Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

Walter Blackman the doyen of talk radio of the 90s is back!

An actuary by training who honed his skills in the business environment of North America for the past 21 years has returned to Barbados to establish a business of his vocation. Of note to the BU family is that he has declared an interest in being a member of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by throwing his hat in the ring to be considered as a candidate in the next general election.

Here is a comment posted to Barbados Underground by Walter Blackman on the 29 June 2016.

I have always put my actuarial profession ahead of politics.

In 1995, I left Barbados with the objective of acquiring 20 years of actuarial experience in the USA. I intended to use that experience to provide quality actuarial services on my return to Barbados, which turned out to be 2016. 21 years. The timing of my return was strictly professional.

I incorporated an actuarial consulting company in Barbados called Actreks Partners. I have now assumed the role of President & CEO and am in the process of building this company.

A lot of Barbadian business owners are moving towards retirement and are not setting aside enough funds to adequately provide for their retirement needs. I design pension plans for business owners and advise them how much money they can contribute to the pension fund yearly. The contributions they make to their pension plans enable them to minimize or eliminate the company’s corporation tax.

Besides designing pension plans, Actreks Partners will be providing a suite of services, including risk management and business consulting, to businesses and Government.

If my company is successful, I would be creating long-term, sustainable, white collar jobs for Barbadians. All I want you to do is wish me luck on that one, rather than talking about going back to “Murica”.

On the political front, you are hinting that I am committing political suicide by sticking with the DLP, whilst Are-we-there-yet, believes that, like clockwork, my mind is systematically ticking and carving out a path that leads to becoming prime minister. These considerations have not even entered my mind.

This is how I see it:
If the DLP wins, I have to work.
If the BLP wins, I have to work.

It has always been that way for me. I hope you understand why I am not interested in hopping on a bandwagon…

521 responses to “Walter Blackman is BACK!”

1. @Are-we-there-yet

No, nothing. Do a backspace in your browser.

2. @ Walter

Let me state up front that I have not sought “to destroy your reputation or cast any aspersions on your character because of a perfectly legitimate choice you made.”

Likewise, “from reading your contributions on the blogs, I have concluded that you are an intelligent (man) with integrity.” And as such, it harrows me with fear and wonder, why would you want to be affiliated with either the BLP or DLP, especially under circumstances where both political parties have previously and presently demonstrated they embrace corruption.

Although I understand the gist of your example relative to CLICO and Terrance Thornhill, you cannot seriously use that situation as a juxtaposition of CLICO and you rejoining the DLP.

“Given the evidence which (I) saw contained in the Judicial Manager’s report,” any man of reasonable firmness would certainly “express a sense of outrage and concern about Mr. Thornhill’s behaviour,” and especially more so if I was formerly affiliated with CLICO.

Taking these facts into consideration, I would NOT apply for a job at CLICO nor would I have a DESIRE to RENEW my AFFILIATION with that insurance company.

In other words, nuff shiite went on at CLICO and I en want nuh job ‘bout dey nor I ent want nutten to do wid CLICO.

Engaging in these undertakings would also give people REASON to ASSUME I saw no WRONG-DOING in the acts perpetrated against CLICO’s policy and pension holders, and they would obviously “seek to destroy (my) reputation or cast any aspersions on (my) character because of a perfectly legitimate choice (I) made.”

Rather than REJOINING CLICO or another insurance company, I would LOBBY the MEMBERS of “any accounting body or organization that has trained and unleashed such a person (Thornhill) on Barbados,” to SOLICIT a change in its constitution so as to give the organization the necessary and appropriate authority to discipline or deter any accountant from behaving in a manner that would cause the organization and the profession to be seen as one of ill repute, and to PREVENT the ACTIONS of “a Thornhill” from REOCCURRING.

Assume I joined CLICO with the SAME players (i.e. Parris, Thornhill, et al); it’s either I try to solicit change, upset the status quo and lose my job in the process, or I see the shiite they are doing, keep quiet and hope for the best.

The real question is: how to you propose to initiate change in an organization and its members who seem comfortable engaging in corrupt activities and showing blatant contempt for voters, WITHOUT the voters FOCUSING their ATTENTION on you?

3. Walter,

Regarding Alvin Cummins comments – Spoken like a true politician. However, my preference is for supporters who will tell me what I need to hear rather than what I want to hear. My preference is for someone who, rather than support my every decision no matter how damaging it would be to the country, would tell me I am wrong, and if necessary encourage me to admit my error. I would not want a supporter who supports me as I march the country towards death. Am I to understand that you regard loyalty above truth or to be more specific – party loyalty above national loyalty? I have to tell you that your response to Alvin Cummins made me go “Hmmmmmmm….”

4. @ Donna

Indeed your comment and that or the Archive Holding Club Member Artaxerxes clearly brings the word “weathervane” into focus

This seems like if the very tune played at the beginning of the wedding with the words “tonight I celebrate my love to you” have been incredulously transformed “my bags are packed and I’m ready to go” even before we left the wedding reception!!

This is why officer candidate training is sooo different to that of jarheads

They are subjected to the rigourous and grueling simulation? of torture? and extended interrogation under the most harrowing of conditions

So for example where Pigrim (AC) please note the spelling and pronunciation of the word, is subjected to simple barbs that get the cretin going one would see that goading Walter fondly called Walther PPK because of his recent shots at non drinkers of his coolaid, Walter would be cross examined on those very pronouncements that he made in former years here on BU and prayed that we would all forget.

