Dr. Maria Agard, Christ Church West M.P.

On November 22nd 2015 I learnt of my expulsion from the Barbados Labour Party, an institution I served with diligence and distinction for 17 years.

That the decision made by the National Council of the [โ€ฆ]

Barbados Labour Party could so hastily and precipitously sever all relationship with one of its few

successful representatives in the House of Assembly has confused and disturbed, not just a Party or a Constituency but an entire nation of right thinking Barbadians.

Read Full Text

254 responses to “Christ Church West Affair: Dr. Maria Agard’s Press Conference”

1. @Maria and David,
    Let me be the first to commend Maria for her stance and the words she wrote.I was a member of the Christ Church West Constituency Council, when Maria was elected. I had to resign soon after when I became ill. I kept in touch with the Council, however, and know that Maria, in her desire to serve the people of Christ Church West, indicated her desire to visit the Constituency Council, to observe its functioning and to assist it. Because of circumstances (nothing to do with the Council,) who were prepared to accede to her request, she did not come. It may have been illness, or because it did not fit in with the “party politics”; remember that the BLP were never in favour of the Constituency Councils, whatever, she was missed.

I believe she is sincere in her pronouncements and wish her well in her noble cause.
    I have said it before and will continue to say it; the type of adversarial behaviour in the political arena of such a small island, is not healthy for the populace. We can be good debaters without animosity, profanity, and vituperative responses to the other person’s points. Stand fast Maria.

2. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maria Agard’s Speech:

“I long for the day when as a national commitment to good governance, all parliamentarians support and demand the ratification of the United Nations Convention against Corruption, to which we have been signatory since December 10th 2003 with no further progress hence, one of only 21 countries of the United Nations to refuse to do so, a disgrace that must be corrected with urgency.”

Is this not a shame that DBLP refuses to adhere to the UN Conventions against corruption because they are both too corrupt. What a shame.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Was Maria’s legal team at her side during the much publicized Press conference?

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Good question….Miller

5. The lawyers has thrown a noose around Mia/s neck placing here between a rock and a hard place there is no advantage for Mia reinstating Agard and is there none to letting her take the matter to the court
    In the final analysis the court of public appeal would have the last and final say at the voting booth,
    At present Agard is in the drivers seat having taking away all options that are politically feasible and rewarding for the Mottley
    The sympathy card was well played and once again well use as a viable support to gamer more sympathy to her cause
    Wonder what OSA has to say this time,

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I am glad Maria had the guts to expose all the parliamentarians for the destruction they continue to visit on the island for their refusal to bring an end to corruption, a first step.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Maria Agards Speech:

“I reject the tradition of securing the approval and vote of constituents by pandering to personal patronage, rather than by true representation, a representation defined and expressed in the facilitation of shared resources available to all through advocacy to government agencies and the fair distribution of these resources, not to the entitled partisan supporter, but to the most vulnerable and marginalized as a priority. I reject the practice of indebting myself to the monied class, with their own self directed interests who may be in conflict with national goals and development, and instead I embrace the tenets of integrity, transparency, and accountability”.

And she was not afraid to expand on what everyone knows and have been speaking about for years.

8. HAMILTON A HILL Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins… Can’t help but agree with the part of your comment that spoke to the adversarial nature of politics in tiny Barbados. Don’t you think that we too as commentators can play our part, by calling out obvious wrong doing, and not insulting the intelligence of others while attempting to tow party lines?……. While I don’t know much about Dr Maria Agard I always thought her to be one of the better debaters of the present crop of parliamentarians. Try as they did, she was never easily side tracked by the tandem of the motor mouth from St James South and the Pillsbury Doughboy. That said I remain leery of sweet sounding sentences coming from the mouth of a politician. After the abject disappointment I experienced believing an effing thief named David John Howard Thompson, I prefer to wait and see. Dr Agard you have said all the right things…….so too did thiefing Thompson, therein forms my quandary.

