A Typical Meal @Psychiatric Hospital

Psychiatric Hospital Meal
BU was reliably informed the the image is a typical meal being served to patients at the Psychiatric Hospital as a result of government cutbacks.

Psychiatric Hospital Meal
BU was reliably informed the the image is a typical meal being served to patients at the Psychiatric Hospital as a result of government cutbacks.
For those who don’t recognise what’s on the plate; it is a meal of cooked Eclipse biscuits, mincemeat, and shredded beets. The beverage was water.
LikeLiked by 1 person
I am surprised none of it is crawling.
For a moment there I thought……..never mind, too early.
LikeLike
Good job they’ve got that new state-of-the-art kitchen to cook their eclipse biscuits in
LikeLike
@Caswell
It would be an interesting comparison to see a meal served at the QEH. We know of the stigmatization attached to mentally ill patients.
LikeLike
Cooked Eclipse biscuits mimicking yam or mash?
LikeLike
So wunna thought wunna could plant shiite and reap sweets?
What did we expect when a bunch of clowns – who have been failures in their own personal lives, were given charge of our national affairs…?
How are the prospective BLP alternatives any better?
We clearly need a deeper national introspection than just jumping from the frying pan into the fire and back every 5 years…
We need to seek out persons who can actually get things done, and who exemplify quality and excellence, to lead nationally …. if we want quality results that is….
LikeLiked by 1 person
Prison food ! Makes us want to stay out !
LikeLike
First of all Caswell you are not a nutritionist and also not a medical physician or a mental health professional upon which you can base your information as to why a patient or patients might have a menu as pictured
Although a picture might worth a thousand words the weight of this picture is dependable on those who have a access to the patients medical records.
Btw i ate cooked eclipse biscuits as a child for its carbohydrate value which can be benefical in helping to promote weight for individuals who are prone to chronic weight loss as in the sick and elderly
LikeLike
@ AC
Btw i ate cooked eclipse biscuits as a child
…and look what happened.
That shiite should be banned immediately.
LikeLiked by 1 person
Bush shi.t eclispe also helps in slowing down diarrhea which would be of great help to you a condition which is evident daily on BU coming from your mouth as well as your a.ss
LikeLike
If you weren’t mad before entering you’ll definitely be mad exiting
LikeLike
it seems that BU is now a JOURNAL OF NUTRITION and dat everyone here is now an expert
can anyone of you experts say what the diet at Jenkins should be like?
please state the calorie count and percentages of proteins, fats, carbohydrates s, vitamins and minerals that should be provided
please explain why water is a poor alternative to soda or kool aid or whatever
BU THE JOURNAL OF NUTRITION……..what a bajan belly laff
one does not have to wait for LAFF IT OFF anually these days
now you have BU daily
LikeLike
How much of this gook is the ACs and Porgies willing to eat on any extended period of time although we don’t know on how many occasions that diet is serves especially giver the cut-backs at most institutions.
Maybe we can ask Porgie for the ,,,,”calorie count and percentages of proteins, fats, carbohydrates s, vitamins and minerals that should be provided” for those inmates. Is BU where Porgies come for “belly laff” entertainment? Where is the entertainment in food such as that? Why don’t you people use your keyboards for your different entertainments other than on BU. Give us a break from breaking the will of sensible people here. Why not try giving that swill to any of your Ministers and see where it will get you?
It would be interesting to know what the other meals would look like at that and the other institutions.
LikeLike
It is amazing to read comments in this forum from people who should know better.
LikeLike
RE abajanhowe September 20, 2016 at 9:24 AM #
DID GP SAY EAT GOOK AS YOU CALL IT
RE Maybe we can ask Porgie for the ,,,,”calorie count and percentages of proteins, fats, carbohydrates s, vitamins and minerals that should be provided” for those inmates.
CERTAINLY THE HOSPITAL HAS DIETITIANS AND NUTRITIONISTS FOR THIS ah lie?
RE Is BU where Porgies come for “belly laff” entertainment? YES SIREE
RE Where is the entertainment in food such as that? tHE ENTERTAINMENT IS NOT IN THE FOOD IT IS IN THE SHITE SPEWED OUT BY UNTRAINED ILLITERATES ON THE SUBJECT
RE Why don’t you people use your keyboards for your different entertainments other than on BU
BECAUSE THE DAILY ENTERTAINMENT ON BU IS IN THE TOP DRAWER
RE ive us a break from breaking the will of sensible people here.
THAT IS IMPOSSIBLE. THERE WILL BE UNTRAINED ILLITERATES ON BU DAILY TALKING ENTERTAINING SWILL ah lie?
LikeLike
David September 20, 2016 at 9:34 AM #
It is amazing to read comments in this forum from people who should know better.
