Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

On November 22nd 2015 I learnt of my expulsion from the Barbados Labour Party, an institution I served with diligence and distinction for 17 years.

That the decision made by the National Council of the [โ€ฆ]

Barbados Labour Party could so hastily and precipitously sever all relationship with one of its few

successful representatives in the House of Assembly has confused and disturbed, not just a Party or a Constituency but an entire nation of right thinking Barbadians.

Read Full Text

254 responses to “Christ Church West Affair: Dr. Maria Agard’s Press Conference”

1. …and because SOMEBODY has to be the catalyst for changing the shiite ‘rules and regulations’ in your shiite party….

You mean after we vote wunna asses out TWICE now, wunna was still planning to come back with the SAME SHIITE package?

Just thank God that somebody has the balls to do a man’s job. All like you, ‘Hats’ Pain, and the other eunuchs in that party should be ASHAMED that the lady doctor had to come and do a man’s job fuh wunna….

2. If you think that balls do hard work…consider a uterus delivering a 10 pound baby or two, or three or more.

3. …and how do you think the baby got there in the first place…?

4. LT.HORATIO CAINE. Avatar
    LT.HORATIO CAINE.

Prodigal this whole episode is killing you,it appears that you never envisioned that it would have such an outcome,and the remarkable thing is you are constantly trying to defend a so called tyrannical despot.If Maria Agard did not have a problem with Mia Mottley two months ago it is obvious it was because she was literally bound and gagged by the so called party policy that was being rammed down her throat, so she had to say what was expected of her, we all know that she was being bullied so she decided to go with the flow.Your cohorts kicked her out and threw her to the curb so now that she is not bound or obligated to her once beloved party,she has decided to expose the bones of her contention for all and sundry to see and hear and we are listening,it certainly is not music to your ears but we love the tunes she is singing and the most ironic thing is, your party faithful is also enjoying the music,you see she was unfairly treated and it cannot be justified no matter how much spin you or anyone else try to put to it. The so called lightweight has dealt a serious blow to your leader and it has all the makings to be fatal.From the outset when i saw that a certain individual was speaking on this matter all the way from in Europe i knew he was giving advice and his advice has always been skewed because of his dirty motives,and i said this situation is going to be handled wrong and it will get out of hand and true to form it has and is now a sordid experience for the Barbados Labor Party,so prodigal if you are looking for someone to cast some blame on blame the two poll man.

5. ……. “because SOMEBODY has to be the catalyst for changing the shiite โ€˜rules and regulationsโ€™ in your shiite partyโ€ฆ.”

And look where she is now…………..a woman without a party and begging to be taken back.

………………”You mean after we vote wunna asses out TWICE now, wunna was still planning to come back with the SAME SHIITE package?”……………………

And look where the country is now……..down the toilet.

Does any of this make sense?

I am looking forward to BUP, Bushie. Are you going to suggest that any of the members can publicly shame the BUP like Maria has done to her party?

Hope you will feel the same way when one of BUP’s members behave like Maria.

6. “LT.HORATIO CAINE. December 4, 2015 at 12:34 AM #

Prodigal this whole episode is killing you,it appears that you never envisioned that it would have such an outcome,and the remarkable thing is you are constantly trying to defend a so called tyrannical despot”……………………….

Just like the whole episode of Thompson and his cohorts did to Clyde Mascoll killed you dems as the party was on the brink of destruction.

If that episode did not destroy the DLP, Maria Agard would not be allowed to destroy the BLP!

7. Maria Iโ€™ve just met a girl named Maria and suddenly that nameโ€ฆ.uh sorry about thatโ€ฆ.my inner tenor is struggling to get out as the name is a reminder of my salad days when one of the first movies I saw was West Side Story at the Bridgetown Plazaโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ…

I hope that Maria doesnโ€™t fall victim to her rhetoric ah mean it is embarrassing to be publicly humiliated but rational people understand that the events of the past few weeks were orchestrated by Mia and her minions and nothing Maria did would have changed the outcome.

And Maria if you are gung ho about reinstatement and the Courts rule in your favourโ€ฆ..say thanks but no thanksโ€ฆ.. because returning to the Party under the Leader who expelled you would be a Faustian Bargain and you donโ€™t want to lose your soul.

8. At some point many of you will have to address the accusation by Agard the party did not give her the right to appeal in 28 days.

