Extracted from Caribbean Trade Law and Development website.

no-banLess than a month after taking office, the Trump Administration received another judicial blow yesterday to one of its major policy actions. The United States’ย  Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in its decision in State of Washington v Trump dismissed the Government’s motion for a stay pending appeal of [โ€ฆ]

Read more of this post

145 responses to “US Federal Appeals Court Upholds Suspension of Trump Travel Ban”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

This is a start.

http://ow.ly/jRJC308Sgx3

“A New York congressman, who once tried to derail a Trump development project in Manhattan, has filed a rarely used resolution to try and force the Justice Department to share whatever information it has on the President’s conflicts of interest and potential ties to Russia.

Rep. Jerrold Nadler, who represents a large swath of Manhattan’s west side, introduced on Thursday a so-called “resolution of inquiry,” which the House Judiciary Committee must make a decision on within 14 legislative days. If a decision is not made, the resolution is brought to a floor vote.

Nadler said he decided to use the somewhat obscure parliamentary tactic because of Republican refusal to investigate Trump’s “wide-ranging ethics problems.”

“Donald Trump has refused to step away from his business interests in any meaningful way, his foreign entanglements are likely unconstitutional, he has repeatedly refused to disclose his financial assets, and he is clouded by the specter of Russian intervention in the election and his Administration,” Nadler said in a statement. “Republicans have shown zero willingness to follow through on their duty to conduct oversight, and they must be held accountable if they are truly willing to abdicate this constitutional obligation and must be made to answer to the American people for that failure.”

A boycott being suggested for the tax avoiding dude tryig to becoe commerce secretary.

http://ow.ly/78yh308Sgfj

2. The nuclear option will be used the supreme court will be 5 to 4 and this will be overturned in the mean time he will rework the order and re-issue it . Trump does not like to lose. It is going to get real dirty now, The 9th circuit will get broken up.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/TXwI308Sh2E

This thing is nasty and far reahing ad when it unfolds fully, because people are working hard to expose it..a bunch of them will go to prison and the others will be named and shamed for the world to see…eventually.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….too early for fantasies, the reason why the supreme court bench is empty is because that decript old racist McConnell was blocking each one of Obama’s court picks for 8 years to spite him…..isnt it wonderful to see it return and bite him in the ass, he was crying about it this week….while Obama is sunning his on Nekker Island with Branson…who says there is no justice in the world.

The illiterate can fill the supreme court bench up to the ceiling…but not one of those judges can violate the constitution or misinterpret the law..ha

The judicial governmnt cannot be touched without suspending the constitution, that’s why I keep begging for the illiterate to do so.

Snce Chadster is such a coward why dont you wear a suicide vest and go into the US and kill innocent people to set up the midde easterners and help out the illiterate….put your money where your nuclear mouth is Lawson.

5. take your meds

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Oh please, is it not ironic that the illiterate is now tryng to get a filipino american, an immigrant to head up the legal team to appeal to the supreme court, that’s like a dog returning to it’s vomit, he may not get him though, conflict of interest, brilliant attorney but he is married to the dumb, ugly blonde with no knowledge of ethics..lol

Lawon, you and Chadster are all talk..I leave you to Palin…I hope she is confirmed. Canadians are already hating even the idea..lol

7. What some of you don’t seem to realize is that, after US judges deliver their opinions on Trump’s travel ban, it is still up to Trump’s State Department to administer any due process rights and any equal protection rights of nationals from the seven Muslim countries named in the travel ban.

Simply by reducing the number of consular officials available to process applications from Muslim countries identified in the travel ban, Trump’s State Department can give effect to the intent of Trump’s executive order, regardless of what any judges say.

8. The bottomline is that the Supreme Court for different reasons might side with Trump and his executive order. It is not over yet. The more pertinent issue will be the effectiveness of the order even IF Trump were to win.

9. David

The order, in its present form, will not make it pass the SC

For it violate the constitution relative to green card holders, others

10. What different orders are you talking about . Trump order set out to overrule the Constitution on grounds that it single out a race of people to deny entry without having or showing substantial evidence on the grounds that this race or group have endangered the lives of american
    What Trump would eventually learnedvthat although Congress gives him unlimited authority . The Constitution is the defining factor in which manner and way he wields his power

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadster…that executive process has always been in place, it’s nothing new, Obama used it to deport 2 million undesirables, the illiterate should have continued using it instead of violating the constitution. ..read…breaking the law, trying to turn the executive branch of government into a trump university…making up nonexistent illegal processes using fraud and lies..