9. Lady Agard,

Your fifteen minutes of fame is over.

You allowed yourself to be used by the remnants of the OSA faction and you over played your hand.

They were using you to bring down Mia thus paving the way to bring back OSA. You were naive and immature and boxed yourself into a corner.

You did not know that the party is bigger than you.

Go peaceably………..go to court……..have your day in court. If you had shown any respect to the leadership of the party, you would not be in the mess you are in today.

The DLP is willing to take you………leave the BLP alone, you have done your damage.

10. Hamilton Hill,
    It is quite easy to accuse, another to provide PROOF, that will stand up to scrutiny. Unfounded accusations add to the heightened atmosphere of skepticism.

11. Prodigal son;
    Yard Drake.

12. It takes one to know one!

13. Miss Mottley has been in hiding. Taking Peter Wickham’s advice I see. Let’s see how well that works out for her after Dr. Agard and Mr. Gollop comments calling Miss Mottley and Dr. Walcott liars. It is also very interesting that OSA has also landed, on the cover of tomorrow’s paper, a death blow to Peter Wickham’s notion that Dr. Agard is weak candidate. swing them number Peter old boy.

Will you continue to run from comment on this matter to Peter Wickham?

To the likes of Prodigal Son, you may feel Dr. Agard is a political small fry but my word she is a pretty well spoken one and those are the ones that can stick sideways in you wind pipe and kill ya.

“Hold tight star”. ๐Ÿ˜€

14. A love triangle is a hard thing to deal with. It is actually one of the hardest things in the world to deal with. Don’t let your personal problems become the problem of the country of Barbados, we have enough to deal with as it is. This is what is alleged and you know who you are.

15. sometimes it is better to let people spit up in the air and allow it to drop nack down in their face and strangle them. It is a pity that Dr. Agard’s lawyer cannot put the same energy into recovering the Clico clients’ funds which his other client has misappropriated,

16. Is BU covering any of the St Vincent elections?

I predict NDP will win not because of any poll but once Peter Wickham is involved with ULP, they will lose.

I say to Mia if you want to win next election keep far from the black widow Peter.

17. Is CBC abusing the airwaves to promote attackers that have fundamental issues with a political party leader. When Owen wantonly abused Mia calling her all types of insulting names, CBC jump to the plate and repeat Owen’s attack on the opposition leader. Now today, Maria had a news conference and CBC again brought the full story after the news.
    Is this what journalism coming to. Crime is up and CBC ensure that a few lines are given. We have issues left, right and center and CBC refuses to air them.
    Does CBC know what is Priority News? Is the Head of News partisan or he/she reading from a supplied script? News should be decimated to the populace evenly regardless of political persuasion. Stop the bias CBC and lets have FAIR commentaries instead of FEAR commentaries.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Tell Me Why

THe news media has been warned NOT TO HIGHLIGHT TOO MUCH CRIME because we do not want to frighten the tourists, this is a ministerial dictate and what you see manifesting on CBC and the rest of the media is that dictate.

THe only place there is no muzzle of speech is BU and, as you see AC and legion are sent here to dissuade that every day

19. PUDRYR. I understand the motive. However, we must realise that political parties in-fighting usually drums up unrest with the populace. This instability does more harm than good. In other news, I am surprise with Griffith stance, probably he was back-raised from the GS post.

20. Shiite man!!
    This is the BEST political statement that ANY politician has EVER made in the history of Barbados.
    Wuh if Maria had inserted a few “brass bowls” and a BBE reference or two ….this could EASILY be mistaken for a Bush tea blog….. ๐Ÿ™‚

@ Caswell
    This woman is a good candidate for BUP yuh…. She and Donna…. after she shows Mia that PRINCIPLE trumps brawn when the right principles are applied.

