The attached document was shared with BU and makes for provocative reading – Barbados Underground
The Houses of Parliament, seen across Westminster Bridge in England – Wikipedia

Division is killing us. I am in favour of a *CONSTITUTIONAL DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC, in a sovereign state where the ultimate power rests in its citizens, equally entitled under adult suffrage to vote to elect representatives to wield that power under the constitution, a government with no parties, just representatives from each constituency unified to act in the best interest of the people. In reality the politicians are friends united behind the scenes, so why not be friends united in public acting on behalf of the people? It’s time  for us, an Independent, sensible and well educated nation looking perhaps to create a Republic, to get rid of the Westminister model and get our own, the Barbados model.

MPs should vote for a mandated balanced budget if not a surplus, and balanced trade perhaps by incentivising  exporters.

Why is Parliament set up with two groups on opposing sides of the room? Even the physical layout of the room suggests confrontation. Government on one side and Opposition on the other. If an Independent or member  of a third party gets elected which side do they sit on? We are not a divided country like the former East and West Germany, or North and South Korea, or North and South Sudan, we are one country, why shouldn’t that be reflected in our politics? There is no North and South Barbados, with one party representing North and the other South, are you really interested in the improvement of this country? then let us have a UNITED GOVERNMENT.

Read full text of partyless system document

76 responses to “Is a ‘Partyless’ Political System the Solution?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

It might look good on paper but ya need representation for regional and international purposes also, it would be a good thing to disband political parties permanently, the DBLP have run their course, 50 years, and have become extremely toxic and destructive to the majority people and island.

A minority government, coalition government forces more transparency, the electorate is ready for such governance, they can force such governance by not giving the one or two political parties all their votes, by splitting their votes evenly among the 5 or 6 political parties, the electorate would successfully disband DBLP and force a newly formed and elected minority government to pay attention to what the people and island need, it will drastically reduce the yardfowl brigade, the minority business parasites to staying in their place and bring a sense of fairness and balance to governance, it would reduce government arrogance. ….the ministers would be operating at the minority level and not from a majority strength of uppity-ness.

A minority coalition government would be forced to attend to the needs of the people instead their own and the needs of who can bribe them. the ministers would have to work, finally.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/03/20/dlp-disquiet/

Dumbville you are also smoking something….all of you are arrogant, take the people who voted you in for and whose votes you now need for fools and the majority population want ALL OF YOU gone, both you snd Fruendel have shown majority black bajans enough disdain…you and Fruendel cannot take back those hurtful, hateful words you uttered to CLICO victims after your friend Leroy Parris victimized them and stole their money, or which the ones still alive will never forget, the people will not forget your arrogance on the imported chicken issue, there is no time left to fix the destruction all of you joined with the local minority crooks and visited on the people, the wasted tax dollars, the missing tax dollars all of these unexplained Maloney/Bjerkjam and other projects that never seem to benefit the people, the million dollar Bizzy IONICS scam, the decades of concessions to Sandals that does not benefit people or the island, the millions to Cow from NIS pension fund, black people’s money that none pf you as ministers think you have a right or that it is your job to explain to the people, how many millions of the people’s money you idiots gave Cow and what are the returns to the people, the missing millions from NHC which neitjer Michael Lashley, Dennis Kellman nor Chris Sinckler feel they owe the people, the taxpayers any explanation. ….why would anyoif you think the electorate would be stupid enough to want anyoif you miss managing their futures again….that is insulting….you are too desperate to become prime minister.

And Mara Thompsons insulting, uneducated and disrespectful words to the people of St. John, women of Barbados and to the budding, talented, skillful and gifted children of Barbados opened everyone’s eyes further, no country can survive, uneducated, arrogant, clueless and obviously incompetent government ministers for 9 years who have the nerve to believe they can be tolerated for another 5 years.

