Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

In April 2015, I wrote an article captioned “A new agenda for Barbadian workers and their families”. In that article, I made an attempt to highlight the existence of a struggle between two opposing forces – Barbadian workers and their families versus the political class.

Writing from Chicago at the time, I tried to capture as much of the perceived negative features and weaknesses of the political class as I could. I then tried to show how these perceived shortcomings of the political class were negatively affecting the economy, and ultimately making life somewhat difficult and challenging for Barbadian workers and their families.

To be thorough, I also highlighted the perceived weaknesses of two very important decision-makers and members of the political class – the Prime Minister and the Minister of Finance.

Having laid out a historical case against the political class, and having highlighted the fact that some members of this class were extremely vulnerable until February 2016, I dared the unions to start fighting on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, and to exploit the temporary vulnerability of the political class. The next strike called, I challenged them, should be a strike on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families.

Clearly, in April 2015, the cards were heavily stacked in the unions’ favour. Back then, one would have been heavily inclined to support any widespread industrial action brought by the unions aimed at benefiting Barbadian workers and their families.

Nineteen months later, in November 2016, Barbadians can now see the extent to which my article has exposed the unions for their ineffective and, sometimes, pretentious defense of the interests of Barbadian workers and their families.

Since April 2015, at least three special groups of Barbadian public sector workers needing effective union representation have attracted national attention:

1. Some workers 60 years and older being forced into retirement.

2. Persons working in temporary positions for 3 years or more remaining un-appointed.

3. NCC workers being retrenched.

In November 2016, all fair-minded Barbadians can now hold these truths to be self-evident:

1. As a result of the industrial relations process related to the above-mentioned Barbadian workers and their families, the unions emerged weaker and the government emerged stronger.

2. The temporary period of vulnerability for some members of the political class ended in February 2016. Having secured their pensions, these members now feel less personally threatened by union actions, strategies and tactics.

3. No meaningful, sustained, pressurizing industrial action was taken on behalf of Barbadian workers and their families prior to February 2016, or since.

Now that February 2016 has passed, and now that some members of the political class can no longer suffer personal anguish and pain as a result of being rendered ineligible for state pensions, Barbadian workers, their family, and their country must now become sacrificial lambs in order to achieve a short-sighted, individualistic, and perplexing union objective.

Barbadians (local and foreign), their families, and tourists must now suffer from anger, frustration, and fatigue as they try to pass through, or do business at our two ports of entry. The memory of our nation’s 50th anniversary of independence celebrations must now become marred and tainted, and our local tourism industry must now face a risk of reduced revenue, all because of industrial action started by “irresponsible and reckless” unions.

Mind you, whereas the unions could not find it possible to bring pressure to bear on the political class on behalf of all Barbadian workers and their families, they now find it very possible to speedily commence industrial action on behalf of one man. “Hurting many, for the benefit of one” seems to be the new slogan and mantra being adopted by the unions.

By the way, hasn’t a precedent been already set and accepted by the unions for the manner in which the Akanni McDowell case should be handled? Shouldn’t the Personnel Administration Department (PAD) and the NUPW repeatedly meet, if necessary, to negotiate a settlement? If the differences between the goals of the two contending groups prove to be intractable, and all efforts at achieving a settlement fail, shouldn’t the case go to the Employment Rights Tribunal (ERT) which should act as final arbiter? In other words, why should Mr. McDowell be treated differently from the NCC workers?

It is highly likely that the current industrial action and its attendant politics, being pursued on behalf of Mr. McDowell by the unions and the opposition, do not have the support of the majority of Barbadian workers and their families. Consequently, one is now heavily inclined to side with the political class and castigate the unions for attempting to damage the fragile economy of Barbados at a critical time because of narrow, political, singular and individualistic motives.

With respect to effective representation of the rights and benefits of Barbadian workers and their families, the reputation of the unions has wobbled noticeably since April 2015.

The act of effectively representing the interests of many workers and their families, when confronted by the opposing entrenched interests of the powerful few, must be seen as the raison d’être of all unions worldwide. Rather than assume a hostile, confrontational stance against the government and attempt to wreak havoc on a weakened Barbadian economy for one man only, the unions ought to ascertain if there are any major problems that Barbadian workers are beginning to encounter as a result of increasing private sector greed and contempt for our labour regulations in these difficult economic times.

