Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

Walter Blackman the doyen of talk radio of the 90s is back!

An actuary by training who honed his skills in the business environment of North America for the past 21 years has returned to Barbados to establish a business of his vocation. Of note to the BU family is that he has declared an interest in being a member of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) by throwing his hat in the ring to be considered as a candidate in the next general election.

Here is a comment posted to Barbados Underground by Walter Blackman on the 29 June 2016.

I have always put my actuarial profession ahead of politics.

In 1995, I left Barbados with the objective of acquiring 20 years of actuarial experience in the USA. I intended to use that experience to provide quality actuarial services on my return to Barbados, which turned out to be 2016. 21 years. The timing of my return was strictly professional.

I incorporated an actuarial consulting company in Barbados called Actreks Partners. I have now assumed the role of President & CEO and am in the process of building this company.

A lot of Barbadian business owners are moving towards retirement and are not setting aside enough funds to adequately provide for their retirement needs. I design pension plans for business owners and advise them how much money they can contribute to the pension fund yearly. The contributions they make to their pension plans enable them to minimize or eliminate the company’s corporation tax.

Besides designing pension plans, Actreks Partners will be providing a suite of services, including risk management and business consulting, to businesses and Government.

If my company is successful, I would be creating long-term, sustainable, white collar jobs for Barbadians. All I want you to do is wish me luck on that one, rather than talking about going back to “Murica”.

On the political front, you are hinting that I am committing political suicide by sticking with the DLP, whilst Are-we-there-yet, believes that, like clockwork, my mind is systematically ticking and carving out a path that leads to becoming prime minister. These considerations have not even entered my mind.

This is how I see it:
If the DLP wins, I have to work.
If the BLP wins, I have to work.

It has always been that way for me. I hope you understand why I am not interested in hopping on a bandwagon…

521 responses to “Walter Blackman is BACK!”

1. Are we able to distil issues away from BLP and DLP lenses?

Is it possible?

2. Walter has decided he would rather be on the inside pissing out that on the outside pissing in, sometimes change is effected from the inside if the agent of that change is seen as a credible and not motivated by self- interest. From what Walter has been advocating on these pages over the course of some time he has not been reticent in calling out people from both sides of the aisle for errant actions. This is unheard of in the annals of Bajan politics as political aspirants cast their Party as the Party of virtue while the other Party is portrayed as an entity that people shouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole.

His modus operandi seem to be let the chips fall where they may and if some people are offended that’s par for the course. If he can bring a breath of fresh air to politics in Bim more power to him, if he fails it means that the old guard is still firmly entrenched.

3. @ Walter Blackman

You must excuse this 7 standard boy if he read your posting on Bu the 29June wrong .
    But in part, your target, I design Pension Plans for business owners to enable them to Minimize ( thief from the employee) or eliminate (thief from Government), who are the business owners in Barbados? if my Company is successful it would create long-term white collar employment for Barbadians, really Walter, you not interested in hopping on a bandwagon, but yet rejoin the DLP from USA years ago and pay with USD too, you are a glass, 7 standard boys like to pelt rock,

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Bajans are obviouslly quite used to the long talk by politicians, when they want to be elected.

In my estimation, poli6 on the island worry too much about what is being said about them, in the style of bacchanal women…instead of doing the jobs taxpayers are paying them to do…grow the hell up.

Walter was present in the US to see and hear how Obama, his wife and children were insulted demeaned, degaded…he himself was critised fr everything, even if it was the right thing…no one was sued and only if it turned to a physical threat, action was taken.

Had Obama focused and what people were saying, he would never have managed to stabalize such a large economy.

The sissy, money hungry, sue crazy politicians in the island need to grow up and do their jobs….and remember it is and always will be a 2×4 island, not that much effort needed to do their jobs efficiently and competently. ..instead of focusing on gossip and bacchanal.