2. Interesting document, we need more ‘different’ thinking deposited in the public space to jumpstart a new thinking.

3. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

David March 21, 2017 at 6:53 AM #

Interesting document, we need more ‘different’ thinking deposited in the public space to jumpstart a new thinking.@@@@

New thinking is already out there and here, Lock up the crooks and removed them , To many in the paid NEWS are blocking , Crooks get charged and if found guilty are removed or go to jail and repay what was stolen peoples money,
    No Rule of Law and no balls is the main problem , Lock up the government , replace all the Judges , call in the CCJ to clean up all cases,A special Master needed, Replace the DPP and COP.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The constitution is a deterrent to invoking a partyless state…..but….. THE PEOPLE have the POWER to FORCE a minority coalition government, that could open the door eventually for partyless governance…as I said, the electorate just needs the guidance to effect that change.

5. David,
    There is no need for a ‘party’ of government. Under our system all that is needed is a majority of MPs to get a programme through parliament. However, that is easier said than done.
    About new ideas: our culture is that if someone dares to say anything new s/he is viciously attacked by predators. They become the enemy.
    We must be more tolerant of others views if we r to have an open and free market of ideas. Only the intellectually insecure dislike new ideas.

6. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

Hal Austin March 21, 2017 at 7:10 AM #About new ideas: our culture is that if someone dares to say anything new s/he is viciously attacked by predators. They become the enemy@

Are you talking about Me Hall? lololol

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Inept, arrogant, majority governments loaded down with yardfowls are the problem, not the solution.

8. @Hal

We need more Barbadians to join the debate. We need to encourage different views. We need to debate the issues in a constructive way with the national interest in mind.

9. David,
    Like most things, BU is the best we have on offer in Barbados. But, like most things, we have to navigate the bullies. One young man in the UK asked me some time ago about entering politics in Barbados. I advised him that unless he could support himself the locals would eat him alive.
    They would see his presence as a threat. These are the young people we must encourage. I also got it in my family.
    I have been trying to get a cousin of mine to go to Wooding School, giving her the opportunity to practice in two jurisdictions, she thinks I am having a laugh. She has got the measure of Bajans.

10. @ Hal
    We must be more tolerant of others views if we r to have an open and free market of ideas.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Profound!!!
    …does that also apply to ‘others’ like Pachamama and stinking Bushie?

“BU is the best we have on offer in Barbados. But, like most things, we have to navigate the bullies.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    One man’s bully is another man’s hero and protector. You can’t have it both ways.
    We actually have to encourage the bullies. Bullies are assets, and in fact are the best catalysts for producing REAL people who have the balls necessary for the tough jobs of this world.

Without bullies, we end up with a world of spoilt, effeminate, sissies.
    It is HARDSHIP, pain, suffering and pressure that constitutes the cauldron needed for CHARACTER development….. (and Bushie keeps telling wunna that THIS is what life is all about, and why our world was designed as it was….and is)

Long and short of it, is that Life on Earth was NEVER designed to be a Utopia, but a pressure CAULDRON that is ideal for the development of diamonds of righteous human character….
    Success is therefore related, not to the achievement of ‘heavenly bliss’, but to OVERCOMING, enduring, and being strengthened and educated by the challenges …and by the (vitally needed) bullying….

Just saying….

11. Bernard Codrington Avatar
    Bernard Codrington

Exactly why we should stay the course while designing sensible new strategies. Hard work; not hair brained ,knee jerk suggestions.

12. Bush Tea,

Be honest, have you ever been a bully at any time during your life? By the way, I am very tolerant, even of those who test me to the hilt.
    Try working in an organisation in Britain with hundreds of people and you are the only black one there. Any UK/Bajan will tell you of what the English believe is funny and you have to keep smiling.

13. In my opinion.Bullies are a.ssholes. i dare to share a different point of view of bullies. Those people who dared to step up and change socites history have not earmarked them as bullies but warriors of Truth and justice
    Martin luther king. Nelson Mandella. These people did not set aside integrity to become bullies but set out on a path of vigilance and purpose for that which is right
    Bullies are a.sss holes and for that bullies would always be remembered

14. Human nature will subvert any system to suit its purpose…..that is the elephant in the room that has crushed all the wonderfull theories from demos-crates down to communism.