So Artaxerxes and now you and certainly de ole man now are in the category of non believers and, possibly those who are not followers of the Walter BlAckman for Change campaign that was previously touted

No Donna ” our marriage quickly staled ” whenever you my bride now wife saw me stickin my tongue into the mouth of your best friend and bridesmaid in the reception antechamber sweet thing that she is.

@ Walter

Speaking of sweet, “I shall say this only once” lolol like Rene from allo allo

I take serious affront for any man calling me “my sweet Piece” in fact I hereby declare that none other than my Dearest Suzanne shall refer to me henceforth by these restricted terms of engagement under threat of banishment from BU.

By the way why is man bracketed in the second paragraph of a recent it here posted? looka…! You gine gots to not call me my sweet piece again hear? Homey doan play dem WeJonesing games ….

5. PDYR why are you having fits and temper tantrums including sleepless nights over Walter personnal decision. A decision which might have taken him long years to resolve and conclude that it was a correct one to make.You jokers seem not to understand the meaning of “Personnal Freedom” a truth that even Mia the despot might have to learn which was evident by her firing of Maria Agard
    The truth being it is very clear that with the blp operatives and the leader of the opposition there is no room for tolerance whereby a person has the right to freely express self in thought word or deed without having a read of the third degree

6. @ Walter,

I hope that you will focus on “genuine” issues such as land reform in Barbados.

Do you have any measures in place that that would bring revoultionary changes to the disenfranchised majority?

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128362017

http://www.democracynow.org/2010/7/6/promised_land_new_doc_follows_struggles

7. @ AC (Pigrim)

I know that I use this statement often but I will repeat it again for emphasis.

I am a simple man, a foolish man, a not too bright man a simpleton.

I shall confirm this

In two of Walter’s recent submissions he, not third party reported speech, he the author , details dispassionately how he implemented the downfall of the Demonic Labour Party through his brilliant Sandiford Gambit.

Artaxerxes and The Honourable Blogmaster can retrieve the particulars of his article where he gleefully elaborates on each deliberate step to destroy the Demonic Lying Party over 20 years ago.

Each line is recorded her for generations yet unborn to see how Walter Machiavelli BlAckman singlehandedly caused the fall of the Demonic Lied Party in 1994.

Now AC, rather Pigrim, tell me, how in the face of such proudly stated facts could the Demonic Lying Party welcome this very articulate and brilliant? mind, I query the brilliance since he attests to murdering the party in 1994, tell de Ingrunt ole man in my fits of temper and sleepless nights, tell de ole man how wunna going welcome this self proclaimer, non apologetic, boastful cutthroat back into the open arms of de DLP AND FURTHERMORE GIVE HIM A SAFE SEAT CAUSE TREVOR PRESCOD IS SICK AND BLACKET IS WEAK.??

As long as you sensibly answer dem questions dis simple ole man going go and get some sleep and stop “ranting”

8. Easy a no brainer the DLP unlike the BLP does not hold on to things that would drain and divide the party. The past and mistakes made encourages for better. Unlike the blp who up to present cannot and forgive and forget only seize upon the fargile weaknesses within its party to divide and separate itself
    A weakness so strong that it illuminates the dark side and darkness within the party
    Sir which side would you prefer

9. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 6:23 AM #

@ Walter

“I take serious affront for any man calling me “my sweet Piece” “.

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    So far no man has. It was Suzanne who called.

Once every thinking person on BU sees “my sweet piece”, they know that Suzanne is calling you.

Alas, you have reached the stage where you can no longer hear or recognize the breathtakingly beautiful Suzanne in her callings. Not good,”ole man”.
    Staying up so late at night, and putting so much venom, vitriol, and vengeance into your “stoopid cartoons” is draining what little mental and physical energy you have left. Hand over everything to the grandson, and ask him to give me a call.

PS: Please watch the quotes and don’t write back telling me that you take serious affront for any man calling you “ole man”.

10. So AC, if I am to understand you correctly what you are saying is this.

You and I live in a house with our father.

I do not think our father should be the patriarch of our house and in that fit of anger behead our father and run away for 20 years

Before returning I then talk about why I killed our father and detain his murder by decapitation with systematic glee.

Twice.

And now 20 years later when the statute of limitations for murder by decapitation has Ron out, ooops, there is no statute of limitations on murder, especially one so heinous, you are in the house now, with step father Fumble and you just shared that I am welcomed back with open arms and bygones are bygones

You have any more Brer Rabbit stories?

11. Let me ask you a question..How many sitting on the blp side who choose to decapitate Mia has resigned. Answer me that first before i answer your nonsensical physchological babble.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Walter…at the end of the day, you do know should by some strange anomaly and DLP is returned to the people’s parliament, which as it stands is very highly unlikely, with Donville Inniss, Michael Lashley , Dennis Lowe and other known very shady government ministers refusing to stop their criminal activities with corrupt business people, the government as a collective refusing to evenly distribute government contracts across the black population, refusing to implement desperately needed legislation for human trafficking, breathalyzer testing, FOI, anti corruption legislation, integrity and a slew of other modern day, forward driving legislation.

I repeat, you do know that, with those mjnisters lacking intelligence beyond corruption, I repeat, you do know as the new comer……ya hands will be effectively tied and you will have no credibility with the population as ya struggling to get now…ya do know that don’t you.

None of the corrupt ministers will allow you, a new comer to dictate to them or stop their bribery actives which enriches them or the corruption activities wuth the minorities.

The hardest thing is to know.

