Dr. Agard Elected by the People but…

Dr. Maria Agard, MP for Christ Church West

For many months now it has become crystal clear to BU that Dr. Maria Agard, the member of parliament for Christ Church West, is on a hit list of the hierarchy of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).  Last weekend we learned that the Christ Church West constituency meeting to elect a new Executive had to be suspended because of alleged irregularities to a voting list. Earlier this year the Barbados Today newspaper reported that ”Dr Maria Agard raised strong exception to what she saw as undue interference in the inner workings of her constituency branch. The Shadow Minister of Health expressed particular unease over a proposal by some branch executives to convene, without reference to her, a meeting to discuss the 2013 general election results in Christ Church West, which saw Dr Agard narrowly defeating the ruling Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) candidate Verla DePeiza in what has traditionally been a run away BLP constituency” – read report Unease in BLP’s Christ Church West camp. 

To add to the intrigue playing out in Agard’s riding, Barbadians read about an anonymous source who shared an opinion that representative for Christ Church West Dr. Maria Agard does not have the backing of the BLP – see report Agard under fire. So far Agard has not been provoked to comment on the matter and BU will reserve further comment until she does. However, based on our observation we smell a big stink rat!

What the BLP should be concerned about is fielding a slate of ‘fresh faced’ candidates who are enthusiastic to share a message of change relevant to times in which we live. So far we have seen the nomination of the Reverend Joseph Atherley and Attorney-at-law Ralph Thorne has expressed an interest to run when the next general election is called.  So far the majority of the nominees are steeped in the a tired old time politics that has led to a large number of Barbadians becoming disengaged from the voting process. What Barbadians are witnessing in 2015 is an inability of the two major political parties to reinvent themselves to remain relevant. Mia Mottley like the late David Thompson promised so much, however, we have not seen her able to cloaked herself in a new narrative  to give hope – the audacity of hope.

In 2011 when Mia Mottley withdrew her nomination to run for the Chairmanship of the BLP, she did so on the grounds that the constitution of the BLP was being trampled as it relates to the eligibility of members to vote. Several months later there is a reasonable expectation by BU Mottley would have addressed the issue of democratizing the way business is done by the party. It seems politics in Barbados has been reduced to the politician who can make a promise stick or sound ‘purty’.

Related BU blogs

Who will disagree that Barbados has found itself stuck in political neutral. We are going nowhere fast.

92 comments

• David

The once proud BLP of the Adamses has now been reduced to the plaything of its current political leader. Candidates are handpicked rather than allow local contests so that the best candidate can emerge. That is probably the main reason why the BLP lost the last election. Within days after losing the 2008 elections, Miss Mottley set about hurriedly putting candidates in place for the next contest five years away.

When Arthur replaced her as leader, his biggest mistake was that he did not deselect Mottley’s misfits and went into an election with some of the poorest candidates ever fielded by the BLP.

Those handpicked candidates were mostly beholden to Mottley and I can imagine that she would have expected them to support her for the premiership after the elections. Her biggest miscalculation was not realising that the elections are only won when individual returning officers make the announcements. Her candidates were too poor to even beat a severely wounded DLP.

Many people blamed the buying of votes by the DLP for the BLP losing the elections but if they were honest with themselves, they would admit that both sides engaged in vote buying. That phenomenon only served to put money in the pockets of some people but the effects were cancelled out. What was not cancelled out was the mediocrity of the BLP candidated.

This time around, as if they haven’t learnt anything from trying to handpick candidates the BLP is seeking to put in place another set of candidates that will also be beholden to the current leader. That strategy would only serve to give the DLP a third term.

It is now obvious that Dr. Maria Agard is not a favourite of the leader and must be replaced. Somehow, the BLP sees Christ Church West as a safe seat that should be reserved for a Mottley loyalist as the candidate. I am not persuaded by Mr. Jerome Walcott’s wishy washy statement that he would serve where the party requires him. He is handpicked by Mottley and it would appear that she wants a safe seat for him. Don’t forget that Barrow carved out a safe seat for Bree St. John and Walcott went and made a mess of it so much so that he transformed it into a stronghold for John Boyce.

By the way, I saw reports that the branch elections were called off by Mottley. I am wondering where she derived the power to do so. If she is not democratic at the party level, only God could help us if she brings that level of dictatorship to the national level if she ever becomes Prime Minister.

Liked by 1 person

• The party leader who can persuade the majority of that 39% who on a principle refused to go to the polls in 2013,that party leader would be the next PM acceptable to most bajans International investors would hopefully return to carry forward Barbados.

• Now, now Caswell……………..some of what you said is not quite fair.

There seems to be more in the “mortar than the pestle” with this constituency. So was Dr Agard not chosen by MAM? Is it not that Dr Agard has had running problems with her executive? I believe that the party should run back all the sitting MP’s except Gline Clarke.

I agree with you that Dr Walcott should not be handpicked for this constituency, he is best serving where he is…….in the Senate.

I really cannot agree that the BLP’s slate of candidates were worse than the DLP’s………cudgod……..the DLP had people like Kenny Best, James Paul, Michael Carrington, George Hutson etc…..

No BLP could match the money the dems splurged in 2013……….a dlp friend of mine finally admitted to me that he walked with a grasshopper in a St Michael constituency with $40,000 handing out.

