Submitted by Heather Cole

The dictionary defines a squatter as an unlawful occupant of land or a building. Just this week in the Press there was a video of Mark Maloney refuting a suggestion that was made by Trevor Prescod that the persons who are squatting on Crown lands at the Belle should be allowed to occupy houses at the Villages of Coverley that are unoccupied. He made it clear that no squatter will be allowed at the Villages of Coverley. One can only assume that Mr. Prescod meant that since the houses are completed and listed as rent to own, that the government should purchase the houses for the people from the Belle.

One will recall that the DLP Government entered into a leasing agreement with Housing Concepts SRL – also owned and/or managed by the said Mark Maloney and Bjorn Bjerkham to build houses for Barbadians at the Coverley Development site. The terms of the lease agreement is $100.00 for 99 years. It was so low that it was labelled as pepper corn by another contributor to the Barbados Underground. In Thursday’s edition of Barbados Today, Mr. Maloney stated that prices of these houses range from $280,000.00 to $340,000.00.

Everyone is aware that it is unlawful to occupy land in the Belle since it is has implications for contaminating the water supply. Any agreement undertaken between the Government of Barbados and any entity is a legally binding document and therefore lawful. The agreement between the National Housing Corporation and Housing Concepts SRL was specifically for residential housing development. The Town and Country Planning department did not give permission for the construction of a gas station or the obstruction of the road reserve.

We are all aware of the fact that on two occasions Mr. Maloney has broken the agreement while occupying the land at the Villages of Coverley. In the first instance, it was the building of the Rubis gas station and the second was the obstruction of road reserve which resulted in the death of a young Barbadian student. The two infractions of the agreement are still in effect as government has been negligent in enforcing their removal. Since Mr. Maloney has broken the leasing agreement and to date no Auditor General’s Report has contained information about funds from Coverley, one cannot ensure that Mr. Maloney is making the payments per the lease agreement, we can all but wonder if he is lawfully occupying the 41 hectares of land while making super profits.

The property at Coverley does not belong to Mr. Maloney. It belongs to the Government and people of Barbados. No action has been taken against Mr. Maloney for building the Rubis gas station on public property. Cannot the same reasoning be applied that low income persons can occupy the houses which are on public property without action been taken against them? Can the people from the Belle occupy the houses and if the police are called to eject them, would a Minister call and prevent that action?

How wrong could Mr. Prescod have been to ask that the unoccupied houses be turned over to the squatters in the Belle? How right could Mr. Maloney have been to state that no squatters would be allowed at the Villages of Coverley? It make one wonder if there are inferior citizens in Barbados and that they can be prohibited from living in certain areas. Mr. Maloney seems to have forgotten that he signed a legally binding contract that allows government to purchase any houses that he is unable to sell. It makes one wonder why he even bothered to sign the contract when he had no intention of keeping it since he already broke it twice.

The bottom line is that Government must not enter into these adulterated sweetheart deals that are driven by corruption. It must also ensure that Barbadians are not disadvantaged and that they have access to housing in all developments. That is, that all developments must have a percentage of their housing stock set aside for low income earners even if at a price differential which is subsidized by government. We must discard the term low income housing as it perpetrates the stigma of classism and elitism in society. Mr. Maloney’s statements about not allowing persons from Belle to be relocated to the Villages of Coverley perpetrates the argument for two Barbados’ even though the people are brainwashed at election time into thinking that there is only one.

354 responses to “Who Maloney Think He Is?”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Neither do the the thieves read Bjerkham, Maloney et al, yet ya’ll steal poor people’s land for them, and give them anyway,, as if the business people have a given right and poor people dont….. thiefing AC, why not lease lands to the squatters to alleviate the dangerous situation in the Belle.

I knew the usual suspects David Simmons and others stole land and other property from the poor, sick, old, dead, dying etc..no one is safe, but I never knew the depth of the thievery and disenfranchisement of these vulnerable citizens before or that it is well known in international circles…ya’ll are thieves, stealing from the vulnerable.., no one should wonder why the supreme court is so disgustingly corrupt, the corruption started in the 60s and only got worse….is that what you are celebrating. …..ya’ll should be locked the hell up, all of you……

2. @AC, I am sure that the squatters can come up with $100.00 per year. No one has said that they are broke. They just cannot afford land.