13. ac July 3, 2016 at 7:40 AM #

“Easy a no brainer the DLP unlike the BLP does not hold on to things that would drain and divide the party. The past and mistakes made encourages for better. Unlike the blp who up to present cannot and forgive and forget only seize upon the fargile weaknesses within its party to divide and separate itself…”

@ ac

If the DLP “does not hold on to things that would drain and divide the party,” perhaps you are excluding the INFIGHTING that EXISTED within the party in the 20 year period of 1987 and 2007.

This saw the Sandiford stepping ahead of Richie Hanyes as PM designate after Barrow’s death, which led to Haynes forming the DLP; Kellman fought unsuccessfully to be Leader of the Opposition, which led to him and Thompson not speaking to each other despite the fact they shared the Opposition benches; the DEMS cussing Goldie Taitt; Thompson and his associates formed a coup d’état to ousted Mascoll as Opposition Leader; and I could go on and on.

The infighting continues today as demonstrated by the actions of “rogue” ministers who comprised the “Eager 11” and the resulting fallout (i.e. why has Ronald Jones not act as PM since then?).

It is a known fact that members of this DLP administration are not too happy with Stuart’s leadership style. Let us not forget Estwick and Inniss who are quick to bring party issues to the public.

Similar to other political parties, the DEMS remain “cohesive” to in an effort to hold on to “power.” This is known as “SELF INTEREST.”

There are no PHILOSOPHICAL DIFFERENCES between the BLP and DLP and the same measure of self interest exist in BOTH parties. If one were to honestly analyse the BLP’s tenure in office and compare with this current administration’s performance thus far, there are blatant similarities.

We could, for example, replace Greenland with CAHILL; Dodd’s prison with the BWA headquarters; COW and Bizzy with Maloney and Bjerkhamn; Gregory Nicholls with Michael Carrington; etc, etc.

14. You like Walter seek to deflect a question with a question.

This is not the BLP Troika on the podium.

This article which you and Walter seem to misunderstand is titled Walter BlAckman is Back not Mia Mottley is being asked…

@ Walter

what happened with your finger?

How come you only copy part of what I wrote? You like you using the same Epsom salts you recommended for an earlier blogger

And the part about banishment disappears…?

Even in that small thing you are showing that you are “back” in truth

what happened with my 3 other direct questions that you will not deign to answer?

15. ac July 3, 2016 at 8:08 AM #

“Let me ask you a question..How many sitting on the blp side who choose to decapitate Mia has resigned. Answer me that first before i answer your nonsensical psychological babble.”

@ ac

I gine answer fuh PUDRYR…….. The last time I remember, Owen Arthur resigned.

Fuh years now Dr. David Estwick did threatening to resign and he en gone nuh wey. And recently Donville did threatening to resign too, and he en gone nuh way eduh.

Perhaps you could ANSWER the following questions, WITHOUT your USUAL “nonsensical psychological babble.”

“How many sitting on the DLP side who choose to decapitate Clyde Mascoll has resigned?”

“How many sitting on the DLP side known as the “Eagar 11” who choose to decapitate Stuart has resigned?”

Shiite………. BLP + DLP = BDLP

16. @ Walter
    Boss, perhaps you should do yourself a BIG favour and claim to be unavailable to respond to issues on this blog due to work commitments.
    It is NOT working out for you.

What comes across is that you are really interested in gaining political power in the most convenient manner…as opposed to seeking to bring righteousness to political life in Barbados. …and the more you engage with skilled interrogators such as Piece and AWTY, the deeper you are digging…

In the Bible, the Devil approached Jesus and took him up to a high mountain and showed him all around – the areas under his control. Satan then made him an offer to the effect OF; “why not avoid all the lotta hard work, miracles, long talk, and crucifixion ?- JUST JOIN WITH ME AND ALL THIS IS UNDER YOUR CONTROL JUST SO….”

Consider your situation, and see if you should not be saying “Get thee behind me AC…”
    What Barbados needs is ‘RIGHTEOUSNESS’, not another shiite power-seeker.

17. Bring the Facts as u have stated Artax in reference to the Eager11. Show incidence of when there was a vote by the “said” eleven to oust Stuart. Evidence of fact and proof are null and void.
    However there is historical evidence through voting that there was a gang of four or five who voted against having Mia as the leader of the opposition with further evidence of matters pertaining to what took place during the voting procesd causing frictikn and splintering within the party headed for the law courts
    So sir do not come here to play a card of duplicity suspicion suspicion and motives against the dlP which for the most part was an engineering of a politicsl wheel to cast doubt against govt members a doubt which did not resonate with the voters because of lack of evidence.
    Nevertheless you and other blp operatives continue to press ahead with those ole and all but forgotten speculations in light of the fact that the open wounds within the blp party needs to be healed
    Agree all that you have said prior to 2008 happened but lesson were learned. Cant say the same for the Blp as they want to earn the people confidence
    Walter made a choice whether self serving or for country time will tell but unlike u there are those who are willing to give him the benefit of doubt for a choice which he would have to work for and earned among the faithful after having given a chance of redemption

18. Let me tell u something Professor brass bowl.your ignorant attacks does not sway or impress moreover they serve as motivational warts which when i encounter strengthens my resolve to speak my peace
    Have a good day fool

19. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    As a teenager, I came across Aufidius, a Shakespearean character, who, out of envy, wanted to destroy Corialanus.
    To achieve his objective, Aufidius devised a strategy:

“I’ll potch at him some way,
    Or wrath, or craft may get him”

Your writings have caused memories of Aufidius to come rushing back to my mind.