The other point is, consider Agard may not give two wuckups about returning to the party. If she feels this way, this makes her very dangerous.

9. @David December 4, 2015 at 1:50 AM “At some point many of you will have to address the accusation by Agard the party did not give her the right to appeal in 28 days.”

But aren’t we being disingenuous here.

Surely Maria a a long standing party member, and her learned Queen’s Counsel knew of her right to an appeal, and could have initiated such an appeal.

Lord!!! no wonder our legal system is so constipated.

10. If something is a RIGHT David, then nobody has to GIVE it to you.

11. @Simple

Very simple view of the issue. The party had to reserve the right and it did not hence Agard’s recourse to our moribund Court.

12. @Prodigal
    Why are you wasting your time? The Salemites are not interested in the truth; some are after the protection and maintenance of power and others are searching for that elusive change agent after being embarrassed by the one thought to be messianic. Truth be told, an agent of change would not be caught dead at the opening of a polyclinic badly conceived, plagued with massive overruns and named after a key player in the $3.333 Clico ChequeGate.

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

As Bush Tea has shared this profound wisdom with us de ole man, knowing dat today is Friday, and that my Madam going mek me go to de Feed my Sheep ting, up heah early tiefing time pun BU

Bush Tea said “…Just thank God that somebody has the balls to do a manโ€™s job. All like you, โ€˜Hatsโ€™ Pain, and the other eunuchs in that party should be ASHAMED that the lady doctor had to come and do a manโ€™s job fuh wunnaโ€ฆ.”

The truth is that with all the disgruntled actors (I tek dat word disgruntled from a nex blog heah with a next despot) Dr. Maria Agard has done what Pain and Oblong Head Kerrie so called big balled men, could not do.

I used the word lightweight for Dr Agard in the context of national following as a potential contender for BLP party leadership however as the tip of the spear in making this ruption within the Trioka, she is a heavyweight so I guess if we seek to rationalize the two titles, she is now an unstoppable middleweight

14. Prodigirl you Enuff and other BLP dreamers wasting wunna time.

George Payne……last week ……long before Maria announced she going to court

George Payne declared that Maria will be the BLP candidate for CH.CH. West.

Maria want to rejoin the BLP to become the leader of the party.

She has the numbers to support her.

Mia has been outfoxed again
    !
    She will be removed as leader of the opposition very soon.

Maria words……’ the BLP leader today….can be changed tomorrow!’

Owen Arthur words……’let the BLP….worry about my next move! ‘

George Payne words…..’ Maria is an honest ans good MP…..she will carry the BLP flag in CH.CH West in 2018 !’

Mia is a Despot and Tyrannical Autocrat and dangerous LIAR

Mia told the whole world that Maria spoke at the meeting of November 22, 2015..a blatant bold face LIE!
    Mia cannot be trusted……she is finished….POLITICALLY!

George Payne…..will never forgive her for ignoring him and Ronald Toppin.

Mia …….you have been caught with your pants…..down! !!!!

15. “Bush Tea December 4, 2015 at 12:26 AM #

โ€ฆand how do you think the baby got there in the first placeโ€ฆ?”

By having been artificially inseminated as is the case with the Dr Maria Mgard vs Mia Mottley impasse

16. “David December 4, 2015 at 2:30 AM #

@Simple

Very simple view of the issue. The party had to reserve the right and it did not hence Agardโ€™s recourse to our moribund Court.”

And what can the court make the party do if as you infer Dr Agard is right and the party is wrong?

๏ˆ

17. Sometimes putting”things” in their right perspective can be difficult especially when emotion takes the control.
    Agard actions presently resonates out of and what is known to be factual 1.from the the nine charges which her party leadership and executive council made against her 2,the action of expulsion which came resulting from these charges
    Presently no other charges have been made against Agard ; based on a guaranteed Constitutional Right Agard and her legal counsel has decided to seek remedy as an action for correction by legal apparatus
    The focal point of reinstatement is attached because of the harsh disciplinary action the BLP made
    If a reversal of the BLP actions is made towards Agard it does not necessarily means she have to acknowledge
    However the reversal clears the way for immediacy or a “do over” giving the leadership a new lease by way of formulating changes for healing which may be difficult but can be done but most importantly takes the Agard issue out of the public domain
    Nevertheless Mia leadership would continue to be under scrutiny as her methodology for healing means making necessary changes to resolve in house issues
    If Agard should remain it would be better for the BLP and causes for further embarrassment would have been curtailed somewhat ,However if she goes the political stakes for Mia remains high as Agard can now used the leverage of freedom of expression to expose issues within the BLP party which are privy to members only.
    A loyal party member stays loyal as long as the member remains confines within the membership corridors
    If an alternative path is taken by the aggrieved member it reverses any benefits which the party /or organization would have achieved through remedy given that the member allegiance has been permanently severed and free to resort to methods which can further harm or hurt the organization reputation . Exhibit A OSA