To gain some insights into the new anti-worker practices being embraced and developed by some Barbadian employers, the unions should begin having collaborative discussions with the Ministry of Labour.

246 responses to “Hurting Many for the Benefit of One – the unions exposed”

1. @ Pacha
    What you describe is a human weakness that is exemplified by our albino-centric culture, and by the lack of accountability and transparency that prevails in our society. It is in ALL areas from politics, to business, to education to sport….
    So those trusted with leadership responsibilities ON BEHALF OF THE MASSES have tended to use that authority in their own personal, albino-centric interest.

You are correct that they must be made to pay, however this correction MUST come from the masses in whose interest they SHOULD be working. It CANNOT be forthcoming from the very enemy against whom they are selected to lead the fight.

It makes sense to crush the enemy FIRST …… then crush the irresponsible, traitorous false leaders who are doing shiite.

Anytime that the upper-class plantocracy is allowed to win such a fight again, you can expect another hundred years of slavery for the masses …. one way or another.

LOL…
    Of course this is all speculative, since the end is VERY near …when BBE will be shuffling the entire pack of dominoes for a fresh start…. 🙂

2. I can feel the disappointment in many of the BLP writers who followed Walter Blackman’s posts over the years and were very happy at the arguments against the government but in his same logical way he put forward an argument to show that the unions are doing what you accused the government of doing that is looking after their own.
    It is foolishness to shut down your only airport and seaport in a time when arrivals are high and a special time of celebrations.
    The BLP writers do not care if the country fails at this time as long that they are returned to power at the next election but by then the country would be such a state that it would take drastic measures to get it back on tract like reducing government wage bill by massive layoffs and privatizing the same two ports.

3. Per usual all issues must be distilled through a BLP or DLP lens.

#JAs

4. @ Curious

This DLP government has done the damaged to Barbados already, where are you living?

5. @ Watchman
    From your story ….are you taking responsibility for Walter’s “eunuchification” then….? 🙂

@ William
    You are a reasonable man.
    Tell us when you have seen an independent-thinking, logical, fair-minded and progressive man work within the confines of an old political party – almost exclusively consisted of confirmed JA’s of the brass-bowl variety – to bring improvements to a society.

The closest was probably Crawford and Barrow, but they had to LEAVE one party and start their own NEW one in order to do so….
    Now that party has been compromised by the god of this world himself, …so who does Walter think he is? …… to be able to go in there and uproot Satan himself…?
    Steupssss
    Satan will grind his bones to make bread …. especially after the monument is unveiled…..

His best bet is to start his own damn party …à la EWB.

6. @ curious
    Boss, if you interfere with a man and he start to pelt some licks in your tail, …the logical thing to do is to apologise to, and compensate the fellow….
    …not accuse him of putting pressure on the ambulance and hospital staff who now have to waste time trying to repair you.

Sometimes a little humility and common sense saves a lot of pain…

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Anyone else noticed the high number of “likes” that have been generated for Walter Blackman’s positions on this matter? Seems like he has an unusually demonstrative but silent fan club.

8. Watchman
    There was lots of rain today.Report on the state of affairs in your neck of the woods.Was your property flooded?Did you have to call MTW Thornhill or Drainage Barrow and Weekes?

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

@r-we
    LOL….even ac is in positive territory….mussee de diaspoa trolls…or de rum

10. @ Bush Tea

Judging from his qualifications, It showed he had some capacity, but, by joining the DLP pack he became emasculated

11. @ Gabriel

Thanks for your concern, my friend took Bush Tea advise and put in some big ass boulders like the white woman did, will let you know what happen ,

12. @ Bush Tea
    I have long written off both the BLP and DLP.
    Walter wrote his piece from a very analytical
    level. Whether it is seen as a change of position,
    is of no concern to me.
    Caswell has a tendency to be rather one-sided
    when discussing anti-worker topics. He refuses
    to accept that both the BLP and DLP are guilty
    of the same sins. Both of these parties are anti-worker
    And they have been fortunate to always have
    trade union leaders, with the exception of
    Comrade John Cumberbatch, who was the
    president of the BUT, at their beck and call.
    Hence Caswell had to reference who the DLP
    gine kick out or discard because he sees
    the trade union movement as the property
    of the BLP and DLP.
    I will say however in reference to Crawford
    and Barrow, that there are many Barrows
    around but I really don’t see any Crawfords.
    We are now being ruled by the grand children
    of Adams(Grantley) and Barrow.
    Everyday I am reminded of Napoleon’s puppies
    on Animal Farm.