5. All:
    As one who actually faced the electorate(NDP1991), I think that those who are so critical of what it achieved , have not really paid attention to the platform of the party. The NDP was the first political party in our country, to make its members pledge to uphold its manifesto; called for a contractor general and real integrity legislation; advocated giving young school leavers a “tool kit” so that they could be trained in some technical skill of their choice; was the first political party to call for “100 percent mortages” and it was also the first political party that literally made how its members/candidates behaved in their private lives subject to Party scrutiny. I can go on and on. Of course the party was rejected because of the lack of political strategy by those who controlled it and had the most say.
    To this day I remain fully committed to the manifesto of 1991 and still consider it the best manifesto ever presented to the Barbados electorate. We Barbadians are very good at criticising the political class but at the end of the day , we reject any real challenge to the same class. In other words, when all the long talk is done, we really love the BLP/DLP and herein lies the problem.
    I will wager a bet that 95% of those who are so critical of the NDP, never read its manifesto.
    A third party can only succeed if the floating voters are numerically large enough to swing the election away from the Dees and Bees. This is a monumental task. The support for the two established parties is rock solid and almost evenly divided. When there is disaffection within the Bees , the Dees benefit and vice versa. For example, irrespective of Peter Wickham’s position, the reason Thompson won in 2008 was simply because the Arthur Dems went back to Thompson and the Dems. Mottley can only now win if disaffected Dees decide to not vote or join their first cousins in the Bees. The reason Arthur lost in 2013 was simply because his popularity had sunk and he did not have the power to win back the Arthur Dees. Stuart and company were therefore able to squeeze through because most Barbadians do not find Stuart to be their favorite cup of tea. In other words, the floating or undecided voter was not happy with Arthur and did not find Stuart an attractive alternative. I am convinced that the floating voter is not sold on Mia Mottley yet. Thompson, being a superior politician and extremely charismatic had an easier path and once Owen Arthur started to fade.
    A third party will always have its work cut out until campaigns are conducted on pure issues and not party loyalty and personalities.
    However, the BLP/DLP has skillfully turned elections into extensions of Crop Over. At meetings underage children are given alcohol and calypsonians are paid handsomely to keep the public entertained. Most meetings start at five o’ clock and then about eight o’ clock the jokers speak and by then everybody in fete mood ……………..wuh loss !

6. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Outraged July 1, 2016 at 10:32 AM #
    Walter Blackman what’s your opinion on this case of injustice to local human resources?

Outraged July 1, 2016 at 9:15 AM #

“Wayne Cadogan you masterminded the Cummings boycott please raise your voice again because the management of Barbados Tridents must be taken to task for the lack of Bajan players in the squad. We know how a franchise works however Pollard and Singh both Trinidadians have selected six mediocre Trinidadians even as the exciting Shane Dowrich a test player mind you, and Kevin Stoute etc cant get a look in. Pillsbury dough boy Pollard engineered the departure of top batter Dwayne Smith and the likes of Jonathan Carter from the franchise and drafted Trinidadian players who aren’t even selected on their national team.

Pray tell who is Navin Stewart, Pooran and Hosein. The irony is Barbadian fans are asked to pay and hail for a team in which they are few local players of caliber but carries the name Barbados Tridents and is based at Kensington. What an outrage that disrespects our storied cricket tradition. Where are the protests from the cricket gurus at the BCA. Would you believe a Barbados Tridents team with barely a Bajan player in the starting eleven . That would never happen in Trinidad, Jamaica or Guyana.”

Outraged,
    Let’s start from basic principles.
    Cricket is part of the entertainment industry. The objective of Barbadian Tridents is to maximize profit. They will do that by collecting money from as many patrons as they possibly can, and by paying out the least possible money to players and service providers.

To be successful, Barbadian Tridents have to provide entertainment. That entertainment must come from the players.
    Selection of those players will be handled by management.
    Within the decision-making positions of management, who has the critical say? Suppose, for example, that Navin Stewart, Pooran and Hosein are “known” to the decision-makers and that it is felt that their inclusion will make the team more “cohesive”. Having control over key-decision making positions is critical.

The bottom line is that management has apparently used its collective experience and outlook to select a squad. If the players, regardless of where they come from, provide entertainment, then all will be fine. On the other hand, if the players don’t entertain, change will come speedily as gate receipts begin to fall.

There might be some hiccups at the start, but we would expect things to settle down in the near future.