18. @balance et al

If the court decision goes in her favour what will the message be about governance practiced by the BLP? Could it prove a catalyst for further discussion about democratizing political parties in Barbados? Do you know? What do you see in your crystal ball. Tell us!

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/75196/late-reports-grey

Great…..how do they expect anything else to work well, it’s all coming out in the wash.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP December 4, 2015 at 5:34 AM
    โ€œProdigirl you Enuff and other BLP dreamers wasting wunna time.
    George Payne declared that Maria will be the BLP candidate for CH.CH. West.
    Maria want to rejoin the BLP to become the leader of the party.
    She has the numbers to support her.โ€

Fractured BLP (Brainless Lying Pimp), you are a real dunce when it comes to the study of political science. You would have scored an “F” in any first year Political Science class.
    How could she become the leader when Dale Marshall and Kerrie Symmonds both see themselves as serious contenders before the โ€˜johnny-come-latelyโ€™ Maria?

Why would the other young BLP members hitch their political wagons to a political dead horse called Ballistic Maria?
    Maria despite her own personal health challenges will be unable to keep her Ch Ch West seat in the next general elections. She will be unable to get along with any executive team in that constituency.
    How can Maria ever be a future candidate for the BLP when the very executive of the Ch Ch West constituency do not want her and will not be endorsing her. Neither do the National Executive of the party.
    Pray tell us how will she be a candidate carrying the BLP flag into the next general elections.

Yes she could be a candidate alright. But under the auspices of the top brass of DLP to use her as a pawn. Since Verla Depeiza has no intentions of seeing her hard work go to waste in her attempt to be the first DLP representative for the same Ch, Ch West (and a future first female DLP P M) Ms Agard will have to look elsewhere to be a candidate.

Since it seems you guys are backing away from accepting poor abused and orphaned Maria into your home of peace, succor, comfort and opportunity, what about sub-adopting her to St. Peter to replace Benn and to piss off those โ€˜inferior peasantsโ€™, as she would certainly view them? OSA can be her campaign manager (she is accustomed to working โ€˜under himโ€™) since he claims he has no intentions whatsoever in running for electoral politics again.

But I do take my hat off to the strategists in the DLP. Let us use this Maria spat as sprat for distraction from the myriad problems facing the country. Why not use this red herring as the perfect opportunity to sell off the remaining shares in the most financially stable and viable private sector company in the country putting the NIS funds at further risks of failure and collapse in true CLICO fashion.

21. โ€œI dared to speak out against the practice of the silence of omerta that prevents members of this institution from airing the evils that are practiced within, BECAUSE I BELIEVE THAT BY CARRYING THAT PRACTICE OF LEARNED SILENCE TO GOVERNMENT AND WORST YET, TO CABINET, WE AS POLITICIANS HAVE BEEN WITNESS TO SOME OF THE GRAVEST ATROCITIES LEVELED ON OUR PEOPLE WHILE WE ADHERE TO SILENCE BECAUSE THAT IS ALL WE HAVE EVER PRACTICED. โ€œ

โ€œWhat good can come of this practice, when A COUNTRY SINKS DEEPER AND DEEPER INTO DEBT, WITH NO SIGNS OF RELIEF FROM EITHER POLITICAL PARTY BECAUSE OUR VOW IS A DEAFENING SILENCE AND COMMITMENT TO PARTY ABOVE COUNTRY.โ€

Powerful words, Ms Agardโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ perhaps Fruendel โ€œthe sleeping giantโ€ Stuart could learn a thing or two from you.

22. @David December 4, 2015 at 6:37 AM #

You keep talking about Court……the Court cannot dictate to the BLP to take her back.

Read Belle&Joseph on todays BT pg3 on this issue,I am not tech savvy to put up a link.

Political parties have a morality of their own and do things to suit themselves,read Michael Rudder in todays BT pg16,if you could also put up that link.