Alright we got the DLP and look where this country is today. We are going further down the black hole and the morons have not a clue how to mange this country………every department of government is in chaos!

• Poor Prodigal! haven’t heard anything fom Mia recently quiet as a church mouse, When is she organizing the next march.Everything around that woman stinks of chaos

• Dr. Agard your option is pellucid clear, cross the floor and join the DLP if Mia and soul mate Jerome treat you like a doormat its time you speak truth to power. The DLP plugs away at the stabilization of the country in the toughest of times. There isn’t a loftier calling than to join them in leading Barbados out of the morass. There is light at the end of the tunnel.

On the score of leadership the gimme gimme business sector ought to live out their buy local invest local mission statement instead of the reprehensible giveaway of Banks Breweries.

The news that Anthony King and his Banks BHL cronies plan to sell our world famous national beer to a Saint Lucian company is sickening. There is no line in the national interest that the selfish unpatriotic business tycoons wont cross. The only criteria for the sale of Barbados patrimony and family silver by these folks is to ensure it does not fall into the hands of black Bajans.

The wholesale sell off of traditional Barbados brand enterprises to Trinidadians was an outrage. The off spring of the plantocracy who became wildly rich because hundreds of thousands of black Barbadians over hundreds of years purchased their goods and services displayed scant regard for the economy and their fellow citizens when they sold out to Trinidad. The Banks sale to a Brazil company based in Saint Lucia should be halted by government .

Anthony King, Allan Fields and that lot of mercenaries must be disallowed from offloading companies that are lucrative with Black people’s money to non Barbadian interests. The family silver if it is to be sold must be offered to credit unions and local businesses even small shareholders first before being given away to foreigners under the cover of darkness to make a few elites richer. Barbados is in dire need of a large dose of patriotism. If this deal takes place Banks is off my buying list forthwith.

• I aint poor, ac…………this is not important. Stuff like this happens all the time in branches…..DLP and BLP.

What we are all waiting for is the fallout from the Cahill fiasco. That is where the stink of chaos is.

Did you read of the insulting manner in which the woman referred to the PM? If the PM misses and says no to this project………..this is where we will see the stink of chaos……she has already threatened that she has a binding MOU.

Quoting you ……..”everything around the DLP stinks of chaos and incompetence”.

Wait ac, would you care to remember that in the last election, in this very constituency, there was a man called Taan Abed who was nominated by the executive. The folks in George Street throw him out and he went to court for the DLP? You dont remember that, do you?

And you would not remember too that Hal Martin was nominated in St Thomas and the same people in George Street threw out his nomination and ran someone else…………..

Look ac, you live in a thinly layered glass house, stop throwing stones!

• Prodigal

Agard’s problems with the executive are not genuine, they were contrived to discredit her.

• Well, Caswell, I do not know then.

A friend of mine who sits on the executive was my source. Dont get me wrong, I do like Dr Agard, I have known her for a while when she was my children’s dentist. I would like to see her iron out her problems so that she would be able to run again.

• prodigal that is a bold faced lie you just told saying you want to see Agard run again when she almost lost her seat in the last election Who you telling that shit to

• Maria Agard won the nomination to contest the seat and the Mottley minions have never forgiven her. The branch executive is required to work with the sitting MP to retain the seat. Mottley’s minions want to retain the seat but just not with Agard.

Liked by 1 person

• ac,

Again…………….

What about Taan Abed and Hal Martin’s treatment by the DLP?

• The treatment of Taan Abed and Hal Martin does not compare to the nastiness being perpetrated against Dr. Agard.

In the cases of Abed and Martin, the General Council of the DLP did what the rules of the party allowed. Those aspiring candidates knew the rules or at least should have known that their nominations were not done deals. That particular rule exists in the BLP as well.

In Dr. Agard’s case, the BLP have put people in place to undermine her.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

I was going to make some comments on this under a title of “when a country’s leaders turn bad” but I had two problems with that and Ms Mottley the first being that she was not the country’s leader YET and the second being the verb turn which intimates a state prior that was akin to being good

Both could form the basis of a treatise for people in general, and for Mottley in particular but de ole man jes gine remark about the particular passingly and say that even before Mottley is leader she is already showing that she does not ever want to loose that position which smacks of what we bajans call cravatiousness aforethought and is to be feared

Naked come I into this world and naked I shall go notwithstanding the property on the beach at Weston, the one in Cave Hill Woods and the hotel and the 30 plus others here and in ***

There is no problem with ambition but this predisposition to enforce subservience, prior to becoming Prime Minister is to be feared.

De ole man borrowed the following from the Internet cause I ent too bright and does got to rely pun udder peeple thoughts, dere is a word fuh dat, plagiarism but when big up peeple like Dr. Spit my Golf Balls All over Wunna students in the first Row and Dr. *** at *** at de university of the West Indies cave hill does do um it is rewarded with literary acclaim so leh me see how I will fare here

How does one kill hope?