With respect to the structure, remember two things:
    1. “Management”, not you, must pick the best team based on the objectives of the team, and not on the basis of a player’s nationality.
    2. The combination of players used must be profitable.

7. @David
    Are we able to distil issues away from BLP and DLP lenses?
    ++++++++++
    It is a lost cause the only thing that would momentarily see Bajans change gears would be the discovery of a colony of these creatures, even then it would be the fault of one or both Parties.

BTW yuh think we could get rid of these with “flit’?

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/jul/01/giant-swimming-venomous-centipede-found-south-east-asia

8. William Skinner July 1, 2016 at 11:41 AM #

“The NDP was the first political party in our country, to make its members pledge to uphold its manifesto; called for a contractor general and real integrity legislation; advocated giving young school leavers a “tool kit” so that they could be trained in some technical skill of their choice; was the first political party to call for “100 percent mortgages” and it was also the first political party that literally made how its members/candidates behaved in their private lives subject to Party scrutiny.”

@ Skinner

Excellent contribution!!!!

I also believe the ideas and philosophy you outlined in your contribution are ideologies and “characteristics” any political party and its members should embrace.

Walter saying he is a bona fide member of the DLP and may have intentions of representing that party in the 2018 general elections has come in for criticism from many BU contributors and praise from others, including the resident DLP yard-fowl.

He has a constitutional right of freedom of association and can associate with any group of individuals or political party he so desires.

But what puzzles me is how does a man who professes “thick moral fiber” and a high level of integrity, fit in with the DLP especially under the current circumstances.

Will Walter confront PM Stuart and tell him he is DISRESPECTING Barbadians by remaining silent on issues affecting them, but chooses the sanctity of DLP environments, such as constituency branch meetings, Friday luncheons, annual conferences and overseas DLP organizations to speak ONLY to the DLP faithful?

As a man trained in actuary science and finance, will Walter offer advice to Sinckler and CBB Governor Dr. Worrell, knowing that during the past 8 years they have not ACCEPTED advice from other professionals?

Will Walter tell Michael Lashley and Denis Lowe choosing Trans Tech Inc. to repair Transport Board buses and SSA trucks and driving vehicles owned by that company suggests to the public they are receiving draw-backs?

A friend of mine was on sick leave since June 2015 and has been deemed medically unfit to work last month. During the year she was home, she received TWO sickness benefits, THE LAST ONE IN FEBRUARY 2016. Perhaps Walter will use his actuary skills to modernize the NIS Department so that people on sick won’t have to wait SIX MONTHS to receive sickness benefits. And let the NIS employees exhibit some measure of sympathy and courtesy when dealing with queries.

The members of this current administration are contented with the staus quo, because of what they have been able to achieve during the past 8 years.

How does ONE MAN go about changing these attitudes or should we assume “birds of a feather flock together?”

9. @William Skinner

Thompson won in 2008 because he had the money he thief from CLICO Policy holders, to buy votes, plus some voters with mind like yours.

10. @David re “Are we able to distill issues away from BLP and DLP lenses?”

Walter Blackman is a DLP.

I hope he gets a seat in parliament.

He can start his campaign on this blog by responding to the claims made by MIA in New York.

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

watchman, following up on your 12:41 pm post;

True dat!

…………… in addition voters were very wary of giving OSA a fourth term, especially since OSA was showing some incipient signs of 3rd term arrogance and they did not believe his talk of perilous economic times ahead that newbee “DLP wild boys” were unlikely to be able to deal with properly etc. etc.

12. “Are we able to distil issues away from BLP and DLP lenses? Is it possible?”

Quite rich given the essence of this particular blog i.e. Walter’s return and imminent electioneering on a DLP ticket. #buthenewbrasstacks

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

These people really call the shots in Barbados,and just not starting now. I recall some years ago Oran had a special sale,” because of a wrong shipment of imported goods.” And we are all aware that if the shipping documents do not tie up with the actual items in the consignment,your goose is cooked,…. wings and all.

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

Your 12:54 pm post is a true test for Walter Blackman. I fully endorse it.