23. “David December 4, 2015 at 6:37 AM #

@balance et al

If the court decision goes in her favour what will the message be about governance practiced by the BLP? Could it prove a catalyst for further discussion about democratizing political parties in Barbados? Do you know? What do you see in your crystal ball. Tell us!”

My crystal ball tells me that there is no hope for the system of governance in Barbados and political partisanship would continue to rear its ugly head to the detriment of real progress unless persons like you with the capacity to effect change stop talking the talk and walk the walk.
    The same criticism constantly levelled against the Auditor General for his inaction which is not of his own making can be levelled against you for allowing tangible issues CLICO for example to die a natural death after a nine day wonder of self- aggrandising comment.

24. Arta@8.21am
    Perhaps Dr Agard’s speech will erase any doubts that Hal Gollop was sent by Stuart to represent her in the matter at hand.Her utterances are directed at the performance of Stuart and his cabinet of ‘acquiescers’ of the silent ruling minority.Secondly,this goodly lady has shown she is no fool and is now a serious contender in the halls of leadership of a political party.If only they match intent with reality.We are witnessing the foolishness that is now governance in Guyana,where a party related the nastiness of a coolie cabal and 6 months into forming the government,nothing has been done to haul the coolie and nigga thieves there before the court.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Anunnaki and Artaxerxes

You ever went to a cricket match, as a West Indian, and saw Brian Lara mekking runs, but then when Warne comes out to bat, found yourself involuntarily applauding when our opponents executed a glorious four to the boundary?

There is something about discourses, by brilliant minds that, even though it is obvious who a person is supporting, make you stand back and cheer, or in this case, “like” both sound, yet opposing views.

The point that many here and elsewhere are making about “why would Dr Agard use the courts to insist on reinstatement in a party which expelled her” can be discoursed at many levels by few people and few levels by many people.

The Sage Annunaki and Artaxerxes fall into the first group who can selectively speak to (I) the emotive strategy behind her actions (ii) the political strategy both merits and demerits and they can (iii) provide permutations arising from her actions

The other Legion and AC, not this one, commenting of late exemplifies the ubiquitous grouping of brass bowls, the second group whom the old man said can only discuss “few levels”

The point that I am ranting about is that Very few people can vote for both of you and more importantly as brilliant as you two made posit and counter posit in your sequential submissions at 8.13 and 8.21 a.m. wunna dun know dat dere is a plentitude of brass bowls out there who cannot rise to the level of understanding of what omertร  is, nor understand the sound rationale behind what the ambition of Smiley Teets Marshall of the “search dogs are looking for living specimens at the Arch Cot tragedy” or that of oblong head Kerrie Simmonds, and what that means to the perception of Maria Agard’s possible ambition to lead the BLP.

Wunna is Platos in the presence of Brass bowls but joust on noble gents, de ole man watcheth with a hope that some morsels will drop off the table and I can eat…

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel December 4, 2015 at 9:02 AM
    โ€œHer utterances are directed at the performance of Stuart and his cabinet of โ€˜acquiescersโ€™ of the silent ruling minority.Secondly,this goodly lady has shown she is no fool and is now a serious contender in the halls of leadership of a political party..โ€

What the perfect opportunity to follow in the footsteps of that great agent of change EWB?
    Instead of being a political grasshopper let her form her own party.

The longest journey on the road to political change and better governance must begin with the first step.
    Let Maria put her political feet where her mouth full of principles lies and start her own party.
    There are many around to help her along the way, including you Gabriel the arch enemy of despots.

27. Can a court force a political party to reinstate any member who suffered expulsion? I am no lawyer but as we all know law is simply commonsense and interpretation. As I said before, Mia did not unilaterally and solely dismissed Maria, it was a grouping call an executive following laws and bye-laws of an unincorporated association. Why is fingers pointing to Mia only? Why is the personal vendetta when a grouping would have made the decision? The only thing that can happen is the court listening to both side as an arbitrator and give a view that will not affect the decision. The feeling from the learnt legal team is of the opinion that her expulsion was done behind her back. We must ask. Was she asked to leave? Was force used to get her out of the meeting? Suppose a corporate entity had a meeting with a staffer and during the meeting the staffer walked out, will the staffer have rights for re-employment?