1) by surrounding yourself with Dufuses and AC-like female rabbits and actively Ignoring and/or undermining the worth of the people you perforce must have around you managing the affairs of the cuntry you seek to run euphemism for shooting yourself in the bad word
    2) Preloading your party, parliament and senate with yes men, women and in betweeners, generally people who are the “least bad” choice and the least likely to have an opinion that is contrary to yours.
    3) practicing the politics of inclusion, AT ANY COST, and bringing the dredges and cast always of the other party, the Henderson Bovells, theHamilton Lashleys and Trevor Prescods to your fold knowing that they WILL SCUTTLE your efforts to advance the nation, but then that of course is if you are interested in nation building or building Mottley s coffers at the expense of nation
    4) Forgetting the Lucilles and Lavondes and people who’ served you tirelessly in your struggles when no one else was there for you like ** Brathwaite from St Philip because their social profile, psychihog or class is not consistent with the Downing Street venues that you will be attending post 2018.

And finally the two most important matters in de ole man s opinion

Overstaying your welcome and contriving like the other despots, I did say other, didn’t I?, to change the constitution and the ground rules through bribery vote buying, irregular counts as you are already employing at Christ Church West to enforce your vision which the peeple of CCW DO NOT WANT!

Ms Mottley the reason you need to leave Dr. Agard alone is because your legacy, unlike that of Owing, David Thompson and Fumbles must be one of having incredible people ready to succeed your spoilt ass child of privilege self when you can no longer do that memory trick of speaking without a piece of paper, the thing that people seek to ascribe you brilliance but which we all know is regurgitation of Dame Elsie Payne’s instruction in Who, What, Where, When, Why and How

Barbados will survive the mismanagement and incompetence of this administration but what we fear is that after we vote every single one of them out we inherit a true Dictator which your vicious relentless attack on Dr. Agard is showing you to be.

Do not let these traits of accepting no dissent make you loose that prize that you have longed for even more than the now dead King

You can run a dog in any seat anywhere in Barbados and, given how Bajans are suffering under this administration you gine win, down mind whu Peter say, I tell you so…

• @pieceuhderockyeahright September 25, 2015 at 2:43 AM “the Downing Street venues that you will be attending post 2018…the now dead King.”

And yet the dead king may have thought that he would return to his English birthplace, but not as a child of immigrants but to sit at the rich men’s tables…and yet…

God moves in mysterious ways his wonders to behold.

• Piece
    Old one … master may I speak?

Naked I came out of my mother’s womb and naked shall I return as I came master.

Which is analogous to the saying that human life is liken to the pendulum which oscilates somewhere between maternity-ward and to the crematorium. lol

• Piece

But on a more serious note before I leave out of here to do Uncle Sam’s bidding for the day; this is for you old one and those who thinks as you do: Wisdom is freedom from fear can you please pass this onto your boy Caswell Franklyn because he seems to be harbouring a vendetta for the ruling party members as though he has incurred their displeasure.

Why is Caswell Franklyn getting all work up over the ruling party alleged improperities and irregularities? Does he knows that this to will soon pass, and that politicians have a proclivity to grease one another palms?

And that the silence on the part of opposition in the face of all of this alleged corruption speaks to the game of politics and the susceptability of a willing electorate to fall so easily for what it being fed to us?

• @Prodigal Son

Have to agree with Caswell, this issue in Ch Ch West is contrived. Many are quietly observing. Mia needs to exude by her actions that she will be bringing something new and different to the table. We are tired if the fractious state both political parties have become afflicted.

• A FEW GOOD MEN AND WOMEN WANTED.
    MISSION: Save this blessed country.
    PREREQUISITE: Stay clear of both the DLP and the BLP. As one reads the back and forth between ac and prodigal, one gets the sense of Satan trying to correct sin.

• Hamilton Hill

There isn’t going to be any change in the existing state of affairs in Barbados, until you Artax and Bush Tea, put your gray matter together and implement Bush Tea’s eleven points Plan of economic recovery for the island of Barbados. And you should keep Hants, Piece and Caswell Franklyn as the outside advisers to your newly formed government, and things should begin to be on the up and up right AC?

• @Dompey

Stop trying to trivialize every topic posted on BU. Stop trying to make every topic about you. Have no fear BU will take what steps are necessary to protect the quality of the blog.

JA

• I read the article on Barbados Today and the concerns of the anonymous BLP member was so silly. Maria Agard won by more votes than the majority of her colleagues. If Agard was ill for a long time, what you expect her to do. how much more politicans we want to send to an early grave. If she partnered with Stephen Lashley on a football tournament shouldn’t be a big thing. We always callin for the parties and country at large to come together. Now Agard and Lashley came together for the youth, now you hearing a different song.

• Caswell Franklyn September 24, 2015 at 9:48 PM # keep up the good work , They know she is and Violet Agard- Beckles and Dr, Agard look very much alike, We see MIA up to their old tricks dealing in voting of every kind ,The good Doctor need not be in the mists of the main group of crooks that have stolen her families lands,

• David wrote, “BU will take what steps are necessary to protect the quality of the blog.”

You tolerance has almost reached its bounds. Lol

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

I have stated that I would vote for Mia Mottley if there is no viable alternative, to get these wicked DLP bitches out of power. But you people do not know half the Mottley story and why the SSS hate all the bitches that operated under the Owen Arthur led perversion.

• And when they have finished cutting each other’s throats those remaining will happily cut ours. That is the nature of politics all over the world. No news here.

• As soon as Elections are called all the internicine issues will disappear and two big happy families will fight against each other for the fatted calf.

Nothing changes. Same shiit different day.