3. “Property market in Barbados enjoys sunshine after rum times”

By Zoe Dare Hall

“It may be taking some product reinvention and price readjustment, but Barbados’s property market seems to be on the turn and buyers, in particular those buoyed by London’s renewed prosperity, are returning. “Property is the main topic of conversation at every winter season party here and everyone has become an authority on the subject,” says Altman. “What I feel is that after a five-year decline, prices aren’t going any lower.”

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/6ad808ac-b5a4-11e3-81cb-00144feabdc0.html

4. This government touted a so called building success in building houses when the one from St Philip was the minister.

They built fowl coops for poor people who for the most part always have more than two children. Who could come up with a concept to build such tiny houses for poor people?

My children were with me at the time and they were amazed that a government could boast of these houses. They remarked that the houses could fit into their bedrooms and they were not being snooty……..

Let the people from the Belle go up there in St Philip…….the government owns them, no one lives in them, the grass around the houses is just as tall as the houses. Before the houses rot down, let the people from the Belle occupy these houses!

5. Prodigal Son February 29, 2016 at 5:20 PM #

That makes sense. Govt owned, no one in them. SO why then did Prescod suggest that empty houses in Coverley be used?

Maybe more in the mortar than the pestle.

Does someone need a bailout for unsaleable houses? At the taxpayers expense by the way.

Folks need to learn to look beyond the obvious.

6. @Colonel Buggy February 28, 2016 at 5:26 PM “Culloden Farm, official home of the first Prime Minister.”

Squatters/vagrants/homeless people already live here.

7. @Well Well & Consequences February 29, 2016 at 3:05 PM “corruption started in the 60s ”

So well well: So what was it (if not corruption) which existed between 1627 and 1838?

8. @Prodigal Son February 29, 2016 at 5:20 P.M. “My children were with me at the time and they were amazed that a government could boast of these houses. They remarked that the houses could fit into their bedrooms and they were not being snooty.

I put it to you that your children were being snotty, unless it is that they are infants and so do not know any better.

barbados is very densely populated. Only Taiwan, Saint Martin, Palestinian Territories, Guernsey, Jersey, Maldives, Sint Maarten, Bangladesh, Bermuda, Malta Bahrain, Vatican City, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, Singapore, Monaco, and Macau are more densely populated.

So how big should we build public housing, the traditional 18 ft x 10 ft?
    500 sq ft
    1000 sq ft
    1500 sq ft
    2000 sq ft

Or should we build North American style McMansions for poor people?

And if so who will pay for them? The already over burdened middle class?

I put it to you as well that many Bajans, perhaps most Bajans are already over housed.

There is no need to have more than 3 bedrooms in anybody’s house.

1 for the parents

1 for the girls

1 for the boys.

And one bathroom is enough for any sized family.

I might make a concession and include a small bathroom with toilet bowl and sink only to speed up the family’s moves on work.school mornings.

9. @Crusoe

Relax, it is what politicians do. See the bigger story.

10. @Simple Simon
    One of the scariest posting that I have ever read. As you moved away from government houses, it seems as if you would impose restrictions on the size of the house the AVERAGE Barbadian can build.
    What next? The cost of the car? Or is the island so small, he/should get a bicycle?

11. A bicycle would be good. Or walk or catch the bus. I do not hold “a car in every garage belief”

12. And I’ve never lived in a government house.

I was raised in an 18×10 with an 18×8 shedroof, that is 324 sq feet for the 11 of us with occasional grandchildren who stayed for a day or sometimes two or a year or two or more. Slept in a double bed with 4 (same gender) siblings, A packed rock outdoor kitchen and an outdoor toilet. Brought water in a galvanized bucket from the standpipe 1/4 mile away. For lighting and cooking kerosene oil lamps and stoves.

We ALL turned out all right. Nobody died. Nobody got sick except for the occasional cold and usual pre-immunization childhood illnesses. Nobody went to jail. Nobody has been chronically unemployed or unemployable. Nobody lived/or lives in government housing.

Nobody sells their vote. Not a politician in Barbados or the world would dare to offer any of us money, or things or favours for our votes.

That is the Bajan norm in which I was raised.

As a result I don’t expect politicians (or anybody else) to work miracles for me.