The first test question was the one on cricket. I wonder how many of the BU regulars feel that he answered it as if he might fit better in the “Solutions” camp? Your question should be more easily dispatched to the boundary.

But let us see how he would wiggle his way out of that one without offending his DLP comrades and also staying true to the positions he has maintained on BU re. the economy over the last 5 or so years.

Very interesting!

For ease of reference I think the article you are referring to is:-

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82552/headlines-mottley-finance-plan

Ready! Get set! Go!

15. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants;

If he ignores your post that would also be as interesting as if he had responded directly.

But I think he will realise that he can’t ignore it. Dah ball right on de stumps. He has to play it. If he misses he out.

16. @ are-we-there-yet

OSA 3 turn ended almost like EWB 3 turn in1976,the difference EWB had more corruption in the DLP then , plus he lost that reaching feeling for the masses, but the thief Thompson in 2008 promise civil servants duty free cars and a different Barbados , with the fair economy he got in 2008, look what we get from a curse DLP

17. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

watchman July 1, 2016 at 11:36 AM #
    “@ Walter Blackman

You must excuse this 7 standard boy if he read your posting on Bu the 29June wrong .
    But in part, your target, I design Pension Plans for business owners to enable them to Minimize ( thief from the employee) or eliminate (thief from Government), who are the business owners in Barbados?….
    …really Walter, you not interested in hopping on a bandwagon, but yet rejoin the DLP from USA years ago and pay with USD too, you are a glass, 7 standard boys like to pelt rock,”

watchman,
    Foolishness.

18. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 1, 2016 at 1:31 PM #
    “Hants;

If he ignores your post that would also be as interesting as if he had responded directly.

But I think he will realise that he can’t ignore it.”

are-we-there-yet,
    To provoke you and Hants, I am deliberately going to ignore the post.

19. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Artax July 1, 2016 at 12:39 PM #

“But what puzzles me is how does a man who professes “thick moral fiber” and a high level of integrity, fit in with the DLP especially under the current circumstances.”

Artax,
    From reading your contributions on the blogs, I have concluded that you are an intelligent accountant with integrity.

Do you understand the amount of damage that happened to CLICO’s policyholders as a result of actions taken or not taken by Terrence Thornhill, a fellow accountant?

If so, how do you fit in with any accounting body or organization that has trained and unleashed such a person on Barbados?

Given the evidence which you saw contained in the Judicial Manager’s report, did you ever write and express any sense of outrage or concern about Mr. Thornhill’s behaviour?

If you chose to wash your hands clean of the Terrence Thornhill issue, that is your choice and you will always have the right to make it. I will not seek to destroy your reputation or cast any aspersions on your character because of a perfectly legitimate choice you made.

I know that you have not stolen a cent from CLICO’s policyholders, and that is all I need to know. Anyone interested in correcting the problem should be focusing their attention on Thornhill, not you!

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The government never does it’s job, which causes more gossiping and rumor mongering on the island…I agree with this commenter re the article about social media and the recent deaths…both governments tend to make already bad situations worse and fuel the gossps and rumor mongering by always trying to keep secrets, hiding information from the public.

Release the truth and make the gossips and rumor mongers look stupid, they will lose credibility and have to disappear because of spreading lies…but the givernment has to start telling the citizens the truth.

Here is the comment:

“Focus on getting the truth out there about the sudden deaths, release autopsy results, debunk the social media gossip and rumor mongering. Do your jobs. Prove it’s a lie by bringing out the autopsy results. People don’t just up and die for no reason.”

21. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter; Re. your 3:02 pm post.

That was an option that was always there and which I expected.
    But have you considered what It might imply as to your implicit bona fides?

22. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 1, 2016 at 1:24 PM #

“The first test question was the one on cricket. I wonder how many of the BU regulars feel that he answered it as if he might fit better in the “Solutions” camp?”

are-we-there-yet,
    Outraged raised an issue of team selection, which, to his mind, amounted to “an outrage”. He seemed disappointed that there have been no “protests”.

I simply asked him to look at the issue from a business perspective.

You and I have no idea of “how many of the BU regulars feel” that a protest is justified.

Do you think there should be protests? If so, are you willing to help organize them?

23. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter Blackman;

….. shades of the Freundel Stuart play book!

Is that how you intend to ingratiate yourself back into the DLP fold?

24. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 1, 2016 at 4:09 PM #
    “Walter; Re. your 3:02 pm post.

That was an option that was always there and which I expected.
    But have you considered what It might imply as to your implicit bona fides?”

are-we-there-yet,
    No, I have not considered.

I am confident that you, Hants, balance, watchman, or Enuff will let me know the implications as time goes by.

25. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter Blackman;

I don’t have the facts to sensibly guage whether there should be a protest or not. I’m also a very atypical Bajan whose second last trip to Kensington was as a Boy’s Scout doing Scoreboard duties there in the very late 1950’s. So I would be the last person to be attempting to organize or join in such a protest even if it was justified as far as my incomplete knowledge was concerned.

My take on your response re. the post was that it had a distinct flavour of “the solutions” party. Full of sterile reason and lacking political empathy.

Yuh din’ even put in a little sumpting like “while I recognize the importance of cricket to us bajans we must recognize that the economy and numbers now preempt everything else and the bottom line is king so any action to protest the omission of practically all bajans from the newly renamed Trident’s team further strengthens the proliferation of the seed of economic destruction in our beloved country”

Wuhloss!

26. @enuff

What do you mean #buthenewbrasstacks?

Are you suggesting that Walter used BU to elevate himself?

27. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Artax July 1, 2016 at 12:39 PM #

“How does ONE MAN go about changing these attitudes or should we assume “birds of a feather flock together?”

Artax,
    I choose to ask the question differently.
    Where does one man start in trying to solve problems that an “educated” population sat down on its backside and disregarded or groaned about for 21 years?

28. @ Walter Blackman wrote “To provoke you and Hants, I am deliberately going to ignore the post.”

You cannot “provoke” me.

I wish you well and hope you win a seat.

29. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 1, 2016 at 4:32 PM #
    “Walter Blackman;

I don’t have the facts….. ”

are-we-there-yet,
    Admittedly, you do show a marked tendency to introduce issues and opinions that are not fact-based.

30. “Are we able to distil issues away from BLP and DLP lenses

Nope.

Just observing

31. Nice of MIA to support Gabby. Good politics of friendship and inclusion.

“Mottley during a four-day visit to New York where she attended a number of public functions, including a launch of the Mighty Gabby’s biography, Who Gabby Think He Is?”

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter Blackman; I like the answer you gave to Artax in your 4:35 post.

I also think I can discern something of the strategy including where to start:-

1) Show that the 3rd Party option is absolutely out of the question for quick amelioration of the problems in Barbados.

2) Choose between the current parties, DLP or BLP, one of which must be the vehicle for change and the other for discrediting their past history, and by innuendo, their likely future.

3) Choose DLP for relatively easier access and for your former familiarity with its governing bodies.

4) Use the relatively recent “infelicities” of that Party as a surreptitious fulcrum to align with any putative existing or new progressive forces in that party.

5) Adapt the Stuart methodologies in the initial phase after successfully getting a toehold into the councils of the Party. (I’ve noted that you have been relatively silent on the Cahill affair, probably with good reason.

But yuh get dee idea.

33. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Hants July 1, 2016 at 4:41 PM #

“You cannot “provoke” me.

I wish you well and hope you win a seat.”

Hants,
    On reflection, I have realized that you have not done or said anything to deserve the “mean” shot I fired at you. I mistakenly lumped you with others who could only be aptly described as “tormentors”.

I abhor situations in which innocent people get hurt or killed, and in which they are glibly referred to as collateral damage.

Hence, I apologize for any “damage” that my misplaced “shot” might have caused you, and I give you the assurance that I will do everything within my power to make sure it never happens again. I hope that you are able to forgive me.

Now, let me check my protective gear and weaponry. Checked.

Where are those rascals? Are-we-there-yet, balance, watchman, and Enuff…..do you want to play war?

34. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

are-we-there-yet July 1, 2016 at 4:57 PM #
    “Walter Blackman; I like the answer you gave to Artax in your 4:35 post.”

are-we-there-yet,
    Sometimes I wonder why I go out of my way so much just to please you.