@ Hamilton H
    To the extent that she has committed herself in WRITING to such ideals, Bushie is prepared to give her the benefits of any doubt…. unlike Teefing Thompson – who was known to do and say whatever it took to become PM, she has taken a principled stand when the chances of her losing EVERYTHING seemed like 100%….

Bushie is impressed.

21. Check the time I writing on BU.Dis thing too sweet to sleep. @ bushtea. ..once bitten, twice shy. I prefer to wait and see. Even though I am firmly entrenched in the movement that seeks to rid Barbados of the blight that is the new DLP,and believe with all of my heart that we can do no worse I would still be doubtful of a so called new party if certain characters are involved. When a man named Noel Lynch could tell David Ellis that he has a contribution to make to Barbados and it needs to be made from within cabinet, ya Doan think dat right thinking Barbadians would be bothered? David Gill whom I know to be humble, honest and decent once said to me”Hammie you may have a problem with my party, but you ain’t got none wid me”.He has not been able to turn around the party structure, so it begs the question what does honesty, decency and humility count for in the grand scheme of things? Prodigal Son reminded her that no man is bigger than the party. Bushie let me wait and see where Dr Agard ends up.

22. @ Alvin Cummins. …do ya understand the phrase WE TOO AS COMMENTATORS? OH I get it. You got out clothes so ya looking fa rain. I ain’t accuse nobody.

23. @BU Family

Audio of the Press Conference updated to the blog.

24. Maria you are too prim and proper. Apparently you do not survive in politics like that. Women hate people like that. You have to be more ghetto. Go on the blocks, go in the dubs, go in the rum shops.

I now see why you get fired.

It is hard to do that being a former QC girl but that is what politics is about. It is being popular amongst the maasses and apparent the masses are mainly “ghetto” people.

25. Do you know what happened to the Barbados Advocate website (barbadosadvocate.com)?

26. Maria seriously though, YOU are a political lightweight.

The constituents only interested in money especially ones in housing areas or the ones up in Four Roads. That is where the DLP will always trounce the BLP.

“Maria feel she great”. That is what Bajans say about people like Maria. We want Mia, someone who gine smoke on the block, go in the dub like Thompson, drink and wuk up in the streets like Michael Lashley.

I now see why Verla Depeiza will win.

27. “Bush Tea December 3, 2015 at 12:05 AM #

Shiite man!!
    This is the BEST political statement that ANY politician has EVER made in the history of Barbados.
    Wuh if Maria had inserted a few โ€œbrass bowlsโ€ and a BBE reference or two โ€ฆ.this could EASILY be mistaken for a Bush tea blogโ€ฆ.. :)”

Bushie take off your anti-Mia hat and stop talking shite like me and be more rational-

The press conference was much ado about nothing. Akin to the promised ‘tell all’ much publicised meeting against Barrow and the DLP that Gertz Eastmond made thousands of Barbadians travel to Bush Hall yard Gap. to hear but which turned out to be nothing more than hot air.

28. Those of us who want to see change in the ”politique” of the country will support Agard. In many cases it is nothing personal against Mia or the BLP, it is about doing something to force change.

29. About change: news was released yesterday the BLP will launch a ”covenant with Barbadians’ in January 2016. We wait to hear the details BUT how will it be different from the social contract (manifesto) both political parties used as a prop to win elections?

30. The Focus is now placed Again on Mia with the new and extended version of the agard issue having legal implications as stated by Agard lawyers also which can give Mia a new chance for redemption in the court of public opinion if explored in the correct manner .However Mia would have to weigh her chances of reinstatement against the disapproval of those in the party and the high risk of what the resulting reinstating of Agard can do negatively to contain her leader , A leadership already contaminated by disapproval and dissent within her party which can result in more harm than good as the scissors of her dissenters become better sharpened with an additional foe
    The lawyers have clearly used a political spanner to tighten the nut of dissent within the party and it would take a highly seasoned political engineer to release it
    This might be a seven day wonder which can become highly explosive given the numerous twist and turns already displayed
    The courts might be the right placed to iron and correct legal wranginly but the court cannot remove the dissent and division and stain already formed in the minds of public opinion against Mia Mottley

31. @David December 3, 2015 at 6:25 AM #

…..The more things change the more they remain the same…….a french saying

….Nothing new under the Sun…and…..All that glitters is not gold…… english sayings….