Here is a food for thought…
    “the Court, in deciding that members of the great bulk of unincorporated associations have no legal rights which would be affected by a wrongful expulsion, did not consider two vital issues: the source of any legally binding force given to rules purporting to dedicate the property of an unincorporated association to non-charitable purposes, and the nature of an unincorporated association as, not an entity, but a relationship between individuals”

Is this a wise decision since the focus is between two individuals and not a party. I say no more.

28. How on earth can any right thinking person jump to the conclusion that Maria can form a political party and win. Let’s take a look at when Richie Haynes leave the DLP and formed his party with a couple of dissidents withe the expectation of winning the election and came out the losers. Richie had more credentials to be a Prime Minister/Finance Minister and a great public speaker. Stop dreaming people.

29. @Vincent

The opinions of political scientists are just that, opinion. We are discussing outcomes if as Jeff Cumberbatch opines the decision by NC is squashed.

30. @ David December 4, at 6:37 AM…”If the court decision goes in her favour what will the message be about governance practiced by the BLP? Could it prove a catalyst for further discussion about democratizing political parties in Barbados? Do you know?” ————

David, this social media site BU was and is CHANGE. This site will eventually be cited by historians, UWI raconteurs and the like as a catalyst in the Bajan society. This is real.

In my view the issue of Dr Agard’s court challenge does not presage ANY serious change in that context re political parties. Not real in the least.

The party structure is built on process – Roberts Rules of Order, Legal Precedents etc, and people break those rules/laws daily and challenges are won and lost daily as a result. Why would this challenge on rules process prove to be a clarion difference? What is so seminally special about it?

Are you suggesting that Dr Agard’s situation will incite and excite modern political upheaval because the time is right or that principles have aligned perfectly?

Incidentally, if Caswell Franklyn went into a labour hearing and was unceremoniously dismissed, how would you perceive his decision NOT to invoke a rule allowing appeal which the Labour Board denied him? Strategic and deliberate. I presume. As he would definitely KNOW the rules related to appeal.

So I agree with you that Dr Agard is being astute and strategic re her court battle.

Thus @Simple is absolutely right. The fact that the committee denied her right of appeal is basically irrelevant…she would have known the rules and she now wants this fight to be as protracted as possible and as public as possible. Thus to the courts she goes.

She gambled and lost badly at the first stage…she can only now (as Caswell did with his QC matter) move forward with next stage of her strategy: public appeal of shame and blame and hope to muddy the waters enough that she can pull out a surprise.

They are both being practical. But it’s hard for me to see the apex of change agency in either situation. We do not live in Utopia as you so often remind us, although we often seem to gesture and act in that way!!

31. @David December 4, 2015 at 10:19 AM #

PLAN B…..Jeff in his article referred to an alternate way of expelling her.

When will you understand it has nothing at all to do with her,she is but a pawn in a bigger game and her mouthings may play to the gallery but in the end will change nothing.

In the game of politics the leader has to be paramount,if you want to change that you can come up with a new governance system that excludes politics…..how many times must you hear that politics is not a sunday school.

32. @Vincent

BU gives way to your greater knowledge of this matter.

33. @Artaxerxes December 4, at 8:21 ” I dared to speak out against the practice of the silence of omerta …โ€œWhat good can come of this practice…”———–

When I listened to those words from Dr Agard’s presser I smiled. First, because I reminded me of my first Mack Bolan novel wid that word ‘omerta’ and then because I recalled the picture of the doctor on the balcony of parliament with Payne et al.

I am further amused that you cite “perhaps Fruendel … Stuart could learn a thing or two from you” because I was concerned that a change agent who speaks of UN conventions on corruption and omerta and such high brow intentions could contemplate kibitzing wid the decidedly low brow DLP.

But this is politics and style points do count for a lot…Dr. Agard is certainly stylish in word and otherwise.

BTW, Donald Trump is leading his party’s other candidates by 20 frigging points in recent polls…now talk about STYLE. He is it.

So with respect to the the doctor – I have said I DO NOT know the lady’s character – style wins the day but substance wins the election.

Mack Bolan put the wrong-doers to bed. Aggressively. What exactly can the doc really do to support her pretty words? If omerta foiled her in the BLP, does she expect a difference in the DLP?? Steeeupse! What hypocrisy we are peddling.

Where is the damn third party? Both these groups are terribly annoying and disingenuous.

Let another fresh bunch come and play de game, fah real.