WHAT YOU ARE SAYING IS WHEN SOMETHING IS POSTED ON BU IT IS LIKE GOSPEL
AND ALL POSTERS SHOULD FALL IN TO LINE WITH THE CRITIQUE
I AM SURE THAT NO ONE WHO HAS JUMPED ON THE BANDWAGON OF THIS POST IS A NUTRITIONIST
I DARE ANY OF YOU TO CONTRADICT THE SOUNDNESS OF THESE STATEMENTS
it seems that BU is now a JOURNAL OF NUTRITION and dat everyone here is now an expert
can anyone of you experts say what the diet at Jenkins should be like?
please state the calorie count and percentages of proteins, fats, carbohydrates s, vitamins and minerals that should be provided
please explain why water is a poor alternative to soda or kool aid or whatever
I DARE ANY OF YOU TO ANSWER ANY OF THE QUESTIONS ABOVE HONESTLY AND ACCURATELYI
I DARE ANY OF YOU TO DETERMINE WHERE I SHOULD GLEAN MY DAILY ENTERTAINMENT
LikeLike
IT IS BECAUSE I KNOW BETTER THAT I CAN OPINE AS I HAVE LOL
LikeLike
Here is another useful link from a website supported by professionals (The Royal College of Psychiatrists – http://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/healthadvice/problemsdisorders/eatingwellandmentalhealth.aspx
BU again invites all to post their views, even the dullards and intelligent. This is how we roll (learn)
LikeLike
@ Caswell,
I am not defending the meals served but it is true that many Bajans have mastered the art of “cooking” eclipse biscuits. Many of us would have had them as meals or part of our meals over the years.
LikeLike
If one going to lay accusations then one has to show proof not good enough to place half truth and perceptions in a soup bowl of sensationalism and not be questioned except by the BU nitwits who are eager to gobble up
The article takes a picture and tries to transform with a scathing allegation but absent are the writers medical credentials to verify such allegations as wrong.
LikeLike
Let us revisit articles from BU Archives on the much aligned mental health institution at Back Rock referred to as Jenkins. There is always BU to lobby the cause of the underdog.
Psychiatric Hospital: Pictures Portray the Sorry Tale
by David on August 15, 2015 in Barbados News, Health Edit
The following was submitted by the public spirited citizen who has been working tirelessly to highlight the dilapidated conditions at the Black Rock Psychiatric Hospital.[…]
7 Comments • Continue Reading →
Rihanna, the Psychiatric Hospital Extends an Invitation to YOU!
by David on August 8, 2015 in Barbados News, Health, Opinion Edit
BU continues to highlight the deplorable conditions at the island’s Psychiatric Hospital. A country must be judged by how it treats its senior citizens and the sick. If we are able to persuade international pop star Rihanna […]
84 Comments • Continue Reading →
Barbados Psychiatric Hospital An Embarrassment to Barbadians Everywhere
by David on July 29, 2015 in Barbados News, Health Edit
The government boast of a mantra it is about building a society. One measure citizens are able to measure growth in the society is how we implement initiatives to care for people. As the topic of the day continue to gain currency – something about building a $700,000,000 plasma […]
39 Comments • Continue Reading →
What Is Happening At St. Thomas District Hospital Dr. Estwick?
by David on September 25, 2008 in Blogging Edit
In the interest of cutting to the base of a matter we have decided to publish the following three comments which were posted by a BU commenter between September 20 to 25, 2008. The reason for our decision, we do get a little emotional when we hear of mistreatment meted out to the young and […]
Comments Off • Continue Reading →
Jenkins.
LikeLike
RE William Skinner September 20, 2016 at 9:48 AM #
@ Caswell,
I am not defending the meals served but it is true that many Bajans have mastered the art of “cooking” eclipse biscuits. Many of us would have had them as meals or part of our meals over the years.
SIR YOUR POST CONTAINS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
WHEREAS THE FOOD MAY NOT LOOK APETISING NONE OF YOU NUTRITION ILLITERATES CAN COMMENT ON THE BALANCE OF CARBS PROTEINS FATS OR EVEN THE TASTE
IT SEEMS THE TREND ON BU IS FOR BASICALLY THE SAME SET OF FOLK TO COME DAILY AND BASH AND CRITICIZE EVEN WHEN THEIR COMMENTS ARE OUT OF THE AMBIT OF THEIR EXPERTISE
LikeLike
That plate is lacking a green vegetable, a yellow vegetable, a glass of milk, and half a banana, slice of pawpaw, or some other fruit. Water should be available all during the day. Failing the two vegetables, a good salad with mixed veggies….cucumber, tomatoes, onions, parsley and leaf lettuce would suffice.
I do not call myself a nutritionist, but studied nutrition and convalescent cookery to ‘O’ level at O&C in the early sixties.