If the order does not violate any constitutional statues, it can get past the judges……in it’s present form, the order is replete with violations, it violates the rights of legal residents first and foremost….it violates the rights of visa holders, the constitution provides for due process of anyone entering the US….anyone….bottomline.

Too bad they cant do anything to roll back that cockup, they will have to draft a new order within the constitution. …but that already exists..lol

12. The man oppressed will seem to do the worst
    But with all he possesses self preservations comes first
    His damnation comes not from born in free
    As destruction of the poor is their poverty, is their poverty

While oppression is the poor man’s choice
    Ah, but in this he does rejoice
    His burdens though heavy, he somehow bears
    As for his seed, there’s only one who cares
    There’s only one who cares

Though his pilgrimage extends, his progresses ascend
    But as the prudent man exalts, he is gonna find his faults
    But as the wise man sees, he knows, he knows
    There’s no rest in the west, so to the east he goes, to the east he goes
    Where he can find peace of mind, oh
    Where he can be happy all the time
    Where loving where happiness is

https://youtu.be/2AQESA4PlrM

13. This travel ban issue has me a bit confused.

The last major terrorist attack on the USA was September 11, 2001. Of the 19 militants associated with those attacks, 15 were from Saudi Arabia, 9 from the UEA, and 1 each from Egypt and Lebanon.

On July 4, 2002, an Egyptian gunman kills two Israelis, injures four at the El Al ticket counter at the Los Angeles, California International Airport;

September 10, 2002 – Lackawanna, New York: 6 U.S. citizens arrested for terrorist connections;

Between September 5 and October 22, 2002: 14 people were killed by the Beltway snipers, who are Americans.

If you were to read information relative to killing and attacks in the USA, between 2002 and 2017, many of them were perpetrated by citizens of the USA. The most recent being the senseless slaying of 5 innocent people at Fort Lauderdale Airport, on January 6, 2017 and the killing of a Denver Transit Guard on January 31, 2017. Both crimes were perpetrated by US citizens.

Is there information to suggest that people from those countries included in the travel ban are more likely prone to terrorist attacks than people from Saudi Arabia or Egypt?

14. It is also interesting that the Trump administration stated the ban as temporary but could not provide evidence to the court to the show an expiration

15. The reasons for the actions of the USA are always to protect itself from whatever threat which cannot be readily seen or make sense at the time.

https://www.facebook.com/anonews.co/photos/a.997588523586040.1073741828.997108126967413/1362922920385930/?type=3

16. @ Artaxerxes

“Yes there is evidence that if you are from those countries you are going to attack.”

Donald Trunk said so and what Donald Trunk says is verified truth.

“As long as they are black, they are going to attack…send them back…and that’s that”

THe other day the ole man was in a silver sands bus going east and it was in the evening my man and there were nuff guyanese peeples in the bus.

De ole man could not understand anything dem was saying banner and immediately I was transported to the David Thompson “Make Barbados Great again” campaign of getting rid of all the illegal guyanese them.

Trunk and his people are hearing too many spanish speaking peeple all over the USA and he is understandably disturbed. Puerto Ricans, A-rabs, pakis, all wunna non american speaking mo-fos, wunna want sending back…

When dem peeple start calling bout “banner” in dat bus de ole man din know what was going on

Artax, suppose dem had said “leh we kill all de ole banner dem pon de bus?” de ole man would not have understood de assassination plot and whaplax

All they are doing and we are doing, is preserving our own spaces from guyanese, Trinidadians, Jamaicans, and outsiders, nothing changes under the sun and with John’s and Lawsons to assist them, all is cool

17. Trump should pay attention to his protesters or suffer the faith of the Romanian bosses.

https://www.facebook.com/timesandsundaytimes/videos/1546602528702357/

18. We have people like Artax on this thread who still do not get it.

The Trump executive order targeted countries in which war, civil strife or other factors (eg official government sponsorship of terrorism) have caused such a breakdown in security controls that the US authorities cannot trust the identity documents for people coming to the US from those countries.

Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan etc have strong governments that actively co-operate with US authorities. The US is more inclined to trust the identity documents they create.

Get it?