13. Bushie

Walter Blackman made a political decision which neither you nor Pachamama liked.

But that was his decision, and his alone.

The only real alternative would have been spending the rest of his life labouring in the vineyards of political oblivion pretending that some mystical opposition, ‘third party’, could emerge.

His only real choice would have been the BLP/DLP.

We cannot even muster a national unity government if we had an election with a 15/15 outcome, our political maturity is thusly limited. Far less, a serious third party (second party really, because these two are one).

We doubt that he could have found 30 viable candidates. Even the great Richie Haynes had difficulty with this.

And both the BLP and DLP are unable to present slates with less than 20 functional idiots. This is not new.

A third party which the same people will have to vote for.

We hate to admit it, but the system has and will continue to defeat such pipe-dreams until it collapses.

We fail to see how the continuously pillorying of him, on that basis, could delivery more that a vocal minority of support here on BU. He would not get 100 votes and we would be laughing at him when his deposit is so lost.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

William

What nonsense are you talking? My position has always been that trade unions belong to their members. I have always opposed political interference in unions from the days of Frank Walcott.

Barbados has develop a political culture where politicians feel that they should be in control of every aspect of this society. They should realise by now that is the wrong approach and should concentrate on their core business of managing the affairs of the country. If that is done well, everything else would fall into place. Unfortunately, politics have attracted some dullards who can’t survive unless they are in government and they see the need to control everything. If they are not in control of the organisations or at least the executives, they see enemies everywhere.

15. Caswell believes he is the only sheriff in town and his word is the law. in as much that he can use a narrative filled with political bile as a fact and that grown people on this blog are afraid to challenge his comments
    His comments are distortions of truths and conspiratorial theories lacking in evidence purporting that govt reverted Anakani position because of spite,
    i would like to see him take that claim to a court and present it as fact without havinging the evidence to support , but it is only here in on Bu and among some quarters of the blp yardfowl bridgade that such shite would fly
    Caswell has reached an advance stage of senility and it would be better if he keeps his gun in his holster before he shoots himself in the mouth

16. @ Caswell
    Less than 24 hours ago, I respectfully asked you if yo
    you knew of a period in the last 30 years when
    these unions did not dance to their political
    leaders. You responded no and then only gave
    examples of DLP union leaders. I had to remind
    you of Obrien Trotman, who once led the
    NUPW and ended up in Tom’s cabinet.
    Just saying Comrade……..just saying.

17. William

No one at NUPW knew that Obrien Trotman was a BLP supporter. He fooled them all while functioning as General Secretary surrounded by a see of Dems on the executive.

Further, you asked me about a period in the last 30 years. I responded to that query. Obrien Trotman was 40 years ago (1976)

18. @ Caswell
    You are correct about the period I should have said 40
    I was quite active in the movement at that time.
    So, suddenly Obrien tricked everybody. That does not
    mean he was not dancing to the BLP tune.
    Since we have now established that this dancing
    goes back 40 years, it means that the unions’ leaders
    are behaving like those that went before them.
    You have said that Akanni is no longer dancing to
    the DLP tune. Whose tune is he dancing to now?
    Whose tune are some of the Executive members dancing
    to now- some dancing Dems, some dancing Bees.
    Same old Same old. Who fooling who now, Comrade?
    Like we both agree: Same soup just warmed over.
    There are no Wynter Crawfords or John Cumberbatch
    around. That is the undeniable truth. To use your word:
    “Dullards” running the unions and dullards in Parliament
    6 and half dozen.
    That said, I appreciate your efforts. Peace.

19. Caswell never lies. He only stands bold faced and challenges the truth

20. William

As if you didn’t know, the BLP has managed to capture an equal number of seats on the NUPW executive committee this time around.

21. @Pacha

Your recent position is strange indeed. Very strange. Some more BU can say but will leave it there for the moment.