I know what real, real poverty is so I am not afraid of poverty.

I am strong.

I am a survivor.

13. And I am not the only communist in the room. Take note that in the U.K those who live in council housing and who have extra bedrooms which are not occupied have to pay a “bedroom tax”. So a husband and wife in council (government subsidized) house with 3 bedrooms have to move to a one bedroom unit, or pay an extra tax for the 2 unoccupied bedrooms.

14. Ask the NHC how many of its clients are overhoused.

That is couples in 2 or 3 bedroom units.

Single people in 2 bedroom units etc.

And yet we are going further and further into debt to build more and more housing?

And burdening the middle class and our children and grandchildren with that debt?

WHY?

15. @ Simple Simon February 29, 2016 at 6:27 PM #

@Prodigal Son February 29, 2016 at 5:20 P.M. “My children were with me at the time and they were amazed that a government could boast of these houses. They remarked that the houses could fit into their bedrooms and they were not being snooty.

I put it to you that your children were being snotty, unless it is that they are infants and so do not know any better.
    …………………………………………………………………

Stop passing judgement on persons you do not know. You are so wrong to pass judgement on my children…..it was a shock to us all to see the size of the houses and it was a natural reaction.

Now, now….do not live up to your chosen name on BU!

16. @ The Gazer,

I agree with Simple Simon the Queen of Austerity. Barbados has been living beyond her means far too long. Why do you think our country is in such a mess?

Historians will be severe in their judgment of our demise as an independent country. Our descent will be used as the perennial case study by academics at how even a tiny country that seemed to have everything going for it can unravel.

These historians will be unanimous in their critique of our nation: they will state that Barbados simply overeached herself. The needs of the masses were simply overlooked in favour of creating the ideal environment for wealthy foreigners and the local elite. Irrespective of the long term damage that this would have on the indigenous Bajan citizen.

The vine withered and then died as it was too proud to admit that it was far more prudent to have saved small sums of money and to have had sustainable growth rather then to have gone cap-in-hand to all and sundry in order to self-enriched a small minority.

Simple Simon is right!

17. We insist in letting politicians promise us pie in the sky longbefore we die, and seem to forget that politicians don’t pay fa neffen.

We the people have to pay for every damn thnig.

Including the politicians salaries and their very extensive perks.

18. How much more of OUR MONEY do we want the politicians to spend?

Stupssseee!!!

19. Dear Prodigal:

I am happy to hear that you and your children will be happy to pay 40% or 50% or 60% or 70% or 80% or more of your earnings in order to pay for this pretty “a big house for everybody” bubble.

Or that you and your children and grandchildren will have to become tax refugees.

And forever be unable to live in their own country.

20. What we need most in Barbados is smaller houses on smaller lots, and much more public open/play/recreational spaces.

21. @SS & Exclaimer
    Let us divide people in two classes those that need government help and those trhat can on their own two feet. I can understand some limitations/restrictions being placed on what the government distributes.

My concern is that you seem willing to place restrictions on those who can support pay for waht they want. Your first note was too general and it is there that you and I will have a disagreement.

22. @Prodigal Son February 29, 2016 at 8:15 PM “it was a shock to us all to see the size of the houses.”

So prodigal: You were not raised in an 18×10 like the res’ o’ we?

Your children never visited their grandparents in their 18×10?

Stupssseee!!!

23. Or your constituents in their 18×10’s

24. Let us divide people in two classes those that need government help and those trhat can on their own two feet. I can understand some limitations/restrictions being placed on what the government distributes.

Government must help people get on their feet ASAP. ONLY the truly sick, stupid, DISABLED should receive long term help.

Proper leaders develop and environment of success and help to create JOBS, JOBS, JOBS, JOBS ad nauseum this is the ROOT of the solution.

Giving to people with even basic mental and physical ability, long term, is PLAIN WRONG.
    U cant teeeefff from Peter to PAY Paul when Paul can WUK!

That is the formulae to RUIN people and a Nation. Encouraging LAZYASS TAKERS is wrong, this is why Europe is imploding.