All of us on BU know that this is your stated objective:

pieceuhderockyeahright June 30, 2016 at 8:42 PM #
    “we back to the business of ensuring that the DLP get vote out”

Here is a small sample of the wrath or craft you are using to achieve your objective:

pieceuhderockyeahright June 29, 2016 at 9:14 AM #
    “I would be most concerned if Walter Blackman were in actual fact joining up with such ineptitude…. ”

pieceuhderockyeahright June 29, 2016 at 10:47 AM #
    “Walter in all seriousness, you are a good man, to good for your talent to be wasted”

pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 7:25 AM #
    “how in the face of such proudly stated facts could the Demonic Lying Party welcome this very articulate and brilliant? mind, I query the brilliance since he attests to murdering the party in 1994, tell de Ingrunt ole man in my fits of temper and sleepless nights, tell de ole man how wunna going welcome this self proclaimer, non apologetic, boastful cutthroat back into the open arms of de DLP”

Finally, here is a sample of your potching:

pieceuhderockyeahright July 2, 2016 at 8:30 PM
    You did not answer my question though

pieceuhderockyeahright July 2, 2016 at 9:45 PM #
    Will Walter answer the 3 questions?

pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 8:29 AM #
    what happened with my 3 other direct questions that you will not deign to answer?

Trust me, my faceless friend, you will be potching, in vain, for a very long time.

20. @ Artaxerxes

You dun know whu we disbelievers in The Return of The SandiMurderer dun gone and do?

This was Walter’s public acclaim and public endorsement platform.

It mek sense.

Here is BU with its 30k readers coming to see Walters Return.

Here are AC, Pigrim and legion, aided and abetted by Sycophant Alvin Cummins paying allegiance to Walter BUT and here’s the thing though, the scourges of the BU, have brought gifts and offerings of congratulations to the returning BountiKilla SandiKilla Walther PPK!

Whu dat is enough to justify Walter a seat in the DLP

Well fellers expect the unexpected fuh wunna lack of obedience and obeisance to the Returning Victor.

I got to do a quick check on the discharge rate of a Walther PPK on full clip

21. PDYR u need to stop crying maybe bush tea can give u a bush bathe to rid you of some of the pain and suffering caused u by Walter return to the Dlp .
    Looking Forward to Your Next Poster Titled SAY IT AINT SO WALTER PKK//// i wonder wuh Grantley Adams would think of YOU

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC pimps..weren’t yall singing Owen Arthur’s praises just a few months ago when yall were trying to recruit him as advosor to spite Mia., after stabbing him in the back repeatedly for over a decade…and quick so, not another word about Arthur, he again turned into a leper, not even worth mentioning.

Were I Walter…I would watch my back, wear armor plated shirts, if can can buy them and buy a bullet proof vest, they are sold at the Army surplus store on West 53rd and 7th, just in case.

23. If you were unfortunate like me, I was made to suffer through Skakespeare, an so methinks it doth affect my prose too much.

No Walter those who know me know I am devoid of envy, what is for a man is for a man.

My vice or failing And falling is a heightened quixotic predisposition to code and doing the right thing and righteous wars and therein comes my unswerving dedication to Babylon the Beath even in the face of its Pinochets.

There is nothing that you or another man has that I want and that is the basis of my wealth, but because of my love for country and love for the dispossessed, therein lies my poverty since, with al my well meaning intentions, I cannot seem to find a way to help my brothers and sisters.

That futility makes me weep so when a bright spark comes along, as you did, to chant the chant, and hopefully to BUP, that futility recedes and you hear me chant anew as with those snippets you captured so selectively.

And then, in one moment of weakness, you showed yourself to be no different than them all, in fact you showed yourself 50 times worse because the cauldron of 20 years in Hell s kitchen makes you knowledgeable of many different brews.

You had many opportunities to defuse this but you took strength from my colleague De Word at one point when the crescendo began and beached your vessel there and like one Caius Marcus in the first science of Coriolanus showed yourself as “enemy to the people” among the pretending Chiefs

therein came your own undoing, for barring one fellow who was steadfast in his intimations per your actuarial credentials, others of us had drunken the coolaid, now myrrh.

Barbados clamours for a man who loves his country more than you fellows can as in have the capacity to do.

Do not worry about answering the questions Walter you have, in addition to being endorsed by those worthy of the title “thine hignorance knoweth no bounds” answered them for me and a few others here including the grandson

24. You have CONVENIENTLY FORGOTTEN the issue with Clyde Mascoll and choose to focus on the Eagar 11 instead. But I will focus on Mascoll now and the 11 rogues later.

Mascoll was able to gain 5 additional seats for the DLP in the 2003 general elections. In 2005 some elder members of the DLP, through STEALTH, sought to REPLACE Mascoll as Opposition Leader with David Thompson and PAVE the way for Thompson to LEAD the party INTO the 2008 general elections.

It is a known fact that Philip Greaves and Peter Morgan SUPPORTED Thompson. In a letter to Mascoll dated May 16, 2004, Peter Morgan wrote:

“Clyde, I like you as a man and admire you as a skilled economist, but I have to be true to myself and tell you that I believe it would be BEST for the PARTY and the COUNTRY if you would let SOMEONE ELSE TAKE OVER as Leader of the Opposition. You are still a young man and your turn will come.” [Nation, November 7, 2005]

In January 2005, some SENIOR MEMBERS of the DLP SPONSORED a POLL “that pitted the Members of Parliament for St Michael North West (Mascoll) and St John (David Thompson) against each other in the eyes of the public, not the party, for political leadership.” [Nation, November 7, 2005]

It must be noted that, at the time, Fruendel Stuart was president of the DLP and he was NOT INCLUDED in the poll, therefore, the focus was on the Opposition leadership as opposed to the presidency of the party.