LikeLike
RE David September 20, 2016 at 9:46 AM #
Here is another useful link from a website supported by professionals (The Royal College of Psychiatrists – http://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/healthadvice/problemsdisorders/eatingwellandmentalhealth.aspx
HOW IS THIS ARTICLE RELEVANT? THIS IS BASIC STUFF WRITTEN BY PROFFESIONALS
THE CRITICISMS ON THIS TREAD ARE WRITTEN BY FOLK THAT KNOW NOTHING ABOUT NUTRITION
HOW DOES THE MEAL THAT WAS PICTURED AND SUBMITTED FOR TODAY’S BASHING DIVERT FROM THE REQUIREMENT AS SET OUT IN THE ARTICLE CITED?
LikeLike
@William
If you are not defending the meal what is your point then?
Do you accept this is a good meal to feed mentally ill patients?
Stop hugging the issue.
LikeLike
RE bajans September 20, 2016 at 10:15 AM #
That plate is lacking a green vegetable, a yellow vegetable, a glass of milk, and half a banana, slice of pawpaw, or some other fruit. Water should be available all during the day. Failing the two vegetables, a good salad with mixed veggies….cucumber, tomatoes, onions, parsley and leaf lettuce would suffice.
HOW MANY BAJANS WHEN YOU WERE GROWING UP —— HAD ON THEIR PLATES ON A DAILY BASIS a green vegetable, a yellow vegetable, a glass of milk, and half a banana, slice of pawpaw, or some other fruit OR a good salad with mixed veggies….cucumber, tomatoes, onions, parsley and leaf lettuce?
HOW MANY BAJANS TODAY HAVE SUCH ON THEIR PLATES ON A DAILY BASIS?
CLEARLY YOU ARE A PROFESSOR OF NUTRITION
YOU SHOULD HEAD UP THE BU JOURNAL OF NUTRITION
LikeLike
RE David September 20, 2016 at 10:20 AM #
@William
If you are not defending the meal what is your point then?
Stop hugging the issue.
WILLIAM YOU ARE NOT EVEN SUPPOSED TO EVEN APPEAR NOT TO FALL IN LINE
YOU ARE SUPPOSE TO BASH LIKE EVERY ONE ELSE SIR
UNLESS YOU JUMP ON BOARD YOU DONT HAVE A POINT HERE SUH
I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CARBOHYDRATE PROTEIN OR FAT CONTENT OF THIS MEAL
CERTAINLY IT IS BETTER BALANCED THAN A CHEFFETTE MEAL ——-BUT THAT IS ANOTHER STORY.
CERTAINLY A JENKINS MEAL WONT CAUSE NCD’S LOL MURDAH
LikeLike
@ David,
“If you are not defending the meal what is your point then?
Stop hugging the issue.”
I said that I am not defending the meal and went on to say that ‘cooked” eclipse biscuits was a popular dish known to many of us. I don’t really see how this is “hugging” or even hogging the issue. I find it strange that we are talking about fast foods and obesity but will try to denigrate a food many of us “came up on” when there was less obesity. How ironic. For your information cooked eclipse biscuits could be considered a kind of Bajan delicacy.
LikeLike
@ Georgie Porgie,
It is obvious that many of those commenting on the meal, did not know that “cooked” eclipse is a part of Bajan cuisine.
LikeLike
Georgie Porgie, in those days we ate everything. Lots of fruit and vegetables. Of course, people who lived in town had to buy and could not afford to eat like the country folk. But everyone drank milk, ate christophenes and spinach, even mustard leaves cooked in rice. Green bananas, etc. you could buy an orange in the Fairchild street market for a penny which we did and ate on the school bus. In those days we also ate sob biscuits cooked up with lots of
flying fish with steamed/boiled okras on the side. Pumpkin was a staple and eaten aplenty when in season. We cured ours in the cellar and had all year round.
The fact you have to come to terms with is that this is a HEALTH institution. Meals should be balanced, nutritious and adequate.
LikeLike
I really enjoy and learn a lot from Georgie Porgie when he makes serious comments. Other times when he is trying to be funny, such as now, he morph into an insufferable ass. You are learned; stick to that. You are not funny. Leave that to Bushie.
LikeLike
bajans
do you think that the chaps at Jenkins are using the shreded beets as SUPER BEETS?
You do know that there is a lot of hype on line about SUPER BEETS.
LikeLike
@William
Do you accept that we have become a sedentary society?
Do you accept we are discussing a menu being delivered to mental patients in 2016?
What has that got to do with how you were raise in a village setting 50 years ago?
LikeLike
re Caswell Franklyn September 20, 2016 at 10:46 AM #
I really enjoy and learn a lot from Georgie Porgie when he makes serious comments. AND SO YOU SHOULD
RE Other times when he is trying to be funny, I AM NOT TRYING TO BE FUNNY I AM DAMN SERIOUS
TELL ME WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE MEAL BESIDES THE APPEARANCE TELL ME
EXPAND ON WHAT ARE YOUR CONCERNS IN A SCIENTIFIC
WAY
such as now, he morph into an insufferable ass. BECAUSE I WONT TOW YOUR LINE SIR?