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Chadster….there you go spreading false information again…if there was a shred of evidence of those false documents you are lying about…or to support any other threat from those countries, the fedearl appeals justices would still be perusing those false documents that are only in your mind….most documents are machine readable…if they are not ya cannot enter.

There was no evidence to support the illiterate’s lies…and the constitution cannot uphold an illegal executive order, nothing more, nothing less.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/suA9308SPMO

Did the illiterate learn any lesson at all, I doubt it, but there are so many more lessons to learn.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

We await the constitutional crisis the illiterate will ultimately precipitate. …just time..

โ€œThe government has pointed to no evidence that any alien from any of the countries named in the order has perpetrated a terrorist attack in the United States,โ€ the judges said.

Again, they said: โ€œRather than present evidence to explain the need for the executive order, the government has taken the position that we must not review its decision at all.โ€

22. Lawsonโ€ฆ.too early for fantasies, the reason why the supreme court bench is empty is because that decript old racist McConnell was blocking each one of Obamaโ€™s court picks for 8 years to spite himโ€ฆ..

Obama appointed two prior to the vacancy created by the death of Justice Antonin Scalia.

Justice Sonia Sotomayor was approved by a senate vote of 68 – 31 in 2009.

Justice Elena Kagan was approved by a senate vote of 63-37 in 2010.

Both appointments were confirmed by the senate swiftly.

The current vacancy which has you all hot and sweaty and is making you mislead the peepls here and yourself occurred in the last year of Obama’s presidency.

The Democrats, through Joe Biden, are the ones who insisted that a new president should name any replacement to fill a vacancy which came up in the last year of a presidential term.

The Democrats introduced the nucular option which is now open to the Republicans!!

The Republicans are just following through!!

Here is a list of the vacancies which remained outstanding longest, from 841 days to 301 days.

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2016/02/26/long-supreme-court-vacancies-used-to-be-more-common/

St. Valentine’s day will be the first anniversary of Scalia’s death.

At the moment he is at number 9 on the list.

I suspect you won’t have to wait long for his appointment and this is as far as he gets.

23. Trump may have the opportunity to make other appointments especially if he wins a second term.

24. @Chad
    Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan etc have strong governments that actively co-operate with US authorities. The US is more inclined to trust the identity documents they create.
    +++++++++
    Letโ€™s look at Pakistan, if the Govโ€™t is so cooperative why did it imprison the Doctor suspected of supplying the DNA which helped locate Bin Ladin?

He was sentenced to 33 years imprisonment for treason.

How about Pakistani assistance to other countries in developing nuclear weapons?

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/asia_pacific/pakistani-doctor-who-helped-capture-bin-laden-sentenced-to-prison-for-treason/2012/05/23/gJQApFVGkU_story.html?utm_term=.ec479428cb1f

25. The Pakistan government has not been active in nuclear proliferation.

A.Q. Khan and his network made some private deals on the side — for example with Libya. The Pakistan government claims it was not aware ( or fully aware) if this. This truth is hard to pin down.

Clearly, Pakistan is not as reliable a US ally as Egypt or Saudi.

26. Chad9999โ€™s comments relative to โ€œcivil strifeโ€ would โ€œhold waterโ€ if the US travel ban included countries such as Nigeria, Niger, Cameroon and (ironically) Chad, where there are reports of Boko Haram insurgency, as well as โ€œcivil strifeโ€ in Congo, Mali or Angola.

As it relates to Pakistan, the Pakistani intelligence service (ISI) continues to maintain a relationship with the Haqqani network in Afghanistan, which is one of the main entities engaged against U.S. forces there.

It is on record that the militants involved in the September 11, 2001 attacks were from Saudi Arabia, UAE, Egypt and Lebanon.

Also, the Islamic State entered Lebanon as of November 21, 2014 and are as violent as in Iraq and Syria. Lebanon is also the base for the Shi’a Islamist militant group and political party known as Hezbollah. This group maintains a close relationship with Iran animosity towards countries such as Israel, Iran, Iraq and Saudi Arabia.

Therefore, is it a coincidence that Trump omitted from his ban, a number of other predominantly Muslim nations where his company has done business, such as Saudi Arabia, UAE and Egypt?

27. The level of civil conflict in Sub-Saharan west and southern Africa is not on the scale and sophistication you find in Libya, Somalia, Iraq, Syria, Sudan and Yemen.

It is not appropriate for people like you to substitute your judgment for that of American officials.