25. I am not one to except or endorse people living about there means and the same should be applied to govt and how much and what they can for or offer the people
    If the people expectations are high then govt would have no other alternative but to pass on additional charges to the people
    From what is being said it appears as if the blp yardfowls wants govt to off load free of cost to any and every person who has fallen on hard times
    The budgetary responsibility falls on govt and when shortfalls occur the same yardfowls cry belly hurt

26. @TheGazer February 29, 2016 at 8:35 PM “My concern is that you seem willing to place restrictions on those who can pay for what they want.

Dear Gazer:

I look at it much more broadly. Let us say that you can “afford” to buy 4 gas guzzling SUV’s, one for every member of your family.

So who then gives you the right to pollute the air which I must breathe?

Or let us say that you can “afford” a 10,000 sq ft McMansion.

What gives you the right to lay down a 5,000 concrete slab which will prevent the earth from absorbing rainfall?

But really it is not about me. I am an old fogey who will be dead, dead, deal in less than 20 years.

Really it is about leaving some of the earth’s resources for our children and their children, and their children’s children.

And do not be so sure that you “can afford what you want” Even in the big rich United States all it takes to drive a family into bankruptcy is one serious illness. If your kidneys failed tomorrow can you “afford” to buy dialysis treatments at the rate of $800 per treatment, 3 times per week, for 20 years? Or say you kid develops brain cancer, or blood cancer and your need $800,000 quick quick for overseas treatment. Can you come up with that easily? Happened to well paid friends of mine successful, but not so successful that their kids would not have died without the intervention of the Ministry of Health/that is your tax money and mine.

27. @Moneybrain,

I concur, but no one seem to be getting my point.

Let me make it very simple.

If you decided to build a house in Barbados with your own money, then it can be any size that you want/can afford.

28. Let the squatters form a communal organization and pooled the monies in support of each other by way of getting out of financial difficulties. Expecting govt to hand over taxpayers land is not going to happen under d or b.BTW I bet none of those squatters pay income tax

29. The Gazer

I got your point but just wanted to emphasise that we must have strings attached, conditions etc when helping people to get ahead, non of the usual Politically inspired WASTE! Really is VOTE BUYING which ruins the Nation by beating the productive and encouraging LazyAsses.

30. And one wonders how much ,collectively ,do the plantations now in grass , bush , wild tamarind ,and those being cur up for residential and commercial developement owe the government in unpaid taxes.
    Perhaps the government should mugabe one of these plantations, and offer spots, not only to the squatters ,but to Barbadians in general.

31. ac February 29, 2016 at 9:45 PM #
    Expecting govt to hand over taxpayers land is not going to happen under d or b
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    They did it for Maloney, why not the squatters.

32. Colonel

I know that your question was directed to “ac” but please permit me to answer.

If squatters had enough money to bribe politicians, they would not have to be squatters.

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…do you live in 1627 or 1838..we have to deal with the era in which we lived, the era your are advertising did not have a quarter of the intelligence and savvy we now have to fight corruption, there was no social media, maybe you are not able to fight because you may be accepting of such behavior….so speak for thyself.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Why dont the government put restrictions on the amount of bribes they take, the amount of contracts they distribute to crooked business people and instead share the contracts evenly, why cant the crooked business people accept smaller contracts and the crooked government stagger contract distribution…..it’s their greed causing the island’s bankruptcy. .why should the poor continually be the ones sacrificing.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ya’ll thief land and hand over taxpayers land to crooks AC….what’s the difference between a businessman who is a crook and a squatter looking for a piece of land or a house to sleep at night with family….answer that and I will agree with you.

36. after years of living on govt land for free now the maniacs who pretends to be soothsayers says govt should give the land to the squatters,,,, now my question to all those who are so noble and generous how if it was your land would you be so noble and generous to the squatters

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

If it was my land you and DBLP would be trying to steal it for Bjerkham and Maloney and Bizzy and Cow..and…..and,….and Clare Cowan and Del Mastros and…and….and….

I would prefer the squatters have it….

38. @Colonel Buggy

Correct me if I am wrong but I usually follow the House debates and I do not remember this DLP government ever bringing the resolution to give the taxpayers land to these vultures.

Does anyone remember the debate?

39. @Well Well & Consequences February 29, 2016 at 11:09 PM “Simple…do you live in 1627 or 1838..we have to deal with the era in which we lived, the era your are advertising did not have a quarter of the intelligence and savvy we now have.