34. @Vincent, I have to stop agreeing wid you otherwise the blog may think we are doing some sort of tag-team ‘insider trading’.

So, at 10:45 AM, your remarks are absolutely ridiculous and do not comport to rational thinking, legal precedent and reality.

—“… her mouthings may play to the gallery but in the end will change nothing” This is nonsensical.

—” In the game of politics the leader has to be paramount,if you want to change that you can come up with a new governance system that excludes politicsโ€ฆ..how many times must you hear that politics is not a sunday school”. And this is pathetic.

Where do you come up with dis level of 2nd form discourse. Did you go to cawmere during August and September? Were you a cadet and regularly had to be placed on ‘fatigue’ wid a 303 in your hands in the blistering hot sun. My peeps tell me all about that place up there, so I know.

Ok, are we clear here @ Vincent? oh lawd!

35. @de Ingrunt Word December 4, 2015 at 11:08 AM #

Chuckle…….yup,agreed……Bajans too love conspiracy theories,especially dah one from the alumni dat too love he bush medicine.

Nah…..we used to shoot sheep on the range……chuckle,my era cawmerians would know what I mean.

36. Pray tell how Mara actions compromised of charges which lead to explusion be a catalyst or sufficient enough upon which she can now be well seaoned and prepared to form a third or any political party.
    So far her potfolio as a parliamentarian representative is questionable and remains in confusion and conflict
    Furthermore nothing of substance of which she has given voice in regards to House bills can be seen as as a cursor or base guidline on which she can start a political party.
    Her only claim to fame so far his built on determination to fight for a Constitutional Right and self preservation
    Any thing above board on the political landscape she has yet to prove herself capable

37. ac December 4, 2015 at 12:20 PM #

โ€œPray tell how MARA……………..”

“So far HER PORTFOLIO as a PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATIVE is QUESTIONABLE and remains in confusion and conflict. Furthermore NOTHING of SUBSTANCE of which she has given voice in regards to House bills can be seen as a cursor or base guideline on which she can start a political party. Anything above board on the political landscape she has yet to prove herself capable.โ€

AC, please note, you wrote MARA.

This is your BEST contribution to BU. Your comments about MARA THOMPSON are an accurate, in depth analysis of her tenure in parliament and as the parliamentary representative of St. John.

38. Braffit shoot one little sheep and you gotta tell the whole damn world Vincent…?
    ..snitch..!

39. @Bush Tea December 4, 2015 at 1:16 PM #

Chuckle……yuh buoy……ah wha yuh a cal deh nim fuh……..yuh see this OMERTA thing going around the blog…..yuh better be careful here.

40. @Bushie. Good comments and I agree, for the most part.

Maria will win her case. It is clear and trite law. That is the first step. What the Court orders after giving its decision on the legality of her expulsion, I don’t intend to speculate on. I see that the BLP spin doctors are very much in evidence on BU, but, as is usual with spin doctors, they, like our self-appointed pollster Mr Wickham, seriously underestimate the intelligence of the electorate. Because, the electorate will asking itself the question; if Mia denies Maria her rights and natural justice, how can Mia be depended on to defend the rights and natural justice due to the electorate, if it suits her ends and desires not to.

Mia had done a lot to polish up her tarnished reputation for a while. She had started to look statesmanlike to me. I regret that I do see her conduct over Maria as in any way statesmanlike or even lawyer-like, but rather the actions of a spoiled brat, supported by a bunch of brass bowls (thanks Bushie). I think the BLP needs to seriously reconsider its leadership now in the interests of the country and forget the ballot box for once.

As for Maria being a lightweight, I refer you to what the UK press is calling “the mouse that roared” in connection with Hilary Benn’s speech in the UK parliament earlier this week when he took on his party leader head on. He is no longer considered a mouse – and neither is Maria – that misconception, spin doctors, will not spin any longer, so try for another tack.

41. @ Enuff December 4, 2015 at 4:30 AM #

@Prodigal
    Why are you wasting your time? The Salemites are not interested in the truth; some are after the protection and maintenance of power and others are searching for that elusive change agent after being embarrassed by the one thought to be messianic. Truth be told, an agent of change would not be caught dead at the opening of a polyclinic badly conceived, plagued with massive overruns and named after a key player in the $3.333 Clico ChequeGate.
    ……………………………………………………………

Agree Enuff. Thanks and this is my last post on the matter…..it is a waste of time…….the DLP mafia is playing this for all it is worth to detract from the myriad problems plaguing this country. Wait for the latest bad news from the CBB.

