Philip_NichllsIt would be disingenuous of BU not to have read Philip Nicholls’s book More Binding Than Marriage and to provide unvarnished feedback. Nicholl’s has revealed enough about the Barbados Court System, Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock, former partners Allan Watson and Joyce Griffith, Disciplinary Committee, lawyers in the system and much more to be sued if true. It is a damning indictment of the system by a former insider. Also his animosity towards Vernon Smith QC, Barry Gale QC and Charles Leacock merits special mention.

The quiet from traditional media is not surprising.

BU respects the intellectual property of Nicholls, however we posted six pages to give members of the BU family who have not yet purchased some insight to three issues among several raised by Nicholls.

Pages 82 and 83 – Nicholls shares his view as a former President of the about the Disciplinary Committee. He brands it a toothless tiger.

Pages 114 and 115 – Nicholls describes Barbados Court as a ‘total mess’.

Pages 129 and 130 – He decides to leave DPP Charles Leacock to God

591 responses to “Former Insider Attorney Philip Nicholls Exposes Barbados Court System”

1. Vincent i thought i warned u about getting too close to my backside ..pervert

2. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Bush Tea at 4:19 PM ,,,as Vincent said, really not sure wah licks you talking ’bout…but we all know that Tony Cozier doesn’t commentate these days cause de eye-sight is less than good…you are about his age or older I surmise so you likely got even a greater vision problem .LOLL.

Anyhow, David de blogmaster can challenge and pelt any amount of attempted licks or actual licks too… because I pun de man blog.

@Vincent at 5:04 PM …long-hops and full tosses galore and after awhile de bouncer was telegraphed and posed no threat…that bouncer was ‘did you read the book’.

It posed no threat because I was commentening on what was presented here and what I knew as factual ..things I did NOT need the book to validate.

But an excellent robust debate on a very important matters. I look forward most to reading the chapter on the cricket gossip.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WWWell Well & Consequences March 7, 2016 at 2:15 PM #
    GP…I am trying to make a man out of Dee Word…he throws tantrums like a child when he cant articulate, it makes the blog look bad…lol

WE GWINE HAVE TO GIVE PUN YOU YEH

HOW ARE YOU GOING TO MAKE A MAN OUT OF DIW?
    CANT YOU SEE THAT HE HAS EARNED THE LABEL OF A “CONTENTIOUS WOMAN”
    YOU NEED TO GIVE HIM OESTROGENS PROGESTOGENS AND THE APPROPRIATE SURGERY

DIW RE ony Cozier doesn’t commentate these days cause de eye-sight is less than good

THIS IS NOT TRUE HE WORKED FOR SKY SPORT
    CAMERON BAN HIM AND MICHAEL HOLDING BECAUSE THEY HAVE BOTH BEEN TELLING THE TRUTH ABOUT THE WICB

4. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Georgie Porgie March 7, 2016 at 8:56 PM #

Wuhloss….yuh boy go sleep,yuh talkin pup

When a person of our era cannot understand sarcasm,we are in ducks guts.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

vincent
    using Proverbs 26:4 &5 you can decide if you are a class one fool or a class two fool

4Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.
    5 Answer a fool according to his folly, lest he be wise in his own conceit.

6. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Georgie Porgie March 7, 2016 at 9:27 PM #

Hahahaha…………the response I expected……not an original thought in the cranium…..too luv to quote that book.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Vincent
    Re .too luv to quote that book.
    Suffer it to be so now. lol

8. In all fairness though Vincent …. you does post some REAL shiite hear!!

You seriously missed it when Well Well had DIW in that headlock? …and when David put nuff jabs in his side …till he agreed to order ‘the book’….
    Were you asleep when Bushie landed the wicked “student research” drop-kick in his neck…?
    …that still got him groggy?

Shiite man … you need more than glasses – you need to wake up and whiff the smelling salts…

9. @Well Well & Consequences March 7, 2016 at 11:21 AM “the US Embassy supports fingerprint of everyone entering and leaving the island,” that includes bajan citizens.”

You know very well that is because the U.S. Embassy is afraid of ISIS and other assorted bad boys.

You Americans are afraid of everything, including your own shadows.

Stupseee!!!!!

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Simple Simon March 7, 2016 at 10:17 PM #
    you do that green holders are finger printed on return to the US
    cant speak for US citizens

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…..What can I am still trying with Dee Word, but I see Vincent still calling him boy…lol

Simple…but will it not be protecting you too…fear or no, it’s not like you have an army that can take on any of those bad boys, or the weapons, if you guys cant handle the minorities on the island and they are small time opportunist s, what do you think the real bad boys will do on the island.

