the decision makers, NO reviews of administrative, or even sport performance, NO consequences for failure, incompetence, misuse of the millions, or LACK OF PLANNING.
    NONE!!!

Shiite…. we don’t even know who most of these people are – they mostly hide in the background to avoid scrutiny…. much like the white shadow parasites that live off our treasury via our political idiot leaders.

Imagine that our NATIONAL athletes’ development has FOR YEARS been associated with a certain coach who recently displayed such uncouth, childish, public behavior that he had no choice but to resign from a particular role….

All is not lost however….
    Large numbers of Bajans have been able to travel the world, many in FIRST CLASS luxury, and to shop and sightsee in exotic cities – that would otherwise have been only possible in their dreams. This appears to be Enuff for most of us….

Again this is very much like Brassbados, where, while we barely own any of our ‘fields and hills’ (which currently belong to Massy, EMERA, Republic Bank, CIBC, Cable and Wireless and a range of absentee ‘plantation owners’ of hotels, Restaurants, Bars etc.
    No MEDALS!! ..not even our own.

All is not lost there either…
    Large numbers of Brass bowls have obtained loans from the foreign banks (using THEIR OWN SAVINGS DEPOSITED THERE) to buy exotic Japanese, Korean, German and other luxury vehicles, to travel the world and to buy ‘bling’ which is required to provide the needed oneupmanship over their friends and neighbors.
    ….then they complain that their housing, health, food, education and other critical needs are not being adequately met by ‘government’.

What a place!!
    So what, but a SPIRITUAL curse, could explain such idiocy…?
    Wunna tell Bushie then…
    …or look for some sack cloth and ashes.

24. @Bush Tea

You forgot to mention the cloak of silence that rules this little club where individuals rotate through ‘sweet jobs’ and per diems are bigger than some salaries.

25. Meanwhile in Paris……. an orgy of an opening ceremony, starving athletes, collapsible cardboard beds, sweltering heat with inadequate cooling systems and shite swimming in the Seine!

I think the Olympics have run their course. Or is it just western imperialism.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

26. Careful Bushie…
    They are getting to you…
    Your contributions are excellent …
    but you seem to be heading to the point where you will be using cuss words. Slam on the brakes and use con, scam, flimflam, 3-card monte and the reliable ‘brassbowls’. Don’t try to rhyme brassbowls.

27. Bush Tea
    August 4, 2024 at 5:58 am

The problem with Barbados sport is IDENTICAL to the overall problem with Brassbados.
    There is no focus on Quality.
    Everything revolves around short-term self aggrandizement and nepotism.

So after DECADES of piss poor results in all areas of sport in Barbados, the SAME players continue, year after year, to misdirect this important area of national life.

Meanwhile, Jamaica has Usain Bolt 2.0 in the works.

How do they do it?

In my young days, Jamaica and sprinters went hand in hand, both men and women.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/other/jamaican-16-year-old-who-smashed-usain-bolt-s-record-not-being-at-olympics-speaks-volumes/ar-AA1ocdko?ocid=msedgntp&pc=W069&cvid=68e3c4cdd26245809cda9fc03936da97&ei=15

28. Hold it. Put on the brakes. Don’t get carried away. Running faster than Bolt did at primary school does not give automatic admission to the Olympics.

He did not even meet Olympic qualifying time.

Please stop.

29. Ah Grasshopper

The point is that there are sprinters in the works!!

30. I am not really so taken with the Olympics or athletics in general …. achievements have been devalued because of the doping scandals and now the transgender athletes.

31. OBADELE THOMPSON AND PEOPLE LIKE MYSELF WHO LEFT THE 2X3 ISLAND BY SCHOLARSHIPS HAD TO PREVIOUSLY DEAL WITH “ROCK GEORGE TRACK AT THE NATIONAL STADIUM.

WHEN WE GOT TO US UNIVERSITIES THE TRACK, STADIUMS AND WEIGHT ROOMS LOOKED LIKE OUT OF THE MOVIES.