Will use this analogy to make a point – the West Indies cricket team of the Lloyd era adopted a tactic to target the opposing captains with a devastating result. It not only had the effect of taking the wicket but demoralizing the whole team given the emotional onslaught. You are intelligent enough to appreciate the point. In addition, a leader by definition is someone who possesses the characteristics to mobilize others even in the face of insurmountable odds/challenges. To rationalize as you are doing and surmise that Walter cant do this or that based on some rational thought process located in a historical box is in the box thinking. The machinery of both the DLP and BLP is so well oiled if we leverage the same decision making process you are using a political neophyte like Walter will not have a ghost of a chance to influence it – unless it collapses.

22. What does it tell you about the political yardfowls and jackasses who see value in manipulating likes on a blog? We can shut it down but what is the point, it exposes them for what they are, DISHONEST.

23. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Jeez ACs…how low can ya go, have ya licked Harry’s shoes yet, am sure he got a special pair just for lickers like you….lol

Yall disgrace to the black race.

24. @Curious

You have made some valid points Curious, but I must caution you regarding a mindset that is indifferent to the idea of fair and impartial discussion.

25. A lot has been said about the Mcdonald situation, but the real truth has not been told. How did he get into the position in the first place? Does he have the requirement as specified? A look at the qualification order specified for health planner states economics, health planning or a related discipline, Did the organisation request that the post be temporarily filled by someone schooled in economics. Who was responsible for overlooking such request and misinforming the Commission? I noted that he was allowed to act in higher position last year without the requisite qualification Have any persons holding higher positions than the gentlemen reverted with less than a week’s notice? The gentleman should not have been placed in the position in the first instance and who should be held responsible. In law when a mistake has been made you correct it soonest.

26. David November 29, 2016 at 5:59 PM #

@Walter

How can the NUPW and the PAD discuss the issue based on the finality of Gail Akins pronouncement on the matter?

Please explain what conclusion is a reasonable onlooker to draw based on the revocation of Akanni’s appointment before his contract end date?

I wasn’t about to respond to foolishness because it showed he was writing without a knowledge of the issues but thanks anyhow

27. Well today is the 30th the country is still standing despite the NUPW despicable show of action to shut down the country in favor of one man/s interest
    Barbados deserves better and barbadians are much better than that ,it is unfortunate that there are those in society who would use political propaganda as a wedge to divide and conquer in this year of the nations 50th anniversary
    Barbados has come along way in its fifty years of independence fought many struggles and have overcome many hurdles and have survive
    The NUPW is not the first nor will be the last in executing muscular entanglements to attract and distract distort and to blemish our nations image but at the end of the day truth wins out and the naysayers and actors of spite and deceptiveness recoils recants and implodes

HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY BARBADOS

50 years and still standing

28. Bushie has to concur with AC that it IS a major achievement that we are ’50 years and still standing’….
    This is no mean achievement …given the level of idiocy that has characterised our national decision making – and particularly in the last seven years.

So Happy Independence Barbados.

Hopefully our luck will hold out …so that we can say the same next year… in spite of the lack of vision, the divisiveness, and the general brass bowlery of those currently leading us into albino-centricity.

29. @ David

Our comments were based on a firm determination, and we are thinking about these issues all the time, that the political duopoly in Barbados is incapable of transformation, as an internal process.

If we can’t even get this ‘winner takes all mentality’ out of the culture. A right to recall. Others normative processes included, how can we rationally approach a fundamental realignment of political forces.

Even the ‘great’ Richie Haynes failed, miserably, in trying to do this. He was the most likely to succeed, but failed. In any event we are not as persuaded as you, that a leader and that leader alone, could be as influential as you presumed, absent of external forces.

And the collapse of which we spoke is happening. Where do you think this economic environment will lead? It must lead, eventually, to a national bankruptcy. And maybe the point at which we will be able to suggest fundamental political change. Only then!

David, Barbados has always had a ‘crab-in-the-barrel-mentality’. Whether we speak about the PM or the man who will have the whole country closed down on his behave. And there is no different orientation between them.

Instead of these people sacrificing their lives for our country, they demand the reverse.

Lastly, we think that positions have to evolve over time. We have no interest in maintain all former positions, come what may.