12. Another attorney at lawyer the name of Allison Alexander to appear in Court today accused of stealing $165 543.00 in connection with the sale of a property.

13. I’ve said over and over again in this forum that families make businesses that work in the long run.

I’ve been accused of being a racist but here I go again.

The men I have heard of that were associated with Cottle Catford were the Evelyn brothers, I have heard them referred to as the trinity. Eustace Shilstone, Rex Gill etc. … no doubt they were others.

They date back to the mid to late 1800’s.

The succession to Joey Armstrong, Freddie Hutchinson and Edmund Hinkson occurred because each of these men were part of a functional family and each could identify with the goals of the partnership.

Joey Armstrong and his partners were faced with the succession dilemma when the family had been under attack by politicians and their ilk for a few decades.

They did not have much choice.

Family, which built Barbados was being pulled to pieces and berated under the guise of colour.

That’s why I think people on here refer to me as a racist but I really don’t care.

What you see now is three families that operated the Cottle Catford Partnership, the Watson Family, the Griffith Family and the Nicholls Family.

Only one is functional.

Watson and his wife have absconded and what I get from the book, Mr. Griffith did not know what Mrs. Griffith was doing,

Philip Nicholls is part of his father’s family and the bonds that exist are more binding than marriage.

He is divorced, his business partners are estranged and he is in major trouble but the bond that shines trough all of this and blindingly so is the unshakeable bond of family.

Family transcends skin colour, it transcends marriage.

What I get from Philip’s book is yeah, he does not have a white skin but he doesn’t consider himself black. It sounds as though he never did.

Some place him in the middle class to show how fragile that class is but it is really Watson and Griffith who belong in that classification and who support the thesis of how fragile that class is.

Philip defies classification because Philip understands what is important from what is not … and he took a long time to arrive at that realization … and had a lot of knocks.

I hope and pray it works out ok for him …. and his family.

14. Few, if any members of the middle class could bring to bear the resources Philip and his family have brought to bear.

But a strong family could.

Can you imagine if instead of fighting this battle those resources had been channeled towards creating wealth and stimulating the economy?

Many people would have benefitted.

That’s logical reasoning until you realize just what the fight is about.

The fight is about illogic.

How can stealing like this go on and not be stopped by the Court?

Why should something like this even get to the court?

It is illogical something like this could lie festering for all those years.

Many people will benefit from this fight and the expenditure of the resources because when the powers that be look at what the illogic the fight is exposing there is a strong chance that a mess like this will not happen again.

… but I know that may be wishful thinking!!

We need to get back to basics.

We need to be able to trust again.

15. Says linkedin that the Attorney Alison Alexander is a partner at Belgrave Eastmond & Alexander Associates. The other partners were Lynette Eastmond and Frank Belgrave so it seems to be a person in a firm not a stand alone attorney. Assuming the information is accurate, hope this doesn’t go the way of Cottle Catford. Seems she is Trini as well. Maybe Philip can send her a copy of his book.

16. Another one for ” Lawyers in the news ”

“The charges stemmed from a business transaction involving the sale of a property.”

17. The Governor General is an attorney at law.The Prime Minister is an attorney at law.The Speaker of the House of Parliament is an attorney at law.The leader of her Majesty’s loyal opposition is an attorney at law.Ipso facto we in ducks guts to expect morality to rule the roosters in Barbados.NEFFIN WILL CHANGE.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/78708/attorney-granted-bail

When will the AG and CJ do something about the thieving lawyers, despite they themselves being lawyers some hapless person is going to hurt one of them, they steal your money despite knowing you borrowed it from the bank and must repay it.

The bank does not want to hear that your lawyer stole the money, they want it back anyway, what’s wrong with these people they cant stop stealing from clients.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

John makes a very strong and valid point about how all this mess was allowed to build up to the ruination of the whole legal system over a very long time period that we are now witnessing re Cottle Catford , Philip Nicholls….and it did not start with Nicholls as some seem to think, it’s been a practice by too many lawyers that was bound to come to a head eventually….it just took 50+ years.

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE it did not start with Nicholls

TRUE
    I USED TO EMPLOY THIS FIRM. I WAS LUCKY
    BUT IN THE TIME THEY WORKED FOR ME THERE WERE MIKE SIMMONDS, LORRAINE WATERMAN AND A RED SKINNED GUY WHOSE NAME I CAN NOT REMEMBER WHO WERE ACCUSED OF BOBOL

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That’s part of the problem for people who judge the dude GP, he has acknowledged his mistakes, paid the price, is paying nonstop for the crimes of the 2 thieving lawyers Griffith and Watson, yet those who dont know are acting, there is that word again, as though Nicholls invented the problem, not so, the problem in those lawfirms were created before Nicholls was born…..he actually inherited them when he was set up to be the firm’s fall guy, at the time he thought it added to his prestige, but now upon hindsight, he now knows he was the perfect patsy.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

GP…was this Lorraine Waterman the same one in 2004 charged with stealing this dudes 1/2 million dollars he had borrowed from the bank to purchase a property, her brother is Lincoln….it’s like a sickness emanating from very diseased minds of greedy lawyers.