These particular members of the DLP decided to hold an extraordinary general conference on November 19, 2005 to discuss a constitutional amendment that would permit the wider membership to select someone to lead the party in the next election.

According to the November 6, 2005 edition of the Nation, former general secretary of the DLP, Dr. David Estwick CONDEMNED the extraordinary conference “as being both ILLEGAL and UNNECESSARY” and issued a press statement to explain his position.

“I was not the Member of Parliament who went to a DLP public meeting in Independence Square and CHALLENGED the PRESENT LEADERSHIP. It was the MEMBER for St John. If the officers of the party and the councils are so misguided to institutionalise this CHALLENGE BY ILLEGAL MEASURES, then I have no choice but to DEFEND the INTEGRITY of my party for as long as I feel compelled to do so,” Estwick said.

“I RESPECT the Constitution of Barbados and the constitution of my party. I will not ENTERTAIN organised disrespect of my party’s constitution. I may become a lonely voice, but I will not be deterred because EVIL SUCCEEDS WHERE GOOD MEN COWER IN SILENCE.”

I know you are aware that FOUR (David Thompson, Michael Lashley, Ronald Jones and Richard Sealy) of the SEVEN Opposition members brought a no confidence motion against Mascoll so as to replace him with Thompson as Opposition Leader, which was the main intention of the CRAFTILY SCRIPTED PLOT.

Mascoll resigned from the DLP to sit as an independent member of parliament before joining the BLP on January 27, 2006.

Surely you MUST ADMIT the old men in the DLP, Thompson and his COHORTS “played a card of duplicity suspicion and motives against” Mascoll, “which for the most part was an ENGINEERING of a political wheel to cast doubt against Mascoll’s character.”

However, these “actions resonated” with many people and I have PROVIDED the “EVIDENCE,” which you yard-fowls CANNOT REFUTE.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 9:34 AM #

“Here are AC, Pigrim and legion, aided and abetted by Sycophant Alvin Cummins paying allegiance to Walter BUT and here’s the thing though, the scourges of the BU, have brought gifts and offerings of congratulations to the returning BountiKilla SandiKilla Walther PPK…”

@ PUDRYR

I would challenge Walter to say he had a change of heart and decided to join the BLP, PDC or PEP instead, and these yard-fowls would be singing a “different tune.”

26. @PUDRYR

Do you mean Walter exposed that he is human?

Here is a little trivia for you to ruminate on.

Walter comments in the hurly burly environment of BU where men and women fear to tread. He obviously suffers the affection of enlarged balls like your friend Donville.

27. @PUDRYR

The bottomline is this – it is Walter’s inalienable right to decide how he wants to contribute to public life. At this stage he has done more than many in this forum and further afield.

28. David July 3, 2016 at 10:31 AM #

“At this stage he has done more than many in this forum and further afield”

And how did you arrive at such a conclusion, when one takes into consideration that, with the exception of Alvin Cummins, William Skinner, Heather Cole, Caswell Franklyn, Bernard Codrington, Kammie Holder and Wayne Cadogan, “many in this forum” use pseudonyms?

Hmmmmmmmm!!!!

29. what is disconcerting and disheartening is that PDYR of all people continues to expose his intolerance ..But why and is it all worth the time and effort to attack a man for what is a political belief that is in opposition to his
    I have come to the conclusion that politics is an extension of religion with inherent beliefs only best known to those who belive them and at times it is best to leave well alone

30. @Artax

We know enough to support statements we make. Rest assured it is devoid of partisan BS.

On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 2:44 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. David July 3, 2016 at 10:50 AM #

“We know enough to support statements we make. Rest assured it is devoid of partisan BS…”

BU is a forum where 90% of the articles are political in nature and you want to convince us you are “devoid of partisan BS.”

I think the only one you’re trying to convince with that “BS” is yourself.

32. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Bush Tea July 3, 2016 at 8:54 AM #
    “@ Walter
    Boss, perhaps you should do yourself a BIG favour and claim to be unavailable to respond to issues on this blog due to work commitments.
    It is NOT working out for you.

What comes across is that you are really interested in gaining political power in the most convenient manner…as opposed to seeking to bring righteousness to political life in Barbados. …and the more you engage with skilled interrogators such as Piece and AWTY, the deeper you are digging…

What Barbados needs is ‘RIGHTEOUSNESS’, not another shiite power-seeker.”

Bush Tea,
    I thank you for giving me a brutally frank opinion of how YOU perceive this blog to be working for me.

If there is an underlying political theme to this discussion, it revolves around me offering myself as a DLP candidate to represent the people of St. Michael East. If there is anything I have done or said that disqualifies me from doing so, then I expect you, as my friend, to clearly point out these things to me, rather than dismissing me as “another shiite power-seeker.”

I know and expect, that the act of simply offering myself for public service in Barbados, will cause me to get “lathered in curse”, even from some surprising quarters. I also know that everything I write from here on will be twisted and twerked to make everyone believe that “it is NOT working out “for me. Foes a’plenty I shall meet.
    That is the nature of politics.

With regards to your reference to “skilled interrogators such as “Piece and AWTY”, as you would say, skilled interrogators what! Just because you say so? Give me the name of one bad politician that the two of them have interrogated, and, by so doing, have saved the people of Barbados from during the last 50 years.