I remember Bim being promised change in 2008……………..how easy we forget our recent history.

…..Bajans have short memories……….a bajan saying

All that is being played out here under the guise of some moral imperative is a fight for the leadership of the party…..nothing more….change what!!!!

32. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@David, @6:38, re “BUT how will it be different from the social contract (manifesto) both political parties used as a prop to win elections”

So wasn’t your second girlfriend different from your first one although you could have married either one and achieved the same result as husband and father (all other things being normal, of course). And maybe your third GF was a little taller and had a cuter smile than the others and dressed like a princess whenever she was in public.

So of course this covenant is another GF…wonderfully different yet absolutely has all the same bits and pieces like those of previous lovely girlfriends.

And of course new GF’s always have the allure of exciting treasures to be discovered and new things to be done….and you are already starting to take notice of this new potential. Good for you !!! LOLLL.

Those who have been married and now older and slower cast a careful and very jaundiced eye on the outer beauty of new prospects because after that X is consummated…de few false teets in the back are on the bathroom shelf, de heavy mascara masking deep imperfections comes off in the deeds done at night and in this modern area of plastic surgery… whaplax, big surprise after the fact when you discover that your beauteous ‘6’ is transformed to a whopping ‘9’ .

Politics and life…Always different. Always the same. With modern surprises of such gargantuan corruption that we never see it coming…no pun intended.

So backwards never; onward to new covenants.

33. @Vincent

Concisely and accurately stated.

34. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

Oh lawd @Vincent, had I refreshed before I posted I would have zapped my little ‘ditty’ above.

To say the same thing, I was prolix. You were succinct.

Alas, LOLLL.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tea December 3, 2015 at 12:05 AM #
    “This is the BEST political statement that ANY politician has EVER made in the history of Barbados.
    Wuh if Maria had inserted a few โ€œbrass bowlsโ€ and a BBE reference or two โ€ฆ.this could EASILY be mistaken for a Bush tea blogโ€ฆ.”

“This woman is a good candidate for BUP yuhโ€ฆ. She and Donnaโ€ฆ. after she shows Mia that PRINCIPLE trumps brawn when the right principles are applied.”

So Bushie, would you be supporting her โ€˜principledโ€™ stance should she join the DLP?
    Or would your new Joan of Arc turn into a political opportunist of an old hag called Jezebel Agard as she seeks to become a leading light of change wearing not red but emblazoned in the livery of the DLP marked (deceitful lying prostitute from the Delilah academy of political deceit, lies, propaganda and blood-letting).

How could she therefore represent your much touted change agent if she runs into the arms of Froon and Stinkliar and being warmly welcomed like a good and faithful servant by Leper Leroy Parris and Crook Carrington an exploiter of the disabled elderly?

Wouldnโ€™t she first have to demand the full enactment and implementation of FOI and ITAL before being used by you as her poster girl for change within the boundaries of your 10 point plan for โ€œProper Governanceโ€?

36. @millertheanunnaki December 3, 2015 at 8:00 AM #

Chuckle ……you must forgive BT(the man who knows my village) as that was written at the witching hour,he was a bit dozie,not thinking straight.

37. @ balance
    Bushie has no ‘anti-Mia’ hat….
    It is an ‘anti-shiite’ hat!!
    What gives Mia the right to say and do shiite for 20 years…in an amazing and biting variety of ways… and not incur bushie’s ire…?

The political statement by Maria is well thought out, relevant, concise, and it addresses the CRITICAL issues of corruption and patriotism that will determine if Barbados swims of sinks in the coming months.