30. I am really surprised that people here are yet to grasp how things are done in Barbados. EVERYTHING is MANipulated. Everything is controlled. Everyone has his or her designated place; whether they sing in or out of tune with the MASTERS of BIM. Yes it is true; the true nature of what we really are is being revealed more and more every day!!!!!

So stop the stupid talk about BUPPERs are these so called “right thinkers”. It just will not be allowed to happen when the process kicks even from nursery school!!! So enjoy the little underground talk and rest your self!!!!!

31. David November 29, 2016 at 5:59 PM #
    “@Walter
    How can the NUPW and the PAD discuss the issue based on the finality of Gail Akins pronouncement on the matter?
    Please explain what conclusion is a reasonable onlooker to draw based on the revocation of Akanni’s appointment before his contract end date?”

I would expect the finality of Gail Atkins pronouncement to be supported by reason. A pronouncement based on whim and fantasy simply would not cut in 2016 and would not be fair to Mr. McDowell. If no violation of civil service regulations has taken place, and no justification for his “reversion” can be found, then I would want Mr. McDowell to enjoy whatever rights and benefits he was legally entitled to in his acting position. If an applicable regulation, the submission of false information, or a standard operating procedure can be cited to support the cessation of the acting appointment, then Mr. McDowell should be prepared to revert to his substantive post.

I am confident that there are enough intelligent people in the unions and the civil service to resolve this relatively simple matter without resorting to measures aimed at crippling the economy and the country.
    A reasonable onlooker might be wondering what the fuss is all about. Such a person might have little or no understanding of the established process in the civil service to handle a grievance of this kind, but good old-fashioned Bajan common sense would tell him/her that Barbadian workers and their families should not become pawns or victims in this game before a solution can be reached

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Walter

Why don’t you stop writing nonsense, you are embarrassing me. You know better. This is not about common sense, it is about DLP control of all organisations in this country that can have any influence on any section of the electorate. Stop trying to give absolution to the DLP for its bad behaviour.

Common sense would suggest that the Government would have allowed McDowall’s temporary contract to expire and there would have been no issue. Instead, a vindictive administration allowed this matter to fester. It would seem that they are willing to destroy NUPW if they can’t control it

33. Caswell; Good post above at 9:44 am.

David; I note that the Walter Blackman fan club seems to have been asleep last night and this morning.

34. @ AWTY
    I note that the Walter Blackman fan club seems to have been asleep last night and this morning.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Asleep?
    Boss, somebody has to plan these ‘adjustments’ to their celebrations caused by the weather.
    Bushie predicts that they will have even less time to spend on BU as the days go by….

Few people know what they will be in for …when they align themselves with evil.

35. There is no need to try to manipulate likes, it is being dishonest. You can’t be discussing and attributing the art of good politics to your political party and then stoop so low as to manipulate likes on a blog. It gives us an opportunity to peer into the mind.

36. @ Walter Blackman

Since the DLP minister of finance Mr. Sinckler continued errors and resorting to measures that has caused crippling effects to the economy, do you have any of the good old fashioned common sense, to say that PM should call an election now and allowed the people to revert the DLP, PM, Ministers and MPs to George Street lunch time shows of jokers

37. No ! Caswell u are the one talking and writing shite. U bring a case to table based on unfounded facts and evidence to substantiate.The govt brings a case and shows proof via procdure and protocol and in the face of all that govt has shown to substantiate yet u behave like a typical paling cock crying foul.
    Bro you are not the only sheriff in a town of 275 thousand /the people have rallied to govt side and both are in agreement with the final decision
    Fuh christ sake even the majority of NUPW members have rubbish the industrial action. Can/t u see that by now /you rather spew political propaganda hoping to get a piece of the action that would energize your faltering Union.

38. David; You posted at 10:26 am

” It gives us an opportunity to peer into the mind.”

True dat!

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Caswell Franklyn November 30, 2016 at 9:44 AM re “Walter, Why don’t you stop writing nonsense, you are embarrassing me. You know better”

You sir are an accomplished political ‘savant’ thus you know well that Walter Blackman the politician will enunciate sagely the merits of a particularly solution UNTIL that position NO LONGER suites his goals.