YOU HAVE POSTED A PICTURE WITH NO OTHER INFORMATION
YOU HAVE ADDRESSED NO NUTRITIONAL PARAMETERS SUCH AS I HAVE ASKED
YOU ARE BASICALLY INSULTING MY INTELLIGENCE
HOW CAN YOU DISCUSS NUTRITION WITH JUST A PHOTO
You are learned; stick to that. THAT IS WHAT I AM DOING I CAN MOCK AND ASK QUESTIONS BECAUSE I TEACH AND HAVE STUDIED NUTRITION AND I KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT
LikeLike
I am still surprised nothing is crawling off the plate..that’s my story and am sticking to it, not another word on this from me.
Bush Tea September 20, 2016 at 8:01 AM #
@ AC
Btw i ate cooked eclipse biscuits as a child
…and look what happened.
That shiite should be banned immediately.
Lol…ha, ha, ha, ..lol
LikeLike
RE Do you accept we are discussing a menu being delivered to mental patients in 2016?
WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE MENU IN TERMS OF ITS NUTRITIONAL CONTENT AND BALANCE
SINCE BU IS NOW A JOURNAL OF NUTRITION LET US TALK LIKE NUTRITIONISTS MAN
NUTRITIONISTS DONT DISCUSS NUTRITIONAL MATTERS BY LOOKING AT PICTURES
What has that got to do with how you were raise in a village setting 50 years ago?
DOES NOT NUTRITION HAVE A CULTURAL COMPONENT
AT LEAST THAT IS WHAT THE TEXT BOOKS SAYS – speaking as an unsufferable ass- LOL
LikeLike
bajans September 20, 2016 at 10:45 AM #
The fact you have to come to terms with is that this is a HEALTH institution. Meals should be balanced, nutritious and adequate.
THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST SENSIBLE THINGS SAID ON THIS THREAD — BALANCED AND NUTRITIOUS
LikeLike
As I said before, I really learn a lot from the serious comments you make. Others, wilt lesser intellect might might try ridicule you when they either don’t understand or agree with you. You might be surprised but I am grateful for your serious comments. Rather than keep on that track, you allow yourself to be derailed by silly people and then you sink to their level. For them, that is the only level they know and will stay there. You can do better. Don’t you see that I routinely ignore the contributions of the ACs. They do not bring value to BU. You have been doing so and can continue to the benefit of people like me, who want to learn.
By the way, I merely posted a picture of a meal that was being fed to patients, without comment. I thought that the public should be aware.
LikeLike
re Caswell Franklyn September 20, 2016 at 12:14 PM #
I merely posted a picture of a meal that was being fed to patients, without comment. I thought that the public should be aware.
I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH THAT AT ALL
WHAT I AM HAVING FUN WITH IS THE BASHING THAT EMANATED FROM YOUR INNOCENT POST IN WHICH NOTHING HAS BEEN SAID ABOUT THE NUTRITIONAL CONTENT IN TERMS OF CULTURE CALORIE COUNT OR COMPoNENTS {ratio of carbs to fats to proteins etc}
whereas you might not like my style of delivery, what I have said can not be refuted
YOUR PHOTO ALLOWS DISCUSSION ONLY ON AESTHETIC APPEARANCE BUT ON NOTHING ELSE,BUT YET THE BU BASHERS STARTED THEIR DAILY DRIVEL
LikeLike
Another question for your William. If you were to be admitted to the Black Rock institution would you want to be fed what is pictured?
People back in the day ate cooked biscuits because they were poor and could not do any better.
Oh shiiirt, this government cannot do any better either!
LikeLike
VOB has reported that Minister Lowe was admitted to the hospital last Friday. Not sure if QEH or Black Rock.
Hope is meals are more appetizing. Bear in mind a meal should be an enjoyable experience (BU says so!)
Here is wishing him a quick recovery.
LikeLike
Georgie Porgie September 20, 2016 at 11:47 AM #
“The fact you have to come to terms with is that this is a HEALTH institution. Meals should be balanced, nutritious and adequate.”
@ Georgie Porgie
Despite the fact you have responded to this issue with a great amount of arrogance (LOL), I have to agree with you, especially if the nutritional value of the meal is taken into consideration, rather than what ingredients were used to create the said meal or accepting the photograph on its “face value.”
The reason why I’m forced to agree with your position is because I have a heart problem for which I was hospitalized on a few occasions. I heard many people criticizing the hospital’s food and I asked a friend bring a “snack box” for me, from “Chicken Barn.” The nurses on duty informed me that eating such foods would be detrimental to my health, because they contained high levels of salt and grease.
It was then I realized that food is prepared according to the condition from which one is suffering.