• Pieces,

Please leave Dame Elsie out of this. She taught me history and I never had a Eurocentric view. I always thought outside of that box. She encouraged that. You have respect for my thought processes. The Dame had a hand in that. She wasn’t about mindless regurgitation, at all.

• @Prodigal Son September 24, 2015 at 10:42 PM “a dlp friend of mine finally admitted to me that he walked with a grasshopper in a St Michael constituency with $40,000 handing out.”

Where am I living? I have been voting since way back in the 1960’s and yet I have never been offered an inducement/bribe by any party, not by the DLP, not by the BLP. Not a dollar, not a job, not a contract, not even a testimonial.

What is it that I have spent my whole life doing wrong?

I want some of the cash, contracts etc.

• I want somebody/anybody to buy my vote next election, and whoever can offer the most money gets the vote.

• If the PM puts on his thinking cap,he has been given a golden opportunity to improve his count by 2.

• David I hope I do not incurr your affront by adding to Simple comment above? Simple, I know what I am above to say can probably be interpreted as primitive history, but Aaron Truss the former BLP Tourism Minister acquired an unusual taste for buying votes back in the day.

And might have even bought my own; I can’t quite remember now because that was back in the day when the man used to ride from the country to town on his Donkey-Cart to sell vegetables boss.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

The Principle (not to be confused with Principal an occurrence that has been plaguing BU of late) behind the “Five W’s” forms the foundation of every possible discipline known to man.

If practiced well, people who have to be public speakers seem brilliant and those of us who know the principle as well as the specific principal understand what is being done by students who were thusly taught.

What is brilliance Donna?

Is it the sonorous voice of Steve Blackett regurgitating the notes of the Permanent Secretary on a Podium/platform?

Do we use the definition of exceptional talent or intelligence and if so what are the criteria for being a brilliant politician?

Is it to be an exceptional regurgitator of anothers’ notes on the fly, or repeating some economic theory esposed by Schumacher? and then having so done like our actor sorry political activist David Commissiong, to make some wise statements and then be missing forever thereafter?

Briliant people shine in whatever the circumstances they are in.

So since this is a blog specifically about politicians, irrespective of their party, I shall elaborate on what that “brilliance” should manifest itself as and why we just have Dufuses.

“And in the Red corner we have the heavyweight fighter Mia Mottley….”

The cuntry is in a battle against the trading patterns and policies of players we will never see on the shores of Barbados.

Those who believe erroneously that Mottley, and her (handpicked? and henpecked) crew, should hold off on their “brilliance” until it is their moment to shine in 2018, are so seriously wrong that it is pitiful.

Imagine incarcerating Mike Tyson and, post his prison time in solitary confinement, he gets straight into the ring, on his release? he WILL LOSE!!

Politics is boxing, in several rings, AT THE SAME TIME!! and for Mottley and or any of her fellow pugilists to be hiding behind the shawl of “we going show our boxing skills while we get into the ring, is itself indicative of the paucity of those skills, even now that she is in the Opposition!!

So Ralph and the other fellows should be showing what they have.

The common man should be hearing about how Sir Branston & Mia, or whomever hobnobbing and there should be some indicative moments that display what is the intangible currency of that “brilliance” or the only aspects of that Brilliance that we as voters are interested in.

We are embarrassed by the Minister of Edykashun Ronald we Jonesing of the Chilrun are is reading well, it makes no sense to replace that idjit with Smiley teets Marshall with his inane comments at the Arch Cot incident “the dogs are searching to see if there are any live specimens in the cave in”

My girlfriend SSS says “she is going to vote these incompetents out”, a statement that my gravatar wholly endorses but, if we are voting in another group of Dufuses, whose “brilliance” is questionable, AND UNSUBSTANTIATED, barring a few nice speeches, we could as well do like Baffy been recommending ,and “doan vote fuh a fellow in 2018”

• @pieceuhderockyeahright September 25, 2015 at 5:48 PM “What is brilliance Donna?”

Excellent ideas. Being able to persuade others to support your excellent ideas. Being able to work with others to implement your excellent ideas.

For example abolishing the slave trade and slavery was an excellent idea. But it took about 200 years before others were persuaded and before the Act for the Abolition of Slavery was actually passed.

We want excellent 21st century ideas. Even if at first those ideas are not popular. We want persuasive politicians. We want politicians who are willing and able to work hard in the BEST interest of the people of Barbados.

• @ pieceuhderockyeahright September 25, 2015 at 5:48 PMthe Chilrun are is reading well.

The children are reading well.

“The dogs are searching to see if there are any live specimens in the cave in”

The dogs are searching for the people.

We all know how to read write and speak when we were in Class 1.

What happens once we put on an expensive suit?

• It seems strange the BLP is targeting Agard, very strange. Here record of service in her constituency is better than many others. Unlike comyuhs she has a solid record of serving the party. We want to know what gives!

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ David [BU]

I would hazard the following

SAFE SEATS!!

The seat has been earmarked for Jerome and it is unfortunate that she Dr Agard is in it.

It is Jerome’s reward for his unfaltering support for Mia end of clip!!

They are fearful that Jerome’s image may not be able to overcome the animosity for the DLP in another constituency so…Dr Agard must go…

• @PUDRYR

It has to be more because a check of the media archives and an ear close to the crowd records they have been ”picking” at this woman for a while.