Do you think it is because I know that, given the slightest opportunity, you would crucify me?

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David and Observing;

you said or hinted through the observation “Are we able to distil issues away from BLP and DLP lenses?” that many in the BU family are unable to discuss issues without bringing in partisan DLP and BLP issues in the discussion.

I might agree with you if the topic under discussion was “Understanding free market capitalism’ or “Alzheimers” and Diabetes or “Quantum consciousness” or even, tangentially, “Brexit” .

….but “walter-blackman-is-back”?????

The main tenor of the article that headed this blog was that Walter Blackman has returned to Barbados from a 21 year sojourn in the USA to set up an actuarial firm and has indicated his intention to compete for a seat in the next parliament under the DLP banner. Walter Blackman is the very bright and politically astute man who just a few years ago, was so virulent in his comments against the DLP and its top leadership on BU and you expect the words DLP and BLP would not be used in discussing these very significant events?

Could you both be serious?

Perhaps one or both of you would explain to us posters how partisan BLP or DLP politics could be reasonably excluded from this topic which David put together from a post by Walter Blackman. Such guidance should be very useful to all of us posters who like to talk about bajan politics and sometimes see political connections in topics where none actually exist.

36. Walter Blackman,
    I wish you well. I know you, your background and attributes. Welcome back to Bim.
    Ignore the Tormentors(and there are quite a few). For instance, I have decided to refuse to respond to anything GP writes any longer; although I am sorely tempted. He is a racist, and I come to this conclusion based on two major perceived utterances; 1. Even at this late stage, and after all these years, he refuses to refer to Muhammed Ali by that title. He still refers to him; on this blog, writing to a Black population, as Cassius Clay. He shows no respect for the man. And then his references to President Obama are similarly disrespectful. And yet Bajans contribute to this blog and indulge him in stupid discussions. I call him a Tormentor; a Tormentor, educated through the largesse of Black Barbadians, and the assistance of a Black Barbadian government.
    Anything I can do to help you, I will, if only by spreading the word.
    Press on regardless.

37. @Are-we-there-yet

The clouded lenses show when commenters attribute improper motives to Warlter’s decision to run for the DLP. Why not question him from a perspective why not a 3rd party which is a reasonable angle? There are others.

38. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Walter Blackman; re. your 5:28 pm post;

Actually I am not trying to crucify you. I’m merely trying to get you to iron out or explain to me and by extension the BU family and by further extension the Bajan people, what I think might be some glaring inconsistencies in your narrative so far.

I don’t think they are fatal inconsistencies, but I think that by honestly and dispassionately explaining them, you would have a better chance to explain yourself to the Constituency you are seeking to represent and would not be taken by surprise by anyone else asking similar questions in a forum where you have to answer and might not have been prepared to do so.

Even though my posts might seem to you at this juncture to be unnecessarily adversarial I really have no animus against you and indeed consider that your training and experiences make you a possible ideal candidate for the HoA, a candidature which your demonstrated bravery would help in turning the Barbados ship around

Answered another way I might have voted for you, but then I don’t have a vote in the choice of a DLP candidate for that consultancy and if you win the DLP candidature I am not a voter for that constituency either so I can’t affect your candidature except others follow this discussion and consider that some intangible aspect of your psyche might need some work.

But really your 5:28 pm post does not seem to me to be the most likely way to win over votes.

Can you assure us that you attitudinally have what it takes to work with disparate power brokers to be successful in changing Barbados’ current trajectory?

39. The NDP meetings attracted huge crowds, but like any other new political party, it had nothing to offer up front, only promises. I watched those crowds and when I realized that the NDP had never provided an opportunity or a job for one single individual, the enormity of the political task hit home. Bajans have been milking the nipples of government since Adam was a lad so promises from a new political party are not enough to make them even pause their sucking action.