Bunch of hypocrites.

This started out as a branch problem where an sitting MP could not get on with a duly elected executive. She refused to work with the branch and now it has ended up as a Mia problem where even the Maria if she is honest to herself has been acting like a bully and a tyrant.

A political branch is usually only made up of a small amount of faithful, committed people until election time when the more of the faithful come out in force. These people are usually the mainstay of the party. If she refused to work with them, what does that make her…………not the same bully and tyrant she accuses Mia to be? Is she not displaying the same autocratic behaviour of which she is accusing the leader?

Bloody hypocrite.

The same OSA who now has become the opposition to the Opposition refused to deal with this matter, passed it over to the same George Payne who did nothing about it but to leave it to fester. They could not solve the problem but now have all the answers.

They used the naive Agard to push their agenda and she is not even aware that she was being used. Look at the people around her………..the remnants of OSA who refused to accept that a woman is the leader of the BLP. Watch the antics of George Griffith and Lynette Eastmond……….losers.

Agard does not care about the party only about her own survival. When she now has realised is that she needs a party to be relevant. She played her last card with that press conference.

Just to show how naive she is………….attending that sham of the opening of the polyclinic. If she had any sense, she would have stayed far from that but no, she thought she had all the cards………she even wore blue on her suit!

The OSA lucky he was not the first one to be expelled….he ran before he could be!

42. @Prodigal
    You are a true supporter of the BLP.You must realize when the game is up.The party is in serious trouble now led by mischief makers,strife makers,societal deviants and idolaters.Nasty people.Given the current choice,most will prefer Stuart.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Ah….the pause that refresheth…

I see that you came, as you should and as you will…

When persons like you weigh in ole menses like me sit and read every one of your words BECAUSE you do not speak frivolously.

You are a person of whom it can truly be said “when but the poor hath cried, Caesar hath wept..”

You will note that I will no longer mention your name because “I see you” and know that they are looking and I hope that you and the others who are party to what is so obvious to those who see, are able to bring that change that is needed.

“Usuthu”

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Amused December 4, 2015 at 2:29 PM
    โ€œMaria will win her case. It is clear and trite law. That is the first step. What the Court orders after giving its decision on the legality of her expulsion, I donโ€™t intend to speculate on.โ€

Would the same Court, in arriving at its decision, be prepared to examine “objectiveโ€ evidence in the form of video recordings of the proceedings during the alleged kangaroo court hearing of the disciplinary charges brought against Ms Agard and laid before the BLP National Council?

Would the same Court also be prepared to accept into evidence the many postings by the same plaintiff on that well known viral social medium Facebook in their deliberations before reaching a decision about the legality of her expulsion?

45. The christian name oopf the opposition leader in Barbados, by next week, will begin with the letter ‘M’

But it won’t be….Mia !!!!!!!

Prodigirl…..yuh lost

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel December 4, 2015 at 4:20 PM”
    “The party is in serious trouble now led by mischief makers,strife makers,societal deviants and idolaters.Nasty people.Given the current choice,most will prefer Stuart.โ€

Nothing wrong with that choice. Stuart it will be then.
    What’s new about that? Didn’t the same electorate express a similar choice of rejection in 2008 and a preference for Stuart over Owen in 2013. What is that telling you, political blind man, when the electorate chose Stuart over Arthur even in the light of the performance of Stuart from November 2010 to January 2013?

47. Maria is not perceived to be a light weight based upon her right to be free of political shackles that restrain or conform but that is as far as it goes
    The real test of her weight would be in the months or years when or if she soilidfies her political words with quantitive and quality actions
    If Maria can do all of the above then sge would recognized as a potential candidate for leadership
    At present she is sitting comfortably under the umbrella of Constitutional law where she is protected
    However when that window closes if she chooses to pursye a path in politics with a leadership goal in mind her actions just like all potential leaders would be scrutinzed to every fault.
    Then and only then would her weight be throughly measured against feather or a steel

48. @Miller. Civil freedom includes the right to freedom of expression, the right to dissent. As an MP, Maria is sworn to uphold the rights and freedoms of the people, not the BLP and this responsibility ranks as superior to any party obligations. If we had a proper FOI law, part of that would include guidelines for whistleblowers and Maria would, in other more enlighten countries where “caveat rumpus” is not the prime objective, be under. Mia too has an obligation, both as a member of the Inner Bar and therefore supposed to know the law with the obligation to uphold same come what may AND as LoO, that means she has the obligation to protect rights and freedoms under the Constitution, which she is clearly delinquent in doing here and it must therefore be assumed she would be similarly and catastrophically delinquent in doing for all of the rest of us, were she actually running the show. That is by no means acceptable.