We seek better governance,new systems will not give it unless the thinking matrix of the citizen of the given community is changed.

The change can only come from a leadership with a vision which will imbue the majority of the populi to educate themselves/re-tool in order to achieve the end result of the vision.

15. @Bushie

Let us avoid words with negative connotations that will only serve to detract. You point is understood.

16. @Vincent

All you are saying is what is known -life is dynamic and change is constant. It is a never ending process to search for solutions, note there is no perfect system or solution.

17. David

I agree…..but saw no way forward dealing with vision and buy in.

18. LOL @ David
    …always the peace-maker 🙂
    Angela is right that bullies are ‘a.ssholes’.
    She would know…. it takes one to know one… 🙂

@ Hal
    Bushie was ALWAYS the fellow who was called on to deal with Bullies…. from school days it was a particular hobby of the bushman… LOL … love it!!
    Just saying that they serve a PURPOSE …. just as pain and suffering does in the REAL scheme of things.

…and Boss, if you think that working with Whites in the UK is harrowing, you should work with the ones in Barbados….
    You need to remember which ones are the descendants of the creators of the dreaded Slave Code….

@ Vincent
    You are right on about ‘human nature …. meaning the natural instincts of brass bowls.

Carry that thinking to its logical conclusion and you will find that the ONLY real solution lies in CHANGING the very nature of BB’s.
    Do you know of any way to convert brass into diamonds?

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Hal….I encountered bullies in NYCs corporate world, I did not smile and accept, I made sure to be meaner, nastier, more racist, I lived for that….and ya know what, we came to an understanding, they respected and stayed well clear of me, one even dropped from a heart attack….

…..ya do not accept attacks on your person, skin color, hair texture or ancestry, not from whites, indians etc and definitely not from each other, the british have excelled in that nastiness, just as they have excelled in telling lies for centuries, so have Americans, but there are newer generations of blacks who will not tolerate any of that….as they should…ya must have self respect and do not allow other cultures to demean ad degrade you as a human being…it is damaging to the psyche.

We are now educated enough to know this.

20. Bullies serve no real purpose in life other than to aggravate and position themselves as real life rabble rousers who cannot and should not be controlled ,habitual law breakers having no form or rationalisationto rectify. There one called to be famous is piling on for or against those attributes that are not in alignment with their irrational behaviour. Hence. we have Donald Trump an unrepentant bully who sees himself as the one and only changemaker of america sitting at the top of americas politics
    A reallife exhibit of an a.sshole

21. On BU many of us are constantly railing about constructively critiquing our governance system yet some of us prefer to wrangle about bullies in a context that is hardly relevant. No wonder we find ourselves at the bottom of the pile. A people get the government it deserves.

22. Bushie

Do you know of any way to convert brass into diamonds?
    …………………………………………………………………..

Sad to say that the most recent experiment of 2100 years ago is unravelling but the theory worked…….so find yourself another martyr or even martyr yourself for the greater good,trouble is that we cannot use the same story as Saul/Paul in this new and savvy world…..come up with the story and I will assist in the marketing of it.

In my above post I told you that we needed a vision/raison d etre for the country to galvanise around and move forward.
    Remember WW2,John Saint and big grain rice…..that thinking lasted well into the sixties and then we had EWB with manufacturing untill the early 80s.

We need another one you can choose from the above scenarios.

23. There are bullies who called themselves representatives or leaders of govt. We have the authoritarians. The dictators who still ran rampant across the global field who stands in defiance of people civil rights and corruption Most of these leaders were formed and define under a systemb of partyless goverance.
    The idea that partyless governance is suited better to be an alternative is as stupid as having no government at all
    The two party system has worked best in that it gives the people more leverage and freedom in the decision process as whom to hire or fire

24. Bush tea is a modern day bully he speaks nasty of anyone who disagree with his views many of which are medieval and long past their expiration date. Like his usual rant and raves against women who powerful and children who should be bushwacked by their parents and on the issue if domestic violence which he condones spiced up with tge belief that woman talk to dam much and usual get the beating they deserve
    So to hear bush tea define bullies as havjng great assests for society is not surprising.