NO ONE IS PERFECT …far less a little shiite bushman walking bout with a whacker for a living… so this is not to say that THIS particular girlfriend will not have blemishes…indeed, it is one of Bushie’s FUNDAMENTAL positions that true leaders MUST HAVE BALLS….so NO girlfriends really qualify, but when the ‘men’ are of the ilk of Peter Wickham and Froon, then strong women NEED to come to the fore…

Man Vincent, you are becoming just like DIW …. lotta warm air….signifying nothing…

The POINT is that the woman HAS SAID THE RIGHT THINGS, AT THE RIGHT TIME, IN THE RIGHT SPIRIT, …AND UNDER CIRCUMSTANCES THAT SUGGEST THAT SHE IS BEING GENUINE.
    …..that’s all!!
    …but it is MUCH more than anyone else in contemporary local politics – INCLUDING Grenville, who NEEDED to build such a foundation of patriotism and NON-TOLERANCE to graft and corruption UP FRONT …rather than focus on nitty gritty ‘solutions’.

….and Caswell …who is still at the level of ‘temporary teachers vs permanent’….

38. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Bushie, you have made the statement or a variation of it on several occasions and generally I just assume you are having your monthly BB cycle refresh or some such discharge of phlegm; or that you are just really hypocritical. Or most realistic you just love to have fun and be a center of attention on the blog for these momentary rants.

You said’ “indeed, it is one of Bushieโ€™s FUNDAMENTAL positions that true leaders MUST HAVE BALLSโ€ฆ.so NO girlfriends really qualify,”.

How can a married man with vows HONESTLY spoken make such a statement? How can a father with daughters or uncle with nieces or a cousin with intelligent female cousins be so narcissistic and insulting?

You does really come pun de man blog to mek some real mock sport, fah truth!!

39. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I watched Dr Agard’s “Press Conference” last night on CBC-TV and saw it as essentially a totally naked attempt to remove the current leader (MAM) from her office as LOO and as DLP-CBC orchestrated theatre, following last week’s biased programme that saw BLP’s George Griffith and the main DLP lawyer, Gollop, adding fuel to the fire.

I’ll wait for the seven days grace period offered by Dr. Agard and her lawyers and see who is the real current “mother” of the BLP and has its best interests at heart as well as the best interests of Country, or looked at slightly differently, whose self interest is dominant or if they are both false mothers who would prefer the country to be cut in half and each one take their share.

Mia, as I think ac said, is really between a rock and a hard place. What she does or doesn’t do within the next seven days has the capacity to define what Barbados will become in the next decades.

The wrong decision will almost surely place us, once more, in the hands of the DLP, for Freundal and Company, having learnt that they can do the most heinous things with impunity, to continue using their wrecking balls on the Country and Economy with no recourse.

Interesting theatre!

40. @ DIW
    You live close to Alvin?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea December 3, 2015 at 8:31 AM
    โ€œThe political statement by Maria is well thought out, relevant, concise, and it addresses the CRITICAL issues of corruption and patriotism that will determine if Barbados swims of sinks in the coming months.โ€

What is so altruistically patriotic about a statement any first year student at the Barbados Academy of Politics aka University of Liars and Crooks can write?

Why not advise her to form her own party in the vein of EWB, Wendell Mc Clean, Richie Haynes and David Commissiong; or even do like other genuinely patriotic loyal grasshoppers and cross the Maginot line of imaginary competing political philosophy and modus operandi.

By crossing to join the DLP she will be adhering to the following principles written and enunciated with similar altruistic intentions and being followed by the ruling administration:

โ€œWhy Good governance? Good Governance is
    characterized by the principles of participation,
    consensus, accountability, transparency,
    responsiveness, effectiveness and efficiency,
    equity and inclusion, and the rule of law. It
    assures that corruption is minimized, the views
    of minorities are taken into account and that the
    voices of the most vulnerable in society are heard
    in decision-making and the allocation of
    resources.