23. @Well Well & Consequences March 7, 2016 at 10:39 PM “Simple…but will it not be protecting you too…fear or no, it’s not like you have an army that can take on any of those bad boys, or the weapons, if you guys cant handle the minorities on the island and they are small time opportunist s, what do you think the real bad boys will do on the island.”

We who have survived 300+ years of English colonialism fear nothing.

No Simple…ya fear the crooked politicians and the couple minority mongrel crooks on the island, or ya would get rid of them.

25. @John March 8, 2016 at 11:58 AM “Few, if any members of the middle class could bring to bear the resources Philip and his family have brought to bear. But a strong family could.”

I hope that you are not suggesting that that middle and lower class families are not strong.

I hope that you are not suggesting that is is money, or principally money money makes a family strong?

Take a look at this, not Bajan, but nevertheless instructiive:
    http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2016/02/04/conrad-blacks-bridle-path-mansion-for-sale.html
    “The former media baron and author INHERITED the home which boasts nine bedrooms, 11 bathrooms, a guest apartment and a coach house on a 6.6 acre property…who said the property has an estimated value of $21.8 million…Previously, Black has sold off 2.8 acre slice of Park Lane property, which was traditionally used as the service entrance to the estate, at an asking price of $7.2 million. As well, Black’s British colonial-style Florida mansion in Palm Beach sold for the equivalent of $26 million in 2011 and he reportedly sold his London townhouse for more than $23.4 million…Black was stripped of his Order of Canada by Gov. Gen. David Johnston in 2014 AFTER SPENDING THREE YEARS IN U.S. FEDERAL PRISON ON FRAUD AND OBSTRUCTION OF JUSTICE CHARGES Before being released in May 2012.”

The truth is that some people will steal and some people will never steal. And inheriting (or earning) great wealth did not stop this man from stealing from the pension funds of his company’s employees and some of those people who had their pension funds stolen were lower class cashiers and clerks who had inherited NOTHING.

Black too was unsure of his identity. He did not identify as Canadian. He lusted after a “bigger/better” citizenship. In spite of being Canadian he relinquished his Canadian citizenship in order to become a British citizen and have a seat in the British House of Lords. When the Americans locked his overweight @ss up for fraud. he found himself stateless himself after his release from the U.S. prison (because he had renounced his Canadian citizenship remember) and the Americans quite rightly did not want the foreign criminal in their country. If the Canadians did not mercy on him and granted him landed immigrant status he would be a man with nuff nuff money and no country/no passport. Although of course the Canadians ought not to have granted him landed immigrant status, since legally landed immigrant status must not be granted to criminals. But his political friends (read the Conservative party) did him a favour. But the people were watching and threw the Conservatives out of power at the first opportunity.

When you start wrong you have to end wrong.

26. What happened to the 2 properties the partners seized from Mike Simmons ?

In 1982 one was valued at 1.2 million and the other 1.5 million.

27. @John March 8, 2016 at 10:36 AM “What I get from Philip’s book is yeah, he does not have a white skin but he doesn’t consider himself black. It sounds as though he never did.”

Interesting.

Conrad Black in spite of a Canadian birth certificate did not consider himself Canadian. It sounds as though he never did.

But once the Americans convicted him of fraud, the British government stripped him of his acquired British citizenship AND his seat in the House of Lords. Because convicted criminals are not permitted to sit in the House of Lords; nor to migrate to Canada or to the United States.

28. @John March 8, 2016 at 10:36 AM “What I get from Philip’s book is yeah, he does not have a white skin but he doesn’t consider himself black. It sounds as though he never did.”

And why would he not consider himself black, when evidently he is black.

Is black defective then?

Is black criminal?

is Bernie Madoff black

is Allen Stanford black?

Is Conrad Black black (lol!!! by name if not by skin)

The truth is some people steal and some do not. And some people are complicit in stealing. The truth is that wealthy people steal, perhaps because even tens of millions of INHERITED wealth is still not enough. For some people even an infinite amount of wealth is still not enough. And NONE of the people who think/act/believe like this are poor people.

The truth is not all the thieves are poor or black.