25. The premise of the article begings with a very toxic and incorrect understanding of Hegel. Its thrust is oblivious to human nature itself and the need to freely decide. I guess, a little learning can be a dangerous thing but to each their own.

26. @George

Your better understanding of Hegel was not noted.

27. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass.

The problem remains the same: the people most qualified to lead this country are never going to campaign in the gutters of modern Bajan politics for a vote.

The only workable solution is the de-politicisation of the Senate to create real oversight of those who do.

28. George,

Don’t forget that Hegel, and following him, Marx, demonstrated racist tendencies. Be careful.

29. There is merit in this comment. The political class appears to be drawing from the bottom for the most part.

30. The fatal flaw in this “unified system” is the belief that the shortcomings of the current system is wholly the fault of the “politician”. The action/inaction of the “small” political animals will continue to undermine any system. Good luck.

31. @enuff

The politicians are key actors.

32. This is a matter that should have never arisen in Barbados.

While we are enveloped in nonsense, ‘democracy’ elsewhere is rapidly evolving.

Recently, India has bestowed human rights on the Ganges River.

New Zealand/Australia is following likewise.

In Barbados, we continue to engage a Brassbowl issue which has nothing to do with anything.

Not that Pachamama will temper Her divine judgement. All has to be weighed on the scale.

But at least, they are trying.

33. @David at 10:38 AM You state well with the comment “Let us avoid words with negative connotations that will only serve to detract. You[r] point is understood.”

Of course Bushie used that word ‘bully’ specifically to generate the angst… but frankly had he used a more acceptable phrasing like : We actually have to encourage [Type-A personalities]. [Dominants] are assets; he would yet have been cut to threads likely.

And therein lies the problem in every political environment: regardless of how carefully words are actually chosen folks remain rigidly at polar opposites and seek no compromise nor do they aim to understand what is being suggested.

Of the man idea above I can only smile. The concept is actually positive in theory but lacks realistic force as a practical way of governance.

Politics will always be about the force of a group…and naturally every group must have leaders from which one leader will achieve some type of supremacy.

If the group coalesces around a set of principles before the individuals are elected or after the election there still will be formations of elected officials ( an eventual party, maybe) in order to get programs enacted.

Deja vu all over again!

As always the political power rests with the voters. If the elected folks are not working together for the success of the country then vote them OUT and elect new faces with a mandate to seek harmony in their ‘congress’.

I do like the idea of all members sitting together rather than oppo and gov’t separate, however.

34. @Dee Word

Curious to know what informed your thinking conclusion that -“Politics will always be about the force of a group”

35. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. There is no true democracy practice by the modern nation state that is a partyless system. Why? because such a sytem is inherently adversarial and competitive. Man, being a political and tribalist animal by nature, doesn’t help the situation any better. I am believer in Hobbes view on human nature.

36. David, re “Politics will always be about the force of a group”

What else is politics a ‘force of’ if NOT group dynamics?

I should insert a Webster def of politics right about now but allow me to forgo that and any Dr. Brathwaite type scholarly quotation and go base level.

Politics deals with the governance of people. Persons with political power are either elected by a group of people or elevated by force of power to political office based on the efforts of groups of people.

Ipso…it is fundamentally premised and derives its relevance (always) from ‘groups’ of people.

A political force of one is a ‘nonsense’ of course; an illogical construct if you will. A political force of one only becomes relevant after support from groups of people.

Thus this statement (recap below) sounds pretty as a red a Ju-c is sweet but basically it is exceedingly impractical and injurious to the ‘body’ politic like that red Ju-C for older, wiser folks who now mishandle their body glucose …(loll).

“…the ultimate power rests in its citizens, equally entitled under adult suffrage to vote to elect representatives to wield that power under the constitution, a government with no parties, just representatives from each constituency unified to act in the best interest of the people.”