NOTHING HAS CHANGED ON THE 2X3 ISLAND SINCE THEN JUST GOTTEN WORSE YET PUNCHING ABOVE ITS WEIGHT.

32. Did the better conditions help you to win gold?

33. BAJE

34. Did the better conditions help you to win gold?

Xxxxxxxx

YOU OBVIOUSLY DON’T HAVE A CLUE THE STADIUM TRACK ON THE 2C3 ISLAND WAS CALLED “ROCK GEORGE” ASK CADOGAN THE AUTHOR OF THIS BLOG TOPIC AND HARD AS CONCRETE KNOWN TO GIVE CHIN SPLINTS TO ATHLETES.

FOR THOSE WHO THINK I AM A LIAR I WENT TO CH CH FOUNDATION FIRST AS RICARDO HARRIS NICK NAMED BENQUICK AS MY SURNAME WAS CHANGED TO RICARDO JARVIS WHEN I WAS 16 AS MOTHER MARRIED STEPFATHER BUT KEPT MY FIRST SURNAME WHILST I WAS AT FOUNDATION AND CHANGED LATER WHILST I WAS IN COLLEGE IN US WHEN FIRST ATTENDED ON SCHOLARSHIP.

I WAS THE UNDER 20 BOYS 400M AND 800M RECORD HOLDER AT FOUNDATION UNTIL BROKEN YEARS LATER BY WILAN LOUIS.

I HAD A REGIONAL COMPANY AND ALSO TAUGHT AT UWI Part Time FOR A SHORT WHILE IN THE MANAGEMENT DIVISION UNDER PROFESSOR PUNNETT. WHILST HAVING A BACHELORS DEGREE IN COMPUTER SCIENCE AND A MASTERS DEGREE IN MANAGEMENT.

FORMER US AIRFORCE, FORMER ADJUNCT PROFESSOR AT FLORIDA TECHNICAL COLLEGE AND CURRENTLY A CONSULTANT.

THAT IS MY GOLD IN LIFE.

THOSE WHO DON’T BELIEVE CAN F…… OFF.

35. Stupeeeesssss

36. We are talking Olympics but a war is this night about to begin, with the world champions of war, this night!

On the streets of Britain is the third night of fascist, Tony Robinson chanting mobs, hunting down all people of color under, the pretext that the industrial molestation of young women by White men, has now in the racist collective mind of mobs, become the province of all Indians, Sikhs, Muslims, Bangladeshis and West Indians, entirely based on the exception allowed to become the rule within their sick minds.

37. de Pedantic Dribber Avatar
    de Pedantic Dribber

David that was a lil snarky 🙂 but surely understandable!

It’s confusing that a dude like him would compare the facilities in our so called 2×3 island with these academic “corporations” … who can budget several millions of $$ to their sports directors to ensure there are 1st class facilities for the athletes.

That’s not an EXCUSE for us here but just a simple fact of life … when your revenue.may easily exceed $200 M at the big football schools or even a meager $40 – $50 M at smaller universities you have the wherewithal along with monies from wealthy boosters to MANDATE high-end professional grade facilities.

The facilities comparisons are absurd!

38. Wishing you all the success in the world. Remember to give back some of your millions to the rock or like Oba to serve in some capacity. Do not let you live for the rock go to waste.

39. John 2

Yuh right to stupse.

That man tells nuff, nuff lies.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5i3xSPV2fw

“Lies” by The Black Keys

40. “We are talking Olympics but a war is this night about to begin, with the world champions of war, this night!

On the streets of Britain is the third night of fascist, Tony Robinson chanting mobs, hunting down all people of color under, the pretext that the industrial molestation of young women by White men, has now in the racist collective mind of mobs, become the province of all Indians, Sikhs, Muslims, Bangladeshis and West Indians, entirely based on the exception allowed to become the rule within their sick minds.”

The blame should also be handed out to Bush Blair Cheney Cameron Hague for their illegal wars against muslims and corrupt Anglo-American racial war propaganda which gave seed the and green light for Robinson’s and Farage’s racist politics which the English football hooligans relish. A new bigger war is in the works and the cycle continues.

41. Agreed
    555dub