On 25 September 2015 at 22:45, Barbados Underground wrote:

• But Mia selected Dr. Agard.
    But the seat “carved” out for by Barrow for Bree, he lost twice.
    But the the boundaries were changed twice since Barrow “carved” out the seat.
    But…………

• John Boyce is not unbeatable in Christ Church South.

He lost three times before he won in 2008 when there was a swing against the BLP……….so if this is the case….I do not see why Jerome felt he could not face John Boyce………he will not have the money to flood Scarborough and Carter Gap this time.

The dems have done such a bad job that any cockroach will be able to beat them. Not even Freundel is safe, that is provided Noel Lynch does not run.

In the end, I hope those against Dr Agard will back down for the good of the party and that she will realise that she has to communicate and work with people!

Liked by 1 person

• Pieces,

Brilliance for me is about going beyond mindless regurgitation to arrive at an original thought.

My response was in defence of Dame Elsie’s teaching methods. It had nothing to do with whether Mia is brilliant or not.

• Pieces,

And of course in a politician’s case, this must be followed by the appropriate action.

• Piece

My dear friend for such you will permit me to call you I hope, can you allow me the pleasure to piggyback on your argument regarding the concept of ideas?
    Now ideas in my judgment have to be planned,fertilized and continually watered before their can reach their full fruition.

Microsoft wasn’t built in a day, it took Bill Gates time, money, sacrifice and some very gifted people to see his idea come to its full realization.

Einstein didn’t get up one day and made the paradigmatic shift from Newton’s Classical-Physics to his Quantum Physics, this process took time and lots mental labour and wouldn’t have been made possible had he not piggyback off of the Classical Physics.

To concluded: knowledge is exponential so therefore, we are beholding to the ideas of others and I’ll tell you why, Socrates bulit on the philosopy/ ideas of nature philosopers before him; he being the first moral philosoher of the Western Intellectual Tradition, and Plato built upon the ideas of Socrates, and Aristotle built on the ideas of Plato, and Alexander the Great built upon the ideas of Aristotle etc.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Do you feel that in that similar vein Mia is trying to build on the carcass of Dr Agard?

• Well looka how Prodigal has continually fractured my beloved BLP with his dictatorial behaviour!

Leave Dr. Agard alone….she is not about your geurilla tactics!

What a shame…..

• Piece

I may have forgotten to add this very important characteristic regarding an idea. It has been said the human mind once elasticized by an idea never again regains its true dimension.

Now David, it is not by design that I digress neither am I endeavouring to deflect from the main point of contention here, but there are points within a given point of contention that are so irresistible that one is unconsciously led away by the belief that he can shed a greater light on this one point within the discussion by deliberation, and not to appease the ego as some have so wrongfully concluded.

• “Dr. Agard Elected by the People but…” was she elected because of person, party or both? #justasking

• @enuff

You have posed your question to the Ch Ch West Executive?

#justaskingtoo

• Why would I, I am not a member of branch or party but the EVIDENCE (qualitative and quantitative) i.e. opponents, performance vs that of the party overall and the constituency historically should help to draw a conclusion.

• @enuff

You can intellectualize this issue all you want, Agard us being victimized.

• Pieces,

That was Dompey’s comment not mine. Please don’t get us mixed up!

• Pieces, wid all your erudite exposition on ‘brilliance’ and Dame Elsie’s legacy to her students of how best to practice powerful thinking and self-presentation you know well enough that on the political stage oratorical skills establishes a extra strong perception of ‘brilliance’ that when coupled with even a modicum of scholarship elevates one quickly to the top.

Mia’s actions and machinations are really no different from that of any of her predecessors. What is different is the public exposure …no longer are back room dealings revealed months or years later after the ‘dog dead’.

So to your point of brilliance, the real test of that quality in modern day political life is achieving the objectives with minimal public exposure. That’s what makes you a real boss, nowadays.

At the expense of incurring the blogmaster’s wrath (LOL) let me use what he would describe as one of my trivializing USA comparison to touch on the ‘speaking’ aspect of political brilliance.

Dr, Ben Carson is a scholarly, successful and experienced retired brain surgeon. Eloquent but not given to oratorical spontaneity in the debates and his meeting thus far in the Presidential campaign. High in polls but yet not exciting or as dynamic.

Marco Rubio a young attorney and Senator who as Bajans would say has not seen a star pitched yet. But very much like the incumbent President he can smoothly move to oratorical masterclass and seems to infuse every speaking opportunity with an ‘oh my gawd, he sound sweet’ palaver.

No Blackett reading or regurgitating of a speech stuff here. But the powerful command of data presented smoothly in ‘cursive, flowing’ words in a tone and rhythm that at once lulls you to a place of quiet even as it draws you alertly to his every word.

Yes Pieces the man can talk. Like a Mia, like a Don (Blackman), like Tom or EWB.

So fuh sure we all know that all other things being equal in politics the smart, sweet talking orator will trump (oh dear no pun intended) the smart, plodding non-orator 9 times out of 10.

Liked by 1 person

• @David
    And Dr. Agard says she will provide proof to show that she is.

• @David, as much as this scene from the movie called politics is exciting, full of the intrigue that grabs attention and fills us with a supportive, unbiased appeal for the star Dr. Agard it is still just another movie.