As a “heart patient,” I was given a special type of diet, which did not include salt; fried or boiled meats such as pork, beef, lamb; salted-fish; red herring; salted beef; “soft drinks” and tin foods (corned beef, luncheon meat, sausages, mackerel, etc). Patients are not fed the over-sized portions they receive at home, and within 1 week, I lost weight to suit the weight of an individual of my age at that time, and height.
Before I was discharged on the first occasion, I had to meet with a Nutritionist who advised me what foods I should eat and how to prepare them for breakfast, lunch, dinner and general snacks.
Surely you must agree human nature would dictate any reasonable individual who looks at the food in the photograph and subsequently became aware of the ingredients used to prepare the meal, the mention of “cooked biscuits” would rightfully evoke some level of emotionalism.
LikeLike
Lol the BU jack a sss are braying from their anus. Lunch time will be having s jenkins menu .Anybody care to join.Now watch the locust come flying out the woodwork..lol
LikeLike
Artaxerxes September 20, 2016 at 12:49 PM #
I AM SORRY TO HEAR OF YOUR HEART CONDITION AND I DO UNDERSTAND THAT MUCH OF THE RUBBISH POSTED ON THIS THREAD IS FULL OF EMOTION AND NO ATTEMPT AT ALL TO CONSIDER THE SCIENCE
LikeLike
Blah blah blah caswell you put up a picture with the intent of having a bashment kadooment day on govt . but the bashing was thrown in your direction. Deal with it. You are good at spinning the wheel on BU in your favour on every discussion this time the wheel fell and bashed you in your head.. idiot
LikeLike
re People back in the day ate cooked biscuits because they were poor and could not do any better.
in jamaica People back in the day ate ackee and saltfish because they were poor and could not do any better ACKEE AND SALFISH IS NOW THE ESTABLISHED AND REGALED NATIONAL DISH OF JAMAICA.
in many countries of the world people ate this that and the other because they were poor and could not do any better.
TODAY, VISITORS TO THESE COUNTRIES ENJOY SOME OF THESE SAME FOODS ah lie?
WATCH ZIMMERNS SHOW AND ANTHONY BORDEAUX SHOW
LikeLike
Further William, the emphasis is BU’s
LikeLike
@William
Here s what we do with cook biscuits in 2016, we use for stuffing when baking the fowl.
LikeLike
@William
Do you recall we use to use buckets and basins to have our baths and it did not prevent us from growing to big men and women
Oh dear, that is not a good example because Bajans in the North have had to revert to the bucket and despite their modern day facilities.
One has to admit though that the bucket and basin to bath is still functional.
LikeLike
i have been to expensive restaurants and been presented with food that looked good but did not taste good
eating becomes and remains an enjoyable experience WHEN THE FOOD TASTES GOOD.
EVERY ONE THAT DRIVELS ON BU DAILY HAVE /HAD A MOTHER WHO WAS TO THEM THE BEST COOK IN THE WORLD BECAUSE THEY PREPARED FOOD THAT TASTED GOOD…………USING WHAT EVER THEY HAD
ITS CALLED CULTURAL CUISINE
LikeLike
The plate’s contents are not aesthetically presented notwithstanding what it nutritious content is.
When I was younger i will admit that i have eaten a good set of dog food nuggets as most inquisitive 4 or 5 year olds will do (and, depending on whose house you eating at, i can say that the habit has persisted until I was much older heheheheheh)
Knowing Caswell one must not take his publications on their face value.
Let de ole man explain.
Suppose that their is a food problem at the Mental hospital and that one would wish that some investigative journalism be applied to the plight of the situation down there.
Being the ole fart and neanderthal that I am, i am not of the opinion that this plate of food was Caswell’s.
Let us suppose that, like in the vein of a file dropping off a truck, or a video being emailed to the Blogmaster, let us suppose that a well intentioned cook took a pic and sent it to the Social Advocate Extraordinaire Mr. Caswell for his use.
If there are 6 cooks at the Mental wunna doan tink dat Caswell going come heah and say “dis picture come from one of the cooks, and is the type of food dat dem does give the patients down dere every day?”
Steupseee, wunna really thing that Caswell going sit down and write an article like this cause he ent like the plate of food that he get during the GreenGates Open Day?
LikeLike
there… not their whuloss
LikeLike
@ David,
We have been using cooked biscuits as stuffing from the time I have known myself. I think that you have missed my point that cooked biscuits is a part of our traditional Bajan cuisine. As I said i am not defending the meal that was photographed. I never said that the meal was acceptable or unacceptable.
LikeLike
This is no subject to debate. Caswell provided a photo of a typical meal at the Psychiatric Hospital to obviously highlight a matter. As far as I am concern, the meal has a starch and protein source, with a bit calcium, iron and vitamins (A & C) coming from the beet, if that is indeed beet). The problem is that our brains are programmed so much towards appeal and decorative that if things do not have certain format or specific presentation, then it is considered not acceptable or of poor taste. Two carrots, not shredded and a bean or two in there, along with a drop of parsley on top, with a piece a salt meat or shredded saltfish, I am sure it would not have been subjected to the same critique it is getting now. The problem is that cook eclipse biscuit has its roots steep in the days when poor people had to find alternatives. What if it was rice tea in coconut milk and white flour dumplings with a added twist of bayleaf water to increase the aroma. Or what if it was just corn meal pap. At least it ain’t (remmy) or white rice with no sides.