I invite the people of Barbados, therefore, to join
    the Democratic Labour Party on this exciting
    journey to the creation of a Better Barbados. This
    journey emphasizes hope rather than despair,
    light rather than darkness, and movement rather
    than stagnation. This journey aims at human
    fulfilment and development. It does not aim at
    numerical worship and statistical purity. This
    is the true way of the Democratic Labour Party.โ€

42. Stupse, the politicians are a reflection of our society. Just look at the comments here!! How the hell someone who is accused of being autocratic herself and refused (and made it known publicly) to work with a democratically elected Executive is a “change agent”? I guess, unlike what many here claim to despise and oppose, the MP is entitled to special treatment not reserved for commoners like people on the executive. Oh I forgot the members are all liars. #vacillation#hypocrisy

http://vob929.com/FilesFTP/630/2015/November/1218DE.mp3

43. @Are-we-there-yet

Find it amazing many of your positions are influenced by ac, who in turn is influenced by trolling Senator Garner -Sandiford ‘s Facebook page.

44. @enuff

Be careful, you colour appear to be showing!

45. The BLP is in trouble those who choose to think otherwise I have the Brooklyn Bridge in front of Hill Supermarket in Roebuck Street for sale. Maria Agard’s legal steps prodded by legal gun for hire Gollop have ominous implications for the party. They will be unable to focus on mounting a credible challenge to Froon and Co.

The wanton shootings and murders in peaceful Barbados need a comprehensive response. One ploy is to offer $2500 for information leading to the recovery of an illegal gun. For that amount of money a paro, block boy, hardened criminal or petty criminal would sell out his mother. The money will not be paid until RBPF determines the gun find is authentic. Criminals would do anything for money that’s why they are criminals use that love of cash against them. Offer a reward for recovery of guns and the streets will see a big decrease in deadly weapons.
    What say you Mr. Attorney General.

46. Bushie wha yuh talkin bout. That whole news conference was laced on empathy with a fundamental motive. You said “The political statement by Maria is well thought out, relevant, concise, and it addresses the CRITICAL issues of corruption and patriotism that will determine if Barbados swims of sinks in the coming months.”

Where is the relevant – What alleged happened to her, happened to Liz, it happened to Mascoll, it happened to Kellman, it happened to Forde, it happen to Jones. That’s the nature of politics. How can you equate corruption in her speech. Look around and you will see large scale corruption that started way back from our importation of equipment etc and who get massive drawbacks. That is corruption.
    Let’s face it. We are deviating from the real problem with the elected member who has been labelled as an absentee rep who is operating from a prepared script. Reading between the lines you will see an orchestrated bunch gunning for the removal of the opposition leader. Owen gone, but the fire from his mouth is ragging on her. Why? The prince in the North hates leaders, Owen can attest to that. Smiley Burnett who have a great political future have two bosses and have to tow the line. That’s the problem.

Who is the master mine in this episode……Northern????/

47. @ de Ingrunt Word December 3, 2015 at 8:59 AM #

@Bushie, you have made the statement or a variation of it on several occasions and generally I just assume you are having your monthly BB cycle refresh or some such discharge of phlegm; or that you are just really hypocritical. Or most realistic you just love to have fun and be a center of attention on the blog for these momentary rants.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Chuckle……..All of the above……..note he is unable to give a logical retort to our rebuttals of his rants

I wonder why he is showing such an interest in my village and your possible proximty to Alvin…….is he going to take us out?

P.S. I enjoy your prolix keep it up.

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This I why I defend Maria Agard. She wants to follow the principles of truth and integrity not the type Mia Mottley nasty is ass politics of specified servitude. Wicked corrupt bitches and I am to be decent and dignified to the political carnage of nasty ass politics.

49. @David
    For trying to bring “balance”? BU is a colourful place after all too.