As someone mentioned above, wasn’t a movie with very similar scenes played out in a St James riding last cycle and many times other places before that?

So yes maybe she is being victimized but the good doctor surely knew the highs and lows to which she would have been exposed on auditioning for and winning the role as leading lady in this movie. Victimization comes with the role.

Surely she acquitted herself with all the tools both mental and physical needed to defend herself properly.

When you are a leading man or woman in Hollywood or Bajan politics you must expect that those top coveted roles must be won by dint of hard work and kowtowing and then doubly defended with even more vigor and venom.

I anticipate therefore that Dr. Agard is prepared for the fight. If she is not and truly has a lead actor’s passion and ambition then she will learn from her errors and rejoin the fight with renewed knowledge at a later date.

Then on to the next movie!

• @Dee Word

Your cynicism is noted.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Apologies Donna

• David

All of you seem no to understand what is going on here, so let me enlighten you. Dr. Agard was experiencing some medical issues. Rather than empathise or even sympathise with her, the vultures in the BLP was planning her funeral and selecting a person to replace her that would be one of those beholden to the leader.

Unfortunately for them, Dr. Agard disappointed them and did not die. Plans for her replacement were so far advanced that those vultures could not stop. Already, they were seeing themselves as MP and will not give up. They will not give up until the demise of Dr. Agard. They don’t care if the demise comes through death.

• Thank you, Dompey, for yesterday’s lecturette on ideas.

You missed a very important point, though: ideas—after all the planning, fertilisation and watering you mentioned—have owners. And those owners should not be afraid to be identified, like the folks you listed: Socrates, Plato, Alexander the Great, Bill Gates, Einstein and our own Caswell Franklyn, Adrian Loveridge, Jeff Cumberbatch, William Skinner and Walter Blackman, among a few others.

If you don’t have the courage to defend and support an idea, you should keep your mouth shut. Don’t give me any mumbo-jumbo that “it’s not the messenger, it’s the message.”

An idea must be owned. When made public it ought to be the result of the expenditure of energy—mental energy. That’s why we Barbadians don’t take ideas seriously; they’re thrown out there and blow away with the wind, like so much flatulence.

An idea is one’s intellectual property. It must not be treated like a fatherless child. If you can’t support it by identifying with it, or changing it when a better one comes along, shut yuh damned mouth.

These blogs are populated by too many Jekylls who Hyde. They want to have their puddin’ ‘n’ souse and eat it too.

Food for thought … but who the heck is Dompey? Stand up and identify with your ideas, man.

Carl Moore

• Are you folks still intrigued by the internal battles within the BLP and DLP? Really? When it’s all over it will be business as usual for the rest of us. What do I care about which of them runs? You folks make them feel really important. Ignore the power hungry idiots and their shenanigans. Steupse!

• @Donna

Are you therefore saying we should divorce the actions/decisions of the political parties from what happens at the national level?

• Didn’t Dr. Rowley and the PNM just won an election after replacing sitting MPs who wanted to run again?

• David,

Not at all I am saying that both parties are in it to rule and neither of them is interested in serving. When they have finished cutting each other’s throats they will turn their attention to ours. What does it matter which one of them cuts our throats?

• @Donna

What do you see our role as educated citizens in the existing system of government?

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Carl Moore

You seem to be new here so de ole man gine help you befo you fall in de trap dat newcomers fall for – the Darkside or Darkshyte

Fenty, Dompey or Donkey is an Bajan citizen living in Murica one dat after Albert Sealy had was to beat him in 1973 when the latter was at St Leonard’s (in an attempt to force commence sense into his rock stone head) does come here and talk ass, ergo his name Donkey.

He is not too bright and has been likened to cro magnon man on many an occasion here on BU

HE IS ALSO PART OF A DUO the tag team of Donkey and Hee Haw but I will not mention her name and will leave you to find out who she is, she who cusseth me, it is she…

Please do not attempt to reason with donkey be causing de exercise is like a black hole encounter from which you may not recover.

I hope that this answers your question but should you need any confirmation just ask the Venerable Bust Tea and you will get a grasp on Asinus Domesticus

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Bush not Bust, Hants I musee studying Sistah Headley….

• We are supposed to act as watchdogs in the interest of the country. We should offer ideas and support, criticism and chastisement when necessary. We should demand accountability and transparency in our leaders and also that we the citizens be consulted on big issues when applicable. We should demand changes in the system when it has outlived its usefulness.

• @Pieceuhderock,

You could get a little diversion from the rigors of intellectualism by visiting the Diaspora Corner. lol

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Hants I gine dey now

• Piece

Oh no Piece, you could spoon feed Kevin that argument, but I ain’t buying what you’re selling at tall. Because the 2013 BLP defeated was due in part to its failure/inability to supply a counter argument which would have undermined DLP message and thereby, rally the collective conscience of the nation in the other direction.
    So in essence, what you’re actually saying is fact the that BLP allowed the DLP to outfox them thereby securing its victory. lol

Piece

Back to the discussion now! It is not enough to elect the kind of people who fits the moral and intellectual archetype, which are the essential ingredients we desire for political office, but we must elect those persons who are quite capable and resolved to actualize in practical terms, what it will take to uplift a people from the social, political and economical conditions which retards their growth and hampers their development. And these are qualities/characteristics we ought to be looking for in the persons we desire to represent or interest and concerns in the epicenter of power Piece.