29. I believe that only a small percentage of the population is involved in buying / selling property and crooked lawyers are in the minority.

That is why the HONEST Lawyers are NOT concerned and just keep their noses clean.

The Rich get excellent service from Bajan lawyers.

30. I hope that you are not suggesting that that middle and lower class families are not strong.

I am stating the obvious, there are strong families and there are weak families in all classes.

A few of the strong families will build a lasting business, very few if any of the weak ones will.

Simple fact of life.

Family transcends colour and class in the long term !!

I could give examples but I won’t …. I would be insulting people’s intelligence.

31. @ Hants
    The Rich get excellent service from Bajan lawyers.
    The lawyers are ‘crooked’ Hants …. not stupid. ( well not most anyway…)

However Bushie tries to imagine it, …the bushman cannot see how ANY lawyer bout here could have bushie’s money for more than 6 months – TOPS ….. and still be coherent… – as in
    “able to talk or express himself in a clear way that can be easily understood” 🙂

The same way that Bajans bowls sit back and allow politicians and foreigners to piss on them and kick them about …is THE SAME way that they allow lawyers to treat them…

For some inexplicable reason, Bushie has only had excellent service from all but one lawyer – …and his was a clear case of abject incompetence….

32. Confusing wealth and riches ….. you will never figure it out!!

33. Simpy et al

Wunna should watch, “Hue a matter of colour” It is a global tour of SHADISM!

Shade involves very deep seated Psychology and it is NOT just about Whitey and colinisation. Why?

Thailand was never a colony and almost all advertising involves light skins, China was barely colonised in the Shanghai region and HK and the reality is that kids are ordered to keep out the Sun to remain light skinned, remember dark Chinese were agricultural workers.

34. Conrad Black in spite of a Canadian birth certificate did not consider himself Canadian.

Nor does Ted Cruz!!!!!!!!!!

35. @ John
    You are correct…. pay Simple no mind…
    Strong families DO NOT remain in any ‘lower class’ for more than one generation …unless there are overwhelming external factors (such as the pack of political jackasses we have had in the last 30 years….)

Wealth and riches …same shiite.
    ‘Strong families’ are families that are bonded by LOVE, commitment, patience, selflessness and inevitably, a common commitment and respect for a supernatural GOD.
    How the hell can such a team be anything OTHER that wealthy..?

Brass bowls, on the other hand, think that if they can get hold of nuff, nuff, money – then they can build a strong family relationship and live happily ….. ha ha ha

OK …well put de $5M in yuh mother’s bank account and see then….

36. Before Armstrong retired he had to had over large clients to Barry Gale.

What you really mean is that after Joey Armstrong died large clients probably left.

The book speaks about the departure of Barclays, the largest!!

I got the impression that happened after Joey Armstrong died.

Joey Armstrong was a giant, most if not all attorneys at law beat a track to his door.

He simply had more experience than everybody else, he was trusted and he was endowed with a spirit of sharing and caring, in other words, he knew what he was doing.

I only met him a few times but enough to know his advice was the one to follow … simply a no brainer!!

All sorts of bigger ups and better offs took his advice, and I can prove it.

He was the best.

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple….it was hilarious what happened to the idiot Conrad Black….lol…. he is lucky the Canadians took him back, he will be luckier still if he gets back the citizenship, no one owes his pretentious ass anything, even if he was born in Canada.

Shadism,,,, read stupidity, is also bad in Hong Kong, I posted on here already about the evils of the practice, advertisers always have to apologize for their stupidity in Asia/South East Asia.

That’s what I dont get about dishonest lawyers in Barbados, instead of building up their practices and serve ALL their clients equally well, they take great care of the wealthy ones and steal from the struggling ones, because they believe the poor ones can do them nothing if they are robbed…and they have gotten away with the practoce, one of them is going to be badly hurt one of these days for their nasty actions to clients they view as helpless victims.

38. BTW, the book is sold out at Sky Mall!!

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Cruz is thisclose to being deported back to Canada, if Trump becomes president…lol

40. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Simple Simon March 8, 2016 at 3:51 PM #

What is black and why should he consider himself such?

His appearance would suggest a mixing of tribes from west africa and northern europe took place and produced him,me and well over 90% of the Carbbean population.He used the term coloured,which is a correct designation within the context of black&white but I disagree with the use pigmentation to identify self or anyone.

What is the significance of typifying any one by the melanin content of their skin?

During the Roman conquest,around 60BC,of the Angle Isles todays UK,chroniclers of the time wrote of the crack Nubian forces forming a part of the conquering army……..that is present day Sudan…..no mention of pigmentation…….ancient chroniclers simply used areas of origin to describe a person,like we do today by saying baje.