With respect to this particular post, I, with considerable justification, view Piece and AWTY as relentless political bullies and will treat them as such. If you find them to be valuable contributors to any cause which you have, real or imagined, then by all means, feel free to keep them in your brassbowl for future use.

By the way, where do you get off, coming up in my face huffing and puffing like some muscle-bound four- star general, and ordering me to do myself “a BIG favour and claim to be unavailable to respond to issues on this blog due to work commitments”. Have you listened to yourself? By what convenient method did you gain such power? Why don’t you get up off your backside and help bring some righteousness to political life in Barbados?

Bushie, you know what is so ironic about you? You sat down and invested your valuable time in preparing a 10-point plan for Barbados. The 10-point plan formed the basis of BUP. You have no idea of how many people that 10-point plan reached. It reached me. I read your plan, nodded my head in agreement with almost everything you said, and became one of your apostles. Now you are trying to strangle me to impress two fly-by-night, unrepentant political bullies. Tsk tsk tsk.

In spite of the vicious “broadside” you launched on me, I will do all I can in my public life (if there is one) to be guided by the principles you penned on BU.

Up and on.

33. @Artax

BU deposits posts outside the political realm therefore your labeling is reflective of your worldt. Lasly – and you may have the last word – one can comment fairly on issues of a political nature. In other words one does not have to be a YARDFOWL!

34. I guess Walter does not need my vote. He has ignored my question which I know is a legitimate one, even if acknowledged only by the Huckleberry. I who voted DLP all my life but shall no longer, I who still will not vote BLP because I refuse to let them believe they have fooled me. I who promised to be your supporter if you proved worthy of my trust have asked a simple question. Alvin Cummins has clearly demonstrated that he will support a party in well-doing and wrongdoing. Is this the kind of supporter you seek?

35. Of course my support was contingent on Walter not being a member of the six or the half dozen.

36. @artax

When will the nomination process be scheduled?

37. My question speaks to the character of the man. Will he do whatever it takes (including embracing the ACs) to attain power? The fact that he refuses to answer me speaks volumes. Alas! Another politician! Make room for him in the egg crate!

38. David July 3, 2016 at 11:06 AM #

“BU deposits posts outside the political realm therefore your labeling is reflective of your world. Lastly – and you may have the last word – one can comment fairly on issues of a political nature. In other words one does not have to be a YARDFOWL!”

Note I wrote “90%.”

However, if anyone read BU prior to 2008 and until recently, especially YOUR CONTRIBUTIONS and ARTICLES, one would conclude that they were also “reflective of your world” as well. I saw no evidence to suggest you COMMENTED FAIRLY on issues of a political nature.”

And I CAN PRODUCE the EVIDENCE.

SIMILARLY to many of us, you are just another POLITICAL YARD-FOWL, PRETENDING to be NEUTRAL, while “circling the wagons” to PROTECT CERTAIN MEMBERS of your “boys’ club.”

39. David July 3, 2016 at 11:16 AM #

“When will the nomination process be scheduled?”

I noticed you have become very annoyed with those contributors who are critical of Walter’s decision to rejoin the DLP.

So, perhaps you should direct the above question to Freundel Stuart.

40. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

You by that verbal statement have done yourself a serious injustice!

None of us Johnny Come Latelys have give as much invaluable, intangible unswerving unassailable service to our country than people like you.

I am not talking about his right to public service such is guaranteed under the Constitution of this modern day plantation which the Hoads, and the hoares and the hordes bestride.

We are here, you and I and others are here begging for a few good men to serve the cuntry

Observe as we fight here every day how the BLP has received orders not to engage, and when I say the BLP I do not mean their supporters, I mean their aspiring members of parliament.

Do you understand what that means?

It means that the is no one else to fight the Troika !!

So when I come here and hear Walter boast of a specific action albeit 20 years ago I am like all others here entitled to ask “why are you saying this? What has so emboldened you to say this? And if he can say that he slew the Cerebus for such and such a reason then I ask him, “will you slay the Hydra too?”

Immediately he becomes truculent and does a number which elicited a fellow blogger to speak of a Wather PPK and then it was on.

Look, we are all human, we make stupid mistakes at times, but all that was being asked of Walter was “after you speak of cutting off one of the heads of the hydra, why are you enjoining with that beast? ”

This is a fair question and Walter failed to answer that.

You know why Mottleyites WILL NOT COME HERE? because they too are fickle men who similarly being unable to deliver what the Nation needs, will be torn to bits here at the Somme that you have made and defended with you Maxim guns David.

We cannot give quarter for our enemy of which Walter has shown himself to be one, will not give us any quarter!!!

You think the Troika going let Barbados Underground live in its current form when she gets in?

You are my brother as is Hants, Balance, GP, Donna, Artaxerxes Hammie Gazer, Balance, Bush Tea Anunnaki Donna, SSS and other whom my fading mind might not mention because this single picking on this IPad has me tired.

But what we keyboard warriors fight for is no less noble that the war our teachers fight, our police, our soldiers, our scavengers, or anyone who seeks to and lives a life of contribution to the whole.

Si I really don’t give two hoots about Walter’s aspirations, if they were well intentioned, while a fellah would cuss and get on bad bout being ramshackle and ting, whu does come through is dem so and so heart.

Talk whu de ef a feller like bout Caswell and de car or de child or whatever when dat man come here and open he mout he does say facts and tings dat does be true,.

Up to yesterday when you throw that ting at he bout de nation, he responded I does write for them but I doan lick dem pooch.