William Skinner July 1, 2016 at 11:41 AM #

As one who actually faced the electorate(NDP1991), I think that those who are so critical of what it achieved , have not really paid attention to the platform of the party. The NDP was the first political party in our country, to make its members pledge to uphold its manifesto; called for a contractor general and real integrity legislation; advocated giving young school leavers a “tool kit” so that they could be trained in some technical skill of their choice; was the first political party to call for “100 percent mortages” and it was also the first political party that literally made how its members/candidates behaved in their private lives subject to Party scrutiny. I can go on and on

Now which of the above views from two persons vying for political office from the same party can we accept Mr Blackman’s or Mr Skinner’s

40. “Of course the party was rejected because of the lack of political strategy by those who controlled it and had the most say”

At least we seemed to have been singing from the same hymn sheet even though we did not share notes

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Bajans have been milking the nipples of government since Adam was a lad so promises from a new political party are not enough to make them even pause their sucking action”

I can’t remember Walter saying this in his comments, but just in case he did and for those who do not know…any sucking bajans are doing from government coffers…it’s bajans money to suck, governments have no money except for what bajans put in the treasury through their labor. , wuh if the minorities could be sucking that same money by the millions through various scams and schemes for 30 plus years, and politicians finding ways to tief some too, the majority have just as much or more right to suck too, they have the numbers, they are in the majority, they put the money there.

And just in case he did say it, although 21 years of living in the US should have taught him differently…in the days of the NDP the population thought and the politicians did nothing to dispel the myth and deceit, that it was government doing something for the people with their money….an out right lie.

As recent as 2004 I had to set a grown man right that any money in government coffers except what they get in grants and outside aid, belongs to the people, not government and definitely not the politicians. I m sure that there are still grown people on the island not aware of this.

That deceitfulness by politicians has finally been exposed.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Balance, its long past time that you change your moniker. LOLLL. re your 6:10 PM post “Now which of the above views from two persons vying for political office from the same party can we accept Mr Blackman’s or Mr Skinner’s”

The two views are both real and both clearly say the very same thing:That the NDP is now defunct. That it was basically left at the orphanage by the electorate after much fanfare during its birth and infancy.

They say the SAME thing in different words.

If you want to play semantics then do so, but please leff out trying to act ‘balance’. Oh lawd.

For all of Skinner’s effusive remarks about an excellent manifesto of positive reforms it is rather obvious – painfully so – that Blackman’s assertion that Bajans did not like them “enough to make them even pause their sucking action” from the other parties is accurate. ALSO!!!!

Both of them I am sure have learned from that experience and would approach a new opportunity better informed and prepared.

Blackman seems quite ready to get very real. And cut out the BS. From Skinner’s other pronouncements on this site he also seems just as able to cut out the chaff of BS and get to the cane shoot.

Are you? LOLL

43. @Dee Word

The NDP was perceived has a one man party, it was subsumed by the almighty image of the late Sir Richie.

44. The Prime Minister of Barbados has reiterated that the public service in Barbados is well served by efficient personnel,with which comment most will agree.However,the Auditor General’s Reports over the years have given the lie to any such broad sweep of the brush of false praise by the political class.The proof of the pudding is in the eating.An upright and honest public servant is only as good as the findings of the last Auditor General’s Report.

45. The Report into the collapse of Clico/CFL Group of companies has been delivered to the Prime Minister of T ‘n T, Dr Keith Rowley.
    Unlike his Bajan counterpart,Dr Rowley has come out swinging the cudgel at the criminal misconduct of companies’ senior personnel,referring to their conduct as being of a “kleptocratic” nature.The DPP is asked to act on the findings urgently.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All a bunch of thieves..I told Alvin Trinidad will deal with their Clico thieves, what is Barbados doing about their Clico thieves.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82779/sudden-deaths-ncds-health-ministry

This information should have been made public weeks ago. Bajans really need to start looking after their health, drink more water, cut out the soda, exercise, do more cooking and cut out the fast foods.

48. @ Walter Blackman

This Watchman is from the old days , with a stick and search light , no match for the Walter PPK , Hants try to peep at the glass reflections and was shot at, mistaken for some rascals Watchman, Enuff, Balance,are-we-there-yet trying to wipe smug off the glass,this watchman is going to get his search light and go UNDERGROUND, David keep a selection in an archives down there that can be an assistance, to match a Walter ppk