The election is by citizens (groups of them). Enacting legislation (fingerprinting of citizens on exit/entrance, for example) requires agreement and mandates from ‘groups’ of those elected officials (within or outside a party apparatus).

So what else in simple terms and in its basic form is politics if NOT a complex and wonderful model of group dynamics?

37. Barbados has had a duopoly of incompetent political parties for the last 5o something years and both of them are replete with idiots of the Superlative Calibre. They now see themselves and “The Only Options for Bajan Voters” and of course the docile population love to alternate between the sheep and the billy goats but it is time for a more committed choice on our ballot other that B.L.P (BUFFONS LURKING IN PARLIAMENT of D.L.P the DEMONIC LYING PARTY

http://imgur.com/a/wo9T5

38. @PUDRYR

The gist of the argument being discussed is how does one tweak the system of government to achieve greater relevance. To elect a virgin political party in the existing setup will do what again? For some all that we see is an Orwellian adventure. The imperfection of humankind?

39. @fortyacresandamule

The Hobbes does not recommend mankind considering our high position in the hierarchy of intelligence.

40. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI March 21, 2017 at 9:43 PM #
    Barbados has had a duopoly of incompetent political parties for the last 5o something years and both of them are replete with idiots of the Superlative Calibre. They now see themselves and “The Only Options for Bajan Voters” and of course the docile population love to alternate between the sheep and the billy goats but it is time for a more committed choice on our ballot other that B.L.P (BUFFONS LURKING IN PARLIAMENT of D.L.P the DEMONIC LYING PARTY

You are only partly correct.

It would be difficult for anyone to fill a 30-seat parliament without including a few morons, liars and thieves; parliament is, after all, a reflection of our society.

But like in every aspect of real life (school, church, business, etc.), our post-independence adventure has succeeded because we had three strong, competent leaders to keep them in check at the crack of a whip: Dippa, Tom and OSA.

In the absence of such a leader (and we have certainly had no leader for the past 8 years) the consequences are obvious.

Again, the only answer going forward to mitigate against this happening again is a de-politicised senate. These fukkers need to understand that there are consequences to incompetence, inaction and corruption. Justice can only be dispensed from above.

41. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass. Avatar

42. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

I, more than most people, UNDERSTAND the “jist of the argument”

I deal in practicuums.

Here the writer is presenting a novel concept IN A DUOPOLY and expecting that a society that IS LOCKED INTO A DUOPOLY, with an endemic, genetic stasis masquerading as our “political maturity” expecting us brassbowls to even begin to consider, far less adopt, what he is proposing.

Mine, as you would have come to understand, is a very simple strategy and achievable program.

We, bajans can start with the Third Party, disrupt the status quo, and thereafter build and insert all of the other fancy stuff being proposed here ALL of which will require a change in our constitution.

43. @PUDRYR

We can only support a third party if the candidates pass the smell test. How do we know they do and will the system let them deliver -only time will tell.

44. Piece

It would be difficult for anyone to fill a 30-seat parliament without including a few morons, liars and thieves; parliament is, after all, a reflection of our society.

But like in every aspect of real life (school, church, business, etc.), our post-independence adventure has succeeded because we had three strong, competent leaders to keep them in check at the crack of a whip: Dippa, Tom and OSA.

In the absence of such a leader (and we have certainly had no leader for the past 8 years) the consequences are obvious.
    …………………………………………………………………

To elect a virgin political party in the existing setup will do what again? For some all that we see is an Orwellian adventure. The imperfection of humankind?
    ………………………………………………………………..

We all seek change but not like the UK with brexit or the USA with Trump…..we have to learn lessons from them and not repeat the same mistake.

We have to come up with ways and means to hold the feet of the political class to the fire and ensure they deliver what they were elected to do without shenanigans or backhanders.

This can be achieved by vigilance and civil disobedience…..we need to bring our fellow country people up to scratch on both of these areas.

Our existing system needs to be taken over by us and made to work.

45. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Many here would say that your “smellers” of recent times seemed to be clogged since they seem to be bent on replacing the known dealers in faeces the Demonic Lying Party with the party that has been lingering in the offing for twenty nuff years

That of Mugabe Mottley

@ The NGO Crew.

If there is one thing that de ole man cannot be faulted for is information.

That is my currency – the acquisition of Information by its various means so that when one writes NOT A MAN OR WOMAN CAN DECRY THAT TRUTH.

The diagram below is an excerpt of a report that was effected of the NGO community in Barbados.

There are over 1200 Non Governmental, Civil Society, Community Based Organizations in Barbados. (NGOs/CSOs/CBOs)

Unlike “over and away’ where they meet and do something the fact is that this sector in our community are play play actors who meet for tea and crumpet (of the type in between the members legs)

of those 1200 only 120 are active.

Of those 120 only 75 have a meeting once per month

And of those 75 very few are financially sound

AND only 1 has the financial acumen (though not the $$) to manage and NGO activity and that is Pinelands Creative Workshop

Again gentlemen if wunna coming with ideas and thing I want wunna to come to de ole man wid practicuums and not all the lotta long talk that we bajans are known for read verbal masturbation
    http://imgur.com/a/CVpwH

46. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

The blog is swallowing my submissions.

I made a submission earlier regarding the issue of Barbados’ defunct NGO community and provided an excerpt of a report (that fell off a truck) to substantiate that argument that NGO and civic mindedness is a colossal waste of time and A Bridge Too Far

Suffice it to say that of the 1200+ NGOs, CSOs and CBOs very few are in operation and only 1 has the gravitas to attract and the capacity to manage NGO activities

47. Here is a partially hidden version of that list of the NGO community

http://imgur.com/a/CVpwH

48. @ Vincent

You were going on the right track when you said

“…We have to come up with ways and means to hold the feet of the political class to the fire and ensure they deliver what they were elected to do without shenanigans or backhanders…”

Then you took your eyes off the road and looked at that fetching lady’s whatchamacallit and went on to say…

“…This can be achieved by vigilance and civil disobedience…..we need to bring our fellow country people up to scratch on both of these areas…”

The last 25 years of our independence has shown us that that “vigilance” idea of yours DOES NOT WORK! (I hope that you are not suggesting VIGILANTE actions instead of VIGILANCE cause we dun know you to be a man with some nuanced words)

Now let me give you a few examples where that vigilance ting did not work

You have a little time?

Cause this ent going take long

You remember the first ministry dem give your peeples Mugabe? With all the vigilance of the Auditor General dem still had dat Syrup Scam at the school meals place.

No wonder the old people in Bush Hall does say “doan mind she bite out little Nellie clitoris, she too sweet doah…”

Vincent, she blish to be sweet, wid dat million dollar syrup contract she award tuh she peeples dem, I surprise dat she ent got diabetes

So let us not expand pun de prison ting and de millions of $$ awarded to VECO

Mugabe really exposing how useful your “VIGILANCE” going be.

Man your ideas like the US Wildlife reserve buying toilet paper and putting it in trees for bears and wildlife to wipe their respective pooches.

Den dis ting bout “Civil Disobedience” what, steupseeeeee!!

Look how dem castigating all uh de dissenters fuh Marching in Disgust WID DE SAME MUGABE!!!

There is some sort of irony about that Mugabe “Marching in Disgust”

heheheheheheheh

Vincent you and I dun know dat de Pillsbury gal need to do some exercise to get down she weight and dat de stomach reduction ting dat Decimal Bonds Stinkliar did not appeal to her so she come up with that idea of

“Marching & Slim Down”

The real thing was “Are you FED UP with being big and ungainly, Come and Step Up with Mugabe”

“We are going to walk of a few pounds, shillings and pence while pretending to make a difference by this “Civil Disobedience” that i have thought up and my employees like Vincent are promoting to appease wunna ingrunt bajans.

Yes sireee Vincent Vigilance and Civil Disobendience my badword….

49. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Piece

Chuckle……yuh too hard ears……ah hope yuh outlive muh an get yuh wish an see BIM en up Trump like.