LikeLike
I posted that picture to show what was being fed to the patients at the Psychiatric Hospital. This resulted from Government cutbacks to that institution but not as most people would think. At one stage, the hospital did not have the funds to purchase the ingredients to supply the patients with a balanced diet. Nonetheless, the hospital attempted to meet the nutritional needs with less money by serving smaller portions but the portions were to small. That resulted in patients becoming emaciated. To fix that problem, they started to serve cooked biscuits so that the patients would regain weight rapidly.
LikeLike
@Caswell
Do you know if this is the traditional mincemeat with beef, pork, mutton and all manner of meat minced? Is there consideration given to individual needs of the patient religion, preference etc?
@PUDRYR
We are on the same page. If you are treating a patient suffering with mental health problems you want to meet some level of expectation as far as food is concerned. The slop on the plate does not cut it .
On Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 5:25 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:
LikeLike
cASWELL
THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH YOUR PICTURE POST
WHAT IS WRONG IS THE EMOTION DISPLAYED BY THE DAILY BU DRIVLERS ON THE MATTER WITHOUT KNOWLEDGE OF THE WHEREFORS OR WHEREATS
AS I HAVE SAID BEFORE THE ONLY THING THAT CAN BE SAID ABOUT THAT FOOD IS THAT IT IS NOT AESTHETICALLY APPEALING BUT NOTHING CAN BE SAID SCIENTIFICALLY ABOUT ITS CALORIE CONTENT TASTE OR COMPOSITION
LikeLike
Quick recovery for Minister Lowe? no way he should suffer immensely and be a subject for the others Ministers and DLP yardfowls
LikeLike
It is not like Caswell, in addition to posting the adjusted rations for the inmates of the institution and its patients came and posted something like the poster below.
And like me this poster intimates that it is “ineptitude of the current administration that has led to the paucity of the food that our patients at our health institutions islandwide are experiencing”
Whether it is by subliminal connections or blatant overt speech, it is natural for people to move to a position that places the burden of a load on the nearest donkey which in this case is the one that we have had for 8 years.
As simplistic as that might seem it is not a long stretch for anyone here in the rumshop to posit, correctly or incorrectly that these ever decreasing portions of daily meals are integrally connected to the inability of the DLP to provision the machinery of government with its diurnal needs.
If something as simple as the shortage of toilet paper at the QEH has been shown to be one of the many things the sitting government CANNOT provision how much moreso the food at the Green Gates Hotel. (I used GGH because of familiarity of the name not as a derogatory term)
LikeLike
@PUDRYR
If the primary care health institution and polyclinic are routinely without/low on toilet paper and gloves what is feeding slop to mental health patients even if it meets some scientific content?
LikeLiked by 1 person
@Watchman
You should not wish sickness even on people you disagree.
LikeLike
Unfortunate situation.
Differently, wishing the Minister a speedy recovery. Illness can strike anyone of us and when we least expect it.
LikeLike
That plate a food looks terrible but it is possible that the meat was well seasoned and spiced up.
If you can’t make the food “pretty” mek it taste “sweet”.
LikeLike
@ David,
We all recall those days. However, what is presently happening, in relation to the water crisis, to the citizens of St.Joseph and other areas is a national disgrace of monumental proportions.
LikeLike
Caswell this time you got smack right in the groin.Remember next time you post a picture to attract sensationalism and nitwits attach a disclaimer.. foolburt
Someone said there is nothing wrong with the picture except judging by the analogy of most comments the contents of the picture was not worthy for an animal to eat.
Well well.on my way to cheffete anyone care to join
LikeLike
@ George C. Brathwaite September 20, 2016 at 3:25 PM
“Unfortunate situation.
Differently, wishing the Minister a speedy recovery. Illness can strike anyone of us and when we least expect it.”
There is definitely a place in the human heart for sympathy for persons undergoing a prolonged bout of sickness.
But there is also a Force above simple human understanding called Retribution or Karma; or to put it in a more ‘Christian’ analogous setting, Divine Intervention.
Isn’t that what you, by George, have been hoping for all along? To rid your country of the pestilence called the Destructive Lying Party administration?
Probably it’s the blatant refusal to accept responsibility for the sad state of garbage collection and disposal which has taken a toll on the ‘god fearing’ doctor. Don’t you think the removal of this academic and Christian fraud of a deceitful lying doctor from office (like the other doctor for water woes) might just be the appearance of the Morning Star to begin a new day for Bim?