However, to answer your questions, video and audio recording can certainly be accepted by the courts, provided certain guidelines as to the recording and storage of same are met AND it is of probative value – which, in my view, it is, as the question is whether or not the BLP followed its own rules. Therefore, the point about whether Maria posted blogs or comments on blogs is irrelevant – and very difficult to prove if she denies it. After all, anyone can post blogs under whatever name they like. Hell, I could post under Jeff’s name, except everyone would know it wasn’t Jeff, because everyone would be able to understand it without a dictionary and it wouldn’t be ambiguous on opinion – no disrespect Jeff, after all you write under your own name and i am merely amused. The onus to prove it was Maria, if she denies it, is clearly on the other side. But even if she admits it, I fail to see what possible probative value it could have in relation to the central case that the BLP breached, and undoubtedly breached, its own rules, which rules are in any case subordinate to the Laws of Barbados, including and especially the Constitution and breached natural justice.

Bottom line: Mia has screwed up royally and I do not see how, in the circumstances, anyone can have any confidence in a government of which she is head to protect their rights and liberties. Which is a pity as the jokers in office now need to have a viable alternative. But at least they pay lip service to democracy, instead of evidencing fascism as the BLP has. I have always been, wherever possible, a BLP supporter and the BLP now offends me greatly, but there again, so does the DLP, Stuart excepted. So, new leader needed, Miller, a credible leader. Maybe Maria? Trouble is, would Maria accept the kind go chaff in the BLP that the DLP visits on poor Freundel? I mean, just take a look at the JA brass bowl we have as AG. Wait, wasn’t Mia once AG? Must be catching…..like flu.

49. This comment was removed from both Barbados Today and from the Nation News. I think that Barbadian public is being taken for fools. Quite frankly instead of falling into the trap of taking sides in the Mottley/Agard debacle, citizens should ask that both political representatives do their jobs as elected representatives. They have a responsibility to be effective members of the Opposition by adequately scrutinising the policies of the state.

I believe that Agard was unwise in tossing in her lot with other disgruntled members of her party. Frankly, instead of getting into cahoots with them (see ‘Mariaโ€™s supporters?’ in Barbados Today- http://www.barbadostoday.bb/20… ) she should have resolved her issues with Mottley on her own. She is capable enough and intelligent enough to have done so without needing a posse. In securing her standing with Mottley, she would have been better able to bring the members of her branch into line.

On the other hand, Mottley erred as a leader by not allowing clear lines of authority to be maintained at the branch level. Frankly, encouraging persons at the branch level who had grievances with Agard to feel justified in their intransigence was unwise. Leaders should never allow the grievances that they have with senior colleagues to be taken advantage of by other members in their organisations. This only fuels disrespect for authority and distrust in organisations. Mottley’s actions are disappointing because she is a veteran political leader and should know better.

My comment to the members of the branch: If you did not want to support a member who was elected by the people, they why did you continue to serve?

My comment to Agard: You were elected as a member of the BLP. Did you not see it as your responsibility to maintain proper relations with the members, especially with the leader of your party?

My comment to Mottley: Why did you allow a candidate whose leadership you did not support to represent your party? If her leadership skills were so lacking, then why was she allowed to run as a BLP candidate?

I cannot take sides. Both Agard and Mottley are in the wrong. My expectations of their conduct are high because they are both intelligent and capable women…

At a time when Barbados needs a cohesive opposition to scrutinise the actions of the government, the dispute between Agard and Mottley is an unnecessary distraction from far more important issues…

Additionally, I find it intriguing that Arthur has branded Mottley as a ‘despot.’ Was Arthur not the one who trained and mentored Mottley? Didn’t Arthur deal with his foes in a similar manner? I believe that Arthur’s memory is one of convenience… If arthur really cared about the fate of Agard, he would have provided better mentorship and counsel for her and other potential female leaders in the BLP. The reality is that his star pupil, Mottley, believes that she has outgrown him and his ego is bruised…