28. are-we-there-yet Avatar

John; re. your 11:52 am post

Could you do some research on the actual days it took for replacement of all the supreme court judges in the 20th and 21st centuries?

Could you provide some statistics on when last (in modern times) the opposition senate refused to consider a nomination for a Judge with nearly a year left in the President’s term?

eg. a table showing; President; President’s party affiliation; senate majority affiliation; Nominee; Nomination at X Days before presidency ended; Days between nomination and swearing-in; Was Nomination passed on to next president;

It should be very easy to get such data as there are likely to be very few if any besides the 2016 aberration of Obama and Judge Gardner that would populate the above table.

Your post is spectacularly irrelevant wrt the current situation.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John….you and Chadster are becoming two blog nuisances, if there was not evidence to support my comments….ya would not now look like 2 fools..llol

http://ow.ly/f7FM308T5rr

Alex Wong/Getty Images

Republicans Who Block Obamaโ€™s Supreme Court Pick Are Violating the Constitution
    The originalist case for the Senate to do its job.
    BY DAVID H. GANS
    March 16, 2016
    Justice Antonin Scaliaโ€™s greatest legacy was his tireless championing of originalism. The method of interpretation he advocatedโ€”following the Constitutionโ€™s text and history where they leadโ€”offers clear lessons for the current political struggle over the vacancy created by his death, especially now that President Barack Obama has fulfilled his constitutional duty by nominating D.C. Circuit Chief Judge Merrick Garland to the Supreme Court.

Since Scaliaโ€™s passing, Republicans in the Senate have engaged in an unprecedented campaign of obstruction, announcingโ€”mere hours after news broke of Scaliaโ€™s deathโ€”that they would refuse to act on any potential Obama nominee, compromising the Courtโ€™s ability to perform its function of establishing a binding rule of law for the nation. Senate Republicans, led by Senators Mitch McConnell and Judiciary Committee Chair Chuck Grassley, have vowed not to meet with any nominee, not to hold any confirmation hearings, and not to vote on any nominee. The claims made by these senators that they can fulfill their โ€œadvice and consentโ€ responsibilities under the Constitution by doing nothing cannot be squared with the Constitutionโ€™s text and history. The Constitution requires the president and Senate to work together to ensure a fully functioning Supreme Court.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John….ua need to be taught how to do successful research.

http://ow.ly/lFmT308T6qI

Barack Obama judicial appointment controversies

During President Barack Obama’s terms in office, he nominated 7 people for 27 different federal appellate judgeships and although some nominees were processed by the Repubican-controlled Senate Judiciary Committee, many of them stalled on the floor of the Senate Barack Obama nominated over three hundred individuals for federal judgeships. Of these nominations, Congress confirmed three hundred and seven judgeships, 173 during the 111th & 112th Congresses[1] and 134 during the 113th Congress.[2]

With the Death of Antonin Scalia in February of 2016, in the thick of a Presidential election year, the Republican majority in the Senate decided to delay indefinitely the confirmation hearing for his replacement until after the November 2016 election. Scalia’s deathโ€”only the second death of a serving justice in a span of sixty years[3]

Republicans filibustered many nominees, and Senator Grassley commented more nominees could have been confirmed had President Obama respected recess appointment precedent by not making recess appointments while the Senate is in session.[4] Although President Obama had never used a recess appointment to appoint a nominee to the federal bench, he had appointed some executive agency officials in January 2012.

As a response to the continuing blocking of several of President Obama’s nominees, Sen. Harry Reid on November 21, 2013 invoked the so-called Nuclear option and changed the Senate rules, meaning a simple majority vote will suffice for all nominees except for the Supreme Court.[5]

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Both of you need to know what you are talking about before you challenge me…John and Chadster.

…..both of you would rather lie on Obama than tell the truth, those senators violated the constitution so as to practice racism against Obama in their bid to spite him, that was not part of their job description….they were supposed to be doing their jobs as senators, not practicing their usual low class racism…they are now all getting exactly what they deserve.

And it makes both of you show your lack of credibility.

Every illegal executive order will be shut down by the judicial branch of government. ..that’s their job.

32. But it is โ€œappropriate for people like you, a โ€œnarcissistic misogynistic pseudo intellectual,โ€ to substitute your judgment for that of American officials,โ€ especially when you conveniently chose to ignore the issues with Lebanon and Pakistan, which proved your comments to be inaccurate.