Piece

You must pardon my egotism into which my view might betray me, but I have and continue to contribute more in knowledge to BU, than you with your thinly veiled compositional hyperbolic.

Piece

David, I hope that you’re cognizant of the fact that this old man with oversizes testis is engaging in adhominem, and that your affront to my response ought to be suspended because in all fairness, I am entitled to defend my character in lure of this demented reclusive fogy misrepresentation?

And may I ask Sir, when and where did you attended school? Or should I surmise in the 1900’s or perhaps the 1920’s where is was fashionable in your day to don cooking oil as the substitute for regular body lotion? lol

• This here fella donkey almost as good as Jay Leno and Trump.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Whuloss…

“…And when the realization of what the Donkey had said at 2.18 pm dawned on the Ole Man he, the ole man, immediately fled to a tree where he unsuccessfully tried to drown himself and, having failed in that Judas-esque attempt, then went immediately to Brandon’s beach where he tried to hang himself in the sea and failed that too…”

Unable to end the misery of his plight “of being more idiotic than the moron Donkey” the ole man could only weep hysterically…as he continued to search for “compositional Hyperbole (not hyperbolic) across the internet

Thine Ignorance truly knoweth no bounds

Yah see whu I did mean Carl Moore??

• @ Piece
    Skippa … did Bushie not warn you about engaging seriously with Dompey?
    With the possible exception of Mr Ed, no one has successfully conversed with an ass since Balaam’s donkey reprimanded him for doing shiite sneaking around with Moabite officials….

Give it up… Lost cause…

With respect to Carl Moore however, you would also do well to ignore his donkey. He is no stranger to BU … having come here some time ago with that same shiite talk about using ‘real’ names …. as if the name ‘Carl Moore’ means any more to anyone than ‘Dompey’.

He disappeared from the scene last time after it came to light that he is Ossie Moore’s slow learner cousin who has been on this mission to find out ‘who is saying what’ in public – ever since the early days of the Nation newspaper…

…a real jackass … who should really follow his own advice in getting a quieter Barbados by keeping his donkey quiet..

Liked by 1 person

• Wait! Bushie what you doing hare … man de Zoo dont close pan weekends nah more?

• David

It would appear as though you’re no more different than the politicians whom you charged are engaged in cronyism, nepotism, favourism and partiality because you have yet to reprimand Piece and Bush Tea for engaging character – assasination and adhominem, but you’re quick to caution me regarding my digression and deflection of the topic.

But David, can you at least practice what you’re supposed to be preaching to insure the integrity, and truthfulness of the blog for a change?

• @PUDRYR and Bushie

Please desist from ad hominem attacks on Dompey, surely your hignorance noes no bounds? His venture enter the world of the hyperbolic must be encouraged because it adds humongously to the blog.

Liked by 1 person

• @Dompey September 26, 2015 at 2:47 PM #

Piece

Oh no Piece, you could spoon feed Kevin that argument, but I ain’t buying what you’re selling at tall. Because the 2013 BLP defeated was due in part to its failure/inability to supply a counter argument which would have undermined DLP message and thereby, rally the collective conscience of the nation in the other direction.
    So in essence, what you’re actually saying is fact the that BLP allowed the DLP to outfox them thereby securing its victory. lol
    …………………………………………………….

That was excellent work by the DLP, Dompey (and I am being sarcastic)!

…………….and look how good that victory is working out for us who live here.

• Extracted from flying fish & coy cou

WUH-LOSS. It is pure bacchanal in the beehives all across the south of the island. The stinging bees, the giant African killer bees, even the queen bee were all buzzing around the place.
    Related articles
    MONDAY MAN: Gibson as busy as the…
    MONDAY MAN: Keeper warns: bee-ware…
    STREET BEAT: Let them bee . ….
    For the first time there is a roly-poly brown bee and one which was looking to sting somebody, anybody last Sunday evening.
    This bee, whose gender is uncertain, is like a fly in the ointment. Just imagine this bee wants to be in charge. But the real queen bee, who is often seen leading her swarm down in Harts Gap and the posh areas along the South Coast, is not afraid to defend her hive. So there is no free honey there.
    In the meantime, Dr Dolittle is flying around watching and waiting to see when to take over the hive.
    But the buzzing like it is going to heat up in other parts of the south, where the swarms are gathering in places like Wotton and Kingsland. The bees are feeding on the sweet flowers all around, with one sweet-mouth bee who has a lot of pretty antics being bitten by another bee who was in camouflage all this time pretending to being a bee hummingbird operating independent of the queen bee. But with time drawing nigh, the camouflage had to come off.
    And talking about camouflage, it will soon come off around the other hives in Brittons Hill and Highgate and even down in Martindales Road and Marl Hole Gap, while real stingers will be out in the centre of the island when it’s time to eat that honeycomb there.
    – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/72652/flying-fish-cou-cou-bacchanal-beehives#sthash.GWh9eMuK.dpuf

<

blockquote>

• David
    The picture above….with Mia’s lips pursed..you ain’t had a better picture to put up?

Seeing that there is 1. Alleged tension between Ms. Mottley and Dr. Agard!
    2. Dr. Agard is a female and Ms. Mottley’ s alleged proclivity to exert dominance over the fairer sex!