Dat is de fire of public service dat I want tuh represent me cause he ent gine sell tuh ef out. That is humanity that I going respect not this fawning and platitudes to the as slickers and Gatling gun for the dissidents.

That is Mottley styling and until GOD self appear and tell me Mottley change she going be Default Prime Minister

“Choose this day whom shall be your GOD…”

41. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, Well said at 10:31AM. It’s pellucid that @Pieces, @Artax and all others are deeply pained by the corrupt DLP politicians and are completely unable to fathom how one man in the person of Walter Blackman will effect any change to a better society by re-joining their ranks. Theirs is a logical and reasonable concern. Yet, it’s also reasonable and logical that there is no other practical way to gain an ‘immediate’ foothold in Bajan political life but through one of the established parties.

Politics will always be a game about change and evolving views. We can only await the outcome of Blackman’s actions if he achieves a seat in parliament and see how he moves on from there.

There is really too much unnecessary shade being thrown his way on what as you described is his absolute right.

Blackman cannot fool us like his school colleague Thompson did. Pieces himself strongly prosecuted him here and you the blogmaster brought that to an ‘acceptable resolution’ to both parties. All of us who experienced that may have also experienced Walter’s blistering attacks on corrupt DLP actions. We may have read of his ‘insubordinate’/progressive/ego driven(?) actions as a first time DLP member.

Why are we therefore so unable to accept that he can indeed speak critically to power?

Why ‘waste’ that energy and talent as some independent voice in the Bajan political seas with not much more than a little moses as a mooring of support? At least if he can successfully re-ingratiate himself — (which seems so full with chutzpah to me thus he stands a chance to be on that same little moses from within… LOLLL….) — he can push to improve the party’s ethics and implement some or all of the improvements about which he has spoken so extensively over these last few years.

I remain confused that the ONLY person on BU who has done exactly what SSS and Pieces and others have been demanding : MOVE to REAL PERSONAL ACTION; is being ridiculed so vehemently.

Seems so absolutely contrarian to what is being demanded.

Whatever his true intentions may be, the fact is he is making that real old school effort with his shoulder to the plough.

No reason for keyboard warriors to be skittish because of wracking withdrawal pain after they embraced Thompson and others like that. Blackman has NOT deceived us about anything, (yet; he is a politician and deception comes with that persona). His book so far is seemingly quite open. We should know immediately if he is a liar!!!

I am willing to give the man all benefits of all doubts until otherwise proven wrong.

42. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Donna July 3, 2016 at 11:13 AM # @

Donna all of them are the same , most people are waking up to the games, They get in and shut their mouth on what they see on the other side of the wall , and will not speak to any question that the parties may get vex at, We know the level of land fraud will keep their lips shut tight, But we are speaking, Wait for it Live, Freedom of information like never before,

Slip in slip out like the snakes they are , waiting their turn to fool be the people , look out side of them both to find truth, The World even England the biggest land gab nation on Earth vote their way to end many things that was wrong,

We hope the Bajan wake up this time also or we will see another 5 years of hell, look out side their Circle of friends and out side of the Box.

We have the fix ,keep the CUP in mind when the bell rings , take notes and keep ears open ,,

Slavery to be over but there are so many sellouts back the the man.

43. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

pieceuhderockyeahright June 29, 2016 at 10:47 AM #
    @ Walter

“My man Walter, and forgive me this familiarity and salutation…..”

pieceuhderockyeahright July 3, 2016 at 6:23 AM #

@ Walter

“I take serious affront for any man calling me “my sweet Piece” “.

pieceuhderockyeahright,
    Spend a few moments, reflect, and interrogate yourself.

44. Donna July 3, 2016 at 11:13 AM #

“I who voted DLP all my life but shall no longer, I who still will not vote BLP because I refuse to let them believe they have fooled me.”

I voted in the 1994 general elections and have not voted since. I have repeatedly mentioned in this forum that I do not like politicians.

I always try to give an alternative to any political argument or present evidence to prove that similar situations occurred under both BLP and DLP administrations.

If that makes me a yard-fowl, then I’m happy to accept the accolade. However, I will not cower in fear and DECEITFULLY SUPPORT any ACTION or OPINIONS made by CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS because, in my opinion, they have “BIG NAMES.”

45. @PUDRYR

Please do not give BU any quarter because we will give none. Some in this forum believe the BU household is not entitled to an opinion, they are sadly mistaken. In the same way BU gave David Thompson the benefit of the doubt in 2007, we are prepared to give Walter the benefit of the doubt as well. We can only judge/appraise based on a person’s track record.

On Sun, Jul 3, 2016 at 3:40 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

46. Walter Blackman,

Women make up half of the electorate. Tell me how you expect to win if you ignore the legitimate questions of women, engaging only the men who have been equally as unflattering? Are you relying solely on your good looks?

PS. I have a very big mouth and I use it wherever I go. Your slight shall not be forgotten.

47. “Artax July 3, 2016 at 11:30 AM #

David July 3, 2016 at 11:16 AM #

“When will the nomination process be scheduled?”

I noticed you have become very annoyed with those contributors who are critical of Walter’s decision to rejoin the DLP.”

I have so noticed as well but like you

” I will not cower in fear and DECEITFULLY SUPPORT any ACTION or OPINIONS made by CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS because, in my opinion, they have “BIG NAMES.”