The northern europeans over 700 years ago decided to use ones pigment as a means of mental conquest which sadly exists to this day with many of you on BU who wish to wear your colour be it white/black or pink as a badge of honour……and some of you quote MLK who eschewed the use of colour……you just dont get it do you…..we are one people/race,different tribes irrespective of melanin content.

41. More often than not, the more wealth is expended, the more it increases.

The more it is tested in the fire, like steel, the stronger it becomes.

Riches vaporize, easy come, easy go!!

By now the authorities should realize there is a real problem to solve and it isn’t going away!!!!

42. WW&C
    Laureen and Lincoln are not siblings.The only commonality if it can be described thusly,is the once close association between Cottle and Barclays.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t have the book handy, but Mr JC retired before he died. I recall the author referencing certain accounts which left post retirement but prior to his death. [not Barclays]

44. Not only did he retire he was paid by CC based on legacy business.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Gabriel…thanks for the info, why I asked GP.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That also caught my eye in the book they retired, were getting a pension why were the 2 retirees given any additional cash which would and did impede the cash flow of the lawfirm and with the added thiefing of the 2 lawyers how could the outcome be any different….the clients, without their knowledge, were funding all this mismanagement and idiocy.

47. @Well Well,
    People wil (should) now understand how the funds of clients are used tp enhance the financial machinations of lawyers. When they get input of large sums of money; at one time, they are able to use it to their advantage. The connections of these large firms with the banks enable the managers to be aware of “fire sales” on properties etc, and use clients funds to obtain these properties. EXCEPT that they forget; or seem to forget, that these are clients funds they used and that it has to be repaid. Thus starts their foray into the world of PONZI.

John March, this has nothing to do with colour. It has to do with the illegal use of clients funds’ which are multicoloured. Let us get away from putting a colour or class to the whole situation.

48. This is a problem that is SO EASY TO SOLVE that even the DLP could probably get it solved….

It just requires that all practicing lawyers submit an audited statement of client liabilities …and deposit a corresponding cheque with the Bar Association by June 30, 2016.
    All future Client Fund deposits to be made to this account and due client funds to be repaid from the account – based on the particular lawyer’s account.

Failure to submit would trigger an automatic BRA audit.

The Bar Association would use 50% of the interest on the fund for administration, and credit the Clients at a rate commensurate with the remaining 50% of interest.

This would strengthen the Bar Association…. improve its relevance and independence – and give the Disciplinary Committee some much needed teeth…

BUT IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN (…unless of course Caswell and Jeff BUP…)

Because….
    ….80% of those who are required to take this SIMPLE decision are lawyers themselves – who COULD NOT RAISE THEIR OWN CLIENT FUNDS BY JUNE 30.

….the other 20% are ass-licking retards who kowtow to anyone calling themselves ‘counsellor’…

…and the victims are simple-minded brass bowls who have by now grown so accustomed to being pissed into and kicked around (CLICO, CAHILL, VECO,3S, Greenland….), that they seem to have learnt to enjoy it….

49. I don’t have the book handy, but Mr JC retired before he died. I recall the author referencing certain accounts which left post retirement but prior to his death. [not Barclays]

Duh!!!

How could he retire after he died!!

Do you think he wrote a letter from the great beyond and the Barbados Postal Service delivered it?

Mr. Armstrong was good but not that good!!

Of course he retired before he died, according to the book in 1987, but it was common knowledge that he had to come out of retirement and work to repay the funds misappropriated from client accounts.

The few times I went to his office downstairs I always chuckled at the sign on his office which said “Mr. Armstrong” then underneath an arrow with the words “other attorneys upstairs”!!

That said it all!!

Mrs. Gayle at Cottle according to the book was the contact for Barclays, for heavens sake!!

I can understand your confusion, unless of course G a y l e = G a l e and there is a misspelling.

The book refers to Barclays and LOB being institutional clients on 31st December 2002 when the partnership ended!! … page 107!!

Mr. Armstrong died in 1994 almost a decade earlier!!!!!!

Barclays, and LOB thus stayed with Cottle Catford from the date of Mr. Armstrong’s death until it merged with FCIB, whenever that was.

Go read the book ….. but ….. you may have to wait a spell for the bookshop at Sky Mall to get more copies!!

50. Since Conrad Black’s name came up I just want to ask if any deep pocket BU regulars want in on the bidding.

Hey Bush Tea (Croesus to his intimate circle) here is your opportunity to experience life in a northern town (of course you will have to drink the water)

http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2016/03/09/conrad-blacks-park-lane-mansion-to-go-on-auction-block.html