The picture of Ms. Mottley above gives a distinct impression of this dominance……lips and all!

• David

You know that I have balls of steel and could care any of the personal reprisals against me, but what concerns me most is your reluctant with respect to redirecting Bush Tea and Piece, when the both of them seek to alter the nature of the discussion here with they personal attacks. But when I respond to their egregious and atrocious sentiments you seems to caution me incessantly, and deliberately ignore the fact that others are taking stock of your actions.

• @Dompey

The reason is simple, you post alotta shite on the blog. An like your partner, your hignorance knows no bounds.

You have the unique and peculiar ability to reduce all blogs on BU to nothingness. Further, it appears like your partner you clamour;yearn even, for the attention of BU the family possibly linked to a psychological challenge.

You may have the last word likely to be steeped with your usual loquaciousness.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Donkey

You ask if de ole man evah was at Jenkins and if I knew the Professor

I knew Professor LaHa very well, he was a cousin of my family and though rather eccentric he was not a madmans like certain peeple…

While I did not go to Jenkins I used tuh work at a hospital for the mentally ill or mad peeples of which I BELIEVE YOU TO BE ONE and deo ole man gine show you why.

At 3.40 pm you accost Bush Tea and ask him “if the zoo doan close pun weekends nuh more?”

Then, at 4.01 p.m. 21 minutes later after de medication wear off, you run crying like a beatchhhh to the Blog Master asking for his protection because, and de ole man gine quote you here “he have not reprimanded Piece and Bush Tea” fuh “engaging character – assasination and adhominem”

Whuloss

Now Dufus, even if you was axing fuh de protection uh de Blogmastah would it not make sense for you to have kept quiet and plead his protection FIRST instead of attacking us wid ad hominens, the same behaviour you axing he to reprimand we fuh???

My question to you is have you ever been to Jenkins or to any mental institution in Murica?

What medication are you on as a result?

You do know that it is a fact that the flicker rat of cuntputer screens can induce your mad spells?

The same advice that I does give AC, I gine give you, Keep way from de cuntputer okay??

• David

That is a matter of opinion David, and I am quite sure many would disagree with you and many would probably agree with you as well. But to be quite honest with you David, in my own judgment, I do believe that AC is much more intelligent than all of you all banded together. Now that’s my opinion take or leave it!

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Oh dear me, he may possibly cry and has called for the other half of the dynamic duo to help him in that offhanded, drowning man catch-at-a-straw plea to the intelligence of the the other cretin

She must be at one of the Saturday evening cuntstituency meetings rousing on the DLP rabble sorry faithful or else she would have come to the ingrunt swine’s rescue

Dumbledeedee and Dumbleedeedum(b)

• Lord have mercy!

• Piece

Dompey asking the blogmaster protection man dont mek mah laugh nah. Asking the blogmaster protection is analogous to a Christian standing in the heart of Hell and asking God’s protection, so let’s not go there anymore old one yah hare.

Now I had aa mine that you dah know Professor, you spend sometime with de man en Jenkins and come on hay on BU blowing it off as though Prof is yah wife family. Man came again with your sob story, but this time make a little more realistic yah hare Old One ?

• Again, Lord have mercy!

• Piece

I bet if you see me in de flesh you would put one between my eye and nose because that’s how piss you are with me right about now because you have taken this discussion to another level.

But don’t take it personal it was all meant to be in fun Old One. Now with respect to Professor yes… there was a certain eccentricity about that man and even though at times he did exhibited periods of psychotic episodes when his medication regiment wasn’t what it ought to have been.

But Prof had had a wide grasped of the lexicon and would have probably given Dr. Don Blackman my childhood mentor a run for his money because he had had that much of a grasped of the dictionary, as far as I could remember.

• @ Dompey
    “……I bet if you see me in de flesh you would put one between my eye and nose because that’s how piss you are with me right…”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    You probably got something right there Domps…

Wuh shiite …. if YOUR OWN THREE SONS seem to have had it with you… what would you expect from BU strangers who now have to put up with your shiite day and night ..(now that you are afraid to sleep with both eyes closed…)?

LOL @ David(?) BU
    “The reason is simple, you post alotta shite on the blog. An like your partner, your hignorance knows no bounds.”
    ha ha ha LOL …..ohhhh shiirt!!!
    …NO WAY this is the real David…. ha ha ha
    TOO SWEET!!!

The REAL David is too much of a saint and diplomat …to be so honest and direct …even with Domps…

Sounds like the wifey or the big daughter…. LOL!!! 🙂

• David

Yes Bushie, David is a good guy … but unfortunately when it comes to his politics it seems as though he exercise poor judgment. We wouldn’t mine having David on the DLP side of thing, but this would forced you into retirement because you would be devoid of somebody’s legs to hid in between when the pressure becomes overbearing.
    AND BY THE WAY, IT IS AFTER ZOO HOURS, WHAT ARE YOU STILL DOING OUT?

• Donkey got Donna singing the Kyrie…..lmao

• Gabriel,

These things are sent to try us, they say. I am trying to pass the tongue control test. For me it is one of the hardest tests there is.

Lord have mer-er-cy!

• Boy! That’s –

CHRIST have mer-er-cy!

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s