48. @Walter Blackman

AC has all cause to think you score good, perhaps the voters may too, because some are hypocrites, including the bloggers on BU, but the honest facts of your return are you were finding it harder to make a living in the USA. your main interest is to get money which ever way you can to maintain a living standard, your skills were no help to you in Barbados before you leave and even worse now, that situation, is the force that push you to lip service the forming of a Company, but join a den of cohorts that have no integrity, the one next to Jesus on the cross was a thief

49. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman July 2, 2016 at 5:49 PM #
    “Alvin,
    Occasionally, you and I have adopted divergent viewpoints on a particular issue. Many times, in the face of incredible odds, you have tenaciously clung to positions that members of the BU family considered to be startling and unpopular. The Cahill WTE fiasco readily comes to mind.
    Like everyone here on BU, you have won some and lost some.
    Yet, through it all, you have never once shown the slightest inclination to turn and flee from your tormentors. Any person could rely on a friend like you in the heat of battle.”

Donna July 3, 2016 at 3:16 AM #
    “Walter,
    Regarding Alvin Cummins comments – Spoken like a true politician.
    However, my preference is for supporters who will tell me what I need to hear rather than what I want to hear. My preference is for someone who, rather than support my every decision no matter how damaging it would be to the country, would tell me I am wrong, and if necessary encourage me to admit my error. I would not want a supporter who supports me as I march the country towards death. Am I to understand that you regard loyalty above truth or to be more specific – party loyalty above national loyalty? I have to tell you that your response to Alvin Cummins made me go “Hmmmmmmm….””

Donna,
    From my note to Alvin above, you can easily deduce that I and BU members have vainly tried to change Alvin’s views on some issues. Alvin tells you what he believes to be right, and even if you “showed him the ball that shoot Nelson”, you can’t sway him.
    To understand the nature of my comments fully, “the heat of battle” is an election.
    The two political parties have supporters who genuinely and deeply feel that their respective party is the better party to run Barbados. As far as these supporters are concerned, getting their party “into power” is national priority number one. That is where their national loyalty also lies.
    Your “preference is for supporters who will tell me what I need to hear rather than what I want to hear”. A political party’s preference is for supporters who are willing to put aside all excuses on election day and come out and vote. From that political angle, Alvin seems to possess a valuable individual attribute of reliability and I let him know it.
    Regardless of whatever political scandals have erupted, Barbadians on both sides of the political aisle have been voting, unchanged for decades, for one political party. National and party loyalty permanently interlocked.
    Incidentally, I don’t see anything in my comment to Alvin to suggest that I “regard loyalty above truth or to be more specific – party loyalty above national loyalty…”

50. But I will focus on Mascoll now and the 11 rogues later

I dun know you in wan no help from me Artax

but just for the record

Prime Minister Stuart’s Quandary Unravelled

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

In addressing the question of whether it is better to be loved or feared, Machiavelli writes, “The answer is that one would like to be both the one and the other; but because it is difficult to combine them, it is far safer to be feared than loved if you cannot be both.” As Machiavelli asserts, commitments made in peace are not always kept in adversity; however, commitments made in fear are kept out of fear. Yet, a prince must ensure that he is not feared to the point of hatred, which is very possible – Niccolò Machiavelli

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart finds himself in a quandary as a result the widely publicised letter incident. It is a fact some members of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) felt it important enough to seek an audience with the Prime Minister. Whether all of them agreed to sign ‘The Letter’ is irrelevant at this stage in light of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler’s interview with Editor in Chief of the NATION newspaper Kaymar Jordan.

Since the revelation that some DLP members are concerned with Stuart’s leadership and the length of his coat tails with a general election looming the political chatter has gotten noisier. The current reality for the government is that having to manage in the harsh economic environment would have made being re-elected a difficult undertaking. The imbroglio caused by ‘The Letter’ has easily shifted the advantage to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) its own perceived leadership issues not withstanding. Why the disaffected group would have entertained thoughts of communicating with the Prime Minister in the form of a letter remains unfathomable at this stage. Some say it is as a result of political ignorance and naiveté. Others believe the plot is a sinister effort to reorder the political structure of the DLP.

The debate will continue why Minister Sinckler made the decision to give the NATION a reveal-all interview. It is obvious from the Prime Minister’s few public remarks about the incident that he would not have approved the interview. Sinckler could not be so naive to believe that his tête-à-tête with NATION newspaper Kaymar Jordan given the weighty nature of his revelations would have killed the controversy for the DLP. He must have known or even been advised that his position within the hierarchy of the DLP would become tenuous at best. His admission in the NATION interview that he would never put forward his name just over one year of doing so since the death of David Thompson is instructive. A politician never says never. Why then has Sinckler signalled that he will never put his name in any hat to vie for the Prime Minister’s job? The answer probably is explained by a comment posted on a related blog. If this is the case Barbadians have witnessed the sudden fall of a young politician of whom much was expected.

‘The Letter’ has created a headache for the Prime Minister. His options are limited. He can’t do nothing. Whatever he does must positively feed public perception that he is in charge of his men. The question is: will it be enough to sway the voter? Bear in mind many voters are currently siting on the fence for one reason or the other. One of those reasons which should concern not only the political parties but Barbadians themselves is a growing cynicism of politicians.

Sinckler indicated in the interview he sees no reason why the Prime Minister should fire him. If Sinckler in his naiveté expects to continue his role, in a business as usual mode in the cabinet of Barbados, then the only conclusion to be drawn is that he is forcing Stuart’s hand to fire him.

Recommendation – send Sinckler to the Ministry of Transport, drop Boyce from the cabinet, Estwick to Finance and divvy up Estwick’s portfolio to Lowe, Kellman and Benn.