But what else is expected from an individual whose characteristics mirrors those of Donald Trump.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

John;

Don’t bother to respond to my post above. I see that WW&C has done the necessary research. Thanks WW&C

34. David

We wonder whether FJS or MAM is not going to be emboldened by this rising fascist regime in America.

As it is, the Westminster model has already provided vast opportunities for its satrapies to be dictatorships under the trappings of democracies.

These people are going to be rigging more elections, bring out their defense forces to contain public protests, and more.

Unless the guillotine is allowed to do its work, preemtively.

FJS must be licking his lips as to the new ways he will be able to rule over the Bajan people.

Trump is not being a very good boy at all. LOL

35. @Pacha

What about the decision being overturned because of standing or procedure?

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

…there are none so blind as they who cannot see…

All of the moves and scripts are being teleprompted to out landscape and we ingrunt Bajans neither know nor do we care

37. Good.

Nice robust democracy.

The U.S.A. is not a monarchy yet.

And trump is not a king.

38. @Pacha

That is a relevant thinking given the lead coming from the great USA; the land of the free. How will it influence the small island thinking? Only time will tell.

39. @Well Well & Consequences February 10, 2017 at 8:09 AM “He is married to the dumb, ugly blonde.”

CORRECTION: “He is married to the dumb, ugly FAKE blonde.”

40. Why is a comment like this necessary. Surely such a comment reflects more on the person posting it than it does Trump.

41. @chad99999 February 10, 2017 at 8:40 AM “What some of you donโ€™t seem to realize is that, after US judges deliver their opinions on Trumpโ€™s travel ban, it is still up to Trumpโ€™s State Department to administer any due process rights and any equal protection rights of nationals from the seven Muslim countries named in the travel ban. Simply by reducing the number of consular officials available to process applications from Muslim countries identified in the travel ban, Trumpโ€™s State Department can give effect to the intent of Trumpโ€™s executive order, regardless of what any judges say.”

Chad99999: Are you suggesting that the President of the U.S.A, and its Commander in Chief behave like the trickster Anansi the spider man?

42. @lawson February 10, 2017 at 7:32 AM “Trump does not like to lose.”

Trump does not like to lose.Trump does not like to lose.Trump does not like to lose. Blah, blah, blah. It is not about Trump. It is about the Constitution of the U.S.A.

If trump loses to the Constitution ALL SENSIBLE people will agree that that is a good thing.

43. The U.S.A. Constitution was deliberately designed to thwart the will of schoolyard bullies.

And that is a good thing.

44. @Well Well & Consequences February 10, 2017 at 9:38 AM “trump university”

trump university was NEVER a university. Please do not write trump and university in the same sentence. trump university was a diploma mill of the very worse kind. Designed to make money for Donald Trump while taking money out of the pockets of gullible people, while failing to provide with any kind of education.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s the main problem with the supporters of the illiterate, they keep making everything about him, it’s not about him and his loser complex, it’s about the American people and upholding the constitution to protect the American people.

Simple….Dont bother with Lawson….he will soon have retarded Palin telling him what to do in Canada..lol

If they have evidence by the time the Supreme Court is ready to listen to any appeal. ..it will be considered, as Chadster is claiming they should fake an attack which would likely end in death of Americans cause him and Lawson wants to set up middle easterners so badly….the supreme court would look down on that and someone will go to prison…let’s not get ahead of ourselves…bring the evidence…ya cant overturn anything without supporting evidence.evidence.

Yeah Simple…blond hair, dark roots…lol

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Simple…and that trump unoversity scam cost the illiterate 25 million dollars…lol

He cant read and write at an intelligent level, but he got a university. ..lol

47. ss you are a moron and you are not capable of understanding that the constitution is quite clear on the presidents power in this matter, A judge who is appointed feels he has more power than the president it will be overturned but more than that everybody is getting sick of these liberals dying a slow death like an actor trying to stay in the movie for as long as he can, just die already. The left is getting really pathetic but what makes me laugh is in the long term trumps wins. He followed through on his election promise dems put up road blocks trump wins, someone attacks before his ban is in place trump wins, the supreme court will overturn this court trump wins.

48. Lots of lawyers are laughing at the written decision of the Ninth Circuit.

The court didn’t even mention, much less address, the statute that explicitly gives the president complete authority to exclude any class of aliens “detrimental to the interests of the United States”.