Why wait until 2018 when you can have it in 2016 before or after November 30th as a mark of the final raising of the flag by the current lot of deceivers, liars and political prostitutes.
Long live Blackmout the Lowedown man who has taken Bim to a heap of garbage and wasted sewage talk about MAM’s right to practise Law in Bim!
We can all hope that the long-suffering dismissed NCC workers would find it in their hearts to wish the go(o)dly doctor a speedy recovery even if they are still not in receipt of their promised compensation.
“I mean that we here are on the wrong side of the tapestry,’ answered Father Brown. The things that happen here do not seem to mean anything; they mean something somewhere else. Somewhere else retribution will come on the real offender. Here it often seems to fall on the wrong person.”~ G.K. Chesterton
“Disease is the retribution of outraged Nature.”
“To be left alone, and face to face with my own crime [will be my] just retribution”.
LikeLike
ACs…dont forget to eat a lot of Chefette…lol
LikeLike
All morning I been staring at the water in the plate…how much of the food is swimming in water.
LikeLike
Does anyone believe the NCC workers have not been paid by government despite the ruling of the ERT? Where is the trust, the integrity.
LikeLike
Wish the Minister well.
LikeLike
Well Well
That is not water: it is gravy.
LikeLike
Don’t worry about how it looks, the calorific value is adequate.
LikeLike
Caswell Franklyn September 20, 2016 at 6:19 PM #
Well Well
That is not water: it is gravy.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
LOL so much for caloric content and nutritional value
Sent From my i phone
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
LikeLike
Make the food look nice. It doesn’t have to look like slop.
Show some respect.
LikeLike
There is ground between a 5-star restaurant and a trough
LikeLike
That Minister Lowe actions has caused many poor people to suffered, therefore Minister Lowe should suffer with what ever break down his sick mind and body behold, my sorrow is not for Lowe and people of his ilk, a lot people in Barbados would like to say such
LikeLike
Lord have his mercy. Now I here longing for ackee and saltfish, rice and milk and corn meal pap with crackers as served in Jamaica. I am practically drooling like Pavlov’s canine and I wont be there until next month. I gine have to hold on though. Please keep the delicacies out de discussion.
At least I just had me a mess of callaloo with garlic and tomatoes. Could not wait for the rest of the dinner to finish cooking, so I stir fried it and ate it all up. I find I wait too late to start to cook. Last night I had my tomato, basil and mozzarella salad, drizzled with olive oil, [extra virgin] red wine vinegar which I made from my own grapes, a dash of salt and some black peppa. When I finish, I put the bowl to my head and drank the juices. sweet, sweet, sweet. Nothing tastes like organically home grown heritage tomatoes. Envy me some?
LikeLike
Could some one enlighten me….. what is a super beet? I have a fall crop almost ready, are they super too? they are the cylindrical beets, ready in 40 days.
LikeLike
Caswell…my glasses probably need changing….I been staring at this thing from morning….I did not want anybody to say am bitchy and nastty and insulting people’s food.
I was wating for someone to mention the water.., sorry, gravy…in the plate and no one did….. I can’t believe I am the only one who noticed.
It’s a plate of slop that could have been presented better….at least make the water look like gravy.
LikeLike
You know as we go through these articles day after day after day after day I wonder if people really get this.
By this I mean the business of government and running it effectively.
A minister, newly added to the fold, MUST HAVE THE ABILITY TO ABSORB ALL THT IS NECESSARY TO RUN HIS MINISTRY from the time he swears to do so at Government House.
I wonder if people understand what that means?
YOu tek a man who de bailiff running down pun a day to pay fuh he car and who telling he wife tuh tell de man dat he ent deah, a man who cyan even sell two cars at de car sales place dat he wukking at, and gi he de Ministry of Transport and Wuk to run.
A place where de Permanent Secretary know all de tricks to getting marl and 2 down deliver to he palace in Shop Hill, and de Supervisors getting jobs brek off wid de tractor pun a weekend, and parts getting order but divert in de port to dem parts store up in Slaters St George
You see whu we really doing by electing dese doufuses and scvunts based on popularity?
What de ef does Steve Blackett or Patrick Toad Minister of Sidewalks or any of these effers from de DLP or de BLP know about running a government?
Yet here we are pointing out de ineptitude of de Minister who could not even get a ting do at Banks and we wondering why people got to wipe dem pooch in a bedsheet at queen elizabeth horspital?
And we going do it again in a few months.
Dis is why we seeing minister Stinkliar vex wid Pornvill and the late delivery of of the vaseline for our welcoming donkeys.
WeJonesing ent complaining doah…!!
LikeLike
bajans September 20, 2016 at 7:23 PM #
Could some one enlighten me….. what is a super beet?
Recently there has been a lot of hype online about a product called SUPER BEET.