There is no evedence that human intellligence has increased in the past several hundred, or even the past several thousand years. So what are you talking about? Do you really believe that you are more intelligent than your great grand parents?

40. @Well Well & Consequences February 29, 2016 at 11:19 PM “What’s the difference between a businessman who is a crook and a squatter looking for a piece of land?”

The difference is that right now the squatters are shi!!ting in my drinking water, and i don’t like that one bit.

Would you like it if anybody was shi!!ing in your drinking water?

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

When it comes to our experts in Barbados I am always sceptical of what comes out of their mouths. These days you cannot tell if the interest is political or professional. Now If the Belle represents a major water contributory in our ‘reserves’ why is it not protected at all cost? How regular is the Belle tested that lead level readings are high? When was the lead first detected? Is there an identifiable source for this lead contamination. Besides lead are they any other physical, chemical or biological contaminants found that the authorities are not telling us about? How can the Belle be so important that authorities have allowed squatters who obviously dug pit wells in the area to establish ‘dwellings’. None of this makes sense, and begs the question to be asked and that is; is the Belle really a correct classification of our water zoning or just a mere arbitrary construct designed to serve another purpose?

42. @Prodigal Son

It was a PPP. Government’s in banana republics resort to this financing mechanism when broke and or driven by greed. Squatters have always been with us, any government is saddled with the social responsibility to address the matter. We like to politicize everything even to our detriment.

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Simple…again, speak for thyself, re no evidence of rising intelligence levels since the 1600s.

Correction: The governments, both DBLP, have allowed the squatters to shit in your water for over 25 years, they are the ones responsible for taking care of the problem…see what I mean about speaking for yourself re intelligence.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…the Belle squatting situation has been serving a political purpose for both corrupt governments for over 1/4 century, they both get to kick the issue around giving squatters false hope that a solution will be found for their removal, they both get elected and accumulate votes from the squatters based on their lies and promises…however, after being elected, they both ignore the squatting situation until next elections, they have both been doing so for decades, it works out well for both political parties.

The question we should be asking is how much land have both political parties doled out frrely to crooked business people in exchange for bribes, while the water threat in the Belle has been allowed to escalate by both political parties….you might be so horrified and disgusted by the answer, you would be tempted to call in environmental agencies on those parasites for politicians who without fail always violate the people’s trust..

45. Montezuma's Revenge Avatar
    Montezuma’s Revenge

@ Caswell

You on spot on brother. If the squatters can’t afford to bribe politicians then they shall remain squatters. The politicians are not going to give them land be cause they can’t afford to be anything other than squatters. The squatters are a nice politically dependant demographic and only money will change that, something they don’t have.

46. David February 29, 2016 at 6:42 PM #

@Crusoe

Relax, it is what politicians do. See the bigger story.

Fair enough, which is why even in the grand old free US of A, people are voting against the establishment, by showing support for that jackass Trump.

People are REALLY done wid politicians.

47. An edited version of the article was carried in last night’s edition of Barbados Today.

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

WWC

Then there is no way in the world the Belle could be a classified zone 1 area! The talk on here is about contamination of the Belle. If the Belle water becomes contaminated, that contamination has a source. We would have to assume that it is the squatters and if it is the squatters what are they using, doing or cultivating that is contributing to increased levels of lead in the Belle water that the authorities would not have notice a long time ago. This brings into question the regularity of testing done by the WWA, EPA, Public health or whoever else test water on the behalf of the state. Because, if you are telling me all of a sudden levels are high, you have to tell me from your random testing programme, the timeline that shows the gradual or exponential increase over time. I am tending towards the belief that this reading could be falsified, orchestrated or prep to put the Belle and squatters in the spotlight so there is finally a bonafide reason to move them other than the fact that the should not have been there from day 1. Knowing what we know about the WWA, I would ask for a testing outside of these agencies to validate their claims. Something just does not add up or is making any sense.

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

If there is in fact lead in the ground water at the Belle, I could hardly come from the squatters. They don’t have waterborne sanitation systems, and in any event, they would hardly pass lead. Is there any manufacturing in the area?

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS….that’s the problem with these knuckle dragging neanderthals calling themselves pokiticians, you never know when they are lying, why they are lying or what they are trying to cover up, particularly when there are bribes involved….corruption is their personalized blight.