That’s the rhythm of all politicians.

Your point that “the Government would have allowed McDowall’s temporary contract to expire and there would have been no issue” was the gorilla of common sense from day one.

Thus to read the absolutely well-scripted, rationally reasoned epistle from Blackman was as I said before absolutely reprehensible as it was the worst type of fallacious palaver. He was asking us to use the same common-sense that his colleagues patently did not use.

What he is saying is completely erroneous on its fundamental premiss but yet he presents an astounding and believable set of ‘arguments’. This discourse is not ‘educated analysis’ of the union matter; it is simply artless sophistry.

It is pellucid that the unions should not attempt to exert country-wide debilitating retribution on this matter at the time of this needed heightened economic activity but it’s also just as crystal clear that the gov’t should not have acted so cavalierly on this matter and …continuously on many other matters.

Obviously the decision to revert the NUPW president was calculated to test the response from the union. The gov’t wants to see how far the unions will press their case against them as surely they are ‘getting ready’ for you guys for elections.

No one needs to tell you your business so let’s just shift Walter’s nonsensical arguments to the side so we can all get down to the real meat and potatoes of the long term intent of the non-common-sense where a man was ‘murdered’ a few weeks before he would have ‘expired’ naturally.

Only a sociopath (or group of them) does that… You are ready for them one presumes and hopes.

40. @Dee Word

Combermere back in the day was adroit at honing the debating skills of its students. Walter would have benefited, like David Thompson.

41. @Walter

I am confident that there are enough intelligent people in the unions and the civil service to resolve this relatively simple matter without resorting to measures aimed at crippling the economy and the country.

Is it really so simple a matter?

Why create it by revoking the agreement six weeks early?

When Sinckler sat in on the BRA negotiations he had no standing but a protocol was respected. The man is the head of the largest public sector union for crissakes.

42. @ David

How would avoidance, at any cost, prevent this threat in the future, as a matter of principle?

43. The social partnership needs to assume a more influential role. The influence must come from the ability to wheel and deal amongst the stakeholders. Thus far it is favorably acknowledged and that is all. How to execute can begin by establishing guiding principles/ground rules. Let us build on what we have.

44. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

I am convince more and more each day that something is fundamentally wrong with the people in this country. Are some of us blind? Can we NOT see the injustices? Don’t you see that this Government is playing on your weak minds?

We are in dire straits if majority thinks like AC – My God!

45. Happy Independence All.

Among all the views and accusations there is one relevant question which I have not heard any one ask as yet.

Does anyone know if Mr. MacDowall, up until today, has enjoyed the same salary which the acting post provided even though he was reverted?

Always observing…..

46. @David

the gentleman had no right to be acting in the post. No one has dealt with the questions I posited and that is because in the final analysis the current crop of union leaders are losing the battle. They are relying on perception and not on facts. No wonder union membership is falling and caswell is adroit of exploiting the situation to increase membership.

Have you tried to ascertain by BWU remained out of the partnership? It s because it did not want anyone else to lead the said partnership

The Union is doing itself an injustice, for example, would the govt agree to a wage increae for gaa inc workers before settling for the civil service. NUPW clearly need leaders. The current crop is hopeless.

47. @observing

can two persons be paid acting for the said position when one was not in it long enough to enjoy the benefit for someone else to act for him. the position is vaxant

48. Observing; re. your 12:35 pm post

Are you suggesting that the PS who obviously was engaged in the various matters related to Mr MacDowall, would have allowed him to be paid at a salary level above that at which he had been reverted? If so, why would you think that would have been done and what would have been the recourse?

49. Barbadians are obsessed with qualifications. Mr McDowall has the required qualifications for his position. The issue is that he was acting in a new position and has been returned to his substantive positive, which is right and proper. Full stop.
    His behaviour since, along with that of his supporters, demonstrate that he has not the man-management skills for the senior position.
    He certain lacks emotional intelligence. The man is a fool.

50. David

The social patnership is a construct that is doomed to fail and should be abandoned….as the PM suggested in another incarnation.

Some sort of court or tribunal could be formed to deal with matters such as these.

In the absence of that the unions have no choice but to see this action out to its bitter end,their backs are to the wall.

I wish people would understand that this has nothing to do with an individual.