It is really just another scam. BEET ROOT IS BEET ROOT. Its main nutrient after digestion is the products of sugar i.e glucose and fructose. As you might know fructose or fruit sugar enters the metabolic pathway that begins the conversion of glucose into energy.
the production of energy is most likely one of the reasons for the beet on the disputed plate
LikeLike
Well Well & Consequences September 20, 2016 at 7:31 PM #
the food may have been presented better–THAT IS NOT IN DISPUTE
but all we seem to do on BU daily is to BASH BASH BASH
the dummies who posted can not see past the appearance of the food
they cant lift their thoughts or the discussion to real importance things about food such as I have outlined
if you are not bashing bashing you dont seem to be welcomed on BU
IF YOU DONT TOW THE LINE you dont seem to be welcomed on BU
I HAVE A MIND OF MY OWN— AN EDUCATED MIND AND I WILL STAND UP FOR WHAT I KNOW AND I DONT BACK DOWN WHEN I AM RIGHT
WITH RESPECT TO THE GRAVY
IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN A SIMPLE BUTTER SAUCE TO REDUCE THE FAT CONTENT OF THE MEAL
I PERSONALLY DONT USE GRAVY FOR YEARS AND I AVOID FAT BECAUSE I KNOW THAT MY BODY WILL MAKE FAT FROM METABOLISM OF PROTEIN AND CARBS IN MY DIET
I DONT USE SUGAR EITHER
I EXPECT THAT ANY GLUCOSE I NEED WILL BE MADE FROM GLUCONEOGENESIS FROM THE PROTEIN IN MY DIET
LikeLike
Gravy….you can still have a gravy, with no butter, just a light oil, my preference is grapeseed, or a light virgin oil, there are ways of creating gravy without the high fat content, pumpkin or leaves help thicken a gravy, spinach etc are cheap, easy to grow…I do it everyday.
LikeLike
GP….lol…I meant GP.
LikeLike
@the Kitchen Staff of the Psychiatric Hostel
On behalf of the patients who have to struggle with mental health challenges PLEASE improve the presentation of the food. Also watch the cooking of the beets.
http://www.vegkitchen.com/tips/beets/
LikeLike
You should also add that it is better to make the cook biscuit an after dessert side instead of part of the main course. I am sure there are enough yams and sweet potatoes that could be used instead.
LikeLike
http://ow.ly/ONWS304q41N
The No. 1 killer, dont care how good your diet.
LikeLike
@David September 20, 2016 at 6:23 AM “It would be an interesting comparison to see a meal served at the QEH.”
Within the last 2 years the QEH breakfast was good:
“one boiled egg, 2 slices of whole wheat bread, an orange, and tea with milk (thankfully no sugar)”
LikeLike
@Georgie Porgie September 20, 2016 at 8:40 AM “please explain why water is a poor alternative to soda or kool aid.”
You are right. No hospital, school, prison or home should be serving soda or kool aid.
LikeLike
But that said a serving of breadfruit, yam, or sweet potato would have been a better alternative to Eclispe biscuits which after all are made primarily of highly processed white flour.
LikeLike
@RE bajans September 20, 2016 at 10:15 AM “That plate is lacking a green vegetable, a yellow vegetable, a glass of milk, and half a banana, slice of pawpaw, or some other fruit.”
It may well be that the fruit serving was on/in another plate or bowl. Certainly when I was served food at the QEH the orange was in a separate bowl, not on the same plate as the meat/veg/starch.
LikeLike
@David September 20, 2016 at 12:41 PM “People back in the day ate cooked biscuits because they were poor and could not do any better.”
I must confess that when I bake/roast a whole chicken I still stuff it with Eclipse biscuits.
Poor or not. Being able to do better or not.
Soak the biscuits in cold water, squeeze out the water. Add onion, thyme, marjoram, rosemary, and a little oil or butter, maybe a little salt and a little pepper. Stuff the bird with this mixture, close it up.
Bake/roast.
A piece of this chicken, some Eclispe biscuit stuffing, a li’l rice and peas, and cooked veg or salad and ya gone clear.
But I only do this 3 or 4 times a year, mainly because I hate having to go to the trouble of stuffing a bird.
LikeLike
Looking at that plate,I do not think it would have lived. It had no eyes or ears .The abortion was a wise option.
LikeLike
bajans September 20, 2016 at 7:23 PM #
When I google Super Beet, it is what my father and a lot of small farmers used to grow on a daily basis. The same as those that Brown Downes used to cultivate in the school garden.The beets now available locally are relatively small. We have grown so accustomed to mediocrity , that we have forgotton, or have not researched the things we had before. The same goes for carrots. The Bajan variety are some hard stringy things that no self respecting hawker of yesterday would have offered for sale in the markets in Bridgetown. We now import large carrots from Canada, these still are not as big as the Danvers which were once produced locally.
LikeLike
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/sep/30/prison-food-spending-budget-cuts-minnesota#comments
LikeLike